Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 69 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Thu, Nov 5, 2020, 5:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Forget Me Not

Are going to see Dax?
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Fri, Oct 9, 2020, 8:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: The Quality of Life

How many of you are here after the season finale of Lower Decks?
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Thu, Oct 1, 2020, 2:22am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

And Samuel, I did watch Disco and Picard and did not like them. But I did like this.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Thu, Oct 1, 2020, 2:19am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Roga Danar? Sent me to Memory Alpha and then to rewatch The Hunted. Roga Danar did kick some ass.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Sat, Sep 19, 2020, 12:57am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

And Arix from TAS! Or at least same species. Although Tendi and her dog were super annoying. If they could jettison some inane stuff like that it would be a better show.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Sat, Sep 19, 2020, 12:55am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Lower Decks isn’t as bad as I thought it would be. I don’t like the juvenile snarky vibe but as a comes it can work, and there are some really trek worthy stories in there . If they can slow down the dialogue and get a more mature tone I could get into it. It feels more like real Star Trek and less like kurtzman/grim dark/nutrek than all the other Star Trek shows on right now. And what was that creature? I have to rewatch now but I think that was the jellyfish creature from Encounter at Farpoint? And definitely felt the Chain or Command vibe, right before Mariner makes a reference to Jelico.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Tue, Sep 1, 2020, 5:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I'm conflicted about Lower Decks. Like many of you, I am not a fan of Mariner, and if the recurring jokes are all Mariner saving or being smarter than Boimler, I'm not going to be able to tolerate it long.

I do like Boimler on his own, and I do like Tendi and Rutherford, and that I already know Tendi's name means that the writers are doing something better than say ENT's writers did for Travis Mayweather.

I also like some of the gags, etc. And I think it does feel Trekky.

But it is missing something. Maybe it is just too fast paced for me, or perhaps I'm still getting used to Federation Officers who aren't quite acting like Federation officers. We've always had Barclay's though.

To compare my opinions: I don't mind Discovery, it just doesn't feel like Star Trek to me. Picard I feel started out well and ended poorly, but I did have a few moments of joy, especially in Nepenthe and with the arrival of the Zheng He (though I knew it was coming; not that specific ship but you know - sorry I don't know the spoiler rule on here). They just don't feel Trekky. Too movie like and cinematic, and not enough character study, or philosophy/ethics like the others had? I like that Star Trek made me think.

I don't mind a non-thinking Star Trek animated comedy. And this show does have its redeeming qualities, but it is missing that special something.

I'll see where it goes.
Set Bookmark
KookyKyle
Sat, Aug 29, 2020, 11:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Ex Post Facto

Do this to Kyle Rittenhouse
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Mon, Aug 24, 2020, 12:01am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Schizoid Man

Anyone see any tie ins to Picard, the new show? Downloading consciousness, continued existence after the natural body dies? The groundwork laid here.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Thu, Jun 11, 2020, 2:43am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

So now the Vorlons from Bab 5 are on the synth planet. Didn’t see that coming.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Thu, Jun 4, 2020, 2:44am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

I don't know if someone already mentioned this but you are wrong Jammer; Hugh is named in the show. If he wasn't I never would have known that was Hugh from I Borg, since I didn't stick around to read the credits.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Sat, Apr 25, 2020, 7:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Jammer as well as the rest of you have hit the nail on the head with all of DIS flaws: plot holes, silly over the top Armageddon plots, transformer animation, special effects style over substance, continuity issues, glorifying violence, etc. I’m really disappointed with the series as a whole because I really liked it at first, it had a lot of promise and it has had moments of brilliance. And special effects and action and battles are cool. And stammets and his love of science is very trekkian.

So everything is classified? That’s how they fix the continuity issues? What a cop out.

Was the spore drive experimental? Discovery was the only ship with it? Then maybs the classified solution isn’t so lame.

Ways to fix it would be to tell coherent credible stories by hiring done writers that don’t think dark serialization automatically equals quality tv storytelling. For serisluzation in Trek done we’ll look at DS9. And make it an ensemble show with each character getting a couple of good episodes each season don’t just focus on Burnham.

I don’t hate the show and I’ll probably watch season 3
But I hope the quality gets better and it feels more like Trek.

And Karl Zimmerman above a year ago: If season three turns out to be a Pike/Spock show I would be totally down with that.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Fri, Apr 24, 2020, 10:10am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

It seems to me a) DIS is more about visuals and effects and action than storytelling and continuing the world building that has been going on for 50+ years of Trek. b) it comits the worst sins of TNG type technobabble to move the plot c) the stakes are ridiculously high: destroy all sentient life in the universe? That seems cartoonish to me. Why? What happens when Control destroys all life? d) if they wanted to do a prequel, why not do what they did with Pike and the original Enterprise? Seems like that has been crying out for a prequel movie/series for years. Based on the many paperbacks and comic books made over the years seems like that would have been the making of a great series. And based on Mount and Romjin and the new Spock it would have worked great. Why did we need a new ship and SMG? Sorry to be so negative but having reached almost the end of season 2, after an exciting and promising start, (I didn't mind hailrless Klingons, but I hated the magical spore drive fromt he start.) the visuals and action are great but the storyline just doesn't add up or cohere.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Wed, Apr 22, 2020, 2:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

Airam, we hardly knew ye...

Maybe this was already covered, but Jammer, don't you remember the first season epsode, I can't remember the name now, when Burnham went on board the coffin ship to rescue Tyler and Cornwell, and blow up the ship, and Cornwell was paralyzed and she told Burnham that she used to counsell PTSD soldiers, and she talked Tyler off the ledge when he was having flashbacks to torture and freezing up?
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Wed, Apr 22, 2020, 3:02am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

Can someone tell me why exctly Pike had to take over Discovery? Why is he there? Why couldn't they make Saru Captain? I love Pike and Mount, but if they were going to do a prequel they should have just done Pike and Spock the early years. And then they wouldn't have had to retcon Burnham.

Burnham running away from home, are they ripping off Yesteryear from the TAS? They better not or we will have problems. Get your own original storylines DIS.

Since when does it rain on Vulcan? Or have lush green forests? It's a desert palnet, like in a Roadrunner cartoon. (You can tell what I grew up watching back in the 70s and 80s,) Another example of shitting all over Trek canon.

DIS needs to get better writers. I like this show and I love seeing Trek adapted to the age of dark adn serialized TV, even though DS9 pioneered that, and did better, but there is no over arching narrative, consistent characterization, crew interactions, or world building. It seems disjointed, less than the sum of its parts.

Is the Red Angel Crewman Daniels from ENT and the Temporal Cold War? Maybe DIS cna figure out how to make that work. Cuz it sure didn't on ENT. Or maybe DIS is again recycling old ideas from earlier Treks. But why would you want to recyle that lousy storyline?

Speaking of which, looks like the earth will get blowed up again like with the Xindi Weapon. More recycling.

Looking forward to Talos 4 though.
Set Bookmark
kyle
Tue, Apr 14, 2020, 2:30am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

Great episode all around, but how can it be the MU without sexy belly button baring uniforms on the female officers?? I for one would love to see Detmer in one of those.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Sun, Apr 12, 2020, 11:40am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

This episode had its moments the overall plot was awesome, I liked the fact that it was like cause and effect from TNG. What I had a problem with was Michael had to work our her issues on how to relate to people before they could save the ship. Priorities? And “I’ve never been in love” oh god, I’m going to throw up now; I feel like I’m watching an episode of Thirtysomething. For you youngsters who didn’t come up in the eighties look up that show. The whineyest show ever.

And I don’t like the continuity issues, namely Mudd in TOS was a slimy con man but ultimately a buffoon, where here was an amoral murderous sociopath and he was really smart and dangerous. I’m shocked starfleet’s finest couldn’t defeat him in one of the iterations? Time crystal? What kind of drugs ex machine plot magic is that? The final scene though he seemed more like the buffoonish henpecked idiot we remember from TOS. And I like the portrayal of Stella here, more realistic, less of a sexist shrewish caricature from TOS. And she was pretty too.

I guess It’s because Mudds characterization here, like other continuity issues people complain about (like the ship design, uniforms, Klingon physiology) can be explained thus: each ST show reflects the historical era it is made and watched in; TOS is similar in structure and tone to other 60 s shows and Mudd and Stella reflect the 60s sitcom couple seen on other shows, and this current Mudd reflects the dark, serialized, Breaking Bad era of TV we are now living in.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Sat, Apr 11, 2020, 2:33am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

Almost forgot, 1 1/2 stars, from me, 2 tops.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Sat, Apr 11, 2020, 2:32am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

Sorry everyone; I can't agree with the positives. This movie could have been great but ultimately was a flop to the point don't consider it canon. Someone else said TNG ended with all good things and I think that should stand.

Shinzon could have been a memorable villain but why did he have to be a clone of Picard? Served no purpose just muddied up the waters. I like the assassination for the Romulan Senate, that was awesome, and the Reman uprising/coup was a great concept that went nowhere. A Romulan centered movie, a Romulan coup/Civil War, ala Afghanistan or Yugoslavia or Syria could have been interesting. But like so much else in this movie it went nowhere. What a wasted opportunity.

Yes, aside from a brief mention the Dominon War never happened, and Worf's time on DS( and going off to the Klingon Empire never happened. And didn't we do a TNG episode where Picard met his clone or a sone who was a clone? And this movie seems to forget one of TNG's greatest episodes, Tapestry, where young Picard had hair. Completely violating canon.

And B4, what a useless, stupid, uninteresting and unnecessary plot device. Why would anyone want to see a slow, stupid Data? And the whole dune buggy scene was and flying thru the halls of Shinzon's ship was stupid. Why do we need car chases? Dumb, pandering to the lowest common denonimator.

And I'm sorry Jammer, I totally respect you and your reviews and opinions, but the Picard/Shinzon dialog and the can we rise above our circumstances and be better was totally cliched, pop psychology that a million other movies and TV shows have done. Shinzon could have been a great villain, he has the motivation certainly, but why a clone? He could have been a human POW or half human child of a Romulan Senator, like Sela, but the clone/connection to Picard was forced and contrived.

And just when you think Trek is moving beyond it's troubled relationship with female characters and Roddenberry's old-boy's club sexism, Troi gets memory raped yet again. How many times did that happen on TNG? Women were sexually assaulted/violated on supposedly more politically correct (No one has gone before...) than on the supposedly less enlightened more sexist TOS. And here Troi's assault serves no real purpose. Raping/jeopardizing women yet again just to serve a contrived porrly written plot device is totally misogynistic and sexist.

Yes, great effects and space battles but no compelling story. Potentially interesting villain, but contrived cliched villain/hero conflicts. Just dumb addition of B4. And reverting back to sexism and misogyny with let's rape Troi yet again for no reason.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Sat, Apr 4, 2020, 3:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: First Contact

I loved this movie, definitely 3.5, but there are two problems with it can't get past:

1. I really don;t like the Borg Queen, not the actual character but the whole concept. The reason the Borg were so scary at first was that they were a collective hive mind, and they stripped you of your individuality and your very self. Now we see a single person as the leader? If you need one drone to speak for the collective when dealing with individual non-hive races then why did she need Locutus all those years ago? I guess for Picard's knowledge f the Federation and its tactics? Then why not just assimilate him? I think this was the start of the "domestication" of the Borg, which came to fruition in Voyager. Yes the Borg are still great villains and scary but now they are just one more in a long list of bad guys over the years.

2. That was a great scene with Lily and Picard in the ready room and the whole Ahab speech, but that should have been Berverly, not Lily. Picard and Crusher have been friends for years and have lots of professional and personal history together, Beverly knows him better and for longer than anyone else on that ship. Their history and their respect and affection for one another has been a constant throughout TNG. Having Beverly just blindly follow his orders while others are questioning them does the character a real dis-service. If anyone can see Picard going off the rails and call him out on it and stand up to him, it would be Beverly, not some random guest star from the past he just met a few hours ago.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Wed, Apr 1, 2020, 11:50am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Generations

For a far superior meeting of Kirk and Picard y’all should read the novel Federation from pocket books by Judith and Garfield Reeves Stevens. It has Trek history, for example Cl. Green from World War 3 and time travel because that’s the only plausible way the 2 captains could meet. Yes maybe time travel has been done to death but it makes a lot more sense than that half baked nexus idea.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Wed, Apr 1, 2020, 11:42am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Generations

Haven’t we done a Data gets emotions Episode before many times? In the poorly rated Descent on TNG for example? Data gets emotions and the. Can’t deal with them so suffers a near meltdown and short circuiting? Or Data malfunctions and tries to kill the crew? It seems like we’ve been down this road before. I can understand the writers wanting Data to evolve beyond his tv persona if we are moving into feature films now but it wasn’t done in a convincing manner and it was poorly written, it came off as a rehash and poorly done. That’s just one of many reasons in addition to the ones stated above by other commenters why this movie ultimately failed in its worthy ambitions. There were some nice scenes with the TNG cast and even at the beginning with Kirk, Chekhov and Scotty (Scotty: perhaps the most vastly underrated, under used and underapprecciated character in all of Trek). But ultimately the movie can’t come together as a coherent expression 2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Thu, Mar 19, 2020, 12:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Space Seed

Someone may have mentioned this already but you should check out the Khan prequel trilogy from pocket books called “The Eugenics Wars” by Greg Cox, written in 2001. It retcons late 20th century real life history to make the Eugenics Wars totally plausible, including the Bhopal disaster and assassination of Indira Ghandi in 1982, which figures into Khan’s early life, and nuclear testing by India and Pakistan in the late 90s. It even has a line that hints at Osama bin Laden as a fellow superhuman with Khan, although the books were written pre-9/11. Now that would have been interesting, 9/11 and the War on Terror as a part of the Eugenics Wars. Oh, and Gary Seven and Roberta are in the books too. Check them out.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Tue, Mar 10, 2020, 12:46am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

Pretty simple episode, perhaps a bit too late in the season, but it's fun enough for 45 minutes. Well acted, great direction, great sense of style. Loved it.

The whole race issue is just in my opinion dumb. The idea of everyone being invested in Vic's misfortune but Sisko is funny, as it paints Sisko as being the only one to only see Vic as a hologram. The whole Race issue he presents just feels shoehorned and adding some weird unnecesary levity to an episode that needs none.

Also makes Sisko a bit of a whiner in my opinion.

Also Ezri was SMOKING CUTE in this episode, loved her. Objectification? Blah, that's what you people say everytime a girl looks attractive on TV, last time I checked, girls like to look attractive, same way guys like to look strapping.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Thu, Feb 20, 2020, 9:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

Christ you people, what the heck is wrong with you?

It's like more than half of you didn't even bother to pay attention at this episode's plot, thinking you're so smart for picking appart, while clearly ignoring basic war-time logic. Not to mention the constant bring of Fascism into the discussion, like this is some kind of commentary on "teh NaZis."

For any you jerkasses dumb enough to think these are child soldiers, then you must have never seen a 20 year old adult in your life.

So these are cadets that have ended up behind enemy lines. Have you forgotten these are still trained soldiers? Some of the best in fact? It's not rare to hear war stories of soldiers who seemingly deny the very existence of death and defeat during wartime, the younger one is, the more likely they are to think of themselves as indestructible in a subconcious level.

Not to mention that it's made quite obvious, as it is explicitly mentioned, that they have been maintaining radio silence since the very beggining, so Star Fleet has no idea they're even there.

I'm just imagining how you people think "Oh if I was there, I'd be shitting my pants like a pussy and I would grab the nearest escape pod." These are soldiers trained for war, caught in a situation, desperate to prove themselves. Christ, grow some balls.
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.