Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all searched results

Total Found: 119 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Nov 28, 2018, 3:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Imaginary Friend

How many times do we have to have the alien energy being slipping into the space ship and causing invisible havoc.

Not only on Trek but Space 1999.

I agree with Jammer's review-completely crappy episode.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Nov 21, 2018, 4:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Perfect Mate

I do not agree with Jammer here.
I cannot believe that the writers have pulled out that worn out plot of incapacitated ambassador replaced by Picard in a rush again.
As for the core business of Picard falling in love, Kirk-like- with the babe of the week-just give me a break guys.
Ok-she is an empathic metamorph who imprints herself on her one true love-so far so Disney channel,causes random rowdy rough types in ten forward ( huh-how did they get on board?) to act like jerks and gets Riker's magic trouser snake going.

The allegedly tragic ending is clumsily telegraphed and mishandled.

I really do not care one jot about it.

One star for having Tim O'Connor in the show as a nod to fans of First Season Buck Rogers
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Nov 14, 2018, 3:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Cost of Living

I concurr with the negative opinions of this episode.

There was nothing original in this yawn fest with the exception of Majel Barrett's rather poignant confession of isolation.

If there ever was a recreational planet as depicted on the holodeck I think I would give the coordinates to the Crystalline Entity.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Nov 7, 2018, 4:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The First Duty

This was a good ,solid story.
I agree with the difficulty of casting the same actor as the expelled ,manipulative bastard Locarno and the more noble but still flawed Tom Paris.
Starfleet Academy the tv show-yike-no thanks.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Oct 31, 2018, 5:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Cause and Effect

I am afraid I cannot join in with the praise for this episode.
Sending a warning to yourselves is dealt with in a superior way in the sf novel Thrice Upon a Time by J P Hogan but ok one cannot match a novel in a tv episode.

The biggest problem for me is that there is maybe 30 minutes of story here and we go through the time loop ploddingly several times .
Credit is due for using different camera angles as the crew begin to have that uneasy deja vue feeling and there is a good turn by the main cast but this is a narrow concept that would take up about a quarter of an episode of the faster moving stuff we are used to these days.

Set Bookmark
borusa
Sat, Oct 20, 2018, 12:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Outcast

I think there are two stories here.
The first is the well-intentioned one having a go at intolerance of alternative sexual lifestyles.
I didn't mind that message driven element although it may well seem clumsy in retrospect.

The second story is episode 9,000,000 of the further adventures of Riker's insatiable trouser snake.
Honestly guys-what were they thinking?-one can only imagine the variant anatomy of true androgynes but that sort of thing won't stop Will's willy of course.

Lock him up,or lock up your daughters and anything else with a pulse!
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Oct 10, 2018, 2:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Ethics

I thought this was another transcendent episode.
All of the characters who served in this episode were well presented eg Riker's position was very well portrayed by Frakes, Picard was able to talk with authority on Klingon cultures because of his role in that arena and it was nice to have Alexander showing understandable concern for his father and confusion over his initial 'Klingon' intransigence.
The ethical dilemmas were shown in a nuanced way.
I liked this one.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Oct 3, 2018, 4:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Power Play

I quite liked the Deadalus class reference and we went on to learn a bit more about Captain Shumar in the Novel Starfleet:Year One.
I quite enjoyed that book.
So Brent does a variation on Lore while Colm just plays a heavy and Marina actually does quite a decent villain.
The possessed characters foiled again by some technobabble solution or other is tired by now though and overall I felt this was a thumbs-down episode.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Sep 26, 2018, 4:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Conundrum

So why didn't the alien race that took over the ship just buy a photon torpedo launcher from a ferengi trader and blow up the enemy installation themselves instead?

I cannot believe this merits 3 stars,Jammer-cliche was piled upon cliche.
Troi beats data at chess as Kirk beats Spock at chess, the crew is once again taken over ,possessed,subborned in an excessively convoluted and unstable plot-Riker gets his leg over everyone in sight.
Oh and Picard ,admittedly having allowed his mind to be taken over, destroys a crew of innocents which is put right with a mere apology?-I don't think so.

Never mind the plot holes-this was not fun.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Sep 19, 2018, 4:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Masterpiece Society

Quite a lot of cliches in this episode but,for me anyway, it worked reasonably well until the last reel.

Haven't we been here before with scientists from an isolated society wanting to run away to space?

I concur with the above views and wonder how masterpiece a society it is that lives in a small bubble on an inhospitable world.
Some aspects of this story were missed or ignored when Enterprise was written. Our colonists are from the 22nd century but are shocked at the idea of transporters. Other comments in the show suggest the transporter was invented around the 23 rd century-oops!
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Sep 12, 2018, 4:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Violations

I agree that the drama in this episode was thrown away by it being obvious that Jeb was the culprit.
The huge offence in this episode is the typically TNG nonsense about humanity having evolved beyond violence by the 2300s.
In A Taste of Armageddon ,I think ,Kirk makes a much less condescending speech about this (" we are killers but we are not going to kill today") and even though Picard reminds us that we retain the potential for violence somehow he just sounds so patronising that we are back to the awful first season all over again.
One to be flushed down the intergalactic toilet.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Sep 12, 2018, 4:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Hero Worship

TNG should have stayed away from cod psychology and who would consider it a good idea to have a grieving child assisted by an emotionally dead robot?
Apart from the fact that Data is of course nothing like that as executed by Brent Spiner.

Void reflecting shields back at you?
Whatever-not interested.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Aug 29, 2018, 3:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: New Ground

I rather liked this episode with Worf having to deal with fatherhood.
Alexander's misbehaving seemed convincing enough to me but I do get the point about it needing to be a Klingon child being bad as humans are altogether paragons of virtue in Rodenberry's unrealistic humanist vision of the future.

Michael Dorn , as usual, makes this episode work.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Aug 22, 2018, 2:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: A Matter of Time

Ah yep-the unbelievably irritating guest star ruining an already dodgy episode.
Not quite as infuriating as the appallingly dreadful turn given by Saul Rubineck in The Most Toys but well on the way.
A contemptible pile of reeking pooh and no mistake.

Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Aug 15, 2018, 5:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Unification

"Commander Sela-sit down please and welcome to your end of year appraisal.
Please do not be distracted by the sounds of disruptor pistols and screams from down the corridor.
That is just Senator Pardek taking the honourable exit following the inevitable failure of your invasion-well can we really call it a 'plot'?"

Part One had such promise but Part two was so rubbish despite some gravitas laden performances by Nimoy and Stewart.
Set Bookmark
Borusa
Wed, Aug 1, 2018, 3:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Game

A bad start as Riker is acting like an annoying horny teenager again.

Having the entire crew brainwashed. subborned or possessed worked well in the old pocket books TOS novels but it was a cliche by the time of TNG.
The crew is too easily ensnared but as noted before TNG often turns into a seventies porn movie pastiche and that happens here as the crew are all getting off all over the place.
The erotic moment of the series goes to Marina Sirtis describing how she gets off with her sundae while Riker looks on barely containing himself.
Yes ,Marina you have to run the chocolate ice cream around the rim.
I think that is an arrestable offence in several states.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Thu, Jul 26, 2018, 3:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

Another one I remembered from the original run and for the wrong reasons.

Throughout the episode we are led to believe there are many fatalities.
Well we only see one dead bridge officer-not anyone we ever met before.
If a quantum filament can do that much damage to a Galaxy Class ship it is a wonder there is still a fleet.
Mind you this episode at least confirms that the 1701D was just thrown together by some cowboys and should fail its MOT.
Seriously-the ship's systems are that fragile?

I agree with Jammer.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Jul 18, 2018, 5:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

If the Enterprise was confronted by a Borg cube rather than a space chandelier there would be no question-kill the Borg if you have a chance.
The overgrown quartz monster is far too dangerous to be allowed to run free .
The Doc was right
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Jul 18, 2018, 5:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Ensign Ro

A female starfleet officer commits a grave breach of duty, she is court martialled and sent to a penal colony.
Some time later a senior starfleet officer arranges her release and she is assigned to our heroes' ship where she is met with initial distrust and shunned except for one or two exceptions.
Later we discover that the starfleet officer behind her release has unscrupulous reasons for his actions.

No one yelled their hatred for this plot when TNG did it but when the character is Michael Burnham there was no end of an outcry.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Jul 4, 2018, 5:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Darmok

Jammer-you must be kidding!
This is one of the best and most memorable TNG episodes, easily worth 4 stars IMHO.
Perhaps I feel that is so as I am a sucker for mythology but although the planetary drama could be taken as another visit to the 'Enemy Mine' scenario the struggle to communicate through the virtually impenetrable metaphorical Tamarian language raises this above that cliched territory.
Picard is just right for the everyman role in this episode.

A treasured story.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Jun 27, 2018, 4:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Redemption, Part II

Hmmm

Worf-I am a Klingon-but only when it suits me.
Sela-what,why?-no hang on Picard cannot now be confronted with the other timeline he didn't stay in or something-I don't know and my brain hurts.No doubt The Doctor could sort all this timey wimey stuff out by waving his sonic screwdriver a bit.
Data versus a jerk-hmm-getting a bit old-someone above comments Data never gets emotional-that is cos his emotion chip is in the jam jar in his quarters.
Problem solving with technobullshit as usual-why is that nicely done,Data-it is just lazy writing.

Yep part two failing to live up to part one -business as usual.

B
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Jun 20, 2018, 3:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Redemption, Part I

I liked the set pieces in this episode-Worf's departure with his friends honouring him, the delightfully malevolent Duras sisters' debut ( they were not as effective later on I think), Worf's regaining of honour and pretty much all the Worf . Kurn, Gowron stuff.

So: series 4:

I think I would accept that we have now started down the track of better quality stories.

There was a great start with Family,Brothers and shows like Nth Degree were watcheable.
Notable exceptions that I have little love or time for include Q'Pid, In Theory and Half a Life.

However overall this series marked a turning point .

I have to say it though-these successes are in spite of the fact that the premise for the show is distinctly flawed IMHO.

I run a current Star Trek rpg and it is noticeable that there are some of us who are ,like me, very ancient souls who watched the original series originally and for whom star trek is Kirk,Spock and Bones and then there are younger people who grew up on TNG.

The same thing is happening with Dr Who

The two groups have very distinct formative experiences as a result.

I never got on with the TNG crew.

I really like Enterprise though.

So ,for me, Star Trek is shoot from the hip, punch ups wih the Klingons and mitigated with some sharp comment on then current political and social issues.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Jun 13, 2018, 3:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: In Theory

I did feel sorry for poor old Data in the last scene, sitting all by himself with just Spot to console him after being dumped by Sarah Conner's twin sister.
Not that he is supposed to have cared of course.

Riker's 'Wahay-go get some ,Data', approach was entirely predictable but it was Geordie-the man with the holodeck girlfriend-who warned his fried that Jenna was just on the rebound.

Another forgettable soap opera hour.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Jun 6, 2018, 3:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Mind's Eye

I absolutely loved this episode channeling The Manchurian Candidate and teeing up the Romulan plot against the Klingon Empire soon to be realised.
I had forgotten the shadowy Denise Crosby presence.
This was all executed with style and a genuinely chilling performance by Burton which continued right to the last scene where Troi begins the painstaking task of helping Geordie reconstruct his lost memories.

Now, we would more easily appreciate the likely PTSD that would need to be addressed but I guess that was not such a known problem in 1991.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, May 30, 2018, 3:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

I thought this was a good episode.
The 'alien peace bringer who is suddenly incapacitated' storyline is getting way too worn out to be accepted but as Jammer says the main
theme is 'what is love' ( by Olivia Neutron Bomb).
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.