Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 791 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 32
Set Bookmark
BRiAN
Mon, Sep 16, 2019, 8:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Image in the Sand

This two parter was garbage and this episode simply awful. I usually like Siskos Acting but he was dreadful in these two episodes.

DS9 also really strains credibility with their world building. So wait... Siskos dad just loves running a restaurant? I guess for no money. And he loves peeling potatoes? What? Im not following. I guess DS9 makes explicit that “real” food is better than Replicated food but..... I thought the whole point was that we don’t need to grow food in a post scarcity society. How many farmers are needed in this future? Are there factory farms? Or all small homegrown farms?


What was the point of the violent commercial cliffhanger of Sisko getting stabbed if they heal him in like two second after it happened?

I guess Sisko is both an awful son and father, dragging around his elderly dad in the desert?

Just wierd all around. Im glad the series has improved since this ep.
Set Bookmark
BRiAN
Mon, Sep 16, 2019, 8:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Siege of AR-558

Watching the show for the first time in 2019, I was really starting to lose interest by the end of season 6 and the awful Star Wars wanna be two parter that started this season. Im glad theyve had a great run of episodes and diving back into the Dominion War in a less silly and more intelligent way.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Sun, Aug 18, 2019, 2:14am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Crossing

Trip holding up the slice of white bread and asking "Have you tried this?" is one of my favourite moments in Star Trek.

Otherwise - yeah, fine but unremarkable. So, sure, two stars. Worth watching the white bread moment, though.
Set Bookmark
Brian S.
Wed, Aug 14, 2019, 2:28am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Let That Be Your Last Battlefield

>"Unfortunately, the allegory is too preachy and pretentious and fails to say anything except in the very broadest of terms."<

Sometimes, messages need to be preached, and sometimes the broadest of terms are required for it to be heard.

++++

>"Prejudice has many troubling shades of grey that this story fails to acknowledge."<

True point. But this was broadcast in an era where MLK had recently been assassinated and where only six weeks earlier Star Trek had aired the first interracial kiss on US television, to the dismay of some regional censors.

This episode was written for an audience that was still struggling with (and often against) the concept that "Segregation = Bad"

There are absolutely shades of gray to be explored....1969 was not the time or place for those. Hard to dive too deeply into nuance with an audience that barely understands or accepts the basics.
Set Bookmark
Brian S.
Wed, Aug 14, 2019, 1:58am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Paradise Syndrome

Watching these episodes through streaming services in rapid succession is jarring....

KIRK: "Hey Bones, this indigenous woman and I just had some stones thrown at us. I'm a little banged up, but apparently none too worse for the wear. Stay with her. Do what you can."

*McCoy scans Miramanee, discovers she's carrying Kirk's child*

(30 Minutes later)

MCCOY: "She had bad internal injuries, Jim. "
KIRK: "Will she live? "
MCCOY: "No."
KIRK: "No? No?!? Wasn't it just 2 episodes ago where you successfully surgically reattached Spock's brain after it had been stolen from his skull?! And now you're telling me you can't heal a woman with a few internal injuries sustained from some rocks."
MCCOY: "Do you want to explain to Starfleet Command how a woman on an alien pre-warp pre-industrial civilization ended up birthing your child?"
KIRK: "I'll love you, Miramanee. Always."










MCCOY: I swear that's honeysuckle I smell.
KIRK: I swear that's a little orange blossom thrown in. It's unbelievable. Growth exactly like that of Earth on a planet half a galaxy away. What are the odds on such duplication?
SPOCK: Astronomical, Captain.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Sat, Aug 3, 2019, 12:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Stigma

Okay - do you people not remember original series Vulcans? Who, for instance, use fights to the death to get out of arranged marriages? Paragons of logic and virtue they never were.

And, this was by far Travis' best episode. Perhaps the only time the actor correctly emoted the scene. Anyone wants to slag this episode over Travis' treatment, I got your Kal-if-fee right here.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Sat, Aug 3, 2019, 10:39am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Dawn

Jeez, the number of people looking for any excuse to trash Enterprise episodes is staggering. Like, if you hate it that much, just don't watch.

The episode established very explicitly after sunrise the temperature was going to get to ~170 celsius. The Enterprise couldn't have beamed down water. It could've beamed down steam, but i ain't sure Trip would've liked it.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Fri, Aug 2, 2019, 8:36am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

Opening the show with a harmonica solo when it already has the most hated theme song was a brave choice.

Otherwise ... very thing gruel, but better than I'd expected, given I'd seen Jammer gave it zero stars. It's only zero stars if your Star Trek scale goes from 4 stars (Tapestry, Far Beyond the Stars, Body & Soul, etc) to -4 stars (The Child, Code of Honor, Profit & Lace). Otherwise, it's worth a star.

And I thought Lakshmi's acting was on point for the role ... it's just the role being what it was.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Thu, Aug 1, 2019, 6:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Seventh

Jeez, a lot of people criticising the writers for messing with Star Trek lore when they know little of Star Trek lore.

Vulcans aren't emotionless, they're probably the most intensely emotional humanoids around. They learn to suppress and control their emotions because they're essentially useless otherwise. Think, perhaps, of Picard's breakdown in Sarek - the vulcan emotions totally overwhelm a human who is usually in great control of himself. The kind of meditation, memory suppression, etc. seem exactly like vulcans as we've known then. Field of Fire also comes to mind on that front.
Set Bookmark
Briiian
Thu, Aug 1, 2019, 8:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Sound of Her Voice

Not a bad ep but the execution was a littlw flat. My main issue is the woman who played Cusak I found impossibly needy and annoying. Especially when with bashir what I guess was supposed to be funny came off as Psycho.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Tue, Jul 30, 2019, 12:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

So, on the one hand, this episode ain't great. A few moments did work for me (I liked the chainsaw ritual, for instance, and did laugh at the makeout funeral), but overall there ain't much substance here.

On the other hand, the number of people who apparently watch every episode, reader Jammer's reviews of every episode, and need to comment about how every episode is the worst episode of Star Trek ever (math doesn't seem to check out there) is astonishing.
Set Bookmark
BRiAN
Mon, Jul 29, 2019, 9:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Time's Orphan

uugggghhhhh this was a real drag

At least have Molly go back in time to some interesting civilization that has something to do with the Prophets or gives her some ability or perspective or something. or ANYTHING.

Its preposterous that such a child would survive in an unpopulated planet and even if hse somehow did she would be INSANE. Like even crazier than on the show. It would be un-filmable and this ep almost was as is.

And then the ending is just the thing they should have tried right away, except molly does it herself and somehow thats OK. wtf????

I hope this show picks back up soon. This was a drag....
Set Bookmark
Brian
Mon, Jul 29, 2019, 11:17am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Minefield

The number of people who apparently feel this episode was ruined by leaving the line "The transporter room was destroyed in the explosion" on the cutting room floor is surprisingly high.

And I agree - Romulans here isn't lack of imagination or retreading or failing canon. It's really obviously setting up the Earth-Romulan War, which is a precursor to setting up the Federation. Enterprise probably *has* to have an Earth-Romulan War storyline.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Fri, Jul 26, 2019, 9:08am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

Yeah, I have to echo the sentiments above: This is plausibly the best episode of Enterprise (though I myself prefer In a Mirror, Darkly).

I don't get the people who want Blalock spilling emotion around like a drunk juggling a dozen bottles of beer. Early in season 1, her acting was a little clunky, but by this point it's pretty much perfect (apart from Travis, everyone seems to have settled nicely into their roles)
Set Bookmark
Brian
Fri, Jul 26, 2019, 8:48am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Shockwave, Part II

So, of course having been a ~20 year old man when this first aired, I might've been a little titillated by Hoshi getting her shirt off, but Enterprise is a somewhat equal actor here.

I don't understand how people don't get when Enterprise is always trying to get people into their underwear, it seems like a pretty obvious attempt to make the show more visceral/primitive; an attempt to present the people in a way that's more animal/less evolve/less intellectual. Bring it closer to our reality as present day humans who still rely a lot on instinct and such. How successful it is varies, I guess, but the decon chamber et al. are messier, embodied, in a way that brings them closer to ourselves.
Set Bookmark
Devviant
Tue, Jul 23, 2019, 2:29am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Through the Looking Glass

There's no other commenter on this site other than that Elliott figure that gets me to the point of teeth gritting disgust so easily and so quickly.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Mon, Jul 22, 2019, 12:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Acquisition

Jeez, the number of people who feel every episode must be zero or four stars is staggering. It's a bit of silly fun, that's never truly epic, but has some fun moments, a little bit of character stuff for our trio - I like watching them figure out how to work together, even without dialogue, etc.

It's probably two, two and a half stars. Fine, not great, but not remotely terrible.

I kinda get the impression across all the series that the Ferengi pirates are supposed to be kinda dumb losers; those who couldn't hack it in the world of business or whatnot. So it all fits and makes sense to me (and really, with the Ferengi technologically way ahead of humans, why are you raiding a human ship unless you're kinda dumb and scraping the bottom of the barrel?) - the TNG Ferengi play out pretty much the same way.
Set Bookmark
Adrian Lopez
Tue, Jul 16, 2019, 1:38am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Second Chances

I give this episode two-and-a-half stars. It's an interesting premise, and somewhat entertaining, but I just can't forgive Will Riker's hostility toward Thomas Riker. Riker's animosity comes out of nowhere and vanishes just as quickly by the end of the episode. The writers could have come up with a better way to explore Will Riker's growth as a character than to have him be a jerk to the man he might have become.

Great idea with some interesting scenes, but poor execution.
Set Bookmark
brian
Sat, Jul 13, 2019, 7:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

I have to say, I thought a Trolley Problem with Genocide on one track, and the eternal enslavement of an entire race on the other on the other was sufficiently unsubtle (in the traditions of Star Trek) that anyone would get it. But, here we are, with a huge number of Star Trek fans asserting it's fundamentally unethical not to take up the White Man's Burden without even questioning whether you're doing the right thing.

And, of course, the episode is incredibly unsubtle about the point that it genuinely doesn't know what the right course. Archer looks at the damn camera and says as much.

Of course, Next Gen having been made when it was, it's unsurprising it and the subsequent Treks take a hard line anti-Colonialism stance. And since in practice humanitarian aid bleeds incredibly easily into colonialism. If you're really, truly ignorant of all of history - even today, we ask "Do we send humanitarian aid to a famine, knowing most of it will end up in the hands of a brutally violent authoritarian government, and keep them in power, even as it mitigates some of the famine?"
Set Bookmark
Brian
Tue, Jul 9, 2019, 11:18am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Terra Nova

"With the gradual dying of some of the older ones, why did the ones who were left behind devolve so drastically? Perhaps due to the radiation? I don't think that was made clear. "

This flawed understanding seems to be the basis of so much of the criticism. The episode makes it very clear that nobody over ~5 years old survived the poisoning, so the dropping of tech, the English with a lot of odd modifiers, etc. all make sense.

It is a little repetitive and slow; it's probably tough to move it along faster and not get criticised from a "You arrive at a planet full of people who think you tried to genocide them, they instantly trust you" angle. Maybe more Novans could've slowly won over one by one to make it slightly less repetitive? More Novan-Novan interactions figuring themselves out? I do like the space travel is new and difficult and we don't know what we're doing mood it's setting for early Enterprise. But ... a bit on the slower and thus boring side.
Set Bookmark
ian worrall
Sat, Jun 29, 2019, 3:59am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Masks

I watched it again and I couldn't help thinking after all those episodes the cast must have known it was a stinker.When I read they couldn't stop laughing at how bad it all was I was not surprised.The inner light handled a similar idea so eloquently and beautifully im surprised this one even got off the ground let alone out into space.
Set Bookmark
Ian
Mon, Jun 17, 2019, 10:59am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

I liked this episode more than I expected. We've been learning more about Gordon Malloy in season two and he's much more rounded-out and likeable character. It was a real pleasure to see Tim Russ again. I wish there was more of him in this episode. The scenes with Bortus smoking were hilarious. I wish they simply had him continue smoking for the rest of the season.
Set Bookmark
Ian
Fri, Jun 14, 2019, 11:20am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

Isaac becomes Data in "Identity, Part II". He's now an artificial life form which cut off from others of his kind. He will now need to find his own path among biological life forms. I wonder if Isaac will make changes to his appearance and behavior as a logical means to coping with his situation.

As for the Krill...I wish this was a three-part episode because I thought they were awfully quick to decide to help Earth. How did they even know that ship or probe that attacked them was even Kaylon? And after the battle when the Kaylon retreated the Krill were in an awfully good position to attack the remaining Union forces and destroy them. They seriously weren't tempted to do that?
Set Bookmark
Ian
Fri, Jun 14, 2019, 11:06am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

I just started watching season 2 and ""Identity, Part I" is probably the best episode of the series so far. At the same it illustrates the challenge of the "The Orville". It wants to be both a drama and a comedy (or maybe just amusing. Thank goodness there's no laugh track here). But "Identity, Part I" is probably at least 90% drama and it does it very well. I was thinking of the Best of Both Worlds and I'm really curious to see if the The Orville is going to make the big improvement in story-telling and character the way STTNG did in seasons 3 and 4.

Couple of things: I also expected Mercer was going to get his ship and crew out of there after discovery of the skeletons. As for the head cannons, I'm thinking maybe that was done because having weapons come from Kaylon hands or arms would have seemed too much like the Cylon Centurions from Battlestar Galactica.
Set Bookmark
brian
Sat, May 11, 2019, 10:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Reckoning

oh my gaawwwddd. this is terrible schlock. I dont understand how this show went from Pale Moonlight to then two of the worst episodes in the franchise. I hope this is not a sign of the quality of season 7. zero stars ugh.
Next ►Page 1 of 32
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.