Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 117 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, Mar 1, 2021, 3:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Royale

So very silly and enjoyable.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Wed, Feb 24, 2021, 4:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Unnatural Selection

Why on earth did they need to put in the telekenesi in it? I do accept that star trek science is just invented. Still I prefer to have it concistent. Genetically enhance humans wit telekenesi is not neccessaray. The main issue was that when the scientist whare playing god it did not really turn out the way they thoungt. I get the moral and understanding of that. Plot OK but not special in any way.

Pulaski for or against. I am for , mostly. Jet Reno in DIS is very similar but Pulaski is more controlled. She is a contrast to both Picard and Data. Personally I am not to fond of abrasive people. I feel more comfortable with Crusher. Still the contrast increases the pulse or tension. She is not evil she wants to do good things.

O'Brians technobabble is wonderful. He is such a genuin character. Here on earth you may find him in a good DIY store as a sales assistant.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, Feb 21, 2021, 6:09am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Symbiosis

I did not relaise the connection untile the very end. One of "Enterpise" best episodes is "Dear Doctor". So many hndread years ago Phlox already faced a simililar situation and Archer took basically the same desicion even without the primary directive. I just wonder, why did not Data manage to retreive this information from the Archives? That would have helped Picard and Crusher.

This was not as well plyed as "Dear Doctor". The story was not so clear until the surprising resolution. Until then I was as upset as Dr. Crusher. First then I realised the connection. I would say the plot was one of the better and the acting standard TNG.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Tue, Feb 16, 2021, 2:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Big Goodbye

Intresting ... I do enjoy most of the time travel episodes nut not really the holodeck when they go back ntime. Probably beacues the tiem travels are real and the holodeck just a fantas computer animation. So although the created charakter starts to refelect over his own existense I do take it less seriosly. How very akward.

Although never seen, I gues sthat the ladies on enterprece has some sort of automatic devive that appies the make up as Beverky obvioulsy lacks the practice. Otherwise I would not have found this scen funny. (Tasha Yar also have a distinct make even more contradicting her character.) Crushers reaction / reflection of the working girl sitting next to her was amusing.

Not mixing the acting conducted by Wil Wheaton with his character Wesley, TNG lost very much making Wesley a wiz kid / Smart Aleck .

There are several loopholes and the story is quite poor but I laughed severy times to Picard / Data and Crusher.

Not wasted time,
Set Bookmark
Maq
Mon, Feb 15, 2021, 12:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Justice

Silly? Stupid? Perhaps but also a quite typical Star Trek. There is a lot philosophy and etic here. It is sometimes embarrasing to watch, still I liked the plot of having to pay a high price for a paradise.

I viewed it with a smile and was quite impressed how they manage to get these dresses to stay in place even when running.

I think I will bring a lot of hats and be very careful where I step when I go there :-)
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, Feb 14, 2021, 2:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Last Outpost

I very much liked the design and visual apperance of the Ferengi starship.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, Feb 14, 2021, 12:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Code of Honor

Which eyes shall I use here.

A racist episode, as a white male 60 year european I am not the best person to judge but I would not argue against someone of colour claiming it.

Sexistic, yes.

Having eliminated the two above hinderneses. I liked it :-)

@Kevin Nostrand, not five stars but good.

Standalone, funny side stories, and although sexistic, women are taking their placess.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, Feb 14, 2021, 9:26am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Encounter at Farpoint

Also reviewing it after some years. I liked it but what would the comments have been if the Discover had such appearance ;-) ?

The Nostalgy bias is significant.

Notable is also the dress code. Men in mini skirts where visible. Glad they removed that. The female uniform ... although understandable that it dissapeared ... bit I miss it.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Tue, Jan 12, 2021, 10:00am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

Wow! Well, I am more Star Trek then Star Wars but Mandlorian was the biggest surprise since very long time in the Sci-Fi genre. As an extra you got back to Bonanza and Sergio Leone, Akira Kurozawa etc.

Very much stand-alone episodes. There was ono or two that did not really convince me but they where still not too bad. Ok, the episode context was never to complicated and not nested. Therefor sufficent short. Females in many important roles. I suppose Grogu is away as a main character. Partly good as hawing him around would have been tedious. On the other side he really made a cute contrast making it lighter and more humourful.

Amazing that an interaction between a more or less nontalking puppet and a man with very few words and a small metal dust bin on his head could be so interesting and full of context.

It really lightened my Corona Winter.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 4:23am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

A farwell to season 1 2 and 3.

To me there is quite senseless to look for logic in most Sci-Fi. Why did Culber not take and use a hypo spry? Why is Discovery constructed with normal spaces, Tight Jefferies tubes and an enormous empty inside ten times larger than the outside? Do not help me to make the list longer. It is a saga inspiring our thoughts to fly and dream. As much as possible I try to skip the details and enjoy the story.

In the discussion here there is a very wide polarisation. Was it awful, was it good or perhaps just enjoyable? I can answer yes on all these questions.

Parallel there is a big variety in opinion regarding the characters, acting, gender, race and sexual identification / orientation seems to be the most important topics. To me Sci-Fi is very much of trying to explore and speculate of a future in reflection of the current time. I like this as ling as it does not get to much in the centre.

Many of us are old enough to have watched and re-watched the earlier Treks in different ages and in my case, I have seen it with different perspective. I was honestly not fond of TNG, Voyager, DS9 and ENT when first aired. But I did start to enjoy them later. DIS is in fact the first that I have watched fresh.

I did enjoy much of it but I do really dislike the hard focus on the main theme presented in each season. It takes to much time away from the sometimes-fantastic story telling that can be made otherwise.

Burnham character and acting. I was quite pleased but not overwhelmed. Some said that she was more in the centre of the universe than any other character so far. I agree and less would have been better.

Saru, very good acting but his character was sometimes to talkative. Some real pearls but also some very annoying scenes, in fact a sort of Neelix.

Stammets, I believe his acting was OK, character interesting but it has an annoying flaw.

Tilly, some scenes were poor and awful. Her enormous talent as scientist and leader was to much fairy tale in my taste. Having said that, I also liked very much of her role. It was a character the dared to question the official façade and get people to reflect over their own behaviour.

Culber, between good and great.

Detmer, underused cool.

Owosekun, underused cool.

Ariam, what a waste to not have used her more.

Rhys and Bryce, unfortunately I cannot really judge them, but I would have liked to.

Linus was a poor idea.

Georgiou, some very good acting but her role did not really fit in and was sometimes very annoying.

Reno, well I liked her but also good that she did not always appear.

I will watch the next season and I hope to see more of the crew.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 2:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

1, The Harry Potter tent charm was clearly recognised. It has alway been irritating but I try not let this visual abnormity ruin my day.
2. Too much talking (thread Saru) and too much fighting shooting (thread Burnham). But Crew thread was not to bad.
3. I liked the ending. Especially the reconnecting to Lt Sahil was great.

Conclusion. Somehow this triple a slight waste of episodes.

I all a decent serie. And my whish for the next season is as always more free standing episodes and usage of the crew actors.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Fri, Jan 1, 2021, 11:54am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

Wow the evilness in this Universe comes from capitalism! This is produced in USA. What on earth is happening ;-) ?.

Appart from this very promising clarification, that seemd to be part of Roddenberrys vision, this is not Star Trek. But it was still very entertaining. The episode ending leaves many doors open.

The very subtil play with Tillys inexperience was good. And the Bridge crew did show that they are not just filling material. The dialouge between Vance and Ossrya was intressting. Although I did find the Orion girls in TOS and ENT quite entertaining but not really possibla today , Ossyra did show a "platonical" seductiveness. It was long quite unclear if Vance would be able to resist it.

Look forward to next Episode.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Fri, Dec 25, 2020, 3:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

I still prefer single self standing episodes. This was quite Crazy, like some TOS stories.

But I must admit that I did find it thrilling. A programed holodeck to let the child survive. Yes we have seen it already. Infact the very first episode "the Cage" plays on a similar theme. Mean guys (or gal in this case) taking over the ship. That has also been made. That is the good side.

Acting, Burnham reading the situation ... good. Culber good. Saru yes ok. Tilly, a very good try but I did not buy it all. Still she managed to bring the difference between playing the thoug captain and then showing her stress and neurvosness when Osyraa was away. This was what they wanted to show. The fact that she lost the ship did not bother me.

She is there to demonstrate the conflict between beieing the junior that gets (too) much resposnibility in relation to her experience. I am quite fond of this approach.

Hikaru Sulus "challenge me and you will be obliviated" in "Into the Darkness" when he first to the con was definetly more prompt.

It is no episode you just sit down enjoying rewatching.

Summary, Accepatable plot, annoying having a long story againg splitted over two , or did someone even say three episodes. I disslike cliffangers.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 2:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

It was not as horrible as I had feared. It was actually reasonable good. Michelle Yeoh acted well and both she and her character coul leave deserved dignified. They also managed to get ther story reasonable together. I did find the memory service a little bit odd. But on the other side Giorgiou did save and help them in many difficult situation.

But the episode did not bring us much further and the scene with Charles Vance was disturbing.

@Peter G, you mention some episodes that you found, "real star trek". Most of them are DS9 and some TNG. I agree with you that they are good and have this extra that you want. But when you look on the TOS there was a lot of quite medicre but still entertaing episodes. In my opinion "Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad" is the only DSC episode that fulfills a real TOS episode requirement. I dont find it fantastic but still quite entertainaing.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sun, Dec 13, 2020, 9:30am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 1

Having rewatched the episode, and swallowed my irritation of going back to the mirror universe again, I must say that there were good parts in the episode. In fact most of them. Especially I did enjoy Carl, I did dislike Q character he was to chaotic although I must amit sometimes quit funny. Carl was good. A superhuman form of Kovich. The acting by Cronenberg and Guilfoyle is very good and wins due to beeing understated.

I will do my very best to enjoy the hopefully end of the mirror universe thread in the next episode. Perhaps as in a greek drama where everyone dies in a heap at the end.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sat, Dec 12, 2020, 2:44am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 1

@Frank A. Booze

Completely agree with first statment.

Partly with the second. I very much like the aprocach with , I don't dare to sa older, but mature or grown up women in action and important roles. In this serie it has mainly been the charcter of Giorgiou, Cornwell and Reno. I definetly liked the character Cornwell played by Jayne Brook. But Michelle Yeoh is the bigger name. Her action sceenes ar magnificent. We saw to little of the original Giorgiou. The parallel character has mostly been "strange". It looks like how can we get a "star" like Yeoh to appear. I had hoped that she could develop but I realised that her character had no place in this universe and sending her back was a good ideaa. But there was no need to make two episodes of it,

In season one the side chracters like Detmer got very little space, they were more like visual fillers and reoccuring decorations. I n the paralell univers they did get to act a little. That was of cource nice for them. Now in the third season they have (mostly) all developed. There is waste of time to put them is this sidelined overplayed galactical drama. Lets' t hope that there will only be a part two.

I have not really somethong against the paralell univers concept. In other serias thy have been quite funny and a contranst.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Fri, Dec 11, 2020, 11:49am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 1

Bugger. I liked the season 3. Not perfect but view and enjoyable.

I started to whatch the episode and suddenly realise that ,oh they are going to get rid of Giorgiou. OK, her charater was a stub. I would not miss her.

And suddely like a book from C.S.Lewis we land in the alterante universe again. What a dissapointment. I really hope there are only two episodes and we can returm to the future.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Fri, Dec 4, 2020, 3:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

@Cody B

" Michael and Gieorgio are the only two who are in any way capable of pulling off and winning any hand to hand combat. No one on the crew has a real backbone. "

Did you watch this an other episodes?

Second episode Saru and Giorgiou has quete a good joint fight in the Bar.
Tilly, although probably not the best physical ffighter has on several occasions showed that she can say no and cover it with fire if needed.
Detmer also showed some sort of backbone in this episode suppose.

I agree that the action scenes peformed by Sonequa Martin-Green and Michelle Yeoh are well conducted but for me only a bonus.

I like to watch star trek because it shows another ways to progress and solve problems than violence. I genuinly also beleive that a diverse group can solve problems better than a very homogen group.

And as you mention Jem'Hadar. In "the siege of ar 558" three "quite soft" persons Ezri Dax, Bashir and Nog took up the fight when Worf had to stay on the ship.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Fri, Dec 4, 2020, 9:22am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

Filler episode ti was said. Nothing really happened ?

In the episode S1:E8 Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum also really noting happened. Comparing these there is day and night between them. Trying to keep to many subplots runing in paralell? Perhaps but I do accept and enjoy them.

They for Adira? I am probably to old for really appreciating and understanding this LBGT (right order of the letters?) thing. As I understand some people beleive or wish to be something else than to what they where born. ( I here exlude all the quite few apperances of peopel with extreme hormon levels and medical Hhermaphrodite. ) To 50 % I feel this is compeltely bonkers, to 50 % I find it OK that it gets its place in Star Trek. It is not the first time where boundrys are broken here. I hope no one gets offended by this clear statement.

And I liked this episode, acting and side storeis.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Thu, Dec 3, 2020, 4:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

@Booming

@Maq
What are you? a pirate?? Wouldn't it be nice if women could finally get into the pirate business. Maybe even have there own ships. Sure pirates already are well dressed but still, it would be nice.
"

It is a television serie, not really real life. Yes I agree completely with evreyone who finds it silly. But In order to enjoy it on the bigger scale I have personally decided to not get irritated on silly things.

The most silly thing that happens is that the sometime only get 2 or 4 hours time to quick quit save the universe or part of it. Ok they can jump in zero seconds but all the preparations, disckussions, putting things together .... will take more the very short time.

Such details irritates me more than the Tilly fairy tail promotion.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sat, Nov 28, 2020, 3:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

@Booming

"@Maq
And when the very young XO messes up, does that mean that people get killed?
"
Yes
Set Bookmark
Maq
Fri, Nov 27, 2020, 3:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

I still like it, intresting episode.

To all those who are disturbed regarding Tillys promotion. I my professional life i experienced a similar situation when a younger female overtook a bunch of more senior men and was placed in a similar XO position. It worked ok. So if it is possible in the reality, why would it not be in Star Trek? The spore drive seems to be accepted ;-).
Set Bookmark
Maq
Fri, Nov 20, 2020, 3:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Scavengers

I definetly like this season more then the others. As the most here I am also puzzled regarding Giorgou. I am not too fond of her character but I her cynism is somtimes entertaining.

What I do like, and what is much more of a topic, is putting the Discovery greater einvironment. In all oher Star trek the shipe mis mostly alone. Here the ship and crew is a part of something bigger.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sat, Nov 14, 2020, 4:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Die Trying

To less whis stright men around. I am white europeean stright and mature. Do I miss the Don Johnsos type males ? NO.
Do I like the mix? Yes.
This was my serious part now to the un-serious
The only thing that I miss is the short skirts that the females had in TOS.
And keep in mind ,they should still be worn by the females.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Fri, Nov 13, 2020, 3:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Die Trying

@JosephB
"
I’ll make this short and sweet:

THAT WAS STAR TREK!!!!!
"
Agree ... and even if there where some things irritating me ... it was star trek.
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.