Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,035 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 42
Set Bookmark
John
Fri, May 22, 2020, 4:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

Had trouble liking this episode.

Didn't buy Wang's grumpy Harry act. He even deepened his voice and walked around frowning lest we don't notice that time has left him bitter. Bless him, but he is not the premier actor on the show by a long way.

It is indeed another time anomaly and fake/finite stakes episode. All sorted by the 45th minute.

For me, just dulllllll. 'They're having sex'. Grumpy Harry wants a slap.

The Seven stuff at the start was the best bit. Says it all about who can carry an episode.
Set Bookmark
John
Sun, May 10, 2020, 2:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

This episode is rubbish.

8472 donning human skins, talking in idiomatic English, spouting dialogue like 'You can't trust them! Theyre seducing you!' Everyone wrapping up genocidal conflicts while strolling between the meeting room and the bridge....

These are beings from another type of spacetime. We get all their complexity piped through the character actor awshucks rhetoric of a cameo.

Rubbish.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Wed, Apr 8, 2020, 4:04am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Hey Jammer, do you think you might go back to that short review idea you had last year after discovery was over? I’m still curious what it was going to be.
Set Bookmark
John
Sun, Apr 5, 2020, 3:35am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Booming
"if you wan to use an authority argument, at least use sources that are leading in their respective fields and not some guy who has probably a bigger shot at getting shot in eastern Ukraine than the Nobel Prize. "

You are a sociologist, no? In the hard sciences, it is the research work and only the research that is important, not the name of the scientist or the university. I suspect that might not be the case in the humanities, although it should be. Still, I agree that human bias means journals are probably more likely to take notice of work done at major universities.

I don't know if any of this is relevant anyway since we're talking about AI studies, which is a multidisciplinary field of which philosophy is a major part.
Set Bookmark
John Daniels
Sat, Apr 4, 2020, 11:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

OMG!!! I love the series but get mad at some of the things the writers do. Just does not make any sense. Why would they kill Trip off at the end of the show, so dumb. Why not have them all go to the big speech and trip is sitting with T'Pol hold there cute little elf ear baby and our blue friend with his baby and the Captain gives an amazing speech and end it like that.

But no, they have to get the aliens that can travel past warp 4 and somehow beam on the ship, it just feels forced and unreal. It’s sad really; this series was great and had so much more potential. With all that said I really enjoyed the series and sad to see it end. The ending was good with the 3 captains talking about going where no man has been before.

If you get time stop by and say hi to me on YouTube, (dot com forward slash johndaniels) my fellow Star Trek enthusiast I am going to be doing a video at some point on Star Trek Holacracy. Take care, it was awesome getting to read Allan's reviews and all of your comments, I wish you all the best.

Live long and prosper,

-John
Set Bookmark
John Daniels
Sat, Apr 4, 2020, 2:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part I

Finally Archer grew a pair :)) I like it when he shot that reptile who tried to kill him and blow uf the ship. I wish the regular show was more like that. In the other universe the reptile could kill half his crew and destroyed half his ship he would have given him a little peep speech and took him home, lol.

I like this universe, but they need to not make them seem so evil just more balls and less PC correctness. If a ship is trying to kill you feel free to kill them, because if you don't they are going to kills other innocents people and that will be on your weak hands.
Set Bookmark
John Daniels
Thu, Apr 2, 2020, 10:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: United

Good episode besides Shran girlfriend dying of a superficial wound, how dumb can you get, the best doctor in the universe and all of sudden she dies, it just seems so unrealistic that you get pulled out of the story.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Thu, Apr 2, 2020, 6:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

I wonder if Hot Dog was ok with abandoning technology after being told his son has renal failure a few episodes prior.
Set Bookmark
John Daniels
Thu, Apr 2, 2020, 12:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Observer Effect

Here is another great episode, loving this series but some of the episodes piss me off :)
Set Bookmark
John Daniels
Thu, Apr 2, 2020, 7:37am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Daedalus

What I was trying to say in my last reply is that you want to have likeable characters, who you can get attached to and keep watching the show. How can you get attached to someone who is flaky like T'Pol.
Set Bookmark
John Daniels
Wed, Apr 1, 2020, 9:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Daedalus

Trip and T'Pol, and of course the writers had to mess that up. This is what I am talking exactly, the show is good and then it sucks, the show is bipolar.

T'Pol did not want to be with her ex and then when he releases her she then has feelings for him and starts to cry and now she has no feelings for Trip. Just stupid writing no wonder the show was canceled with writing like this.
Set Bookmark
John Daniels
Tue, Mar 31, 2020, 8:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: The Augments

As a whole I like this series but some episodes I just do not like. I feel like the writers can just make up stuff, like the escape pod on the Klingons ship. It seem like whenever Enterprise meets up with a Klingon ship they always get their butts kicked, but now all of a sudden they are so much stronger. When I first started watching I could already tell how it was going to play out, like watching a trainwreck in slow motion.

The Klingons are A$$ Holes, I would not mind seeing them get blasted out of the sky along with the other people who abducted t-Pole :)

They should have mixed it up and had the Augments outsmart Enterprise and then leave without being able to catch them. That way they could come back later in the series.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Fri, Mar 27, 2020, 8:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

“A fair number of plot holes, but that doesn't matter, the whole episode worked well.”

That is a wild sentence...
Set Bookmark
John
Sun, Mar 22, 2020, 7:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

Jason R. - The show is about Picard because next episode this Picard will be revealed to be an android, with the real Picard being held captive on the planet with 8 suns, because the fake Picard was planted in order for him to lead the Romulans to Soji's home planet so it can be destroyed, even though it's only a tiny commune and there are probably millions of other AIs in the universe there's the Destroyer there so we need 250 ships! But don't worry, Kurtzman knows what he's doing.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Sat, Mar 21, 2020, 5:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

@Lynos is completely right. The entire Borg cube side plot was pointless. Was it a legit operation hijacked by the bad guys or was it all a front to draw Soji in? Who knows? Where did all the workers go? The show has not told us and we know will not either.

It’s another symptom of Kurtzman Trek. He expects the audience to forget about things like that. He hopes the fast pace and explosions and melodrama will be enough to distract people into FEELING in the moment because that’s all that matters, feeling something in that moment rather than having a story that makes sense. It’s why you can have one scene deliberately contradict the previous one or even one sentence contradict the previous one.

What happened before doesn’t matter at all. With Kurtzman what happens RIGHT NOW is all that matters and it doesn’t matter if that moment is forgotten or contradicted later. It’s exactly how both seasons of discovery were made as well. Full of dropped story threads and gaping plot holes. It’s incredibly depressing that he keeps doing it and so many people are ok with it.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Sat, Mar 21, 2020, 4:34am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

@Lynos except even with a novel, each chapter has to make sense and be engaging and move the plot along logically.

A writer can’t say “I know this all seems like nonsense, but trust me everything will retroactively make sense in the final chapter.” Because that’s an insane and frustrating way to construct a story.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Fri, Mar 20, 2020, 10:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

@Drea saying Data and Lore were twins is a huge retcon. Data and Lore were different from one another, same as B-4. They were made separately. Soong learned mistakes from each model to improve until he got to Data.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Fri, Mar 20, 2020, 8:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

@Marvin absolutely this entire season could be reduced to a 3 part episode, with plenty of the season left for other adventures.

The reason it’s not is laziness. Why waste multiple ideas on one season, when you can stretch one single idea over 10 episodes and you get to save other ideas for future seasons. That way you don’t have to try as hard.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Fri, Mar 20, 2020, 8:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

More personal attacks against people who criticize these new shows. If you’re a fan of the show, go ahead, but don’t attack someone for not liking it. I never see it the other way around.

The show is poorly made and I’m sorry if you don’t notice the gaping plot holes and dropped story threads that plague everything Kurtzman puts his fingerprints on.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Fri, Mar 20, 2020, 1:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

Are we ever going to get an explanation for why these androids have to be made in pairs? It seemed like a huge deal early on. Was the only reason that was established so they could immediately kill off one of them and then have the “shocking” reveal of the other one? I can’t think of another reason.

I’ve seen people cite Data/Lore as the reason, but Data and Lore weren’t made in a pair. They’re not twins. They were made and developed separately, one assumes possibly years apart. Surely the writers/producers aren’t using Data and Lore as the basis for this. I guess it wouldn’t surprise me that they’d base a major part of their series on something they don’t understand about classic Trek.

I’m guessing this will never be explained and it will be one of those famous Kurtzman plot holes where he expects all the action and noise to make the audience forget about anything that makes no sense.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Thu, Mar 19, 2020, 2:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

I gave up on this show a long time ago, but I guessed at the beginning that no matter what the season would end with a giant multi faction mind-numbing space battle just like discovery season 2. Because Alex Kurtzman is a hack. Sounds like that’s where it’s headed.

I’ve never played Mass Effect, but after hearing so many people talk about how similar this show is to it, I looked it up and yeah...it seems to be a blatant ripoff. Not even an homage or similar premise, but almost seems like a lawsuit worthy ripoff of that story. It’s shameful. And it seems like they’re taking a lot from ME3, the one people hated. So good for them.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Thu, Mar 19, 2020, 5:16am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

Glad to hear you’re safe Jammer.
Set Bookmark
John
Wed, Mar 18, 2020, 5:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

Wow people still discussing this episode to this day.

I actually find it a good litmus test for whether people see the world in monochrome or shades of grey, idealism or pragmatism, shoulds or ares. I do also think one side are a little sanctimonious but I dont want a flame war.

It's like this. Tuvix was a usurper. Yes, he had a right to live, but so did Tuvok and Neelix. For me, arguments of well, they died and it's sad but now Tuvix lives and no one has a right to take his life away, don't cut it for me, and I'll tell you why.

Tuvix's life was disputed territory, and as others have said, no easy answers exist here, but the solution is not necessarily a question based solely on morality. In an awful situation, sometimes the least awful action is the correct one. Do nothing, two men remain dead. Do something, one man dies so two can live, separately.

You see it's not just a question of life, its potential, it's possessions, it is everything Neelix and Tuvok could ever have (wives, families) and everything they could ever be or do (in Tuvoks case, get home). Tuvix would usurp these possessions for himself, but despite his joined consciousness, they are not his.

He becomes afraid when reality sets in and insists on his survival imperative, but he has, unintentionally, stolen two lives, potentials, existences. If he fundamentally IS, then Tuvok and Neelix fundamentally are NOT. And if they are not what they have, possess and are, is lost.

Janeway sees what is the solution, the lesser of two evils, two lives for one. And so do the crew. Tuvix, bless him, is an aberration. One with rights, but one that usurped what Tuvok and Neelix had and his actions are selfish.

Janeway does something heroic, in a very awful way. She takes the guilt and the culpability of the crew and makes it entirely her own. Once Neelix widow Kes goes to her, her mind is made up. Something is wrong and it must be made right. And she looked Tuvix in the eye when she did it. I was never more proud of her.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Tue, Mar 10, 2020, 8:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Black Market

I can’t help but think that Zarek’s “utopian fantasy” line was a dig at Star Trek.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Thu, Mar 5, 2020, 4:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

So synths will destroy the entire galaxy. You’ve got to be fucking kidding me. They’re doing this shit again. How many times can they recycle “thing will destroy the entire galaxy”? Seriously, they just did that with Discovery season 2. Technology will destroy the galaxy.

I was really hoping, in vain it seems, that Picard wouldn’t do the same thing as Kurtzman a Trek before and have it all culminate in something threatening THE ENTIRE GALAXY but here we are. No doubt the finale will end with an overblown space battle and then a cliffhanger that leans heavy on nostalgia to trick people into coming back. My guess is it will be Q.
Next ►Page 1 of 42
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.