Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 664 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 27
Set Bookmark
Jay Marks
Wed, May 27, 2020, 11:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: A Private Little War

Never mind. Found them. Doh.
Set Bookmark
Jay Marks
Wed, May 27, 2020, 11:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: A Private Little War

@ Peter G.

Always enjoy your comments/posts......never NOT insightful and thougtful.! For TOS APLW, you recently wrote in part, "It begs the question of not just which approach is enlightened, but which will actually work." A interesting little truth bomb.

BTW, I don't know why the comments from today are not listed here. I saw them in the Comment Stream. I refreshed this page., but nothing. What am I missing?
Set Bookmark
Jay Marks
Mon, May 4, 2020, 3:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Assignment: Earth

I'm a sucker for anything in the orbit of TOS. I would have been all in for a season 4 even if it was twice as bad as season 3. So it pains me to speak ill of an episode of which there are only 79. But try as I might, I can't bring myself to say anything positive about Assignment: Earth.

In my mind, this should not even be viewed as a ST episode, but rather a pilot for another show that guest-starred the crew of the Enterprise. That's exactly the vibe I get whenever I watch it, which is why I can't even bring myself to review it. (Even though I kinda just did.) Shame on Gene for unofficially concluding season 2 at episode 25.
Set Bookmark
Jay Marks
Sun, May 3, 2020, 6:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Deadly Years

I totally get what they were trying to do with this episode. It was supposed to be a commentary on aging and relevancy. But the problem that made it 100% impossible to pull off is that they had only an hour to do it. So their solution? Have a disease that causes hyper-rapid aging. But that created an undercurrent in the episode that was no longer about ageism in society but rather about an alien disease and the race to counteract it.....getting old was just a symptom. So the competency hearing -- and even Galway's remark as she passed the mirror -- seemed forced and contrived. You contracted a weird alien disease! Find the cure, just like every other alien virus that ever afflicted the crew.

Having said that, this is Star Trek. The rockbed of almost every episode is always some sort of social commentary. Some hit. Some miss. This one landed somewhere in the middle. And I agree with what almost everyone said about its shortcomings.

Great acting by the those that aged. They did it exactly as I would have expected their characters to grow old. And how could you not love Kirk charging onto the bridge to save the day? Hokey for sure, but it was a nice payoff. Stocker spoke for every TOS fan at the end.
Set Bookmark
Jay Marks
Fri, May 1, 2020, 6:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Journey to Babel

Just saw this episode the other day and saw something I never noticed despite watching TOS a bazillion times. In one scene I spotted DeForest Kelley looking directly into the camera. It was when Kirk was in sickbay after being stabbed and started to sit up. As he tells Kirk, "Jim if you stand you can start to bleed again" he looks right into the camera for a split second!

A silly thing to point out, I know, but it's always neat to spot something you missed despite years of watching.
Set Bookmark
Jay Marks
Tue, Apr 28, 2020, 11:50am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Space Seed

A super late contribution to this thread.

It's a minor thing but I don't think it was mentioned (and it definitely was not something I consciously remember when I first watched it as a kid). I love how in the teaser right after Kirk orders red alert, they slowly pan up to show all the activity on the bridge as Kirk looks around sternly from his command chair and the music begins playing. Who wouldn't want to be a crew member on that ship under the auspices of that captain?! Respect!
Set Bookmark
Jay Marks
Tue, Apr 28, 2020, 11:42am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Court Martial

Super late comment, but I'm posting anyway because I just discovered this site and I want to contribute.

I love how Kirk commands a room no matter where it is. When he walked into the bar on the star base and didn't shrink away even when things got uncomfortable, that set Kirk apart from other starship captains. I think that's a testament to the character but also the actor. Not everyone can pull that off.

And when Kirk initially recounted to Portmaster Stone what happened on the bridge, did anyone else notice that he showed a command presence even when he's just answering questions? That's pure Shatner!
Set Bookmark
Jayburd
Mon, Mar 23, 2020, 8:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

This is basically Handmaids Tale in space.
Set Bookmark
JayJayJay
Thu, Mar 12, 2020, 5:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

This definitely borrows from the plot line of Mass Effect. I am okay with that, because it's not identical and it leaves a lot of room for things to get very interesting. Generally I thought this episode slacked compared to the prior two which were fantastic. It's still on a good pace though and I remain excited for
Thursday to arrive.
Set Bookmark
Jay
Mon, Nov 11, 2019, 4:01am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

Most of you are some serious haters
Set Bookmark
Jay
Tue, Dec 11, 2018, 4:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Time and Again

"While this has the signature Troi “PAAAAAIIN AND LONELINESS!” vibe of drecky TNG, Jennifer Lien at least provides a convincing performance of the type Sirtis rarely managed, even after years on the show."

Jennifer Lein usually managed to rise to the challenge of competently acting out histrionics, as long as she wasn't asked to scream. Lien had arguably the most inhuman sounding scream I've ever heard.
Set Bookmark
Jay
Tue, Dec 11, 2018, 2:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Caretaker

Elliott said:

"He takes the opportunity, having only recently been let out of jail, to hit her, complete with embarrassing 24th century techno-metaphors."

Rarely has a dropped word had such a profound change in meaning...
Set Bookmark
jasper@kingjay.nl
Sat, Sep 8, 2018, 5:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Vox Sola

Great alien, nice language scene and the scene with Phlox about torture was okay. But it all was a bit slow. T'Pol with Hoshi just didn't feel right. And I'll just ignore Mayweather. But just speaking a few words and all problems are solved? I have the feeling Enterprise really rushes the endings because the writers can't provide a plausible theory. That's ashame because the devaluates the very nice ending scene.
Set Bookmark
Jay
Wed, Aug 1, 2018, 5:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: And the Children Shall Lead

I really believe this is the worst episode in the history of Star Trek, regardless of the series. It is abominable. The only decent competitors in my eyes are Threshold and Let He Who Is Without Sin, but even they didn't offend me quite like this one.

I'm surprised Spock's Brain seems to carry the banner for bad TOS episodes when this one exists.
Set Bookmark
Kingjay
Mon, Apr 23, 2018, 4:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Change of Heart

For the first time in a long while i can agree with the review. A long, boring walk in the forest, some nice parts and a strong ending. 2 or 2.5 stars seems right.
Set Bookmark
JayW
Sun, Apr 8, 2018, 1:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Alice

This might be my least favorite episode of Voyager. There are some which might be technically worse, like Threshold, but they at least produce some laughter. I struggle to even finish this one. The entire Tom Paris plot line is ridiculous, and the writers show no regard for the character they've worked so hard to develop.

"They're just not like us."

"...maybe you're right."

Give me a freaking break.
Set Bookmark
Kingjay
Thu, Feb 8, 2018, 4:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Nor the Battle to the Strong

4 stars? Madness. I'm watching it now, but it's so boring, so poorly acted, so cliched that I literally can't watch it. The voice-over with Jake doesn't work, the responses to the attack are all too calculated. The scenes in the compound are overdone and theatrical. It just stinks. Not even one star. Next!
Set Bookmark
Jay
Wed, Feb 7, 2018, 10:47am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

I still can't get into this show, and my mind still doesn't want to grasp that it's Star Trek at all. I can't look at technology that makes TNG era look primitive and keep straight that this is actually a prequel not only to TNG but to TOS. My brain still won't look at these monsters and think "these are Klingons". I admit that the Star Trek I wanted is one set in the post-TNG/DS9/VOY era. But I could tolerate this disconnect between technology and setting if they had kept the look of the Klingons as it was in the TNG era so there would at least be that tether to familiar Star Trek. I normally judge Trek shows on a Trek curve (I liked ENT better than it had a right to be liked because it was clearly Star Trek visually), but since this show doesn't feel much like Star Trek at all, I judge it independently, adn it doesn;t fare very well for it.
Set Bookmark
John Jay Witte
Fri, Dec 1, 2017, 6:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: New Dimensions

After last week's episode, I found myself really enjoying this episode. Sure it had the patented "Person is placed in charge and has to earn the trust of his teammates" story, but I felt like the execution was well handled. Even though it came out of left field, it felt surprisingly organic to the show.

I also liked the subplot involving Ed finding out about Kelly's efforts to get him the command of the Orville. Once again, I enjoyed how the episode built off the history of the show over the past few episodes and also built on the history of Ed and Kelly's past relationship.

And even still, I liked the who two dimensional universe plot too. Sure, it has been done before in all iterations of Star Trek, but it also felt surprisingly fresh and different. I know that the show is stretching the plausibility of the ship being functional in any way after passing through 2 dimensional space, but I'm willing to roll with it.

Lastly, and this is the weirdest part of all, I thought the crude humor worked for me throughout the episode. After watching all of the episodes, it seems like sometimes the show either is too crude or barely crude at all. I know that the show has struggled to find the right balance. The show has billed itself as an irreverent take on Star Trek, so it needs to be irreverent.

I know you could argue that Majority Rule and About a Girl are better, but I'm willing to go out on a limb and say that this one is my favorite, because it features a more straight ahead story and doesn't rest on any serious themes to help carry it through. It's really a shame the season is almost over because I think they're starting to figure things out.

3.5 stars out of 4 for me.
Set Bookmark
Jay Jay
Tue, Nov 14, 2017, 7:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Looking for Par'mach in All the Wrong Places

Worf and Quark scene on the Defiant...Gold man, just gold!
Set Bookmark
Kingjay
Wed, Oct 25, 2017, 4:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Civil Defense

Such long comments on this episode and even positive ones. Unbelievable. It stinks. Zero stars. Only watched it because I am watching all of the episodes but this episode should have been self-destructed. Sucked from the first second and a pure waste of time.
Set Bookmark
Jay
Sun, Aug 20, 2017, 11:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Field of Fire

I find it a bit unfortunate that the writers dedicated so much effort across multiple episodes to constructing the Ezri Dax character considering the show was nearing the end at this point. It feels like a waste, but at least they made her short tenure as worthwhile as they could.
Set Bookmark
Jay
Thu, Aug 10, 2017, 12:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

I've been a bit torn on how I feel about this episode. I think the message it intends to convey is worthwhile, important, and well-enough realized. That it's "heavy-handed" is completely irrelevant, and I honestly struggle to imagine a non-white observer making that particular complaint.

My sole concern was that the dedicated audiences of DS9 would be less likely to need this episode than most television audiences.

Then I came to Jammer's page and saw this very thread of comments stretching back nearly a decade now.

Clearly this episode was necessary.
Set Bookmark
Jay
Sun, Jan 8, 2017, 11:48am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Hope and Fear

I feel like I know what Rom and Leeta's baby would look like now...
Set Bookmark
Jay
Thu, Nov 3, 2016, 11:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Schisms

First, have enjoyed reading these review and many of the comments. I've been quite surprised sometimes (both positively and negatively).

Decided to finally comment on something just because of the creepiness of the holodeck scene. For me, one of the most memorable scenes in all of Trek. Your opinion of that one scene pretty much makes or breaks the episode for you. If you couldn't suspend disbelief, then you don't like this episode. If you can, then its a really good one. Its just a little odd to see such a vehement argument about the computer knowing what the characters wanted too well....I mean, its a 47 minute episode, did you honestly think they were gonna spend ten minutes describing Worf's scissors to the Nth detail?

I remember being 13 years old watching this for the first time, and it happened to be fairly late at night. I was freaked out. It's still creepy over 20 years later.
Next ►Page 1 of 27
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.