Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 776 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 32
Set Bookmark
John S
Sat, Jun 23, 2018, 9:16am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Best of Both Worlds, Part II

Why don't they make Guinan the ships councillor? She's far more competent than Troi at it.

Just flush Troi out the airlock.
Set Bookmark
John S
Tue, Jun 12, 2018, 1:44am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Allegiance

I'm beginning to think it's just me. But I find cases of mistaken identity so uncomfortable to watch that I can't always make it through the episode.

Also the captain replaced by identical captain has already been done. I don't see any reason for this episode. 1 star.
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Sat, Jun 9, 2018, 7:27am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

I liked this film better than TFA though it was still silly in parts. At least it took risks and wasn't just a trademark Abram's reset and rehash.

If it's true that Rian Johnson deliberately ignored and contradicted Abrams' wishes then I like it even more.

2.5-3 stars.
Set Bookmark
John S
Tue, May 29, 2018, 3:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Enemy

Riker was really angry in this episode.

When the dieing Romulan tells Worf he wouldn't have his fifth in his body I thought that was a good queue for Worf to do the transfusion. As it would bother the Romulan for the rest of his life.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Tue, May 29, 2018, 1:41am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

I was skeptical at first, but I thought this episode was great. The premise was clever and made sense with established Trek continuity. It was fast paced and exciting and well shot and written.

My favorite part is Archer struggling with the decision to shoot the assimilated aliens out of the airlock. He doesn't even have to say exactly what to do. He looks at T'Pol and she knows what he means. And the show treats this decision as difficult for him. The lingering shot right after it happens of Archer's face in close-up with a thousand yard stare was excellent.

That's some good drama
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Fri, May 25, 2018, 9:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Marauders

All I could think of was how it was a worse version of Three Amigos
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Sun, May 20, 2018, 11:50am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

I was expecting to hate this episode based on your review. I quite loved it. I thought it was endearing and it was nice to a Vulcan in this series not being obstinate for no reason.

At first, I thought that kid was going to stumble upon their ship and find out they were aliens. And with his love of space I swear I thought they were going to reveal the kid’s name was Gene Roddenberry and I was getting ready to destroy my television. I missed when they said what year it took place though, and luckily they revealed the kid’s name quickly haha.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Sun, May 13, 2018, 2:03am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Detained

The most interesting thing about this episode is that both of the main Suliban guys previously played Vorta in DS9
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Fri, May 11, 2018, 10:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Wow. I must say I’m surprised with the review. I felt it was barely more tolerable than the prequels.
Set Bookmark
John
Sun, Apr 29, 2018, 7:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Justice

@Paul

To be honest I don't find the Bible (especially old testament) particularly enlightening. The old Vedic scriptures have much more to say on this topic.

The Ashtavakra Gita, for example says:
"Righteousness and unrighteousness, pleasure and pain are purely of the mind and are no concern of yours. You are neither the doer nor the reaper of the consequences, so you are always free." 1.6

Set Bookmark
John
Sun, Apr 29, 2018, 6:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Justice

@Sean Hagins

Your kingdom come, your will be done, on earth as it is in heaven
-Matthew 6:9-13

All that happens is God's will, not ours. Science also backs this up, since physics leaves no room for a separate, independent entity that acts apart from the body.
Set Bookmark
John
Sat, Apr 28, 2018, 6:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Justice

@Chrome

What is it that is being punished by putting someone to death? We already know that a person's behavior is determined by their genetics and conditioning, not free will. One would think that by the very rational 24th century of TNG this fact would have sunk in enough to show compassion even to those who have committed "terrible crimes against human life". As I said, most countries already show such compassion without this having a negative effect on deterring crime.
Set Bookmark
John
Sat, Apr 28, 2018, 4:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Justice

I don't see how it's "idealistic" to say we no longer practice the death penalty. It's only a minority of less civilized countries that do that now (the US is one). In a 24th century where history has gone the way Trek has, it would be looked upon as savage. Would it also be idealistic for Picard to say we now live in houses instead of caves?
Set Bookmark
JOHN NORRIS
Sat, Apr 14, 2018, 6:26am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Has trek said all it can say?
Set Bookmark
John Hellier
Sat, Apr 7, 2018, 5:39am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

And sadly the last episode featuring Ron Jones on Music which was a major mistake by the production team getting rid of them He brought grey colour to the episode he scored

seen the TNG episodes in Blu-ray and restored is Joys of being reconstructed so brilliantly it still makes an impression watching even if the odd episode isn’t as good

I still tend to feel the TNG was it is most Star Trek influenced 123 and 4 series 5 6 and 7 for me didn’t quite have the impact that the earlier ones did
Set Bookmark
John
Mon, Mar 26, 2018, 11:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

Hey, here's something no one mentioned: What about the Equinox crewmembers who are now on Voyager and demoted to "crewmen?"

I'd imagine they'd be facing criminal charges for mass murder as soon as they get back to Earth.
Set Bookmark
John
Mon, Mar 26, 2018, 11:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

Mindbreaker
Thu, Aug 6, 2015, 3:43am (UTC -5)

"The Next Generation: the ship is too big, they ludicrously endanger too many children. Come on that is just stupid to go around with a city into dangerous situations, and too many characters are sleeping around with whatever alien shows up. The counselor is a tramp, and so is the first officer. That guy just gives me the creeps."

Why? What's wrong with "sleeping around?" There is nothing wrong with a healthy sex drive, regardless of whether you're the first officer or the ship's counselor.

TNG took place in the 24th century, not in the 1607 Massachusetts Bay colony, which seems to be where you came from.
Set Bookmark
John
Mon, Mar 26, 2018, 11:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Dark Frontier

@icarus32soar:

I'm also curious: Would you be okay if, in the next episode, Janeway were suddenly a man? Or the holographic doctor being a real flesh and blood human and the writers pretending that that was the case all along?

How big does the continuity error have to be before it starts bothering you?
Set Bookmark
John
Mon, Mar 26, 2018, 11:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Dark Frontier

icarus32soar
Sun, Feb 21, 2016, 8:53am (UTC -5)

"The notion of a ST Canon and the harped upon need for continuity are a toddler's neediness, a fear of getting out of one's comfort zone."

Excuse me? So I'm a toddler because I demand a coherent universe, instead of every episode existing in a different parallel dimension from the one before it? This isn't an anthology series like the Twilight Zone, dude!

This has nothing to do with my "comfort zone." It has to do with the integrity of the franchise. Either things in past episodes happened or they did not. But demanding that the show recognize its own past isn't a "toddler's neediness" for comfort. It's a need for basic facts to exist within the show's objective universe.

Either previously established reality exists or it does not. But pretending that it does and that it is coherent, while, at the same time, flushing certain inconvenient past episodes down the "memory hole" is deceitful, contradictory, Orwellian, and indefensible. It has to be one or the other. Either anthology or the same universe.

I can't believe in two mutually negating things at the same time. If these writers don't even respect the integrity of their own reality, why should we?

Set Bookmark
John
Wed, Mar 21, 2018, 5:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Night

KB Murphy
Mon, May 30, 2016, 3:27pm (UTC -5)

"In fact, the whole ship's counselor ethos in TNG era shows always bothered me because it clearly showed the idea that they were still dividing health care into mind and body elements."

@KB Murphy:

Yes, that's called "human dignity." If you're going to reduce consciousness itself to nothing more than brain chemicals, then you are erasing the distinction between "living" and "non-living." Treating human beings like cars with not enough, or too much, oil trivializes the entire human experience, as well as the concept of life itself.

I'm glad no one in the 24th century thinks like you.

Death to psychiatry!



Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Thu, Feb 15, 2018, 2:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Oops, missed the comment where you said this counted as the season recap too
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Thu, Feb 15, 2018, 1:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

"It's been great reading your commentary this season in the comments. You are a thoughtful bunch, and I appreciate your contributions to the discussion."

Likewise, good sir. Will you be doing a season recap like back in the day?
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Thu, Feb 15, 2018, 7:07am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Nice review Jammer. Though reading it, I'm not sure where the 2 stars come from. You've basically criticised everything about the episode.
Set Bookmark
JohnTY
Tue, Feb 13, 2018, 1:21am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

And there it is. Easily the worst episode of the season, eclipsing What’s Past is Prologue. Everyone has pretty much already nailed the negatives. Especially Hank.

I guess the show kept me watching.. Though that’s probably more to do with me wanting to see what they would do with Trek rather than due to any merit contained in the episodes..

Let me see.. I liked Saru and Stammets most of the time. Tilly had her moments. Lorca was pretty cool too until they utterly destroyed his character (maybe not quite literally).

Those are the only positives I can think of off-hand.

The uniforms seem well made.

sigh
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 11:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Well, the word stupid comes to mind. And simple. This ending to the season was ridiculous and like a children's book.

I wanted to believe this series would come together by season's end and the writers knew what they were ultimately doing, but I'm convinced that they're just really really bad at their jobs. It's actually kind of astounding that they got paid to write this.

I can't even fully wrap my head around everything wrong with this episode. I guess it's fitting that this war ends in about as dumb of a way as it ends. Written by people who don't understand how complex war is, or what causes it and ends it. We were promised an in depth look at this and we got shallow comic book storytelling.

And then you watch After Trek and see all the writers patting themselves on the back and it's both embarrassing and gross.

And don't even get me started on that Enterprise redesign, complete with random holes in the hull struts to make it look like a freaking bicycle frame. Do the designers not realize the hull struts are solid for the turbolifts to go through???
Next ►Page 1 of 32
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.