Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 691 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 28
Set Bookmark
JackBond
Thu, Jul 22, 2021, 8:05pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

One thing this review seems to miss is that Paris's ramblings foreshadow the fact that their final trip at warp 10 loops their evolution so far forward that they end up de-evolved. That's why they're primitive amphibians and not super-beings.
Set Bookmark
Jackson
Fri, Jul 2, 2021, 9:06am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S3: The Mark of Gideon

And I say we double down.
Set Bookmark
Jackson
Fri, Jul 2, 2021, 8:57am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S3: The Mark of Gideon

Let’s revert back to the 14th century where there was even more awe at everyday events and the Black Death killed people left and right.
Set Bookmark
jack Ten
Fri, May 28, 2021, 12:05pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S2: The Child

Just my short opinion on Pulaski.
She's horrible. I mean just horrible. I'm shocked by comparisons to McCoy whose gruffness concealed his humanity and his love till death for his comrades. Muldaur is just a royal pain in the ass, in bold turns caustic, poisonous, opinionated and ignorant.
Set Bookmark
jackal
Fri, Apr 23, 2021, 12:55am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

For those complaining about Alixus’s (Gail Strickland’s) voice, this might help to explain it. (I picked up on this because I know someone who has the same condition.)

From https://wellfleet.wickedlocal.com/article/20150816/ENTERTAINMENTLIFE/150818580:

“In 2009 Strickland's acting career in films and television ended when she was diagnosed with a voice disorder called Spasmodic Dysphonia.”

From Wikipedia:

“Spasmodic dysphonia, also known as laryngeal dystonia, is a disorder in which the muscles that generate a person's voice go into periods of spasm. This results in breaks or interruptions in the voice, often every few sentences, which can make a person difficult to understand. The person's voice may also sound strained or they may be nearly unable to speak. Onset is often gradual and the condition is lifelong.”

While this episode was filmed 15 years prior to that diagnosis, it isn’t surprising that her voice may have already started to show early signs of the disease.

I, too, find that quality in her voice mildly annoying, but I also (unlike many previous commenters) think that it actually works for the character. It’s disarmingly soft, emotional, and compassionate, which delays the realization that she’s actually the scheming villain in the story and makes her status as the powerful cult-leader even more powerful once you do realize it, because you (the viewer) fall victim to misjudging her at first just as the colonists did.

I’m actually with The River Temarc above in that I think this episode, while far from perfectly executed, is actually quite poignant and makes some heavy points to consider about each of our susceptibility to cult thinking. I’d give it a 6/10, not bad for an early-season episode before the series really found its voice.
Set Bookmark
GreenJacket
Tue, Mar 9, 2021, 5:19pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S5: Doctor Bashir, I Presume

You would think the Federation would be more accommodating towards the genetically engineered. I mean, even the Trill are a member species for Christ's sake.
Set Bookmark
GreenJacket
Sun, Mar 7, 2021, 5:13am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

I found this to be a fantastic episode, especially the face-to-face seen. It really gives a good look into the collateral damage of warfare. The "villain" had a realistic and relatable motive, and Kira's response was equally realistic being a denouncement of all Cardassians on Bajor thus justifying each and every one of their deaths; certainly not the typical ham-fisted platitude you usually get out of ST.

"The specific political distinction to which political actions and motives can be reduced is that between friend and enemy."
-Carl Schmitt
Set Bookmark
GreenJacket
Sun, Feb 28, 2021, 9:03pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

Certainly one of the better episodes despite the groaning. It's amazing how accurate criticisms of hedonism and excess for the purpose of struggle and meaning can make the typical fat nerds who like Star Trek seething mad. Even Trent, who merely pretends to dislike liberalism, has to go off on Jordan Peterson but also fascism making it clear he has no idea what he's talking about.

The only problem this episode faces is that, like all of Star Trek, the supply of resources is infinite because "science", which is really just a stand-in for magic. If we can apply these criticisms to the real world, we find that places like Risa are analogous to the wasteful resorts like Las Vegas or Orlando, Florida. These places do untold amounts of damage to the surrounding environment, but that is all swept under the rug. I guess since Risa is in space, we really don't have to worry about what happens here.
Set Bookmark
GreenJacket
Sat, Feb 20, 2021, 2:59am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S5: The Ship

Stop comparing the Dominion to the Third Reich. The Dominion is Israel (Founders) + America (Jem'Hadar and Vorta).

It's funny how Trent likes to go on his anti-white spiel when the Federation he likes was the Federation written by Roddenberry, a white man, while the Federation he hates was written by Berman, Behr, etc., who are basically all Jewish lmao.
Set Bookmark
GreenJacket
Sat, Feb 13, 2021, 4:44pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S4: Bar Association

Definitely one of the better Ferengi episodes: 3.5/4
Set Bookmark
GreenJacket
Thu, Feb 11, 2021, 1:54am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

I don't really understand this whole "fear is dangerous" thing. Are the Dominion not a threat? If anyone ever responds to this, I don't want to hear the flaccid platitudes about looking into the abyss or some other horseshit. Fear is a natural response to threats, and I think people in the modern age are too afraid of being afraid.

The only question I have is, how did they fake Sisko's blood turning into Changeling goop.
Set Bookmark
GreenJacket
Mon, Feb 8, 2021, 5:26pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S4: Rejoined

Trill episodes are bad Bottom Text: 0/10
Set Bookmark
GreenJacket
Fri, Jan 29, 2021, 5:22am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S3: Second Skin

I was thinking through the episode that the real Iliana was that corpse that Entek showed Kira. I wouldn't put it past the Order to do something like that. What surprised me is that they didn't reveal anything so obvious like that.
Set Bookmark
GreenJacket
Wed, Jan 20, 2021, 12:46am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

Alixus was right. It's a shame Star Trek is incapable of portraying anything illiberal for it's values, so it has to make its 'villains' cartoonish psychopaths.
Set Bookmark
GreenJacket
Mon, Jan 18, 2021, 2:51am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S2: Sanctuary

@WineVQA

If it makes you feel any better, the Ferengi are not the Jews of Star Trek. Their mercurial and rapey nature reminds me more of Indians (open bob, SEO bombing, etc).

No, the real Jews of Star Trek are the Founders of the Dominion.

Anyway, I am completely on the side of the Bajorans for this episode. Not only are the Skrreeans irritating, demanding, and disrespectful, they can also go literally anywhere else. I remember that little exchange about the Northern Peninsula and how it can be farmed. Why not let the Bajorans handle it? Better yet, why do uninhabited places need to be inhabited? This episode has a clear message of brow-beating native peoples for not wanting to accept undue burdens, and if you apply that message to a real world context, you can start to see how insidious this messaging is.
Set Bookmark
Jack2211
Tue, Jan 12, 2021, 3:27am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 11: The Heiress

Katee Sackhoff’s acting really took me out of the episode. She seemed like a cartoon character. I also found it odd that the camera focused on her like we should know who she is.

I found out after that, well, she was playing a cartoon character (I’ve never watched Clone Wars apart from one or two early episodes).

The episode was fine, but like most this season, it felt like it was doing a lot of setup/easter egg revealing work. It all came together in the end, I think, but I’m not a fan generally of having to do homework to get an episode.
Set Bookmark
Lt Jack
Sat, Nov 28, 2020, 7:53pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

@Bob

Haha yeah my thoughts exactly.

@grey

Definitely one of the worst Star Trek Episodes ever. Stupid and boring. Bad combination. The mindless action of last week was preferable kinda.

The writing and script is just so bad in this show. So much budget, such a waste.

I flicked to a cheap Netflix show after watching DSC. Some Channel 4 Production from the UK. The acting and script from mostly unknown actors (teenagers too) was vastly superior to DSC - it's just embarrassing.

0.5 stars for Saru's scenes. The rest can be erased from my mind with some year 3000+ tech.
Set Bookmark
Jack
Tue, Jun 30, 2020, 11:58am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

It’s funny to see people complaining about the immorality of this episode who would bitch if someone complained about the immorality if that episode where Jadzia had a lesbian kiss.

Here is something for you, unless you want to argue that morality comes down from a higher power, then there is no such thing as “real” morals. They’re just man’s opinions, “letting a species die out is bad” has as much objective truth value as “Parsifal is better than the Ring” “veal is delicious” or “cats are better than dogs” that is to say that they have no objective truth value at all, no moral claims do.

That isn’t to say that something needs to be objectively true to be true for YOU, but nothing can be moral or immoral in the way that something can be say...blue, or physically dead.
Set Bookmark
Jack
Sun, May 24, 2020, 1:22pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S2: Resolutions

I'm with those that rate the episode better than Jammer did.

It also has the return of one of my pet peeves - naming something with a planetary adjective and a terrestrial noun.

If the fruit/vegetable Janeway is planting is indigenous to Talax, it is not a tomato. Call it whatever word they do on Talax...a word that almost certain has an "x" in it.

They've done it already... they called the staple in Neelix's kitchen " Leola root", instead of "Talaxian beet".
Set Bookmark
Amy Jackson
Sun, May 10, 2020, 11:14pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

I may have commented on this before, who knows ... but I just watched the episode, and discovered that the Borg Queen was right ... kinda sorta ...

"Captain Janeway is about to die. If she has no future, you will never exist, and nothing that you have done here today, will happen."

Assuming nothing else changes, as soon as Voyager makes it home, after only a seven-year journey, Admiral Janeway's motives for going back in time disappear, and she never does.

- Tuvok is able to get treated.
- Seven and Chakotay are able to get married.
- Be'lanna and Tom still have their child.
- The crew as it is seven years on, gets home.

But therefore there is no reason for Admiral Janeway to be angst-ridden enough to go back in time to help Voyager get home. The only way this works is if we say that besides all of the Adm. Janeway interference, that the Voyager crew could have done the deed themselves, and they simply did. The only thing Adm. Haneway contributed was the damage to the Borg, which could be bypassed ...

Just some ramble-thoughts.

Amy
Set Bookmark
Jack Meoff
Thu, Mar 5, 2020, 3:59am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

Huge will rise again. Count on it!!!!!
Set Bookmark
Jackson
Sat, Jul 6, 2019, 4:41pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S3: Menage a Troi

So Picard could rush Lwaxana back to Betazed in a few hours at Warp 9, but he coudn't rush Wesley back to Earth, which is in the same "downtown" part of the Federation?

I doubt that the Bradbury was going to rush Wesley to Earth at Warp 9 either.

Quite a bit of absurdity just to cook up a way to make Wesley an acting ensign, when you could just do it anyways because he already does ensign-like things.
Set Bookmark
Jack
Sun, Jun 2, 2019, 4:52pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

@William B

“I think the main issue with the episode is not in-story but from a writer's perspective, where Maurice Hurley -- whom apparently Gates McFadden quit the show because she felt threatened by”

I wanted to address this, because it’s the type of slander I’ve been talking about that I see in these discussions. For the record, Hurley had already left the show by season two and Jeri Taylor (yes, a woman) rewrote this episode before it aired. Additionally, McFadden didn’t leave the show, Hurley didn’t like her acting so he *fired* her. It wasn’t until after Hurley left that Berman hired her back.
Set Bookmark
Jack
Sat, Jun 1, 2019, 8:23pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

@Dave

Geordi and Wesley are friends and moreover fellow engineering nerds. Friends share information with each other they don’t share with others. Friends don’t need to be the same age. And if you watched “Sarek”, much of dealt with *hidden feelings* bubbling to the surface.
Set Bookmark
Jack
Sat, Jun 1, 2019, 7:57pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

Dave, you’re reaching now. Wesley never mentioned Leah and just insinuated LaForge needs the holodeck to meet women.

Even assuming Wesley meant Leah, though, Geordi and Wesley are friends and he probably shared what happened in “Booby Trap” to Wes in confidence.

@Jason R

“Why are you and others so invested in spinning Geordie's behaviour (even to the point of falsely stating what happened on screen) to make it horrible and creepy?”

Probably typical white-knighting. I’m sure if we gender-swapped Geordi/Leah and had a woman create a man to help her with engineering problems in a holodeck, no one would say boo.
Next ►Page 1 of 28
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.