Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 133 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 6
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Apr 17, 2019, 3:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part I

This is the completely disposable set up for Picard's interrogation by David Warner in Part 2-as I recall a pretty decent episode.
Picard,Crusher and Worf cut ridiculous figures as high tech ninjas cavorting around in caves and tunnels.
Ronny Cox ( can't quite seperate him from his character in Robocop) is fine as Jellico right up until he seems to lose it with the Cardassians ( for real or mind games) and I felt every sympathy with him having to deal with whiny Riker who should have been put on report for failing to carry out his rota shift change order.

None of this episode really matters though as previously noted.

Oh, and although Picard's interrogation in part 2 was good, in my view Babylon 5 did this much better when Sheridan was captured by President Clarke's forces ,tortured and quizzed in a B5 episode made a few years later.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Thu, Apr 11, 2019, 3:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: The Quality of Life

When I was very young I had a Dalek annual which contained two stories about a wonderful self propelled mini robot called an Orbitus. This re purposed Dalek invention could repair space rockets, project cinema films on a kid's wall, foil bank robbers and be your best pal.
I really wanted one.
The exocomps reminded me of the Orbitus in some ways.

Disengage nostalgia programme...
So we have this tedious rehash of some of the ideas from The Measure of a Man-itself a bore in my view.
In the inescapable briefing room scene in which the weekly irritant is badgered by the crew we think we are dealing with an assertion that the exocomps may be alive.
Then, out of absolutely nowhere the ever annoying Dr Crusher whines about the exocomps being possibly intelligent life forms.
No one had previously said anything about them being intelligent-Data was just defending them on the basis of being alive-like a single celled organism is alive.
So we conflate life with sapient life and then of course we get the whole nonsense about Data's latest mutiny and the noble robots sacrificing themselves and then suddenly the antagonist is reformed in time for the end credits and Picard condones Data's disobedience.

Yep-down the plug hole we go again.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Mar 27, 2019, 5:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: A Fistful of Datas

I agree with the review except for the inexplicable comment about Brent Spiner-his psychopathic western villain ( Lore by any other name) was about as good as his Sherlock Holmes-forgettable.
However it isn't the actors' fault particularly. The writer and director deserve the blame here.

No stars I think.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Mar 13, 2019, 5:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Rascals

I shall try to be brief.

Just when you think that TNG cannot sink any lower it drops several storeys.
Cute humorous stories are tricky to pull off and this fails.
Who the heck thought that the ridiculous Space Goblins that bombed so badly in season one were ever going to be credible villains or that said nitwits could so easily overwhelm the crew of a federation starship?
Well, of course, the writers of this episode thought so and someone gave this script the thumbs up.

The evidence against TNG still outweighs the evidence in favour and we are nearing the last laps.

Maybe what has been learnt in recent years is the value of shorter seasons of quality stories against the old idea of multiple episodes of crap with some gems in between.

What really cracks me up is all those Star Trek Discovery haters who hold up TNG as some kind of pinnacle of Star Trek merit-well every single episode of Star Trek Discovery outclasses almost any TNG episode in my estimation.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Mar 6, 2019, 3:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: True Q

About as original as Dolly the Sheep this is just another version of Charlie's Law from TOS with precisely the same ethical dilemma about allowing an undisciplined super being free reign.
John de Lancie almost saves this ZZZ fest but even he can't redeem it.
Garbage ending-and the beginning and middle weren't much to write home about either.
Half a star is too generous.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Feb 27, 2019, 3:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Schisms

There was a neat spoof of grey alien abductions as a sidebar in an episode of Babylon 5 which is much more fun than this episode.

When the characters are in the holodeck they are joined by some random woman in a lounge suit who they all accept.
I was convinced she was an alien fooling with their minds.

Not so-she was -well -I have no idea who she was supposed to be-she was never explained.

There was the usual excess of technobabble in this episode .

Having moaned a bit this was an effectively scary story.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Feb 20, 2019, 4:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Relics

I liked this episode despite the flaws that have been mentioned by those above.
That is , up until the last scene which makes zero sense and exceeds shmalz levels.

From the novels we know Captain Scott goes off to head up the Starfleet Corps of Engineers but as far as the viewers of this episode knows he just flies off into the figurative sunset on his own in a shuttle.
Does he know where he is going -what would he do when he got there-has he got a packed lunch?
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Feb 13, 2019, 3:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Man of the People

The episode doesn't work as Science Fiction because it draws heavily from Oscar Wilde's original.
So there is a wholly Hammer Horror story denoument that is too supernatural for this genre.
I bet Marina Sirtis loved camping it up and the guy playing ambassador baddie must have enjoyed the rapid ageing and death scene at the end.

Utter campy crap-but I am hoping that was the intention.

As for politically savvy drama-hmm sorry-don't buy it.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Feb 6, 2019, 3:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Realm of Fear

So why were the crewmember giant slugs again?
Oh no don't worry.


The missing crewmembers idea and out of phase slug like aliens all feature in 'The Vanished' a scenario for Fasa's Star Trek rpg written in 1983-oops!
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Jan 30, 2019, 3:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Time's Arrow, Part II

Ok, so Picard avoided committing genocide by not el,iminating the Borg collective through Hugh last season cos-you know-genocide is very very bad and then without a shred of thought let alone soul searching the energy vampires from planet inane are entirely wiped out.
'Maybe we could negotiate?'
'Nope'
'K then,bye'
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Jan 16, 2019, 4:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Time's Arrow, Part I

I liked this one although it borrows hugely from TOS: City on the Edge of Forever .

so: Season 5-again a few very fair and good episodes ( Darmok, Inner Light eg) eclipsed by the mediocre.
I can't bear to think about episodes like The First Duty or I,Bore and that one with the Ferengi and Lwaxana Troi.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Thu, Jan 3, 2019, 3:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

The incongruity of the differing levels of technology are forgivable because the story is so powerful and emotive.
This is surely one of the ,if not the best TNG episodes.
I think it must be one that everyone tends to remember just like The Other Side of the Sky fills that slot certainly for me in DS9 and City on the Edge of Forever in TOS

Bravo TNG.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Dec 26, 2018, 12:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Next Phase

Floors-yep but then how come they can breathe the air if they are out of phase?
No, I have no idea what I am talking about but this was ok-ish.
Another transporter accident-another episode where no one else can see the key character-perfidious Romulans.
Yes, a lesser episode.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Dec 19, 2018, 4:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: I, Borg

It is really difficult to dislike this episode but I feel I must give a paradoxical verdict .

The episode was well executed-Stewart is great here showing the residual trauma that reappears in First Contact.
However it is the beginning of the rot that sets in with the concept of the Borg.
Hugh,the friendly Borg.
Hmm-what about Dennis, the amiable Dalek or Cyril ,the helpful Cyberman?
The Borg are not evil or wicked and ,as mentioned above, the Borg drones are all victims of the Borg collective but they are supposed to be an implacable enemy.
Of course Picard should have used 'Hugh' to attempt to wipe out the entire species. It could never have worked -even the TNG writers knew you could not keep a good villain down although they had difficulties knowing what makes a good villain eg The Ferengi.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Nov 28, 2018, 3:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Imaginary Friend

How many times do we have to have the alien energy being slipping into the space ship and causing invisible havoc.

Not only on Trek but Space 1999.

I agree with Jammer's review-completely crappy episode.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Nov 21, 2018, 4:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Perfect Mate

I do not agree with Jammer here.
I cannot believe that the writers have pulled out that worn out plot of incapacitated ambassador replaced by Picard in a rush again.
As for the core business of Picard falling in love, Kirk-like- with the babe of the week-just give me a break guys.
Ok-she is an empathic metamorph who imprints herself on her one true love-so far so Disney channel,causes random rowdy rough types in ten forward ( huh-how did they get on board?) to act like jerks and gets Riker's magic trouser snake going.

The allegedly tragic ending is clumsily telegraphed and mishandled.

I really do not care one jot about it.

One star for having Tim O'Connor in the show as a nod to fans of First Season Buck Rogers
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Nov 14, 2018, 3:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Cost of Living

I concurr with the negative opinions of this episode.

There was nothing original in this yawn fest with the exception of Majel Barrett's rather poignant confession of isolation.

If there ever was a recreational planet as depicted on the holodeck I think I would give the coordinates to the Crystalline Entity.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Nov 7, 2018, 4:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The First Duty

This was a good ,solid story.
I agree with the difficulty of casting the same actor as the expelled ,manipulative bastard Locarno and the more noble but still flawed Tom Paris.
Starfleet Academy the tv show-yike-no thanks.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Oct 31, 2018, 5:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Cause and Effect

I am afraid I cannot join in with the praise for this episode.
Sending a warning to yourselves is dealt with in a superior way in the sf novel Thrice Upon a Time by J P Hogan but ok one cannot match a novel in a tv episode.

The biggest problem for me is that there is maybe 30 minutes of story here and we go through the time loop ploddingly several times .
Credit is due for using different camera angles as the crew begin to have that uneasy deja vue feeling and there is a good turn by the main cast but this is a narrow concept that would take up about a quarter of an episode of the faster moving stuff we are used to these days.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Sat, Oct 20, 2018, 12:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Outcast

I think there are two stories here.
The first is the well-intentioned one having a go at intolerance of alternative sexual lifestyles.
I didn't mind that message driven element although it may well seem clumsy in retrospect.

The second story is episode 9,000,000 of the further adventures of Riker's insatiable trouser snake.
Honestly guys-what were they thinking?-one can only imagine the variant anatomy of true androgynes but that sort of thing won't stop Will's willy of course.

Lock him up,or lock up your daughters and anything else with a pulse!
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Oct 10, 2018, 2:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ethics

I thought this was another transcendent episode.
All of the characters who served in this episode were well presented eg Riker's position was very well portrayed by Frakes, Picard was able to talk with authority on Klingon cultures because of his role in that arena and it was nice to have Alexander showing understandable concern for his father and confusion over his initial 'Klingon' intransigence.
The ethical dilemmas were shown in a nuanced way.
I liked this one.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Oct 3, 2018, 4:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Power Play

I quite liked the Deadalus class reference and we went on to learn a bit more about Captain Shumar in the Novel Starfleet:Year One.
I quite enjoyed that book.
So Brent does a variation on Lore while Colm just plays a heavy and Marina actually does quite a decent villain.
The possessed characters foiled again by some technobabble solution or other is tired by now though and overall I felt this was a thumbs-down episode.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Sep 26, 2018, 4:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Conundrum

So why didn't the alien race that took over the ship just buy a photon torpedo launcher from a ferengi trader and blow up the enemy installation themselves instead?

I cannot believe this merits 3 stars,Jammer-cliche was piled upon cliche.
Troi beats data at chess as Kirk beats Spock at chess, the crew is once again taken over ,possessed,subborned in an excessively convoluted and unstable plot-Riker gets his leg over everyone in sight.
Oh and Picard ,admittedly having allowed his mind to be taken over, destroys a crew of innocents which is put right with a mere apology?-I don't think so.

Never mind the plot holes-this was not fun.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Sep 19, 2018, 4:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Masterpiece Society

Quite a lot of cliches in this episode but,for me anyway, it worked reasonably well until the last reel.

Haven't we been here before with scientists from an isolated society wanting to run away to space?

I concur with the above views and wonder how masterpiece a society it is that lives in a small bubble on an inhospitable world.
Some aspects of this story were missed or ignored when Enterprise was written. Our colonists are from the 22nd century but are shocked at the idea of transporters. Other comments in the show suggest the transporter was invented around the 23 rd century-oops!
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Sep 12, 2018, 4:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Violations

I agree that the drama in this episode was thrown away by it being obvious that Jeb was the culprit.
The huge offence in this episode is the typically TNG nonsense about humanity having evolved beyond violence by the 2300s.
In A Taste of Armageddon ,I think ,Kirk makes a much less condescending speech about this (" we are killers but we are not going to kill today") and even though Picard reminds us that we retain the potential for violence somehow he just sounds so patronising that we are back to the awful first season all over again.
One to be flushed down the intergalactic toilet.
Next ►Page 1 of 6
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.