Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 15 (Showing 1-15)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Fortyseven
Sat, Jul 27, 2019, 8:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Descent, Part II

Sounds like this episode will be one of the planks setting up the backstory in the forthcoming 'Star Trek: Picard' series.

https://www.ign.com/articles/2019/07/24/star-trek-picard-borg-seven-of-nine-7-9-hugh-jeri-ryan-voyager
Set Bookmark
fortyseven
Mon, Jan 29, 2018, 6:32am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

@Peter G.

I would like to applaud your review, especially the final paragraph. You have summarised my personal feelings about this show with great precision.

The Star Trek of old is clearly dead. In fact, there appears to be a real antipathy towards the tradition of Trek that permeates Discovery. However, I don’t believe this is simply due to the fact that the writers are visionless hacks who are unmotivated by consistency, principle and moral philosophy as a drive for their stories. I believe that the industry in general now views the old Star Trek as cumbersome and hopelessly nerdy. For them the canon is merely a cage to creativity.

I saw a rather devastating interview of the great Ron Moore a few weeks ago in one of the supplements made for the final season of TNG remastered. In it he stated that he was no longer a fan of old Star Trek and that it was too removed from reality in relation to general human behaviour. He railed against a perceived totalitarianism that was inflicted on the writer’s room with all good ideas barred by what had come before. He seemed to think that creativity needs to be allowed to flow freely without constraints to reach its full potential. He seemed to have forgotten all the incredible contributions he himself had made to Star Trek’s rulebook.

However, in my view, Discovery and in some ways the movie reboot highlights the flaws of this approach. The writers get lazy and the world which they are trying to tell their stories in implodes under the weight of the inconsistency and lawlessness that result when a great number of people contribute unrestrained to one creative endeavour.

I suppose the old Star Trek always had strong nay-sayers in the form of Roddenberry and later Rick Berman who kept the shows on a strict course. Sure, for a writer this must have been extremely frustrating at times but in my view it maintained the (relatively) consistent world that we all came to love. Even if that meant some great story ideas and plot-twists came to nothing more than a crumpled up piece of paper on the writer’s room floor.

Some gems might have been lost but interest in Star Trek survived for over 50 years. I can’t see how the current course will maintain that momentum.
Set Bookmark
Fortyseven
Thu, Oct 27, 2011, 6:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: The Emperor's New Cloak

I'm going back and checking out some of the episodes I skipped over (between Jammer's star rating and my eagerness to only watch plot-advancing episodes).

I expected bad. Had fun. I acknowledge (and damn) it's flaws, but it wasn't *quite* as awful as I'd anticipated.

Not even close to as bad as that Risan weather episode. Ungh. ;)
Set Bookmark
Fortyseven
Thu, Oct 13, 2011, 6:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

Just spent the last couple months plugging away through this series; missed it the first time around, and now I've consumed it whole in a very short period of time.

I avoided this series for a long time. The pilot episode, when it first aired, failed to capture my late teenage interest.

It didn't help that other fans ripped into it saying how boring they thought it would be. "It's on a space station! They can't go anywhere! Where is the 'trekking'??"

How ignorant they were. ;)

DS9 was truly a great series. It's a show I don't think I would have appreciated as much if I'd watched it back then.

While it's not perfect, it was definitely a much more mature series, with stories I couldn't imagine playing out on any other Trek stage. This was a show with balls. It's a shame that it didn't lend itself to a theatrical follow-up like the more mainstream-friendly TOS and TNG did.

Thanks for writing up on the series, Jammer. It was great being able to read your reviews from the perspective of someone who was watching it for the first time, unsure of what was to come. (Though, it was a bit of a shame that I had a few major plot points spoiled in the comments... but hey, I blame myself for reading. ;))

It's been a fun ride. *hat-tip* :)
Set Bookmark
Fortyseven
Mon, Sep 26, 2011, 6:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Honor Among Thieves

@Marco: I always assume more time has gone by than we witness on the screen, in cases like that. Miles may have been there for several months, for example. :)
Set Bookmark
Fortyseven
Sat, Sep 24, 2011, 1:38am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Favor the Bold

@Nick: No, I'm with you on that, as well. I thought she was completely adorable. It was meant to lighten a very dark scene, and that's how I took it. :)

Side note: It's 2:36am and I've been watching the show almost continuously since 6pm, ever since Jake tried to get that baseball card. I haven't chain-watched a series like this since... well, Battlestar Galactica. ;D
Set Bookmark
Fortyseven
Fri, Sep 16, 2011, 7:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Doctor Bashir, I Presume

I'm surprised nobody has commented about O'Brien making Holo-Julian walk into a wall repeatedly. I was frickin' dying! :)
Set Bookmark
Fortyseven
Sun, Jul 31, 2011, 7:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Rejoined

Huh. I didn't realize the kiss in this episode was a "thing". The scene came and went and I didn't really think too much about it. Well, outside of what any other straight male might think, of course. :P

I guess I just assumed this episode was aired outside of that whole "you can't show THAT on TV" era. :P
Set Bookmark
Fortyseven
Fri, Jun 3, 2011, 5:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Sixth Season Recap

Sorry Will, but I think you are being grossly unfair. Personally, I felt season 6 was one of Voyagers strongest. I will admit, it certainly lacked an overall theme. However, there were a significant amount of well concieved character shows that were insightful and a nice break from the usual Voyager ratings gimmick episodes. Shows like Survival Instinct, Barge of the Dead, Tinker, Tenor, Doctor Spy, One Small Step, Pathfinder, Memorial, Child's Play, Good Shepherd, Muse and Life Line all had something to say and provided interesting insights into the characters.
Set Bookmark
Fortyseven
Wed, May 25, 2011, 10:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Duet

After ~18 years I'm finally watching this series, thanks to Netflix. I simply never got around to watching it.

I went from TOS to TNG to VOY and completely skipped right over it (no doubt thanks to the negative comments from people who were, in retrospect, idiots.)

Long after it ended, I'd finally heard all the great things about it, so I vowed to watch it. Someday.

That day came about a week or so ago. I just polished off Season 1; about to start Season 2.

It started off rather difficult to watch. Sisko's awkward "WHOOP!", along with an unusual acting style in the pilot bothered the hell out of me. Thankfully that didn't last and Avery Brooks settled in quite nicely. :) I can't remember precisely what it was that bugged me about him; I'd go look but I don't have Disc 1 available anymore. :D

As has been beaten into the ground by so many already, the TNG-style "anomaly of the week" plots are completely out of place here. DS9, even this early on, feels like a conduit for far more mature, intelligent stories. Predictable crap like "Dramatis Personae" comes off very much forced and awkward, like the episode was the tax paid to keep the name 'Star Trek' in the title. (Though I'll grant you there's a handful of rather cool moments in that episode, but most of that is credited to the talented cast.)

I went into 'Duet' not realizing it was so well-renowned. And damn, does it deserve every bit of praise it gets -- definitely one of the best Trek episodes I've seen. Ever. I know it's not him, but at times I could swear Harris Yulin (Marritza) was channeling Ted Knight. Imagine Ted Knight as a Cardassian? **head-asplode**

Anyway, really enjoying the series so far. Looking forward to the first disc of the next season to arrive in the mail. ;)
Set Bookmark
Fortyseven
Sun, Sep 5, 2010, 10:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Stratagem

Nothing in this episode was a surprise to me. I knew they were just screwing with Degra from the opening scene, though the specifics weren't so clear. I assumed it was a real ship they'd acquired, as opposed to a simulator ride. Doh. And the second ruse was so obvious that I didn't think the writers were *trying* to trick us -- we were in on it by that point.

I don't say these things as a negative, however: I thoroughly enjoyed the episode. Phlox was enjoying himself a bit too much, perhaps. ;)

Surprisingly, I actually felt kind of bad for Degra once he realized he'd been duped AGAIN...poor guy. Luckily he won't remember getting suckered twice in a row. ;D (Haven't seen the rest of the season yet, so I don't know for sure how it plays out.)

The only thing that actually frustrated the crap out of me was... Archer never asked him WHY humanity was considered a threat, outside of what we already knew. Especially since he'd already said that they didn't really discuss the attack on Earth much. They don't seem like unreasonable people... well, the primates at least.

Guess I'll find out soon enough. *loads up the next ep*
Set Bookmark
Fortyseven
Sun, Sep 5, 2010, 9:34am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Proving Ground

When Shran first appeared on the viewscreen, I almost spilled my drink with how they presented it. Haven't laughed that hard in a while. :D

Another nice touch: Shran's stalks bent down as he passed under a bulkhead while talking to Archer on the ship. Subtle, and not strictly necessary, but it was very cool.
Set Bookmark
fortyseven
Thu, Nov 26, 2009, 4:41am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Distant Origin

What killed this episode for me was its ludicrous depiction of evolution. In fact they make the same elementary school mistake that we were already subjected to in TNG's The Chase.

On the holodeck they contended that one can extrapolate what evolution would do to an organism over a period of many millions of years. However, this is impossible as one cannot foresee what random mutations will occur in any given genotype over time. In addition, it is also impossible to foresee which given mutations will be ultimately selected for as this depends on entirely random events in the environment. This episode supports the common lay misconception that evolution aims for specific designs, like intelligence or upright posture. However, evolution is fundamentally aimless. Anyone with the most rudimentary grasp of biology knows this.

This begs the question how dumb is Joe Menosky, as he wrote both The Chase and Distant Origin? Did this guy ever go to school? It almost seems as if he is on an agenda to unify evolution with intelligent design or something crazy like that.
Set Bookmark
Fortyseven
Wed, Apr 1, 2009, 5:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

@anotherskinjob: Whoops, didn't mean to ape your verbiage there; wrote that before going over the responses. :D
Set Bookmark
Fortyseven
Wed, Apr 1, 2009, 5:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

You saucy son of a bitch. April fools, indeed. I fell for it, because it actually seemed a reasonable response! :D

Well played, sir.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.