Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 818 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 33
Set Bookmark
Lodged Warpedo
Tue, Oct 20, 2020, 2:00am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

Although too Star Warsy, this episode will always hold a very special place in my heart. Having been to a few of the locations (the crater in Myvatn MB lands on, the waterfall she fights from behind, & the Blue Lagoon where she gets healed) on Heim (Heimaey = Iceland), how could it not? I’m passionate about Iceland and passionate about Star Trek, & they managed to merge them into a beautiful premiere. And the emotions during the last scene was the cherry on top!

Yet I would be remiss on Jammer’s site to not be on blast about some things: 1,000 years is way too far into the future, hitting Book’s ship is ridiculous, the bug eating the prettier bug was right out of Return of the Jedi outside Jabba’s Palace, the non-stop fighting is too gratuitous (Michael punched Book for revenge no less than 3 times!), the worm engulfing Michael was too unnecessary and silly, and now that someone mentioned Mega Man blasters, that’s all I’ll ever see. Hate the Andorian prosthetics. I could go on.

But overall even though the writing is always the most lacking of all the critical components, episode 301 of DSC will always hold a very special place in my heart. I enjoyed the acting, the cinematography, the music (especially at the end), and I have hope for a decent season. But yeah to bring this full circle, the endless blasting, violence, Book being Force sensitive, and even the title of the episode “You Are That Hope” all feel way too much like SW for my ***ST***🖖

But
Set Bookmark
Hedgefundie
Fri, Oct 16, 2020, 9:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

I’m confused by the last scene.

If there are still other Federation starships in existence and within range, why did it take 40 years for the guy to get commissioned??
Set Bookmark
Zed
Sat, Oct 10, 2020, 1:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

For me, I think it’s more fair to compare this show with TAS. I think that, compared with that show, LD does a better job of pacing out the short episodes. Sometimes TAS episodes feel unfinished because it was like the TOS writers were trying to cram 50 minutes into 25.

Personally, I think it’s a matter of taste. There are some people who name Voy or even Enterprise as their favorite Trek. Other people (like myself) won’t even give Picard the time of the day because they dislike the character. When all is said and done, I would much rather have “too much Trek” on the air than “not enough Trek”. It’s like they’re making up for all the times the show went on hiatus for a decade or more.

Speaking of cartoons, does Jammer simply dislike cartoons? I noticed that the only other Trek he hasn’t reviewed is TAS.
Set Bookmark
ReD
Sun, Sep 20, 2020, 8:57am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Return of the Archons

Is it just me or does this episode seem to be the birth of the concept of The Matrix...
Set Bookmark
IGotBannedForLess
Sat, Aug 8, 2020, 10:17am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Jammer hasn’t been relevant since he submitted half baked mostly lifted scripts to the voyager writers. He’s been in some bullshit mode of half hate for almost 3 decades. This site is a high school reunion of old writers, staff, fans, and alcoholic wreckage from prior times. It reads like the left over cheerleaders from your highschool yearbooks. Being stuck T a reunion 25 years later at one of their tables as they make fun of anyone successful.
Set Bookmark
IGotBannedForLess
Fri, Aug 7, 2020, 9:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I’d watch ST:OB
This place still sucks
Set Bookmark
Lodged Animated Torpedo
Thu, Jul 16, 2020, 8:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I’m saddened by this, but understand & respect your decisions. But, what if it’s a hit? What if it’s witty and tons of fun like Rick & Morty, & is a cult smash? If you renew and review DSC S3, not even a blurb of your basic thoughts (à la your concise TOS reviews) just for the continuity of having reviewed all Trek incarnations, isn’t in the cards? Again, I fully support whatever you do because you’ve brought me weekly joy for so long, and I only jumped on board relatively recently. The sky’s not always the limit, though, so who knows? 🖖 JAMMER
Set Bookmark
Kindred
Mon, Jul 13, 2020, 1:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Conscience of the King

In my opinion, a lot of the story points were forced forward and I didn't enjoy it as much as other episodes.

Riley was 1. used as bait by Kirk and 2. he didn't even get protection.
McCoy files a verbal report sensitive to Riley in Riley's earshot.
Redshirt lets Lady Macbeth disarm him like nothing.

Lazy writing in multiple places basically. And Lady Macbeth's overacting was a shame.
Set Bookmark
Redders
Sun, Jul 12, 2020, 11:37am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Meridian

What I don't think has been highlighted amongst the comments - and the thing I found most Infuriating about this episode - is that the so-called "man," Deral, having claimed he'd move to the Alpha Quadrant for Dax - then back pedals and bails out! "Oh, I can't leave," he whines! So it's Dax - the woman - who is expected - and seemingly willing - to make all the sacrifices. I would have thought, after 8 lifetimes' experience, Dax would be savvy to this spineless excuse of a man!
Set Bookmark
Eric Saavedra
Thu, Jul 9, 2020, 11:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

Great show but one of my complaints here is how much the changelings can take different forms. Seriously?? Fog and fire?? How can they give off heat and light as fire without losing mass? Also in the opening scene when Lass was bigger than the shuttle or when Odo becomes as small as a bird in other episodes. They should have limited the changelings to physical sizes comparable to their volume and not be able to become “energy forms” such as fire.
Set Bookmark
Eric Saavedra
Tue, Jul 7, 2020, 7:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

Worf really got on my nerves in this one, especially in the Dr Bashir scene. Seriously, why isn’t this guy ever charged with assault and removed from Starfleet. It’s not the first time he puts his hands on a fellow officer. Everyone always tries to appease Worf and and all the Klingons. In fact, I hate the Klingons. The only one I liked was Martok, and even he got my nerves occasionally.
Set Bookmark
Eric Saavedra
Thu, Jul 2, 2020, 10:44am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Business as Usual

Lol how many time must Quark be in financial trouble. I guess he isn’t a good businessman. He doesn’t even pay rent or maintenance.
Set Bookmark
Eric Saavedra
Thu, Jul 2, 2020, 12:08am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Doctor Bashir, I Presume

Rewatching this now and Dr. Bashir really got on my nerves here. He was being extremely rude to his father.
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Bedard
Mon, Jun 22, 2020, 8:47am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Life Line

Things certainly progress quickly in the TREK universe. Zimmerman's disease must also cause rapid aging, because he appears significantly older here than when he visited DS9 just three years prior. And he truly must've been whipping through those EMH redesigns and upgrades. It was only about two years ago that Voyager's EMH encountered the EM Mark II of the USS Prometheus and Starfleet is now already using a Mark IV. "Life Line" never fails to impress me on that score.

On another note, it fascinates me that Janeway (after some convincing) allows the EMH to risk his program and the lives of his Voyager crewmembers to take the trip to Jupiter Station. Paris is a medic. He is not a doctor. He is certainly not a surgeon. Even the EMH comments on this, after the fact, on Jupiter Station. If TREK were real, I can't see Janeway agreeing to this. How can she or the EMH predict what will happen to the ship and crew in the month that the EMH is gone? It would've been nice to see the EMH training volunteers to become nurses and doctors. He had started with Kes. I always thought having Paris share double duty as helmsman/medic was a touch non-sensical.
Set Bookmark
d-maxsted
Sun, May 31, 2020, 7:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

The Boldest Trek Of Them All

Of everything that is Star Trek this is without a doubt the boldest voyage the Starship Enterprise has ever taken. A Machine Planet Sending A Machine To Earth To Find Its Creator and not till the final 20 minutes does the absolute WOW factor reveal itself as to who this machine is. As a lifelong Star Trek fan I really appreciate this film and the more times I watch it I love it even more as this film has every element that makes Star Trek the incredible story that it is and yes there is still a lot of hate out there towards this film but for me it is simply the perfect Trek of all,the return of Kirk,Spock,McCoy,Sulu,Chekov,Uhura and Scotty,the incredible intorduction the the new Enterprise,the magnificent new theme and incredible score by the legend himself Jerry Goldsmith,Douglas Trumbull,John Dykstra creating simply amazing visual effects throughout the entire film that give Star Wars a run for its money any day and at the helm none other than director Robert Wise who shows why he is the legend he is as a director,every shot in the film is so beautifully crafted and shot,I cant say I think its long overdue that Paramount release this film in 4K with a Dolby Atmos Soundtrack but I imagine it will happen sooner than later.
Set Bookmark
Chilledfish
Sun, May 31, 2020, 7:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Galileo Seven

I think that it's clear that Spock is a bad leader in this episode, but more importantly I think, the episode demonstrates that he doesn't understand logic.
When his plan, which was based on limited information and assumptions fails, his brain seems to break down. In his mind he applied "logic" to the problem, so it "logically" couldn't fail.
He goes on and on about logic, when all it does is make him seem heartless and pompous to his subordinates. Not very logical.
Set Bookmark
Disappointed
Mon, Apr 20, 2020, 12:54am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

The writing in Picard and Discovery is terrible. And I can just never understand why. Discovery was meaningless drivel but Picard had within it several premises that could have been developed into an engaging story. A Federation who had lost its way and was decaying and insular and crying out for a leader and orator of Picards quality.

Instead we got another poorly managed series of action sequences strung together with random events and magical objects that force the next meaningless action sequence.

The plight of the synthetic life forms never felt like a strong enough driver to take Picard on this journey and his end goal was never clear. And of course, if you think about it for a moment, was really a complete failure. Yes, he saved the small android colony of about 30 individuals, but the price was the horrendous slaughter of what appeared to be thousands of the former Borg. And it was Picard who condemed then all to death on his pointless quest to find someone who might be related to Data.

They could have died a valiant struggle and could have formed part of the larger narrative arc about the Federations selfishness and insular nature. Instead, after building up the size and horror of the Borg cube, of reminding us of the Borg's terrible power, they were all flushed into space and then, after gaining control of it (a terrible weapon and the use of which might have had consequences for the Federaton and Seven of Nine) it was immediatley crashed into a planet, taken out by a plant.

What's with the need to have massive fleets of spaceships in Startrek now? It's like they are trying to turn it into Star Wars. The original premise of Star Trek was that space was massive and the spaceships, like a battleship or submarine, were on their own in the expanse dealing with problems they found there. So Star Fleet can now magic up 300 battleships for a situation as minor as saving the lives of 30 androids, something the Federation aparently cared nothing about for the last 10 years. I am now surprised they had any problems fighting the Borg or the Dominion previously with these kinds of resources! Where was the impassioned speech to the Federation Council, where Picard alone managed to change opinions to save the day?

Finally, the whole premise of this last episode was ridiculous. Am I the only one who thought that the Romulans were actually in the right?! The warning they had seen was true, the efforts they put into maintaining their vigual was justified in the end when we saw what was the end of the signal. The means they employed had much to be desired but Picards crew seemed to be intent on sacraficing all organic life for the sake of these 30 individuals, none of whom seemed to deserve the efforts being expended on them.

I just wish the creators of these shows had more respect for the audiences and their ability to follow a more complex story. Given the swearing and gore in star trek now it seems that its targeted at a more grown up audience but the story is juvenile so I don't really understand who they are targeting any more. Gone is the science storys and technology and just a focus on poorly managed action sequences. Given the quality of actors, set designers and special effects staff they have, it just seems crazy the writing is as poor as it is.
Set Bookmark
FedBinasf
Mon, Apr 6, 2020, 7:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Perhaps there should be a corollary to Jammer’s rules, as there was one for the Monroe Doctrine: constantly complaining that you have been “offended” by someone’s alleged rule-breaking (sometimes in the very same message in which YOU are breaking the rules or are otherwise acting rudely).... knock it off.

I wouldn’t myself ban anyone from this group, but it is indeed a group. Not a Festivis airing-of-grievances-circle-jerk

There are people who go to this site to express comments about episodes and themes of Star Trek with their fellow fans. These people have the right to be heard, too, without being called names or otherwise dragged in to the circle jerk.

And don’t blame mental illness on your behavior. I am severely mentally ill as are many people I know, and being mentally ill does not give one license to engage in unsurceasing whining. Life is too short, anyway
Set Bookmark
Ghosted
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 8:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Oh dear, that was..not the best. I respect the posters who enjoyed it, but overall the season fell very flat. It felt out if character for Picard to accept 'cheating' death without consent and a so readily be accepting of a robot body given his locutus experience. The data scenes I'm not sure about, I like the sentiment of a send off but it didn't feel totally like that was 'our' data. I'd echo startrekwatchers first post points which have been my bugbear throughout. Lots of promising avenues for the writers to use, but disappointing that this was the best they could come up with. Oh and I didn't like the warp jumping effect and too many ships just looked a bit too busy for the screen. I like the crew though so if there is a S2 also hope they use a more episodic format.
Set Bookmark
phaedon
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 4:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Filip

A quick word about "plot is paramount." I'm dating someone 10 years my junior and she can barely make it through shows produced in the 90's. I'm a little older, and I notice this when I watch movies from the 40's. Thirty minutes in and I'm wondering when something's going to happen. Picard's not that great, but it's possible age is also a huge factor when it comes to finding this show palatable.

Truth is, there are far better sci-fi shows out there right now with broader appeal that aren't as dumbed down. If this is the type of schlock CBS is going to drive their online brand with, they should be worried.

So Picard ended up being a multi-million dollar, VFX-driven, integalactic trial about the humanity of androids. And yet at no point did it stack up to the emotional tension present in the paltry courtroom in "The Measure of a Man."

Great to see Riker in the chair again. Unfortunately not nearly as great as they did it in "All Good Things."
Set Bookmark
phaedon
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 3:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Star Trek: High Fructose Corn Syrup
Set Bookmark
phaedon
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 1:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

I can't get over how similar and much better of a show Westworld is.
Set Bookmark
Lodged Snorpedo
Sun, Mar 22, 2020, 7:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

Hi @Leif!

“I, Picard” isn’t as much a reference to “I, Borg” as it is to Asimov’s “I, Robot”. Picard is a potential candidate to have a mind transfer into Soong’s golem, hence the allusion!
Set Bookmark
Ghosted
Sat, Mar 21, 2020, 3:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

On the 'I can tell if you are lying' aspect I put that down to being similar to when narek was asking for water and the Android said she could detect changes in heart rate, pupil dilation or similar if he was trying to deceive her.

@lynos, I fully agree about the cube facility workers, etc. The whole 'what are they doing on the cube?' was part of the mystery, but thus far has been a let down. Maybe Narek is off to let loose some borg related thing to tie in with soji's work on the cube. Maybe.
Set Bookmark
Ghosted
Sat, Mar 21, 2020, 11:11am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

Probably the most disappointing episode of the season from my perspective and anti-climatic after the previous 3 EPs. The rather flimsy plot did seem to unravel here too. It just seems a bit dull and dumb ultimately.

I did like the orchid scenes and the cube burning through the atmosphere looked awesome, but then the AI planet.. eesh. A commune was not really what I expected. Data must have enjoyed his time with the Edo! Also, unless Brent's character is lore (which is still a bit lame) then it's such a retcon/mistep to have him play soongs biological son. He was fine as an ancestor in enterprise, but...again?? Surely he could be better utilised. Hope there's an answer to why soji and dahj are not 'gold' unless I missed it?

I'm also not sure of the relevancy of the Borg elements at this stage and wonder if there is any. If so, it's a shame as the setup earlier in the season had some intrigue, but again nothing that worthy has come out of that. Please prove me wrong next week PIC!
Next ►Page 1 of 33
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.