Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 792 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 32
Set Bookmark
Dan
Sun, Feb 10, 2019, 6:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

@Brian

I don't feel any need to "defend" Discovery. I'm enjoying the series so far, and am leaving it room to grow and tell its story/ies. Kind of like what ardent ST:TNG fans had to do for at *least* 2 seasons. Hell, the first season of TNG was enough to keep me away from it until the fifth season started.

If you don't like Discovery, fine, but don't expect people to "defend" it because you have issues with its approach.

Shades of Gray had an excuse...SMH. Even the *writer* of the "episode" thinks of it poorly. It simple never should have been made.

Somehow I get the feeling you'd find a way to prop up a turd like Code of Honor if it meant ripping on Discovery. =P

Set Bookmark
Dan
Sun, Feb 10, 2019, 9:32am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

Brian puked: "Just remember, at this point in TNG we were getting masterpieces like "Elementary, Dear Data", and "A Matter of Honor". I would hardly call these masterpieces.

And you we were also getting masterpieces like "Shades of Gray", "Manhunt", and "The Royale".

ST:TNG revisionist history always amuses me.
Set Bookmark
Dan Nugent
Fri, Feb 8, 2019, 6:11am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

I am still furious that it's 10 years before the TOS and the ship doesn't look like it was made out of cardboard and plastic bottles.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Fri, Feb 8, 2019, 4:37am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

An Obol was a small unit of Greek coinage / currency. Charon is in Greek mythology and one of Pluto's moons.
Set Bookmark
Dan
Tue, Feb 5, 2019, 5:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Point of Light

With luck, all of the people claiming to be "done" with the show actually mean it, and will stay away from the comments going forward. It's tiresome to seem the same bleating about how bad it is. OK, we get it. You don't like it. Then don't watch. Geez.
Set Bookmark
Dannie D
Tue, Feb 5, 2019, 7:23am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Point of Light

I agree with almost everything said before. Bad bad writing! And so much about it (the design, stilted dialogues, flat characters) doesn't even feel like star trek, but some pulp fantasy series, and not one of the good ones. when GOT daenerys claimed the title of Mother (Mhysa), it was the logical consequence of three or four seasons character development, even more, the logical conclusion of a carefully developed myth. Stealing that plotline in such a cheap and amateurish way is just embarrassing and accomplishes nothing. - section 31 worked well on ds9 because we understood it was the absolute exception to established federation ethical standards. who is supposed to take anything happening outside section 31 seriously anymore if it becomes so central to the general framework of federation politics and warfare. Even more annoying that all this is so obviously only happening because some device was desperately needed to bring back Michelle Yeoh. As will be the case with Wilson Cruz. These are fine actors, but fan service shouldn't be more important than plausible storytelling.
Set Bookmark
Dan L.
Mon, Feb 4, 2019, 9:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Friendship One

"[The urge to explore] can't justify the loss of lives.... whether it's millions, or just one."

@Tim Smith

I would like to understand your reasoning, as you've reached a conclusion about what Janeway meant, that is different than the one Jammer and I seem to have reached.
She is holding the nacelle of the model ship Lt. Carey had almost completed when she says "or just one." In that context it seems clear to me she is referring to Carey - and not some hypothetical member of the public who inadvertently gets in harm's way inadvertently dies as a result. The entire dialog exchange between Janeway and Chakotay was about Carey. It seems to me that she is saying exploration is not worth it, if that exploration kills millions, or only kills Carey (just one).

Who would the other "just one" be? I don't believe any innocent civilians were killed in this episode. Alien lives had been lost due to the presumed mishandling or misreading of the probe's schematics, but that was long before Voyager visited the planet. Those aliens arguably were "innocent civilians," but the final scene did not seem to characterize what their ancestors did as "space exploration." (In any event, more than one alien died in the accident).
Set Bookmark
Dan L.
Mon, Feb 4, 2019, 7:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Friendship One

Ten years later I have revisited my comment and have one more observation:
Voyager had a number of episodes that ended with characters practically speaking in whispers to each other in darkly-lit rooms ("Prototype" is another that comes to mind). You know you're in for some bad writing when these scenes start to play
Set Bookmark
dan macstar
Sun, Feb 3, 2019, 7:12am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

The only thing that gets me about this superb episode, is how did it affect Picard afterwards? When he woke up "back" on the enterprise after all those years, did he have the whole lifetime of memories from his mental time there...or did he just live through/remember the snippets that WE saw? Surely he would have been tremendous traumatised, confused and scarred from a full life in "that time".......his time there shouldve been mentioned in further episodes.

As said though what a terrific piece of TV, no alien rubber masks, no wars, just good tv. Margot Rose's speech at the end.. "now we live in you, tell them of us, my darling" is highly emotional and moving. One last thing....this couldve been a 2 parter or a feature film, im sure.
Set Bookmark
Dan Smith
Fri, Feb 1, 2019, 6:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Conscience of the King

It's ambitious, I'll give it that. But I had a hard time going along with some of the key dilemmas that the plot wants me to ponder:

- Kirk is a key witness in a murder, but the Enterprise has places to be and can't stick around. Same for the actors. Investigating the murder requires manufacturing a pretense.

- Kirk has some serious suspicions, but he can't talk about them with anyone (friends, police, security personnel). This is a personal matter.

- Kodos committed the murder of thousands of innocent people (numbers on par with the recent ISIS genocides of Yazidis and Shias), and is apparently responsible for a string of recent murders, but investigating him is kind of mean and vengeful. It was 20 years ago, after all.

- After some brief romantic interactions with a teenage girl (*cough*problematic*cough*), Kirk is personally invested in her happiness, and conflicted about whether to cause harm to her father.

It might have worked if everything wasn't so hyperbolic? Like, maybe make Kodos responsible for some white collar crimes, and Kirk and Lenore childhood friends?
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Sun, Jan 27, 2019, 6:10am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

Ridiculous titles for the Orville episodes lately. Not that I've seen the show.
Set Bookmark
dantz
Sat, Jan 19, 2019, 11:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

Great review! I’ve experienced virtually no problems streaming Discovery on a 5 year old roku device. But is it worth it to buy a roku just for one show? Ehh maybe not
Set Bookmark
Cloudane
Sun, Dec 23, 2018, 7:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

A few thoughts:

* Highlighting bigotry like this would be dismissed as "Leftie SJW DiversityTrek" nowadays. History repeats itself

* Discovery did the "Vulcan Hello" (Spock suggests they attack rather than showing weakness) and look how that turned out. This being set later, were no lessons learned?

* Of the about-to-marry couple, it was overly obvious from the start that one of them would die. Though I never expected it to be so pointless and without context.

* Really weird to see Sarek as a Romulan. I bet this episode spawned a few theories.
Set Bookmark
Dan
Mon, Dec 10, 2018, 6:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges

On the topic of spoilers I can't see the argument against spoiler tags.

The ideal way to use this site, is to watch an episode and read Jammer's reviews & the comments section whilst it's all fresh in one's mind. It seems odd to bar the first timers from the comments section because someone can't write spoiler before randomly summarising the end of the series. If you've already watched the series you know how it ends so why does someone have explain it to all the DS9 9 vetrans?

Some people make out that this website is just for people who have watched the whole of DS9 two, three, or more times which is a little selfish if you ask me.
Set Bookmark
Dan
Sat, Dec 8, 2018, 5:34am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Field of Fire

Hi,

Just wanted to say that I didn't think the Vulcan was necessarily intent on killing Ezri but checking her out by looking at her profile and record and then scoping out her room. I think he was surprised by Ezri holding a gun and was a little too late in reacting to beat her to the shot.
Set Bookmark
Dan
Wed, Dec 5, 2018, 4:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

We're calling people racist for not dating people of a specifc race on screen? Seriously? Has everyone on this thread made sure to date all races in equal proportion?

There's plenty of mixed race couples on DS9 but it doesn't mean that every single black or asian person must have a white partner. That's crazy! It's no more of a problem than countless white characters only dating countless other white characters.

Had Jake had a thing with a white girl (I'm assuming we're ignoring the creepy older white alien woman in muse) would we start objecting that he hadn't also had a relationship with an asian or hispanic woman? If we think that the writers had some sort of stance against mixed race relationships then why are we ignoring Dax and Worf, O Brian and Keiko, Quark and his Klingon wife and numerous others? The mind boggles, it really does.

Set Bookmark
Dan
Fri, Nov 9, 2018, 10:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

"Excellent point about not rehashing TOS on TNG."

Literally the second episode of TNG is a carbon copy of a TOS episode AND references the TOS ship and crew.

I'm not sayin', I'm just sayin'.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Wed, Oct 10, 2018, 2:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: Solo: A Star Wars Story

Come on Jammer, set aside a few hours and review this pile of shit film. It has been several months since you reviewed anything.
Set Bookmark
Danni
Tue, Sep 25, 2018, 4:31am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Skin of Evil

@Martin...much to my recent surprise, breaking the "black guy red shirt dies, pretty white girl lives" trope had been done in TOS. I had not really watched TOS since my Mom used to record them off TV reruns onto VHS tapes when I was little and I'd watch a few of her favorites. That started me as a fan but Next Gen was the Trek I truly grew up with and knew well (and all the series that would follow). And while I loved the TOS movies (well, at least the evens lol) I always thought TOS series was a bit too hokey to take the time to rewatch. But my husband finally started binging on Netflix and I caught many I'd never seen. I think the ep was called "By Any Other Name". Was actually kinda shocked when they broke cliche.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Thu, Sep 20, 2018, 7:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

I'd give the film 2 out of 4 stars , at the most. It's insipid garbage.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Thu, Sep 20, 2018, 7:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

I agree, Crys, and NCC. It was such a lamentably shit film. I posted my review opinion on a few prior review comments a while back. I'm not even vaguely interested in watching Solo- A Star bores story. However, jammer appears to be indisposed of late. No doubt it's a train wreck of a film.
Set Bookmark
Jordan
Mon, Sep 3, 2018, 3:26am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Explorers

when this came out I was pretty young I remember the episode being interesting. Watching it now it might be one of my favorites of DS9.

Reading the comments, i don't have the same problems that a lot of the other commentators have. I assume that light ship tech was pretty normal for the bajorans who traveled around their star-system. Then they developed a way to harness tachyons. Star Trek usually uses a lot of jargon that doesn't mean anything to explain a process; in this episode, they just accept that something has happened with tachyons. Obviously, some sort of rocket was used to lift the ship, light-sales to get to the tachyons, and then the expertise of a long-running society in how to harness tachyons. How did they get back? there was nothing to imply that tachyons only go one way in that local group of stars; they probably could sail away from Cardassia, and pick up another tachyon boost.

Idk seems fine.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Wed, Jul 18, 2018, 9:25am (UTC -6)
Re: Solo: A Star Wars Story

Seems so, looks like a crap film anyway! It's available on blu-ray in the latter part of September. I've not seen it but, like the last jedi, I'll see it on borrowed blu ray later.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Thu, Jul 12, 2018, 6:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Little Green Men

This is quite a funny and different episode. Some of the ferenghi storylines can be grating and a bit too goofily silly. But the late 1940's earth setting and lack of ds9 placed environments is a fresh change for 45 minutes. it's better than some of the other comedy tinted episodes. Quark is often a great character and well acted by admin shimmerman.
Set Bookmark
Dan Bolger
Thu, Jun 21, 2018, 6:24am (UTC -6)
Re: Solo: A Star Wars Story

Lucasfilm have canned any origins films stories for star wars for the forseeable future. No surprise at all.
Next ►Page 1 of 32
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.