Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,452 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 59
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Nov 20, 2019, 8:19am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Child

Fenn,

"It feels almost irresponsible to do something like this in a show that's so episodic, where the inconceivable (heh) experience of impregnation-gestation-childbirth-childrearing-suddenly your kid's reverted to a point of light and flown off into space... has no consequences ever again? It trivialises the whole experience, really, because Troi's no different ever again. (At least, as far as I've seen.)"

I didn't care at all about this watching this episode. I really fail to see why so many have issues with this episode.

Trivializes? What would make you happy, that she was brutally scared for life? ... or someone was mind raped (Inner light) or everyone starts going bat-crap crazy (VOY: Memorial)?

I for one, am happy that an encounter with an advanced life form didn't end with a huge misunderstanding, a battle or someone dying.

I'd say Troi gained a wonderful, life altering experience here. I'd think she'd tell you that as well.

This is one of my favorite TNG episodes.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sun, Nov 17, 2019, 10:27am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: In the Cards

@Mark Bogn

""You wouldn't like her when she's angry." Kai Winn was played by Louise Fletcher, who won an Academy Award in 1975 for her role as the tyrannical Nurse Ratched in One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest."

Sadly, I don't think the writers had this in mind when they wrote this line.

They had a perfect opportunity to put her in the back of an ambulance without make-up in 'Far Beyond the Stars' and didn't.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Nov 15, 2019, 6:24am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

Top Hat,

I believe Trip snuck the cogenitor on Enterprise.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Nov 13, 2019, 1:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

Bucktown,

No, T'Pol can't be T'Mir.

T'Pol said to Trip in 'Zero Hour': "I'm not old. I will only be sixty six years old on my next birthday."
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Oct 31, 2019, 6:07am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek III: The Search For Spock

"Because the needs of the one ...outweigh the needs of the many"

This movie never receives the credit it deserves IMO.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Oct 28, 2019, 8:57am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Sons and Daughters

@Booming
Fri, Oct 25, 2019, 2:24am (UTC -5)

"And Dukat... well being a genocidal dictator of Bajor kind of qualifies for p.o.s status but he is portrayed as a good father. He sacrifices his career for Ziyal, often shows deep concern for her well being and basically hands the Federation victory when he refuses to look into her possible betrayal. He also loses his marbles after seeing her being killed. I would say that fatherhood is the only thing where he continuously shows his good side."

OK, enough....

Dukat was going to MURDER his daughter (only stopped because of Kira)... nothing more needs to be said.

Horrible father.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Oct 28, 2019, 8:26am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: All Good Things...

Welcome aboard 'Smells like tng spirit'!!

You'll find this is quite a chatty bunch and Jammer's reviews are always insightful. :-)
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Oct 28, 2019, 8:05am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Azati Prime

The Man
Sat, Jun 30, 2018, 12:35pm (UTC -5)

"It's funny that Yanks racism annoying, it's easy to glass over if It's not happening to you. And this "he's a bad actor" logic is stupid. Why hire him than if not to use him as a token black person and pretend that you care about diversity?"

Wow... I guess I missed this drivel...

Why hire Brooks?

While I was very impressed with Anthony when I got to meet him in 2010, he just not a strong enough actor to get written in very much. He was given a couple opportunities early and then the writers knew what they had. Now if he had come across with the popularity of say a Garak, or a Seska, or a Barklay then they would have had more to work with. But he was a "secondary main character" as it was - so...
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Oct 16, 2019, 3:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

Very nice discussion all.

Steve Shives has a couple of interesting ideas here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kqpjYFki2Pg
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Oct 11, 2019, 9:45am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

"The Trouble with Edward" is streaming now.

Not as meaningful, wonderful or special as Q&A but I doubt we will ever get anything rising to that standard again.

All good fun though.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Oct 10, 2019, 8:12am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Second Season Recap

Startrekwatcher
Thu, Oct 10, 2019, 7:03am (UTC -5)

Agree. I'd compare ENT season 2 to DS9 season 6.

Both are wildly inconsistent. Some really great classic trek accompanied by some of trek's worst.

@ Iceman
Fri, Jan 5, 2018, 5:44pm (UTC -5)

"@Yanks-Your highest rated DS9 season was Season 5. You've rated Enterprise Seasons 1 and 2, and Voyager Seasons 1 and 2 above it. I can't fathom putting any seasons of Voyager or Enterprise above DS9, but maybe that's just me."

Good lord. Sorry Iceman, I usually don't miss these.

It is very subjective so sure. I also think my grading curve may have changed a bit. I may not be as harsh or critical now. DS9 was my first real go at this review/grading thing.

I do really enjoy ENT and VOY. I don't hammer them as hard as some/most do.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Oct 8, 2019, 11:17am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@ OmicronThetaDeltaPhi

"There is nothing plausible in having huge empty spaces aboard a space ship. It's a silly design whose sole purpose is to wow the viewers with special effects without any consideration for in-universe practicality."

Don't agree here at all. How else are they supposed to work? .. are we beaming turbo-lifts from here to there now? We now have something workable, unlike before where it was all make-believe. It's not "all that much space either". There are junctions where one section of the ship meeting another, but other than that the "space" is just a little bigger than the turbo-lift itself.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Oct 8, 2019, 5:24am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Dave in MN
Mon, Oct 7, 2019, 7:29pm (UTC -5)

"Why is the turbolift a roller coaster instead of a vertical shaft?

What's the deal with all cavernous empty space in the ship?"

Discovery gave us a plausible turbo-lift design. There are "shafts" all over the inside of the hull.

"They really needed an expert rock climber to save them? How could they design their turbo-lifts this way and have no contingency to rescue people .... unless you consider using THE TRANSPORTER!!! Bad scripting!!!!"

They needed time for Spock and Una to be alone. ... you know, more time for Q&A.

"Why is Spock so emotional?!"

Didn't you watch "The Cage"?

"Yikes, this was .... not good."

This was the most enjoyable 15 minutes of Trek I've had in decades.

Jammer really needs to make a "Short Treks" grouping like "Enterprise", TNG, etc... I think there is going to be a bunch of these to talk about.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Oct 3, 2019, 10:52am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

Well played Tom, well played.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Sep 24, 2019, 12:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Mon, Sep 23, 2019, 3:21pm (UTC -5)

"You know what's the biggest sin that this episode commits? It totally undermines the powerful story of Sisko's dilemma in "In the Pale Moonlight". That episode is a masterpiece of storytelling, but it just doesn't work with a guy-who-poisons-planets-to-feed-personal-vendettas as the main character."

Maybe ITPM doesn't deserve all the worshiping it gets then, eh?

I "worship" for different reasons than most. Sisko isn't "trying to live with himself" at the end, he knew EXACTLY what he was doing the entire time.

This is just more of the same.... Sisko being a bad ass to get the damn job done.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Sep 18, 2019, 11:06am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

HAHA..... thanks.

I guess that sort of means that the crew in Star Fleet aren't considered property either?
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Sep 18, 2019, 10:49am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Image in the Sand

Peter G.
Tue, Sep 17, 2019, 10:11am (UTC -5)

"That said I find it amazing that the amount of complaints DS9 in particular gets that comes from all sides. Some people don't like the pretense of being beyond economics and claim that the Federation as stated is a bunch of nonsense; therefore the criticisms of the Ferengi green are ill-founded. Others argue that DS9 puts way too much emphasis on Jake getting a job, and here on the Sisko restaurant being some kind of throwback to capitalism. No matter what Trek does it will either be too fantastical or not fantastical enough, so it's hard to win under those conditions."

DS9 gets no more of less than any other Trek series. ... and for the record I don't ever remember seeing any form of payment in Sisko's restaurant.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Sep 18, 2019, 10:23am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

@ Peter G.
Tue, Sep 17, 2019, 2:04pm (UTC -5)
"Admitting this point as relevant would require admitting one other point into relevance: that Tuvix was a member of the ship's crew. Asserting this point is quite a big deal and requires actually repudiating most of the arguments made in favor of Janeway's decision (i.e. that Tuvix wasn't really an individual but just two crewmen smooshed together; or that this is really just a sort of medical problem for Neelix and Tuvok that needs repairing). And if sacrificing Tuvix can be justified by virtue of him being a member of the crew, who in turn are completely under the command of the Captain (a point in which I agree with you completely, and the dangers of which are frequently examined in TOS but rarely later), what happens if the crew member resigns their commission rather than obey, as Data tried to do in Measure of a Man? I would think the overwhelming opinion in Measure of a Man was that Data was being treated unjustly; first because he was going to be destroyed 'for science', but more importantly because he wasn't going to be allowed to resign. The latter point could only be justified if he was considered to be Starfleet property, which the hearing finally determined he was not. He didn't in fact have to resign as it appeared that Cdr. Maddox withdrew his transfer order once he saw the quagmire he was in."

Whether Data is Star Fleet property of not was never determined. Judge Phillipa gave Data the "right to choose". (dodging all the tough questions like sentience) Data and all the officers and crew are the property of Star Fleet. (just like soldiers and saliors are today) Maddox's angle was Data was no different that the "Enterprise's computer", because Data was not flesh and blood (hardware).

"Getting back to Tuvix, is he Starfleet property? If not, why can't he resign rather than obey an order? Starfleet Captains have no jurisdiction as far as I know to require civilian passengers to undertake life-threatening experiments. All of this has been granting the assumption that Tuvix is in fact a member of the crew, which your point #3 requires. But let's say he isn't one: after all, he's a seemingly new life form of a new species (Vulcan/Talaxian blend), who despite having the memories of two crew members (remember: Data has the memories of an entire colony) has never interacted with this crew before. Due to his skills he apparently volunteers to help out with duties he can do well, but as far as I can tell Janeway goes along with this more out of whimsy (heck, why not?) than out of deciding to give him an official commission with Tuvok's old rank. So I don't really see any sign that he's conscripted into Starfleet in this episode. I also don't know if I accept that the Voyager is in a crisis during this episode, nor that by being stranded this ship is 'perpetually in crisis' because that would basically mean the Captain could invoke "emergency measures" at her whim regardless of how stable or unstable the situation is, and that doesn't sit easy with me. Compard to most of the races they meet I think the Voyager crew is doing just fine. Actually this is a chief complain of some viewers, especially BG fans, which is that VOY should have had a lot more of the ship in trouble and lacking things (re: infinite shuttles). Considering they seem to usually have enough of everything I doubt I would accept that an emergency condition here warranted sacrificing someone; unless the emergency in question is "Neelix and Tuvok are in trouble." And in that case we revert back to the original question, which is whether it's acceptable to summarily sacrifice an unwilling civilian because Janeway prefers to have her two colleagues back instead."

From a purely military perspective, Tuvix was on her ship so I believe that by default that made him Star Fleet property and Janeway's responsibility. But I also believe the situation Tuvok and Neelix were in certainly falls under "an emergency" just as any crew-member in peril would for the Captain. (until it is determined that they could not be separated)

But obviously, Doc found a solution, so she really had no choice but to serve her two crew-mates.

My biggest issue with this episode is still Tuvik's reaction. We know he know's how Neelix feels for Kes, and we know he has Tuvok's memories... so for these not to influence him at the end was an unreasonable reaction/action.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Sep 13, 2019, 9:38am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Relativity

@ gotnohouse
Thu, Sep 12, 2019, 7:01pm (UTC -5)

"@Yanks - I would have to disagree. Season 5 of Voyager was much better than 4. Yes things picked up with Seven, but the plots were not very engaging or interesting. Too many spacial phenomena episodes. 5 actually had a variety in story and aliens."

I finished grading VOY and season 5 rated as my #1 Voyager season.

# Eps Average
Season 5 25 3.08
Season 1 15 3.07
Season 2 26 3.02
Season 3 26 2.88
Season 4 24 2.83
Season 6 26 2.75
Season 7 23 2.65
Totals: 165 2.89

"DS9 crushes supremely. All hail Grand Nagus Rom!!!"

It was great when it was on point (DOM War), but some of their filler episodes... burp...
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Sep 5, 2019, 6:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Redemption, Part II

"Enterprise was the first series to seriously get exploitative and funny enough its ratings tanked." ..... stop.... please just stop. Trek ratings started a downward spiral beginning with season 5 of TNG. DS9, VOY and ENT all lost viewership at a pretty consistent rate. (DS9 lost more viewers than ENT ever had) To say ENT "tanked" because of decon scenes is ridiculous. Enterprise was on a shitty failing network... we're lucky it lasted 4 years.

Great discussion here guys (and gals?)... I don't know that we've heard the FEmale take yet :-) Ladies?

Wonderful read Skeptical. Aside from your disdain of Enterprise I find myself pretty much in lock-step with your thoughts.

Peter, you commented on the uniforms for ST 2-6... I think it was because of the age of the actors. I think I remember reading where they all approached TPIC and emphatically stated they wouldn't continue in the TMP leotard things. At their age, I don't blame them. Great point about BAB5. I can't picture Ivanova in a catsuit, nor do I want to.

I think TNG is getting a little bit of a pass here. Troi was in a catsuit (not normal uniform) from day one (low cut) and MANY occasions, was dressed as sexy as possible (and I remember being quite happy with that. :-)) Even Crusher got her time in tights... remember the "camel-toe" episode? Riker went semi-bare chested many times as did Picard. I think "they" just continued the same "futuristic" Star Trek look that TOS started.

DS9 toned it down a bit from TNG, but they many times flaunted their beauties as well. (male and female) The holosuite provided many opportunities to show some skin for Kira and Jadzia... and then, of course, there is Lita and all the dabo girls in Quarks. Funny, the biggest issue I had with Kira's uniform was the huge shoulder pads she had in season 1... I never really took notice of a progressing catsuit on her.

Voyager... Kate was really pissed when they brought in 7. Everyone says it gave Voyager a ratings boost, but I didn't see it and it certainly didn't last. Yoyager lost viewers at about the same rate as all the spin-offs. Even with 7, I might say that Voyager was as conservative as any Trek series. Seven is one of those characters that infuriates some because yes, they poured her into a catsuit (especially in season 4) but she didn't sleep around and only saught romance in late season 7. She was a great, very well written character, performed very well by Jeri.

Enterprise... I don't have any issue with the decon scenes... the process seemed a logical precursor to transporters filtering everything out. Of course, they strongly displayed it in the opener... almost every TV series injects something sexual to snag fans... then they taper off once they get going. Enterprise was no different. T'pol was in a catsuit... I thank the producers for that... although of all the catsuits in trek - I have the hardest time with hers. I think an appropriate Vulcan garb would have been better - I never thought of Vulcan females walking around in catsuits. Jolene is most beautiful from the neck up... that wouldn't have been covered. She could have progressed to the colorful catsuits when she resigned her commission to remain on Enterprise (I would have been more than fine with a star fleet jumpsuit like she wore in 'Twilight'). I didn't mind the neuro-pressure sessions (and yes I know they were an attempt to bolster viewership). They gave us a great T'Pol/Trip relationship. "They" didn't leave the exposure to just the gals either, Archer, Trip, Malcolm and Travis all got their opportunities to show off. I'm most certain that the gals didn't mind Archer's "sexual" scenes at all. I know MANY female ENT fans that are primarily fans because Scott was in the show.

Is the most conservative Trek series 'Discovery'? Funny saying that as DSC went out of its way to give us the first main cast gay relationship.

"Sexual" has been a trek staple from the get-go as much as time travel has. There only a few times I had issue with it. It's just part of the deal for me, always has been.

As is over the top sexual is in FarScape, etc.

Interesting topic.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Sep 5, 2019, 5:44am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Redemption, Part II

@ Peter G.
Wed, Sep 4, 2019, 1:16pm (UTC -5)

"Agreed, that was the culture, especially late 80's-early 90's. But Booming seemed to be saying that Trek had a habit of objectifying women, and I don't think that assertion stands for TOS, TNG, or DS9. ...(snip)"

TOS did for sure. Mini skirts for the uniformed star fleet ladies and every alien woman aside from the salt sucker was hot as hell and wore clothing accentuating their beauty.

Not that I minded any of that...

TOS has been called the "soft porn" of 60's TV. :-)

Now that's been said, it was done for the guys too... just not as routine.

I think it's just about attempting to gather ratings; no sexist agenda. That never changes in TV.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Sep 4, 2019, 12:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Redemption, Part II

Not sure how we got on this, but I'll put in my plug for the sexiest Klingon FEmale...

While I do like Grilka from DS9, for he it's K'ehleyr from TNG. Suzie Plaxton wins hands down. :-)
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Aug 26, 2019, 8:09am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Zero Hour

Jason R.,

I was upset our hero's didn't get home too.

The best part about this time travel adventure is that it wraps up the TCW.

Enterprise had 10 time-travel episodes (5 in season 3). A little higher percentage than the rest... although I thought they were all pretty well done.

It was the timing of this one that irked me. I really wanted to see our heroes get home.

Don't skip 'Storm Front' ... as far as Star Trek Nazi episodes go, it's by far the best in Trek.

Little note... time travel is a trek staple.

50 episodes stretched across all the series. (51 if you count Discovery)

4 of the movies too.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Aug 19, 2019, 11:49am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

Jason,

Your first point is really moot.

I (Federation) have the knowledge and technology necessary to "open a rift" (or whatever they called it) into fluidic space. While the ships linking together is impressive, I'm prepared to conduct random genocide in your backyard... my resources are limitless and my resolve is absolute. .. as a matter of point, we have currently manufactured and stationed in excess of 1 million warheads (the big ones) ready to deploy....

I do agree with you (see my comments above) about this episode and species 8472. They neutered a GREAT villain... better than the Borg in my view.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sun, Aug 18, 2019, 6:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

I don't know that anyone is being unfair to anything.

What I'm saying is that it's more than plausible for species 8472 to do this using the information they had, albeit patchy and incomplete.
Next ►Page 1 of 59
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.