Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 593 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 24
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Thu, Jun 10, 2021, 4:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Emissary

Highlights:

1. The scene where Sisko meets Kira for the first time is actually quite memorable for me. Nana Visitor (Despite, as others have noted, having a talky and expositiony scene to work with) arrests one's attention extremely well. The hallmark of great acting.

2. I remember thinking the scene where Odo captures the thief was quite ehh in terms of special effects, even back when this aired. Not only that, but the bola (or w/e) that the thief throws at Odo is not shot well, imo. This needed more footage than they ended up being able to get, Idk.

3. The scene immediately after, let's call it "Community Leader?!", shall we, is the #1 reason I ever kept watching this show at all. Deep Space Nine got my attention for sure and realsies at this scene, and it is quite good. There are some Trekkian Classic lines in here.

ODO: The man is a gambler, AND a thief
QUARK: I'm not a thief.
ODO: *YOU* ARE A *THIEF!*
QUARK: If I am, then you haven't been able to prove it for four year--
SISKO: Please! My officers, the Bajoran engineers, all their families depend on the shops and the services of this Promenade. If people like you abandon it, this is going to become a ghost town. We need someone to step forward and say "I'm staying. I'm rebuilding." We need a community leader and it's going to be *You*, Quark. :D
QUARK: (Laughs hysterically) "COMMUNITY LEADER?!" (continues laughing)

... I love this scene. It introduces two extremely key characters in the series by contrasting them heavily, and with Ben Sisko in the center, as the decider.

Think of it as a Kirk/Spock/McCoy type scene, but with totally different characters, and a slightly altered premise/power dynamic between them. It possesses similar elements to older Trek Writing.

I like scenes with three distinct characters like this, it gives great opportunities for playing around with words on two separate fronts, with the two lines of conversation that are going on for any of them at any time.

The scene comes to a head in a later scene that is also shot well and has a lot of interesting stuff going on, and punctuates with an exchange between Shimmerman and Brooks that has a lot of sizzle to it.

4. Bashir and Kira's ...talk in the Infirmary is a bit much. I could agree that Kira is a bit over the top here, although in hindsight (SPOILERS: Julian is an augment, just like Khan), it really becomes a lot funnier. That Siddig and Visitor ended up getting together makes it just a bit even funnier just for the giggles.

5. The "Orb Experience" scenes do little to move the plot forward, and btw this entire plot point is an example of just the same kind of Mystery Box writing people are complaining about on the new shows, with **literal mystery boxes.** So, if you're going to slag those shows for it (rightly so), then you need to pay your respects to the Plot Device Orbs of DS9. I still to this day don't understand to this day what the deal was supposed to be with them, what the heck??

6. As to the main plot point, I feel like Fred Savage from "The Princess Bride":

"Contacting aliens inside a stable wormhole to the Gamma Quadrant is good."

Lol

7. O'Brien's last visit on the Enterprise isn't really a scene of DS9, but the epilogue of ST:TNG, really. It's simple and handled well, but that's all you can really say about it.

8. Marc Alamio is the 100% best thing that happened to this series. He's out of his bloody mind and he does it straight up. It is great, that this villain served as the throughline of DS9's story, from start to finish. Whatever material he was given to work with, Alamio killed it. That man's a stone-cold actor.

9. Odo's use of his shapeshifting is much better done in this scene, and the thought of it is clever. I have always thought so from the first time I saw this scene.

10. Sh__ starts to get WEIRD in the third act, but it's the good kind of "Sci Fi Weird" focused on concepts and communication, so to me it's acceptable.

Overall, I have always thought no ST Series established itself so distinctly and so quickly as DS9's. It really is a masterclass in unique design.

BTW: "Star Trek: Deep Space Nine? What is this?" xD hehe
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Thu, Jun 10, 2021, 8:13am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Outrageous Okona

Ok so I've never commented on this, just as I thought.

First, that review was a scream to read. :D Hehehehehe

Second, this ep has one of the most blaring, klaxon-like examples of Counselor Troi States The Blindingly Obvious, in its final scene:

COUNSELOR TROI
"Now we're hearing some truth."

I mean, when she says "What happened to all of the people" in S1's "The Arsenal of Freedom," that was kind of a whopper, but this takes the (android-shaped) cake. This is the dumbest line spoken by a regular cast member in the whole series, I think. I like to imagine that Picard slowly looks at her and starts a slow clap, and says "you sure graduated from Starfleet Academy, didn't you! Good job, Counselor! I'll tell you what, you are getting a gold star on your performance review!"

Just... wow, Deanna
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Thu, Jun 10, 2021, 7:59am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

I apologize if this seems a bit crass but I wanted to offer comment on this:

@Mal said:

"Beverly is sexy af, and you can't blame a guy from trying ;)"

Agreed, and also, I found out the other day that Gates McFadden only goes by "Gates" when she is acting; she was actually a respected choreographer in Hollywood before TNG happened, she worked on Labyrinth (yes, the one with David Bowie). Her name is Cheryl McFadden, and she uses it for her choreography credits. "Gates" is her middle name.

... And uh, I uh, ... buhuhuhuh!! ...She's very beautiful
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Tue, Jun 8, 2021, 8:21am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Where No One Has Gone Before

> The episode also provides a turning point for Wesley Crusher, whom the Traveler identifies as a science prodigy. Picard encourages this belief by making Wesley an acting ensign, but the problem with the character remains that he's too much of a cloying geek and you just want to strangle him.

This got a solid laugh out of me, indeed S1 Wesley is not fun to watch, I'm sure Mr. Wheaton can relate

I don't like listening to my earlier material anymore than the next guy, I get it ^_^ Lol
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Fri, Jun 4, 2021, 5:05am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

I feel like TV writing (especially 80s/90s TV writing) has a bit of intentional "blank space" that viewers are supposed to fill in with what they want to be there.

Star Trek has at times been quite masterful with this technique, but there are some topics, such as gender identity, that were probably a bit difficult for a writer of the era to approach directly, without some guy in a suit saying "No, we won't air this."

If they submit a script that has things that the studio needs to be changed, then that interrupts the production schedule for the rewrite. Therefore, the "industry best practice" is to try to veer far from the censor line, as far as you can, to avoid having to rewrite it.

"The Host" seems like they are treading on thin ice with the censors the whole episode. You can tell, and that knowledge can somewhat bounce you out of the narrative at times, remind you that you are watching a nationally aired TV show from a given time period. But it doesn't have to, so long as you remember that you can fill in that blank space with something else to suit your needs/wants/whims.

This is kind of the mantra of rewatching, I guess. Trying to find new perspective in a narrative you already know.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sun, May 30, 2021, 9:28am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Best of Both Worlds, Part I

I can only surmise that they're huge Beatles fans. They pull a lever, and the pool just materializes right in the center, whenever they want it to.

Typically Lever-Poolers
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Wed, May 26, 2021, 11:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi You said:

[Seems to me that you have are personally baised against prequels. Because this is the only thing that ENT, ST09 and DSC have in common.]

But they don't share it in common with any other series, is what I'm saying, and I find these 3 rather hard to accept on the level of many of the previous entries in the series. Picard gets a "barely pass" from me just because I like the story it ultimately does tell, even if it isn't treated as the main plot for sake of "Mystery Shitbox" writing that I 'oh-so-hate.' Keeping this spoiler free, and you'll know why.

I do get that it can seem arbitrary when all 3 of these entries were produced in different times and different contexts. It's just a commonality that I noticed; I know that correlation does not imply causation, just like anyone who has studied logic (Star Trek fans, if anybody, you'd think).

I am being quite human about it, I suppose. But, it gives me emotional security. :)
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Tue, May 25, 2021, 11:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

And now you know why I never watched all of Enterprise, and am never going to

There might be ok episodes here or there, but I felt by and large that the show itself was just a bad premise in the first place.

And look at that, they tried to do it two more times (Trek 2009 and Disco).

And they're about to do it again, with Strange New Worlds. I am just about jaded enough at this point to preemptively dub it "Mundane Rehashed Worlds" because gosh darn it, the Star Trek Prequel series has been tried 3 times already and it has sucked every time.

"You are using the name of Star Trek for some twisted game! For that alone, you should die! And if you do not stop making shitty Trek prequels, I will KILL YOU, RIGHT HERE!"
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sun, May 16, 2021, 2:56am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: That Which Survives

"That Which Survives" is as close to nothing that you can have on the screen and still have some semblance of a Star Trek episode."

More like 'That Which Airs This Week' eh 😏
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Fri, May 14, 2021, 9:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Starship Mine

This is a great episode if a bit goofy and intellectually "chewing gum" ish. The ending always makes me roll my eyes.

Picard: (re: his saddle) "It actually came in handy. I only wish I had had the opportunity to use it on a horse."

Worf: "Of course."

AAAA HORSE IS A HORSE OF COURSE OF COURSE 🎶🐴
Set Bookmark
joseph lindsey
Fri, Apr 30, 2021, 6:30am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Elaan of Troyius

I am here for one reason. I loved this episode....and the reason I loved this episode is the performance by France Nuyen. I thought she was riveting.
Set Bookmark
Redshirt
Mon, Apr 26, 2021, 6:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Second Sight

I'm fairly sure I would have disliked this episode during my initial watch when it aired, but I loved it upon rewatch. I know it's nothing serious and has flaws, but I was entertained. The egotistical scientist was an interesting character.
Set Bookmark
Redshirt
Mon, Apr 26, 2021, 6:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Sanctuary

This was the only episode during my rewatch I actively did not like because of the Skreeans, specifically their leader. Though I do appreciate the episode for creating this difficult ethical situation.
Set Bookmark
Redshirt
Mon, Apr 26, 2021, 11:34am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

I've been rewatching DS9 from the beginning and it's been so long since I last saw it, and forgotten so much, it's like watching it for the first time in many regards. I had forgotten entirely about this episode.
I loved it. But then, I have found my standards remarkably different than before. I love almost everything now, the only episode that I didn't like so far is the one with the refugees from the Gamma Quadrant who wanted to live on Bajor.

Much has been said about this episode, but I found myself thinking about the Unabomber through much of it, and how similar Alixus's philosophy was to his. And this episode came out well before he was generally known to the public. I wonder if these sentiments were more common than I recall in the early to mid 90's.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Tue, Apr 6, 2021, 9:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Life Line

I'd watch this ep just for Marina Sirtis' great double take on meeting "Leonard" for the first time.

There's no dialogue to quote, and the moment is extremely low-key, but how Sirtis can channel the nonplussed reaction *without even looking into the camera* is just spectacular. I'm dying xD
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sun, Apr 4, 2021, 10:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: The Voyager Conspiracy

-0.5 Stars variance from JRS (Jammer's Review Score) for me.

The tractor beam thing was never followed up on, despite the fact that Janeway and Chakotay were shown it? :| Crap.

Janeway and Chakotay taken in by Seven's ramblings without immediately realizing that she's not right in the central processing unit? Crap.

Janeway's Super Glurgey Mom Speech to Seven that Makes Everything Better™? Uh, super smelly stinky flat stinkums of crap.

This ep gets two stars from me for the fact that all the actors managed to read their lines well. But this is far from good writing. Holy schniekeez.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Thu, Apr 1, 2021, 11:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: 11:59

@Cloudane

Who I am not sure is even an active user here anymore, but they said this:

"I guess Voyager did attract people who like to be spoon fed the same recipe week after week as unfortunately that's the way it went from about S3/4"

I would add "From about Season 3 or 4 until now" :smirk: I happened on this episode and realized that I'd never seen it before, because at that time (May 1999) my family was in a heavily transitional state, having moved to Alabama during a brief 9 month period while my dad sought work in Nashville and looked for a house. I missed this one the first time around.

I feel like Marty McFly, talking to his future father in Back to the Future: "Get outta here! I never knew you did anything creative!" :D hehehe

It's nice, actually, to meet an unformulaic Voyager episode. It's a little bit "Wifetime Network Glurge" but not so much so that it's a bad bit of TV.

It does make me nostalgic for the pre-9/11 days a bit. Boy howdy things did not stay the way they're presented here. :( Ugh.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Wed, Mar 31, 2021, 7:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Night

If nothing else, this episode's approach to "trekking through the stars" was never done before this, and arguably could be done better, but it's frankly interesting. What if you find a pocket of space where there just plain ain't none?

In a way, it almost seemed like a metaphor for writer's block, to me (being a writer). You just sort of wade through the nothingness and keep holding on, until you finally reach the other side of it.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Tue, Mar 30, 2021, 10:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Demon

This review is 10x better than the episode.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Tue, Mar 30, 2021, 10:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Message in a Bottle

FWIW, I really didn't like this one. I'd have been tempted to subtract an entire star from it.

Am I taking crazy pills? Andy Dick is insufferably annoying. He possesses none of Picardo's charm. I wanted his holomatrix to be destabilized from the instant he started talking. :| Ugh.

Jammer's on the money with the idea that the dramatic stakes in this episode were heavily watered down by the "snappy comedy angle."

Oh, please. (scoff, scoff scoff)
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Tue, Mar 30, 2021, 9:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Gift

Why are the bad episodes of Star Trek always about energy beings?

It's like one of the biggest go-to bad plot devices of Trek, right up there with "too much interference" and "nigh-impossible ship takeover handled smoothly in 30 seconds of show time."

Any time an energy being appears, or someone becomes one, or is becoming one, I get the sense that it's being used as an easy-out. Whatever. I do agree that Lien never sat well with me, among all the other problems I had with Seasons 1-3.

At the time I felt like Jeri Ryan was added because of demographic concerns, and it felt really hollow to me ("What do people like more than Space Adventures?!" said Writer A, nervously brushing the cocaine from his lip, to which Writer B, his head buried in his hands in the corner, suddenly jumped up and violently screamed the reply, "TITS!!"). Looking back, though Ryan took this role straight up for realsies, and kicked it in the teeth, totally knocked it outta the park.

I humbly stand corrected; Seven of Nine is a very thoughtfully written character a lot of the time and Ryan's acting range was and is great.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Wed, Mar 10, 2021, 6:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ensign Ro

Ensign Ro was the 90s saying to Star Trek "grow up, some people in the world have real problems." It was kind of an important stage in Star Trek: TNG's development.

See, the best episodes of TOS were always the ones that had something to say about the state of human affairs at that time, and said it well, and presented a believable in-universe situation all at the same time.

This does all of that, and sort of slamdunks it. It's kinda not bad TV.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Sat, Feb 20, 2021, 9:24am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Conundrum

This episode, while well-shot, well-acted, and mostly a great premise that plays out well, has always reminded me of a certain line from The Simpsons:

Chief Wiggum: "Hey I crack cases all the time. Like the case of the symphony conductor who murdered his star cellist."
Lou: "That was an episode of Columbo, chief. They show you who the bad guy is at the beginning of each one."
Chief Wiggum: "Yeah but you have to remember."

It's really prrrrretty obvious to the viewer that McDuff is "laying it on" a little thick. It can be kind of a bringdown to the episode, in fact, because it may be a mystery to the *crew* thanks to the technobabbly explanation, but it's really not at all mysterious to us who the bad actor is, just why exactly they're doing it.
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Fri, Feb 12, 2021, 9:16am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Child

It also ends with them relentlessly fucking with Wesley as is a common rite of passage with any new recruit lol
Set Bookmark
MidshipmanNorris
Fri, Feb 12, 2021, 9:04am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Child

You know, I agree about the two-star rating... but I'd be tempted to give this episode another half-star, out of how it handles the sheer scope of everything going on, *in a season-starter.*

Season 1 of TNG was... well, rough. Everyone is well aware by this point. Season 2 begins, and Gates McFadden (as others have noted) was unceremoniously shuffled off the show, which as has come out in recent years, was due to her not gelling with the 'boys club' attitude of the showrunners. Unlike Denise Crosby, however, they opted not to bump her off (generous souls that they are *cough* dbagTVproducers *cough*).

However, I'm going to bet that this presented them with a problem. They'd sent Dr. Crusher off to "Be Head Of Starfleet Medical," but Wil Wheaton was the only *known* actor of the bunch at the time besides Levar Burton or Brent Spiner, who had only ever been on TV. Wheaton had been in actual Hollywood Films. The "Generous Souls" aforementioned, therefore, could not risk tossing Wesley out of an airlock, as he was part of the show's main draw (as strange as re-watching Season 1 now makes it seem).

So what ended up happening instead is that Wesley Crusher's character received an upgrade from "The Boy" to "High School Graduate Considering A Future In Starfleet." This benefited the show greatly, and benefited the presentation of the character. Wil Wheaton was after all getting older and taller fast.

In addition, the ship can't go on without a Doctor, and they were still using a lot of recycled "Star Trek Phase II" scripts at this time, which were written with the original series cast in mind (The Motion Picture is what the pilot of said unproduced show got made into). I feel bringing in an actress from TOS was an extremely wise choice... Classic Trek fans would recognize her, and it would avoid upsetting the apple cart too much (as TNG already was doing from the outset).

Furthermore, bringing Whoopi Goldberg on board seems like it went through a lot of rewrites... How do we bring another Hollywood Actor into this show? But the bartender Guinan ended up being one of TNG's most compelling characters.

Further furthermore, this is the episode in which Geordi gets promoted to Chief Engineer (I guess they threw the guy from "Arsenal of Freedom" out an airlock... good riddance jerkface!).

Do you see what I'm getting at? "The Child" is a massive reboot for TNG, and it has to accomplish *ALL OF THAT* while still telling the A-plot and B-plot which were in the recycled Phase II script.

It's carrying a TON of storytelling weight. Give it a little more credit where credit is due... It does come off as a slight improvement over Season 1, and frankly "Ian Troi" is pretty creeptacular... There are moments in the episode where it's like "Oh shit, what is this alien thing that says 'I'm not ready to tell you why I'm here yet?' Not good..."

It's not as bad as I think most people make it out to be.
Next ►Page 1 of 24
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.