Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 44 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
kapages
Mon, Jan 22, 2018, 7:34am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

The hug towards Tpol and the comparison between Archer / Trip and Picard / \Raiker TRUST were so powerful human moments that obscure all other details.

3 stars

PS. I was grateful it didn;'t give us the speech "for the creation of Federation". That legendary speech is better left unspoken.


Set Bookmark
kapages
Mon, Jan 22, 2018, 1:55am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Bound

Jammer's review: 1 star.
Episode : 3 stars.
Its sad, when bias becomes so obvious.
Go watch some 2 star Dabo girls episodes or the Lyta and Mookie marriage ....
Set Bookmark
kapages
Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 2:18am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Babel One

@ methane: Very well said.

It makes no sense for an episode to include obvious explanations for the reason a piece of technology is abandoned in the future.

Remote control or AI control technology was never or rarely used by "canon" Trek, in order to protect show drama. To go boldly where no man (or his drones) have gone before....
If writes can find a way to make episodes using this technology, they should not be restricted by the lack of imagination of their predecessors.

4 stars.
Set Bookmark
kapages
Sun, Jan 14, 2018, 8:40am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

Very nice episode.
The ending was perfect. The premise that Star Trek is about self-righteous sentimentalists with black and white teenager mentality is worse than wrong., Its stupid.



Set Bookmark
kapages
Fri, Jan 12, 2018, 12:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Stigma

Tpol's unwillingness to admit "rape" and avoid punishment for the wrong reasons, is a direct analogy from the Socrates trial in ancient Athens. He preferred to stay and die than betray the justice system and flee, thus compromising his teachings in favor of civil obedience.

The complaints I read about obvious and outdated gay AIDS stigma are nonsense.
a) the "prejudice" and fear of Gay Aids exist even in 2017 let alone 2003
b) the story is generally about stigma, not specifically for AIDS. Metaphor and allegory is important to be generic and have broader implications. The human nature is not that different than it was 20 years ago. Its nice to remember or emphasize what dicks we can be if we allow our dark angels to prevail.

If the sexes were reversed (Trip was a woman, Flox wife a man), all the feminists would be screaming. Now total silence.

3.5 stars.


Set Bookmark
kapages
Sat, Jan 6, 2018, 1:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

Archer made a decision, according to Star Trek's future Prime Directive.
Maybe, being a simpleton, for the wrong or oversimplified reasons, maybe through misunderstanding evolution, or projecting fantasies, but that is not relevant. At all.
If you attack his decision, you should attack it based on Prime Directive principles.
Not your own ideas that contradict Prime Directive altogether.
Lets suppose Picard came across a comet headed towards a planet holding a pre - industrial civilization of millions. According to Prime Directive he would have to let them burn. How is that different? It isn't.
Is it "genocide" through inaction? Of course.
So, if you folks have a moral problem with Prime Directive, get the hell out or quit winning. This is Star Trek. Prime Directive is canon. End of discussion.

4 stars. I rarely agree with Jammer. He is spot on.

PS. I was expecting an easy solution like "you have to breed with the Menk species". But the writers were bolder than that...




Set Bookmark
kapages
Wed, Jan 3, 2018, 6:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Cupid's Dagger

What a bunch of prudes...From which decade do you come from?
Every time you are attracted to someone sexually, your own biology "rapes" you into liking them.
The blue guy is less a rapist than the average Joe putting on perfume, cool clothes, sexy moves and pretending to be funny and sensitive on a date.
In fact the blue guy is just himself. Its up to the Union to establish proper relations with his species and educate its citizens for their pheromones.
If I am invited to a place where my physical voice is considered super sexy and women throw themselves at me, I will not warn them in advance. Making a choice is controlling your instincts. If you cannot, its on you.

Furthermore, what is this crap cries about raping the two ambassadors? You are talking about the morons who wanted to go to war and destroy "all living creatures on their opponents homeworld?".

I will not even dignify comments on bestiality. Its a sentient blob.

Close minded religious PC pruds, exactly the types Star Trek envisioned humanity needed to escape from back in the 60s.

Set Bookmark
kapages
Wed, Jan 3, 2018, 9:09am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Command Performance

After watching the second episode, I would say it isn't comedy Star Trek.
It is Star Trek that does not take itself very seriously. Its like childish Trek with an irony behind. You know its corny, they know its corny, so lets forget about it and enjoy.
That is good.
I would hate a preachy episode that is seriously talking about animal rights.But in this not so serious premise, I love it.

Set Bookmark
kapages
Wed, Jan 3, 2018, 8:11am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Old Wounds

Its TNG comedy, and for some points I was laughing, for some I was amused.
Never was I annoyed. Even the goofy parts seem funny, ebcause the premise is different.
Comedy means that Jammer style review is irrelevant. Too much work for nothing.
Can you make a review on Family Guy episodes while you are at it?
Set Bookmark
kapages
Mon, Jan 1, 2018, 1:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Repentance

The episode is clearly in favor of death penalty under specific circumstances.
Neelix last ironic look to the second prisoner, who was trying to save his life through manipulation is all the money.
Set Bookmark
kapages
Mon, Jan 1, 2018, 4:41am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Critical Care

The episode makes a direct reference to the public health care system and compares two cases of prioritization based on merit or prioritization based on problem severity and life expectancy.

There is middle ground. It is a complex calculation, I admit, and after setup, best left to computer algorithms instead of people. You have to calculate how the allocation of resources will maximize the usefulness of health services individually without compromising future resources socially.

Idiots, in general, tend to entrench themselves behind ideological extremes and avoid the task of synthetic solutions.
Set Bookmark
kapages
Sat, Dec 30, 2017, 2:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Survival Instinct

Nope. This snore fest does not deserve the same stars as Equinox.

Moreover, they could live 8 hours per day free, if the two feel asleep while one was awake.
Set Bookmark
kapages
Sat, Dec 30, 2017, 12:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Equinox, Part II

Four stars from my perspective.
The evolution of humanity in Star Trek Universe is not genetic. Its cultural.
Under the appropriate circumstances the human mind changes its view point. It can even see 5 lights instead of 4, in reference to Picard /TNG episode.
Janeway got so angry, because she projected to the other captain her feelings toward herself. Her inner conflict and self anger between coming home and adhering the ST principles was never resolved. Only postponed.
When she found someone that chose the different path, she fell into the classic trap of suppressed gays hating open gays. She lashed out. She wanted to punish herself by punishing this captain, her projection.
In the end, the last scene made me cry. Being a human in Star Trek is not a given angelic status. Angels sometimes fall. In such case, they should repend and try to climb again, in the heights where they belong.

PS. I am an atheist, forgive my angelic metaphor, its for easier cultural reference.
Set Bookmark
kapages
Thu, Dec 28, 2017, 1:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Living Witness

T'Paul:
"Someone in the Voyager writing squad likes attacking PC truths... First we get "rape victims are imagining things" now we get "the oppressed are really the oppressors". What's next, a planet where whites are oppressed and blacks are the oppressors? I'm sure everyone here would love that one."

It is the human condition. Regardless of race or sex, the same problems manifest under the right circumstances.
I recently saw a fiction movie, where everybody was gay and straights were oppressed. Such allegory does not attack PC truth that gay are oppressed. On the contrary it supports it by binding it with the inner human instincts.

To oppress, to lie, to rape, to victimize is a human behavior, not a race, sex, behavior. Noone is impervious to it therefore, everyone should be aware and try to self improve.
What is your problem I dont understand...
Set Bookmark
kapages
Tue, Nov 14, 2017, 2:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

If the Maki had any brains, they would have already requested to become members of the Klingon empire. After the Klingon - cardassian war. Or before.

In any case, what Sisko and the Makee did is Race cleansing.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ethnic_cleansing

Cleansing is not murder. Nevertheless, it is a serious crime to indimidate mass populations from leaving an area. If its a war crime in our century, it certainly is a war crime in Star Trek.
The Makees are not an official government. They do not represent the entire human population of the planet Sisko cleansed. it is obsurd to assign massive responsibility for the acts of a minority / or majority of terrorists.

We are talking about a Federation that was considering giving Worf to the Klingons for firing on a decloaked vessel during a battle. Based on his "state of mind". Well, what was the state of mind of Sisko?

Stop defending the religious lunatic and ask yourselves. What would Picard do?


Set Bookmark
kapages
Sun, Nov 12, 2017, 2:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Accession

The Cardassians could learn a thing or two from the British_Raj
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Caste_system_in_India

Set Bookmark
kapages
Fri, Nov 10, 2017, 12:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Search, Part II

Its very funny. After all these years I didn't remember that the founders exploited the security threat to set a trap (Episode 3.21 - The die is cast)
But the information must have been inside my head, so I expressed exactly what is in the episode:
-their planet's location is known to their enemies, that possess stealth technology
-them being the founders is known to their enemies
-access to their biochemistry is possible through Odo.

I stand corrected and retract my statement.
Set Bookmark
kapages
Wed, Nov 8, 2017, 10:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Search, Part II

Sure they can hand-wave all security issues out of trust and sentimentality, like a dumb unconcerned race.
They are presented as sth else, though. Hence my objections.






Set Bookmark
kapages
Tue, Nov 7, 2017, 3:14am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Search, Part II

So, the founders are ok, when
-their planet's location is known to their enemies, that possess stealth technology
-them being the founders is known to their enemies
-access to their biochemistry is possible through Odo.
-they placed their prisoners right next to Odo and Kira, out of an entire planet.
-they didn't lock the door better
-they didn't bother monitoring the activity of Solid Kira (through a flying bird perhaps, or an insect)
-they allowed Odo and Kira through the door, instead of saying sth like "only after the Link can you have access to all our secrets"

They seem very dumb and unconcerned about security. For a race that wants to dominate all existence out of fear for solids.

And, how convenient, that a wormhole to Delta exits so near to the Founders planet, dominating all Delta.

Up to now, DS9 was a very intelligent show. I'm afraid the stupidity begins...
Set Bookmark
kapages
Sun, Nov 5, 2017, 7:47am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Alternate

note, Odo and the doctor have the same haircut.

I also wondered why Odo is using his shapeshifting so inefficiently.

Set Bookmark
kapages
Sun, Nov 5, 2017, 2:39am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Sanctuary

Another note.

Even if these screeans once inhabited Bajor, they have no claim now.
Jews did not have a claim on Israel in 1950.
Palestines do not have a claim on Israel in 2020.
Every two-three generations, old claims are deleted. The new people born, are the rightful owners of the land they are born into. Their grandfather's crimes are not relevant to them.
Set Bookmark
kapages
Tue, Oct 31, 2017, 3:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: The Nagus

an essay can be dictated to the computer, or even generated by the computer. In fact the concept of homework should be non existing in 24th century.
Set Bookmark
kapages
Mon, Oct 30, 2017, 2:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

Nice episode, overall. The script holes can be explained, by applying some fuzzy logic. Mudd didnt kill one last time the captain, because he had gotten it out of his system.
Mudd didn;'t play it safe when everybody acted differently (he should have reset, just to be sure), because, ok, he is not that smart.
In the last reset everybody on the bridge, including the computer was perfectly conspiring against Mudd, although all previous experience had been forgotten. It took at least 5 resets for the dance to happen just right...Ok, traditionally in ST everybody gets his act together against the odds when it really matters.
Mudd knowledge of spore drive...well, not even human arm dealers don't want the Klingons to win.
Nitpicks about the whale are irrelevant, when we dont know its physiology..
3 stars + half for "I have never been in love".
I imagined she had said "I was in love with my previous captain".

oh, well...

Set Bookmark
kapages
Mon, Oct 23, 2017, 4:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

Its funny. The Star Trek fans, grew old and got so conservative...
It's a good thing that Star Trek will not die with them....
Just like it didn't die with TOS-loving dinosaurs...






Set Bookmark
kapages
Mon, Oct 23, 2017, 2:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Frame of Mind

Great story. It respects the intelligent TNG viewer, at the expense of causing frustration to the other kind...

O' brien would never pull this off in a million shots.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.