Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,822 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 73
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Oct 22, 2020, 12:46am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

@ SlackerInc

I didn't see your post until after I had already posted mine.

I didn't actually write "@Mertov", but thatthe tone of my post was directed at him (her?).
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Oct 22, 2020, 12:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

One other point I did want to address:

Despite the implication, I'm not lying about Discovery's terrible ratings.

Mertov can deflect about streaming and changing habits of media consumption, but millions of people still watch TV.

You can call it a "repeat", but millions of Trekkies never signed up for CBS. It's new to all of them.

The fact is that DIS is getting beat by RERUNS of Match Game and Press Your Luck: CNN level ratings (so yeah, it's bad).

There used up be enough fans to sell hundreds of millions in movie tickets .... so where did they all go? Some of them still watch TV (especially the older demographics) and those are the people least likely to subscribe to All Access. So why would they rather watch Nick at Nite or a repeat of Batwoman on the CW?

Coincidentally, STD's ratings are only a fraction of what The Orville regularly drew on FOX. Why didn't streaming hurt them the same way?

I can't post links because I'm on my phone, but a lot of entertainment industry trade papers (Variety, EW, etc) have been focusing on its poor performance. A cursory Google search will show I'm not exaggerating.

Let's not pretend like Discovery's over-the-ait ratings are a success because THEY ARE NOT. Any attempt to state otherwise is a refutation of reality.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Oct 22, 2020, 12:10am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

@ Mertov

It kind of annoys me when someone types a huge response and then sticks their little personal insult digs at the end. Here I was thinking you speaking from a place of passion about Trek, when in reality you are just as much a troll as everyone you denounce.

To correct the record, I only score and summarize an episode once. Anything else I post on the comments is in response to the discussion unfolding.

By the way, if you don't like old Trek style storytelling, why did you become a Trekkie in the first place? You seem awfully eager to chuck the baby out with the bathwater.

@ whoever was confused about my comment about bean counters

You might want to do a bit of research on the Bad Robot Trek license.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Wed, Oct 21, 2020, 12:46am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

@ Jammer

Glad to see everyone in the family is doing ok. Good review. 👍
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Wed, Oct 21, 2020, 12:44am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

@ Mertov

Is Star Trek just a aci-fi brand name, or does that moniker have other associations with it? I guess it boils down to whether you think Trek is supposed to be a weekly morality play adventure or simply any show that happens to wear a Trek "skin".

Trek is made by a corporation, not a non-profit. That is undeniable. But there was a time where Paramount didn't really get Trek and basically left the management of it to a few curators.

However, the further removed we are from the Roddenberry's era, the further his influence is diluted and the idealism of he (and those who took over after his death) is totally subsumed by corporate beancounters and fantasy writers with a political axe to grind.

What we have now is checkbox storytelling-by-commitee designed to appeal to specfic modern trendy demographic groups: hence the attempts to ape Game of Thrones and House of Cards with copious gratuitous gore, endless conspiracies, profanity, incest, violence, rape, dead babies etc.

Trek has become an avatar for CBS to create generic copies of hit shows (that air on other networks).

The maudlin soundtracks, endless jump cuts, shaky cameras and the ignoring of canon compounds the issue. The lack of optimism, camaraderie and philosophy is just the cherry on top of the shit sundae.

It sure doesn't feel, look or sound like the Trek I grew up with, that's for sure, and the Nielsens seem to bear that out.

The first season of DIS has been airing on live TV (in the USA and Canada) for the last month or so .... and the ratings have been really REALLY bad. TNG had 25 million viewers a week and this show can't even get 1 million.

It sure looks like the general public AND the fans doesn't like what they're seeing. If they did, don't you think at least a few million of those old TNG watchers would be hooked? If this new direction is such mind blowingly awesome television, why is it underperforming so badly?

That ties back into my opening comment: the bad ratings, the lack of interest in merchandising for the new shows, the absurd cost-per-episode, the bad reception from Fandom .... if what you've described is what "Trek" is supposed to be now, then why does the vast majority disagree with your assessment?

Despite all this, I still haven't given up on Trek, hope springs eternal .... but I'm not going to give this show false praise to make other people feel better. This isn't a campfire therapy session.

If the episode sucks, I'm going to say so.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Oct 17, 2020, 9:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

I know dilithium crystals is Hollywood Handwavium to explain how an anti-matter reactors would function, but within the framework of Star Trek, there's nothing mystical about dilithium.

Dilithium is used because it is innately capable of facilitating the power needed to create warp fields. Within the lore of the show, this is empirically demonstrable.

So.....

..... why would dilithium just stop working galaxy-wide? Do the writers really think it's plausible that the laws of physics changed everywhere simultaneously?

But I guess we're supposed to just accept Book's Force powers ... so why not, right? Science is magic, after all.

Let's be real, there's no science in this fiction. This is overcooked fantasy draped in Trek cosplay.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Oct 17, 2020, 8:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

Almost forgot, I'll give this 2 stars for Book and his cat and then subtract a half star for naming a new character "Book".

1.5 stars
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Oct 17, 2020, 8:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

Did Ed Wood write and direct this?

I am stunned by the level of cinematic ineptitude displayed in this episode.

It starts by creating artifical drama by having her not keep her Red Angel suit. She has it self-destruct instead?! WTF? Nothing in this episode had to happen.

There are needless badly-choreographed fight scenes for the sake of having them, I guess? Why is the Burnham character iwritten to be so rude and condescending?

The actress who plays her tries, but her skill-set is sadly limited and the bad scripting does her no favors. I get community theater vibes watching her performance.

I know it can't be the intent, but Michael's freakout after sending the Red Angel gear made me laugh hard. Girl, you sent your only method of communication away and now you're upset?! Get it together.

The drugged out interrogation scene? Some writer actually thought Trainspotting and Cheech & Chong would be good reference points to base a pivotal sequence. They should be fired. This scene made me recoil in embarrassment for everyone involved in the creation of this show.

Isn't there anyone amongst the 2 dozen producers that saw the "dailies" for this (during shooting) and realized this was unworthy of being aired? The director and main actress failed by not realizing how cheesy and soap-opera-y the acting is ... well, everyone failed. Not just them.

About the only positive thing I can say about the cringier sequences is that SMG's theatrical overacting is firmly rooted in the 1960's Shatner Method.

Yeah, I could bitch about the galactic anti-dilithium magic or the fact the writers have rendered everything in the previous series as pointless because the Federation is gone now ... but the problem here is even more basic.

Much of this episode is just BAD filmmaking on every level: direction, writing, effects, scoring, acting, etc, etc.

I'm glad STD is behind a paywall, at least that mitigates some of the damage this does to the long-term viability of the franchise.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Oct 1, 2020, 3:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Sanctuary

This show is WAY better on rewatch (which I've been slowly doing over the last few months). Even the episodes I liked the least ("All...Cake" "Blood of Patriots") resonate more.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Sep 3, 2020, 11:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Too many memberberries, too short an episode for a the content, everyone still speaks like they OD'd on caffeine and the episode title apes another (better) space show.

1.5 stars
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Tue, Aug 25, 2020, 11:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

^

except

#1) We, the viewer, see the visions

#2) other characters also meet the Prophets in visions

#3) Therefore, the Prophets exist (call them wormhole aliens or whatever you wish to call them)

and

#4) Sisko (communicating in one of his visions) gets the Prophets to eradicate an entire Dominion fleet.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Aug 20, 2020, 11:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

You know an animated show is falling when the easiest way to improve it would be to delete the characters.

Honestly, if there was an option to watch just the background art, I would be more entertained.

Mariner is intolerable. I loathe this character.

Ep. 3 gets zero stars. Astonishingly unfunny.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Aug 15, 2020, 10:11am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Re the discussion about international rights

Wouldn't the current situation make it MORE likely the show should be picked up for distribution? It's not like there's anything currently being filmed and these streaming services need to have new content to keep their subscribers content. It would seem to me that limited competition would make a pickup all the more likely, not less.

CBS wants a streaming service to foot the bill for production of this series and THAT'S why it hasn't been distributed. No service thinks this show is worth the cost.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Aug 15, 2020, 10:05am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Ok, I watched both episodes and now I have a headache.

Manic, loud, annoying, unrealistic, the character design is ugly. Half these characters should have already been court-martialed out of Starfleet (if they even made it though the Academy).

I think my biggest pet peeve is watching characters routinely break professional protocol and violate Starfleet rules. Ensign Mariner is just the worst ... her racism isn't funny or endearing and her Mary Sue I-know-best attitude is frustrating beyond belief. And why she's serving under her own family member is beyond me.

Also, is there a reason every male is written to be an oaf or ineffectual? Who exactly is the target audience for this?

I could go on and on, but I genuinely tried to have an open mind. Within 2 minutes, I was cringing and massaging my temples.

Yeah, I think I may dislike this more than Picard or STD. On the bright side, Icheb's murder isn't my least favorite Trek moment anymore.... so that's something.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Aug 7, 2020, 11:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

If I don't like something, I'm not upset that others like it.

So .... why do you get worked up that others dislike what you like?

I never understood that thought process: "They don't like this?! How can this be? Why ... there must be something wrong with them. Maybe they have no soul or no joy? Hmmm, yeah,, that's it. They're bad human beings, I bet! Now, armed with nothing but that assumption, I should vocally denounce them (while also attacking the man providing the space for debate)".

Ad hominem attacks might be trendy right now, but I don't think people are impressed by them anymore.

Anyone can be rude as fuck, just saying.

Must be a very polarizing episode. I'm dreading this, haha.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Aug 7, 2020, 5:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I haven't watched it (yet), so I haven't checked the comments stream in a couple days. I'm trying to be as fair as I can and avoid spoilers.

I had to scroll down to find the comments box (you know how it is) and I'm surprised by all the names I didn't recognize.

Either this show is bringing in a while new crowd of commenters or there's some kind of organized campaign going on. It'll be fascinating to find out which logical possibility is the truth. (If Lower Decks does actually suck, then that's my consolation prize: at least here, the comment section drama is guaranteed to be entertaining/hilarious).

I'll try to watch it tonight.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Wed, Aug 5, 2020, 6:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

^

I'm not big on emoji, but this deserves a 🤣😂

I'm steeling myself for the first episode of Lower Ds., but I won't deny that a part of me is interested to see just how bad it gets.

Will it be worse than Cats The Movie? We shall see ....
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Wed, Aug 5, 2020, 3:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

A very good analogy, Marlboro.

It reminds me of when Smashing Pumpkins decided they were no longer a grunge band but am electronica outfit. Billy Corgan and Co. had the artistic license to do whatever they wished, of course, but the fandom evaporated when they heard the newer stuff. It wasn't the genre or style they were accustomed to and been conditioned to anticipate (hence the band going from selling 15 million albums to barely cracking a million).

There comes a point where something can become so unrecognizable as to no longer be what it purports to be.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sun, Aug 2, 2020, 8:32pm (UTC -5)
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Aug 1, 2020, 7:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

I've only watched Episode 1 thus far .... it was so enjoyable I decided to rewatch it and space the rest out.

Man, I missed these two actors sparring.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jul 31, 2020, 10:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

I just started watching this and after only 2 minutes of viewing, I stopped and had to share this.

Alexander Siddig has a YouTube channel and they just started what amounts to DS9 season 8 with the original actors ... kind of like a Covid-19 radio play (I found the visuals distracting so I just look away and listen).

As soon as I heard Bashir and Garak (Andrew Robinson!!!) begin that old school witty repartee with the double meanings, I knew you guys would want to know about this ASAP!

https://youtu.be/M44QMKWMxuQ
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Tue, Jul 28, 2020, 7:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Actually, Tommy, I was hoping the "first look" would offer something more Trekkish than the first trailer ... alas, it's just more of the Hyperactive Morons in Space routine.

But a boy can dream ....
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Tue, Jul 28, 2020, 3:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Excuse me, 1.8K upvotes, 2.3K downvotes.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Tue, Jul 28, 2020, 2:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

CBS posted a video called "Star Trek Lower Decks: First Look" five days ago and left the likes/ dislikes and comments on. This video isn't being used as an embedded ad.

So far it only has 109,000 views, 1.6K upvotes and 2.1K downvotes.

Looks like there isn't much interest in this new series (besides trashing it).
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Jul 25, 2020, 4:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

@ Booming

Good review. 👍
Next ►Page 1 of 73
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.