Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 922 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 37
Set Bookmark
Brian
Tue, Aug 4, 2020, 9:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Fallen Hero

Aside from that I thought I’d add that this was a very good episode... perhaps if Enterprise had been more focused, not necessarily totally serialized but focused the way DS9 was, around Volcan politics in episodes like this, it could have turned out better. It just seems laughable to me today that the Suits at Paramount thought they could squeeze out another episodic Star Trek series at this point... Voyager was shaky enough but to start a whole new series while continuing to insist it maintain an episodic nature so that viewers could see episodes out of order? Paramount killed the golden era of Trek with that requirement... yes it worked incredibly well (I think TNG may hold a record for most money made from a TV Drama) while it lasted with TNG but that was where there were fresh pastures...
Set Bookmark
Brian
Tue, Aug 4, 2020, 8:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Fallen Hero

When watching this episode I was provided with a good way to articulate what I found wrong with T’Paul... and that is that she should have been played more like V’Lar. I always found T’Paul, unlike other main character Vulcans (Spock and Tuvock) to be played too robotically, more like an Android than a Vulcan. V’Lar does a good job of showing how Vulcans, despite being beings that dramatically emphasize logic, are still “people” (I would have said “still human” but of course that wouldn’t have worked).
Set Bookmark
Brian Graff
Wed, Jul 15, 2020, 2:01am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Too Short a Season

I just saw this - never having seen it before.

It has to be the worst episode ever of any of the series - horrible acting, nonsenesical story, just putrid.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Tue, Jul 14, 2020, 9:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: True Q

One thing that I think Star Trek writers overestimate is the need for something to be natural in order to be appreciated. I say this because often we hear “but it isn’t real” as a reason for rejecting something tempting (like Picard rejecting the Nexus in Generations). Similarly here we are supposed to believe that this girl would much rather have her powers go away and things go back to normal, vs becoming like a Q (and learning all of their knowledge of the universe). But no, we are supposed to think that she would rather be an ordinary human. Perhaps some people would, idk, but after they showed her coming to enjoy using her powers I didn’t buy it when she said she just wanted this to end. I know the human condition in Star Trek is much better than it is for us but still think about what she is turning away... she could never feel pain, make herself feel euphoric (manipulation of your own brain chemistry), be able to get anything you want and on top of that Learn cosmic truths about the nature of existence... but nope, for this episode to work the way it does she has to want to be a normal girl again. That is “jumping the shark” to me... way too much of a reach. It’s funny how TNG’s writers decided normal humans would react to a god like entity like Q... and the answer is treating the entity like it is a pest or something you just want to go away lol. Personally I’d treat Q with way more respect.

... but that’s not how Q is supposed to function in TNG. As far as the show is concerned it is best that Q functions as it does because it needs that given the way they want the characters to react to Q, it’s funny how the show insists humans would show no wonder or awe at a being with god like abilities and knowledge and comprehension of things far beyond what Our feeble mortals can understand. But to me TNG is almost like Sci Fi Fables or something, and I like and accept it for what it is. Still though it shows how Star Trek can be overly humanistic in having its characters treat what is basically a minor diety as though it is an annoying pest lol. Sorry I don’t but it, but when I maintain my disbelief it does work well within the context of TNG.
Set Bookmark
Brian
Sat, Jul 11, 2020, 5:21am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Phantasms

3.5 stars. This is enjoyably dreamy and eerie, and accomplishes very well what it sets out to do. I realize it may not be everyone’s cup of tea but this is an example of just how tight of a production TNG was... if a similar episode was attempted on Voyager it would have probably been one stat lower but on TNG the characters and acting are all so excellent that it (the writing is of course good as well) that it frequently is enough to boost an episode by .5 to 1 Star compared to how it would have turned out on Voyager (and its hard to compare to DS9 since this just isn’t the sort of thing it did).
Set Bookmark
Baby Mandalorian
Thu, Jul 9, 2020, 9:56am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

I think it was a strong end. It improved upon the first season and followed through mostly. My only let downs were dukat and winn which was a solid waste of time the last half of the season. Both characters were kind of wasted, not because they are bad actors just I think they were contrived to produce the final half narrative as the protagonists, but it made no sense or was forced. That whole story was a bit awkward.

Otherwise everything else went pretty good. I felt there could have been a more climactic space battle, but I guess Trek doesn't excel in that. I liked Ezri but it was all forced just because Jadzia left. I wonder what really happened with her leaving.... i feel like there is some #metoo stuff that happened but maybe thats wishful thinking.

Worf was super annoying this entire season. He seemed really out of character and just a man-child behaviour. The only good outcome near the end was him fighting the Jem hadar (sp) on that asteroid in a previous episode. Otherwise his drama was insufferable with Ezri and constantly complaining, the complete opposite of what you'd think a Klingon would carry themselves- plus the constnat use of the word honour made it lose meaning.

Miles + Chief were amazing as always. Thank god there wasn't any obrien wife this season, from memory. She should have always just been a reference character.

Anyway, good episode, a decent ending. Left some open threads and storylines that could (or maybe could have 20 years ago) be explored more.
Set Bookmark
Baby Mandalorian
Wed, Jul 8, 2020, 10:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

Yikes, Elie you need to lay off the drugs.

This was a good episode, I enjoyed it for a filler- typical adventure heist with comedy, drama and suspense.

It's interesting seeing the comments from the last decade and a half on race. Just makes me realise more and more that DS9 (and Avery) were very well placed to address race issues amongst others. Although the Ableist episode was a big joke.
Set Bookmark
Baby Mandalorian
Mon, Jul 6, 2020, 5:31am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

Great episode. Had flashbacks to the old "ITS A FAKE" meme that was around many years ago. Two things though, one has been mentioned- it's weird that given the technology that the Romulan ambassador wouldn't at least send a communiqué out either from DS9 or his ship after this with the details of what happened. Secondly, Sisko has done/engaged in exactly what section 31 do, yet wants to go against them in the previous episode and infiltrate them. I forget how this plays out in future episodes, but we'll see..
Set Bookmark
Baby Mandalorian
Sat, Jul 4, 2020, 12:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

"The number of comments from racism apologists with critiques that are little more than people clearly feeling discomfort because realistic depictions of the racism in their history is laughable.

This shit happened. This shit is real, whether you think, as dipshit Rogue09 does, that "dwelling on racism is as bad as supporting it". Holy shit you tone deaf imbecile. "

Yeah, this, times a million. How out of touch with reality do you have to be to think the explicit racism in this episode wasn't (and still is) prevalent. Trekkies need to check their privilege and take a walk outside their gated community lol.
Set Bookmark
Baby Mandalorian
Thu, Jul 2, 2020, 7:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

@Jeff that's one issue with DS9 I've found, they don't consider their longer term implications. They have a dilema on a personal level but it's obvious the impact of the decision would have led to the fall of the federation and is obvious at the time. In the end they either choose the "right" (or obvious) choice, or some deus ex machina comes up and corrects it back onto the main storyline.
Set Bookmark
Baby Mandalorian
Tue, Jun 30, 2020, 9:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

Good episode. But seriously, I'm totally on the Marquis side on this. I don't even get the whole putting down Victor Hugo. This episode was really well done, but weirdly... pro-authoritarian. I guess in this current world climate it doesn't come off as well as at the time, but given they are referencing Les Mis it's hilariously bad writing that somehow Sisko comes off as "awesome" despite being referred to as Javert.. like wtf

This episode just made me like the Marquis more.
Set Bookmark
Baby Mandalorian
Tue, Jun 30, 2020, 8:20am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ship

I don't understand why the founder didn't attack them from the start? One founder is more than enough to take them out, as they've shown every time we see them infiltrate a federation location and pose as someone- and they didn't know the founder was there so he could have posed as any of them when they went off to search the ship. Weird episode, but good acting and character interactions. Worf also seemed a bit out of character.
Set Bookmark
Baby Mandalorian
Sun, Jun 28, 2020, 3:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Rules of Engagement

Worf: "I have nothing to hide" lmao classical stupid mistake in court/authorities. How stupid do you have to be to not realise you never give up info or accept the prosecution to use anything against you. The biggest issue in Star Trek universe is everyone comes off as naive or ignorant as though they don't understand the ways of the world and behaviour despite years of service and being apparently some of the highest educated/experts and down to earth individuals. Of course, the prosecution will use any information against them.
Set Bookmark
Baby Mandalorian
Sun, Jun 28, 2020, 3:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Accession

Good episode. One thing of note is that for once Keiko comes off as nomal and her relationship with Obrien seemed more normal. I hope this continues, as before this episode she is literally the worst character and I never understood why Obrien is with her or why they don't divorce.
Set Bookmark
Baby Mandalorian
Sun, Jun 28, 2020, 8:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Sword of Kahless

This episode was good, but had two flaws, one being that this isn't how Worf is as a character, wanting to kill another that he respects over the artifact despite how famous it is, and secondly there was a very easy solution- give it to Dax and have her care for it and return it to the emperor. It could have ended the war and saved thousands or millions of lives, so they gave that up because what? they couldn't agree on who gets to present it? very stupid conclusion to the episode.
Set Bookmark
Baby Mandalorian
Sat, Jun 27, 2020, 10:00am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

Amazing two parter, really starts to shine with all characters being established and introducing Warf into DS9 as a grown character.

My only issue is why doesn't DS9 or the federation send out a general notice to all governments to conduct blood tests on their leadership and military. It would have saved a lot of current and future headaches.
Set Bookmark
Baby Mandalorian
Sun, Jun 21, 2020, 6:07am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Life Support

The biggest issue with Nog in this episode is that he isn't a victim of his culture. He has grown up in a very multicultural environment, educated in one, and cultures that are empowering to women, e.g. Bajoran, teran etc. Quark is probably the most liberal ferengi there is and is the most influential in Nog's life. Also, Nog can believe as he does, but he didn't read the room in their 'date'? and he doesn't recognise that they are humans and therefore wouldn't accept his own cultural ways? Jake still stays friends with him and accepts his "cultural" (bs) biases? The writers treated a serious subject as a B-plot joke, but actually there wasn't anything organic about how that played out.
Set Bookmark
Baby Mandalorian
Sun, Jun 21, 2020, 4:29am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part I

25 years later and this episode resonates more than ever these days. Hopefully we have the same outcome from these terrible times that the star trek earth did.
Set Bookmark
Brian S.
Sun, Jun 14, 2020, 3:31am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Babel

In January 2019, commenter Ashley wrote:

++"I was enjoying the show, then I realised:

Where are the masks to prevent people breathing in the virus?

Do they know nothing about disease prevention ? They must be wanting to get Sick! Even in this “barbaric “ century we know that masks stop air- born viruses.

This blunder destroyed the whole episode for me. It is silly “, silly, silly!"++


I'm just going to be over here in this corner......drinking and sobbing, in no particular order.
Set Bookmark
Brian S.
Sun, Jun 14, 2020, 3:20am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Babel

While whistling past a graveyard, Jammer to wrote:

++"The "race against the clock" is not a particularly effective part of this story, because we all know DS9 is not about to become a floating morgue." ++

Haha, yeah, I mean, the race to get a vaccine out before the virus becomes deadly is just......well, I mean, it's just--okay, sure, they had to convert additional quarters into an overflow hospital ward as the entire medical staff is overrun......but it's pretty obvious the station won't just become one giant morgue, to the point where they have to start digging mass graves just to keep up with the death and destruction, because, well......what kind of horrendously bleak future would look like that, huh?!

Additional negative stars to this episode for some of the other outlandish parts of the episode.....like the bar owner who pompously declares himself to be an "essential service" in the middle of a quarantine, how the one open business in the economy makes a huge profit while everything else is shut down by delivering goods to people that they cannot otherwise access while the station is shut down, the people who ignore the quarantine restrictions and go out to the bars and clubs anyway because they felt fine thereby inadvertently spreading the virus to everyone else far more rapidly and causing it to mutate, the small business owner so single-mindedly desperate to complete his shipment that he fights against the quarantine orders thereby things worse and ends up blowing up his own ship while taking nearly half the station with it.


DAMN, DS9! How is it a quarter-century later, and your episodes are somehow getting even MORE relevant than ever?!
Set Bookmark
Brian
Wed, May 27, 2020, 8:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Defiant

... and finally, in reference to Skywalker’s post above about his perceived lack of respect for rank in Star Trek and this episode specifically (from his point of view as a current military officer)... well all your points would certainly be valid, IF Starfleet was supposed to work like a modern military and have similar protocols. Clearly, however, that isn’t that intention... it a deliberately made less militaristic than real militaries of today and the past, probably as a sign of human evolution and less need for such authoritarian measures. There is a line in season two of TNG, a line that I disagree with but definitely shows Rodenberry’s intention towards Starfleet, where Picard goes so far to say “Starfleet is not a military organization” when he is protesting the Enterprise being ordered to hold a battle simulation/competition.

Now I think that statement is objectively wrong, as clearly (and made more clearly by DS9 and even future TNG episodes), Starfleet does carry the responsibility of essentially being the Federation’s armed forces, “military”; it defends against foreign aggression with force, launches attacks during war, and in DS9 we even see that it has dedicated ground troops/marines. However what we can take from that statement is the significant intention of the creators/writers to show that Starfleet should not be seen as simply analogous to a modern military organization. For one point they do missions of exploration or scientific/astronomical research far more than military missions. It’s like a mix of “explorers“ (what Picard and Riker describe themselves as in that episode, as opposed to “naval “officers”), scientists, and military, in a time when humanity is explicitly described as being more evolved and closer to being a utopian society.

So yes they operate different from how people operate in your military, with less of an overriding military feel governing their interactions, and it’s supposed to be that way in this fictional organization. For example notice how they never salute each other, and how Troy said it would be fine for Picard to be in a romantic relationship with a lower ranking officer (TNG “Lessons”). So while Julian may be even less militaristic than the already less militaristic ordinary Starfleet officer, while that causes a bit of initiate awkwardness for O’Brien it’s also not shocking or anything like it may be in your military. Same with Julian’s behavior towards Kira... Starfleet officers and personal are closer to colleagues than modern military personnel are, even among different ranks (except for times of direct orders). Of course there is still good discipline and adherence to the chain of command; Kira did obey Julian in the end since he technically had the authority to do what he did, and in other situations Starfleet officers almost always professional obey their superiors.
Set Bookmark
Brian Lear
Wed, May 20, 2020, 10:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Favorite Son

Just rewatched this with my wife. I cannot believe all the vitriol over this episode. I thought it was a fascinating idea and I did not see the twist coming at all. It was not perfect, the only change I would've made was I think Harry "figured it all out" too quickly. I think it would've been way better if he was fooled until the end.
Overall, a fairly campy story but a fascinating idea and they pulled it off. I feel like people are so overly harsh on this show. If this had been a TNG episode and it was Geordi who got abducted, I think people would've eaten it up.
Set Bookmark
JF Sebastian
Mon, May 18, 2020, 2:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Demons

Anthony Montgomery would have been better cast as an android. His face lacks expression and he appears dead behind the eyes. His movements and gestures are suitably robotic in nature. His delivery of lines has all the emotional expression of a talking toaster.

I would imagine other members of the cast enjoy working with him as their relative talents are greatly amplified in direct comparison.
Set Bookmark
Ian
Sat, May 16, 2020, 6:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

Michael Dorn must have had a lot fun doing this episode. No Klingon make-up!
Set Bookmark
Brian L
Mon, Apr 6, 2020, 8:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

With the utmost respect, Jammer, I think you were far too charitable in your treatment of the writers making this series "about picard saying goodbye to data."
It was one scene at the end of a very long, labored series, that, while superficially satisfying, I don't think really holds up under scrutiny. First of all, it makes the series over-stuffed. Not only did we have to wiz through a hundred other plot points to get here, to top it off they inject a very heavy-handed scene into the finale that really seems to come out of nowhere.

"I always wished that I could have said I was sorry, that it was you and it wasn't me."

Come on, really? The dialogue is clumsy, written in a strange tense that creates disconnection between the viewer and the events unfolding on screen. And it's fan service--basically, totally meaningless for someone who hasn't seen the TNG movies.

"A butterfly that lives forever, is really not a butterfly at all."

Again, wordy, clumsy dialogue. And, then of course they go ahead and turn picard into a synth. So the butterfly really is a butterfly after all, even if its synthetic. Oh the depth! The magnitude!

Really? You would say this fan-servicey tacked-on finale made the show "about" something? You completely ignore how the writers left loose plot strings frayed all over the place, meandered incompetently all over the place? Relied on violence, gore, spectacle? And somehow one poorly scripted scene between Stewart and Spiner somehow fixes it all?

You are one charitable Trek fan, and I salute you :)
Next ►Page 1 of 37
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.