Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 2,752 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 111
Set Bookmark
ZeroDave
Sat, Sep 25, 2021, 3:42am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

This is the worst episode of discovery in all 3 seasons for me. The revelations and unfolding of storylines are beyond disappointing. The character arcs are going nowhere. The investment of time made looks to be wasted.
Someone else said it best: emo wave. Really? This is what broke the Federation?
And I'm just so lost over why Tilly has managed to get command. Joke compounded by joke. I doubt anyone will read this but I need the catharsis.
Set Bookmark
Michael Z Freeman
Fri, Sep 24, 2021, 3:30am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S2: The Alternate

Thanks for the review. Watching this episode again I wonder if Dr. Mora knew the gas would be on that planet and it was all his plot to get back his experimental subject into his lab ? Maybe I'm reading too much into it, but the scene with them when Dr. Mora forces Odo to transform seems especially disturbing. The story seems to suggest that he is just putting pressure on Odo to confirm his theory that the monster is really him. But why suggest that Odo has always been committing these crimes ? Why state that he needs to be back in the lab, even a zoo ? One could take this as Dr. Mora knowing exactly what upsets Odo. But he also initially seems to block Odo from getting help with the gas even if he relents after Odo's transformation in front of him. At the end he seems to accept a closer relationship with Odo over getting him back in his lab, if you ask me. Maybe I'm just overly suspicious (a bit like Odo ?) but did Dr. Mora know about the gas before they got to that planet ?
Set Bookmark
Karl Zimmerman
Thu, Sep 23, 2021, 10:00am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Where Pleasant Fountains Lie

That was a great episode hands down.

The A plot with Mariner, Boimler, and the evil computer voiced by Jeffrey Combs was fantastic. The scope somehow felt epic in a way that Lower Decks seldom manages, there was a nice, somewhat unpredictable twist at the end, and the character interaction was awesome.

The B plot involving Billups being royalty was kinda silly, but I was happy to see a secondary character get a good deal of focus. It provided us with some nice contrasts between Tendi and Rutherford at the end as well - two characters I had issues distinguishing in the first season sometimes.

I especially loved that this episode was basically a straight up drama. Jokes were limited, and memberberries from earlier Trek were almost absent. The show is finally confident enough to stand on its own.
Set Bookmark
ZeroDave
Thu, Sep 23, 2021, 12:56am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

Getting to this late.
2 stars is pretty harsh IMO. I'm enjoying the classic Federation tenets getting flexed by a crew we get more endeared to week by week. Frakes did good work here.
And Kwejian is stunning! Even on a 6 year OLED it was a treat!
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Mon, Sep 20, 2021, 3:58am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: The Spy Humongous

Lower Decks continues to entertain. Yes some of the trash antics was a little OTT and silly, but it was also funny. The Pakled spy cracked me up. In fact the Pakled's as a whole were a constant source of amusement.
The Redshirt thing was well done as well.
Solid 3.
Set Bookmark
Kevin Zed
Sat, Sep 18, 2021, 4:30pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: The Deeper Side of Trek: Defining a Franchise

Hey Jammer, have always loved your site! By any chance will you be reviewing The Foundation TV series?
Set Bookmark
ZeroDave
Thu, Sep 16, 2021, 3:02pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

Even later here! I feel like I'm the only one who would be sad to see Ash depart. I know he is the personification of season 1 but well, is Michael really going to play chess instead of see to how Ash is? He's on an escape pod after getting shanked but it's just hanging!
Set Bookmark
Karl Zimmerman
Thu, Sep 16, 2021, 1:16pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: The Spy Humongous

Not a bad episode, but not quite as amazing as last week. As per usual with Lower Decks, I simply don't find the jokes to be all that funny, but the character work is pretty great.

This was the first true Boimler episode, insofar as it treated Boimler not as a punching bag for Mariner, but as his own character with independent agency. His experience with the "red shirts" told us something important about him - he might be eager to impress, but even he has his limits, and he's much more concerned with doing the right thing and helping his friends when push comes to shove. I'm not entirely sure if this is supposed to show his character growth across the show, or to reveal who he has been all along, but either way it works quite well here.

The B plot of the episode was basically about Tendi, allowing Rutherford and Mariner to needle her a bit about her perpetually chipper demeanor. Again, this was a step forward, as like Boimler she ultimately is shown to not just be a cartoon character.

The Pakled stuff was basically C-plot fare to keep the bridge crew busy. It was...fine. Jokes didn't land with me, but I was entertained. I think the issue I have with the Lower Decks humor is it tends to be fairly predictable, while gut-busting humor tends to be more absurdist things that come out of nowhere.
Set Bookmark
ZeroDave
Wed, Sep 15, 2021, 1:32pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

The first Disco episode to make me laugh out loud and later on, cry. I was hoping Jammer have it at least 3.5 and I wasn't disappointed!
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Tue, Sep 14, 2021, 7:47pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S1: In the Hands of the Prophets

Does anyone else think that education would be mostly done by robots, holograms, and other AI by the 24th century? We already have educational websites & Apps, and a lot of videos, surely biological teachers would be mostly redundant by then?
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Tue, Sep 14, 2021, 5:58pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S2: Second Season Recap

@William B
>TNG's "The Measure of a Man" and "Q Who" are (IMO deservedly) ranked so high...

I have to disagree with you about that I think "Death Wish" is the best Voyager has to offer, definitely a 10/10 episode for it's philosophical value. Season 2 also had "Tuvix" another fine episode, 8/10.

I think the first two seasons of Voyager easily match TNG even if we're just considering the best episodes.

I find it ironic that two of the very worst episodes of Voyager, "Twisted", and "Threshold" are in the same season as the best.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Tue, Sep 14, 2021, 7:30am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Trek: Generations

Stolen from a FB Star Trek page.

Why didn't Picard leave the Nexus and go back to when he is in Ten Forward chatting to Soran and have him locked up by Worf until the Nexus passes the planet and mess up his plans?
Set Bookmark
Chaz mTaz
Tue, Sep 14, 2021, 12:20am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

the rabid indepth analysis; the could of, should of, or i would of, is fun to reflect upon, but show ended as a masterpiece; all by itself - with all its colorful and characteristic wrinkles. This was my 2nd time around around the bases...I can't wait to score again!
Set Bookmark
Michael Z Freeman
Mon, Sep 13, 2021, 4:07am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S1: In the Hands of the Prophets

@Robert Thu, Oct 2, 2014, 8:49am (UTC -5)

You quoted ...

"KEIKO: I'm not teaching any philosophy. What I'm trying to teach is pure science.
KIRA: Some might say pure science, taught without a spiritual context, is a philosophy, Mrs O'Brien.
SISKO: My philosophy is that there is room for all philosophies on this station. Now, how do you suggest we deal with this? "

I guess there was a debate about this back then but not as prominent as today. Kira's statement directly echoes The Galileo Report - galileocommission.org - and Sisko's discussion about Galileo with his son made me realise something I'd never realised up until now. I'd always been taught about the "silly" people who would not look through Galileo's telescope. Yet, just like Sisko's description of the Bajoran people being helped to survive by their faith, those who refused to look back in Galileo's time were undoubtedly being helped to survive by their faith in a difficult world. So their standpoint becomes easier to understand.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Sat, Sep 11, 2021, 11:15am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: Harbinger

> I feel like we're grading on an ENT curve here and that seems to concede that the overall quality of the show is not up to that of the other Treks.

I've always wondered whether Jammer's reviews are absolute or relative to the particular show. Personally I rate everything as absolute.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Fri, Sep 10, 2021, 7:41pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: An Embarrassment of Dooplers

Dooplers annoying to start with but love how they turned it on it's head at the end.
The car chase, OK, a bit much.

Everything else. Really good. Probably my favourite episode yet. I hope this is where they build from. The end with the bridge crew and the lower decks hanging out, all outcasts. Lets play on that. That will be great. Even among the daft cartoon aspects.
3.5 for me. The first episode I genuinely want to watch again.
Set Bookmark
Karl Zimmerman
Thu, Sep 9, 2021, 8:51am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: An Embarrassment of Dooplers

That was a great episode. Easily the best of the season to date, though not quite at Crisis Point levels yet. It really is stunning to me how they manage to fit so much genuine character development into episodes with less than 30 minutes.

First, I loved the fact that this episode stands on its own without significant "memberberries." There were of course callbacks to lots of old Trek (lots of aliens from TAS were seen here) but the central plot elements did not rely upon any established Trek lore or tropes. It was pure Lower Decks, and rested upon the characters themselves.

And what good character work there was here - particularly the end. Boimler and Mariner had a great arc across the episode - arguably the conclusion of an arc which began with the first episode. Their relationship has transformed from one where Boimler is basically Mariner's punching bag to one where they both can admit they are genuinely fond of one another and show some vulnerability. Indeed, for the first time I detected a tiny hint of romance there...though I'm here for whatever in terms of what may happen.

That wasn't all though. Rutherford was given depth for the first time as well (similar to Tendi in the last few episodes) with some layers beyond a guy who really geeks out regarding Starfleet tech. Even Captain Freeman had a bit of an arc from wanting to be invited to the "grown-ups table" to accepting her actual place as being pretty good, all things considered.

Honestly, I couldn't ask for much more in an episode of Lower Decks.
Set Bookmark
ZeroDave
Thu, Sep 9, 2021, 7:39am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

Nice review. I felt they dropped enough clues for you to tell that Lorca deliberately sabotaged Stammets. With the ship of the dead destroyed and Admiral Cornell back to take his command away, he would be motivated not to go back.
4 stars for me.
Set Bookmark
ZeroDave
Thu, Sep 2, 2021, 5:03am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

Why is the name Federation being tip toed around? Why the need to call it an Alliance? Its as if they don't have the licence to use "United Federation of Planets"?? Its like the show has been pregnant for 4 seasons and doesn't want to give birth just yet. Well goddammit now you're cancelled. Congrats.
Set Bookmark
ZeroDave
Wed, Sep 1, 2021, 1:00am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S4: Terra Prime

Acting wise I think Billingsley gave a masterclass.
Anthony Montgomery....I mean Jesus he had 5 years and never got less wooden.
Set Bookmark
ZeroDave
Tue, Aug 31, 2021, 12:54am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S4: Demons

When Josiah was making that speech in the mines, I was studying Trips facial expressions closely because here is a guy who did lose his sister in that Xindi attack. Maybe he had about 5% empathy with Terra Prime.
But that giant frickin space laser....sure let's leave it without any security. No-one will want to use it in anger. Would it have been that much effort to have some takeover action?
Set Bookmark
ZeroDave
Mon, Aug 30, 2021, 3:41pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part II

At least Evil Travis got plenty of camera time!
Set Bookmark
ZeroDave
Mon, Aug 30, 2021, 3:14pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part II

Part one was like a sugary dessert and made me smile.
Part two was the head and toothache from the excess.
There are no words to convey my disappointment that mirror and normal crews didn't collide.
Set Bookmark
ZeroDave
Mon, Aug 30, 2021, 10:14am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S4: Bound

I'd like to see Kelby end up on the Columbia. It's not like things could go back to normal with Trip after a fully fledged fist fight.
Set Bookmark
ZeroDave
Mon, Aug 30, 2021, 2:58am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S4: Divergence

The opening stunt was hard to watch. Even for a science fiction show. We've been told all this time in Trek that you can't survive at warp speed without inertial dampeners.
And how does Colombia catch up with Enterprise anyway? They have the same engine and the latter is going at max.
Bad writing by the Reeves-Stevens.
Next ►Page 1 of 111
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.