Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,579 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 64
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Jan 25, 2020, 4:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

I do hope Booming continues watching The Orville because I really do believe he'll start feeling the Trek by the middle of Season 2.

I think it really gets old-school moral-dilemma Trekkish about then in all the best ways, who here WOULDN'T enjoy that?
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Jan 25, 2020, 4:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

@ Jammer

My 2 cent advice would be to resist the urge to binge them (since the episodes are only 22 minutes).I'd stretch out watching the episodes if/when you do review TAS. (like only 1 per sitting).

The repetitive soundtrack cues and recycled animation from episode to episode can occasionally distract from the story/fun.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 5:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Re: the complaints about the title theme

Why didn't they reuse the theme from Star Trek II? It is light years better than anything else soundtrack-wise, at least since Voyager.
Set Bookmark
Dave
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 3:51am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Hey Everyone

Delighted Jammer's site still has tons of followers and great discussion. Look forward to reading all the banter. Over 2 decades and this is still the best Trek discussion on the net!
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Jan 23, 2020, 3:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Oh, and they shoulld've hired someone else to deepfake Data to look younger. The de-aging algorithms they used simply aren't up to par with today's technology.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Jan 23, 2020, 3:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

First off, the soundtrack was really REALLY obtrusive, repetitious and dull. Many scenes would have been much better with silence instead of manipulative music spoiling surprises and telegraphing what the audience should feel. It felt like stock music for a cable show, "sad", "nostalgia", "dream" and so on. Also, why don't they use an actual orchestra instead of these Law and Order: SVU MIDI synthesizers? Is CBS that cheap?

Some plot points I'm not clear on:

Why didn't the Federation start evacuating what they could with the fleet they have (even bringing roundabouts and shuttles)? Didn't the Romulans still have a fleet of their own to start evacuations? Wouldn't Romulus have been flooded with Ferengi etc offering Romulans passage for a price?

Speaking of which, if the Romulan sun went supernova, how could there be enough time for the Federation to build a fleet or anyone to come to the rescue?

Also, was the emotional alien woman with Scottish accent a Romulan? I assume her demeanor precludes being a Vulcan. Also, why did the Romulan talking to the twin at the end have an Irish accent? Romulans have earth accents?

Um, the twin thing. *sigh* Was I supposed to think that both girls were raised with each other and Daj never told Picard she has an identical twin?! Sorry but I'm not buying that.

What was the deal with her mother? How did she know about Picard? If that was actually her mother and not a program pretending to be her, wouldn't she call Daj2 and tell her about her sister in danger?

Also, why would Picard spend all this time with Daj and not just SCAN her to find out if she's telling the truth?! Couldn't he get ahold of his ex Beverly and ask for help?

Also, why doesn't Picard have Irumotic Syndrome? I know not everything needs to be explained in the first episode, but I feel like his incurable-in- the-alternate-future disease should've gotten a brief mention. Maybe that was the reason Picard didn't remember Data's painting of Daj is hanging in his house?!

I don't want to say I hated this because I liked most of the acting (unexplained character accents not withstanding) and the "future" looked sufficiently cool (I don't mind the recycled use of Discovery FX in a few scenes, after all Starfleet stil uses Miranda class starships so I imagine legacy tech has its appeal). The cinematography was pretty good excepting for the tired overuse of sepia filters).

I wish they could've found a way to splice in the original physical model footage when they zoomed in on the Enterprise D. It looked obviously CGI. Barely any shots of ships in space for a Trek show, that was kind of a bummer. But overall, it was visually appealing.

But good God, the blaring tacky CSI soundtrack and the endless "wait, what, how can that be" moments marred what should have been an immersive fun experience.

To be fair, I'm going to rewatch after I play with the sound equalizer settings (to minimize the soundtrack as much as possible). Maybe some of my WTF questions were answered, I was just too distracted to hear them.

Stewart gives a great performance as always and so, plot and soundtrack problems aside, I'd say this was much better Discovery's first episode and I will watch episode 2 after I rewatch this.
Set Bookmark
Dave P.
Thu, Jan 23, 2020, 9:09am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Duet

This episode is just one of the reasons I think DS9 was the best Trek. I hope The current batch can come up to this standard.
In all the accolades for this episode know one has mentioned that the story was based (intentionally or not) on Arthur Hiller's play and subsequently the movie
"The Man in the Glass Booth".
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sun, Dec 29, 2019, 4:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Krill

The character names are listed in the title sequence of every episode.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Mon, Dec 16, 2019, 12:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@ Chrome

If they're just going to do whatever they feel like now, why not bring back some of the older actors and do something intelligent? Why not hire some anime artists or the people who worked on Fantasia 2000 and do something halfway artistic?

How is it that The Animated Series (made decades ago) is so watchable (and occasionally thought-provoking) while this is just mindless preachy kiddie fodder?
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Mon, Dec 16, 2019, 11:55am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

And now I just watched Ephraim and Dot, or as it should more accurately be called

Star Trek: Lilo and Stitch

What the actual fuck?! What IS this? Who thought this was a good idea?!?!?!

This is NOT Star Trek .... this is the slush pile of PIXAR rejected scripts.

These last two were excruciating to watch on all levels: as a fan, as a thinking adult, as a man who loves good animation and dislikes propaganda .... I could go on and on, but this ....this?

I don't know if I can even hate-watch this show anymore.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Mon, Dec 16, 2019, 11:31am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Seriously, Star Trek: Moana
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Mon, Dec 16, 2019, 11:19am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

WTF did I just watch?!?!?!?

I pray the people running the Picard series know what they're doing, otherwise the franchise is basically dead.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Mon, Oct 7, 2019, 7:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

The first Short Trek was just released ....

Why is the turbolift a roller coaster instead of a vertical shaft?

What's the deal with all cavernous empty space in the ship?

They really needed an expert rock climber to save them? How could they design their turbolifts this way and have no contingency to rescue people .... unless you consider using THE TRANSPORTER!!! Bad scripting!!!!

Why is Spock so emotional?!

Yikes, this was .... not good.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sun, Sep 1, 2019, 10:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

I don't think we need to worry about it changing a bunch. They might push the envelope slightly more here and there with storytelling options, but Tom Cosentino has been pretty consistent in saying the show isn't going to be drastically changing its vibe.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Mon, Jun 24, 2019, 11:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

^
There's something about euphonius and ear-catching about their names.

I'm 99% I remembered their monikers the first time I encountered that part of history.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sun, Jun 16, 2019, 12:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

^

Not like I particularly care very much (I'm no PC warrior), but I find it ironic that if commenters were making similar comments about Beverly's breast size, the condemnation here would be swift and brutal.

It's petty and sexist.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Tue, Jun 11, 2019, 10:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

@ Jammer

Aah.

I actually had a similar reaction as you did on my first viewing.

It was only when I watched it many years later did the ethical and moral problems (with the script) bothered me.

As always, I enjoy your reviews and the community you cultivated. Have a good one, sir
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Tue, Jun 11, 2019, 9:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

Hey Jammer,

I'm a little curious. Have you rewatched this in the time since your initial review?
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sun, Jun 9, 2019, 11:30am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Deflectors

@ RDP

I didn't catch your comment until now, but that was a wonderful summation/ encapsulation of what I was fumbling to say.

Excellent point!
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Jun 6, 2019, 7:15am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

@ Slacker

After listening to that podcast, I'm pretty sure that Seth has been here reading reviews and comments. It's kind of weird to think of the creator actually reading what we write!
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Wed, Jun 5, 2019, 9:44am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: The Cloud

Voyager's not perfect, but other than Enterprisesl's last season and The Orville, it's the last produced Trek show I've watched and rewatched from beginning to end.

The crew are like a family which makes it fun to visit with them, and there's a great balance of cheesy bad-Trek and intellectual good Trek. I liked your description: it is the popcorn-munchingest Trek show there is.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Tue, Jun 4, 2019, 8:49am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

When this was filmed, movie's like "Disclosure" were just starting to penetrate mass consciousness.

I think it's sad that behavior like Geordi's used to result in no repercussions at all (and that someone would wistfully yearn for the halcyon days of sexual harassment being the norm).

My feeling is this: if one can't control their animal urges in a professional setting, then they deserve some kind of corrective repercussion to learn the error of their ways.

I don't know what's appropriate for Starfleet , but they don't have money. The only punitive options available are a suspension of duty/ privileges, termination or the brig.

I don't think completely getting away with such behavior is appropriate and it sends the wrong message.

Geordi should have been punished (or at least sent to Troi for extensive counseling).

PS-

where was Troi? Normally, she seems to get off on other's psychic pain. You'd think she'd be all over the Leah situation (just to get her jollies, if nothing else).
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sun, Jun 2, 2019, 8:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

Is realism the opposite of implausibility?

Whatever the antonym is, that's what I wished the episode did.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sun, Jun 2, 2019, 10:18am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

And imagine being in her shoes.

Skipping through hours of footage, watching this 10% incorrect version of yourself sharing your intimate details, parading about in a sick pantomime of yourself as your copy grows romantically close to a guy you thought was a stranger.

It's really perverse.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sun, Jun 2, 2019, 10:16am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

Doesn't the holodeck usually restart a program where it's left off?

I always thought Geordi had already created a playback file that he'd watch from time to time ... and that Leah happened to start it near the end because Geordi had already time-stamped it.
Next ►Page 1 of 64
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.