Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 9 (Showing 1-9)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Sun, Mar 8, 2020, 8:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

@gerontius unfortunately it has. People coming here to give opinions - fine, thats the point. But the condescending walls of text from people.. some of which don't even was the show is kinda killing vibe.

It's just a sci-fi show guys. Lets try and keep it civil - no opinion is more or less valid than another
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Sun, Mar 8, 2020, 6:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

The science has never made any sense in Star Trek. Time Warping round the sun... Heisenberg compensators (to make the impossible possible) for beaming... "Fun with DNA" (Voyager mostly) etc etc. One day these things might be possi le, after all aeroplanes were impossible not so very long ago and going too fast in a train was thought to kill to. So we should probably try to curb our arrogance on what maybe or not possible a few hundred years from now.

The science in The Expanse is fantastic but then it probably only seems that way because its only a 100 years or so in the future.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Sun, Mar 8, 2020, 6:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

4 stars all day long. (When the XBs were gunned down wondered how many boring "this is not Star Trek" posts there would be).

1000 word essays of nit-picking and acting like some writing god don't change that.

Great acting and story aside the cinematography is beautiful in pretty much every scene.

Sirtis and Frakes were great too.

Only 3 episodes to go.. wah.

I'm just so happy this has turned out x100 better than ST:DSC.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Thu, Feb 27, 2020, 4:40am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The Impossible Box

This is not Star Trek.

Just wanted to be the first to say that even if it's drivel.

Looking forward to watching it in 12 hours or so when it's released here.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Mon, Feb 24, 2020, 7:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

@Henson yep my parents would definitely argue that TOS is the best of those 3. It's amazing that Star Trek in it's vastly different forms has endured. I'd rather it be on the air (even if it's DSC... sigh) than not at all.

Never enough sci-fi on TV.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Mon, Feb 24, 2020, 7:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi i know you weren't talking to me but reputation wise i think you're right DS9 (rather than TNG) would definitely have the worst reputation of the 3. Maybe that has changed a little over time. People appear to have warmed to it over the years.

Personally DS9 became my favourite instantly (even with the slightly wobbly first 2 seasons). I always found TNG too stiff on whole with the occasional exception episode. I actually couldn't stand Picard at all at first. I grew up with Kirk. I ended up liking him and TNG just find though.

I never did like Janeway and her dictatorship though. Seven came along excellently to actually make some good debate and tension (I never cared about the catsuits and I'm male too - I don't watch sci-fi for that). So glad to see her back, if only briefly. She is a damn fine actress.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Mon, Feb 24, 2020, 9:02am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

@booming "Not that I looked that much." Why bother to even reply then?

The ratings on TNG's first 3 seasons (from roughly the same number of votes as each PIC episode) are generally under 7. Looking for a trend in 5 episodes is a little fatuous. There's no trend there at all. The only conclusion you could really draw is that TNG sucked at least half of it's entire run. I don't believe that at all. I largely enjoyed it. Why does it matter so much to you that other people hate it as much as you anyway?

I like it, plenty of people do. Plenty of people hate it. You seem to have a person crusade to somehow prove that everyone who likes it is wrong and needs to be converted using some kind of a scientific method. You'll never prove that because to quote my favourite film: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pWdd6_ZxX8c

Anyway I think I've made my point as much as I care to. If you have the spare time to @ everyone and nitpick everything they say to convert them to your thinking, go for it. It's your life.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Mon, Feb 24, 2020, 6:23am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi fair enough. you don't like this version of Star Trek. I didn't like (Star Trek) Enterprise even after they added the Star Trek to it's title.

@Booming i guess you're the resident comedian, minus the comedy. In terms of a study, there's a few - Google (or don't). Just make more "clever" remarks at people.

Also there's a few some interesting studies on the kind of people that even write reviews online (only 1.5% do). There's also a few studies saying the exact opposite.... so yeah. So it's either a fact or it isn't depending on what you choose to believe.

That probably explains why Picard has 8.4 on IMDB yet you have to have scroll through loads of pages of 1 out 10 rage monsters with varying versions of "this is not star trek. 16.1k ratings. Under 600 reviews.

I found this amusing "...people who write online reviews are more likely to buy things in unusual sizes, make returns, be married, have more children, be younger and less wealthy, and have graduate degrees than the average consumer" Well I only tick 2 of those boxes so I guess I should leave lol.

Personally i think it would be literally impossible to create a Star Trek today that wouldn't cause rage on message boards.. well it wasn't back in the days of dial-up and bulletin boards either come to think of it.

A non-trek fan told me this morning he binged the first 5 episodes over the weekend and really enjoyed them. He said "tbh I think Stewart could advertise Cat Litter and I'd enjoy it".

The real world is still 10 times bleaker than the world of PIC.

Looking forward to episode 6.

The real question is who will be first in with the "this is not Star Trek" when Jammer opens the comments.
Set Bookmark
Grey Cat
Sun, Feb 23, 2020, 8:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

@lynos "And it seem to me like two camps have been established when it comes to the latest Trek: the first camp, mostly consisting of longtime Trek fans, dislikes the new shows. The other camp, consisting of both Trek fans and the non-initiated, reacts to them positively and accepts them on their own terms, i.e, they are not judged in the context of the whole of Trek."

Interesting point. Although it could more like the reviews are like the ones for drugs (legal). People mostly leave a review if they hate the effect or have some horrible reaction. There could be a huge amount of peoplie silently enjoying PIC.

Ive seen all Trek since the first pilot with Pike till now and i'm thoroughly enjoying this continuation. This is Not Trek is dull as Jammer says (although rather ruins his review by making a rant about that very topic). TNG wasn't trek when it came out, neither as DS9. Voyager was more warmly welcomed (at first) since it was female kirk being badass with an ironing board shaped ship on strange new worlds.

With all due respect. Please stop the "this is not trek" rubbish. It's been argued to death for around 30 years.

Many of my non trek fan friends watch enjoyed DSC. It was just ok to me. Mostly due to SMGs acting and the lack of any deceng characters besides Pike. It had its moments.

Thoroughly enjoying PIC. 7 or 8 out of 10 episode. Enjoyed last weeks a bit more but great to see Seven
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.