Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 27 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
alston49
Sun, Oct 9, 2016, 4:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Worst Case Scenario

@Jay, check out S1's Cathexis. This is the lone episode where the wide beam setting was used.
Set Bookmark
alston49
Sun, Sep 4, 2016, 9:14am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Memorial

I see this ep has left a lot of good folks polarized. Should they repair the Memorial? Should they leave it and let the energy siphon out till it's just a tall fancy stone with alien words etched on it? I don't really know. I can give my two cents on it for what it's worth.

I think at the very least they could have let travelers know what to expect before the memories were forced down their throats. So the warning buoy was a great idea. It may wind up malfunctioning or shutting down again eventually as some pointed out. And it's likely another race may go through the same ordeal and ultimately decide to shut it down manually, or even destroy it. Truthfully I would have done the same as Janeway and repaired it.

In response to the comment about it being propaganda, I can't see how. From what we saw of the memories it was clear there were no winners in that conflict. In war one rarely hears the gory details in equal measure from both sides. Whomever is telling the tale will most likely paint themselves in the best light possible, the old Halo effect. I didn't see anything in there that made any of the participants look good or bad as far as sides went. And the race was long gone by then. If they were trying to promote something I'd say it was an epic fail.

In any event there were traces of evidence showing a war had taken place and that various items were left where they were last seen in the memories. And the tricorder readings had shown they had not been disturbed in some 300 years.

But I wonder if the experience would have been as bad if the aliens didn't look and act so completely human. If they looked like species 8472 or something would it have been as big of a deal? Not likely. It's a lot harder to feel empathy when you don't resemble the victims or the aggressors. The ep would have a completely different feel if they did that, wouldn't it?

I doubt many felt any kind of feelings beyond resentment towards species 8472 till after S5's In the Flesh. Once they resembled us it changed the viewer's perceptions completely, I imagine. Much as it changed Voyager's.

The show is a nice nod to issues of PTSD, though. And it gives the viewer an inkling of what victims live with. Yes, the armed forces is all volunteer now but there was a time when it wasn't. So this was something they more or less may have had to subject themselves to for better or worse. If homeless vets have to live dreams like these every night then 'harrowing' is the understatement of the century. I'd say it's closer to 'masochistic.'

Anyways, that's all I wanted to contribute. 3 stars works for me.
Set Bookmark
alston49
Thu, Jan 14, 2016, 2:07am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Eye of the Needle

I know Charlie's comment is over six years old but I also felt compelled to chime in.

If Voyager had not been launched due to the Romulan's warning there would have been tradeoffs in who lives and whom doesn't. Kes would have indeed remained a slave (or at the very least her liberation would have had to come from another source). We never would have met Neelix (no tears y'all, it's just a TV show ;)). And most likely B'alanna would have died. The Ocampans didn't have a cure for that lack of compatibility the caretaker was looking for. And Tom probably would have remained on the penal colony. He'd have changed to that guy we saw in S2's Non-Sequitur.

On the other hand the original first officer and medical doctor would not have been killed, either. And the surviving Maquis that got pulled into the Delta Quadrant would all have most likely joined the Ka-zon faction and did whatever it took to get back. Seska would undoubtedly be the one to push for that (she was a cardassian spy!) and it would have been more convincing with no Starfleet protocols. But remember, Tuvok was still a Starfleet security officer posing as a Maquis spy and he would have been stranded with them in the Delta Quadrant as well. Not sure what he would have done. Adhere to Starfleet principles till death do us part? Or would logic and pragmatism win out for survival?

It was highly unlikely Voyager would not have started one way or the other, since that was half the reason it was launched.

Remember Crewman Suder from S2's Meld? He would have stayed a stone cold killer with no one to keep him in check.

Dan, I might have agreed with your comment but then there was the Equinox. The caretaker didn't send them back. The caretaker was dying and getting desperate to find that 'compatible' match he kept alluding to. So he most likely would have left the Maquis stranded there as well. When Voyager got pulled through he was already on his last gasp.

Oh, and Seven of Nine would have remained a borg drone.

Just some ideas I brainstormed when watching this ep and reading the above reviews.

On a side note: why would Kes be in so excited to go so far from Ocampa to someplace she's never been? She seemed a lot more enthusiastic about that than the crew ever was exploring any planet in the seven seasons it was on. They sure weren't looking forward to staying on any of those planets. Not the way Kes was about going to Earth. It just seems that these other races don't get homesick. Maybe that's possible but that's still stretching it.

3 stars is agreeable. It sure generated a lot of 'what-if' comments which is what a good story does.
Set Bookmark
alston49
Sun, Jan 3, 2016, 9:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

He showed more concern for that dog than he did anyone else on that ship. He treated it better than he did Mayweather. I wish I could take back those 45 minutes of my life. zero stars.
Set Bookmark
alston49
Thu, Dec 31, 2015, 2:37am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Warhead

Kim took command more than any other bridge officer save for chuckles. Yet throughout it all he simply remained...an Ensign.
Not a whole lot more to say.

I didn't find this one to be as godawful as others did. It provided entertainment for 45 minutes. I didn't expect a whole lot more since standalones don't have any long term affect on the show. Exceptions off the top of my head were Future's End and The Gift.

I liked the beginning where Kim hands command over temporarily to
Ensign Jenkins. Her expression was priceless.

Still, despite those charming moments I don't think I could give this more than 2, 2.5 stars. Not a bad ep, just not a particularly memorable one.
Set Bookmark
Alston49
Thu, Apr 30, 2015, 10:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Azati Prime

urfriend, that's precisely what his role has been. Just to check off the box that says "African American". They even gave Hoshi some degree of status in "In A Mirror, Darkly". For that matter they've shown more respect for the damn beagle than for Mayweather. All the time in the world to condescend to him, though...like in the aforementioned ep.

And truthfully, none of the actors on here save for maybe the doctor were exactly Emmy-worthy. No chemistry between the leads whatsoever. Didn't think much of Dr. Beckett in Quantum Leap either. But he was a scientist in that which I liked as a teen and he did have some kind of rapport with Dean so I could deal with it (usually).
Set Bookmark
Alston49
Fri, Apr 24, 2015, 1:16am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Divergence

Not really Sam S. I keep looking at Dr Beckett...er...Archer and expecting an oh, boy. Still get a kick out of S1's Detained. At the end of that ep I'm thinking "Sam, don't hit Al! Ziggy hasn't told him why you're here yet!"
Set Bookmark
Alston49
Sun, Apr 19, 2015, 10:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Observer Effect

Very interesting reading Wisq. I liked the parallels you drew.

This was like watching Dear Doctor. Except the victims are now humans as opposed to being the alleged saviors. Interesting to see how desperate we became in our hour of need. Archer's speech about "playing God" in the aforementioned episode gets quickly put on the backburner when the shoe's on the other foot.

I do wish the writers had chosen to not let the aliens help the crew, though. They should have been made to accept the inevitable just as the Valakians were forced to. No reason why the Prime Directive shouldn't cut both ways.

I also agree with Markus. Travis gets more screen time, just not as himself. The irony of that wasn't lost on me either.
Set Bookmark
Alston49
Sat, Apr 18, 2015, 5:46am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Awakening

Once again the writers decide humans can fix every problem every species across the quadrant has had. Since when did humans somehow become saviors for Vulcans? The Vulcans themselves are just like humans but with pointy ears throughout this. Not buying it. This is just lazy writing and not the least bit consistent with what Vulcans are supposed to be about.

Yet another reason why this show tanked. The writers couldn't help but revert to sanctimonious ways of putting humanity at the top as the answer to all the galaxy's ills in spite of the fact they're the children of the galaxy at this point.
Set Bookmark
Alston49
Thu, Apr 16, 2015, 2:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Cold Station 12

Archer tells Dr. Soong his Augments' existence comes at a pretty high price. No higher than when ol' Johnny committed genocide. Seems Soong wasn't the only one in need of a history lesson.

Those augments were pretty quick to dispatch Klingons. Why in the world did it take so long with the MACO's? Rhetorical question I guess. If they killed them off then they'd be unemployed.
Set Bookmark
Alston49
Sat, Apr 11, 2015, 6:24am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Hatchery

Archer: "I don't know about Vulcans, but humans don't throw morality out the window when things get a little rough."

Anyone else get a chuckle out of that line? A groan? An eye-rolling "oh, bull..."?


Those MACO's were so blinded by loyalty they didn't question the fact that something WAS wrong with Archer. "Just following orders" has never been an excuse in the court of law. In this case it would have gotten the whole crew killed. One more reason not to have them on this kind of ship. Not even sure why they exist in post-nuclear war. That mindset is what led to WWIII to begin with. They are not proactive, just reactive. Star Trek is supposed to transcend that kind of thinking.

Good thing Q didn't put humanity on trial at this point in time, either.
Set Bookmark
Alston49
Fri, Apr 10, 2015, 8:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Harbinger

You know, darwinards, I actually found Reed one of the more bearable characters on this show. Never liked the military presence on the Enterprise. That should have gone away with WWIII in star trek canon. And here we are inundated with them. To tell you the truth the Major was asking for it from the get go. All this post-9/11 militant nonsense doesn't stand the test of time well at all.

Anyways regarding Reed that brit humor came out a bit when he was razzing Trip in the mess hall. Another annoying character.

Yeah, I thought Archer's speech at the end was pretty funny too...not to mention hypocritical. But hypocrisy and Archer are pretty much par for the course in this series.

I give it an extra star alone for the ass whooping Reed laid down on Major Malfunction.
Set Bookmark
Alston49
Fri, Apr 10, 2015, 8:48am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Stratagem

Zane314, couldn't agree more regarding Travis. Even in the end Archer still has time to be a condescending POS to him (overdid it on the turbulence, Ensign). A well done would have sufficed. It isn't enough that the show barely gives the guy screen time, now you want to bust his chops over some damned special effects?

Don't even get me started on the deception this whole episode was based on. Or the marginalized genocide Archer committed in "The Crossing".

Almost wish the Xindi did win the war. Would have spared us one more season of this dreck.
Set Bookmark
Alston49
Fri, Apr 10, 2015, 1:22am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Chosen Realm

Looks like Archer found someone as self-righteous as he is. But the ending was just a copout on the part of the writers. "See, you were wrong all along and I was right." Whatever.

They sure employ more violence on here than previous star treks. That much I've noticed. Their GI Joe action figures do nothing more than advance Enterprise's moral posturing. At this point the show was circling the drain.
Set Bookmark
Alston49
Thu, Apr 9, 2015, 3:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Carpenter Street

"...but Archer seemed oddly at home, like being 150 years in the past was perfectly normal for him."


Yeah I noticed that he had no trouble adapting, myself. Ready with those fists of fury. Complete with the smack-your-granma-in-the-face mug too.

Still, the completest in me needs to see this show to the end since I have no idea how it will pan out. But like self-immolation it will be a one time experience with zero repeat potential.
Set Bookmark
Alston49
Wed, Apr 8, 2015, 11:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: North Star

I see why this turkey series flopped. I sat thru this once just to see it. Ferdinand was right. Given the parallels between the Skagarans and black slavery it was odd that it was never once mentioned or even alluded to. I suppose not having Mayweather on the show at all would make the crew look like a bunch of pious hypocrites. Considering that the dog has gotten more screen time than he has they aren't far from that now.


Pure trash. Never again.
Set Bookmark
Alston49
Wed, Apr 8, 2015, 4:08am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: The Shipment

Not a fan of Bakula's Clint Eastwood-esque approach. It doesn't come off as very convincing nor does it make for a sympathetic character who's pain we should understand. As time goes on and the echoes of 9/11 subside and viewing this episode we can look back in retrospect and see that our take-no-prisoners approach was every bit as bad. Violence is just an endless cycle of Hatfield's-and-McCoy's. Star Trek was not supposed to be about that. It should have transcended that mindset at this point in time.


To answer Jammer's question about whether or not the word of someone from the future is legitimate about the destruction of a race...well, I personally couldn't afford to take the chance they were wrong. I also got the feeling from that shadow figure in the episode "Expanse" that the information was accurate.
Set Bookmark
Alston49
Tue, Apr 7, 2015, 5:55am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Exile

What the hell's a chockablock?
Set Bookmark
Alston49
Mon, Apr 6, 2015, 1:09am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Impulse

urfrend they gave more screen time to the damned dog than they did Mayweather. For a series that allegedy prides itself on equality towards all they sure haven't given as much "equal" time to this guy.

And seeing more of these grunts is almost deterring me from wanting to see how this all pans out. Gene must be spinning in his grave.
Set Bookmark
Alston49
Sun, Apr 5, 2015, 4:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Rajiin

I hope we don't continue to see those military clods in every episode. This is as far as I've gotten so far in viewing and one thing I do not need to see in Star Trek is a modern military style in a future that was supposed to have eliminated that kind of protocol.
Set Bookmark
Alston49
Sun, Apr 5, 2015, 3:54am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: The Xindi

Concur with bhbor. This episode premiered during the Iraqi Freedom campaign. The utopian future of the Star Trek mythos was replaced with military protocol, which runs completely contrary to Gene Roddenberry's original vision. Here it feels forced, like so many things in this series. And more than a little modernized/urbanized. Keep in mind that mankind had already nearly destroyed itself a century earlier or so with that same militaristic mindset. This feels like the more things change the more they stay the same.

It certainly lends credence to Q's depiction (not to mention judgement) of humanity in Encounter At Farpoint. "Rapid progress" indeed. Can only imagine if Archer or Janeway were on trial. They'd have signed our death certificates.
Set Bookmark
Alston49
Fri, Apr 3, 2015, 10:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

Agree with limey's assessment of this episode. Sure it tugs at the heartstrings in all the right places but Trip's overzealous involvement seem to come out of nowhere. Something about it felt more than a little contrived.

But for the first time in this series I will say Bakula's acting (and lines)in the last few scenes were right on the nose.

The cowboy diplomacy he's demonstrated throughout these past two seasons has suddenly backfired and he now finds himself on the receiving end. And from one of his own line officers to boot. He said Trip was responsible for the tragedy, and while technically that may be the case he also knew Trip only acted as he thought the captain himself would have. That alone was enough to make him question how his own crew perceived him - as a self righteous man who projected his human values onto other beings as he saw fit. Small wonder he looked both disappointed and remorseful.
Set Bookmark
Alston49
Thu, Apr 2, 2015, 12:49am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Crossing

Ah, another species destroyed by the self-righteous Enterprise crew as they speed along their merrily way. At this point in time they are most definitely more trouble than they're worth to the galaxy. It's a wonder Starfleet ever flourished the way they did. Kinda wish Q would have appeared in this and put humanity on trial at this point, but the guilty verdict would've been a foregone conclusion. "Rapid progress". Whatever.
Set Bookmark
Alston49
Tue, Mar 31, 2015, 12:37am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Dawn

At the end, the arkonian mentions he was glad he didn't destroy the vessel. My immediate thought was "makes one of us".
Set Bookmark
Alston49
Sat, Mar 28, 2015, 9:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Seventh

Not sure how Montgomery was able to take being addressed like a dog on a leash. But then again Archer is a lot nicer to his damned dog. For that matter so are the producers seeing as how they practically gave him his own episode. And Archer complained about being condescended to by the Vulcans.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.