Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 434 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 18
Set Bookmark
Chrissy
Wed, Mar 20, 2019, 7:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Memorial

She made the wrong decision. The monument planted memories in people that traumatized them, it was an assault. It should have been shut down, what if someone comes along and can't interpret the warning buoy, or it stops working? Janeway's decision was wrong.
Set Bookmark
Chris
Fri, Mar 15, 2019, 1:26am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

As a side, I always felt the future probe was from the red angel. Was I wrong to assume this?
Set Bookmark
Chris
Fri, Mar 15, 2019, 1:22am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

@ matthew: I think that's right.

However, I feel like this episode insinuates that it was Control that had her hacked, not the future probe. Did anyone else feel that way?
So, was Ariam compromised by the future probe? Or was she compromised by 'Control' / Section 31? Do we know for certain that the future probe is in fact part of Control? Am I just being dumb?

Either way, I found these last few episodes very entertaining with great writing and acting. Significant improvement over season 1. I just wish they would stop referring to it as the 'red angel' now that they know it's a humanoid from the future. Comes off as a bit cheesy especially when science should trump religion in the 23rd century. But then again, DS9 had lots of religious themes surrounding the prophets etc..

And as mentioned above, did Arium actually download her memories into Discovery's computer? I feel like there was a lot of 'downloading' going on over these past couple eps and didn't quite catch that...
Set Bookmark
chris
Thu, Mar 14, 2019, 5:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Blood of Patriots

I know this is the internet but can we stick to critiquing the show and not one another?
Set Bookmark
Chris
Sat, Mar 9, 2019, 8:04am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Blood of Patriots

"I'm super forgiving of this show's warts; probably more than I should be. For example, they had me in this one the second I saw Mackenzie Astin. Totally sold by way of my first 80s fangirl crush. It's not that I don't see the flaws the rest of you do. It's that they don't really impact my enjoyment of the show. In another series they might but I'm pretty easy going on Seth MacFarlane's trek fanfic. It's exactly what I need it to be."

Totally get this! This is me and "Supergirl." I am somewhat hard on this show because I really want it to be better AND I think it has the potential to be better. I believe it would improve if Seth McFarlane would step back and do less. Let better writers take the characters and see what they can do. Lets face it, Gene Roddenberry created Trek BUT he also wrote some of the worst episodes.
Set Bookmark
Chris
Thu, Mar 7, 2019, 9:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Blood of Patriots

Well, this week was a mess. Boring with some of the worst dialogue of the season. "Patriotism is only for people with large families" .... What does that even mean??? Lol. The boarding "requirements" scene for the krill (on the eve of a historic peace treaty) wasn't funny or clever .. it was just stupid. Malloys friend was horrible ... hard to care about the character when he portrayed him as an ass the entire episode. No follow-up on Isaac. The Krill were given nothing interesting to do. Just a misfire. 1.5/4.
Set Bookmark
Chris
Thu, Feb 28, 2019, 9:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

A step down from Part 1 (which, admittedly, is true of most Trek 2 parters) but still ok. I know the space battle was supposed to be "epic" but there was so much going on it just kind of bored me. The effects, as usual, were pretty great. The episode just felt rushed. At one point I thought maybe it would be a 3 parter but instead they just crammed a ton of exposition and action scenes together and called it a day. Not sure if I want to give it a 2.5 or a 3.
Set Bookmark
Chris
Mon, Feb 25, 2019, 3:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Point of Light

Two stars is really generous, I'd have given it a half at best. Terrible storytelling, terrible camerawork. Why all the haste? I hope the next episodes (I'm catching up) are more like the first two of season 2. I wouldn't mind never seeing a Discovery Klingon again ...
Set Bookmark
Chris P
Sun, Feb 24, 2019, 11:32am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Destiny

After reading the entire preceding discussion it feels awkward bringing up an issue I have with the plotting of the episode but this has been bothering me for a few days:

Clearly the Federation participants did not understand the full nature of the experiment. They put full trust in the most duplicitous race the Federation is aware of to perform a procedure on the sacred wormhole. Was Starfleet consulted on this or was this local diplomacy?

The pieces of a prophecy indicating destruction of the wormhole began falling into place. Legitimate concerns, since it was known that the wormhole aliens existed outside of linear time and had the means to communicate with Bajorans. Defiant arrived in the Gamma Quadrant and they saw a comet composed largely of a wormhole-killing substance. At this point Yarka's concerns should have been ringing alarms.

It is here that a decision was made: proceed or suspend. Proceed with the experiment of shooting a mystery beam at the mysterious wormhole. A beam created by a race of people who seem to almost religiously enjoy causing misery and chaos. Shoot this beam of theirs while a once in a trillion years wormhole-killing comet is RIGHT NEXT TO THE WORMHOLE...or suspend operations for a day to let it pass safely out of proximity.

So they launch the rocket during the worst hurricane in 100 years. They launch the boat from its drydock during low tide. They try to break the land speed record on a windy day. It predictably goes horribly and the Cardassians caused their chaos. But a clever Starfleet engineer has a solution! Alter the phaser cannons and eradicate the comet completely!

Sisko then ASSIGNS THE CARDASSIANS to help work on the modification.

...

...

He didn't have them locked up. He didn't have them confined to quarters. He let them put their eyes and hands on Starfleet equipment (ostensibly classified or at least highly sensitive technology) and, when the time came to depart to attempt to shoot the comet, he......took them along. And it turned out the phaser cannons were sabotaged by one of the Cardassians.

In-universe I'm wondering why Sisko was not demoted from his position after this? It all worked out in the end but this kind of negligence was beyond any captain who ever grounded their boat or steered into an iceberg. Out of universe I'm wondering why the writers felt comfortable with this story but I'm also realizing I may be the tiny minority who is bothered by overt contrivance like this, especially from a show that had a busy schedule and probably lacked the time to really tighten things up.

But still. Fuck.

Set Bookmark
chris
Thu, Feb 21, 2019, 9:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

Ok, this was, hands down, the best episode of the Orville. Reminded me a lot of the Voyager 2 part episodes back in the day that were always a cut above the regular series. This was a really good SCIENCE FICTION episode, with no forced humor to pull you out of the show. There were some drags on the show (especially the kid going down to the planet ... it was like the second coming of Boxey) but I have little to complain about. The visuals were excellent and the story moved along well. Hopefully next week will continue the quality. This was a 3.5/4 for me!
Set Bookmark
Chris
Fri, Feb 15, 2019, 6:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Deflectors

Did no one else notice that the code the security officer used was 1701? Overall I thought this was a pretty good episode .... no forced humor and the "mystery" kept me engaged. Kelly's break up was fairly blah but I was never invested in it one way or the other so I didn't really care.
Set Bookmark
Chris
Fri, Feb 15, 2019, 1:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Deflectors


"This is literally groundbreaking television"

LMAO
Set Bookmark
Chris
Fri, Feb 1, 2019, 12:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: A Happy Refrain

Probably the best episode this season. I give them props for not throwing in an action sequence and just letting the episode breathe. I even laughed out loud at one scene (flipping the table over). Character driven with humor that (generally) added to the scenes as opposed to pulling you out of the scene. 3/4 for me.
Set Bookmark
Chris
Thu, Jan 24, 2019, 9:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

So I was actually excited for the first few minutes tonight ... the idea of a "first contact" and the reaction of the crew was a great opening. But then it quickly went downhill. Why would they go to a new planet without doing ANY research? I don't know, maybe I am expecting too much from the show. As always the characters are likable and something keeps me watching the show but I thought this episode was a 2/4 at best. Interesting ideas were squandered and the solution to the problem simply didn't ring true in the slightest. Next weeks looks like it could be fun.
Set Bookmark
Chris
Thu, Jan 17, 2019, 9:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Nothing Left on Earth Excepting Fishes

I give it 2/4. The romance angle didn't land at all for me. Maybe if they spent a few episodes building it up but I wasn't invested in it at all. The pacing wasn't great either .. kind of boring. On the plus side, the effects continue to be top notch and the characters are (generally) likable.
Set Bookmark
Chris Taylor
Fri, Jan 11, 2019, 5:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Home

While I appreciate that the show was more tonally consistent (which made the scene with the new alien crew member more jarring) this episode was pretty boring. I do appreciate that it was a character driven episode but it really drug the first 30 minutes. It was a general improvement over many episodes so I am cautiously optimistic season 2 will be an improvement over season 1.
Set Bookmark
Chris
Fri, Jan 4, 2019, 10:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Brothers

I'm surprised no one has noted the obvious parallel of this story with the Biblical tale of Jacob, Esau, and the stolen birthright. Dr. Soong even says "Esau" when he realizes that he just put the chip in Lore. Maybe it was so obvious that no one else thought it needed to be acknowledged, or maybe I some of you should have paid closer attention in Sunday School. ;) Either way, I thought it was an interesting aspect of the story.
Set Bookmark
Chris Taylor
Sun, Dec 30, 2018, 8:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

So ..... that was ... something.
Set Bookmark
Yet Another Chris
Fri, Dec 28, 2018, 3:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Good Shepherd

As with most episodes of Voyager, this one had potential that it failed live up to it. There need to be more characters who dislike and disapprove of Janeway. She's a smug and dangerous leader, and there ought to be at least a few people who are short with her, if not staging outright mutinies. I thought Mortimer would be that person, but no luck because, you know, Janeway has to come out smelling like roses.

Every potentially adversarial character is either dispensed with immediately, or else their character is inexplicably made tame from one episode to the next. I think this partly explains some people's love of Janeway. It's not because she's a good or interesting character, but because that the writers created the illusion that she's a sound leader by removing any sensible voice of opposition.

That said, I did appreciate that she gave Mortimer the room he needed to dislike her and even to be insubordinate. I just didn't care for her savior complex.
Set Bookmark
Chris
Wed, Nov 14, 2018, 11:39am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Parallels

Geordi LOVES cake! Look at the size of that slice he’s horking
Set Bookmark
Chris Q
Thu, Sep 13, 2018, 9:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

"If there's one thing I've learned over the years, it's that bad news invariably comes in the middle of the night." So, so true.
Set Bookmark
Chris P
Thu, Sep 13, 2018, 3:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Collective

That 1 / 44,437th number is an actual calculation and not made up. Probably worth pointing out since the size disparity is hard to believe.
Set Bookmark
Chris P
Thu, Sep 13, 2018, 3:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: The Haunting of Deck Twelve

I enjoy the episodes whose plot spans the entire ship. It's a good and important opportunity for the directors to remind us of how big Starfleet's ships are. I was reminded of TNG's 'Starship Mine'.

Speaking of big ships, I thought it was interesting that Neelix noted the creature dwelling in an "isolated section of deck 12". A subtle reminder that it a vast enough vessel that there are entire portions of decks that none of the ~144 crew members have use for. Imagine being the person with the quarters closest to this dead zone and learning that they're housing an alien that just tried to kill you....somewhere in the dark. That's scarier than Neelix's story.

I found the episode to be very charming. A nice mix of characters doing what they do best during another horrifying Lovecraftian space incident.

The one plot issue was Voyager not detecting the life form right after leaving the nebula. They have sensors that can detect gravimetric/electromagnetic data across light years but we're to believe that they can't detect it on their hull and crawling around within their walls? Oh well. It's a sign that I enjoyed an episode when I'm interested enough that the lazy reality distortion used to set up the plot is cloaked behind something good.
Set Bookmark
Chris P
Fri, Sep 7, 2018, 12:21am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Collective

To the conversation about defanging the borg I want to add the absolutely insane dialogue sequence from the beginning of the episode:

__________________________________________
"Their ion trail ends directly ahead."

"I'm detecting another vessel, bearing 30 mark 112. It's a borg cube."

"Red Alert. Alter course to intercept."
__________________________________________


So this is what the borg have become. The captain of a technologically inferior ship 1/44737th the volume of a cube just says those words. How was there nobody involved in the production to prevent this script from airing in this state?
Set Bookmark
Chris P
Mon, Sep 3, 2018, 8:20am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Memorial

Voyager's traumatized crewman are forced to repair the object that raped their minds. I couldn't believe that that specific group was chosen by Janeway: Not only do you passionately wish it destroyed, but now you must come down to repair it.

So this technology was quickly deciphered. Isn't this one of the more dangerous WMDs we ever see in Voyager, behind only the Omega Particle and the Malon dump truck? The Delta quadrant is rife with aggressive aliens and I cannot believe that this device was operating after sitting unguarded.

If I were an ambitious captain from a morally flexible fledgling race I would scoop up this weapon of mind control and formulate explicitly nefarious ways to use it. This is an amazing blackmail weapon: put it into a fast ship and fly by (RACE)'s colony at full speed. 40,000 people are now eating each other because they're now cannibals. Skype the (RACE) homeworld and ask if they can spare, perhaps, all of the technology and a small fleet of ships. And don't come near me with your fleet because I'll make your crews think they're territorial wolverines.

So Janeway has to answer not just for refusing to destroy it - and not just for repowering it to inflict its misery upon the next toddler transport ship that flies by (after the Federation-grade buoy inevitably fails...think of how fragile their shuttlecraft are) - but for leaving one of the most dangerous pieces of technology she has ever encountered out for any pirate to scoop up.

Only my mindfulness meditations and my realization that this is a puppet show not worth getting immersed into prevent me from raging at this episode like I did in past viewings. Now it's just a well-made curiosity: a 3 star episode with 0 star morality, reprehensible enough to gross out even pathologically Deontological Trek fans.
Next ►Page 1 of 18
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.