Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 464 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 19
Set Bookmark
Chris H.
Tue, Oct 22, 2019, 11:09am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Little Green Men

I loved the episode. Clever on bunch of levels.
The MPs really took it on the chin in this one! They are outsmarted, tricked, punched and knocked out without a smidge of resistance!
Next, the General and his 2 MP escort are all polished off by one guy in 10 seconds while all 3 are armed and 2 had batons! No one even gets off a shot and all of them are out cold within 10 seconds and their mission a failure. Does anyone ever get in trouble...?
When I was in ROTC I worked with the MPs. Whenever I see them in shows like this, one always asks....would that have happened to us? How would we feel if it did?

Chris
Set Bookmark
Chris H.
Tue, Oct 22, 2019, 10:59am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Devil in the Dark

The security department really took it on the chin in this one! 1st the whole reason the Enterprise came was so trained guards with Phaser2s would be deployed against the "monster" Yet, first think that happens is one of the security guards is killed with his phaser2 and never even gets off a shot!
Next, the Chief of Security and his whole team, while armed with phasers again, are outsmarted and overpowered by a team of miners with clubs. No one even gets off a stun shot and all of them are out cold within 10 seconds and their mission a failure. Does anyone ever get in trouble...?

Chris
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Thu, Sep 26, 2019, 11:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Rascals

The kids carry it and keep it from being unwatchable (did they ADR little Guinan's dialogue? Otherwise wow) and it would have been a stronger episode if the Ferengis were behind the de-aging plot.
Set Bookmark
Chris Clancy
Mon, Sep 23, 2019, 9:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

Saw "The Drumhead" again this morning in Japan. It had been a long time since I last viewed it. The title jogged my memory; I recalled having enjoyed the episode. The recurring theme of Picard in the courtroom is certainly memorable. Though acting in his own defense may not carry the same dramatic effect as his defense of Data in "Measure of a Man," Picard's quoting Judge Aaron Satie is effective. "The first time any man's freedom is trodden on, we're all damaged." How poignant this line rings in this day and age.
Set Bookmark
Chris
Sun, Aug 18, 2019, 4:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Two Days and Two Nights

Whaaattt? Kirk hit on every woman he met! " as if human beings were above the very notion of having a sex drive [on Trek]." Please!
Set Bookmark
Chris
Sun, Aug 18, 2019, 3:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Desert Crossing

Imperial Dunes, California was also used in a few Star Wars films, too. We really do have a lot of interesting places here. ;)
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Mon, Aug 12, 2019, 10:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Future Imperfect

The alien reveal, for all of the minute it's on screen, takes too much guff. Especially in a series full of goofiness like this.

This felt a little tighter in the writing department. Intrigue and twists that don't insult your intelligence.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Mon, Aug 12, 2019, 3:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Remember Me

The first half is classic Frasier; dancing around the details to cause more confusion. I checked out for the technobabble second half. Gotta love how the Enterprise is mostly functional with only one or two people on board.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Wed, Jul 3, 2019, 12:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Manhunt

"I am not amused." - Captain Picard

Of course he chooses Gangster World as a place to relax. This show is a real test of patience.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Thu, Jun 27, 2019, 12:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Schizoid Man

Working through these episodes, I constantly find myself thinking "This was bad, but it didn't have to be!" It's amazing that small, intelligent changes and a greater attention to detail would have elevated almost all of this stuff. Instead, the crew of the Enterprise is repeatedly caught with their pants down, and in this case the villain doesn't even bother to hide his new status.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Sun, Jun 23, 2019, 10:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Skin of Evil

@Ari Paul "I'm rooting for Armus."

Perfect.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Mon, Jun 17, 2019, 7:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: 11001001

Didn't much like the episode, but I really appreciated the higher level of production. Very nice direction and music.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Wed, May 29, 2019, 10:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Code of Honor

Watching in canon order, going from the last episode of TOS where we learn women can't be starship captains (and TOS' horny gender politics in general) to this, episode 3 of TNG, where Starfleet's bad attitude toward females has been passed off to Planet Africa, is a jarring and hilarious experience.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Sun, May 19, 2019, 2:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country

Just saw this again for the fifth or sixth time. Boy, do I love this movie! It's the best retirement these characters could ever get, and the Cold War commentary is so very inspirational. Everything about it just works, especially that boldly different soundtrack. What a joy.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Mon, May 13, 2019, 12:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

Great movie, and the sections with just music and little to no dialogue still rope me in. It's pure nerd indulgence (if you're the right kind of nerd) and I love it. I'm also reminded that Kirk, in my opinion, is a better character in the films than in the show. Dealing with age, twilight years, death and the yearning for old friends all make him a character much easier to like. The show spends so much time selling Kirk as the ultimate, while the movies reinforce that he is very much just a man.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Thu, May 9, 2019, 5:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Way to Eden

Not good, but not the worst of the season.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Thu, May 9, 2019, 4:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Requiem for Methuselah

I know it was impossible as I hoped for it, but I still really wish Rayna would have rejected both men, hopped on a starship and took off to do her own thing. Instead they killed her. Oh well. Let's get back to lovesick Kirk, before he's off to his next lady conquest of the week.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Mon, May 6, 2019, 6:18am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: Plato's Stepchildren

I got to witness the characters feel the pain that I've felt watching this third season, and it wasn't satisfying at all.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Wed, May 1, 2019, 2:52am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: The Ultimate Computer

Finally, something to chew on. Like a few here, I also thought at first that making the M-5 "evil" was undercutting the concept, but tying it to Daystrom and his flaws makes perfect sense. This instantly brought to mind the Avengers comic book storyline "Ultron Unlimited," where it's revealed that the murderous Ultron's brain engrams were based on his creator, Hank Pym. I really enjoy this idea and its resonance in fiction.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Tue, Apr 30, 2019, 10:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: Return to Tomorrow

About a third of the way through, right around Kirk's big speech, I thought to myself "hey, we might have something special here!" And then it turned into the same old shit.

Nice to see Nimoy get to show some range, though. He was very slick here.
Set Bookmark
Chris
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 10:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

Wonderful effects. Liked scruffy Ed. Good music (very reminiscent of Star Trek 2). No out of place humor. Dull story. Felt like I had seen it all before; which can be an obvious downside to a show that borrows so heavily from other shows. It was ok. A 2.5/4. Hope the show is renewed because, overall, this season has been a big improvement.
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Tue, Apr 23, 2019, 10:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: The Trouble With Tribbles

Nice Klingon continuity and some very pleasant light comedy, but not all that great. And on that scale it's one of the better episodes of TOS. Moonie is right, watching "Trials" immediately after is a lot of fun. I just love how the Klingons wiped out the tribbles and the DS9 crew brings them back!
Set Bookmark
Chris
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 2:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

That was extremely good looking rubbish. I recently watched the pilot of DS9 again and it had more intelligent dialog than 2 seasons of Discovery put together. So little of the constant emotional overdrive is earned, they are not even trying with the tech aspects, it really is a swell looking overproduced mess.
Set Bookmark
Chris
Thu, Apr 18, 2019, 9:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

While there were some decent aspects in the episode, the central premise (that Ed would date a younger Kelly while current Kelly was present) was a huge mistake. It made Ed look like an unfeeling moron. Can't believe anyone thought that was a good idea. It would have been fine if he was conflicted about his feelings for her but to actually see dating her as a viable option was ... awful. And I couldn't get past it to enjoy the episode as a whole.

I know there was a TNG where Riker was split. Honestly can't remember if that character and Troi dated or not? If so, wonder if it was handled any better.

On the plus side, the ice field scene was pretty cool.
2/4
Set Bookmark
Other Chris
Tue, Apr 16, 2019, 2:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: Mirror, Mirror

Interesting to me that the mirror universe episode is one of the most progressive in TOS (I'm running through them in order for the first time). The Marlena character and Kirk's expression that she should want for more really impressed me, and I barely hear about them when this one is mentioned. A great hour in a middling batch.
Next ►Page 1 of 19
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.