Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 451 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 19
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Sun, May 19, 2019, 2:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country

Just saw this again for the fifth or sixth time. Boy, do I love this movie! It's the best retirement these characters could ever get, and the Cold War commentary is so very inspirational. Everything about it just works, especially that boldly different soundtrack. What a joy.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Mon, May 13, 2019, 12:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

Great movie, and the sections with just music and little to no dialogue still rope me in. It's pure nerd indulgence (if you're the right kind of nerd) and I love it. I'm also reminded that Kirk, in my opinion, is a better character in the films than in the show. Dealing with age, twilight years, death and the yearning for old friends all make him a character much easier to like. The show spends so much time selling Kirk as the ultimate, while the movies reinforce that he is very much just a man.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Thu, May 9, 2019, 5:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Way to Eden

Not good, but not the worst of the season.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Thu, May 9, 2019, 4:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Requiem for Methuselah

I know it was impossible as I hoped for it, but I still really wish Rayna would have rejected both men, hopped on a starship and took off to do her own thing. Instead they killed her. Oh well. Let's get back to lovesick Kirk, before he's off to his next lady conquest of the week.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Mon, May 6, 2019, 6:18am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Plato's Stepchildren

I got to witness the characters feel the pain that I've felt watching this third season, and it wasn't satisfying at all.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Wed, May 1, 2019, 2:52am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Ultimate Computer

Finally, something to chew on. Like a few here, I also thought at first that making the M-5 "evil" was undercutting the concept, but tying it to Daystrom and his flaws makes perfect sense. This instantly brought to mind the Avengers comic book storyline "Ultron Unlimited," where it's revealed that the murderous Ultron's brain engrams were based on his creator, Hank Pym. I really enjoy this idea and its resonance in fiction.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Tue, Apr 30, 2019, 10:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Return to Tomorrow

About a third of the way through, right around Kirk's big speech, I thought to myself "hey, we might have something special here!" And then it turned into the same old shit.

Nice to see Nimoy get to show some range, though. He was very slick here.
Set Bookmark
Chris
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 10:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

Wonderful effects. Liked scruffy Ed. Good music (very reminiscent of Star Trek 2). No out of place humor. Dull story. Felt like I had seen it all before; which can be an obvious downside to a show that borrows so heavily from other shows. It was ok. A 2.5/4. Hope the show is renewed because, overall, this season has been a big improvement.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Tue, Apr 23, 2019, 10:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Trouble With Tribbles

Nice Klingon continuity and some very pleasant light comedy, but not all that great. And on that scale it's one of the better episodes of TOS. Moonie is right, watching "Trials" immediately after is a lot of fun. I just love how the Klingons wiped out the tribbles and the DS9 crew brings them back!
Set Bookmark
Chris
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 2:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

That was extremely good looking rubbish. I recently watched the pilot of DS9 again and it had more intelligent dialog than 2 seasons of Discovery put together. So little of the constant emotional overdrive is earned, they are not even trying with the tech aspects, it really is a swell looking overproduced mess.
Set Bookmark
Chris
Thu, Apr 18, 2019, 9:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

While there were some decent aspects in the episode, the central premise (that Ed would date a younger Kelly while current Kelly was present) was a huge mistake. It made Ed look like an unfeeling moron. Can't believe anyone thought that was a good idea. It would have been fine if he was conflicted about his feelings for her but to actually see dating her as a viable option was ... awful. And I couldn't get past it to enjoy the episode as a whole.

I know there was a TNG where Riker was split. Honestly can't remember if that character and Troi dated or not? If so, wonder if it was handled any better.

On the plus side, the ice field scene was pretty cool.
2/4
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Tue, Apr 16, 2019, 2:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: Mirror, Mirror

Interesting to me that the mirror universe episode is one of the most progressive in TOS (I'm running through them in order for the first time). The Marlena character and Kirk's expression that she should want for more really impressed me, and I barely hear about them when this one is mentioned. A great hour in a middling batch.
Set Bookmark
Chris
Fri, Apr 12, 2019, 9:05am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Sanctuary

"When Frakes directed the similar peripheral plot Insurrection 20 years ago, he made that film a comedy."

Huh? Don't understand this comment at all. It had a few comedic scenes but it was a straight drama for the most part. And the stakes were pretty high.

I have had major problems with the Orville from episode one and was continually asking myself why I continued to watch a show that annoyed me. I am glad I stuck with it. The 2nd half of season 2 has finally hit it's stride and I am actually looking forward to each episode.

This was another well written episode with very little distracting "humor." It presented the issues with some nuance and had a fairly realistic ending (there is no simple resolution to social problems).

3.5 for me.
Set Bookmark
Yet Another Chris
Wed, Apr 3, 2019, 12:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Homestead

I'll agree with Charles. It was depressing seeing Neelix take up residence on a dead rock for ever and all time. All the same, his send off was nicely done.

Along with others, I'd hated Neelix at the start. He looked like a Farscape character and definitely seemed to be the Jar Jar Binks of Trek. He came a long way, though; however, it should be said that part of the reason he stood out is because most of the other characters stepped backward (i.e. fell totally flat). But he wound up being a really likable character, and he deserved to see Earth more than most.
Set Bookmark
Chris
Mon, Apr 1, 2019, 2:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

Control Control Control??? April_Fools_Made_me_laugh Control Control CControl CControl
Set Bookmark
Chris
Fri, Mar 29, 2019, 10:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

@Tom R

"Does anyone also dislike how Star Trek, AGAIN, isn’t really Discovering anything outside its sphere?? It’s all self-contained. Besides for the great episode where we went to Saru’s homeworld, the universe seems so small. I thought the Red Angel would be an alien...kinda let down.

What’s the point of show? They aren’t discovering anything “out there.”

Yeah it's kind of a bummer that they went down this path; although this season is much better than season 1. Was really hoping they would start "seeking out new life and new civilizations", as cliched as that sounds. And the Universe does seem small, especially the Federation. I was really hoping with their big budget to see more cool space stuff like star bases, more ships, maybe some intense space battles / standoffs, and more unique space settings with unique ideas / moral quandaries waiting to be explored, etc.. Alas, while entertaining and enjoyable, we ended up with Star Trek: Burnham. I'll take it, but was really hoping for something with a bit more substance and imagination perhaps.
Set Bookmark
Chris
Thu, Mar 21, 2019, 9:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

So, I'm not going to over think this one. It was an enjoyable episode. The relationship between Gordon and Laura was sweet. The humor with Bortus (mostly) worked (could do without he and his partner always at each others throats). I'm going with 3/4 .... it wasn't an original premise and the stakes were low but I thought it was charming.
Set Bookmark
Chrissy
Wed, Mar 20, 2019, 7:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Memorial

She made the wrong decision. The monument planted memories in people that traumatized them, it was an assault. It should have been shut down, what if someone comes along and can't interpret the warning buoy, or it stops working? Janeway's decision was wrong.
Set Bookmark
Chris
Fri, Mar 15, 2019, 1:26am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

As a side, I always felt the future probe was from the red angel. Was I wrong to assume this?
Set Bookmark
Chris
Fri, Mar 15, 2019, 1:22am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

@ matthew: I think that's right.

However, I feel like this episode insinuates that it was Control that had her hacked, not the future probe. Did anyone else feel that way?
So, was Ariam compromised by the future probe? Or was she compromised by 'Control' / Section 31? Do we know for certain that the future probe is in fact part of Control? Am I just being dumb?

Either way, I found these last few episodes very entertaining with great writing and acting. Significant improvement over season 1. I just wish they would stop referring to it as the 'red angel' now that they know it's a humanoid from the future. Comes off as a bit cheesy especially when science should trump religion in the 23rd century. But then again, DS9 had lots of religious themes surrounding the prophets etc..

And as mentioned above, did Arium actually download her memories into Discovery's computer? I feel like there was a lot of 'downloading' going on over these past couple eps and didn't quite catch that...
Set Bookmark
chris
Thu, Mar 14, 2019, 5:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Blood of Patriots

I know this is the internet but can we stick to critiquing the show and not one another?
Set Bookmark
Chris
Sat, Mar 9, 2019, 8:04am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Blood of Patriots

"I'm super forgiving of this show's warts; probably more than I should be. For example, they had me in this one the second I saw Mackenzie Astin. Totally sold by way of my first 80s fangirl crush. It's not that I don't see the flaws the rest of you do. It's that they don't really impact my enjoyment of the show. In another series they might but I'm pretty easy going on Seth MacFarlane's trek fanfic. It's exactly what I need it to be."

Totally get this! This is me and "Supergirl." I am somewhat hard on this show because I really want it to be better AND I think it has the potential to be better. I believe it would improve if Seth McFarlane would step back and do less. Let better writers take the characters and see what they can do. Lets face it, Gene Roddenberry created Trek BUT he also wrote some of the worst episodes.
Set Bookmark
Chris
Thu, Mar 7, 2019, 9:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Blood of Patriots

Well, this week was a mess. Boring with some of the worst dialogue of the season. "Patriotism is only for people with large families" .... What does that even mean??? Lol. The boarding "requirements" scene for the krill (on the eve of a historic peace treaty) wasn't funny or clever .. it was just stupid. Malloys friend was horrible ... hard to care about the character when he portrayed him as an ass the entire episode. No follow-up on Isaac. The Krill were given nothing interesting to do. Just a misfire. 1.5/4.
Set Bookmark
Chris
Thu, Feb 28, 2019, 9:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

A step down from Part 1 (which, admittedly, is true of most Trek 2 parters) but still ok. I know the space battle was supposed to be "epic" but there was so much going on it just kind of bored me. The effects, as usual, were pretty great. The episode just felt rushed. At one point I thought maybe it would be a 3 parter but instead they just crammed a ton of exposition and action scenes together and called it a day. Not sure if I want to give it a 2.5 or a 3.
Set Bookmark
Chris
Mon, Feb 25, 2019, 3:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Point of Light

Two stars is really generous, I'd have given it a half at best. Terrible storytelling, terrible camerawork. Why all the haste? I hope the next episodes (I'm catching up) are more like the first two of season 2. I wouldn't mind never seeing a Discovery Klingon again ...
Next ►Page 1 of 19
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.