Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 36 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
bhbor
Mon, Oct 23, 2017, 6:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

The way the Trump presidency has somehow made me appreciate and long for the Bush administration, this show has made me appreciate and long for Star Trek: Enterprise at its very worst.

I actually like ENT for the most part despite myself but this episode... jesus, this episode.

I'm with William on this one. The suspension of disbelief behind the bad science is just insulting at this point. Who would be inspired by any of this? Why didn't someone have the sense to turn these scripts into a generic sci-fi show and just spare a cherished franchise instead... its the JJ Abrahms rape fest all over again.
Set Bookmark
bhbor
Mon, Oct 16, 2017, 12:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

^^^also, it bugs the crap out of me that Lt. Paul Stamets ISN'T ASKING ANY OF THESE QUESTIONS, gah!
Set Bookmark
bhbor
Mon, Oct 16, 2017, 11:56am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

This whole mycelium spore drive thing is still bothering me. First, it doesn't make any sense. Why would a mycelial network exist within the fabric of subspace? I KNOW we are supposed to suspend disbelief but this is baffling...

Mycelial networks on our planet serve as primary decomposers for dead plant and/or animal materials. The network is quite fascinating, it resembles a neural network and responds to stimuli in a similar way. One mycelial colony is considered a single organism so the ramifications for basing drive technology off of a colony that has permeated the entire universe would be immense. Thing is, I keep asking myself: what the hell does THIS mycelium eat.. and why does it span the entire universe? The writers are about as well read as I am on the subject, that is to say a layman who has some popularized fungi books lying around the house.

The biggest in-your-face tip that struck me is that Lt. Paul Stamets is named (presumably) after the mycologist Paul Stamets who wrote the popular, "Mycelium Running" which is an excellent and approachable book about the natural wonders of fungi in nature, in the laboratory and how mycelium can be applied in the field to help mankind overcome some of its ecological problems. Its a cool reference to a star mycologist but I think there is a little something more going on here..

In "Mycelium Running" Paul Stamets discusses psychedelic mushrooms at length and how they have influenced our culture, science, physiology and ART. Frank Herbert, the writer of Dune, who Stamets mentions in the book, was apparently influenced by psychedelic mushrooms in the writing of his novel. The idea is that the drug spice, which made charting intergalactic space travel possible was required in order for the pilots to perceive the interconnectedness of the universe and navigate the cosmos- in all, spice is kind of like a metaphor for the psychedelic experience but applied in a practical, sci-fiy way. The blue eyes of the Fremen notwithstanding...

It seems to me that STD is pulling the same trick but with a lot less cleverness than Herbert and his Dune series. Anyway, I do appreciate how mycelium is depicted in this show and I'm waiting for it to make sense in a quasi-sciency way. Personally I anticipate a lot of psychedelic references with Lt. Stamets (we already had one at the end of this episode) and with other characters to come..
Set Bookmark
bhbor
Sat, Oct 14, 2017, 12:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Krill

**woops, got cut off my last thought:

...the optimism, more than anything else, is what attracts me to the Orville as well..
Set Bookmark
bhbor
Sat, Oct 14, 2017, 12:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Krill

@William (hey, nice name, fella!)

"It has been a long time since there has been an optimistic view of the future portrayed on television, and since shows were willing to raise ethical dilemmas without providing an easily digestible answer by the end of the program."

This is my #1 beef with STD or DSC or whatever you want to call it. Its grittiness resembles my world's grittiness and I'm not into it.
Set Bookmark
bhbor
Fri, Oct 13, 2017, 7:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Krill

@nvamske

"The Episode in Which Dr. Crusher Gives Whoopi Goldberg a Tennis Racket"


Ahh, yes. Now THIS was the turning point in the series. So many plots truly hinged on that one tennis racket.
Set Bookmark
bhbor
Tue, Oct 10, 2017, 7:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

@Chrome

"I know, how dare they compare a fictional character to someone who's actually had an impact on the scientific community."

I know, right? Musk can't even boogie woogie
Set Bookmark
bhbor
Tue, Oct 10, 2017, 4:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

Del_Duio said,

"I was glad when that security chief got killed in what is EASILY one of the stupidest actions ever: Pump knockout has into the creature's chambers and then open the force field up TWO SECONDS LATER. What, it's not knocked out yet? Wow! This scene would have been right at home with any of the several equally as stupid scenes from the Prometheus movie lol.

Luckily she was a terrible terrible character and wholly unlikable."

God, I know. What was the freakin point of this character and why are we expected to believe someone would actually do something so profoundly, utterly stupid.

Also, the references to our time period are annoying- in this one "Elon Musk" was put side by side with the Wright brothers and Zefran Cochrane.. jesus christ
Set Bookmark
bhbor
Mon, Oct 9, 2017, 8:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

@Mal
"Nothing in the world is the way it oughta be. It’s harsh and cruel. But that’s why there’s us: champions. It doesn’t matter where we come from, what we’ve done, or suffered. Or even if we make a difference. We live as though the world were as it should be, to show it what it can be. You’re not a part of that yet. I hope you will be.”

Man I loved Angel, despite the camp which was sometimes (hell, often) cringeworthy, at its heart it was a pretty inventive series with interesting character arcs and a compelling fantasy plot, good villains, etc.


"Discovery, you’re not part of Star Trek yet. I hope you will be."

Yeah, me too, man.
Set Bookmark
bhbor
Mon, Oct 9, 2017, 1:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

I'm having trouble even finishing this episode. It was strongly hinted that this Star Trek was going to be a war story, and although I intellectually understood this there was still an excited little voice inside me that was just happy to have his favorite series back on the air and I refused, refused, refused to except it. I'm about 20 minutes in and if I have to see one more Klingon Honor speech, Michael have one more pissy interaction with another crew I'm going to start to throw stuff at my TV.

Its 2017. I am tired of war stories. I love war stories but I'm tired of them. All I see on the news and in my city streets is violence, crime and hate. A man just shot 500+ people in Las Vegas last week, war rages on all over our planet (right now) and the world political environment is tumultuous, unpleasant- even frightening...

and it pisses. me. off, that I cannot look at this Star Trek as escapism, that I cannot see a better and brighter future from which to inspire in myself a more hopeful outlook on my species or way to think about my own world.

I hate this Star Trek. I knew they were going to do this and now that I realized they have I can't bring myself to watch this shit.


(apologies for not very articulate rant)
Set Bookmark
bhbor
Sat, Sep 23, 2017, 4:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: About a Girl

^the episodes are already made... all 13. 2nd season prospects are dubious but who knows..
Set Bookmark
bhbor
Fri, Sep 22, 2017, 2:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: About a Girl

^not to mention that Klyden and Bortus were still able to conceive a child despite Klyden's modifications at birth. I suppose Moclan medicine is able to compensate for this so that transgender individuals are able to participate as full biological analogs to naturally born males.

It was an entertaining hour and nice to see the Orville tackle controversial material instead of lowbar dick jokes and fight scenes. Despite this, I still found the commander's use of deposition from various crew members a little less cerebral in its shaky use of context than we would have found in a TNG episode. Some stand out scenes involved the final reveal of the Moclan female as the famed writer of their planet and Bortus explaining how he still loves Klyden and will "try to make it work" despite the crossroads they find themselves at.
Set Bookmark
bhbor
Mon, Sep 11, 2017, 2:06am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Old Wounds

What can I say, I went in with low expectations and finished the episode actually liking the premiere. I hear a lot of people complaining (not just on this site) that its a show that can't decide whether or not it's Star Trek or Galaxy Quest and hits only awkward notes in between, but honestly I kind of just dug it for what it was.

I wonder if this show will come off more 'Star Trek' than Discovery... I hope not. Either way, I'll tune in for now..
Set Bookmark
bhbor
Tue, Aug 2, 2016, 1:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Investigations

@bhbor

"Neelix kills a man in hand to hand combat, watches him vaporize in a plume of ignited plasma gas and the very next thing on his mind to Mr. Vulcan is: "- guess I'lllll have plenty of new material for tomorrow!"

Jesus Christ! Bad writing or Neelix is a stone cold killa"


I still can't get over this...
Set Bookmark
bhbor
Fri, Jan 22, 2016, 5:22am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Facets

Its... its... its... TUVIX
Set Bookmark
bhbor
Thu, Jan 21, 2016, 12:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

@ Quarkissnyder

"Also, I found it really creepy that she walked into a strange man's house. I was sure one of them was going to murder the other."

I've known lots of aspiring authors that have tracked down famous authors in order to conduct an interview.. usually they set something up in advance, but its really not THAT unusual.
Set Bookmark
bhbor
Tue, Jan 19, 2016, 1:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Force Awakens

@ Jason R.

"Why does he forsake his stormtrooper upbringing (literally in the first 120 seconds of the movie)? Why is he different from every other stormtrooper? Who knows? "

I've seen this question pop up a few times. I believe the rationale is briefly mentioned and as I recall the only excuse offered in the film is that Finn was a brand spanking new soldier and could not join in on the massacre with his fellow soldiers because of some internal moral struggle, so he opted to run and escape empire/new order/whatever
Set Bookmark
bhbor
Tue, Jan 19, 2016, 4:31am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Leia's character was underplayed. She was nothing more than an emotional prop. It would have been nice to see her as the grizzly general she was supposed to be- instead we got blah blah emotional turmoil and blank stares towards Han freakin' Solo.

I appreciate that you take a non-biased stance on reviews, judging each movie or show on its own merits (as well you should). I just can't get behind anything Abrams touches. I am completely biased against this man and everything he does. You mention that you appreciate this movie for its capacity to touch back to the Star Wars roots and that it is reminiscent of A New Hope- I say its derivative, like all of his work (especially Star Trek).

I actually fell asleep for fifteen minutes in the theaters on this movie. The 8 year old inside me hated me for it, but I did.

Anyway, good review all the same.

Set Bookmark
bhbor
Tue, May 12, 2015, 12:10am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Investigations

Neelix kills a man in hand to hand combat, watches him vaporize in a plume of ignited plasma gas and the very next thing on his mind to Mr. Vulcan is: "- guess I'lllll have plenty of new material for tomorrow!"

Jesus Christ! Bad writing or Neelix is a stone cold killa
Set Bookmark
bhbor
Mon, Apr 20, 2015, 4:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part I

I couldn't help but think how Paris and Tuvok came off like a gay couple when Tom laid into Sarah Silverman about obscure B-Movies and promptly shot her down. That and the shirt he was wearing.
Set Bookmark
bhbor
Mon, Apr 20, 2015, 5:07am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Vengeance Factor

Space diaspora. Interesting I guess. I found the gatherers entertaining and interesting although I don't completely buy why the federation is involved. These guys could make a show in and of themselves but this is Star Trek, not the space gypsy hour.
Set Bookmark
bhbor
Sat, Apr 18, 2015, 7:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Nightingale

Garret Wang himself complains that much like WIl Wheaton, Rick Berman had it out for him from the get-go which is why we saw Wesley Crusher ultimately sidelined more and more shortly after Gene Rodenberry's death.

Berman actually wanted to fire Wang, but Wang made it on the cover of some magazine and helped give the show some recognition and ultimately I think he was chosen over Kes. His punishment (in his mind) was that his charcacter would never be full developed beyond geeky sidekick. Wang himself complains that towards the end that the series had become nothing more than the, "Doctor/7 show"
Set Bookmark
bhbor
Thu, Apr 9, 2015, 11:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Demon

I was genuinely entertained throughout the review but did not actually burst out laughing until, "-and Janeway killed Tuvix!!!"

Bwahaha!

and I cannot explain to my confused girlfriend next me that I was laughing at a Star Trek Voyager review because of the deep and inherit shame of it all
Set Bookmark
bhbor
Wed, Sep 17, 2014, 2:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Outcast

This is what I never get about religious people. One would think that if Dave's soul is doomed, why would you care feeling so satisfied in your correctness? Let him burn if that is the will of the universe, which in all its wonders and complexities has awarded Earth (and I suspect, in your ONE religion) as being the center for moral correctness... for some reason.

The fact that there aren't gay characters in Star Trek (although the topic is broached in a handful of episodes across all the series) says more about our societies present view of sexuality than it does about the future.

Although I fundamentally disagree with Joshua, I believe its a topic worth of discussion in the context of Star Trek, especially with this episode.

On another note, now that I think of it, Odo can be seen as a kind of transgender/no gender character. One who chooses his sexuality... or does he? hmm
Set Bookmark
bhbor
Wed, Sep 17, 2014, 1:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Who Watches the Watchers

I was really surprised by the low rating on this episode since it is easily my favorite in TNG.

People have made fine points back and forth about the consistency of atheism within the Federation here, and I don't really have the time to dig into that at the moment except to say that Sisko's role as Emissary in DS9 never, in my opinion, converted him from an atheist Star-Fleet commander into a believer. It seems that he maintains that the Prophets are some kind of 4th dimensional worm-hole aliens, incredibly intelligent but ignorant in their own way about corporeal life and certainly never regards them as gods. It is very interesting to ponder how such incredibly powerful entities could be so flawed in regard to their understanding of our universe. In this stage, Sisko's role is to define and defend "humanity" ie-corporeal beings by engaging in debate rhetoric was one of the most fascinating aspects of this show.

In regard to "Who Watches the Watchers", I found Patrick Stewart's interaction with the proto-Vulcan leader absolutely spellbinding. The musical score was perfect when Picard asked her to 'touch his face...flesh and blood', it gives me goosebumps every time I watch it. Picard's eventual answer to the question, "I wonder if we will ever travel the stars?" ... "of that I have no doubt" carries with it such a profound spirituality in itself, which I feel most true scientists today hold dear. Science is bad mouthed as a kind of religion in itself, but true explorers willingly except their own ignorance about the complexities of the universe through the profoundly limited lens of human perception, and carry on a question for knowledge despite the enormity of life's complexities.

Within this, religion was, and always has been a poor explanation for the wonders of life.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.