Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 11 (Showing 1-11)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
bleakness
Mon, Jan 8, 2018, 8:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

OMG last shot.. shatner
Set Bookmark
bleakness
Tue, Dec 19, 2017, 4:55am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Did this movie have any memorable dialogue exchanges that did not talk about how grand the next plot point will be?
Set Bookmark
bleakness
Wed, Dec 13, 2017, 6:15am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

and when I saw debates.. I'm talking about structured 3 hour long debates where the religious person has a chance to make their case.. and not even a simple case.. they can portray their argument however they want to. And yet I've never seen one that gets past the idea that they just want to believe, or that it's an argument form personal incredulity or and argument from ignorance.. they all go down the seam path
Set Bookmark
bleakness
Wed, Dec 13, 2017, 6:08am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

Ironic.. that religious people HATE when a show makes everything in their religion simple. They hate it. Yet I've watched MANY artiest vs believer debates.. and every argument by the theist is so simple, and so easy to take down.. they HAVE NO ARGUMENT .. no real argument.

Have you all ever considered that your religions are as simple as these episodes make them out to be.. (or at least nearly as simple) ??
Set Bookmark
bleakness
Wed, Dec 13, 2017, 5:55am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

So in addition to be a shorthanded allegory.. the whole reason Seth made the statue so identical to Kelly is to point out that people today seem to all have the same look for Jesus as if they knew what he looked like and they'd recognize him if they would see him. I love that

@Samuel. that is unfair I'm so sorry that religion is so simple that it can't stand up[ to surface scrutiny. By your rationale any important issue brought up in Trek is actually a strawman ..

Get a handle bro
Set Bookmark
bleakness
Sun, Dec 10, 2017, 3:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

@ Peter G

Tell me what he does not know about the system that is more corrupt than any other system
Set Bookmark
Bleakness
Sun, Dec 10, 2017, 3:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

@Peter G.
Before we go one, what doesn't Seth understand about Catholicism? Please tell me.

Maybe it's the notion that there are special people who only can convey God's message? How quaint. Or maybe it's the unfounded beliefs, or the guilt, or the acts of moving pedophiles around to avoid prosecution, or how rich the leaders see do to acquiring gullible followers?
Set Bookmark
bleakness
Sun, Dec 10, 2017, 7:19am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

I mean too "on the nose". But since it was a satire of modern day Catholocism, than I'm fine with that.
I've noticed something in common with most good sci fi writers have with good comedians: if you are easily offended.. if you are JUST LOOKING to be offended, and then complain when you are offended.. GET OUT
Set Bookmark
bleakness
Sun, Dec 10, 2017, 7:14am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

@Peter G.
"Creating a ridiculous version of "Christianity" just to throw religion under the bus isn't a debate, it's merely flimsy propaganda. ".
Uh maybe Christianity itself is so wholeheartedl;y simple, built around things such as fear and guilt and has somehow created a huge following yet cannot itself stand up to scrutiny, is the VERY POINT. Sure I said above it was too under the nose.. but to call it propaganda is hypocritical.
Set Bookmark
bleakness
Sat, Dec 9, 2017, 10:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

Why would they air the last episode next wee? No one would watch. It would be a ratings disaster. there's a certain Jedi thing happening
Set Bookmark
bleakness
Sat, Dec 9, 2017, 3:18am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

I really liked this episode, especially the character moments, As for the effect of religion, they did a lot in whatever was left of the 42 minutes that was not taken up by characters. In that way, the episode reminded me of "Who Watches the Watchers" one of my favorite TNG episodes. Jammer (a Trek reviewer) lambasted WWTW because it simplified religion. I thought the opposite, it had pretty nuanced characters, a sense of wonder, and it examined all sides pretty well.. and the fact is that religion IS simple. (comparatively, I listen to religious vs atheist debates all the time, each one being near two hours, and the religious debater has less substance to their argument than WWTW) so if there was ever an issue with Mad Idolatry, it's that it was even SIMPLER in it's look at religion than WWTW. Again, with only 43 minutes, and the fact that the foundations of religious belief ARE simple (my opinion) i was fine with it, but it was also a bit "on the nose" as it resembled the middle ages and, later, Catholicism, too closely, like on the nose.. and that's why it seemed simpler than it was. Whereas Pria improved on it's predecessor (A Matter of Time), Cupid's Dagger improved on DS9's Fascination, and New Dimensions improved on Parallax, this is the one case where the original inspiration, Who Watches the Watchers, is better than the Orville version. That being said I still LOVE this episode.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.