Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 27 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
aby
Thu, Nov 12, 2020, 4:24am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Die Trying

Maybe it's my bad memory but I haven't seen this crew smile that much and I loved that. It felt effortlessly fun for the actors (for the most part).
Is it the lighting that improved this season? It just doesn't feel that dark and gloomy.
Set Bookmark
aby
Thu, Oct 29, 2020, 5:22am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: People of Earth

2.5-3/4 for me. really enjoying this season.

I consider the first 2 seasons as hot garbage, but from the last 5 mins of S3E1 till now it has been quite good.
The way the issues were handled and the way things went were i'd say the most trek this show has ever been.
Saru is already one of fav captains now, which is ironic since i couldn't bother to care about anyone in the crew the last 2 seasons. i can barely remember anything from the past 2 seasons tbf.

Sure you can nitpick why earth has become like and all that , those are just plot devices , the thinking and the ideas are what's driving this season so far and i'm mighty happy.

also jonathan Frakes Yay!
Set Bookmark
aby
Sat, Oct 10, 2020, 4:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

Great visuals and i chuckled at the reveal near the end.

but in terms of a movie, it's pretty bad, it tries to say many 'deep' 'profound' things but fails miserably, ultimately a dull and convoluted ( and hollow for me ) affair. felt like a prototype to show off what special effects they can show on the big screen.
Set Bookmark
Baby Mandalorian
Thu, Jul 9, 2020, 9:56am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

I think it was a strong end. It improved upon the first season and followed through mostly. My only let downs were dukat and winn which was a solid waste of time the last half of the season. Both characters were kind of wasted, not because they are bad actors just I think they were contrived to produce the final half narrative as the protagonists, but it made no sense or was forced. That whole story was a bit awkward.

Otherwise everything else went pretty good. I felt there could have been a more climactic space battle, but I guess Trek doesn't excel in that. I liked Ezri but it was all forced just because Jadzia left. I wonder what really happened with her leaving.... i feel like there is some #metoo stuff that happened but maybe thats wishful thinking.

Worf was super annoying this entire season. He seemed really out of character and just a man-child behaviour. The only good outcome near the end was him fighting the Jem hadar (sp) on that asteroid in a previous episode. Otherwise his drama was insufferable with Ezri and constantly complaining, the complete opposite of what you'd think a Klingon would carry themselves- plus the constnat use of the word honour made it lose meaning.

Miles + Chief were amazing as always. Thank god there wasn't any obrien wife this season, from memory. She should have always just been a reference character.

Anyway, good episode, a decent ending. Left some open threads and storylines that could (or maybe could have 20 years ago) be explored more.
Set Bookmark
Baby Mandalorian
Wed, Jul 8, 2020, 10:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

Yikes, Elie you need to lay off the drugs.

This was a good episode, I enjoyed it for a filler- typical adventure heist with comedy, drama and suspense.

It's interesting seeing the comments from the last decade and a half on race. Just makes me realise more and more that DS9 (and Avery) were very well placed to address race issues amongst others. Although the Ableist episode was a big joke.
Set Bookmark
Baby Mandalorian
Mon, Jul 6, 2020, 5:31am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

Great episode. Had flashbacks to the old "ITS A FAKE" meme that was around many years ago. Two things though, one has been mentioned- it's weird that given the technology that the Romulan ambassador wouldn't at least send a communiqué out either from DS9 or his ship after this with the details of what happened. Secondly, Sisko has done/engaged in exactly what section 31 do, yet wants to go against them in the previous episode and infiltrate them. I forget how this plays out in future episodes, but we'll see..
Set Bookmark
Baby Mandalorian
Sat, Jul 4, 2020, 12:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

"The number of comments from racism apologists with critiques that are little more than people clearly feeling discomfort because realistic depictions of the racism in their history is laughable.

This shit happened. This shit is real, whether you think, as dipshit Rogue09 does, that "dwelling on racism is as bad as supporting it". Holy shit you tone deaf imbecile. "

Yeah, this, times a million. How out of touch with reality do you have to be to think the explicit racism in this episode wasn't (and still is) prevalent. Trekkies need to check their privilege and take a walk outside their gated community lol.
Set Bookmark
Baby Mandalorian
Thu, Jul 2, 2020, 7:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

@Jeff that's one issue with DS9 I've found, they don't consider their longer term implications. They have a dilema on a personal level but it's obvious the impact of the decision would have led to the fall of the federation and is obvious at the time. In the end they either choose the "right" (or obvious) choice, or some deus ex machina comes up and corrects it back onto the main storyline.
Set Bookmark
Baby Mandalorian
Tue, Jun 30, 2020, 9:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

Good episode. But seriously, I'm totally on the Marquis side on this. I don't even get the whole putting down Victor Hugo. This episode was really well done, but weirdly... pro-authoritarian. I guess in this current world climate it doesn't come off as well as at the time, but given they are referencing Les Mis it's hilariously bad writing that somehow Sisko comes off as "awesome" despite being referred to as Javert.. like wtf

This episode just made me like the Marquis more.
Set Bookmark
Baby Mandalorian
Tue, Jun 30, 2020, 8:20am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ship

I don't understand why the founder didn't attack them from the start? One founder is more than enough to take them out, as they've shown every time we see them infiltrate a federation location and pose as someone- and they didn't know the founder was there so he could have posed as any of them when they went off to search the ship. Weird episode, but good acting and character interactions. Worf also seemed a bit out of character.
Set Bookmark
Baby Mandalorian
Sun, Jun 28, 2020, 3:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Rules of Engagement

Worf: "I have nothing to hide" lmao classical stupid mistake in court/authorities. How stupid do you have to be to not realise you never give up info or accept the prosecution to use anything against you. The biggest issue in Star Trek universe is everyone comes off as naive or ignorant as though they don't understand the ways of the world and behaviour despite years of service and being apparently some of the highest educated/experts and down to earth individuals. Of course, the prosecution will use any information against them.
Set Bookmark
Baby Mandalorian
Sun, Jun 28, 2020, 3:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Accession

Good episode. One thing of note is that for once Keiko comes off as nomal and her relationship with Obrien seemed more normal. I hope this continues, as before this episode she is literally the worst character and I never understood why Obrien is with her or why they don't divorce.
Set Bookmark
Baby Mandalorian
Sun, Jun 28, 2020, 8:03am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Sword of Kahless

This episode was good, but had two flaws, one being that this isn't how Worf is as a character, wanting to kill another that he respects over the artifact despite how famous it is, and secondly there was a very easy solution- give it to Dax and have her care for it and return it to the emperor. It could have ended the war and saved thousands or millions of lives, so they gave that up because what? they couldn't agree on who gets to present it? very stupid conclusion to the episode.
Set Bookmark
Baby Mandalorian
Sat, Jun 27, 2020, 10:00am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

Amazing two parter, really starts to shine with all characters being established and introducing Warf into DS9 as a grown character.

My only issue is why doesn't DS9 or the federation send out a general notice to all governments to conduct blood tests on their leadership and military. It would have saved a lot of current and future headaches.
Set Bookmark
Baby Mandalorian
Sun, Jun 21, 2020, 6:07am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Life Support

The biggest issue with Nog in this episode is that he isn't a victim of his culture. He has grown up in a very multicultural environment, educated in one, and cultures that are empowering to women, e.g. Bajoran, teran etc. Quark is probably the most liberal ferengi there is and is the most influential in Nog's life. Also, Nog can believe as he does, but he didn't read the room in their 'date'? and he doesn't recognise that they are humans and therefore wouldn't accept his own cultural ways? Jake still stays friends with him and accepts his "cultural" (bs) biases? The writers treated a serious subject as a B-plot joke, but actually there wasn't anything organic about how that played out.
Set Bookmark
Baby Mandalorian
Sun, Jun 21, 2020, 4:29am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part I

25 years later and this episode resonates more than ever these days. Hopefully we have the same outcome from these terrible times that the star trek earth did.
Set Bookmark
An Empire's Lullaby
Tue, Feb 25, 2020, 4:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Move Along Home

We just finished reviewing this episode on our podcast and we think this episode is great. It's even earned its place as Briar's favorite season 1 episode. If you read the Wadi collectively as a trickster god figure, their episode plays that out in a far more satisfying way than any Q episode ever could.
Set Bookmark
Ensign Babyface
Sun, May 5, 2019, 9:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Mortal Coil

This episode started out promising, with the whacking of Neelix. However, it quickly disappointed, with the resurrection of Neelix. 2 stars, at best.
Set Bookmark
UnclesBabysNephew
Wed, Jan 9, 2019, 6:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Covenant

I love this episode. The shot of Mika's husband going through the motions of realizing he's holding Dukat's baby made me laugh out loud

Why is everyone complaining about how gullible or stupid the super religious Bajorans are? They're supposed to be the true believers, if they weren't they wouldn't be on Empok Nor with Dukat worshipping the wraiths. It doesn't matter what year they're in or what technology exists or what is going on around them, if you lived your life on a planet(not gallivanting around the quadrant) that had aliens or "gods" literally watching over you there would be a subset of true believers who want nothing more than personal attention from their "gods" and will do anything to get it.

One has to wonder what good these prophets are outside of times of conflict involving Bajor. Would they just be giving out life or career advice?
Set Bookmark
TheLabyrinthMind
Tue, Jan 9, 2018, 1:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

@MadManMUC

Okay let me rephrase that. The only reason that MU Lorca is able to pass in the PU and not look like a complete psychopath is because he's more like a MU Vulcan than anything else. I just don't think they would have invested so much time in making him seem like a complex character with a genuine good side if only to have him be purely evil. We've seen that it is possible for MU characters to have some decency.

I dunno, I think it would be a cool twist so I'll stick with my theory. We'll find out though.
Set Bookmark
TheLabyrinthMind
Tue, Jan 9, 2018, 1:26am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

Also I forgot to add: there's a clue that suggests my theory of Lorca being mirror Lorca is true. When he talks to Burnham about what they'll have to do to survive in this universe, did anyone else get the sense that he was speaking from experience?
Set Bookmark
TheLabyrinthMind
Tue, Jan 9, 2018, 1:25am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

I didn't read most of the comments so I don't know if anyone else has brought up this theory. I think that the Lorca we've been with since the beginning of the series is actually MU Lorca that crossed over. Meanwhile, our universe Lorca is either dead or mia. Think about how many things would make sense if that were the case. They mentioned that Lorca was staging a coup of the empire. Which means that mirror Lorca might actually be a moral, honorable man who hates to see the oppressive empire smash everyone to the dirt (this universe Lorca must be an absolute saint). This would really explain Lorca's personality of being morally questionable but also having some semblance of morality. Compared to what he's used to, he's actually acting like an upstanding citizen, but to everyone else he's doing some pretty sketchy things.

So, the method of how MU Lorca came to our universe is as of yet unknown, but the reason he wanted to go back is most likely to finish what he started. He wants to complete his mission of overthrowing the empire. Then either he'll be content to stay in his own universe or make the whole thing look like an attempt to get himself and his crew back home.

This would certainly be an interesting twist that would actually fit Discovery's theme of making unconventional people the main characters. I.e. a criminal and a mirror universe rebel.
Set Bookmark
The Labyrinth Mind
Tue, Nov 14, 2017, 8:16am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

@Hank

That is true, but as Jammer mentioned, Tyler is so deeply brainwashed that the trauma is real to him. And even if Tyler turned out to be Voq, I don't think it would take away from the statement the show is trying to make at this point in time.

I saw another review that said making Tyler Voq could actually throw a "sexual assaults victims might just be lying" on the whole thing. I disagree with this, once again, because this version of Tyler (obviously meant to represent rape survivors) is not lying about anything. I think they're balancing the social commentary and sci Fi quite effectively here, not letting on leave discredit the other.
Set Bookmark
The Labyrinth Mind
Mon, Nov 13, 2017, 6:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

A word about my comments on the L'Rell/Tyler scenes. I interpreted it as L'Rell taking a liking to Tyler and offering him protection if he sleeps with her. This would make it, as I said, willful prostitution as opposed to rape. But the more I think about it, it does fall into the category of rape, indirect or not. Tyler didn't have a choice. He wasn't raped only in the sense that he wasn't forced physically, but that's not the only form of rape. Having no choice, or having your only other option be torture and death, is the same thing.

I do still think the term "sex slave" is a poor fit here. It implies some kind of silly 50 Shades of Gray type thing and doesn't do justice to the powerful statement the show is trying to make.
Set Bookmark
The Labyrinth Mind
Mon, Nov 13, 2017, 5:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

Since this is my first time commenting on the site, I'm going to give my thoughts on the season as a whole, with a focus on the final episode.

When I started this show, I immediately formulated an opinion that it was going to be a sub-par Battlestar Galactica knockoff. While I still think the show runners tried a little to hard to push the "new, edgy" Star Trek premise without enough dramatic depth to back it up, I believe the show has finally found a decent groove with its own identity.

Just to get it out of the way, here's a Jammer-esque capsule review of each episode this season:

"The Vulcan Hello" (*1/2)- From the get go, I was skeptical of this series. This was the episode that most resembled that pseudo-BSG feel. And, newsflash, BSG did it better. I'll stop making the comparison, but I will say it's only there because it really felt like the writers were trying to recreate BSG, so a comparison is inevitable. Aside from that, I wasn't impressed with the Klingons as a culture or as an antagonist. I didn't mind the change in style (they got a revamp for the original series movies, so why not again?) but I just didn't find any of the characters all that interesting. I get that the Klingons are supposed to be a metaphor for contemporary xenophobia and hyper-nationalism, but I never felt as though the Klingons has sufficient reason to distrust the Federation outside of sheer paranoia.

"Battle at the Binary Stars" (**)- So everyone who complained about the first episode not offering much payoff, the second one does deliver, but I still wasn't all that impressed. The Klingons are still ignorant to the point that all the dialogue was painful to sit through. If you want to go Tarantino or Mel Gibson and have everyone speak their own language, you have to have the dramatic depth and fully-fleshed out characters to back it up.

"Context is for Kings" (**1/2)- This was the first episode that contained enough character development to justify the new premise. It was also the first episode in which I felt Discover had the potential to be not just a good series, but one of the best Trek series. Here's why: the fault of all past Trek's has been that they are too restrained, be it in pacing or content. Incidentally, that restraint is also one of Trek's biggest strengths, but only when it is done right. DS9 made the best effort to combat this and explore darker, edgier stories. Still, one always felt there were some things the writers might be holding back on. While this did give the show a quintessential level of reservation and subtlety, it would occasionally feel like the writers were trying to squeeze an adult theme into a family-friendly episode. Discovery, especially this episode, has given "family friendly" the finger and has let us know that it is content to tackle adult content head on. Though this alleviates one problem, it puts the show at risk of the opposite: excessive gratuity. So far, however, it hasn't crossed that line. The most obvious comparison to a previous Trek episode is Enterprise's "Impulse" in both plot and quality.

"The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry" (**1/2)- With each successive episode, I trust Star Trek Discovery more and more. As a die hard Trekkie, all I want from a Trek show is intriguing, complex character development, intelligent conversations about morality and ethics, and sci-fi concepts that ultimately reflect some aspect of the human condition. Aside from that, I'm pretty lax about the direction a particular movie or series chooses to take. "Butcher's Knife" (because who wants to write that title every time?) actually explores the ethics of using a sentient creature for what is essentially slave labor.
Unfortunately that's about all that's good in this episode. Landry gets killed, but who cares? All we knew about her is that she was a hyper-aggressive idiot. Maybe if we'd had some additional development about her being raised in a military family or something and having a reckless dedication to completing the mission, it would have had some dramatic punch. But as it is, meh. The rest of the plot was fine, pretty by-the-numbers, but it worked well enough.

"Choose Your Pain" (**1/2)- Jammer has pointed out on several occasions that it's difficult to tell whether the grey area in Lorca's motivations are due to carefully-constructed character development that will reveal itself over time, or just sloppy writing. While I've been skeptical about many aspects of the series, Lorca's character is actually not one of them. I believe the writers have a plan for this man's character arc that will be both satisfying and coherent. The backstory about his previous ship and it's destruction is an example of this. Lorca is sort of like a demented Sisko in that he will do what is necessary for the greater good, but gets a lot more creative about "what is necessary" might constitute. And we get further Saru development. He is clearly the Spock/Data/Odo/Tuvok/T'Pol of the show, but is unique enough in his own way.

"Lethe" (**)- We have here probably the most frustrating episode of the series thus far (until we get to Si vis portabello or whatever). It's the best use of the aforementioned sci-fi concept that explores the human condition but is also quite clunky in its execution. On the one hand, giving Sarek some legitimate character development that resonates through not just this series, but the original and TNG is a ballsy and wise choice. For a series that is bent on creating a new image of Star Trek while maintaining the core values, giving a new perspective on a familiar character through sincere development is probably the best way to do it. I'm talking, of course, about the reveal that Sarek had to choose one of his children to send to the academy and choosing Spock over Burnham.
That's the good. The downside of this episode is the awkward love story between Lorca and Admiral Cornwell. I'm fine with the fact that Cornwell was just "investigating" Lorca and his eventual breakdown, they just have ZERO chemistry. It kind of throws off the whole idea that they were once super close and Cornwell was willing to give Lorca all this freedom and authority. Also, yeah, the matrix fighting is pretty silly. It could have been worse and does ultimately pay off, but it's pretty silly.

"Magic to Make the Sanest Man go Mad" (**1/2)- While "Lethe" had a clunky setup that ultimately led to a very satisfying payoff, "Magic" has an excellent setup that sort of falls flat at the end. As far as time loop episodes go, this one was well done and unique enough to carry the fact that it's a pretty common Trek plot. I liked the way the Burnham/Tyler romance was explored here. Their chemistry was kind of awkward, but unlike Lorca and Cornwell, there's a legitimate reason for Burnham to have an inability to properly flirt and converse. In a way, it almost seems like she's not necessarily crazy about Tyler, but more overwhelmed with the fact that this is the first time in her life she's been in a situation where she could explore romance. And Tyler just happens to be available. It works because it shows how romance is not always built on chemistry but rather convenience. Somehow I doubt that this is what the writers were going for, but the finished product still worked. Side note: the scene with Burnham and Stamets dancing was easily the best in this episode and probably my favorite of the series so far.
This all played nicely into the characters (i.e. Stamets) trying to overcome Mudd and escape the time loop and their inevitable destruction. I also liked the scene where Burnham tried to question Stamets and he mimicked her every word verbatim. It reminded me of the scene from Supernatural's "Mystery Spot" with Sam and Dean in the diner. Not as brilliant or hilarious, but it worked. Unfortunately, however, this was about where the episode took a nosedive for me. Stamets cracking and telling Mudd that he couldn't see anymore people die was not only stupid, it actually seemed out of character. Why only now, when he actually had Burnham and Tyler on board with figuring out a solution, would he spill the beans? I understand it eventually led to the crew outsmarting Mudd, but there didn't seem to be a plan in place at that time. Everyone was just winging it. And the ending. Grr. For a series that has swung so far into the "dark, adult, unforgiving" side of things, this was a frustratingly lighthearted fate for Mudd. He was ready to sell out the Federation's (and all humanity's) one advantage over the Klingons and everyone just sort of said "oh you" at the end and left him in the custody of the Star Trek Godfather. Now let me say that I have no problem with the show doing something lighthearted as long as it makes sense, this ending was just absurdly tame, especially for this show.

"Si VIs Pacem, Para Bellum" (**)- NOW we have the most frustrating episode of the season so far. Frustrating not because it's the worst, but because it had the potential to be one of the best and still fell into the bottom half of the batch in terms of quality. I haven't said much about the Klingons because everything that's happened with them so far has been utterly forgettable. Things are happening, but nothing resonates.
This episode finally tries to do something interesting in terms of character development with L'Rell defecting (sort of out of nowhere) but then drops a brick on the gas pedal in terms of twists and action. In about 10 minutes, we learn that L'Rell wants to defect, Cornwell is possibly killed, and L'Rell gets incarcerated by the Klingon head honcho. None of these developments are bad perse, they just happen in such quick succession there's no time for anything to, you know, develop. Nevertheless, I'm glad we finally have a Klingon that the audience is able to sympathize with.
Back on planet Pahvo, pretty much everything with Saru is entertaining as one would expect. He is an interesting character with an interesting back story and is acted with class and intelligence. I would have liked to see a bit more of the transition from being constantly fearful to totally at peace. It would make Saru's attempts to essentially sabotage the mission more believable, but what we have works well enough.
I guess the other weak aspect of this episode is the Burnham/Tyler relationship. Not that it was bad, and I still stand by my analysis of Burnham falling in love out of convenience, they just didn't do anything new this week so the kiss was pretty underwhelming.

"Into the Forest I Go" (***1/2)- Finally. I am so glad the first half of the season ended with this episode and not the last. Were "Si Vis Pacem" the last thing we got before a two-month hiatus, I might have started to question whether or not renewing that CBSAA subscription was worth it. But with this episode I am convinced it most definitely is.
This episode was an excellent balance of action and character development, but did two things that no episode has done before: have near-perfect pacing and actually make the Klingons interesting. And in addition, the show actually gave us a clear idea of Lorca's true nature. I am firmly in the group of people who believe Lorca keyed in his own coordinates just before the Spore Drive jump. This tells us that Lorca may be an honorable soldier willing to put his himself and crew at risk to save another ship, but will still pull some sketchy strings to serve his own agenda. But I'm getting ahead of myself.
The setup from last week did a good job to establish the big conflict. It seemed that the war up until this point had been somewhat of a game of cat and mouse, with the Discovery being a particularly elusive mouse. But with the risk of the Klingons destroying not only an "innocent" species, but also wiping out The Federation's one chance at gaining the upper hand, we know there is going to be a showdown. And this is just one of the fronts in which "Into the Forest" effortlessly succeeds. The 133 successive jumps was a great scene of both sci-fi space battle action, it was also dramatically charged given Stamets' sacrifice and the risk to his life. This sort of battle is unlike anything we've seen in Star Trek thus far and Discovery really made it look delicious.
And we have interesting Klingons! Not just because of Klingon boobs either. I'm glad they really went into...detail about Tyler's torture. I see some people criticizing Tyler's role as L'Rell's sex slave. I disagree with this title and would call it willful prostitution. You could argue that Tyler was forced into sleeping with L'Rell because he would have died otherwise, but I would say that it was an indirect ultimatum. He would have been tortured and killed because he was a human prisoner, not because he refused sexual favors. These scenes were effective in their intensity and the way they actually developed Tyler's character. He's sort of like Lorca in an earlier stage of losing it. He's tormented, but hasn't been permanently altered. The Tyler/Burnham scenes worked this time because you feel Tyler genuinely opening up to Burnham and see that she has the potential to help him.
And speaking of Burnham, I liked that this episode had sort of a retread of "The Vulcan Hello" and "Battle at the Binary Stars" in that is had Burnham questioning orders, improvising and fighting a Klingon hand to hand. Each of these elements were more effective this time around because we've had time to sympathize with her character and her actions actually made more sense.
I'm glad the writers didn't kill off Cornwell. I'm still not sold on her character, but the way she talked Tyler out of his PTSD episode was effective in showing how strong a leader she could be. I think she has the potential to become much more interesting. The fact that she's now stuck with Lorca in a place that they can't just warp home from should provide material for excellent character development.
And a final word on the ending: obviously the most likely scenario is that the Discovery has landed in the mirror universe. This has been teased at and actually makes sense given the potential of the spore drive. I'm honestly kind of nervous about this. There are a million ways the show could handle the mirror universe that range from dark, brooding intensity to silly absurdity. This last episode gives me confidence that whatever they do (and wherever the Discovery actually ended up), that it will be handled at least decently, but they're essentially playing with fire. Let's just hope they light the fuse and the rocket takes off instead of everything just exploding.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.