Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 46 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
lizzzi
Sun, Feb 25, 2018, 6:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

I like Orville far more than I ever expected to. Yes, it's very uneven, but I love the visuals and the music--the sense of hope--the ordinary, non-heroic crew members doing their heartfelt best to deal with what's thrown at them. I'm looking forward to the second season.
Set Bookmark
lizzzi
Tue, Apr 18, 2017, 10:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Explorers

A light, fun show with a lot of heart. The solar-sailed ship was beautiful. This one is a keeper for me--I watch it every once in a while, and it always stands the test of time.
Set Bookmark
lizzzi
Fri, Apr 14, 2017, 7:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The House of Quark

I don't really have anything new to add--agree with the positive comments above. A hilarious episode in terms of the Ferengi and the Klingons--wow, a Ferengi episode that is actually good, and stands the test of time. Quark, Grilka, Gowron--just priceless. And the B-story with Miles and Keiko is actually sweet--most of the time I can't stand the total lack of chemistry between those two, and find Keiko annoying. (I've thought for years that they should have cast a better wife for Miles.) But this story rang true. I do agree with someone who said we should have seen Mollie...would have rounded it out better. This episode is a keeper for me. I watch it every once in a while just for fun and light relief when I'm not in the right frame of mind for the heavier gloom and doom (albeit excellent) episodes.
Set Bookmark
lizzzi
Fri, Feb 24, 2017, 10:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Corbomite Maneuver

I always thought this episode had a certain charm. It is somewhat hokey and dated, but everybody knows this is a story from the 1960s, so I just give a pass to the cheesiness of the props and sets, the overly-dramatic musical score, and the histrionics and over-acting at times by the cast. I thought Bailey was an incompetent moron, and was surprised that he got the plum assignment to stay on Balok's ship and learn about the culture...but at least we got rid of him that way. Three stars.
Set Bookmark
lizzzi
Sat, Feb 18, 2017, 7:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Amok Time

Definitely four stars. This one has stood the test of time, for all the reasons others have posted upthread.
Set Bookmark
lizzzi
Fri, Feb 17, 2017, 7:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Operation--Annihilate!

Starfleet uniform, of course. Hate autocorrect.
Set Bookmark
lizzzi
Fri, Feb 17, 2017, 7:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Operation--Annihilate!

Meh--ok, I guess, but paced very slowly. Definitely needed some resolution for Peter Kirk, if only a throwaway line from someone to the effect that he was sitting up in sickbay eating ice cream, and his grandmother would be waiting for him at Starbase 10 or whatever. A quick google search showed the still shots of him in the Starlet uniform on the bridge with Jim Kirk. Too bad they didn't leave that in.
Set Bookmark
lizzzi
Mon, Feb 13, 2017, 10:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Friday's Child

Hard to believe, but I don't think I've ever seen this episode before. I loved it--like "Spock's Brain", it's so bad that it's good--just cheesy, campy fun. "I'm a doctor, Man, not an escalator!" Hahahahahahahaha. And the Capellans uniforms--OMG--lavander, orange, blue fake fur--hilarious. Especially the leader, whose uniform was trimmed with what looked like gold drapery fringe. Spock, Kirk, Mack-Coy, Scotty...all great. Uhuru, Sulu, Chekhov--professional and fun to watch as usual, through all the ridiculous plot nonsense. Julie Newmar as Eleen--wow--what a pretty woman. And a sleazy, rotten Klingon for us to hate. What more could one want? This one is a keeper for me.
Set Bookmark
lizzzi
Fri, Feb 10, 2017, 11:03am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Lower Decks

Just watched this ep for the first time in years. Agree with all who give it 4 stars. It really would have been nice to see Sito Jaxa continued into DS9 somehow...survived the escape pod crash, rescued by a passing ship, blah, blah. But I can also see how it would have taken away all the punch from this TNG ep. Darn it. She would have added a lot to DS9...my favorite overall Trek universe show.
Set Bookmark
lizzzi
Thu, Feb 2, 2017, 9:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: One Little Ship

Charming, entertaining fluff. Lots of fun. Three stars.
Set Bookmark
lizzzi
Sat, Jan 14, 2017, 9:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Similitude

Re-watched this, and still like it, as I wrote upthread almost three years ago. Still a very emotional story, despite all the ridiculous science. It holds up well, and I have to pretty much respectfully disagree with Jammer's review. I'd give it a good three stars.
Set Bookmark
lizzzi
Sat, Jan 14, 2017, 9:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Flashback

Loved the scenes on the Excelsior--yay Sulu, Rand, Kang!--everything else pretty much a yawn.
Set Bookmark
lizzzi
Fri, Jan 13, 2017, 9:25am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

I always hated this episode, and thought Enterprise (which should never have been cancelled) should have ended this season with Terra Prime. But you know, I just watched TATV again, and while I still thought it was incredibly weak and was
unfair to the Enterprise actors, I didn't hate it as much as I did the first time. Riker and Troi were not really believable as TNG season 7 actors--as others have said--their aging was too obvious. And the story was unkind to Shran, who is, and should be portrayed as, a much stronger, more heroic character. This script makes him look sleazy...which he isn't. But I think it's a positive that the writers tried to hook the history of Archer's Enterprise to the TNG stories. It has always been troubling that nowhere in the Trek continuum do they mention Archer...yes, of course...because he hadn't been written yet. So this attempt to bring him in was well-meaning I think, if not very well-done. And Trip's death...did he really die?...I recommend reading the follow-up re-launch paperbacks...his death was unnecessary and stupid, as others have posted. Anyway, upon my second viewing, I could see that this was indeed, while ham-handed, an attempt to pay tribute to Enterprise's characters and stories. And the ending montage, I agree, was wonderful
Set Bookmark
lizzzi
Fri, Jan 13, 2017, 9:14am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part II

I loved this two-parter mirror universe story. Just a riot. Suspend disbelief, grab some popcorn, and hang on for the ride. Sometimes I think Jammer takes things way too seriously. (Bound, Mirror Universe part 1--come on, Jammer, lighten up!)
Set Bookmark
lizzzi
Fri, Jan 13, 2017, 9:11am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part I

Great fun. I love the way it refers back to TOS's The Tholian Web. I think the mirror universe stories in Enterprise are far more entertaining than the meh mirror universe in DS9. So what if the Enterprise mirror universe is over-the-top cartoonish? I think it's a riot--pure entertainment with no redeeming value. Wahoo!
Set Bookmark
lizzzi
Fri, Jan 13, 2017, 9:08am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Bound

Oh, come on. Stupid, campy fun. So what if it's not world peace. I love most of seasons three and four of Enterprise. They never should have cancelled this show.
Set Bookmark
lizzzi
Fri, Jan 13, 2017, 9:05am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Spectre of the Gun

Felt like I should have liked it better than I did. I can see all the good points, but still found it slow and preachy, with Chekhov so infantile I wanted to slap him up alongside the head. The trouble is, there has been so much better Trek created since the days of TOS. Some of these old TOS shows just don't hold up. (And some do--can re-watch The Enterprise Incident, the Horta, the Tribbles...true classics.)
Set Bookmark
lizzzi
Sun, Jan 1, 2017, 7:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Emissary

I just watched this one again after four or five years. I remember liking it, and I still do like it. It is a lot of fun, and a good Klingon and Worf episode. ("Comfortable chair". Ha-ha. Love that line.) Two and a half stars are not enough...come on, Jammer, let's give it a three.
Set Bookmark
lizzzi
Sun, Dec 18, 2016, 10:02am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

Definitely a three-star episode. I enjoyed this more last night than I did years ago when I first saw it. I've been watching some of my favorite DS9 eps on DVD, and after watching Kira have the O'Briens' baby boy on "Begotten", thought I'd go back and watch Mollie O'Brien's birth. Such a hoot--laugh out loud funny. Worf rocks! The other plot lines were interesting and fun to watch, too. Not a deep episode, but entertaining. My only quibble would be Deanna Troy, who as usual was awful. A weak link in the chain of characters, no question about that. The only Troy scene I really like is in "Chain of Command, part 1", where Captain Jellico puts her in her place after her psycho-babble and tells her to go put on a uniform. Ha-ha-ha.
Set Bookmark
lizzzi
Thu, Nov 5, 2015, 12:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Fourth Season Recap

Engage!! Wahoo!! I can't wait. I'm also hoping it's awesome.
Set Bookmark
lizzzi
Sun, May 10, 2015, 10:56am (UTC -5)
Re: Interstellar

Interstellar was awe-inspiring, with just a couple of caveats: It was too long, and it needed just a bit more resolution about what happened to Anne Hathaway's character. I could nit-pick some of the plot points, but my overall reaction was visceral…an emotional experience, to say the least. I had never seen Contact, so got the DVD and watched it a few days after watching Interstellar. Wow! Yes, I do see what all the shouting was about--another visceral, emotional, awesome SF movie. For me, Contact was the more complete package…did not leave me with the nagging criticisms that I had for Interstellar. Personally, I see the two as a package deal…I would recommend that someone who had seen neither should watch them both. (I just don't remember enough about 2001: The Space Odyssey to make a comment about it.)

Set Bookmark
lizzzi
Sat, Apr 18, 2015, 11:56am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Miri

I'm re-watching TOS , and started with the most well-regarded episodes and with my personal favorites. Now I'm going through the rest of the not-so-hot episodes. This one is dull and creepy, with an "ick" factor regarding Kirk's manipulation of Miri's crush on him. Looks like he's grooming her for something. I agree with others that the "duplicate Earth" thing was a clanger--all they had to do was say the planet was an M-type, and they could have made it look a little like Earth without showing the continents…and it would have been fine. Also thought that all four leaving their communicators in the empty room was an obvious device to move the plot forward. The crew never would have done that. (And didn't the two redshirts have communicators? Where did they go, anyway?)

But it's worth watching, sort of, for Spock's line about the "Beaker of Death!!" Hahahahaha.
Set Bookmark
lizzzi
Thu, Mar 12, 2015, 10:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

I just watched this episode again after many years, and was glued to the edge of my chair even though I knew what was going to happen. This is a top Trek episode, and deserves at least 3.5 stars…probably 4 stars. The cat-and-mouse game was gripping, and Kirk was at his best as the legendary starship captain in battle. Mark Lenard was warlike but gave a richly-layered performance. Just the fact that this episode introduced the Romulans made it important. Who cares if their helmets looked stupid and their bridge cheesy. The love story with the tragic ending gave some depth and meaning to what the casualties of battle really felt like for the crew. (No disposable red-shirt death of the week this time!) Classic, top-notch Trek. Jammer, I usually agree with your reviews pretty closely, but not this time.
Set Bookmark
lizzzi
Wed, Mar 11, 2015, 3:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Conscience of the King

I'm re-watching a lot of the TOS episodes after many years, and really liked this one. Definitely a three-star ep. I respectfully suggest that Jammer take another look at the ending. It isn't a cheat at all. Lenore was criminally insane, was clearly a danger to people, and as someone said above, had a psychotic break. She's going to spend the rest of her life in a 23rd century mental health facility--in a locked ward. I don't think McCoy was excusing her or giving her any kind of a free pass. But as an MD, he was showing a compassionate attitude to a sick person. No more than that.

Wasn't a nineteen-year-old a little young for Kirk? Just asking.
Set Bookmark
lizzzi
Sun, Mar 1, 2015, 1:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

I just watched this on Netflix for the first time since watching it at the movies when it first came out. I am going to watch all the movies in sequence as my personal homage to Leonard Nimoy. It surprises me how affected I am by his death. Anyway, I remember disliking this movie for all the same negative reasons stated on the many posts above. Watching it yesterday, I could not believe how much I loved it.The one thing I truly disliked were the sleazy, stretch pajama-like uniforms. So drab and ugly. But setting that aside, i was awed and surprised by how good this movie is. The wonder of the universe, the profound visuals, the uplifting, evocative score. I had truly forgotten the plot, and it was like seeing it for the first time, only through much more mature eyes. Decker and Ilia were not particularly engaging characters through the bulk of the film, but they redeemed themselves in the ending. There is room in the Star Trek universe for different kinds of films and TV shows. This movie will go down in history as a classic, I think. Slow? Yes. But so what? It redeems itself in other ways.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.