Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 159 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 7
Set Bookmark
borusa
Tue, Jun 2, 2020, 2:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

I shall be brief

I am glad you liked it Jammer.

There was almost nothing salvageable in this series :

1. The hero spacecraft was as uninspiring as the Scorpio from Blake's 7 season 4,as non starfleet a ship as you could get: yes I know it wasn't a fleet ship.
2. Raffy belongs in detox.
3. Seven of Nine as Elen Ripley ; give me a break.
4. The Sheer 'f bomb' hubris syndrome ,effing this ,effing that-utterly puerile writing by ninnies.
5. What was the point of having Legolas in this?

I quite liked a Romulan Borg connection as in Star Trek legacy but it was poorly executed here.

Deconstructing Picard was a nonsense .

The only thing was the scene with Data but even so it was cheesy.
And then they have the unwarranted arrogance to set this up for a second season: of what precisely-Firefly Clone :the show?
Set Bookmark
borusa
Tue, Jun 2, 2020, 2:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Force of Nature

I have looked at my earlier coment and wish to reconsider:

Nothing and I mean nothing of any of my criticisms of various TNG episodes including the really really weak ones from earlier seasons can compare with my abject terror at what they just did to Picard-omg-blade runner synths,cthulhoid Ai monsters from beyond,Picard killed and re born into a minority group artificial body after spending the whole season being portrayed as some irrelevant fuddy duddy imperial colonial elite member of a society that totally does not exist in the star trek universe.

It is agonising and the same wholesale vandalism has been inflicted on Star Wars and Dr Who.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Jan 15, 2020, 4:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Force of Nature

So, Geordi thinks one can train a cat-good luck with that one.
Now I am a cat person-I have always had cats. Cats are great .
However nine minutes into this episode we are being bored senseless by the wholly pointless sub plot about Data's pussycat.
Having the irritating pre Quark Space Goblins turning up is a very bad move but the biggest problem is the main plot.
Jammer has deconstructed this with more skill than I possess but the only proper response from Starfleet to this inconvenient truth would be to immediately recall all starships and scrap warp drive.
Luckily the showrunners conveniently forgot about this problem and if anyone asked they could just say that the new warp ten is the old warp 6 compatible with the new speed limit imposed while starfleet engineers go around the universe fixing all the rifts with gorilla tape.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Sat, Dec 7, 2019, 5:23am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Attached

Oh my goodness-Picard and Crusher have feelings for each other-yes we know-this is hammered into us from Season 1 with brilliant observations from Wesley like 'You knew my father' and continues with garbage like The Naked Now.
If it takes Picard and Crusher a contrived mind link device to hold hands after twenty years they can't be that keen on each other.
Anyhoo, as someone above observes, who cares?
This is supposed to be science fiction a genre label that continues to be misapplied to kindergarten social drama like this forgettable episode to this day.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Sat, Nov 9, 2019, 11:39am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Dark Page

It seems quite inconceivable that this family tragedy was kept secret from Troi.
When Deanna contacts the laconic Mr Hom to ask why her mother might be having a crisis he neglects to mention the deceased sibling but in the last scene we learn that he knew all about it.

Mr Hom is either a complete twit or an inflexible loyal servant -he could have told Deanna what was wrong with his boss but he seems to have preferred to keep her secret to her grave.

This episode wasn't so bad, in my view.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Sat, Oct 26, 2019, 6:48am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Phantasms

Some very nice creepiness in this story.
Some kid havinmg a crush on Geordi that goes nowehere did not fit in to it.
Worf eating counsellor Troi cake might have future significance.
I was initially bored but ended up quite liking this episode.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Thu, Oct 10, 2019, 3:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Gambit

Derivative,somewhat engaging but this would have worked better as a DS9 episode.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Oct 2, 2019, 4:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Interface

Does no one obey Captain Picard's orders?

There were some reasonable moments. The issues of loss were ok, Data came across very well as a true friend willing to put his career at risk to help his pal and Riker's story about his mother was quite good.
However this is TNG so there were equally bad moments.
Troi's cliched psychiatrist's sofa act was pathetic and annoying and Patrick Stewart just trotted out his lines with no conviction whatsoever.
I would really liked to have some Worf interactions here but alas.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Sep 18, 2019, 11:53am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Liaisons

Michael Dorn almost redeems this episode but the space Misery storyline needed Cathy Bates and James Caan not the avuncular Patrick Stewart and whoever Anna was.
It may have helped if Anna had called Picard a 'naughty bird' before smashing his legs with a sledgehammer and given him a novel to write.
'Love Me,LOVE ME!' -OMG,that was unintentionally hilarious wasn't it?

No stars, 3 ion storms from me.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Sep 11, 2019, 4:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Descent, Part II

Well, we are off to a predicatably dreadful start to this ,by now, lumbering SF dinosaur of a show.
No one should care about any of it frankly.
Spiner trots out his sardonic evil twin brother routine for the hundredth time and ,once again ,we have more evidence that Star Fleet really ought to remove Data from active service.
Given how easily he is subborned both he as well as his brother should have been dismantled at the end of this story.

Yep,the emotion chip is set up for its re appearance in the equally appalling Generations but that is hardly a consolation for this tedium.

3 wormholes from me.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Sep 4, 2019, 3:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Descent, Part I

Many points for having Professor nStephen Hawking as a guest.
There are a few intersting bits in here.
Picard is rightly chewed out for not using Hugh to wipe out the Borg.
He also quite courageously ,stands up to Admiral misery guts claiming the moral high ground.
Of course he fails on the pragmagtism test but so did the 4th Doctor in Genesis of the Daleks when he hesitated in destroying the metallic menaces at source.

So: series 6.
There were some nice episodes-Relics was fun, Chain of Command was compelling and I liked Riker doubting his sanity.
Overall though this was ,again ,mostly a collection of mediocre stories at best and often disappointing with touches of Geordi's creepy stalkerness and the overuse of the Klingon story memes.

We are long past the alleged high points and I must say I must have missed them.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Thu, Aug 29, 2019, 4:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Timescape

Almost Decent-ish.
Timescape is the title of a seminal science fiction novel by Gregory Benford.
This episode couldn't hold a candle to that novel but despite a dreadful start ( That darn cat) and the overdone Data as the ingenue
unable ,even after six years, to pick up on the juvenile sexual dialogue about some lecherous creep of a scientist who was trying to get into Troi's knickers we are presented with a reasonable mystery which is let down by the lazy use of alien deus ex machina.
I think the 'we laid our eggs in someone's artificial black hole ' plot element is unintentionally hilarious.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Fri, Aug 23, 2019, 3:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Second Chances

Oh come off it-TOS episode series One-Enemy Within-transporter duplicates Captain Kirk.
This is a more mature but nevertheless reworked version of that story.
The eternal triangle was quite good but absolutely agree that Deanna just leaps at Worf next season only to lose him to Jadzia Dax in DS9-that Worf is a right tart isn't he?
I too cannot see why Will Riker has to be such a bung hole to what ,in effect, is a sort of long lost twin brother.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Fri, Aug 16, 2019, 3:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Rightful Heir

I think that the Klingon stuff had run out of steam by this time-one cannot quite forgive the Birthright story earlier this season and this wasn't much better.
The episode was elevated by the usual star turn from Robert O'Reilly as mad eyes Gowron.

I( think the idea of bringing Kahless back as a clone may have seemed fresh in the nineties but it seems cliched now
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Aug 7, 2019, 3:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Suspicions

I don't have a huge problem with Crusher taking centre stage if it makes sense.
1. As said above why on Earth is Crusher profssionally interested in shield technology? If she had had a secondary interest in engineering it may have helped but she had not as far as we know.
2. Why would the writers think Crusher would make a good Agatha Christie sleuth? Shades of those dreadful holodeck episodes from earlier series.
3. I am sure we all saw the 'first victim faked his own death and is the real killer 'cliche from the first reel.
4. Crusher should have been canned for performing an unauthorised autopsy-I think this is a criminal offence in most jurisdictions in our primitive 21st Century although you can apparently get away with anything in the 24th Century.

The evidence against TNG continues to mount in my book.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Jul 31, 2019, 3:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Frame of Mind

I thought this was a decent episode.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Jul 24, 2019, 4:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: The Chase

Unengaging stuff.
I agree with the Klingon Captain.
Is this contradicting the TOS episode Return to Tomorrow in which our forbears became pure intelligence?

Anyway this was another total yawn fest with a glimmer of something better when the Romulan Captain contacts Picard at the end.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Jun 19, 2019, 3:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Lessons

Dreary,predictable, unengaging.
If I wanted a romantic story I'd read Jane Austen.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Jun 12, 2019, 3:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Starship Mine

So, Riker,Troi , Data and Crusher are plotting to deceive their captors in quiet voices but not whispering in the same room as their captors when no one else is making any noise.
That was a director failure.

As for the villain's plan -if they were just after making a dishonest buck there must be less hazardous ways to do it.
We could have done without Data's small talk experiment and yep I absolutely agree with the major point that Patrick Stewart is no Bruce Willis.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Fri, Jun 7, 2019, 3:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Birthright, Part II

I am usually a Worf/ Klingon tale fan but this two-parter suggests the Klingon culture is crass and brutish -somewhere around Ernest Borgnine and Kirk Douglas' take on the Vikings ( sans any of that movie's fun).

This was a yawn fest of monumental proportions and a pointless story.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Thu, May 30, 2019, 2:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Birthright, Part I

Does Data dream of electric crows?
More Worf ninja stuff-always ends badly.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, May 22, 2019, 4:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Tapestry

'No use crying over spilt milk.'
In this quite decent tale we are reminded of something all of us know instinctively-that everything that happened to us led us to who we are now.

Stewart and De Lancie are great in this one and the story resonates in 'All Good Things' later on.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Sat, May 18, 2019, 4:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Face of the Enemy

I thought this was a pretty decent episode. Carolyn Seymour was great and the tension between the gestapo like Tal Shair and the regular military continues a tradition in televised Romulan society .
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, May 8, 2019, 4:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Aquiel

The Thing meets TNG.
Geordi specialises in creepy stalky relationships so why not have another one.
I did not see the dog as the monster until Geordi is left alone with her.
The episode is down there with most of the others.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Thu, May 2, 2019, 4:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Ship in a Bottle

So we start with Brent Spiner's truly execrable turn as Sherlock Holmes-absolutely horrible as usual.

Thankfully things pick up.

It was nice to have Moriarty back and I loved his moaning on to Barclay about being abandoned and forgotten.
If I was Moriarty I wouldn't believe Picard's obvious lies about Starfleet experts trying to find a way for him to leave the holodeck either-yeah sure Jean-Luc.
That's like Kirk trying to tell Khan he would have come back to check on him on Ceti Alpha VI but life just got in the way.
Stephanie Beacham is fab in this episode and the story is ingenious and fun.

Just keep that deerstalker away from Brent ,please.
Next ►Page 1 of 7
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.