Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 504 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 21
Set Bookmark
Chris Lopes
Thu, Oct 15, 2020, 1:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

Overall it wasn't bad at all. We have a chance to do Andromeda without Kevin Sorbo's ego getting in the way. The action was cool, and the 32nd century tech was even cooler. In short, the season has the potential of being very good.
Set Bookmark
Chris L.
Thu, Oct 15, 2020, 11:56am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

The good news is that there is a real chance for a season full of world building, and a move away from the ridiculous plot lines that involve the entirety of organic life in the galaxy as stakes. A more focused series on the littler things and the mystery of the ‘burn’ could be good.

The bad news is that it is mostly the same writers, so they will probably turn it into a cluster by mid season where Michael Burnham saves the universe single handedly with zero character development three separate times. The dialogue in this episode was atrocious across the board. Have the writers actually had any conversations with real people? Like, ever?

Overall: I liked it as an opener. The potential is better already than either of the other seasons. 2.5 stars, mostly for the inane dialogue. Otherwise 3. I am cautiously optimistic.
Set Bookmark
Chris Lopes
Sun, Oct 11, 2020, 4:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

LD is entertaining enough for what it is. It's not the greatest thing since Raktajino, but it's fun.
Set Bookmark
Chris Lopes
Sat, Sep 12, 2020, 12:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

"I can tell you why I continue watching it. I accept Lower Decks as a filler mid tier show."

This. As I said in another comment, if you like hanging out in the TNG universe, this show isn't entirely unwatchable. Yeah the jokes can be stupid, and these folks are not behaving as "real" Star Fleet officers would, but there are enough Trek references to be entertaining.
Set Bookmark
Chris Lopes
Tue, Sep 8, 2020, 12:58am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

"Can we also get a post with "Jammer's plans for the review of Star Wars Episode IX" please?"

If you can't say anything nice........ :)
Set Bookmark
Chris L
Fri, Sep 4, 2020, 1:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Melora

@MusicalTurtle -

Your review and discomfort are spot on, I think. I spent a few months confined to a wheelchair, and it was eye-opening to say the least. I won’t pretend to understand permanent disability, but I do know enough to know how completely clueless most able-bodied people are about how to treat the disabled, and how completely inadequate most ‘accommodations’ are. Little things like, after a snow storm, the stairs to buildings are often salted adequately, but wheelchair ramps? Skating rink. Or automatic door buttons placed behind the door hinge so you press it and then dodge a moving door and go around to get through.

I could understand if this episode were written by an able-bodied person, but it is kind of shocking coming from someone disabled. I understand pride and the desire for independence and not wanting unnecessary accommodations made, but Melora is just a bitch about it. Like when Sisko makes the completely reasonable requirement that someone goes with her to the Gamma quadrant, because nobody goes alone without vast experience. She loses her shiat and lashes out at everyone. I could understand her appealing initially and explaining that she prefers to work in zero g and that is easiest if she goes alone, but surely an accommodation or compromise could be made on the runabout? Don’t starfleet officers have zero g training?! Why not say: okay, we’ll turn the gravity off/way down for this mission, but Dax/someone still goes with you as a matter of policy. That would seem reasonable, and considering how accommodating the ds9 staff are trying to be, I would think that Dax would be willing to do that. It’s weird they don’t offer that and also that she doesn’t ask for that when she is alone with Dax on the runabout.

Also, I think some people are focusing too hard on how a humanoid could evolve on a low/zero g planet. I kind of always assumed that it is a race of people that originally came from a regular planet, but have lived on some sort of moon or small planetoid for several generations. Thus, their bones have turned to chalk and muscles weakened. Kind of like Belters in ‘The Expanse’.
Set Bookmark
Chris Lopes
Fri, Aug 14, 2020, 10:42am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I watched the first episode and it is quite silly, but not entirely unwatchable. For those who want to play in the TNG universe, this could be comfort viewing, with jokes. It's not quite my cup of Earl Grey hot, but I can see why others might like it.

As to Jammer not reviewing it, it's his blog and his life. He kept this thread open as a courtesy, and that's more than he really had to do. He owes us nothing.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Thu, Aug 6, 2020, 10:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I turned it off halfway through. The ADD-induced style of comedy comes off as obnoxious. This wasn't made for me, and that's ok.
Set Bookmark
Chris Varentrek
Fri, Jul 31, 2020, 3:13am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Natural Law

@John C. Worsley
> Also apparently the Borg never assimilated a species that ever cooked or had to keep warm. "An exothermic reaction!" Yes, Seven, we call it fire!

I had a different interpretation of this that I really like! What's interesting is that the exothermic reaction is what was used to START the first. Instead of a flint stone or friction based bow drill. It just so happens that two local plants have some component in them that violently exothermically reacts with the other. (perhaps like how metallic sodium reacts with water). That does seem like it could be a very unusual thing.
Set Bookmark
Chris Lopes
Mon, Jul 20, 2020, 3:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Just watched the trailer all I have to say is that this had better be just a product of bad marketing. If the real show is like that, CBS really has a rather low opinion of Star Trek fans. The whole thing plays out as a badly written version of Redshirts. It won't sell any subscriptions, but it might some cancelled.
Set Bookmark
Chris
Wed, Jul 8, 2020, 10:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part II

Sorry, this episode was bullshit. The mantra of "we want jobs" as if that was the solution to an entire system of exploitation, theft and slavery is simply an endorsement of that system, with the problem lying in the administration of it rather than the inherent structure of it and the type of thinking behind it. The writers were not even brave enough to say that everyone is entitled to a reasonable standard of living, endorsing the guilt-ridden consensus of American society that sacrifice is a requirement of living.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Sun, Jun 7, 2020, 2:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Rajiin

I didn't hate this like I expected to, but it would have been more interesting if Rajiin was more alien and not just a buxom blonde. Also Timothy is right; this is a smack to the face of Cogenitor.
Set Bookmark
chrismypro
Sun, May 24, 2020, 4:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Whom Gods Destroy

I cant recall any other episode where a beam up password was used. And at the very last scene, when the real Kirk asks for a beam up, Scotty won’t ask for the password anymore.

How convenient...

Other than that, I loved some of Spock’s lines (“where exactly is your fleet?”), plus the fact that at the dance scene he looked utterly bored.
Set Bookmark
Chris Two
Tue, May 19, 2020, 9:47am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Whom Gods Destroy

I had completely forgotten this episode since the last time I watched it, and now I know why. It's utterly over-acted, cringe-worthy dreck. Very reminiscent of Dagger of the Mind, even down to Kirk being strapped in a chair and having his brain scrambled. And at the end, why doesn't Spock just stun them both? It's an excuse to get Kirk to fight himself. Half a star, only because of the (really tame) Orion slave girl dance getting it banned by the BBC.
Set Bookmark
Chris Pierce
Sun, May 3, 2020, 7:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Hero

Adama was on BSG for 3 years on a planet or orbiting one for a year so Bulldog was in cylon prison for 4-5 years ! This page says he was in dentention for only 3. How is that possible?
Set Bookmark
Chris
Sun, Apr 26, 2020, 3:24am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Attached

Loved it. Well written, fun alien story and that long overdue view of what these two think of each other. The movies dropped this storyline altogether, but I'm hopeful we can see Gates again and get some resolution in season 2 of Picard!
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Sat, Apr 11, 2020, 5:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Author, Author

The Doctor on trial and the inspiration of slaves. Excellent, excellent, excellent.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Sat, Apr 4, 2020, 4:48am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Ashes to Ashes

Just throwing in another compliment to Kim Rhodes; she kept me watching, and I knew the episode would fail her in the end. This was almost good.

All the complaints about continuity are absurd. Star Trek is infamous for shoehorning in unknown characters and relationships.
Set Bookmark
Chris Lopes
Sun, Mar 29, 2020, 8:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Nolan

Point taken. 7's personal acceptance of who she is would require some work to explore. On Voyager (outside of the thing with Chakotay, that no one bought) 7 didn't really explore that part of her humanity. She's been on her own for quite a while since then, so there is no telling what kind of exploration she's been doing. While watching her deal with the discovery of her sexuality might interesting, that discovery likely happened years ago. The same goes for Raffi.
Set Bookmark
Chris Lopes
Sun, Mar 29, 2020, 6:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Trent

Well whatever the particular host's gender, the Dax symbiot seemed decidedly male. ;)
Set Bookmark
Chris Lopes
Sun, Mar 29, 2020, 6:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Nolan

I suspect coming out doesn't mean a damn thing in the future of STP. The Seven/Raffi relationship actually makes a great deal of sense to me, as they are both broken people who are very much alone. That has nothing to do with any particular sexual orientation, just the specific choice of partners. Those particular characters just fit together.
Set Bookmark
Other Other Chris
Fri, Mar 27, 2020, 7:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Daniel

"One person observed that if Michael Chabon can’t make Trek work, no one can. It takes a a small inferential leap to realize that some people will never be satisfied with anything - or will never admit to it , lest they be thought to be part of the lumpen masses - those vulgar, inferior Philistines! - that get enjoyment from entertainment."

It's very telling that the same people who hate this show come here the very day any new Trek airs to tell us just how much they hate it. Clearly they enjoy it, even if their enjoyment value is taking potshots at it. Get ready for season two with all these people back here again like clockwork. CBS doesn't care as long as they get their subscription.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Fri, Mar 27, 2020, 7:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

I get the message they were driving at in the end and I see why Patrick Stewart was drawn to it, but it just didn't work. They could have pulled the same thing with half as many characters and half as many episodes, which also would have forced them to tighten up the scripts. We've come a long way, baby.
Set Bookmark
Chris
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 4:19am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

The series has gone from a multi-layered, thoughtful, careful and intriguing first episode to a stitched together mess of old Trek clichés, inconsistent/shallow characters, a plot that's both too complex and insultingly thin at the same time. I'd like to understand the development process of a show like this. So they have a great idea to start and carefully write a pilot that manages to address current world issues in a subtle way and then everything gets rushed and stuff just needs to be done? Why? Because all the CGI has to be planned ahead? Why not take time to write better scripts first? Why not have show runners that can guide a whole season into something that feels consistent and does not insult the viewer's intelligence? What I love about Breaking Bad and Better Call Saul is that whenever you ask yourself "Why is a character doing that?" or "How could this happen?" you realize a few moments later the writing staff asked the same questions and then they deliver a satisfying solution. I wish there was just a little bit of that awareness on Picard. In episode 8: Why are all the Romulans standing in a perfect circle facing outwards like performing some ritual before they have their "vision"? Because it looks cool!? Story-wise it makes no sense at all. This was the first time I knew Picard would be no better than Discovery, as much as I wanted it to be. And seeing the AI "colony" and its "characters" it was confirmed. Did any of the writers spend time thinking how such a colony should look, what it could be like, what its inhabitants would do? Apparently not. The Androids are doing Tai Chi and walk around bare chested? Really? This felt like the worst cardboard "colonies"/"cultures" from TOS. The Romulans needn't bother, there's no intelligent life on that planet. It's a shame. Picard should have been different, like they promised it would be, but in the end it's becoming a victim of its genre just like the absolutely overrated "Logan" did. Three new series in a row Star Trek has now failed to stray from its constraints and boldly go ... somewhere.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Sat, Mar 21, 2020, 10:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Equinox, Part I

That BLT nickname just tickles me to no end, and this two-parter is about as good as Voyager can get.
Next ►Page 1 of 21
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.