Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all searched results

Total Found: 32 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
BIGPALE
Mon, Mar 11, 2013, 1:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Emergence

This should have been saved for Voyager. It's just the kind of high concept sci-fi that Menosky was famous for. He was always kind of a Bragga-lite.
Set Bookmark
bigpale
Thu, Jul 12, 2012, 4:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Starship Mine

I loved this episode. It's a great guilty pleasure.

It's right up there with the Quark-centric DS9 epis that Jammer hates so much!
Set Bookmark
bigpale
Thu, Jul 12, 2012, 4:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Birthright, Part II

"predictable Worf reactions of disgust, then reconsideration, then begrudged acceptance."

Holeecow that's perfect
Set Bookmark
bigpale
Thu, Jul 12, 2012, 3:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Tapestry

Well it was a good review. I guess that's the thing about reviews; they are just well written opinions.

In my opinion this is one of Trek's shining moments. It's a study of the human condition, told in a way only a sci-fi backdrop could allow. That's Star Trek in a nutshell.

I think this is the finest "Q" story there has ever been(and I suppose, will ever be). I think it's the 2nd best Picard story (after The Inner Light), and one of the best Ron D Moore Trek stories he ever wrote.

4 stars for me.
Set Bookmark
bigpale
Sat, May 26, 2012, 6:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Schisms

Welcome back.

Always like this episode. I remember as a kid having nightmares as a result of it.
Set Bookmark
bigpale
Thu, May 12, 2011, 12:02am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Time's Arrow, Part I

I read on Memory Alpha that this was originally just going to be a one-hour finale, but with DS9 revving up the producers were afraid fans would assume TNG was to be canceled, so they half-baked a 2-parter to ensure the fans stuck around for season 6.

Smart idea. Stupid episode. Though the guy playing Twain is the spitting image.
Set Bookmark
bigpale
Thu, May 12, 2011, 12:00am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

Easily in the top 5 of all Star Trek, and top 2 or 3 of TNG.

Amazing show.
Set Bookmark
bigpale
Wed, May 11, 2011, 11:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Next Phase

I remember when I first saw this episode. I was not even in high school, and I remember saying "Shouldn't they fall through the floors and into space?"

Still a fun hour though.
Set Bookmark
bigpale
Wed, May 11, 2011, 11:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: I, Borg

I loved Patrick Stewart in this episode. The scene when he's arguing with Guinan about going to see the Borg is played with such skill.

He added a layer of willful-denial to the scene. It was obvious Picard knew that if he went to the Borg he would end up changing his mind, so he avoided going.
Set Bookmark
bigpale
Wed, May 11, 2011, 11:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Perfect Mate

There is but one reason to watch this episode a second time.

And it aint the Ferengi.

Seriously, this is a 2 star show. Maybe 2 and a half.
Set Bookmark
bigpale
Wed, May 11, 2011, 11:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The First Duty

I think I read where they changed "Locarno" to "Paris" so as not to pay royalties.

So they were trying to screw Moore and Shankar? Berman...figures.
Set Bookmark
bigpale
Wed, May 11, 2011, 11:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Cause and Effect

I loved this episode, and it's probably Braga's best. Unfortunately it was all down hill from here for him.
Set Bookmark
bigpale
Wed, May 11, 2011, 11:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Power Play

To me, the Essex-purgatory would have been a killer idea. Instead the story feels bland, like the writers were unable or unwilling to take it to another level. Oh well, it's not a horrible hour, just an uninspiring one.
Set Bookmark
bigpale
Tue, Apr 5, 2011, 12:06am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Game

One of my most disliked shows. It seems to dated, which is easy to do in sci-fi, but is something Star Trek usually managed to avoid. Not here though.
Set Bookmark
bigpale
Tue, Apr 5, 2011, 12:04am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

I loved this show, and thought it was classic Ron Moore High Concept. Simple idea, with lots of pieces, and great great great dialogue.

I agree with Derek. No matter how many times I watch it, I always laugh out loud to Worf's "You may now give birth" line.

Man I love TNG.
Set Bookmark
bigpale
Tue, Apr 5, 2011, 12:00am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Darmok

I'll admit that I've bought into the love this episode gets.

It's been so long since it first aired it's impossible to recall what it was like after first viewing. But I think it's a brilliant idea, greatly executed.

It's so much what Voyager could have been. SO many episodes had those great one-liner ideas, but they were usually botched beyond measure.

TNG shows almost always -- if nothing else -- managed to live up to the premise.
Set Bookmark
bigpale
Sat, Mar 19, 2011, 12:25am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Revelations

Just finished rewatching this for the I-don't-know-how-many-times time.

Once again I caught something I'd missed before. Early in the episode Kara and Lee are looking at a picture of "The Temple of Aurora" ("on Earth" as Kara points out to the audience). It's a reuse of the Opera House picture in Laura's Bible from Kobol's Last Gleaming, but it was specifically stated to be something else (we can assume that in the story the 13th tribe copied the design).

Anyway, during that final shot of ruined earth, there is a devastated building that looks exactly like the domed temple.


*spoiler for future episodes...*

It's maybe a subtle hint that this earth is not OUR Earth -- the one they will find in Daybreak. Since our Earth doesn't have such a structure.
Set Bookmark
bigpale
Thu, Mar 17, 2011, 12:00am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Guess What's Coming to Dinner?

This is one of my five favorite episodes of the entire show.

This
Kobol's pt1-2
Pegasus
Exodus 2
Maelstrom
Someone to Watch Over Me


what an amazing show
Set Bookmark
bigpale
Sun, Mar 6, 2011, 11:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: Maelstrom

Oh, and this is hands-down my favorite BSG episode.

My top 10:
1. MAELSTROM
2. KOBOL’S LAST GLEAMING 1-2
3. PEGASUS
4. DAYBREAK
5. 33
6. EXODUS 1-2
7. CROSSROADS 1-2
8. SOMEONE TO WATCH OVER ME
9. REVELATIONS
10. SOMETIMES A GREAT NOTION

Set Bookmark
bigpale
Sun, Mar 6, 2011, 11:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: Maelstrom

Brendan.

"3) Just before she blows up, there's a shot of her reaching for the eject handle. She also says "they are waiting for me". I guess I had forgotten about these things. Do these actually imply something about future events, or were they just things stuck in there to give the writers flexibility on future story lines, and never paid off?"

I just re-watched this episode (my annual Jan-Mar run through) and had forgotten about the eject handle shot too.

My guess is the same as yours: The writers were giving themselves enough wiggle room to work with regarding how to bring her back (since bringing her back in the finale was the plan all along).
Set Bookmark
bigpale
Fri, Mar 4, 2011, 10:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: The Eye of Jupiter

I love cookies, and think this episode is very good, but not very great like Kobol part 2, Pegasus, or any of the other hiatus cliff hangers.

Maybe because this wasn't a real hiatus. It was just the Christmas break hiatus that every show goes on. Not like the six months (or in the case of s4 -- a year) break that the other seasons of the show had midstream.

It wasn't bad, but I don't think the writers had the pressure to top Kobol or Pegasus or Lay Down Your Burdens, since they knew they didn't have to hook you for more than 6 weeks (again, as opposed to 6 months).
Set Bookmark
bigpale
Wed, Mar 2, 2011, 1:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: Hero

This is one of only 3 episodes that I skip over when I rewatch the series every spring.

Black Market and The Woman King are the other two.

Even in this mess of a show, there's still some good moments, and some things that will be crucial to the rest of the show -- especially those involving the goings on on the BaseStar.

For me, the show is a 2 star episode, and the 2nd worst in the show.
Set Bookmark
bigpale
Thu, Feb 24, 2011, 1:18am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: Exodus, Part 2

Kobol's Last Gleaming is still my favorite episode of the series (both parts together), but the BSG jumping into the atmosphere and then jumping out DeLorian-style is my single favorite moment, with the ending to Crossroads being number 2.

I still can't get over how utterly amazing this show was. It's like a great book, you can just pick it up and read it every year and it won't get old.
Set Bookmark
bigpale
Tue, Feb 22, 2011, 11:34am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Worst Case Scenario

Once again, here is Voyager in a nutshell.

A great premise that the writers don't know what to do with.

The opening half of the show was brilliant, and in the hands of more skilled writers could have been a great hour of drama or, if they wanted, comedy.

Instead, not unlike the holonovel, they got halfway through and realized they didn't have an ending. I can just hear someone in the break-session yelling out "Just have it malfunction." "Brillian!" someone responds. "I'd never thought of that!"

Of course not.

It's only the single most overused cliche in Trek History.



Imagine a premise like this playing out in Battlestar Galactica. Think of how they would have played the drama, and not devolved into trite action...

On second thought, BSG DID do the mutiny story, only they had the balls to do it for real, and unlike Voyager, they played it out for almost half a season.


*sigh*
Set Bookmark
bigpale
Tue, Feb 22, 2011, 10:43am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: Occupation/Precipice

This is my 3rd time running through the series, as I do every spring, and each time I'm consistently amazed at the depth of character, music, cinematography and writing.

As someone who has long wished for Ron Moore to reboot Star Trek, I don't know how he could without completely reinventing it.

It's amazing to think that the beginning of BSG ran concurrent with Enterprise. One show was a network staple (or at least the franchise was) and had the full financial weight of Paramount behind it, and the other was a cable show based on an obsolete one-season wonder in the 70's.

And yet to compare the two, visually, intelligently, musically, etc -- it would be a no-contest: BSG blows Star Trek out of the water.


In short: I don't think the Trek-only fans could handle what an unfettered Ron Moore would bring to the Franchise.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.