Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 2,594 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 104
Set Bookmark
zanki
Tue, Feb 23, 2021, 9:20am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Prophet Motive

7 out of 10, the fact Qark annoyed the prophets into submission is worth it
Set Bookmark
zanki
Mon, Feb 22, 2021, 11:32am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Generations

Just got around to watching this after running through 7 seasons of TNG , with some perspective on ''how things work', in the ST universe , I can understand why maybe a casual Sci-Fi fan who has never bothered watching the entirety of tng or tos (or it's movies) will probably think it's a decent sci-fi film . As for a ST fan to call this movie out as being poorly written and lame.

That being said, it's a 6 on 10 for me , (or 21/2 out of 4 in this case), like some have mentioned , the movie beats the drums on solid notes , Kirk being reduced to a Starfleet spokesperson and finding retirement boring , honestly just Kirk , no Bones, Spock, Chekov or Scotty would of sufficed to convey what the entire scene was about.

The whole uniform thing didn't bug me, in fact it might of gave an undesired touch of realism which I enjoyed. On the same note, I loved the refitted Enterprise bridge and the darker scene shades to give it that movie like atmosphere. And of course the advent of Worf's promotion, Picards entire extended family perishing in a fire adds to ''event'' being essentially a ''tng'' movie and not a star trek movie.

What sunk this movie was poor writing, the potential was there for something memorable , instead we get a retrofitted Ent D getting blow out of the stars by an out dated bird of prey, Riker forgetting that shield modulation is a thing and that he heavily out guns a D12....they should of given the Duras sisters a Neg Var class , they had the model from All Good Things, could of made for a more credible battle.

The whole mechanics surrounding how the nexus works could of been plot armored had they taken time to write a few more restrictions on what can and can't be done with the bloody ribbon. They say ships blow up yet at the beginning of the movie we see evidence that the transport ships withstood the nexus for a few moments before imploding, and the famous argument Picard could of returned at the point in time in 10 forward and have Sorin arrested.
Set Bookmark
zanki
Mon, Feb 22, 2021, 7:01am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Life Support

I thought this episode was rather sordid and illustrated how twisted and uncompassionate Kai Wynn is compared to Opaka.

Wynn was literally beating a dead horse (Bareil) and everyone except Bashir seemed okay with it. It was a death but by a thousand cuts....
Set Bookmark
van zespleen
Sun, Feb 21, 2021, 1:38am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

That wink:
Now why would Pike wink back in answer to Empress Georgiou's confession?
Does he know she's Terran all along? (how, since when?)
Is HE Terran?! after all he did beam aboard out of nowhere.....

Perhaps another Short Trek to please explain.
Or maybe cleanshaven Spock, gorgeous (non-hirsute) Number One & Pike all bump into mirror Georgiou again in Section 31 spinoff?
Make it so!
Set Bookmark
carlos pascual maria zum
Sat, Feb 20, 2021, 8:19am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Court Martial

I love Star Trek but this episode is a mess. All the principal holes in the plot:
1) The prosecutor was a lover of Kirk!!! Clear conflict of interests!
2) The daughter of Finney reaction at first changes because of letters she found??? What??
3) Finney could altered through the computer the record tape???
4) The attorney Cogley is the best? His performance really is very poor and at the end he vanished
5) The way of founding by the heartbets Finney is ridiculous
6) What advantage could have Finney to make all this mess?
Set Bookmark
zaphy
Fri, Feb 19, 2021, 9:08am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Frame of Mind

Always enjoyed this ep. Solid 3 stars for me. One bit I never quite got - did the play actually take place? The ending implies it did as Beverly says the stage crew are going to pull down the set - but I can't see where in episode it would happen if 95% of it was "a dream".
Set Bookmark
Katratzi
Fri, Feb 19, 2021, 5:08am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

"BABIES! THEY'RE JUST STUPID BABIES!" That's what I found myself yelling at my screen the entire episode; every time Karen barked some dogmatic insult to Jake, or Captain Ambitious made some nonsensical decision or put on a serious face.

If the intent was to feel rage at these characters, and no sympathy when they died... success?

And yes, I *know* what I was like at 18-22, in my first career job. I was eager, smart; had a lot of disruptive new ideas, and didn't yet know what corporate hierarchy would be like. So in a way that precociousness tracks. But at no point did I see myself as equivalent to experts with decades of experience. And with the risk of dying added.. are you kidding?
If the element of duty and bravery of the child-crew rings true for you, look at it as a warning flag of the dangers of extravert culture and groupthink (e.g. encouraging cults of personality and egomaniacs like this). Because to me it just feels like a cautionary about how wrong it is to recruit naïve kids for military service, rather than any commentary on starfleet ideals, soldiering, military experience, or bravery.

__
To give credit, @Springy re-framing Watters as insecure, did make me reconsider a little. I had taken his spying on Jake as a signal of how he *usually* runs his ship; not as a signal of his decline.
And @Kyle, in general, I often find myself marveling at how calm the regular ST cast are, when facing death. So I'm not putting down those aspects of military bravery. Quite simply, if theses kids were cautious and determined to survive, and things didn't work out, or if they were written as trapped behind enemy lines for reasons beyond mission goals, having them die would have felt like the tragedy it is. Instead it feels on par with arrogant kids getting drunk, and crashing their cars in a drunken race. Darwin award deaths. No nuance, just bold stupidity.
Set Bookmark
zaphy
Thu, Feb 18, 2021, 5:04am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Starship Mine

I don't quite get the saddle gag. Initially, it's played as if Picard is making up an excuse to get out of talking to Hutch. But then we see he actually has a saddle (and full riding outfit). Then they joke about it again in the final scene.

Also, what's with the anti-small talk stuff? Hutch was personable enough - and it's effectively a function/party they were at - you're supposed to make small talk! Just made the Enterprise crew seem like a stuffy mob.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Tue, Feb 16, 2021, 1:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

@Paul C
>I was actually living in Ireland when I saw this episode (when it originally aired there).

Did you know that in TNG 3x12 "The High Ground" Data mentions the Irish unification of 2024 as an example of terrorism being successful? Apparently this was edited out on it's original broadcast in Ireland.
Set Bookmark
zanki
Mon, Feb 15, 2021, 3:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Meridian

huh and to think Parallax was on VOY the following week, must of really turned off some viewership at the time.
Set Bookmark
zanki
Mon, Feb 15, 2021, 7:40am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Defiant

so I'm doing a watch in order sort of thing , Generations came out 3 days prior to this episode , yet every watch guide I come accros (Reddit , Wiki), suggests the events of Generations happened at around Through the Looking Glass" and ''Improbably Causes '' ?
Set Bookmark
Rosencranz Not Gilendens
Sat, Feb 13, 2021, 4:50am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Game

Er, did Wesley get laid in this episode or not?
Set Bookmark
Katratzi
Fri, Feb 12, 2021, 3:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Favor the Bold

Re: Female Bajoran strength
(aka TVtropes.org/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/Main/WaifFu ; Kira made it in!)
@D K "A (combat trained) 120 pound female (kira) heroically punches out a (combat trained) 180 pound male (damar)?"

Yes it's a popular trope of female empowerment & Kira is DS9's darling. No, cardassians aren't X times stronger than bajorans. (Google "daystrom institute physical combat rankings trek") There's a good reddit ranking of the Trek races; placing vulcans at the top, with klingons hardier but not much stronger than humans. Kira is an experienced fighter. So it all comes down to the second punch. It's believable a 3rd & 4th blow to the head/organs could KO even a tough dude. But your first sucker punch would *really* have to ring their bell to get a second one in. The OG Trek fight choreographer, described the infamous hammer punch in an interview, as pulled from pro-wrestling, because its visually easy to follow, i.e. highly telegraphed (to the dismay of UFC fans). Trek combat is for show. If this were realistic combat, Kira would have swung a cargo bay pipe at his head.

Re: Changeling Sex
@Nancy "Which writer thought it was a good idea to have Odo and the "female" shapeshifter have an afterglow scene? She's been portrayed as an older motherly figure. It made me throw up in my mouth a little" (para)

Funny. I had a similar reaction, not because of her matronly vibe, age, or Odo-like face. But because of Odo's reaction afterwards. When he had the fling with the sleeper-agent, their lovescene was *very* well done for Trek. Wistful & sad at the end. Here, they allegedly just shared a psychic sex bond, and they're discussing it neutrally. And Odo leaves with a flimsy "Gotta go to work kbye..." as if she wouldn't be fully aware of an emotional disconnect? No chemistry.

@ Strejda "DS9 pushing boundaries: unfairly overlooked is how DS9 had its leading man embrace an alien world and culture as his own. Star Trek's biggest problem is that it has two main themes: 1. Different cultures and people can come together as equals and create a wonderful future for themselves. 2. Humans are the greatest thing ever and moral paragons of the universe."

*Fantastic observation!* This is one of my favourite points in my TNG/DS9/VOY/ENT rewatch. I've carried my techvangelism and social utopism beliefs into my career in psychology+tech, so I live this stuff. But Trek at its core is an American show, built with the same optimism and blindspots. In spreading (space) democracy, we lose sight of the truths of other (alien) cultures that differ with our own virtues and contexts. (Unlike Elliott the infamous anti-roddenberrian here) I'm not here to debate utopism; as I believe in it. But one of the most interesting Trek debates I've seen lately, is whether or not the Federation is a progressive, insidious version of the Borg, brainwashing members away from their own ideals into conformity (esp. Janeway witholding 7of9 from the collective). What made DS9 so powerful & mature and 'dark & gritty', is that Sisko himself, initially questioned Federation ideals in the DMZ maquis subplot (S2E21 "You look out the window of Starfleet Headquarters and you see paradise. It's easy to be a saint in paradise"). Or Quark's remarks about the Federation brainwashing you into liking the 'bubbly sweetness' of metaphorical human Rootbeer; sabotaging Nog's disgraceful Starfleet aspirations, finally embracing human virtues by this S6 arc. Powerful!

Re: Leeta
I liked the squeak. I lol at Ferengi squeals and don't mind Rom's slackjawed resting dumbface.. most of the time. I enjoyed 2/3 of the Ferengi capitalist-commentary episodes. And yawned through the trudge of the unfunny baseball card episode. Usually I'm just like Jammer in that I don't *need* comic relief to enjoy my drama, but a chortle and smirk here and there aint so bad. And honestly, I find Jake's cockiness (scripted), or Nog's robotic chuckles/throatclearing FAR more distracting than Leeta or Rom (RIP Aaron). And I'm blase about the Keiko-Miles family melodrama Jammer loves. To each their own?
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Thu, Feb 11, 2021, 4:52am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

And Gina Carano is out of there!

I think it is a shame that she couldn't wind it in a bit on socials. Just because you have an opinion on things doesn't mean you need to share it to potentially millions of people. Seen people screaming cancel culture and that this is an attack on free speech. I received a polite talking to because a post I made on Facebook was reported to my employer. I am small fry. Not doing or saying things that can cause disrepute to your employer has long been a contractual obligation from employees.
So, yeah, a shame it came to this but Gina had it coming.
Set Bookmark
zanki
Wed, Feb 10, 2021, 12:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Civil Defense

Reading Jamer's review , I'm not sure this episode merits 2 starts but maybe 3. Aside from the fail safe that I thought was at the time humorous and preposterous , it's a fun ''escape room'' episode.

Anyhow, this is Saw Trek ....just replace Dukat by Jig Saw
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Tue, Feb 9, 2021, 1:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

@SlackerInc
>One thing I wondered: how did Janeway get to be admiral before Picard? Isn't he older and more experienced than she is? .

She crippled the Borg and saved the galaxy from Species 8472, amongst other good deeds.
Set Bookmark
Z
Sat, Feb 6, 2021, 3:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

LOL! Review is spot on. I agree that this episode is bad but man I enjoyed it :) One head tilting scene after another. I particularly enjoyed Phlox's scenes and his explanation of his races polyamorous relationships. Archer was way off character, I think they could have played this off as him also being infected with a virus. Even when Enterprise is having rub-down scenes it's still better than nuTrek.
Set Bookmark
Z
Sat, Feb 6, 2021, 3:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Dead Stop

If it appears too good to be true, then it is. Why does every star fleet captain fall prey to these types of traps? Enjoyed this episode. I didn't think they exposed Enterprise to advanced tech too quickly. Earth is new to the galaxy, the galaxy is not new, this tech should exist in some civilizations.
Set Bookmark
Z
Thu, Feb 4, 2021, 7:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

I agree about the ending. I think it would have been better left to the imagination.
Set Bookmark
Z
Thu, Feb 4, 2021, 5:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

I really enjoyed this episode. It's almost like Enterprises first holodeck episode but told as a story. Probably my favorite of the series so far. Light-hearted and charming.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Wed, Feb 3, 2021, 3:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Vis A Vis

>Does he keep a toolbox full of antique tools in his quarters?

I also noticed (I think it was this episode) that Paris had oil stains on his overalls when he left the holodeck. Did he replicate oily clothing for authenticity? That's some serious dedication to his craft.
Set Bookmark
Jazz
Sun, Jan 31, 2021, 5:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Revelations

@Artymiss

Not descendants, more like brothers. The 13 tribes left Kobold around the same time over 3000 years ago. 12 settled on the colonies and the 13th settles on Earth.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Sun, Jan 31, 2021, 4:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Prey

@Squiggy
>Janeway was a moron in this episode. How many times has she nearly gotten the entire crew killed or sacrificed a way home to help complete strangers or obey alien laws?

In 1x10 Prime Factors if Janeway had transported Voyager 40,000 light-years nearer to home, or in 3x05 False Profits if she had ignored the Ferengi and gone through the wormhole, she would have never freed Seven of Nine and would have never defeated species 8472 thus saving the galaxy.
Set Bookmark
Frank A. Booze
Sat, Jan 30, 2021, 10:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I don’t know if there are any wrestling fans on this website, but if so, then I kind of think of Michael Burnham as being equivalent to John Cena or Roman Reigns. They have been force fed to us so badly that the audience turns on them. If Star Trek Discovery episodes were a live event, then people would be booing Michael Burnham even though she is supposed to be the good guy.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Sat, Jan 30, 2021, 7:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Mal
>@Jammer, perhaps consider creating an open thread for people to discuss some of the classic scifi shows.

I've been meaning to e-mail Jammer about this. I think there should be a general chat thread on Jammer's Reviews and also a general sci-fi thread. Now you might say you don't have time to moderate it, well I'm sure you can find volunteers, hell I will volunteer myself as I have a lot of free time.

If you find someone needs moderating on a review thread you can move their post(s) to the general chat thread.
Next ►Page 1 of 104
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.