Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 33 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
zanki
Tue, Feb 23, 2021, 9:20am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Prophet Motive

7 out of 10, the fact Qark annoyed the prophets into submission is worth it
Set Bookmark
zanki
Mon, Feb 22, 2021, 11:32am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Generations

Just got around to watching this after running through 7 seasons of TNG , with some perspective on ''how things work', in the ST universe , I can understand why maybe a casual Sci-Fi fan who has never bothered watching the entirety of tng or tos (or it's movies) will probably think it's a decent sci-fi film . As for a ST fan to call this movie out as being poorly written and lame.

That being said, it's a 6 on 10 for me , (or 21/2 out of 4 in this case), like some have mentioned , the movie beats the drums on solid notes , Kirk being reduced to a Starfleet spokesperson and finding retirement boring , honestly just Kirk , no Bones, Spock, Chekov or Scotty would of sufficed to convey what the entire scene was about.

The whole uniform thing didn't bug me, in fact it might of gave an undesired touch of realism which I enjoyed. On the same note, I loved the refitted Enterprise bridge and the darker scene shades to give it that movie like atmosphere. And of course the advent of Worf's promotion, Picards entire extended family perishing in a fire adds to ''event'' being essentially a ''tng'' movie and not a star trek movie.

What sunk this movie was poor writing, the potential was there for something memorable , instead we get a retrofitted Ent D getting blow out of the stars by an out dated bird of prey, Riker forgetting that shield modulation is a thing and that he heavily out guns a D12....they should of given the Duras sisters a Neg Var class , they had the model from All Good Things, could of made for a more credible battle.

The whole mechanics surrounding how the nexus works could of been plot armored had they taken time to write a few more restrictions on what can and can't be done with the bloody ribbon. They say ships blow up yet at the beginning of the movie we see evidence that the transport ships withstood the nexus for a few moments before imploding, and the famous argument Picard could of returned at the point in time in 10 forward and have Sorin arrested.
Set Bookmark
zanki
Mon, Feb 22, 2021, 7:01am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Life Support

I thought this episode was rather sordid and illustrated how twisted and uncompassionate Kai Wynn is compared to Opaka.

Wynn was literally beating a dead horse (Bareil) and everyone except Bashir seemed okay with it. It was a death but by a thousand cuts....
Set Bookmark
zanki
Mon, Feb 15, 2021, 3:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Meridian

huh and to think Parallax was on VOY the following week, must of really turned off some viewership at the time.
Set Bookmark
zanki
Mon, Feb 15, 2021, 7:40am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Defiant

so I'm doing a watch in order sort of thing , Generations came out 3 days prior to this episode , yet every watch guide I come accros (Reddit , Wiki), suggests the events of Generations happened at around Through the Looking Glass" and ''Improbably Causes '' ?
Set Bookmark
zanki
Wed, Feb 10, 2021, 12:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Civil Defense

Reading Jamer's review , I'm not sure this episode merits 2 starts but maybe 3. Aside from the fail safe that I thought was at the time humorous and preposterous , it's a fun ''escape room'' episode.

Anyhow, this is Saw Trek ....just replace Dukat by Jig Saw
Set Bookmark
zanki
Mon, Jan 25, 2021, 7:28am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: The Jem'Hadar

I won't go on a long rant that Keong is Picard light, but it's clearly illustrated by the writers through the destruction of the Odyssey , that the Dominion will not be appeased through TNG style diplomatic channels, or in any case DS9 will be the happy-go-lucky space exploration and analysis of the human condition that we have been so accustomed to in TNG , I think there is a reason they decided to have this finale right after All Good Things.

That being said, I think season 2 of DS9 is very underrated, it hits the drums slowly at the start with some generic sci-fi episodes, once the maquis come along it gets into this moral political sci fi drama, and the steaks in DS9 just go up a notch, add to that the introduction of the Dominion and the concept that the '' Final Frontier'' can push back .
Set Bookmark
zanki
Thu, Jan 21, 2021, 10:41am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Crossover

@Aya
''Another example of Trek making episodes with manic, sexualized versions of characters wearing leather Spandex and boob-y dresses and shimmying everywhere.... Made specifically for the same creepy fanboys that Seven of Nine was made for. Hate it. Hate. It.

Everyone's weird manic laughy delivery and hypersexuality made this episode over the top and terrible. I'm surprised Jammer rated it so favorably. This works in TOS because it is by nature over the top. Not in DS-9.''

....ever opened a history book and looked at the decadence of the Roman Empire or the Harems of the Ottoman Sultanate , the mirror Universe is supposed to illustrate those parallels....
Set Bookmark
zanki
Thu, Jan 21, 2021, 8:11am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Preemptive Strike

Probably my second favorite episode of season 7 after Lower Decks , if Michelle Forbes stayed on board she could of easily had a cameo or two on DS9 , or as someone suggesting even getting a role on VOY (I think there is room for her and Torres, the key is getting rid of Neelix) but I guess she feared getting type casted in a role , I digress.

This episode felt like a space western , especially the bar scenes (reminiscent to some as the Mos Eisley bar scene) , the reasons for defecting are credible and of course the screw job on Picard hurts more then Eddington betraying Sisko, I guess it's because we all saw Ro grow as a characther...
Set Bookmark
zanki
Mon, Jan 18, 2021, 10:01am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Bloodlines

Honestly it would of been interesting if Picard did indeed have an illegitimate son and the episode simply focused on Picard and Jason coming to grips with that, it would of made for a strong season 7 episode.

The whole Bok thing was just a distraction , they had to make him pathetic because hey ....we had a season 1 tng Ferengi that we now have to integrate into a DS9 Ferengi template. They went from these space raiders to space businessman
Set Bookmark
zanki
Mon, Jan 18, 2021, 9:49am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Lower Decks

''to first unload these harsh words and then later recruit Sito into the dangerous mission — almost comes off as a calculated manipulation to get an impressionable young ensign to step up and volunteer.''

when you put it that way.....it's almost cold blooded (mind you she was probably a lock for lieutenant junior grade if the mission succeeded) , it also illustrates Picard's tack for diplomacy and mediation
Set Bookmark
zanki
Wed, Jan 13, 2021, 10:38am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Sub Rosa

finally got around to watching this episode, heard of it , never bothered to sit down and watch it.

I sense that if this was a season 1 episode it would of rated better amongst fans. I guess by season 7, the soup du jour for TNG was more inner personnel relationships between characters and a clear checkpoint of their character evolution (from where they started) and takes a peek into their origins, the family theme helps in that matter and so does the Pegasus episode in that matter.

So yeah, I just treated this episode as TNG making an attempt to rediscover it's goofy sci-fi roots from season 1, probably a 2 1/2 stars....
Set Bookmark
zanki
Tue, Jan 12, 2021, 11:55am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

''The editing is overly aggressive, with excessive cuts and obnoxious camera work. (Director Olatunde Osunsanmi must've asked himself, "How many needless 180-degree camera rotations can we fit into one episode?") ''


Not just in this episode, as the season went on this semi-rotation camera technique, literally had to make me press pause because it was nauseating.
Set Bookmark
zanki
Thu, Jan 7, 2021, 10:28am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

'' it's made with our sh***t'' ( admiral talking about replicated food)

Pretty much what Kurtzman is conveying to what's left of the fan base.
Set Bookmark
zanki
Thu, Jan 7, 2021, 10:16am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Playing God

I wanted this episode to truly be between Dax and the initiate, unfortunately the B story (which I think should of been an A story in another episode) , sorta took over . The problem with B stories in trek is that half the time they are side notes with little to no details. So the end product is an ill constructed episode with both stories fighting for screen time and importance only to be mutually diminished, everything felt rushed and poorly ensembled .
Set Bookmark
zanki
Tue, Dec 29, 2020, 10:17am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

for me this episode single handedly sank the season (for some that happened ions ago) . Not sure what the ''allegory'' is supposed to be here or the social commentary, something I can take out of almost any trek episode. Unfortunately in all my stupidity , I understood the Galaxy is now deprived of dilithium because of a child's tantrum.....

Also like many, I gave a perplexed look at the tv when Burhnam said Saru was out of line, disco writing in a nutshell '' they just forgot'' who was saying it....

As for Tilly , I can't really blame her because heck Saru decided to put an inexperienced ensign in the chair....
Set Bookmark
zanki
Tue, Dec 29, 2020, 9:42am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Whispers

good episode, maybe 3 stars, this felt along the lines (for me anyway) of Harry Kim getting replaced by his carbon double on VOY and never mentioned again
Set Bookmark
zanki
Wed, Dec 2, 2020, 8:17am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

@Tom
''For better or worse, in TOS or TNG this episode (a typical "trial" setting) would have hinged upon certain issues which are solved in a rational, logical and impersonal way.

Here, there is talk ABOUT logic with very little of it employed in the trial. The situation is resolved because essentially the Vulcans/Romulans resonate emotionally with Michael's plight. Whether this is intentional to cater to more modern tastes or a matter of the writers not having the skill to navigate intellectual issues, I do not know.''

I'm glad someone noticed this , after I would say 3 strong episodes , this one just falls flat. Once again Disco falls back into Kurtzman logic , Tilly gets promoted to acting commander that has Garrett Wang on suicide watch . Everything must start and end with Burnham , a plot concept that is rather hurting the show and diminishing every other character and story arcs .....as they did with Spock's implication in Unification , all of a sudden Burhnam seems like the master architect of Unification, because she told Spock '' how to think and see the Universe'' . That trial scene was everything but logical , felt like a plastic set up for instant '' drama '' , no build up or pivotal rebuttal like in the Drumhead or Mesure of a Man .

At this point Im rather interested in how Saru is handling his duties as captain, the eventual problem with Georgiu , I don't mind the engineering crew , hell i'll settle for an episode of Tilly screwing up command and learning from it. Safe to say I'm nauseated by '' Micheal Burham Controls the Universe '' (sorry Andy Richter) .
Set Bookmark
zanki
Wed, Dec 2, 2020, 7:51am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Dark Page

So I just watched this episode, really not as bad as the review makes it out to be or some on this message board paints it as being ''another Luxuana Troy episode''.

I'll say this, the character is polarizing in a sense that she is at times the lowlight and highlight of some episodes. Meaning , she will flatline a plot to the point of eye rolling boredom or be a humorous prop that makes Picard fear her more then the Borg or annoy Troy to death by embarrassment.

I think the writers really tried to give this character an ounce of credence with this episode ( although DS9 tried to do that with the elevator scene). Repressed trauma is a real problem and this episode explores that plain and simple , sometimes getting it out of a person can be a mucky and emotional experience , reason being why they had those ''1950's cliches'' and Phanthasms like camera work.
Set Bookmark
zanki
Thu, Nov 19, 2020, 10:06am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Die Trying

Very solid episode , I thought the Barzan security officer was one of the strong points of last season so it sorta sucked to see her stay behind, maybe a season finale cameo is in the books for her.

The Georgiu scenes were probably my favorite parts , even if the notion of her disabling 32nd century holograms seems far fetched.

Aside from the first episode that had me going '' here we go again'' , Disco seems to be gaining that series momentum and coming into it's own.
Set Bookmark
zanki
Tue, Nov 17, 2020, 1:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Forget Me Not

@SlackerInc

One of the hosts had a Starfleet 2399 uniform
Set Bookmark
zanki
Tue, Nov 10, 2020, 9:34am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Forget Me Not

Only thing that bugged me about this episode, then again , this has been a theme through out Disco, even with the consorted effort to rectify some canon in season 2.

Do Trills see their former hosts as spiritual manifestations, at the end of this episode with Gray , I don't recall Jadzia talking to people others don't see.

Also it was pretty great the nod at ST Picard
Set Bookmark
zanki
Tue, Nov 3, 2020, 8:29am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Invasive Procedures

Seeing alot of negative comments about this episode, I actually enjoyed it, I think this aired a week after the Gambit so I'm not sure if the theme on the writing board for both episodes was ''Mercenaries'' .
Set Bookmark
zanki
Mon, Nov 2, 2020, 1:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Gambit

I guess a microcosm of season 7th TNG fatigue ( I have actually never seen this episode until today) can be resumed in this two parter, at times it felt like Steward and Frakes were just cashing in the performance, sometimes being nonchalante , to sudden mood changes (especially that shouting match with Troy), I basically had trouble taking them seriously in their '' mission''. Ah and of course Worf all of a sudden disregarding Data after 7 seasons.

Some have compared this 2 parter to a ds9 plot , I can also argue ST Picard must of ripped a page out of this episode, ship of mercenaries not bound by federation law ...huh so it has been done before, in this less then memorable tng episodes.
Set Bookmark
zanki
Mon, Oct 26, 2020, 3:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Basics, Part I

A well thought out season finally in theory, just poorly executed with it's fair share of plot wholes as explained above, most notably if they were really serious about blowing up the ship they should of set phasers to maximum setting and blow up the warp core .....
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.