Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all searched results

Total Found: 10,167 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 407
Set Bookmark
Eat at Quark's
Wed, Dec 12, 2018, 9:24am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: The Magnificent Ferengi

Really nobody knows how to make this episode plausible and "canon"?
Quark was bored by federal heroes' tales and invented a great "Spaceball". Maybe nobody at Quark's believed him telling the story, but it was very entertaining.
Well, we too were at Quark's listening to his story, not believing to him but enjoying the tale. :-DDD
Set Bookmark
Sillyk
Wed, Dec 12, 2018, 5:49am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: The Forsaken

Modern day ambassadors are often simply political gifts and getting to do travel to interesting places perks of that. Seems to be the dynamic here and why Sisko gleefully pawns them off on noob Bashir. And Lawaxana’s very large personality likely precedes her, particularly with O’Brien on the station.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Dec 12, 2018, 1:19am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Innocence

2.5 stars

Not great but decent in spots especially the plot involving tuvok and the kids. The drayans were okay as aliens nothing outstanding or fresh but fair enough that I didn’t mind them. More interesting was the scenes with tuvok and the mysteey of what was going on with the kids. I don’t care how biologically realistic it may be i liked the idea of a species aging in reverse

I also thought tuvok had a good showing and the interactions were Vulcan but sweet too
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Dec 12, 2018, 1:12am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Lifesigns

2 stars

I wasn’t very interested in the doctor finding romance. Denara was a nice character but everything else left me cold. The 57 Chevy scene was too cute for me

Far more interesting was the Jonas and seska plot
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Dec 12, 2018, 1:07am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Arsenal of Freedom

2.5 stars

First half slow and boring. The second half the episode picked up and my was re-engaged with Geordi in command, the saucer separation and the discovery of the computer. I also liked the little humanizing tidbit about Crusher and herbs

I did think the drone weapons were pretty cool
Set Bookmark
Viktor
Tue, Dec 11, 2018, 11:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Charlie X

Ein starkes Kapitel, das mich unbehaglich gemacht hat, die Gymnastik-Szene ist wirklich witzig
Set Bookmark
Viktor
Tue, Dec 11, 2018, 11:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Man Trap

Ich fange an, die Serie erneut zu sehen, da mir diese Folge nicht gefällt, zu altmodisch für meinen Geschmack, nicht für die Kostüme und Effekte dieser interrassischen Charaktere
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Jakucyk
Tue, Dec 11, 2018, 7:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Drone

I don't buy all the derivative/ripoff comments, this episode is way too good to be levying such criticisms. Yes there's elements of those other shows, but that doesn't make it a ripoff. This is a standout hour of television, one of my favorites of the whole franchise. It's not one that I normally think about, compared to Yesterday's Enterprise, Best of Both Worlds, or In the Pale Moonlight, but it should be. It's one of those episodes where I think "oh yes, THIS one!" when it comes up in my rotation, and that's rare.

I am surprised that nobody has brought up DS9's The Abandoned. That episode has a lot of similarities in that it's about a baby Jem'Hadar being raised (or attempting to be raised) by Odo. He tries to instill his values, but the kid's nature is in conflict with that. He wants to learn about his people, just like One does. Yes the path is different, and in the end Odo fails to get through to the Jem'Hadar kid while Voyager's crew succeeds in getting through to One, and that is encouraging.

I really love Boehmer's acting. He brings a robotic but also child-like quality to the character which is both endearing and threatening. He really sells the character and gets us invested in him.

7: You must comply.
1: I will NOT!
7: You must comply. Please. You are hurting me.
1: You will adapt.

Outstanding.

The PoV shot from inside the maturation chamber, watching Janeway and the others discussing what to do is an excellent touch as well. It's not the first time we've seen something like that, but it's pretty rare, and I really enjoy it here.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Tue, Dec 11, 2018, 12:08am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Coming of Age

3 stars. Another solid episode

I enjoyed both stories. The Wes one did a remarkably good job of being actually interesting and rekeateabke rather than coming across as fluff or filler. I enjoyed the group of students. I thought they were well cast and had good sense of camaraderie. It was fun seeing that even in the 24th century kids still are subjected to grueling testing measuring their aptitude’s. The introduction of the Benzite race was cool. Really interesting design

I enjoyed the twist on wes’ psyche test and his scene with Worf in the holodeck. The instructor proctoring the test was also nicely done. Wes also had a nice scene with Picard over failing and Picard sharing his story of failing the exam his first time too. In fact, Picard has another nice scene where he ran in with the young man who stole the shuttle. Instead of ignoring him or berating him he offered him his time, kindness and words of advice. Nicely done

The other story also was intriguing. The questioning of the crew. Wondering what was going on. Ultimately revealing something bigger at play with Quinn’s ominous warnings of strange going-ins at Starfleet settongup for the conspiracy episode later in the season. Remmick was the. Perfectly unlikeable investigator. Worf’s quip about not realizing liking remmick was a requirement lol then remmick ultimately from his interactions realizing he wanted to serve on the enterorise one day. Quinn was also perfectly cast as well.

The visual of the starbase was nicely done and Picard guiding the young man on the shuttle was tense and exciting
Set Bookmark
Luka
Mon, Dec 10, 2018, 5:27am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Unification

They make such a big deal about reunification and yet all we see are a few dissidents in caves and that's somehow supposed to convince the audience that this is some monumental event in history. There needed to be a much more compelling back story to get invested in. Storytelling is always beat when we are shown how a situation develops not simply told it by random characters.

Spock wasn't established nearly enough. This episode should've been about an assassination attempt on Spock akin to Martin Luther King. This episode should've been focused exclusively on Vulcan or Romulus. The Enterprise wild goose chase with the Zakdorn should've been dropped entirely.

The ending was just plain stupid. Hologram trickery? Lol come on.

The whole two parter feels rushed and a gimmick to promote Spock without having a good story to tell.

Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sun, Dec 9, 2018, 11:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Captain's Holiday

2.5 stars

I don’t think this episode is bad. It’s pretty entertaining—a rather cool pleasure planet, riker trickier g Picard into carrying around the horgon and oicard’s rewction lol, vash is a fun character here, a sci fi mysteey, the vorgons are cool looking aliens, some double crossing, some adventure, some intrigue.

The only weak parts for me was the vash picard “romance” which was thankfully briefly focused on in episode. The other weakness was the payoff with the uthat. I think something a little more creative and imaginative was in order than simply destroying the uthat
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Jakucyk
Sun, Dec 9, 2018, 9:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Hope and Fear

"Also, after Artuis had flicked the lever to uncloak or remove the Starfleet camouflage on his ship, did anyone not find it odd that after Janeway and Seven escaped the (very Starfleet looking) brig, all the controls in engineering were still running on LCARS panels?"

There were just a couple of panels in engineering, which I assumed were installed there by the Voyager crew for their shutdown. On the other hand, the ship's exterior look didn't change at all as far as I could tell. They did seem to gaffe with the door into the rear of the bridge retaining the Starfleet badging and distinctive swoosh sound when Janeway comes in ("sorry about the bumpy ride"). Maybe Arturis' magic lever only changed back the primary controls in the bridge, and the mood lighting, hmm.

Anyhoo, I always liked this episode. Arturis was so hell-bent on revenge that he ended up getting himself assimilated. Watching him sit there alone on the bridge while the Borg give their standard greeting is terrifying. But yeah, there's so many plot holes and crazy science and reset buttons it does get pretty infuriating. Getting only 300 lightyears closer to home after going all the way to Borg space and back is right up there with Tom's shuttle in Threshold occupying the every point in the universe simultaneously but still only ending up a few days away. I do really like the interior design of the Dauntless. I'm surprised to learn that they built the bridge and engineering sets completely from scratch. I would have thought they'd reuse some of the bridge of the Prometheus, as there's definitely some similarities.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sun, Dec 9, 2018, 7:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

Guess I should have said I just took in "The Brightest Star"

Also, "Saru" .... eeeesh .... too many beers watching the Steelers lose :-)
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sun, Dec 9, 2018, 7:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

Just took this one in.

I enjoyed it. No harm was done and a nice backstory for Suru.

I would have liked to learn some about the Ba'ul, especially since Star Fleet knows of them.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Sun, Dec 9, 2018, 5:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Extinction

I watched this episode while reading all the comments about why Archer didn't destroy the virus. Perhaps with the benefit of knowing he wasn't going to destroy the virus I paid close attention to his reasoning and his reasoning was thus;

They had passed a cure for the virus on to the other alien species who Archer believed would try to use to wipe out the virus on the planet. Archer believed the virus was created to preserve a species and their civilisation and that those people cease to exist the moment the virus is gone. Archer said they were on a mission to stop the Xindi from destroying humanity and he was damned if he was going to have a hand in destroying another race in the process. That was his reasoning for not destroying the virus. So there you go.
Set Bookmark
House of Martok sux
Sat, Dec 8, 2018, 7:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: You Are Cordially Invited

Martok is a pretty fine character but... What a "lovely" family.
Drex is a total douchebag, Sirella is simply a BOOR. I give a piss of her "ku klux klingon" foolishness. A boor is a boor.

Now I understand why Martok never tried to escape from that asteroid: compared to his wife, Enabran Tain was a lovable teddy bear :-D
Set Bookmark
Luke
Sat, Dec 8, 2018, 1:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Code of Honor

Stay with the man who kidnapped her? Yeah, I don't think that would have been a good idea.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sat, Dec 8, 2018, 6:46am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Hunted

3 stars. Held my attention

Interesting story with aliens being considered for federation membership, interesting character of the week and some exciting unpredictable action with his various escape manuevers.

Picard also handled the situation well by sticking to the alien government and beaming away
Set Bookmark
Derek
Sat, Dec 8, 2018, 4:29am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: A Matter of Time

Ah! I forgot the other big thing. The time pod. They catch him and get back all the stolen items, but they just let the 26th century time pod transport back to the 22nd century (to NEW JERSEY no less) with no one controlling it. Someone (22nd century Snookie) will find it and then the government will take it and figure out how it works and completely change the course of human history. It would have been more accurate to have the show end when the pod disappears and then we see the enterprise and all it's crew just blinking out of existence.
Set Bookmark
Derek
Sat, Dec 8, 2018, 4:02am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: A Matter of Time

This is one of those episodes I actually enjoy (for the most part) as long as I don't start looking too deep into it because some glaring WTF moments show up once I do. I would have really liked to see Robin Williams play Rasmussen, but I enjoy Matt Frewer's acting generally. I think they really should of adjusted the part (or done so more) once he was cast .
1. I really didn't like his creeper scenes at all. They just don't fit with the rest of the character and his motivations and time constraints. He's there a couple of days to steal things without being caught while pretending to be a historian. I really doubt he'd want create more causes for concern by trying to get some while he's preaching about not affecting things. They could have left it all out it would would have fit much better.
2. As others like Luke and Jason R. pointed out the "morality" argument between Rasmussen and Picard really makes no sense. Picard has made the same exact argument as Rasmussen on more than one occasion and he has stood on the bridge telling everyone they MUST allow millions of people die. He's saying how he's re-evaluating his convictions but tells Worf's brother saving a civilization is wrong when they are being killed by a natural disaster even though this is a natural disaster. And, the fact no one outright calls him out on it later on in the series is complete BS.
3. Why the heck did he even bother stealing a lot of that stuff? Geordi's Visor!? Seriously? First of all I'm pretty sure he only has one of them, right? He's the only senior officer not there waiting outside the time pod. So, what? He's currently blindly stumbling around the ship? It's also the thing that is MOST likely to be noticed missing. I mean he has it with him every minute of every day. In fact, how the heck did he even get it in the first place? Break in while Geordi was sleeping and snatch it from the night stand? He certainly can't pick-pocket it off of his head. Worf's d'k tahg (knife)!!!!??? He's supposed to be an inventor isn't he? Not only does the d'k tahg already exist back then, but even if it didn't, what the heck is he supposed to invent? It's a knife for crying out loud not some amazing piece of technology (unless you somehow count the button that releases fake blood or the guard somehow).

The more this kind of stuff (and the plot holes) add up, the less I enjoy the episode.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Dec 7, 2018, 10:49am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

I didnt think it was out until the 8th.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Fri, Dec 7, 2018, 8:52am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Price

3 stars. A pretty entertaining hour

I enjoyed that we saw some trade negotiations. Neat group of aliens. Liked the wormhole story and the risk of getting trapped

The troi romance was pretty involving. Although they probably could have removed the fact heveas empathic and was just kind of a sleazy negotiator employing underhanded tricks.

I also enjoy the Beverly and troi girl talk.

Debut of latinum and hearing gamma and delta quadrants which would go on to play big roles in the next two series
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Dec 5, 2018, 10:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Hard Time

2.5 stars

I wasn’t really impressed with this episide. It pretty much takes the shape of any story about a prisoner readjusting to life. I found that pretty dull

It picked up some interest about 3/4 way into the episode even though it was painfully obvious that his imaginary cell mate that kept appearing had been killed by O’Brien.

I also thought instead of being shocking and dramatic —O’Brien rotingwith idea of killing himself felt like an instance of the writers trying too hard

The idea of the episode was original ie compressing a prison sentence of years into mere hours because of wiring it to the brain

But this was no powerful episode the way “the visitor” was
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Jakucyk
Wed, Dec 5, 2018, 7:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Mortal Coil

Derivative yes, but still enjoyable. The only things that brought it down for me was the silly vision quest nonsense, and Naomi really needs some Sudafed.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Wed, Dec 5, 2018, 7:30am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: Evolution

3 stars
Liked every scene.
Loved the Borg namedropping hinting of their arrival to come

I liked the Beverly/Wes in the science lab where he’s stressed and snaps and she is patient offering him her help

I enjoyed the Guinan/Wes scene where he’s setting traps for nanites and she quips about running a clean establishment then offering her ear Liked her quip about Frankenstein
The visuals were nice especially the shots of the enterprise Pulled towards stream
Liked data speaking for nanites
Felt for Stubbs all his life for this and could be for nothing
Stubbs attacking nanites was shocking
Nice final scene forbeceekfor Bev and Guinan
Beverly happy Wes dartingbut then wants to know about his girlfriend
Beverly’s scene with Picard inquiring aboutbwes was also very good
Liked Picard Beverly scene
New uniforms
No mention of where Pulaski went
Beverly back prefer Beverly
Beverly right 17 is about fun and experimenting
Jeopardy good toxic gas ship malfunctioning
Nanite cool
Interesting sci fi idea newto me
Next ►Page 1 of 407
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.