Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 9 (Showing 1-9)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
fevredream
Fri, Mar 13, 2020, 9:15am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

Man, this show has had a real streak of winners for these past three episodes. Really getting me into the show with nicely played character moments, great callbacks, and a surprisingly engaging plot. Not perfect, but very good stuff. Hope the two-part final sticks the landing.
Set Bookmark
fevredream
Thu, Mar 5, 2020, 2:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

Mostly echoing what other people said - great episode only somewhat marred by Hiugh's unnecessary death and Rizzo continuing to feel like a terrible stereotype out of a worse show. Everything with the Riker/Troi family was wonderful, and overall the episode just felt *right.* In other words, two big wins in a row for the show.
Set Bookmark
fevredream
Fri, Feb 14, 2020, 11:14am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi

*Sigh* I've been reading Jammer's reviews for years -- there's just not as much meaning in commenting on posts which were written over a decade ago. I'm surprised that you think it's odd that there would be new people posting about an actual ongoing, brand-new show - and I'm also surprised that you seem to think that people would come here to literally shill for Picard. The show is currently being very well received overall -- there's nothing nefarious in people liking it.
Set Bookmark
fevredream
Thu, Feb 13, 2020, 7:31am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

This was the best episode since the first for me, which surprised me a bit - the trailers made this one look a lot more questionable than it was. Loved seeing more of Romulan culture and having more filled in about what exactly happened with the resettlement efforts, and Elnor is a lot less cringey than I feared - he actually felt compelling. Continuing to enjoy the new characters. Also loved the appearance of the TOS-era BOP, which seems perfect for the sort of repurposing of old military tech you'd see in a semi-abandoned part of an old empire.

Literally only have two problems: incest plot with the Romulan siblings seems a bit too "look how shocking we can be!" Honestly feels hoary and like something from a worse show. Other issue is that we only have six episodes left this season, and things still feel like they're just ramping up. Otherwise, very much enjoyed this one.

3-3.5/4
Set Bookmark
fevredream
Mon, Apr 22, 2019, 11:53am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Inside Man

I actually quite liked this one. Compared to the general boredom the Voyager crew often inspires at this point, it still feels like a breath of fresh air to get to see the Alpha Quadrant and Project Pathfinder and all the people involved. Reg was great fun as both his real self and his exaggerated hologram version, and Troi was used in a pretty enjoyable way as well (and actually used her empathic abilities in a meaningful way, which was great). From amongst all the "Voyager is going to get home! except not really" episodes, I'd say that "Inside Man" is up there with "Bliss" in terms of actually being enjoyable.
Set Bookmark
fevredream
Thu, Apr 18, 2019, 6:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Fury

Having finally watched this episode, in some ways it was worse than I could have imagined. Voyager has plenty of jaw-droppingly poor episodes, but as far as insulting the audience goes, this may be the worst. This isn't the usual one-off, easily forgotten pile of lazy writing, poor execution, and half-baked ideas that make up many of the worst Voyager episodes - it's the final episode of a main character from the first half of the show up until this point. To think they waste it on Kes skulking around, having no legitimate interactions with her former crewmates until the very end, and attempting to send all her formerly beloved friends to a horrific death for a completely shallow (and even retcon-based) reason is just...shockingly frustrating.

How sad is it that the closest we get to a real character moment is that final scene with Neelix sadly looking at aged Kes, trying to show her affection while downplaying how much her appearance upsets him? It's hardly even there as a scene, and yet its so much deeper than anything else we get here. As so many others have said, all we're allowed is a huge wasted opportunity coupled with character assassination. I preferred Threshold over this. At least I could laugh at that one. This was just the destruction of a character as pure ratings ploy.

One thing I haven't noticed anyone mention - the attempt at giving Chakotay a crowning moment of glory. He orders "Reverse thrusters, full power!" to which Kim replies "that'll tear the hull apart." In what the writers clearly wanted to be Chakotay's Captain Sulu moment, he yells "then tear it apart!" Alas, despite clearly aping that incredible, character defining moment from STVI, the direction and Beltrand's delivery just can't hold a candle to Takei in that film (the knowledge that no damage on Voyager has consequence making the whole thing feel hollow doesn't help).

Overall, I've really been enjoying Voyager these past two seasons, but this episode almost makes me want to rethink my positive feelings for the show as a whole (and just "Live Fast and Prosper, feels strangly like the terrible episodes of seasons 1-3 of the show). I'm glad the next outing is supposedly much better. Too bad there was never another outing for Kes. In some ways, the lasting insult here feels a bit like what happened to Kurn in DS9 - a horrible end to a beloved character that should have been reversed, but never was. But at least the episode in which Kurn's fate was sealed was itself a compelling episode. This, alas, was simply not.
Set Bookmark
fevredream
Wed, Apr 17, 2019, 11:58am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Live Fast and Prosper

This honestly felt like a season 2 Voyager episode - pretty good premise with some good scenes and aspects, but overall just doesn't come together in a compelling way. Weird pacing, scene progression feels off, and in the end nothing of consequence happens. Almost felt a little bit like that horrible Ferengi episode Voyager did, although not quite as terrible.

Although I will agree with a lot of people and say that Faux-Tuvok was pretty hilarious and endearing. Loved seeing him meet his idol and not quite measure up.
Set Bookmark
fevredream
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 1:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

Forgot to add - if I was ranking this one, it would probably be my first 4/4 for the series.
Set Bookmark
fevredream
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 1:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

Possibly the best episode of Discovery to date (something I've said many times this season, haha). Felt "perfect" in a way even other generally great episodes haven't - nothing felt out of place, nothing detracted from the impact of the episode, and the pace was perfect. It added to, expanded, and deepened existing canon in a meaningful way. We also had three separate major character moments that all worked wonderfully - Pike/Vina, Spock/Burnham, and Culber/Stamets/Tyler. The reveal of the rift between Spock and Burnham wasn't earth-shattering or needlessly epic, but rather simply a deep emotional wound that Michael felt forced to give Spock back when their relationship was first truly developing. It helps explain his turning away from emotion for Vulcan logic, adding to the other points we already understood. Just great stuff. I won't even mention how amazing The Cage recap at the beginning was.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.