Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 40 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
davidw
Sat, May 29, 2021, 3:47am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Miri

Miri has become a great episode as of, say last year.

A bunch of crazy kids who don't believe in Medical science and preventing an epidemic.
Set Bookmark
davidw
Sat, May 22, 2021, 10:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: MAND S1: Chapter 1: The Mandalorian

Yeah, kind of stupid all right.

But I thought the first few shows had an interesting arc for Mando. But that's about it.

And they had 2 seasons? It should have been a 2 hour movie, with Burr, Nolte and and several others. Could have been a fun Magnificant Star Wars or something. The visuals were great.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Wed, Sep 30, 2020, 1:15am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: His Way

This episode would have been fine before odo's betrayal and the other episode children of time I think you called it.

Not great but fine. Darren is great.

but coming after those episodes it just violates what we know about their chemistry and history and so is not a good episode.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Sun, Sep 6, 2020, 12:24am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Honor Among Thieves

A great and well done episode - for a genre cop show.

I'm done with this stuff. This is simply not Star Trek, not science fiction. I have forgiven much of DS9, but this paint by numbers genre informant plot is just ridiculous - despite the great acting.
Set Bookmark
davidw
Fri, Feb 14, 2020, 1:56am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

Wait, so Picard could have saved some Romulans and didn't?

Because he is a jerk?

And Starfleet is racist against Romulans and Androids? And has racist, tabloid journalism?

Let me guess, this is the Mirror Universe Star Trek?
Set Bookmark
davidw
Mon, Feb 3, 2020, 1:29am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Maps and Legends

This show is really, really dumb.

The Tal Shari is not good enough, they need another and another and introduce one silly stupid plot point after another?

I suppose the reason Star Trek failed is because people want to see this garbage. They want to put characters in danger and see how they escape it.

Good for them.

This is not Star Trek.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Thu, Nov 21, 2019, 4:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Adversary

Great episode. Suspense. Action.

But pointless.
Set Bookmark
davidw
Fri, May 17, 2019, 6:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

"Are the Discovery producers just messing with us now?"

Absolutely. This show is a farce.

Who the f cares about 'The Red Angel'? Are we 10 or something?

Character flipping is not the same as character development.

Does everyone who dies come back to life? WTF???

This show is stupid. Period. End of Story.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Wed, Apr 17, 2019, 8:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

'Every revolution begins with one man trying to make a difference"

Remember folks? The original Mirror Mirror? Is there anything like that here?

A character dies and is brought back to life but dies again maybe and lives again and who cares?

A character is good in one episode and bad another with apparently the only purpose to defy expectations that the writers begin with originally. Aren't they so clever?

How did the Klingons lead the resistance? Oh by leading? How profound.

Isn't it cool? All the explosions in the flashing lights and the blinking lights and the fight scenes and the phasers?

And hey, this character in the Prime universe now is different in the Mirror universe! Can you imagine it? Isn't it cool?
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Sat, Mar 23, 2019, 12:15am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

Very good episode. At last Orville can take it's place among high quality Star Trek.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Sat, Feb 9, 2019, 12:30am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

There's simply no place for these kind of juvenile sexual jokes and relationships that really are harassment. People should be thrown in the brig for.

The jokes can certainly be in place in a sitcom environment (I am a fan of South Park) but not on the job and certainly not in the military.

I guess he's just running out of ideas.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Sun, Feb 3, 2019, 1:42am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Collaborator

I just can't understand why people like this soap opera stuff. Ooh... there's a twist! Really? There has to be a plot twist since they can't afford to do real action or develop characters by showing instead of telling.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Sun, Dec 16, 2018, 5:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: Attack of the Clones

I guess it is more interesting to try to find the movies good points rather than bad, so, sure the Emporer's plotting in and if itself is great.

If only the Game of Thrones people were in charge, you might have gotten a tolerable movie out of it.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Sun, Dec 16, 2018, 5:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Phantom Menace

Excellent review. I always thought RLM to be the gold standard review, but this is quite good.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Sun, Dec 16, 2018, 4:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: Return of the Jedi

This movie confuses character development and story with plot and effects. A rescue mission is entertaining when we like the characters and the characters are developed. But the character development was in other movies, not this one.

we care about Luke and his father but mainly because of the character development in the previous movies.

So there's a lot of cool visual effects and wonderful practical effects so it may disguise the fact that this movie by itself is so empty-headed. And really blowing up the death Star again?

why not just have Luke save his father and his father turns in the second movie?
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Sun, Dec 16, 2018, 3:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: A New Hope

perhaps this is heresy, but I would like someone to explain the principles of why they like this movie and then apply it to any other movie.

I have never seen it successfully done.

Could anyone really imagine people liking this movie if they released it today and no one ever heard of it before?
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Fri, Jun 22, 2018, 2:37am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: If Wishes Were Horses

Unlike the better Shore Leave, the creations of people's imaginations lead to very little. We learn almost nothing of any character and the imaginary characters teachers almost nothing about Odo or Quark or Sisko. And the stuff about Bashir just borderline harassment or juvenile stupidity.

We do learn that the chief loves his daughter, that Cisco likes baseball, that Bashir like Dax, the Quark likes human women. Perhaps the best scene is when we learn that Odo likes to put Quark in prison. But all this is so superficial and sporadic has to be almost trite and silly.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Mon, Jun 11, 2018, 7:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: The Storyteller

It is so refreshing to see Colm Meany play this part rather than the sanctimonious Stewart or pompus Shatner.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Wed, Jan 10, 2018, 4:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

There are a lot problems to the basic story here.

First, there are three different stories. And they really don't have anything to do with each other in terms of the larger story.

And each story has some real fatal flaws:
1) The Las Vegas scence is mainly action, and it's meaning is all done in brief exposition
2) The' Po shouldn't take so many risks' is arbitrary. Should Luke not have risked the life of piolets to knock out the death star? Are we just talking bad risk assessment here?
3) As great as Hamill is, ultimately his final conclusion that we don't need the Jedi is of course ridiculous. As with the end of Rey's and Kylo's conversations. What starts out as a great affirmation that anyone can be a Jedi turns into bizarre remarks about putting on a shirt.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Wed, Jan 10, 2018, 3:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Preemptive Strike

The only things wrong with this episode is that Picard would never have asked Ro to do it!

Also this one action scenes are really pathetic - like most TNG.

Otherwise, great character development.

Certainly one of the best season 7, for sure.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Tue, Nov 14, 2017, 1:30am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

I think the first act is so funny that i like it for it's comedic effect. It is TNG's Spock's Brain.

Dark Page and Sub Rosa are still worse because they are just too soap opera.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Mon, Oct 23, 2017, 1:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Sub Rosa

I think any lwaxana episode may be worse than this, but maybe not. Then there is Dark Page.

Spock's brain does not make me sick.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Sun, Oct 1, 2017, 4:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: The Pegasus

This is a fine episode. What prevents this from being a great episode is that it is dull. Riker's main conflict - his story - is all in exposition. This makes the conflict between Pressman and Riker central, but I think it is obvious that Pressman is an antagonistic character. I mean he is an officer from the Federation, right? And the theme is to abstract to be of too much interest.
Set Bookmark
davidw
Wed, Sep 20, 2017, 1:42am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Mudd's Women

This was a good dramatic episode that explored really interesting issues , as Jammer says - about prostitution and drug addiction, and I would woman's rights and opportunities. This was 'Wagon Train to the Stars' Star Trek - a bit slow - but nonetheless I thought the drama was pretty intense, especially when you find out the women were there 'by choice' - of course in a Western that is often the only 'choice' a woman has.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Wed, Sep 20, 2017, 1:37am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Enemy Within

This is it. This is why everyone watches Star Trek. We love to laugh at Kirk and make fun of him, and wanting to be him, and wonder what our own dark and light sides are.

That's why the best of TNG is like reading a fine, dusty old book.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.