Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 12,696 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 508
Set Bookmark
Daya
Sat, Aug 24, 2019, 3:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Booby Trap

Ha ha ha ha!

When everyone else is saying "there's just too much technobabble", there comes George Monet who listened to the technobabble carefully only to say how wrong it is.


@George Monet:

There is such a thing as energy. Energy. The quantity that is conserved according to physicists. Think of it this way: all ship systems are using one form of energy or another. After using this energy, what happens to it? It becomes useless from the thermodynamic perspective (entropy increases). The only way for this to not increase the temperature of the ship to unmanageable levels is to radiate it out of the ship. All machines do this, and the Enterprise does as well. This is the energy that the booby trap feeds off. So I don't think using energy instead of particle names is lazy. In fact I think it is appropriate and correct. The shields have never been depicted as being able to stop simple radiated energy. (If they could do this, (a) the Enterprise would be a stealth ship and (b) it would heat up very soon and blow up.) (PS. I know radiation is photons.)

In regards to your second question, I think a good way to think of the booby trap mechanism is that it was generating a warp bubble which continuously warped space in such a way that whatever movement the ship made, it could never leave this bubble. The solution was to do an impulse burn so short that this warp field does not react thus allowing the ship to exit it.
Set Bookmark
Jordy
Fri, Aug 23, 2019, 9:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Second Chances

I've just finished rewatching this one. Add me to the list of people shocked at how unpleasant Will was to Thomas. He deserved a clip round the ear for that gratuitous hostility to someone who really needed support.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Thu, Aug 22, 2019, 2:39am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Through the Looking Glass

@Chrome That is a good point. I suppose the writers felt the somewhat inherent goofiness of the concept warranted less serious approach, but it is a step down and in retrospect perhaps responsible for the diminishing quality of Mirror universe stories. Still, it arguably led to the In the Mirror, Darkly, which I enjoy greatly precisely for the goofy evil universe hijinks, so I don't think it's total loss.

I disagree with Elliot on many things, but I do have respect for him and generally see where he's coming from. Years ago when I first discovered this site, I remember thinking he was just dismissive and biased, but I see now he has put a lot of thought into Star Trek and how it works (probably much more than I have) because of how much he loves it and cares.
Set Bookmark
Jordy
Wed, Aug 21, 2019, 7:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Birthright, Part II

Eh. Shut up, Worf.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Wed, Aug 21, 2019, 3:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Crossover

@Peter G. I would say they've changed Paris quite bit form his original conception. At first, they were clearly writing as a bad boy maverick ladies man, until giving up on that and writing him as a cool nerd type. And I think part of the reason was precisely to play into McNeill's strenghts-watching early Voyager, you can see how he is not playing Paris with the sleaze he is intented to have.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Wed, Aug 21, 2019, 2:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Through the Looking Glass

@Chrome
The way he talks about he genuinely seems morally offended though, as if this was obviously morally repugnant, not just that Sisko is a hypocrite for not following Starfleet priciples but straight up bad person period and I just do not see it. Admittedly, I haven't seen the ep in years, but from what I recall, besides the thing with Dax, all Sisko did was shoot bunch of mooks working for a fascist empire.

The way he just decides to help them because Jennifer does bother me, but regarding the argument he doesn't care at all about the moral justifications of him doing this, consider: Would the writers treat saving Jennifer as reason enough if this was a complicated political situation that wasn't caused by Starfleet officers in the first place like in High Ground? Or even if it was the The Alliance asking him to kill the terran rebels for them to save Jennifer? I get complaint that after previous Mirror Universe focused on the horror of it this treats it as a big dumb action adventure, but the moral offense of this level seems unreasonable to me.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Wed, Aug 21, 2019, 2:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Terra Prime

@Yanks I don't like how people compare every fictional supervillain to Trump, but there is something about a racist business man with daddy issues with working class supporters that seems familiar.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Wed, Aug 21, 2019, 1:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Carpenter Street

@Jason R. I agree this ep is pretty awful, but I would recommend sticking with it at least a while longer. There are still few stinkers, including the next one (which you can straight up skip), but after one more the plot finally picks up andmany consider upcoming three-parter near the end of the season Enterprise's high point.

@Peter G. Demons/Terra Prime two-parter might be my personal favorite Enterprise episode. Not the best mind you, I recognise there are genuine problems, but the good is to me is so good and in a way extremely fitting as a Enterprise finale. Big reason could be that it might be the only bit of Enterprise that I think actually makes Star Trek canon better for existing as part of in-universe history. And admittedly that it's in a way subtextually apologizing for its first two seasons helps.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Wed, Aug 21, 2019, 12:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Innocence

I like Tuvok, but the twist at the end is just way too artificial to me and really hurts the episode. I get that it's a metaphor but aging backwards is still just too nonsensical for a literal narrative and sci-fi setting like Star Trek (and please don't smugly tell me how it's hypocritical to be okay with transporters or warp travel but not this, it's not), especially for a twist. There is absolutely no reason for the alien lady to not just tell them what is going on.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Wed, Aug 21, 2019, 12:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part II

@Peter G. I've recently disagreed with you strongly elsewhere, so I feel like I should say that your comment on Star Trek and diversity of values is spot on and well put together.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Wed, Aug 21, 2019, 12:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Through the Looking Glass

“Sisko, feckless blob of pseudo-Starfleet garbage that he is, insists that he can't let her die “again,” and so agrees to help Smiley. I won't go on another enormous Sisko rant here. I don't need to. But THIS is the moment; from THIS point forward, Sisko has absolutely no moral authority to fall back on, not when he berates Eddington, not when he chastises Dukat, not when he makes his deleted confession—at this point, Benjamin Sisko has proven himself to be a man who will do whatever he wants whenever he the fuck he feels like it, regulations, ethics, and basic human decency be damned. It's over. He's not a hero; he's a Starfleet officer in title only. I'm done.”

I think is a very extreme take, given that you don't at all explain how Sisko's deciding to help them are at all unethical or against "basic human decency". Yes, it arguably violates Prime Directive, but so? Violating Prime Directive obviously isn't inherently wrong and even in universe it isn't aways treated as such, Picard for instance has repeatedly chose to ignore it. What later happens with Dax does bother me, but that's because the episode doesn't actually realize what it is, so I basicalyl look at it the way I do as that moment in First Contact where Riker has to screw that lady to escape.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Wed, Aug 21, 2019, 10:28am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Fourth Season Recap

@Startrekwatcher Not that you have to like them, but I don't really see how Worf's sub-plots are pointless-they are about him adjusting to the life on the station. And Kassidy moving in is about development of her relationship with Sisko.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Wed, Aug 21, 2019, 3:54am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Life Line

@Tyson I like the episode, but do you really think this is in any way helpful? I get the feeling people here are just cynical nitpickers who refuse to give a show a fair shot, but this demand for blind loyalty and potraying any critical thinking as party pooping is absurd.

I don't know how many people here played their part in getting a show cancelled and an awful movie bomb almost 20 years ago, but why is it their fault not writer's fault for not making better products? And even it was all fine, you know what? They are not obligated to like it. I think a lot of people didn't give Star Trek Beyond a fair shot, but that doesn't mean they should like just because it's a movie that exists.
Set Bookmark
MadBaggins
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 3:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

Who fucking CARES if they made a mild continuity error with Seven getting drunk? Does that REALLY spoil a great episode like this? You fucking nerds don't deserve nice things.
Set Bookmark
RandomThoughts
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 2:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Wounded

Strange how something can just strike a person so funny:

Kardashian War...

I had to take off my glasses, wipe my eyes, take a sip of coffee, all before I could continue.

I'm picturing nice-looking but largely expensive, useless ships; with huge engines.

Enjoy the day everyone... RT
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 12:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Ashes to Ashes

@Springy But doesn't Harry say to Tom he still considered asking her out and stopped once they got on Voyager? Because that makes no sense to me. He considered getting with her but then changed his mind after he was seperated from his fiance and unlikely to see her again? And even ignoring Libby, why would being on Voyager make him not pursue her, when he repeatedly does with other women?
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 12:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: True Q

@Chrome I think we are just repeating "I don't like it" "But I do like it" at each other. I don't really get why it being ensemble should mean it shouldn't focus on any part of the ensemble though. I'm not saying it has to, just not sure why would that mean what you said. And sure, maybe. Or it would make the story more engaging.

Look, I understand you just want a friendly discussion but I don't really dislike the episode enough or have specific problems to argue with you or to let you change my mind. I have no problem with you or anybody liking it more than I do. Sorry, I know I might look like an idiot, but there just isn't much for me to say. Try me over on Enterprise reviews, I'm much more invested in my belief Night in Sickbay is a crime against humanity :-)

Where would I be going with it? I said what I meant. Trek repeatedly has an episode with a character accepting their nature in some way, about how even if they don't like their people's culture, it's part of who you are and they are your people and I feel that gets uncomfortable after certain point, even if few other stories go against it.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 9:52am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Code of Honor

@Beeba How would race not being mentioned somehow mean it's not racist? What? Anyway, women own land, but Lutan is still the one in charge and considers women "pleasant but unimportant" and wanted to make Yar his first wife just as she made him her second husband. Rhe ep's potrayal of women, where they would fall for their kidnappers and fight for them is an issue, but I would say firmly secondary to the potrayal of all black planet Tribal Africa style.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 7:13am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Bounty

@Rahul You are completely and objectively wrong - it's not hard at all to believe Berman and Braga wrote this. These are the guys who came up with Night in Sickbay and decon gel scenes in the first place. Seriously though, I suppose you could at least argue until this point they were just generally horny, as opposed to sexist-which to be clear, is about their writing, not them as people (though Berman from what I understand does indeed suck as a person).
Set Bookmark
Ildaf
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 6:53am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

@Jason R
"Although it's funny someone mentioned Vash because kind of the same thing happened to her in Q Pid with Sir Guy or I guess would eventually have happened if Vash hadn't gone soft and tried to rescue Picard."

Yap, Exactly. Vash more or less face the same situation in Q-pid, forced by Guy to marry him. What Vash do? Taking advantadge of that situation and try to deceive Sir Guy. No way i see it as Vash got raped if the marriage come. Coerced, maybe, but not a rape. As she's depicted willing to manipulate the whole situation, took advantadge and even go along with it if necessary.

This also happen again when Vash dumped Picard in favor of Q. She's willing to dump Picard for Q because the latter offer more and it suit her need.
Vash is a maneater version of Riker. In no way i could she her got raped in both situation.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 5:19am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Human Error

@Rob I would agree it's creepy, but comparing to actual sexual assault isn't fair. Chakotay isn't being violated, it's not real. This is more like if somebody had fantasies about you and drew pictures of you that they jacked off to. Again, creepy, but not really comparable.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 5:10am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

@Peter G: I disagree Picard would never have done that. Maybe I don't remember all the details, but that doesn't seem to me much different than him going to destroy the Romulan base in The Defector
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 5:06am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: True Q

@Chrome I don't know if that's the case, at least not all of it. I find Amanda Rogers inoffensive. But still, in case of Hollow Pursuits, the crew dealing with Barclay has more weight on the story and their interaction with him influence his behavior, same in Defector. Also, there is a bit of perspective flip as to how they look to regular officer. Here, in the end, they seem completely inefffectual to anything. It's closer to Q-Less in that matter IMO. Again, these are not HUGE issues, I don't think it's a bad episode. It just feels like there is one thing that needed to be there.

This isn't part of my problem with the ep, but I actually feel the whole "can't escape your nature" gets progressively more uncomfortable the more times Trek gives that lesson.
Set Bookmark
Strejda
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 4:42am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Explorers

@Lew Stone I am wondering, why do you think this is "not Star Trek"? Speaking as somebody who acknowledged Elliot got picked on for not liking a show other people did, even I didn't get that objection about this episode. If anything, I think the episode's biggest problem stems from its obligation to be more Star Trek-it can't just be a character piece with Sisko and Jake, it has to have them do some epic pioneer exploring shit. It doesn't bother me too much, since it's still jsut means to an end and the character stuff does work for me. As for Bashir being confident ladies man, he is certainly the latter, but watching early Bashir, the dude is a giant dork. Again, despite contrivances, to me it worked, especially Bashir/O'Brien friendship.

You're the first person I've seen complain about Brooks underacting-personally, I do think he overacts, but I think he's actually really good and quiet, subdued moments. I also like him when he's just being a cool dad pal, like here.
Set Bookmark
Ildaf
Tue, Aug 20, 2019, 4:41am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

I'm quite surprise by the strong feeling of 'Riker got raped'. I never saw it as Riker got raped and pretty much agree with @ William B and Peter G take on this.
Mainly because Riker character been potrayal as a ladies man, who's enjoyed this kind of thing as long as both party agreed and liked it.
At best, we could say that Riker being coerced into it, and he hesitant and reluctantly agreed to the term. But nothing even remotely suggest that Riker got raped. My take could be different if the character was someone else, such as Wesley or LaForge for instance.

If the reversal gender being applied, i still feel the same way..
It depends on who's on it. If it's Vash... I wouldn't see it as rape. Vash character been potrayed as a woman who wouldn't hesitate to do dubious thing if it's suit her need.
My take could be different if the character was someone else, such as Beverly or Pulaski for instance.
Next ►Page 1 of 508
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.