Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 25 (Showing 1-25)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Jean Luc
Sat, May 30, 2020, 3:26pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: Similitude

This could have been something. Instead, it is an utterly vacuous episode that avoids all the interesting moral issues related to its subject. It's even worse that it was aired during a massive nationwide debate about human cloning.

By the end, the clone is expected to just meekly submit to be killed and harvested for his tissues so that Trip can be revived. So what exactly is this episode saying? Sentient life forms are now expendable if it helps the cause? I know this isn't Picard, but this is out of character even for Archer.

Bad writing, implausible story, no philosophical reflection whatsoever. This isn't just "not Trek," it's the Anti-Trek. It also doesn't advance the larger story arc of this season. Totally worth skipping -- zero stars.
Set Bookmark
Jean Luc
Sat, May 30, 2020, 1:35pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S1: Justice

This is a bad episode, but I'm kind of surprised at how much hate the concept gets -- Jammer calls it "just plain stupid," apparently unaware of the original story underpinning it.

Draco was one of the early lawmakers of Athens. According to Plutarch, he set death as the penalty for all offenses. His reasoning was that lesser crimes deserved death, and he could think of no harsher punishment for the more serious crimes.

Like another commenter, I really did like the juxtaposition of ultra-hedonism with totally unreasonable, inflexible legal system as its ultimate guarantor. If we could have a nearly perfect society -- a pleasurable utopia in which everyone is honest and law-abiding and has unlimited time for recreation -- would it be worth it if it meant living under such an unreasonable, ludicrous legal system? IMO that's a philosophical question worthy of Star Trek.

Unfortunately, this idea doesn't get a very fair shake. The campy and over-sexually suggestive welcome. Lt. Yar saying their laws are "Fairly simple, common sense things" -- but oh, she overlooked that bit about death to all criminals. Uh...okay.

Much worse is this contrived debate over the Prime Directive, which should have nothing to do with this. The Edo literally watch these tourists from another planet beam down from a starship in starfleet uniforms and communicate with Enterprise using com-badges. There is no effort at all to conceal their alien origin or the fact that their ship is in orbit. Picard even brings one of them up to the ship.

So, in what way does the Prime Directive apply here? If it ever did, then they violated it a thousand different ways before getting to this point.

This is some new reading of it the Prime Directive that never existed in TOS. The Prime Directive often comes up as a plot device in the various Star Trek series, but this is just an abuse of it. I can understand that Wesley's transgression creates a diplomatic fiasco for the Federation and Picard, but it seems bizarre to me that the Prime Directive is brought into this story at all.

In sum, I think this episode raises a serious, challenging, philosophical quandary about law and society, then falls completely flat in trying to resolve it. 1.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Jean Luc Rikkard
Thu, Mar 5, 2020, 11:00pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

I have disliked this show overall but the last two episodes have been better. Especially this one. This one actually felt more like Trek in that it was a bit more upbeat and less dystopian. It was nice to see Troi and Riker again, and their family felt genuine and their daughter was well acted and cast. Picard felt a bit more like Picard for once and it was good to spend some actual time with the crew.

The relationship between Picard and Soji seems to be working which is a relief because that's obviously a major part of the show going forward.
Set Bookmark
Lucky
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 7:41am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S2: Rules of Acquisition

Well put Bob.
Set Bookmark
Jean-Luc Picard
Thu, Dec 19, 2019, 11:35am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Trek: Generations

This is Jean-Luc Picard. I never left the nexus. Everything that follows in the films, the television episodes and in my series coming to CBS All Access all takes place in the nexus. Enjoy!
Set Bookmark
lucas
Fri, Jul 19, 2019, 2:34pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

I hace a question: why is Will decker the captain? I assume that scotty is the first official but in the crew remains sulu and uhura both liutenants in TOS. somebody has a in/out universe explanation? thanks
Set Bookmark
PotLuck
Fri, Feb 1, 2019, 10:47am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: Point of Light

That girl that keeps talking to Tilly in a vision.. she is now THE most annoying character in all of Star Trek.. even over Neelix and Michael Burnham. WOW.. way to go producers! I mean jeez louise.. I might be interested in this subplot if that character didn't hurt like nails on a chalkboard.

Overall a mundane outing. The Klingons are over designed. Instead of using traditional batleths.. they use these poor thinner overly detailed versions that look like coat hangers
Set Bookmark
Luc de Forte
Tue, Jan 30, 2018, 6:38am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

When Stamets said at the end they had jumped to the wrong time and Saru (I think) asked how much off they were I hoped for a split of a second the answer would be: 150 years in the future. Just imagine that, we could have guest appearances of any of the TNG, DS9 and Voyager crew. And a universe which actually felt alive as opposed to this one. Don't get me wrong, I enjoy watching the show, I just generally hate prequels as they take away the element of surprise from the show.
Set Bookmark
Luc de Forte
Thu, Jan 25, 2018, 3:56pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

I don't see why so many of you see Mirror Lorca as a bad guy. I mean, he did fight the Emperor so doesn't that make him quite the opposite? Sure, he lied to everyone in "our" universe but wasn't that just because he's so dedicated to fighting evil in his own and was just looking for a way to resume that fight? In my eyes that makes him more interesting if anything. I like this plot twist.
Set Bookmark
Luc-Jean
Fri, Feb 17, 2017, 10:18am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S2: Where Silence Has Lease

Funny how it always seems to be the nutjob religious types who have a problem with Picard's musings on death...

My biggest issue with this so-so episode is the way Haskell is just suddenly there in act two, right where Wesley was. At that moment you just know Wesley's only been replaced so they can kill off a redshirt. If Haskell had been there from the start of the episode, or if Wesley had been given a good reason to leave his post and be replaced, it might not have been quite so glaringly obvious. As it stands, they might as well have put a giant neon sign above Haskell's head that said RED SHIRT in all-caps.
Set Bookmark
John Luck Pickard
Sun, Feb 5, 2017, 11:46pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: The Magnificent Ferengi

"This week on DS9, get ready to laugh at the bumbling Space Jews as they murder a shackled prisoner and violate his corpse for profit!"

Not so funny when it's phrased like that? Probably why I didn't laugh at the actual episode. You can swap out the nouns, but the premise doesn't get any funnier.
Set Bookmark
John Luck Pickard
Sun, Feb 5, 2017, 11:27pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: Statistical Probabilities

Agreed. When Russian (or Soviet) intelligence got notes from someone who wanted to pass along secret information, Putin and Gorbachev never met someone in a broom closet. This is like watching Joseph Stalin try to find Klaus Fuchs in a bathroom stall somewhere outside of Albuquerque. "I am here for peace talks, comrade, no?"

Why is it so hard to find productive places to put these people in the 24th century? Are there no unskilled labor positions, not even of the "what's all this dirt doing in the boss's ditch?" kind?

Apparently in the future, mental illness (or defective genetic engineering) is strictly confined to white people between the ages of 30 and 65. Should I take from this the conclusion that minorities are less susceptible to have genetic engineering fail, that they are less likely to need genetic engineering in the first place, or that they do not have it performed at all?
Set Bookmark
Lucas
Thu, Jan 12, 2017, 12:37am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S2: Melora

Personally preferred this episode over invasive procedures two episodes back. At least with this episode i kind of could give a damn about the characters in the main plot. I couldnt care less two episodes back.
Set Bookmark
dj_lucas
Fri, Sep 4, 2015, 11:30pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

Evolution and adaptation of the human species has always been a featured component of Star Trek episodes, Tuvixian Lives Matter!
Set Bookmark
Lucien D
Mon, Aug 24, 2015, 10:11am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: BSG S2: Flight of the Phoenix

One thing that's always confused me about the two Sharons is how Helo's Sharon has the memories of Tyrol's Sharon and their relationship together.

The two Sharons coexisted simultaneously - one on Galactica and one on Caprica. Tyrol's Sharon evidently didn't die and download at any point before Cally's intervention, so where did Helo's Sharon get those memories from? How does she remember her life on Galactica when she never experienced it?

Is this explained at any point? Did I miss a line of dialogue anywhere?
Set Bookmark
Lucien D
Sat, Aug 22, 2015, 5:31pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: BSG S2: Fragged

To put it another way:

While it may seem harsh to execute somone for refusing to obey orders, they are not so much executed for refusing to obey, but so that others will not refuse to obey...
Set Bookmark
Lucien D
Sat, Aug 22, 2015, 5:28pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: BSG S2: Fragged

This may be an unpopular opinion, but I believe Crashdown was well within his rights to point a gun at Cally.

In a war situation, you sometimes have to order soldiers to their certain death in pursuit of a mission objective. Said soldier may not want to go, reasonably, out of fear of their own survival.

Sadly, they still have to go, and the only threat that would work in that situation is the threat of certain death if refused, weighed against almost certain death of complying.

There's a reason why ALL societies that have abolished the death penalty still have an exception for soldiers serving in times of war. Cowardice in the face of the enemy cannot be allowed to stand, unless you want your soldiers refusing to fight.

He had the absolute right to threaten her, and he damn well should have pulled the trigger if she continued to refuse a direct order through cowardice.

Its not nice, or pretty, or noble, but it is mecessary for order. All else is anarchy.
Set Bookmark
Lucien D
Wed, Aug 5, 2015, 6:48pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S5: Trials and Tribble-ations

The reason it was a 'very special' episode is to celebrate the 30 year anniversary of Star Trek itself.
Set Bookmark
luc
Wed, Jun 10, 2015, 4:31am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

An OK episode. Riker doing Frazier's ex-wife was a little much, but you know.

I can't believe no one mentioned the Roswell connection. The chancellor's explanation of how the incident will be explained away is Roswell.
Set Bookmark
Lucky
Sun, May 18, 2014, 4:18am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

I just watched this for the first time a few minutes ago. Let me just say I've never been a Star Trek fan, and I just happened to tune in while doing some work. This episode really blew me away and I just had to google it to see what others thought about it. Turns out it touched most folks the same way. Brilliant stuff.
Set Bookmark
lucy
Tue, May 21, 2013, 5:49am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S2: Prototype

@duhknees
"the Reset Button mentality of TNG"

Examples, please
Set Bookmark
Lucian
Thu, Jan 26, 2012, 5:32am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S5: Nor the Battle to the Strong

While i nearly always somewhat agree with the star ratings for DS9, I do not in this episode.

It was poor, the story of how war is terrible and all that was already done, and would be done again, but better in all other cases.
The doctor and jake was not only badly acted but they never went on from this to share any real screen time again.....thankfully
Set Bookmark
Lucian
Mon, Jan 23, 2012, 6:31pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S4: The Quickening

good to see another example of the darker side of trek that was common in DS9.
The arrogance of bashir who thought no cure existed solely cos he could not find it , and people die.
Set Bookmark
Lucian
Sat, Jan 21, 2012, 3:20pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S4: The Muse

While this was a miserable episode, it did provide me with one of the best laughs I ever had at star trek.

When odo walks into the bar and asks if she wants to go for a walk , worf says "I do "
Set Bookmark
Lucian
Sun, Aug 15, 2010, 11:15pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

Fantastic episode, possibly the best episode in any of the trek series.
Although not too fond of sisko at the beginning he made the role his own as the series went on,Garak was class as always.

Great review btw
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.