Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 25 (Showing 1-25)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
conroypaw
Sat, Apr 4, 2009, 11:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

Jammer...

I had to take a break during April Fool's Day, from all the posting and responses, but it's good to be back.

I just wanted to say: Evil! Evil!! Evil!!! Well done, but EVIL!!!

Thanks again, I needed that... I think.
Set Bookmark
conroypaw
Mon, Mar 30, 2009, 2:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

I am a sci-fi fan, but I am NOT a secular humanist... and I don't see the two as inherently, diametrically opposed.

God, gods, "Higher Power" (tm), luck, fate, destiny, sychronicity, the Force, Deus Ex Machina, doesn't really bother me... much.

It's how they are used that counts. Perhaps, a good many of BSG fans are secular humanists. I don't think anyone would argue that for better or worse, "religious" beliefs is part of what defines us as humans. Whether or not we believe in something other than ourselves... we all believe something.

Now, if that "religious something" is used to add depth to a character, further a plot, lay the ground work parameters for future scenes and interactions - that's great!

If that "religious something" is used as an "easy out" or solution to a built up situation in which the characters can not overcome or find a solution for... then that's not so great.

Imagine how annoying, and weak the series would have been, if in every tight situation, President Roslin and Elosha just prayed the trouble away... and it went away?

For example: The fleet is running out of tylium. The cylons have a large base on the only source. Dear Lords of Kobol, please make the Cylons go away. So say we all. *** Poof! *** Yay! We have all the Tylium we'll ever need!

Versus: Gaius, you are God's hand. Lee, place your missiles here. That should destroy the base.
Starbuck, looks like you have been fated to sit this one out. I don't believe in luck or the gods, I believe in my son.

Beliefs, whether or not founded in hard science, statistics, gut instinct, or religious beliefs, all have their place, and they all disappoint us in one way or another or they completely surprise us. That's life. That's drama. That's BSG.

Now... about those awesome space battles...

=D
Set Bookmark
conroypaw
Fri, Mar 27, 2009, 5:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

Curious... What would have happened had Kendra Shaw been able to contact the Pegasus with the message from the Cylon Proto-Hybrid in Razor?

Kara Thrace: "Follow me to Earth! I'm the 'Harbringer of Death'. I will lead humanity to its end. Hey! Where are you going?!!! YOU'RE GOING THE WRONG WAY!!!"
Set Bookmark
conroypaw
Fri, Mar 27, 2009, 4:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

"I thought the Kara flashbacks stood in direct conflict with "Maelstrom". That episode centred on Kara's fear of death - her mother's and her own - and how she has spent her life dicing with death in order to try and get over this fear and come to peace with herself."

Dang it Niall... you nailed it again - better than I could ever put it.

I'm trying to work out this incongruity from a different angle.

I don't know if Kara doesn't "fear" death. She probably accepts that it will happen when it happens. When her number is up, that's that.

That's not to say she doesn't have a sense of self-preservation or she welcomes death. That's what makes us human. Maybe, that's the point? The writers were trying to subtly suggest that Kara is not just a little odd, but something else, other than just human.

I don't know about most people, but I'd rather be forgotten than dead. But, in a way, being remember for all time is a way of reaching for immortality. It seemed that Kara's choices were life or death, being remembered or forgotten.

Kara had died. Prior to the finale, she had finally come to grips with it. Maybe, she once thought that she had a destiny to fulfill before she died.

Then in "Maelstrom" she thought her destiny was to die. Then returning back to Galactica in the Ionian Nebula, she thought her destiny was to lead the fleet to Earth.

Next, the Cylon baseship hybrid told her that she was the "Harbringer of Death" and that meant another destiny. So, something was always leading her on, kept eating at her until she fulfilled her destiny... which was to enter some numbers into the Galactica's navigation computer and jump the ship to Earth Mk2.

She didn't get killed in the raid on the Cylon colony. She was fine with saying goodbye to Sam, so I thought she was going to live, instead of riding Galactica into the sun with Sam.

Then, after saying goodbye to her surrogate father, while talking with Lee... *** POOF! ***

Not a trace of Thrace.

Maybe that's why I hate her ending so much. Lee's words seem to come up hollow. - She obtains neither life nor rememberance.
Set Bookmark
conroypaw
Fri, Mar 27, 2009, 11:05am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

@mark246wild

"Can i just add in concerning Hera being the Mitochondrial Eve, everyone is assuming that Baltar and Caprica had children, or Athena and Helo had more - Hera was the only one with both Cylon and Human DNA, the surviving colonists probably continued having children but Hera's DNA was unique and it was her young remains (she didn't live to be an old woman) that were discovered and related to current humans of today."

I don't understand how this pertains to the discussion.

Are we assuming that the other Cylons - all the Leobens, the Sharons, and the Sixes did not attempt or succeed to have children with other Colonists?

They found Hera's remains. Does that mean there aren't any other remains of other early human-cylon children?

The question still stands. "What makes Hera's DNA unique?" (Other than the ability of her embryonic blood to temporarily cure cancer)

I get why they call her "mitochondrial Eve". Every living person on Earth has the same mitochondrial DNA as she does... and digging further back, other human remains do not. So, scientist assume she was the first. They just happen to be correct because they found Hera, who was the absolute first.

However... radio carbon dating isn't so precise that it can determine day or year. Therefore any Colonial-Cylon hybrid of Hera's generation could have also been mistaken for "Mytochondrial Eve or Adam" - assuming that Helo and Athena did have another child, or Baltar and Caprica, or Joe Blow and Hottie Six #451 decided to reproduce.

The way the show was going, it sounded like the Cylons and Colonists wanted a fresh beginning and put aside the old hatreds, and the same time give up all their technology. Unrealistic - given, but let's just say they did. They would probably settle down and start having families with mixed marriages between Colonist and Cylon. Therefore produce more Hera-like children.

For everyone to be decended from Hera, and Hera alone, making her a True Eve, not just a "Mitochondrial Eve" we must assume that no other Colonist and Cylon had offspring that survived and everyone else's offspring mated with Hera or Hera's children, despite being scatter across five continents, over the course of 150,000 years - 149,000 of them without any means of global transportation. No wonder she died young. She really had to get around!

Let us not forget that the earliest discovery of civilization on this Earth goes back not much more than 5000 years. Some will argue 10,000 years. That still leaves 140,000 years in which "humans" pretty much hunted and gathered in whatever habitable region they could find. Any traveling, migration, all had to done on foot. Domesticated animals and the wheel came with the dawn of civilization.

In the end, it seems to me that the Colonists either didn't have much to contribute, or it was all lost over the course of 150,000 years. If the story was true, I think it's pretty much safe to say that we did it on our own. The only thing we got from them is 38,000+ more bones, some funky DNA, and a T-shirt that says "I
Set Bookmark
conroypaw
Wed, Mar 25, 2009, 6:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

Alex1939,

Thanks for responding. I guess my question then is "What makes Hera's DNA so special or different from another Cylon-Human hybrid?".

If Hera were to have siblings, wouldn't they also have the same DNA? If Helo got another Eight pregnant, wouldn't that child also have the same DNA?

I guess what I'm trying to get at is that logically, the Cylon half isn't as important as the human half. Helo is what makes the difference.

But, if Helo's DNA is an amalgamation of Colonial DNA from the past 2000 years dating back to Kobol, then what is the difference if Gaius Baltar, Lee Adama, or Hot Dog were the DNA donors?

Theoretically, Caprica Six's and Gaius Baltar's child would have the same hybrid characterists, and only traits like hair color, skin color, shape of eyes, height, etc. would be the difference.

Or... maybe "love" is the only difference and the fetus would terminate itself. Sorry... bad episode reference. =P
Set Bookmark
conroypaw
Wed, Mar 25, 2009, 4:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

@Jack Bauer

Completely agree. It is silly to think they could get all 38,000 people to agree... on ANYTHING, let alone getting rid of their technology. You probably couldn't even get 3 people to agree that mixing with the natives is a good thing. Just look at how argumentative the Quorum was.

Maybe the writers were going on the premise that the whole crammed into spaceships for 4 years was a crucible that forged people's minds into thinking "Yeah, Lee... clean slate, technology bad, hunting, gathering, farming good... great idea." I don't know. Still very shakey to me.


"Also I dont buy Hera being the mother of all of us UNLESS nobody else in the 38,000 reproduced. To claim she is mitochondrial eve is to say the other 37, 999 people did not reproduce, and she was the only one to have her genes passed down through the millenia."

I'm not sure what they meant by that. But, I'm guessing they didn't mean it in a literal way.

I think they were trying to saying that she was the first, therefore "the mother" of all those with the same mitochondrial DNA make up.

If Caprica Six and Gaius Baltar had a child, that child would have the same Cylon / human mitochondrial DNA, as well. I'm also assuming that the skinjobs weren't counted among the 38,000 and they were also thrown into the mix with other colonists [It's pretty hard to resist those Sixes. =)], and earthling natives, thereby producing more of the same "Hera Mitochondrial DNA".

I'm just guessing here. It probably doesn't make much sense either. =P
Set Bookmark
conroypaw
Wed, Mar 25, 2009, 4:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

I'm sure Asimov has many interesting sci-fi premises. I'm also sure that plenty of popular sci-fi shows and movies has been inspired by him and had "borrowed" his ideas.

I also believe it would be difficult for any one to name a popular series on television (any television show or even movies) that has the same premise that BSG has.

It may not be THE orignal idea of "sole intelligent lifeform" in the galaxy, but that was never the popular premise for almost all the science fiction material from the 50s to the present day.

From Flash Gordon, Buck Rogers, Lost in Space, War of the Worlds, Star Trek, Star Wars, Alien, V, The Last Starfighter, Independence Day, Battlefield Earth, Starship Troopers, how many of those dealt with human beings as the sole sentient lifeform in the galaxy?

(hint: begins with ZERO and ends with NADA)

As far as popular sci-fi is concerned, I think it's safe to say that BSG is pretty original in that premise.

Now, creating something that will eventually destroy you? That's not original. The original series even used that. The Cylons were a lizard race that created robots that eventually destroyed them. Humans only got involved with the Cylons attack and wiped out an allied race.

The whole "something you build will be your undoing" goes back to Frankenstein's monster or even earlier than that, maybe even Greek mythology, but combining that with the first premise? That's seems pretty new to me.
Set Bookmark
conroypaw
Wed, Mar 25, 2009, 11:35am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

I don't know if someone covered this before on another site, or during another season, but what I really liked about Battlestar Galactica was how they handled "extra terrestrial" life.

The Colonial humans didn't wonder if they were alone in the universe. They knew that they came from another planet where there was life, and there was a good chance that the planets they ended up colonizing already had life, and they brought some along with them from Kobol.

In the Battlestar Galactica universe, extra terrestrial life usually shows up as plants or algae. It is not filled with humanoid aliens like Star Trek, Star Wars, Stargate, the original Battlestar Galactica, Buck Rogers, and countless other before it.

And when the do encounter other "aliens" they are human, and it is nothing short of an astronomical miracle. This maintains the uniqueness of humanity. It also makes the creation of the Cylon that much more poignant. Humanity decided that it do not want to be alone in the universe as it's sole sentient race, so they created another one, which became it's rival and ultimately, its nemesis. That to me, seem pretty orginal. I will miss it.
Set Bookmark
conroypaw
Tue, Mar 24, 2009, 5:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

@Alex1939

"Leaving the tech behind: How do you expect them to make new bullets? How do you expect them to make new fuel? How do you expect them to make new medicine? To me, I don't see how there was any other option. Take what provisions you can, and start a new life. A new life not confined in a 10X10 room, with community showers, shitty fuel, and alge alcohol."


I don't understand your logic.

Uhm... so... why didn't they send Galactica, Pegasus and all the other ships of the fleet into the sun while they were at New Caprica?

Many of the ships could land on the planet, as seen on New Caprica. The refinery ship was still producing tylium for the fleet. You could still keep Raptors for planetary exploration. Other ships could have been used to find extra-planetary resources needed. Making bullets and medicine isn't magic. They had the technology. They just needed to settle down to make the equipment. Cottle had equipment that could scan DNA. You can't tell me they didn't have equipment that could chemically analyze plants and animal material for medicinal properties.

As for bullets - charcoal, sulfur, saltpeter (oh my gosh, all those things can be found in nature!) stuff into brass casing with primer (mercury fulminate) followed by lead projectile. Put into tube. Strike primer with hard object. BANG!

Okay, it's a little more complicated than that for their automatic weapons... but once they build the equipment and tools. There really isn't much more to it... and they have the capability. They could create fertilizers, pesticides, and really give themselves a huge headstart, instead of waiting 148,100 years for the technology to arrive.

I don't know much. But, I do know that having to live in a dirt hut with dirt floors, getting eaten alive by bugs, and having to make fires from flint and tender is not a better life than living in a 10 x 10 room with HOT SHOWERS, FOOD, and BOOZE (even if it was algae), medicines, and the protection of a civilization with law and order (even if it is a mere shadow of what it once was).

Weeee! Wildlife! Let's put ourselves back on the lower rungs of the food chain!
Set Bookmark
conroypaw
Tue, Mar 24, 2009, 3:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

Maybe it was the writers' intention to show that the colonist's genetic and cultural identity would be lost over time.

If the Colonist were able to find a habital planet with no other humans, would 38,000+ be sufficient to sustain the human race, or is the infusion of new DNA necessary?

The plan was to divide into groups across several continents. If they split into 5 groups - North America, South America, Africa, Australia, and Euro-Asia, each group would roughly have 7,600 colonist - a serious genetic bottleneck indeed.

This would also contradict mainstream scientic models that humans came out of Africa and migrated over time.

Again... race isn't an issue in 150,000 BCE! White people in Africa... please. The issue, is "what kind of human are you?" not skin color.

Are you homo sapien (archaic / extinct) or homo sapien neanderthalensis (also extinct)?

The major identifying factor isn't what skin color you have, but if your rib cage is wider at the shoulders or wider above your stomach. Jeez.

And just to show what a fraking idiot I am... I don't believe they had SP30 in Africa back then - with or without the occasional ice age that might lead to melanin deficiency. =P
Set Bookmark
conroypaw
Tue, Mar 24, 2009, 12:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

Jeez... mind orgasm and limp members... what has the BSG universe come to?

I don't claim to know of any concensus, but it does seem that more than a handful of people, including some of the actors from Battlestar Galactica agree that the fourth season felt rushed and incoherent to various degrees.

After watching the "post Galactica" Katee Sackoff interview for TV Guide, I am more convinced that there probably should have been a season five.

I've heard that Moore wanted to finish on top, and I've also heard the opposite, that viewship was waning, in partly due to a number of bad episodes in season three.

I've also heard that Moore's team didn't have enough material to make a complete season five, and just wanted to tie it all together at the end of season four.

Whatever the case was, no matter how well or how badly it turned out, I can not say that I did not find any enjoyment from the series, the final season, or the final episodes. Only George Lucas has earned that "honor".

While not all bad and not all good, Battlestar Galactica left me with the following:

1) Likeable / Interesting characters. If this wasn't there, no one would even bother watching all four seasons. Even single episode characters like Bulldog are memorable. Are the characters true to themselves, develop and grow? Yes and no. But, maybe what's more important here is the question "Have we changed from watching the series?"

2) More realism than any science fiction series that came before it. Bad science, boundless mysticism, and deus ex machina moments and all, stranger things have happened in real life. The overall feel of the series is that of realism. Phone have cord, buttons go click, doors squeak, things dropped on a metal deck make a loud clang.

3) The bar on Special Effects has been raised. Too bad they were used so sparingly. I can count the number of space battles for all four seasons on my fingers.

4) I am no longer a sole geek with treasured memories of a one season sci-fi series that dates back to 1979. People are talking about Galactica, both old and new... and there are thousands out there.

There's no doubt in my mind that the series could have been better, but it's not going to rob my childhood or mentally scar me for life.
Set Bookmark
conroypaw
Mon, Mar 23, 2009, 5:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

Oh, so now everyone has to make their own sci-fi series to have an opinion on one?

Very well...

A long time ago, in this galaxy lived a young knight named Binks Binks Jar, and his robot girlfriend "Buckstar". They left their home on "Not Really Caprica" to create a new race of lizards and colonize 13 planets the size of Uranus. After chopping off the tails of the lizards with his lightsaber his girlfriend told him that "It was all in God's plan" and they all lived happily ever after. THE END! 2 hour special episode from the Lizard's point of view coming soon!


Now, with that out of the way...

There's not need to be condescending just because you may not agree with his opinion. If he wants to critique the use of bad science in science fiction, that's his prerogative.

"Find the joy in life."

Maybe critiquing the use of bad science in science fiction does bring him joy. Just because you find no joy in it does mean he needs to change.

I don't agree with everything that Niall says, but he does have the freedom to say what he wants.

I believe that, because I believe in freedom for all individuals. That's what makes me a republican.

The perceived grumpiness is common to all humans... and Cylons alike. =)

Too much confusion... I can't get no relief...
Set Bookmark
conroypaw
Mon, Mar 23, 2009, 5:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

@Niall

"the colonials would have brought a new set of diseases with them, to which the humans on Earth would have had no immunity."

True, but it could also work the other way. There's a disease that's already present on the planet that the Colonists have no defense for... and thanks to Lee who erased the slate, they don't have the technology to come up with a cure! Yay!!! =P
Set Bookmark
conroypaw
Mon, Mar 23, 2009, 2:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

martymama
March 23, 2009 - 02:17 pm (USA Central Time)
Two things:
1. It is necessary for an epic or any full-length story to have a long resolution. Like Return of the King, a full resolution feels very weird to us postmodern explosion-and-kiss-at-the-end fiends, but it is appropriate.
2. The scifi doesn't work on the evolution of language nor racial considerations. This is a very white show, y'all. Seeing the insane quantity of white faces populating Earth was the hardest for me to swallow.


First point: Completely agree. I don't care if some people think it has multiple endings. Everyone has their particular character that they are interested in, and want to know what happened to them.

Second point: Evolution of lanquage, yeah. It doesn't work, but given the 150,000 years between when they arrived and the first evidence of known civilization that we know of dating back not much more than 5,000 years... how many languages could have been developed and lost in 145,000 years? Heck, in 2000 years people left Kobol and settled 13 colonies and had them all wiped out. I guess anything is possible.

As for the "whiteness" of the show. It doesn't bother me. There were less than 39,000 people from the colonies and possibly a few thosand Cylons - not all of them white. At this point in "Earth but not really Earth" history, race isn't an issue. Against all odds, humans on this planet have evolved completely independent from the people of Kobol, to the point that they could have a "get together". From what little we did see of the natives, they weren't white. They weren't black either. They weren't Asian, Hispanic, or Arabic either. My guess if it was up to the Colonials to "create" the "white race" they would have failed, their genetic information would have diluted into recessed traits over the course of 150,000 years, immediately following four or five generations. Besides, who are we to say that they didn't get together with the neanderthals as well? They were here up until 10,000 years ago.

Ooh... this hurst the head. Must... stop... too... much... Bob Dylan.
Set Bookmark
conroypaw
Mon, Mar 23, 2009, 1:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

Okay, time for the cheeky comment. =)

What we thought was missing from this final episode was the "Epiphany Moment", when everything finally made sense, or at least all the mysteries were revealed. The questions to everything - Kara "Harbinger of Death" resurrected, Baltar Angel and Six Angel, God's plan, Hera, the Opera House, the proto hybrid from Razor, the Ionian Nebula, Tory & Galen's previous love life, the woman Sam loved on "Earth", and what the frak happened to Boxey.

All of these things were revealed...

... to Cavil. And in knowing the whole truth, the entire plot, the complete story, caused him to say "Frak!" and blow his brains out. For knowning what goes on in the minds of Ron Moore and Dave Eick is to know madness.

=D
Set Bookmark
conroypaw
Sun, Mar 22, 2009, 1:59am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

I usually post something tongue-in-cheek / goofy, but seriously... I don't know what to think about the last episode or the series as a whole.

It is clearly a character driven series. Does that make for good drama? Only if the characters are interesting and involving. We were fortunate enough to have that. I have nothing against plot driven episodes. I might actually prefer them. Maybe it's because it forces the writers to really think situations through on a macro scale, not just in the microcosms of the individual characters. What does this mean for the human race, the Cylons, the fleet, the Cylon rebellion, etc. I've read reviews and comments stating that they could care less if there isn't another space battle scene in the entire series. WTF?! That's what daytime soap operas are for! I don't want just another stupid drama with no plot. There's too much of it already on regular television. I watch Battlestar Galactica because it is a space action drama. It is space combat! It is not war or civil conflict based on earth, not in another dimension, not jumping through space portals, not fighting dinosaurs, zombies, vampires, dragons, or werewolves! It about a space conflict with humans and machines becoming humans. GRRRRR!

Okay, sorry about that rant.

I saw that show "The Last Frakking Whatever Special" and David Eick really torqued me off. It seems to me that he has had very little respect for the original series. Much less respect than Ron Moore, which actually surprised me. The more I heard David Eick speak about how he feels about the diehard original series fans, the more I believe the man should be barred from making any science fiction shows in the future.

I respect the direction they wanted to take the new series, and while I did enjoy it a great deal, for the most part, I did regret not having the opportunity to see what might have been, if they could have brought out the potential of the original premise.

All in all, the new series was way cooler, darker, more realistic, more emotional, more intense, more controversial, more sexy, and possibily had a wider appeal to a wider audience.

People tend to knock the original series as campy, family fare, etc. But, at the time, it also had some of praises and accolades that we shower on the new series. It also set the stage for what we have today.

I don't think the final episodes sufficiently answered all the questions, but then again, I didn't expect it to, or even believe that it needed to. It answered, just enough for most people. Poor writing, poor planning? I don't know. I can't say. There's always much more information, background, clues, revelations, relationships, and plot twists and not enough time or episodes to cram them all into.

It seems to me that they were so caught up with the "we appeal to women and other people who normally would not watch science fiction" aspect that they made their choices of what to include and leave out based almost soley on that.

So, if the series doesn't seem to be as coherent as something you would expect from Star Trek, Babylon 5, or whatever, maybe that's the reason.

I'm not saying that technobabble and lengthy exposition makes for better science fiction... but some of it is needed to make science fiction what it is. Character drama makes for... well... good drama, and good drama could be anything from CSI to ER. Okay, maybe not so much.

Running gun battles with CG Centurians... great. Kiss scene between Lee and Kara... great.
Bill Adama and Saul Tigh are drunk off their butts again... great.
Cavil argues metaphysically with Final Five... great.
Gaius Baltar has another round of sex with [insert character's name here]... great.
Bill Adama smashes model ship again... Yay!!! Great.


I love seeing Vipers - MkII and MkVII blow apart Cylon raiders and heavy raiders, and I can't get enough of that. I love watching space dogfights.

I love watching Battlestars duking it out with Baseships. By the way... where are all the frakking baseships that should have been defending the Cylon colony?!! Were they all out looking for the human / rebel Cylon fleet? No... Boomer knew where they were. Hole in the plot? One the size of a naked singularity? Maybe...

Don't know. Don't care. All I do know is that I am looking forward to "the Plan" and maybe, just maybe it will be science fiction and not just more character drama that just happens to take place in space on the "SyFy" network, and "Look lesbians!!!" brought to you by Quizno's and KFC.
Set Bookmark
conroypaw
Thu, Mar 19, 2009, 5:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Islanded in a Stream of Stars

Nolan
March 19, 2009 - 04:36 pm (USA Central Time)
Boxey coulden't have been on the Olympic Carrier, as he turned up for a scene in "Bastille Day." After that, he was never heard of or seen again.

The writers did have scenes with him throughout the first season, but almost all of them were cut.

Sorry to burst the irony bubble for ya, conroypaw. ;P


He was?!! Dang it all. Oh well. Wait! There is still hope for my irony! Tom Zarek could have ordered his execution at some point after leaving New Caprica, right? =D
Set Bookmark
conroypaw
Thu, Mar 19, 2009, 10:10am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Islanded in a Stream of Stars

Jason K
March 19, 2009 - 06:16 am (USA Central Time)
There's also the simple possibility that the writers simply had this character in the pilot and didn't feel they could do anything with his character over the course of the series. Sometimes child actors can ruin a great thing....Jake Lloyd as Anakin Skywalker anyone??

Well, obviously that was probably the actual situation. Another "try to keep some commonality with the original series" idea that just didn't work.

I was hoping for something more interesting, but I'm willing to place Boxey onboard the Olympic Carrier and just leave it at that. I love irony.

=D

I thought Jar-Jar Binks was the main source of destruction of the series. Bratakin didn't help any... but it was too late for Lucas pull his X-Wing out of its terminal nose dive into Beggar's Canyon. I did end up seeing all the prequels, mainly because I can't avert my eyes from a train wreck. Here's to hoping the last two hours of BSG aren't one.
Set Bookmark
conroypaw
Wed, Mar 18, 2009, 10:25am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Islanded in a Stream of Stars

Josh
March 18, 2009 - 10:06 am (USA Central Time)
Wasn't Boxey killed in the accident on the hanger deck during the Thousandth landing party?

He wasn't seen on screen, it would just be a fair explanation.


I don't know... what would a early teenaged boy be doing on the flight deck of a battlestar that was conducting military operations at the time?

A better explanation would be to assume he was living on Cloud Nine or one of the surround ships when Baltar's firecracker went off, courtesy of Gina Inviere.

...Or he was one of the many thousands executed on New Caprica... or maybe he was a colaborator and blown out of an airlock... or he was gunned down by some marines in one of the riots. The imagination just runs wild with the many possibilities. =)
Set Bookmark
conroypaw
Wed, Mar 18, 2009, 9:41am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Islanded in a Stream of Stars

Jason K
March 18, 2009 - 09:16 am (USA Central Time)
@ conroypaw

"What ever happened to Boxey??"

Isn't it obvious? Boxey is a younger version of Daniel, who was "boxed". He will grow up to become Bob Dylan.

It could happen....


LOL!!! True, I think Boxey would come back to the show as either either Bob Dylan or Doctor Zee!

Oh, I can't keep doing this... too much confusion...
Set Bookmark
conroypaw
Tue, Mar 17, 2009, 5:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Islanded in a Stream of Stars

knitpicker
March 15, 2009 - 10:56 am (USA Central Time)
An old loose end - how on earth did Baltar survive the blast that killed Caprica 6?

How do you know he survived?

In the pilot, we see him, Caprica Six, the house, and everything go up in a huge pressure wave. The next time we see Gaius Baltar, he loses out in a lottery, but Helo give up his seat so that Baltar can ride back to Galactica. Which brings us to an even more silly loose end. - Whatever happen to Boxey? =)

[Begin closed-mouth screaming here.]

And if it weren't for Boxey, Helo would never have met Athena and there would be no Hera.

Baltar had died in the blast, and was resurrected by Cavil and placed onboard the Galactica as an unwilling Cylon agent with a Head Six to keep him in line with their plan...

(Actually, I don't really know. I'm just making this stuff up. Heh. =P)

By the way, Baltar didn't have to make a Cylon detector. Everyone knows that Cylon skinjobs have a red light that goes up and down their backs when they have sex. Just turn the lights out, and look for a red glow. =)
Set Bookmark
conroypaw
Fri, Feb 27, 2009, 9:47am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: No Exit

Actually, the Cylons have multiple plans. They just can't coordinate. The Final Five have their own plan. Cavil's group can't be convinced of his plan so they needed to be lobotomized, and the remaining Cylons (Natalie's group) are making things up on the fly. Sounds a lot like a business corporation.

The humans had a plan... to find Earth, they just didn't have a "Plan B". I take that back, "Plan B" was to settle on New Caprica. "Plan C" anyone?
Set Bookmark
conroypaw
Wed, Feb 25, 2009, 3:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Resurrection Ship, Part 2

I don't know what made me go back and read this review again. I just wanted to note that it wouldn't have mattered if Roslin promoted Adama to admiral before the Pegasus showed up. If the colonial military is anything like ours, Cain would still would have had seniority over Adama.
Set Bookmark
conroypaw
Wed, Feb 25, 2009, 1:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: No Exit

BSG seems to be drawing heavily from previous Star Trek themes in this one. Not only do we see the Anders / Thrace reflection of Sisko and his son Jake, from the DS9 episode "Rapture", but the whole Cavil / Ellen / Boomer scenes reminded me of Lore / Dr. Noonien Soong / Data from the TNG episode "Brothers". I could have sworn I heard similar exchanges between the characters.

"If I'm so bad, why didn't you just fix me?!" "No, I made you perfect. You can be whatever you want to be." "Our maker is flawed. Blah, blah, blah..."

While I enjoyed the revelations of the BSG mythos, I was somewhat put off by the feeling that the whole episode seemed to be drowning in it, and that's what they wanted because there are precious few episodes left.

We see what the implications are for the Final Five and for the Cylon rebellion, but only scratched the surface for what it means for the humans. They need the Cylons and yet, despite their shared past experiences, the humans still despise the Cylons. Tigh's off the cuff analysis of how pure Cylon and pure human races didn't work in the past is compelling, but seems a little silly. The glib response is that neither races have learned the most important lesson: DON'T BUILD ROBOTIC SERVANT RACES.

I can't help but think there's another TNG, DS9, or Voyager theme in there, somewhere. Oh well, I guess resistance is futile. Maybe, there really isn't anything new under the sun?

Verdict: ***
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.