Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 146 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 6
Set Bookmark
borusa
Fri, Aug 16, 2019, 3:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Rightful Heir

I think that the Klingon stuff had run out of steam by this time-one cannot quite forgive the Birthright story earlier this season and this wasn't much better.
The episode was elevated by the usual star turn from Robert O'Reilly as mad eyes Gowron.

I( think the idea of bringing Kahless back as a clone may have seemed fresh in the nineties but it seems cliched now
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Aug 7, 2019, 3:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Suspicions

I don't have a huge problem with Crusher taking centre stage if it makes sense.
1. As said above why on Earth is Crusher profssionally interested in shield technology? If she had had a secondary interest in engineering it may have helped but she had not as far as we know.
2. Why would the writers think Crusher would make a good Agatha Christie sleuth? Shades of those dreadful holodeck episodes from earlier series.
3. I am sure we all saw the 'first victim faked his own death and is the real killer 'cliche from the first reel.
4. Crusher should have been canned for performing an unauthorised autopsy-I think this is a criminal offence in most jurisdictions in our primitive 21st Century although you can apparently get away with anything in the 24th Century.

The evidence against TNG continues to mount in my book.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Jul 31, 2019, 3:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Frame of Mind

I thought this was a decent episode.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Jul 24, 2019, 4:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: The Chase

Unengaging stuff.
I agree with the Klingon Captain.
Is this contradicting the TOS episode Return to Tomorrow in which our forbears became pure intelligence?

Anyway this was another total yawn fest with a glimmer of something better when the Romulan Captain contacts Picard at the end.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Jun 19, 2019, 3:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Lessons

Dreary,predictable, unengaging.
If I wanted a romantic story I'd read Jane Austen.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Jun 12, 2019, 3:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Starship Mine

So, Riker,Troi , Data and Crusher are plotting to deceive their captors in quiet voices but not whispering in the same room as their captors when no one else is making any noise.
That was a director failure.

As for the villain's plan -if they were just after making a dishonest buck there must be less hazardous ways to do it.
We could have done without Data's small talk experiment and yep I absolutely agree with the major point that Patrick Stewart is no Bruce Willis.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Fri, Jun 7, 2019, 3:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Birthright, Part II

I am usually a Worf/ Klingon tale fan but this two-parter suggests the Klingon culture is crass and brutish -somewhere around Ernest Borgnine and Kirk Douglas' take on the Vikings ( sans any of that movie's fun).

This was a yawn fest of monumental proportions and a pointless story.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Thu, May 30, 2019, 2:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Birthright, Part I

Does Data dream of electric crows?
More Worf ninja stuff-always ends badly.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, May 22, 2019, 4:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Tapestry

'No use crying over spilt milk.'
In this quite decent tale we are reminded of something all of us know instinctively-that everything that happened to us led us to who we are now.

Stewart and De Lancie are great in this one and the story resonates in 'All Good Things' later on.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Sat, May 18, 2019, 4:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Face of the Enemy

I thought this was a pretty decent episode. Carolyn Seymour was great and the tension between the gestapo like Tal Shair and the regular military continues a tradition in televised Romulan society .
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, May 8, 2019, 4:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Aquiel

The Thing meets TNG.
Geordi specialises in creepy stalky relationships so why not have another one.
I did not see the dog as the monster until Geordi is left alone with her.
The episode is down there with most of the others.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Thu, May 2, 2019, 4:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Ship in a Bottle

So we start with Brent Spiner's truly execrable turn as Sherlock Holmes-absolutely horrible as usual.

Thankfully things pick up.

It was nice to have Moriarty back and I loved his moaning on to Barclay about being abandoned and forgotten.
If I was Moriarty I wouldn't believe Picard's obvious lies about Starfleet experts trying to find a way for him to leave the holodeck either-yeah sure Jean-Luc.
That's like Kirk trying to tell Khan he would have come back to check on him on Ceti Alpha VI but life just got in the way.
Stephanie Beacham is fab in this episode and the story is ingenious and fun.

Just keep that deerstalker away from Brent ,please.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Apr 24, 2019, 3:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part II

Hmm-I still think Babylon 5 did this better.
This is nevertheless better than part one but there were some low points such as Riker showing his inability to manage his new Captain, the rather unlikely saboutaging of the entire Cardassian task force by planting mines , the inexplicable perceived value of Picard's knoweldge of federation tactical plans to defend some planet to the Cardassians ( all the possible tactics would surely be anticipated by a competent military force of equivalent power to the Federation) and the inevitable series re set at the end .

I would think that the silly admiral whose gullibility nearly lost the Federation a valuable officer would at least be chained to a harmless desk job after this near cock up.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Apr 17, 2019, 3:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part I

This is the completely disposable set up for Picard's interrogation by David Warner in Part 2-as I recall a pretty decent episode.
Picard,Crusher and Worf cut ridiculous figures as high tech ninjas cavorting around in caves and tunnels.
Ronny Cox ( can't quite seperate him from his character in Robocop) is fine as Jellico right up until he seems to lose it with the Cardassians ( for real or mind games) and I felt every sympathy with him having to deal with whiny Riker who should have been put on report for failing to carry out his rota shift change order.

None of this episode really matters though as previously noted.

Oh, and although Picard's interrogation in part 2 was good, in my view Babylon 5 did this much better when Sheridan was captured by President Clarke's forces ,tortured and quizzed in a B5 episode made a few years later.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Thu, Apr 11, 2019, 3:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: The Quality of Life

When I was very young I had a Dalek annual which contained two stories about a wonderful self propelled mini robot called an Orbitus. This re purposed Dalek invention could repair space rockets, project cinema films on a kid's wall, foil bank robbers and be your best pal.
I really wanted one.
The exocomps reminded me of the Orbitus in some ways.

Disengage nostalgia programme...
So we have this tedious rehash of some of the ideas from The Measure of a Man-itself a bore in my view.
In the inescapable briefing room scene in which the weekly irritant is badgered by the crew we think we are dealing with an assertion that the exocomps may be alive.
Then, out of absolutely nowhere the ever annoying Dr Crusher whines about the exocomps being possibly intelligent life forms.
No one had previously said anything about them being intelligent-Data was just defending them on the basis of being alive-like a single celled organism is alive.
So we conflate life with sapient life and then of course we get the whole nonsense about Data's latest mutiny and the noble robots sacrificing themselves and then suddenly the antagonist is reformed in time for the end credits and Picard condones Data's disobedience.

Yep-down the plug hole we go again.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Mar 27, 2019, 5:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: A Fistful of Datas

I agree with the review except for the inexplicable comment about Brent Spiner-his psychopathic western villain ( Lore by any other name) was about as good as his Sherlock Holmes-forgettable.
However it isn't the actors' fault particularly. The writer and director deserve the blame here.

No stars I think.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Mar 13, 2019, 5:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Rascals

I shall try to be brief.

Just when you think that TNG cannot sink any lower it drops several storeys.
Cute humorous stories are tricky to pull off and this fails.
Who the heck thought that the ridiculous Space Goblins that bombed so badly in season one were ever going to be credible villains or that said nitwits could so easily overwhelm the crew of a federation starship?
Well, of course, the writers of this episode thought so and someone gave this script the thumbs up.

The evidence against TNG still outweighs the evidence in favour and we are nearing the last laps.

Maybe what has been learnt in recent years is the value of shorter seasons of quality stories against the old idea of multiple episodes of crap with some gems in between.

What really cracks me up is all those Star Trek Discovery haters who hold up TNG as some kind of pinnacle of Star Trek merit-well every single episode of Star Trek Discovery outclasses almost any TNG episode in my estimation.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Mar 6, 2019, 3:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: True Q

About as original as Dolly the Sheep this is just another version of Charlie's Law from TOS with precisely the same ethical dilemma about allowing an undisciplined super being free reign.
John de Lancie almost saves this ZZZ fest but even he can't redeem it.
Garbage ending-and the beginning and middle weren't much to write home about either.
Half a star is too generous.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Feb 27, 2019, 3:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Schisms

There was a neat spoof of grey alien abductions as a sidebar in an episode of Babylon 5 which is much more fun than this episode.

When the characters are in the holodeck they are joined by some random woman in a lounge suit who they all accept.
I was convinced she was an alien fooling with their minds.

Not so-she was -well -I have no idea who she was supposed to be-she was never explained.

There was the usual excess of technobabble in this episode .

Having moaned a bit this was an effectively scary story.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Feb 20, 2019, 4:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Relics

I liked this episode despite the flaws that have been mentioned by those above.
That is , up until the last scene which makes zero sense and exceeds shmalz levels.

From the novels we know Captain Scott goes off to head up the Starfleet Corps of Engineers but as far as the viewers of this episode knows he just flies off into the figurative sunset on his own in a shuttle.
Does he know where he is going -what would he do when he got there-has he got a packed lunch?
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Feb 13, 2019, 3:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Man of the People

The episode doesn't work as Science Fiction because it draws heavily from Oscar Wilde's original.
So there is a wholly Hammer Horror story denoument that is too supernatural for this genre.
I bet Marina Sirtis loved camping it up and the guy playing ambassador baddie must have enjoyed the rapid ageing and death scene at the end.

Utter campy crap-but I am hoping that was the intention.

As for politically savvy drama-hmm sorry-don't buy it.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Feb 6, 2019, 3:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Realm of Fear

So why were the crewmember giant slugs again?
Oh no don't worry.


The missing crewmembers idea and out of phase slug like aliens all feature in 'The Vanished' a scenario for Fasa's Star Trek rpg written in 1983-oops!
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Jan 30, 2019, 3:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Time's Arrow, Part II

Ok, so Picard avoided committing genocide by not el,iminating the Borg collective through Hugh last season cos-you know-genocide is very very bad and then without a shred of thought let alone soul searching the energy vampires from planet inane are entirely wiped out.
'Maybe we could negotiate?'
'Nope'
'K then,bye'
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Jan 16, 2019, 4:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Time's Arrow, Part I

I liked this one although it borrows hugely from TOS: City on the Edge of Forever .

so: Season 5-again a few very fair and good episodes ( Darmok, Inner Light eg) eclipsed by the mediocre.
I can't bear to think about episodes like The First Duty or I,Bore and that one with the Ferengi and Lwaxana Troi.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Thu, Jan 3, 2019, 3:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

The incongruity of the differing levels of technology are forgivable because the story is so powerful and emotive.
This is surely one of the ,if not the best TNG episodes.
I think it must be one that everyone tends to remember just like The Other Side of the Sky fills that slot certainly for me in DS9 and City on the Edge of Forever in TOS

Bravo TNG.
Next ►Page 1 of 6
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.