Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 15 (Showing 1-15)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
ZurielSeven
Fri, Oct 23, 2015, 11:35am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Living Witness

I love how this was the only episode of Voyager in the Delta Quadrant where Harry is not an Ensign... and then it's retconned due to revisionist history.
Set Bookmark
ZurielSeven
Thu, Oct 15, 2015, 11:18am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Basics, Part II

"Computer, what is the crew complement?"
"There are 89 Kazon... and one Betazoid on board."

Spoken by the writers rather than a computer and proving the writers don't know how to count. The writers can't count crew, torpedoes, available shuttles, food stores, warp cores, or any other consumable because Voyager is apparently good at being the most heavily resourced starship that Starfleet ever deployed.

Seska was a crew member and she's 100% Cardassian, which the computer would know how to identify but apparently forgot to count. Perhaps the cuteness of the first Cardassian/Kazon baby interfered with the targeting scanners...
Set Bookmark
ZurielSeven
Fri, Aug 30, 2013, 6:06am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

"Lastly, I never understood why people hate on Brooks' acting. People say he "overacts," but I just see it as the kind of person Captain Sisko is. He has that kind of flare. He's not Picard, he has a sense of humor and can be very emotional (which means sad, happy, or angry). Picard rarely showed that much emotion, but that doesn't mean Sisko can't. Picard took quite a while to get worked up about things, but in a lot of episodes all it takes is a single instance for Sisko to start yelling his head off. I like that about his character though. So imo, Brooks isn't overacting, he's just being Benjamin Sisko."

Perfectly said, Nemo - I agree. Four stars for your comment.
Set Bookmark
ZurielSeven
Thu, Aug 29, 2013, 10:07am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: You Are Cordially Invited

To all the people complaining about the "Enterprise not showing up"... the Enterprise was destroyed prior to DS9 Season 4 and its likely that the crew was transferred/reassigned/on leave. Not to mention the amount of time it takes for the new Enterprise-E to be commissioned, built, tuned & balanced, christened, etc...
Set Bookmark
ZurielSeven
Wed, Aug 28, 2013, 10:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Sacrifice of Angels

Is the use of a wrench to fix a car a Deus Ex Machina? Is the use of negotiation to create a peace treaty a DEM?

I'd agree with the removal of the Dominion fleet as an example of DEM if the Prophets were found to be frauds, hoaxes, or proven to be nothing more than legend. Frankly, it is (on one level) a race of beings exercising power which they both rightfully have and up until now have restrained.

Furthermore, I find that the choice the Prophets make here to be the beginning of their arc. Imagine being on a Third World planet with problems and having to look at the Prime Directive in effect in reverse. It would suck if the only stories you could tell were of powerful beings coming by and choosing to do nothing because they were bound by law to restrain themselves. Only through their action in the face of previous inaction can their higher purposes be seen. To me, that fits their status in Bajoran society as gods and justifies the Bajoran belief in their legendary abilities - abilities which we have now seen and similarly must believe in.
Set Bookmark
ZurielSeven
Wed, Aug 28, 2013, 12:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: A Time to Stand

@Justin:

I think you've got to look at this differently: the writers are no longer considering setting up one-off and encapsulated episodes... they really are carrying this forward into the serial format where intentions, plots, etc. carry over through the seasons. Much of this ep was setup for so much more... and for that it deserves its fourth star.
Set Bookmark
ZurielSeven
Sun, Aug 25, 2013, 7:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Ties of Blood and Water

In the first flashback, you will notice a Bajoran standing in the background... wielding a kar'takin (Jem'hadar bladed weapon)... Does this ruin continuity?!? What are your thoughts?
Set Bookmark
ZurielSeven
Sat, Aug 24, 2013, 12:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Trials and Tribble-ations

"Another glorious chapter in Klingon history. Tell me: do they still sing songs of the Great Tribble-Hunt?"

Managed to mock Klingon culture and history with classic Odo snark! One of the best lines of the entire season. My only regret is that he didn't say that to Chancellor Gowron and the Council in the Great Hall.
Set Bookmark
ZurielSeven
Thu, Aug 22, 2013, 5:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: To the Death

This episode did have some things that resounded well throughout the rest of the series. The
"Ceremony of the White", the Jem'Hadar dead speech, Weyoun, and (to me) the beginning of the intensifying of the Dominion War arc.

@Jack: I saw that tiny prune juice glass as well - I guess the propmaster couldn't figure out what a 7-11 "Big Gulp" 64-oz drive-thru cup would look like in the 24th Century.
Set Bookmark
ZurielSeven
Thu, Aug 22, 2013, 7:27am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Sons of Mogh

If Klingons have no tear ducts (Star Trek VI), then how the heck is Kurn crying in his last scene before his memory is wiped?
Set Bookmark
ZurielSeven
Mon, Aug 19, 2013, 9:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Rejoined

So - what *do* Klingons dream about?

"Things that would send cold chills down your spine... and wake you in the middle of the night. No, no - it is better that you do not know!"

And all delivered deadpan? Michael Dorn nailed that!
Set Bookmark
ZurielSeven
Sun, Aug 11, 2013, 10:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Civil Defense

Jammer (and others), if you've ever tried to code or automate a complex piece of hardware, you'll know that you only replace control elements for those things that *need* replacing. To me, that premise of this episode is not only reasonable, but makes the entire premise of the show that much more grounded. This isn't a Starfleet station that has been repurposed to serve as a wormhole fortress, it's got automatic life support systems, forcefields, power, waste reclamation, etc. and you don't want to "install" Federation code over Cardassian hardware because it'll work about as well as installing Win7 on Mac hardware... Starfleet has Miles O'Brien there to be the "Parallels" that allows the two to work together.
Set Bookmark
ZurielSeven
Sat, Aug 10, 2013, 9:09am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Rivals

Sarandon's early "I'm not listening"... Quarks near-perfect manipulations to set up the match... The reactions of the Bajoran monks... C'mon - add another half-star for this one.
Set Bookmark
ZurielSeven
Fri, Aug 2, 2013, 2:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: The Forsaken

This episode marks one of the few times we get to see a Vulcan really put his foot in his mouth. :-)
Set Bookmark
ZurielSeven
Sat, Jun 29, 2013, 3:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Faces

I believe that Roxanne's acting is actually rather phenomenal given the most likely psychological ramifications of having what used to be one person split along any dimension.

To have lived through so much as a single being and to be split must be a lot to have to deal with psychologically - a lot like running into gaps in your own behavior and thought processes. I believe that these were well played by the beautiful actress in both cases, as if she was dealing with thinking or taking action around things which she'd previously (rightly) assumed to be a part of her and which she no longer has access to.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.