Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 284 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 12
Set Bookmark
Jon
Sun, Feb 16, 2020, 9:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

At everyone discussing how the supernova should've been noticed: don't take for granted that the supernova occured naturally. The Romulans could've set if off by accident, or one of their many, many enemies could've sabotaged the star. Maybe a mad scientist shot a missile into it.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Sun, Feb 16, 2020, 10:58am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

@Dave in MN

"First off, the idea of Romulus's sun going supernova and there still being a Romulus long enough for Picard to go there and make a speech is beyond laughable. WHERE IS THE SCIENCE?!?!"

It's discovered that the sun's going to go supernova a little before 2385. The Mars incident happens in 2385. The sun explodes and destroys Romulus in 2387, a little earlier than expected (Spock thought he had time to stop it).
Set Bookmark
Captain Jon
Fri, Jan 31, 2020, 8:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Maps and Legends

To those who say that DISC & PIC aren’t Star Trek, I recall a time when TNG wasn’t considered Trek. In fact, I believe there are still a few stray souls lurking the Internet somewhere who say that the only true Trek is TOS & TMP. Nothing produced after 1979 is real Trek to them. The thing is that Star Trek evolves with the times. TNG became its own version of Star Trek for the 80s/90s. That’s what we have now; new versions of Trek for our current turbulent times.
Set Bookmark
Jon R
Sun, Dec 29, 2019, 6:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: The House of Quark

I generally like this episode, although I sometimes skip past the Miles / Keiko portions. Although I do agree that the Obrien family scenes are a lot better in this episode than they are in most others.

2 main things always bug me about the episode though.

1. (minor annoyance) Why is the grand Chancellor of the Klingon High Council, leader of one of the major powers in the GALAXY, presiding over a property dispute? Is there no small claims court?

2. The arboretum was a good idea. Bashir was completely wrong about it.
You see... in the Trek universe we have abandoned currency based economics. We don't pursue careers for profit and we don't measure success by how much wealth it generates. Instead it's all driven by personal passion and self fulfillment. So the line between CAREER and HOBBIE is blurred in Trek. The only real difference is between the two in Trek is how much time you commit to it and whether you choose to specialize in it. If Kaiko had her own arboretum then she could dive back into her chosen field. She would basically be doing the same thing she was doing on the Enterprise. She would be benefiting the station, exploring her passion. She could still go on away missions to find exotic plants, but now she would have somewhere to take them and study them.

THATS WHAT A BOTANIST WOULD WANT!
Set Bookmark
Jonathan Lane
Tue, Dec 24, 2019, 6:13am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

The first Star Trek feature film elicited mixed reviews from fans (and from the general public). Some Trekkers consider it a masterful exploration of the iconic characters of the Enterprise crew with breathtaking production values and a sweeping musical score that updates the 1960’s television series and prepares it for a bright future on the big screen. Other fans see it as a plodding snooze-fest of slow, indulgent editing—an opinion often sarcastically supported by pointing out that the Enterprise crew are all wearing pajamas, as if to say this movie will put us all to sleep.

But the one thing that nearly every fan and viewer agrees on is that the visual effects sequences are stunning and some of the grandest, most beautiful, and unforgettable in Star Trek‘s 50-plus year history. Among the most iconic and well-remembered of the segments were the introduction of the refit USS Enterprise with Kirk and Scotty flying around it for nearly five minutes (too long?—poppycock!), the opening sequence of the the three Klingon battlecruisers confronting and then being destroyed by V’ger, and the refit Enterprise leaving dry dock.

Those VFX sequences, overseen by the legendary DOUG TRUMBULL (who did the Enterprise shots) and JOHN DYKSTRA (who handled the Klingons, the Epsilon XI space station, and other segments) were rushed together in less than six months using models and blue screens and contraptions like periscopes to get cameras within inches of the amazingly detailed models. To see the finished breathtaking scenes, one would hardly think any of them were created with anything other than the most painstaking attention to detail over years…not simply months.
Set Bookmark
Jon R
Sat, Dec 7, 2019, 7:32am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Inheritance

Followup to myself.

Ok, in a later scene they make it clear that Data only has the colonists logs in his brain, not their memories. (I could have sworn it was referred to as memories in previous episodes) They also explained why there was no reference to her in those logs, because she retained her first name when she married Soong and hid their marriage from other people.
Set Bookmark
Jon R
Sat, Dec 7, 2019, 7:17am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Inheritance

I'm watching this episode right now and in the first scene Dr. Juliana Trainer approaches Data and is like "do you know who I am?" and Data doesn't realize she's his "mother".

My immediate thought was "Isn't Data supposed to have memories of all the people from Omicron Theta? Shouldn't that allow Data to recognize her?"

I'll let that slide since I never liked the "Data has everyone's memories" aspect of his background anyway. I thought it was kinda dumb (did Soong scan peoples brains? How did he get those memories?) and the writers rarely did anything with it anyway. I think they forgot about it most of the time. :P

Overall I liked this episode. Its not top tier, but it's above average, especially for season 7.
Set Bookmark
Jon R
Sun, Dec 1, 2019, 12:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: I, Borg

I have always been of the opinion that the Borg are not a species. They are collective of kidnapped victims who have been brainwashed to serve their captors. And they are forced to assume the purpose of destroying and/or kidnap more victims. At least thats the best way I can think to frame it.

I do realize that some Borg are born within the collective rather than assimilated, via maturation chambers (are they clones? Is there a default biological species they use when they create their own young?) But I would compare those children to the children born inside a cult. They are still victims and being exploited by captors.

While I would still question the ethics of sending a virus to kill ALL Borg, it's not because I view them as a species. Its because I view many of them as innocents. They are all individual beings who are victims of a system which robs them of their individuality. No single Borg has committed any crime under it's own will because it is not allowed it's own will.

And it always bugged me that Star Trek never acknowledged this elephant in the room. Whenever they tried to put the Borg into any sort of context, it was always "They are a species" or "Who are we to judge their way of life". Well are they to impose their way of life on the countless people they have turned into mindless drones? THAT'S WHAT THE BORG ARE, NOT A SPECIES. A CULT!

In the end I'm not saying Picard made the wrong choice. I agree that it would be unethical to kill all Borg if an alternate option is available. All I'm saying is they keep trying to frame it in the wrong way. They needed to acknowledge that the Borg contained thousands (possibly millions or billions) of KIDNAPPED SLAVES.

They needed to at least entertain the idea that these people needed help.
Set Bookmark
Jon R
Sun, Oct 20, 2019, 11:38am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Shakaar

I'm not a huge fan of this episode. I generally find a lot of the episodes about Bajor really boring. I can't quite put my finger on why.

But even putting that aside, there's one element to this episode that always bugs me, and that's it's messed up sense of scope that always lingers in the back of my mind while watching.

Why are there so few reclamators in the first place? They made it seem like the government loans these things out to small territories each year to help restore the soil. But the situation makes it seem like they only have enough to give to one territory at a time (thus why Wynn needs these specific ones back from Shakarr and why Shakarr waited 3 years to get them in the first place). Keep in mind this is an entire planet they are trying to restore, not just a few small provinces or a single country. At the rate some of the Farmers will likely be sitting around for decades before they get access to these things. I don't know if these things are provided by the Federation or not, but whoever is providing them needs to seriously consider making/getting more. THIS IS AN ENTIRE PLANET WE'RE TALKING ABOUT.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Sun, Oct 13, 2019, 5:45am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

Utterly appalling in every way.
Set Bookmark
Lee Jones
Wed, Oct 9, 2019, 10:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

Watched this episode just now.
I'd seen it once before, years ago, but I'd forgot its emotional punch.

Damn it all, if I haven't now found an episode to rival my adoration for "The Inner Light."

Well done, DS9. Well done.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Sun, Oct 6, 2019, 10:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Suddenly Human

I appreciate this episode because it walks the walk on cultural relativism. So often we hear that Starfleet is bound to respect the customs of others but we constantly see them try to change others, the episode where Riker corrupted the alien from a genderless society against it's culture or made a fuss about Worf wanting to die comes to mind, or when Spock tried to get a gang pf collaborators to turn Romulus into a democracy. Even if Endar was being abusive by western human standards, either by giving beatings or working him very hard, which I believe he was, that is an internal issue for their society, I am of the firm belief that there is no objective right or wrong, only rights and wrongs for oneself, one's culture and one's morals, if the Talarians or the Chinese for that matter want to eat their sons alive for back sassing them or something like that, it might seem crazy to me and wrong according to my culture but that's not my business and all that matters is that it's right to and for them
Set Bookmark
Jon Koo
Thu, Sep 5, 2019, 10:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Renaissance Man

@Marcus the Doctor? Getting consequences? Never. "He got away on time served". Ha! He was trying to avoid everyone anyway.
Set Bookmark
Jon R
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 12:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Heart of Stone

I really hated the first half of this one... the inciting incident was Kira stepping on a crystal...really?! I couldn't help laughing at her entire performance this episode, and the ridiculous crystal design.

I was kind of won over though by the great performances from Odo and Nog. Also, Kira being a shapeshifter explains how bizarrely stupid her performance and the entire plot was. Still overall, felt this was a pretty weak episode though from the comments here, sounds like it's the beginning of a new arc for Nog, which I look forward to. Generally like all the Ferengi stuff, even though they aren't always served well by the scripts.
Set Bookmark
Jonah Falcon
Sat, Aug 17, 2019, 10:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

"Anyhow, the weakness of the episode is the lack of credibility of the 8472's plan to impersonate Star Fleet to such a degree from like 60,000 light years away."

The Dominion Changelings wave hello.
Set Bookmark
Jonah Falcon
Sat, Aug 17, 2019, 10:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

I loved this episode because of Ray Walston. Oh, and because of Ray Walston. Could have used more Ray Walston.
Set Bookmark
Jonah Falcon
Sat, Aug 17, 2019, 10:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

"Does it? To whom? What's to say the "how we lived" bears any consequence on the "grand scheme of things"? Who says there IS a "grand scheme of things"?!? "

But they did affect the lives of others. They helped other people in need that the real Voyager didn't. Regardless of their fate, their help and charity lived beyond them.
Set Bookmark
Jonathan Byrd
Sat, Aug 17, 2019, 4:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Caretaker

I'd give star trek voyager a 4 star review; if it wasn't for the fact that every time I bring up the fact the Newton's "What goes up, must come down" Law of Nature was never a applicable law of physics, and ask some lefty, "Really MoFo', it was never a law; if so, when in the hell is the Voyager 1 probe going to fall back down?!" and they answer, "25 years at maximum warp." ....other than that, I give it full stars
Set Bookmark
Jonas
Tue, Jul 30, 2019, 4:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

I have found many of the criticisms of this series bizarre, but especially this episode being faulted for not developing the bridge crew. All of the Treks have focused on a core set of characters with nameless bridge crew members, most of whom never see action or get any back story.

The main cast is clear: Burnham, Saru, Tilly, Stamets, Pike, with Georgiou, Tyler and now Spock occupying major screen time. Plus, we had Lorca and Culber developed and killed off, Culber in the supporting category. That's quite a large cast to develop in 13-14 episodes per 2 seasons when the other Treks had 22 and some did less over 7.

Claiming the show could have thrown in bits of back story for all of the crew is not realistic and doing it only to kill off a character is dismissed as manipulative. I think the show has hit the right balance. Ariam could well come back (as this show has done before) and if so, then the opportunity has been taken to fill out her back story in an exciting way.

I've enjoyed this season immensely. It's TV and better than most and the episodes I've re-watched after I know the back story are a richer experience on reflection.

And all of the moaning about no sympathy for what seemed to be dying Nhan - with all of the "redshirts" or equivalents bumped off and no one cared over the years? Come on. The twist worked for me.
Set Bookmark
Jonas
Wed, May 15, 2019, 8:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

The only thing understanding the brain may potentially gain us is knowing how small a role it actually plays in our functioning.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Sat, Apr 6, 2019, 12:02am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Through the Valley of Shadows

I don't have that much of a problem with them not suggesting that they destroy Discovery last week. If you consider the circumstances, the direct threat from Control was absent at the time. There was no immediate danger of Control acquiring the AI so going straight from "I can't delete the archive" to "Blow up the ship" is quite a jump. I'm sure if at the end of last week's episode, had they been unable to stop Leland Pike would've destroyed the ship. Sure, logically and practically making the suggestion makes sense but from a dramatic standpoint, you do what the writers did and save that for a later date.

Which brings me to this week's episode when the danger to Discovery is immediate. They're severely outgunned with little hope of victory. So you bring out the Big Guns and the Measure of Last Resort for the week's Big Shocking Twist which is "Blow up and evacuate Discovery". If you pull out the Blow Up the Ship card one week, it has less impact the following week. Just saying, anyway....that's my two cents.

Oh....and also, someone above (sorry, I don't remember who) said that it should've been someone other than Burnham's idea. I totally agree with you on that. This is the writers constantly turning to Burnham as the one who thinks of all the alternatives. I think it would've been better to go from Burnham saying, "We're outgunned" to Pike giving serious thought to the situation breaking into giving his end of episode orders. That way, your closing line is "Bring up the auto-destruction sequence. We're going to evacuate Discovery." Cut to black.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Fri, Apr 5, 2019, 2:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Through the Valley of Shadows

Anyone else feel like maybe they should do a spin-off series starring Anson Mount and Ethan Peck aboard the Enterprise? One that bridges the gap between The Cage/Discovery and Where No Man Has Gone Before? I’m sad to see Mount go in a couple weeks and want to see more of him on the Enterprise! The series can close with Pike handing off command to Kirk. We can see what leads to Pike moving on with his career.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Sun, Mar 31, 2019, 10:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

@Ghosted

I thought of the possibility of Discovery ending up near the 25th century and tying into the Picard show. I don't think that would be a good idea. I'm not opposed to Trek shows running parallel to one another just as TNG/DS9/VOY did (it does lead to some opportunities that were squandered in the 90s, IMHO). I think that each Trek show needs to stand on its own at this point in Trek's TV revival. The writers do so much plot-wise in one show that I don't think they're ready to handle coordinating 2 shows right now. Maybe in a few years when they've got more experience under their belts, sure. But right now, each active Trek series should operate on its own two feet.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Sun, Mar 31, 2019, 1:51am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

@wolfstar

I agree with you on Kate Mulgrew as Janeway. I always enjoyed her acting. She commanded that screen just as well as any of her male counterparts who led all the other Star Trek series. But the writing for Janeway was very erratic and seemed to mostly meet the needs of the plot rather than serve who the character was. I don't think the writers had a clear sense of who Janeway was and the character suffered.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Sun, Mar 31, 2019, 1:48am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

I enjoyed the episode and felt that it was tense and well done.

I know that it's easy to say that this is the origin story for the Borg, but I just don't see it that way.

First of all, it's too obvious. Just like the Red Angel being Michael was too obvious, so is this. Last week they played into everyone's expectations only to then spin them around on us. I think they'll do that again.

Second, it means that Discovery is doomed to fail. If Control becomes the Borg Collective, then no matter what they do Control will gain sentience. If Control doesn't gain sentience and doesn't become the Borg, it alters the future and the rest of Star Trek as we know it. So unless they're planning on saying that this is the beginning of a long and tumultuous struggle between the Federation and the Borg, that just because Control gains sentience, the Federation still has a shot at victory in the future, I'm just not buying into it being the Borg. Not yet.

I could be wrong, but that's my opinion.

Does anyone else think that the season ending twist that setups Season 3 will be the Discovery ending up in the future?
Next ►Page 1 of 12
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.