Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 76 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
zanki
Mon, Jul 26, 2021, 7:40am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: Tacking into the Wind

In my opinion probably the strongest of this 9 part series finally . My only critic (and this harkens to Way of the Warrior and Apocalypse Rising) , is how dumb DS9 Gowron has gotten compared to TNG Gowron. Now this could imply that corruption and lust for fame and power have gotten to him , but this is a hard exercice because there is no scene or episode that shows Gowron's sudden mood twist towards conquering .

In TNG I saw him as a reformer , someone willing to do things differently then Kempec all while stepping aside and let his generals do the fighting. So a no nonsense politician.

What makes this episode so strong is a B story that lasted over the spam of almost 10 years in the making (Worf disposing of Gowron.....might I add under Sisko's order to do it by any means, I could presume he's somewhat ordering his removal by assasination). And a very star wars like infiltration mission with Kira and the gang, topped off by Bashir's discovery that section 31 is probably behind the virus . A lot is set in motion in 45 mimutes .....
Set Bookmark
zanki
Fri, Jul 23, 2021, 10:39am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges

If inquisition was the introductory episode to section 31 , Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges is the debate episode on it's morality and existence.

My only complaint is that it sort of betrays what was established in Inquisition that section 31 operates outside of Starfleet , hence I would think any admiral would know they exist yet be completely oblivious to their operations. I would of thought section 31 is Julian's dirty little secret.

In this case Ross is completely invested in this operation even playing a facilitator part into it, faking his accident.

As for Sisko, he's clearly telegraphing to Bashir that he'd wash his hands of section 31's activities if it means ending the war (and rightfully so). In all , this last episodic outing for Trek shows that everything we thought was dandy and green in the Federation is tainted and kept in order by the anonymous operatives who would do the things an ideal Starfleet officer would consider barbaric and atrocious .
Set Bookmark
zanki
Fri, Jul 23, 2021, 10:17am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges

@Alvez

It would have, but I feel it would of convoluted everything from Unification and Redemption . None the less it would of been a great reminder of the veneer of Trek
Set Bookmark
zanki
Fri, Jul 23, 2021, 10:09am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

one of the best of season 7 , nothing more can be said except it only enhances my appreciation for the Vic Fontaine character and truly to Bashir's point, he's more than a hologram
Set Bookmark
zanki
Fri, Jul 16, 2021, 9:28am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: Field of Fire

meh , 1/5, the resolution on figuring out the murderer is a stinker and pretty random , the writers clearly didn't seem to know how to end this episode ....

Also , this is like the 4th Ezri centered episode in a row, I get she's a shiny new character but at this point I think there are plenty more arcs to explore and close down in winding episodes of a great series
Set Bookmark
zanki
Fri, Jul 16, 2021, 9:22am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: Treachery, Faith, and the Great River

Great episode , not much to say , it does what it's supposed to do , Nog episode are always great .

On a strange note , the title seems like something I hear in a Pink Floyd song , '' The Endless River'' ?
Set Bookmark
zanki
Fri, Jul 16, 2021, 9:16am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: Covenant

Yeah this episode pretty much dismisses everything that was great about Dukat, I never had a problem with the religious aspect of the Bejorans in Trek, contrary to some who find it annoying. I think it adds a layer and a veneer to the Trek Universe , a distinctiveness from TNG and VOY . DS9 isn't afraid to go there and revisite biblical themes that we are all too familiar with (for better or for worst) especially that out of the box phrase Siskos's dad said in Far Beyond the Stars, that he fears no evil....

I digress , with the me being perfectly confortable with the cult aspect that has developed during season 7, this episode gets a 3/5 with Dukat being the weak point in all this, another Bejoran extremist would sufficed and convey the same message....
Set Bookmark
zanki
Fri, Jul 9, 2021, 8:16am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: Once More Unto the Breach

I liked this episode and agree with Jammer it's a return to form for the Klingon episode (last one unfortunately).

The ending for me wasn't a problem , the weak part of this episode was all about Martok wanting to take out some sort of career vendetta against Kor. The initial reason was probably some lazy writing and that sort of corners Kor into giving Martok some closure ( Kor could of apologized as a way of showing he evolved or something).

That being said, I thought the tension between Martok and Kor sort of alienated and took away from the episode's main theme which was ageism , could of made for an interesting plot on it's own regardless of Kor's past transgressions.
Set Bookmark
zanki
Thu, Jul 1, 2021, 3:13pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: The Reckoning

@Jeffrey Jakucyk

Would say season 2 Sisko give up Jake that easily , would his judgement be clouded by wormhole aliens to the point of risking his crew , I wasn't kidding when I said this felt like a 180 in his character arc, sure he walked the line , but in reckoning he's fully vested .
Set Bookmark
zanki
Thu, Jul 1, 2021, 10:08am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

I thought it was great two part opus to kick off the final outing of a very underrated trek show, once again , just like season 6 , Kira makes from some interesting B story (or this case 2 B stories and 1 A story) , with some station intrigue when Sisko is absent .

That being said, as time goes on I find myself appreciating more the introduction of Ezri Dax, it's role reversal where Sisko has to guide Dax and not vice versa, and it's a welcomed change.

This might sound strange but for me the low point was the reintroduction of Benny Russell , to me it seemed like Russell was a one of episode that the writters tried to somehow work him into the prophet construct, it worked well in far beyond the stars . Here it confuses the viewer more then anything , false vision or not...
Set Bookmark
zanki
Wed, Jun 30, 2021, 9:23am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: The Reckoning

@Peter G ,

Fair point, I always thought Sisko had some limitations as to his beliefs in foreign deities (especially deities he can figure out are in fact non corporeal aliens), that being said, it came to me as a 180 in his character development.

I know they establish at the beginning of the episode he's fully invested in the role of emissary , I guess that also meant fully believing in their motives and will (which by definition could get him relieved as a starfleet captain , hence admiral Ross confronting him on the subject in tears of the prophet).
Set Bookmark
zanki
Wed, Jun 30, 2021, 8:59am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: Tears of the Prophets

I'll say 4/5, when Wayoun and Damar are dumbstruck at the wormhole collapsing and Dukat calling it a victory , I full heartedly agreed with Wayoun, the Prophets aren't winning this war for the Alliance , Sisko is one captain amongst thousands in starfleet , also those wormhole aliens only get involved if their existence is on the line , they couldn't care less about a raging war that doesn't involve them, Dukat should of known this if he claimed to have insight on the Prophets .

Wayoun pretty much resonates with the sentiment of the viewer towards Dukat at this stage of show , meaning ;
-oh he's still here
-that was a whole big nothing burger
- I sincerely hope that was the last of Dukat , his plan brought nothing to the battle of Chintoka except relieving Terry Farrell of an ugly contract dispute.
Set Bookmark
zanki
Tue, Jun 22, 2021, 11:34am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: Wrongs Darker Than Death or Night

I find the entire premise of this episode is very random , why tell Kira after 6 seasons , it's more of an excuse to give Marc Alaimo some work after they had no clue what to do with him after Waltz
Set Bookmark
zanki
Mon, Jun 21, 2021, 12:25pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

not defending this episode , but Ferengi episodes by design were always cartoony , just insert a looney chase song when the Cola guy is sex crazed for Quark .

Also, like someone mentioned , the Ferengi since episode one of DS9 were established as this patriarchy first society where women had no rights, why is it '' more '' offensive now when it was accepted into lore, it seems that for all vitriol this episode receives ,context has been thrown out the window ....
Set Bookmark
zanki
Fri, Jun 18, 2021, 7:22am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: The Reckoning

I thought it was okay, not sure why everyone brands this as a disaster, a bunch of non corporeal aliens dueling it out on the station and all Sisko and crew can do is stand idle by (okay except for the chroniton flooding).

Yes it's the boring narrative of good vs evil, but the entire point of the episode is about how far are you willing to keep your faith. What shocked me is Sisko blindly believing the prophets will save his son, but again it's established at the beginning he fully embraced his role as emissary.

As for Wynn, I sorta disagreed with Kira, I think she did it because she feared losing her office of Kai and seeing Sisko take all the glory if the prophet won.

As for ''the prophet'' and '' the paw wraith'' , how can one battle determine who wins , last I checked there was more than one entity on both sides.
Set Bookmark
zanki
Wed, Jun 16, 2021, 8:56am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: His Way

5 stars, this episode is what it's trying to do and does it well , the whole Vegas club concept works better than what VOY tried to do with Fairhaven.

Also thank God Frank Sinatra Jr. said no this role , James Darren did a masterful job incanting the charismatic crooner we all came to enjoy .
Set Bookmark
zanki
Mon, Jun 14, 2021, 12:33pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

I won't say much given everyone pretty gave a topo on this episode, but looking at Avery Brook's face in the end scene when he's staring at us saying he can live with it.......I'm not convinced he cannot live with it, despite deleting the log.

After introducing us to section 31 , pale moonlight pretty much sums up how mucky SF is willing to get to end the war with the Dominion (after all this was greenlighted by SF command).

Despite this dark turn on the part of the Federation , Sisko still somehow grips with it's initial ideals in that final scene (from my point of view anyhow), which adds importance and credence to Garak's speech about how he alone could of done it giving Sisko complet exoneration.
Set Bookmark
zanki
Wed, Jun 2, 2021, 3:12pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

I don't know what made my insides turn more, Icheb's torture scene or Patrick Steward doing the worst french accent possible .

Jammer is right , this wasn't Trek, should be a 1 star episode with the saving grace being that exchange between 7 and Picard....

If I wanted to see gratuitous sci-fi killing i'd watch battle star galactica or Firefly , trek is that kind of IP....
Set Bookmark
zanki
Wed, Jun 2, 2021, 2:03pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: Honor Among Thieves

I get what this episode is trying to do and convey , the typical undercover agent who get's attached to his assignment. But like many on these boards have pointed out, this infiltrator just so happens to be the chief engineer of one the most strategic locations in the Quadrant...section 31 must of had a kick out of this misstep from SF intelligence.

But the episode to me remains a whole big meeeh , Colm Meany acts the part sure, but it seems almost '' too easy'' , the relationship between Bibbly and O'Brian is almost too convenient. Perhaps the episode could of been better if right off the bat it's established to the viewer O'Brien has earned their trust.
Set Bookmark
zanki
Mon, May 31, 2021, 10:15am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

I'll give it 5/5 , it captures the racial tensions of 50's , the episode does what it's supposed to do but instead of an alien trek like allegory into racial equality they just straight up serve it as it was.

Apparently, Ira Behr wanted wanted this episode to be the set up for the series finale, that in fact DS9 was all just someone's dream ....
Set Bookmark
zanki
Fri, May 28, 2021, 1:49pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Liaisons

welcome to tng season 7.....where we basically force feed to the viewers bad idea episodes or episodes we wished we did in the first two seasons
Set Bookmark
zanki
Fri, May 28, 2021, 9:41am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: Who Mourns for Morn?

A bottle episode that punches above it's weight and yes I agree with Jammer it's almost a copy paste of the season 1 Nagus episode.

Highlight of the episode is probably the adoration towards Morn everyone shows at the makeshift funeral. Also I couldn't hold it when Kira and Odo came to the baffled conclusion that when it mattered, Quark can make it count (the eulogy speech)
Set Bookmark
zanki
Tue, May 25, 2021, 2:39pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: All Good Things...

@PM

And with a snap of his fingers .....disco and picard never happened
Set Bookmark
zanki
Tue, May 25, 2021, 1:42pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: Waltz

Season 5 and 6 of DS9 is probably the piece of trek ever, and this episode is appart of it.

I'm reading the comments I think people are looking too far into the'' true nature of Dukat'' or the definition of ''pure evil '' (which I agree it's easy to tag someone who is mentally unstable as pure evil)''. Don't get me wrong , I stand by what I said , this episode is a very strong component to an already strong season 6, but at the same time (and this is my second watch), it's also the episode that ''breaks'' Dukat as a likeable character.

He clearly wants nothing to do with the Dominion (proof being he did not want to be found), he's not mentally sound and everyone from a Bejoran farmer to starfleet admiral wants him in a holding cell.

The result, although this episode provides some of the most thrilling acting and drama to grace television (between Alaimo and Brooks) , it leave Dukat as a pariah to both sides, and a powerless Dukat is actually a boring and predictable Dukat.

I don't see this episode as branding him as truly evil like Sisko would state but rather a desperate man that will stop at nothing to make everyone around him pay, no matter the cost . Just like he was ready to sell Cardasia to the dominion just to become a major power in the Alpha Quadrant again...
Set Bookmark
zanki
Tue, May 25, 2021, 7:10am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: The Magnificent Ferengi

probably the best Ferengi episode of DS9 , of course I have a bias so I'll say 5/5
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.