Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 818 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 33
Set Bookmark
Danno
Sun, May 19, 2019, 6:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

I have a hard time believing that a society on the verge of warp travel seems to have never traveled in space. When the scientist comes to 10 Forward she is amazed at how her world looks from space. Humans figured out our place in the universe long before the first airplane flight. Do they not have any space program or even ground based telescopes? They are going from zero to warp speed and I don’t buy it.
Set Bookmark
Danny G
Sun, May 5, 2019, 7:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

Inception-style ending cliffhanger: Did the memory wipe procedure work?
Set Bookmark
Luis Dantas
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 5:00am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Talk about different strokes and all that. Jamahl's review makes me wonder if I was watching some other season finale.
Set Bookmark
DanS
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 2:47am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Real Life

Re-watching this episode in April 2019 (22 years into the future from its original release).

This is a very touching episode. In about the half-dozen times I've watched this in the last 10, maybe 15 years or so, every time I still end up with a lump in my throat. The Doctor's unrealistic family in the beginning turns out to have somewhat relatable "problems" any family could face these days by the end of the episode. Yes, it is tragic when a family member dies, and the Doctor and his "new" holographic family handle this like any family would.

We share our grief about Belle with the characters. She is the Doc's holographic daughter who gets a bump on the head from playing Pirisi Squares with older kids and suffers a trauma that she will never recover from, and Jeffrey decides he wants to become Klingon and starts hanging around Klingon teens in preparation for receiving his Kut'luch dagger and becoming a warrior. The Doc's wife, Charlene, turns from a fuzzy-warm 50's mom to a 2000s-style mom who's blood pressure is about to hit the roof, yet all of these come together when Belle unexpectedly passes away because of her accident. In the hospital, Jeffrey is seen hugging his father so we know that possibly the idea of becoming a Klingon is now a passing thought. Charlene and the Doc become closer for having shared the loss of a child.

I give this episode a 4/5 mainly for the Doc's family story line and the wonderful acting by Linsey Haun (Belle) and Robert Picardo (and partly because Wendy Schaal plays Francine on American Dad!).

Oh yeah, and Tom gets caught in an astral-eddy, and blah, blah, blah. I couldn't help but think when Tom was telling the Doc about facing his family's troubles how much he looks like Nick Locarno. LOL
Set Bookmark
Luis Dantas
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 6:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Such a promising and exciting season, such a terrible ending.

We end up with lots of unresolved plots in the 24th century, an excess of unsubtle action and even more forceful plot points, and a very forced and sudden transition into an entirely new series engine.

I have seen people speculate that Control may turn out to be an early main component of the Borg, but I notice that it would require him to time travel back to the past at some point. Instead, I find it more interesting to wonder if Sphere is not about to become the ghost in Discovery's shell, and eventually become Zora from the Short Treck "Calypso".

I assume that the Spore Drive will be seriously limited in the next season, since IIRC it has been established that it can be used to travel through time.

The new series premise is remarkably similar to what Voyager was once expected to be. There is potential in that. But the episode itself fell just short of stating outright that we would never see Burnham or Discovery again. It looks like a repurposed series finale, instead of just a season finale. We are not even given a glimpse of post-jump Discovery. For all we know they jumped straight into a sun and were destroyed.

The human drama scenes were not too succesful either. I don't know why it is such a big deal that Spock shaved without warning. I don't think Tyler and Burnham have any chemistry at all. And the decision to just never speak of them again is made even more naive because Section 31 is apparently participating of it. Can you say cheaters? Sure you can.

I will wait for Season 3 with an expectation of a mostly-clean slate. There are a few plots already in the fire: Michael's mother, Sphere, Control, and dealing with a very different and strange new world in the Beta Quadrant of centuries beyond. Hopefully we will learn a bit more about the crew as well. And I have a hunch that Po will turn up in some capacity.

Still, a disappointing season finale.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 3:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: First Flight

Another 4 star episode. Latter part of season 2 is mostly outstanding.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 3:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

This is a 4 star episode, Jammer. That it has the Borg on doesn't make it less of a perfect episode. It doesn't need to be an original premise to be excellent.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolget
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 9:50am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Absolutely superb episode. Thoroughly enjoyed it and the season overall. At.least 3.5 stars for the finale.
Set Bookmark
Cloudane
Thu, Apr 18, 2019, 5:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Return of the Archons

Starlight Starlight Starlight Glimmer... sorry ignore me...

Wasn't a fan of this, most of the episode dragged. French Andrew then gets told to blow up with a dose of American Dream logic, and does so. It probably seemed deep at the time though.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Mon, Apr 15, 2019, 8:06am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

Good lord, Jammer. This episode was great and the sentimentality wasn't at all overdone. There doesn't need to be jolting warring on every episode and a lack of empathetic emotion entailed for an enjoyable episode. I think 3 stars would've been adequate.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Sat, Apr 6, 2019, 12:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Through the Valley of Shadows

Quite a good episode. I enjoyed it.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Mon, Apr 1, 2019, 7:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

Excellent and daft review, jammer. For the next review i insist upon you quoting the greatest hits from the Borg Bargain Basement Blues Band. "Once Again With Feeling, Troi" , "Oh Your Bald Head Do Shine, Picard" . And who can forget that classic, "Borg Queen Peanut Butter Jelly Time" (disco version).
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 6:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

I've been really enjoying all of Star Trek Discovery but the only criticism i have is that sonequa martin-green's current performance is a bit two note/ linear. Either it's po-faced or histrionical, wet eyed, glazed over acting. Other than that, I'm impressed with the show overall.
Set Bookmark
Luis Dantas
Sun, Mar 24, 2019, 10:23am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

Loved this episode. Great characterization, interesting plot. The most genuine Trek we have had in a long time.
Set Bookmark
Cloudane
Fri, Mar 22, 2019, 9:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Squire of Gothos

Ah I'm round to this one. Q Beta (or Discord Alpha, for those who follow deLancie's equine appearances)

This HAD to be the inspiration for Q, no doubt about it.

I do give it a great deal of credit for being watchable twice - the first time with Trelane as malevolent, and the second time with him as a child playing with "pets". Also a very early take on the argument of having pets to begin with.
Set Bookmark
Cloudane
Sat, Mar 16, 2019, 8:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Galileo Seven

I know he's on a noble mission and has every right to push for the needs of the many, but even still I was constantly willing for Commissioner Douchebag to be punched out.

Spock also far more cold than is necessary at times, yet the other guys were so scathing I still rooted for him.

Good episode, made interesting in hindsight in that it's described as Spock's first human emotional outburst but that's been thoroughly retconned with the latest Discovery episode having shown that it's far from it.

Also I really need to watch the original one again as wow so much CGI and it'd be interesting to compare.

Another sidenote - what's with the "transporter sound" effects on the planet? I thought that was only in The Cage with the singing plants.
Set Bookmark
Dan
Thu, Mar 14, 2019, 8:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

I agree - I was super excited that we were finally getting some secondary crew development! It was cool to see Airiam developed as a character. I am really bummed that they seemingly offed her. I should have known better - it's the same thing they pulled at the beginning of "Skin of Evil" before they offed Tasha Yar.

That said, I did enjoy Spock taking Burnham down a peg, saying what we're all feeling - she makes everything about her and puts everything on herself.

I liked the episode a lot - it was a good one and well acted, I just wish they didn't pull the "let's develop-and-kill this character in one episode trick" - I was actually super interested in learning more about how Airiam ended up like that - clearly some sort of accident, but I wanted more!
Set Bookmark
Luis Dantas
Wed, Mar 13, 2019, 6:22am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

I liked Landry's last scene. It was a perfect display of characterization for both her, Michael and Lorca. Lorca is _way_ over his head and using entirely inappropriate tools for a task that he grossly underestimates, and it shows.

Michael is his direct opposite, because she respects her challenges enough not to engage in destructive shows of daring-doo.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Tue, Mar 5, 2019, 4:19am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Arsenal of Freedom

It's funny how many alien races look almost entirely humanoid.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Mon, Mar 4, 2019, 1:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: 11001001

By far the best episode of season 1. Absolutely superb overall!
Set Bookmark
DANNY BELVIN
Thu, Feb 28, 2019, 9:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

Krill to the rescue!!
Set Bookmark
Dani
Mon, Feb 25, 2019, 4:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Two Days and Two Nights

Highlight of the episode: Travis in blue spandex. Fairly lighthearted episode I could easily enjoy.
Set Bookmark
Danny
Fri, Feb 22, 2019, 2:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

Mr. Warf, fire Flashbacks!!!
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Fri, Feb 22, 2019, 6:13am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

Absolutely amazing episode. The best of Star trek discovery, so far. Maybe one of the best of Star trek since the beginning. This is easily a 3.5 or 4 star episode, jammer!
Set Bookmark
Brendan
Mon, Feb 18, 2019, 5:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: I, Borg

I always thought it weird that the Borg ignore individuals. I would think they would be very concerned about a random Starfleet officer near their downed ship and would assimilate him for the sake of adding biological diversity.

That said, from the first time I saw this as a kid until now, I've always found Dr. Crusher to insufferably written in this episode.

Then again, I always disliked the character for her treatment of everyone like children and/or her "Mom"ing of everyone else.
Next ►Page 1 of 33
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.