Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all searched results

Total Found: 30 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
indijo
Thu, Jun 25, 2009, 9:27am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Lineage

I have to wonder if Jammer must be a chick when he/she gives Star Trek episodes like this 3.5 stars. STAR TREK IS SCIENCE FICTION, NOT SOAP OPERA! Where's the sci-fi in this ep? I don't see it.
Set Bookmark
indijo
Thu, Jun 25, 2009, 9:21am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Drive

I could have done without Neelix hijacking astrometrics and electing himself big-game play-by-play announcer. Dang that guy has a big noisey trap.

The race was okay, but Belanna in that racy outfit was better.
Set Bookmark
indijo
Sun, Mar 29, 2009, 3:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Human Error

To err is human, taken to it's episodal apex. I kind of like that point, because it really says a lot, but it would have been better if the story went a step further and had Seven finding a way to deal with that problem.
Set Bookmark
indijo
Sat, Jan 31, 2009, 8:05am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Carpenter Street

Let's face it, these Star Trek time-travel episodes are always interesting the first time around, no matter how well they are done, as long as they follow the action-intrigue formula. Admit it, once you started watching it, you had to stay with it to the end, no matter how ludicrous it seemed. That's hollywood! Question is, did you buy any of the products they advertized during the commercials?
Set Bookmark
indijo
Tue, Jul 1, 2008, 7:33am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Day of Honor

Why did Tom and Neelix insist upon pushing B'Ellana to participate in the Klingon rituals on the holodeck? WTF is so damn important about Klingon rituals? Fer Chrissake, B'Ellana is only half Klingon, and besides, if she didn't want to do it, why force her? Idiots.

Also, if this was truly hard sci-fi, the shockwave from the shuttle explosion should have pushed Tom and B'Ellana on a roll through space. But I spose that would have complicated things considerably.
Set Bookmark
indijo
Tue, Jul 1, 2008, 7:24am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: The Gift

As I understand it, Kes was getting too old to continue the series, according to the Okampa age-limits, which is something like 4 or 5 years. Correct me if I'm wrong.
Set Bookmark
indijo
Mon, May 26, 2008, 11:11am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Demon

Actually, I'd give this one 2 stars for the scenes on the alien planet alone, which imo were quite fascinating. As for the rest, well, not so good.
Set Bookmark
indijo
Mon, May 26, 2008, 11:07am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Living Witness

Excellent social commentary, specifically about the power that contemporary political leaders have over revisionist history. I'd recommend this episode to all who have doubts about our current "democratic" leaders.
Set Bookmark
indijo
Mon, May 26, 2008, 11:02am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Vis A Vis

I liked the way the alien was thrown for a loop when the Doctor suddenly summoned him for duty in the sick-bay. Obviously, this is one minor aspect of life aboard Voyager which Paris never let him in on.
Set Bookmark
indijo
Mon, May 26, 2008, 10:57am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Nemesis

Xolent commentary and expose on military PSYOPS and the sheer antisocial, dysfunctional effects it has on our so-called 'humanitarian' nation-states that sponsor wars.
Set Bookmark
indijo
Mon, May 26, 2008, 10:50am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Random Thoughts

Purging B'Ellana's mind for containing such violent thoughts was a bit extreme, after all, she's not a Mari, she's a human from another race. It would have been much more civilized and logical for them to simply deny her further contact with their species. Can't recall if Tuvok pointed this out but he should have.
Set Bookmark
indijo
Sat, May 24, 2008, 5:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Workforce

IMO, the best episode of the final season and quite possibly the very best episode of the entire series.
Set Bookmark
indijo
Sat, May 24, 2008, 5:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Flesh and Blood

Considering all they know and have experienced about the Hirogen, the most unbelievable aspect of this episode is the simple fact that Janeway would go out of her way to help them, while putting Voyager and its crew at extreme risk. The Hirogen are obviously the epitome of murderous fascists in the Delta Quadrant, why be so damn nice to them?
Set Bookmark
indijo
Sat, May 24, 2008, 4:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Scientific Method

I'm a big fan of the variable permutations and possible uses of cloaking technology, and this episode appears to present a unique variation, so i liked it. I give it 3 stars. I loved the way the Doctor and Seven exposed the aliens and the way Janeway suddenly decided to eliminate them.
Set Bookmark
indijo
Tue, Mar 25, 2008, 5:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Waking Moments

"Unfortunately for this episode, the lame answer supplied seems to be, "They'd commandeer the starship Voyager for no discernible purpose.""

I think I know the answer to this one. The discernible purpose was to alleviate boredom.
Set Bookmark
indijo
Tue, Feb 26, 2008, 6:46am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Hunters

I think the whole idea of a race of space-traveling humanoids obsessed with hunting other species for sport is absurd. How the hell did they ever manage to develop the technology to travel in outer spce to begin with, if they haven't the brains to do the math?
Set Bookmark
indijo
Thu, Jan 24, 2008, 3:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: The Seventh

Too much of the plot was based upon the idea that T'Pol wasn't smart enough to use the stun-setting. That ruined it for me.
Set Bookmark
indijo
Fri, Jan 18, 2008, 10:37am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

I was damn lucky to catch this one, considering all the problems holding a job and a place to live. I caught the rerun late on a friday or saturday night, and i have to agree with most everything said here.

Star Trek was once criticized for being "too cerebral", during its TOS years. This was another way of saying it required too much intelligent thought and the critic that said this was actually, whether intentional or not, calling the average viewers stupid, or at least not smart enough to follow such complex dialogue and story-lines.

Along that perspective, ITPM is one of the most cerebral, thought-provoking, serious episodes ever covered by the Trek series. It's also an inside look at one of the darkest aspects of war; the way in which it feeds the "means justified by the ends" attitude and turns too many good-hearted souls into guilty politicians with skeletons in their closets.

The snake eats its own tail, war is forced upon us, whether we want it or not. Life sucks that way, really bad!
Set Bookmark
indijo
Fri, Jan 18, 2008, 10:15am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

As a big sci-fi fan, I had problems following this one, because I couldn't for a second believe that they were actually playing this game on the holosuite of DS9. I'm sorry, but I really couldn't believe it for a nanosecond. The DS9 holosuite isn't half as big as what would be required for a really serious game of baseball.
Set Bookmark
indijo
Sun, Jan 13, 2008, 11:48am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Muse

I'll take a thoughtful story-line like this over the typical sensationalistic garbage every time. Well done, Menosky, Vejar, and all!
Set Bookmark
indijo
Tue, Jan 8, 2008, 8:57am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Prophecy

The writers love putting Tuvok in situations that test his tolerance to the limits. If I was him, I'd simply warn Neelix to back off. There's a bozo that has no sense of another's individuality, unless it laughs at his corny comical attitude. I liked him better before he became the bozo-babysitter of the Voyager crew.
Set Bookmark
indijo
Tue, Jan 8, 2008, 8:48am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Repentance

I don't think the nanoprobes cure was pure fantasy. To make that conclusion, one has to know exactly what the patient's neurological problem was to begin with, and that wasn't actually detailed.

There is some physiological connection between a past history of social problems and mental problems with neurological roots in some of the darker parts of the brain. For example, families with histories of alcoholism can be traced to past wars and uncontrolled violence is one of the worst symptoms.

We have no idea exactly what kind of neurological disorder Iko suffered from, but if it was isolated within a particular part of the brain, it could have been neutralized by nanoprobes. I thought that was one of the more scientifically interesting and speculative aspects of the episode.
Set Bookmark
indijo
Tue, Jan 1, 2008, 5:33am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: The Killing Game

I'd like to know exactly how a race of Hunters not the least bit concerned in anything but hunting prey and killing them for trophies, ever managed to tackle enough math and science to develop technology for traveling in outer space. Now, that's a story waiting be told.
Set Bookmark
indijo
Sun, Nov 25, 2007, 11:52am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Displaced

"And after overpowering a Nyrian who has a fully-charged phaser, why don't Tom and B'Elanna pick up the phaser instead of simply walking away from it?"

As long as we're pointing out these odd bits of incompetent script, what happened to Chakotay in the final act? He completely disappeared from the episode after they discovered the portal out of the biosphere. Wouldn't it have been helpful to have him watching Janeway and Tuvok's backs while they were hacking into the Nyrian's computers?
Set Bookmark
indijo
Wed, Nov 21, 2007, 9:01am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

Be fair, Stef, the problem went much further than a simple picture in the publication. I doubt that many white women were being harassed by cops simply for the color of their skin or gunned down for shop-lifting in that era.

Besides, if a woman writer wanted to make her self known, there were other ways to do it, and if she did so, I doubt she would have lost her job for it.

I agree with Jamahl, this episode was excellent, one of the very best in the series.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.