Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,358 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 55
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Mar 19, 2019, 10:56am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

Sorry, the article does mention Spock.

But he still could return.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Mar 19, 2019, 10:54am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

Bummer (re-trekmovie article). He could stay onboard for another year(s) and still be within cannon.

Mount's Pike has been outstanding.

Notice the article sisn't mention anything about Spock. :-)

Booming, what do you mean?
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Mar 18, 2019, 12:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

MadManMUC,

My line of thinking was to beam her into the brig, or somewhere where forcefields could be used. But you make a good point, she possibly could not be contained.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Mar 18, 2019, 11:08am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

Very good episode. Discovery continues it's excellence.

Yeah, we get to "meet" Airium!! Insteresting stuff.

Enter our favorite ADM. I read lots of folks don't like the camera trick in the shutle bay, but it didn't bother me in the slightest . Not sure why it would bother anyone.

She gives Spock a lie detector test - he passes of course - but she conflicted because she has video from the mental hospital that shows Spock killing 3 folks as he is "breaking out".

ADM tells Pike she is worried about the "Vulcan Extremists" ... she says they need to go to 31 HQ and reset "Control".

Spock/Michael exchange was fantastic. Two reasons #1 Michael was finally put in her place (come on, you agree here.... how many Mary Sue haters were jumping out of their here?) ... probably by the only one that could really reach her to a point where she could accept it. #2. We see just how much this Red Angel thing is troubling Spock. So much he loses control while talking with Michael.

Peck is simply outstanding as Spock.

Michael is more human than we've ever seen in this episode. Probably SMG's best performance to date.

I enjoyed learning more about Airium... even though I suspected we might lose her.

I will only "ding" this episode 3 times.

#1. Cmdr. Nhan. She was suspicious of Airium, but nothing came of it. (yet, we may still get something from this I guess)
#2. While Airium was kicking the crap out of everyone, Nhan was struggling to get her atmosphere converter (ripped out by Airium) she kicks Michael then enters the airlock, Michael just ignored her. When Nhan opened the airlock, she still didn't have the converter... how was she conscious?
#3. When Airium was in the airlock, they could have made some effort to beam her back to Discovery... or better, something should have been said to illuminate why they couldn't beam her out.

I can't give this episode the highest mark because of them. These are pretty glaring but didn't affect the punch of this episode.

I'm really getting attached to this crew. ... and Pikes addition only enhances that.

I was moved to tears at the end of this. That hasn't happened to me in Star Trek in quite some time.

Bravo Discovery.

3 out of 4 stars... I'm surprised Frakes didn't catch those gaffs.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Mar 14, 2019, 7:43am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Blood of Patriots

Nice review Jammer.

I think the Union might be one reason I can't take this series seriiously.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Mar 13, 2019, 8:42am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

Nice review Jammer.

Glad my prediction was correct.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Mar 11, 2019, 7:11am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

@ Bob

"28 million just within the US? Has that been confirmed? That is massive numbers, doesn't seem the type of show to pull those numbers."

Not sure where I got 28. The vid indicates 23+ million.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sun, Mar 10, 2019, 7:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Blood of Patriots

@ Spockless
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 8:45pm (UTC -5)
@Yanks

"The script could have used once more polish, but I liked that it gave us a conflicted Ed, a conflicted Gordon, and a villain that seemed to be having consistent with his story. And the story had a certain logic to it. One thing I like about the Orville is that it IS predictable.. instead of "subverting our expectations" (we all all know how it can ruin something when you try that), it gives us the comfort food of Trek's history..."

I hear you. I think at times it goes way back past the 90's.

I guess I just got really disappointed at the last 2 episodes. I was hoping for better and probably shouldn't have.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sun, Mar 10, 2019, 6:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Blood of Patriots

@ OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Sat, Mar 9, 2019, 8:57pm (UTC -5)
@Yanks

"Perhaps that was to subtle and overly clever as a reference. But at least it proves that the writers did remember this plot point when it came to writing the episode."

Thanks.

A little too subtle for me I guess.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sun, Mar 10, 2019, 6:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

@ Dave in MN

"Somewhere upthread I posted a response to your query about the rare Xeleyan disease and I reread my response and ... yeah I was shooting for snarky but it came across as rude. Sorry about that."

No issues, I'm bulletproof. I came to "the internet" back in 2006 to find out why the series I love was canceled. Ended up defending it at every turn, on the ST.COM message boards if you can believe it. I was getting hit from all sides. I earned the name "Enterprise Defender" :-)

Jammer didn't specifically mention it, but new posters are most certainly welcomed SixDifferentWays.

As to how successful 'Discovery' is, I'm not a numbers guy, but 28 million Discovery views per week on All Access isn't chicken feed. That's not counting any Netflix viewership. (rest of the world) Love it or hate it, it appears to be pulling in the views.

Here's where I got my info. He talks about where he got the info in the first couple minutes of the video. I've found this guy to be very levelheaded in his reviews.

www.youtube.com/watch?v=A3FAuYIG4ck

I for one am glad it got a season 3 and if it is pulling in this kind of viewership, it should continue past that.

I'm also hoping 'The Orville' get renewed too, but it's numbers don't appear to be very strong.



Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sat, Mar 9, 2019, 2:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Blood of Patriots

@ Dave in MN

"When Talla finally had her physical, she discussed it with Dr. Finn. How many more times to we need to hear about it too satisfy you?"

Thanks. What episode was that?
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 6:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Blood of Patriots

Well, I thought the girl wasn't his daughter from the start. Not sure why I thought that maybe because this is 'The Orville'.

I didn't hate watching this, but I didn't really enjoy it either. It was too easy to guess the next scene.

Like many of these episodes, I probably won't watch them again. On the other hand, I've seen each 'Discovery' episode at least twice.

I mean, they were so interested in placing a medal on a blob, they forget to give an award to Ty.

This show isn't immune to filler episodes and we all know trek has tons of them, but to completely forget the Isaac dynamic to include plenty of dead crew members in this episode is pretty poor I think. Now I don't really expect too much here, but that is too big a deal on this show to just brush off... and if it's not that's a bigger problem.

I'll go 2 stars because I just don't expect that much. If I cared more, I'd grade it harder.

I mean think about this.... we lose, for many what was their favorite character, because she couldn't physically hack it. We find out that doc had figured out a physical routine that could have kept her onboard, and have they mentioned it once since she was replaced with the someone of the same race? Nope. I guess they don't give a crap about her health. Too busying watching alien porn and making out with robots.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 12:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

@ Mertov

""Theories on a couple of other sites have it that the Red Angel is the corporeal manifestation of Discovery's sentient computer, as seen in one of the shorts."

That's actually not bad (the only speculation out there that I find intriguing, really). I'd sign up for that story."

I'd thought of that as well, but I can't figure out why on earth she'd want to destroy Andoria, Vulcan, Earth and everything else. Not that someone could figure something out, it just alludes me.

God, I hope it's not anything related Michael....
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 12:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

@ wolfstar

"The best, and saddest, thing about this episode was watching Wilson Cruz act rings around Anthony Rapp (whose portrayal of Stamets I've always found shallow and supercilious), and watching both Ethan Peck and Melissa George act rings around Sonequa Martin-Green. Great performances by guest stars and recurring characters are always welcome, and Cruz is excellent here, in the most he's had to do on the show so far. Likewise, Ethan Peck is considerably better than Zachary Quinto in the Spock role – he has just the right intonation and sensibility without overtly copying Nimoy's performance – and George is very effective as Vena. By contrast, SMG is just dreadful here; her exposition-laden dialog doesn't help, but the scenes on Talos really show her up – her performance is painfully flat and shallow with the usual wide-eyed overemoting."

Wow, so well put and right on the mark. I had recently applauded SMG's improvement over season 1, but I think I now realize that when she's up against real actors (Mount, George, Peck, etc...) it's still apparent she needs to go back to acting school. One section I thought she did well was when they told the story to the Talosians of her distancing herself from Spock.

@ Kinematic,

Wow, I don't believe we've crossed paths here, but I thoroughly enjoyed reading your post.

So, on to this episode.

The little TOS/Cage montage clip thingy was fine for me, but I'm not sure it would have done anyone that hadn’t seen 'The Cage' any benefit... it was probably a head scratcher to them.

This episode really was a fine homage to 'The Cage' though. REALLY well done here. I don't know that they missed anything of consequence.

I really enjoyed it. The pace didn't bother me in this one as in some others. I felt like I could breathe watching it. I didn’t have to strain to keep up.

Some have indicated that Saru allowing the fight to happen was wrong. I don't agree. Everyone on that ship knew what happened, this mix up was bound to happen and in my mind, from Culber's standpoint, needed to happen. Even Ash understood this as his fighting was defensive. He's a trained Star Fleet Security guy, he could have easily finished that fight at any time. He saw that in order to get past things, Culber needed to vent on HIM.

I think Pike handled the fight perfectly. No harm done and he reinforced the regs with Saru. It was also a different reaction from Saru that I think that we wouldn't have seen before his transversion thingy. I also see a difference in how he converses with Pike now. Well done Doug Jones. I don't imagine this is an easy thing for an actor. He has, over a season and a half, grown/developed his character into what we and he knows... and now it's very essence has changed. He seems convey this change without effort.

It was CLEARLY apparent to me that Wilson Cruz was acting circles around Anthony Rapp. Well done Mr. Cruz. It will be interesting to see how this pans out. I'm predicting Stamets is going to have to lose Culber again (death/suicide?).

Pike was frellin awesome in this entire episode. Mount continues to impress. I was almost cheering when Pike took Ash’s little badge and locking in his quarters.

The only dangling participle in this episode I thought was they kind of left the whole spore drive corrupted thing hanging.

I’m really liking our new Spock. While I didn’t dislike Quinto’s Spock, I think Peck’s will be different. I know it’s hard to compare a series to a movie, but that’s what I see.

I want more like this. I’m intrigued to see the Spock/Michael relationship, because I truly believe they love each other. Looks like they figure out that Airium is “under the influence” and it’s gonna be a rough ride next week.

I think I’m going 4 stars on this..... and I'm predicting Jammer will too.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Mar 7, 2019, 12:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

Thanks William!
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Mar 7, 2019, 9:37am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

@ John Harmon

"Is that bad? I mean, I'm ok with it. It's fun, it's funny, I care about the characters as people. This show has made me laugh, cry, stare in shock, and actually think when it's an episode About Something ™. And it often does have very intriguing sci-fi concepts.

I'll take that any day over something that depresses and confuses me with its awful internally inconsistent writing like Discovery."

No, I don't think so. That's where I'm at with 'The Orville'. It is what it is, so I don't really expect much other than the mindless sci-fi romp thing. That's fine. As long as it's not too stupid.

I will say that 'Discovery' has really improved IMO over season 2. I'm really enjoying it. Not that said, I enjoyed season 1 also - I just didn't like how they wrapped up the season.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Mar 6, 2019, 10:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

@Peter G.
Tue, Mar 5, 2019, 4:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

"I didn't miss Bajor not joining either. In fact I'd call it a feature, not a bug. Putting aside the fact that it would have had to be tossed in as a brief mention, which wouldn't do it justice, there are series-based reasons why I think it would have been bad to have them join on the end of a war."

For some reason, I have in the back of my head that the reason Bajor wasn't in the Federation was their "cast system"

Can anyone else elaborate? .... disprove?
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Mar 5, 2019, 3:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Man Trap

I don't honestly think I could review TOS...
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Mar 1, 2019, 12:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

@ Artymiss

"I don't get why Claire falling for a 'machine' who can never return her feelings is so far fetched. Apart from anything I doubt, until confronted with it, she would've accepted she couldn't 'get through' to Issac, she convinced herself that somewhere he must really have emotions etc, he just needed to be helped to discover them. Also AI and human relationships will be a developing thing in centuries to come so I think Orville is reflecting on that. "

I personally don't think she's falling for Isaac.... I think she falling for the fact that her kids love Isaac.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Mar 1, 2019, 12:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

Spockless

"Surprised when Talla got shot. Also since gravity on her world is different for some reason I was surprised that she was able to be easily carried.. wouldn't her weight be different? Mercer carried her as if she was a little girl"

That would have no bearing on her weight on the Orville at all.

Also, I'm not sure if that should toughen her hide. Not sure why she could withstand that shot.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Mar 1, 2019, 11:47am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

@ Mertov
Thu, Feb 28, 2019, 10:31pm (UTC -6)

Well played Mertov, well played.

A 13 year old could have written this script and done better.

@ Karl Zimmerman
Fri, Mar 1, 2019, 7:54am (UTC -6)

Agree. I was going to bring that up but you have done it much better than I would have. Isaac is not Data.

It's still a joke that the Kaylons on the ship aren't linked to one another... for awhile there I thought I was watching '50 sci-fi :-)

So while this plot could have been written and impletmented by some middleschoolers, I actually enjoyed watching the damn thing. The Kaylon end up being about as 2 dementional as the Krill are and I guess that's OK because this is 'The Orville'

Yaphit!!! ... he saves the day!! Speaking of him, when he turns back on Isaac, I we don't see him ooooz out of Isaac and you'd think that Isaac should have had some sort of reaction to him "being all up there" if you know what I mean..

I'd also like to remark on how visually pleasing the battle scenes were.... it was bright enough to make differences out in all the ships and the visuals were just astounding!

You cant shield the bridge from a self generated EMP pulse? .... what happened to the cloak on the shuttles?

So how do I grade this? Do I pick the crap out of it which you can see wouldn't be hard to do at all or do I just gaff off all the gaping plotholes and deus ex machina and rate it for being 'The Orville' not Star Trek. Had Discovery done this, the critiques would be skathing, trekkies would be marching through a black and white town with flamming pitchforks 😬

While there certainly wasn't a "sleep Data, sleep" (BoBW) moment in this one I was glad Isaac saved the day and I'm glad he did it because of what affection he might have for a little kid. I'm glad Isaac is still on the Orville.

So, I know of only 1 confirmed death on Orville? That red-shirt guy the Kaylon spaced? LT Talla Keyali took a shot and lived.... so were the others we saw in part one just stunned?

I don't know.

I'll go 2.5 out of 4 stars because 'The Orville' isn't Star Trek.



Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Mar 1, 2019, 9:48am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

So, are we supposed to rip this like we tear apart Discovery?

If so, this is no higher than a 2 star episode.

Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Mar 1, 2019, 9:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

Why is the Kir'Shara in the Spock family vault?
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Mar 1, 2019, 8:57am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

Will someone please kill Ash?

His was the only contribution here that made me want to tune in elsewhere. God, fucking annoying. Pike should have throat punched him.

My only real complaint about this episode other than our hybrid Klingon/human was the pacing during distress stuff.

I liked Amanda/Sarack/Michael exchanges on Vulcan. I like the Amanda/Sarak drama. We've always know it was there, but we've never really seen it before.

Also, I thought Michael showed us some real emotion when dealing with/talking to Spock. Much better SMG. I don't know if she had made the effort to improve her acting or it's better directing, but I think Michael has made huge strides in season 2.

The whole "B" plot with shuttle pod drama was pretty good if too fast.... just slow it down a bit. Instead of going 75 in a 55, go 65. They also need to brighten it up a bit. I don't want "The Orville" bright, but I'd like to appreciate all the cool looking stuff more. Bringing in Stamets was the right thing to do, but everything happed so damn fast I'm going to have to watch it 2 more times to understand the damn thing.

Wow.... Talos IV!!.... I wasn't expecting that one for sure, but I'm really excited here. BZ!!

Thanks guys for all the time line help.

I'm glad they have involved Airium and very interested in what she just downloaded... not so sure I agree with her "firewall" stuff... this entity hacking into Discovery pretty darn fast.

I wonder who sent that probe back? I'm guessing it wasn't our Red Angel and probably is the someone that is causing all this hate and discontent in the timeline(s).

I REALLY liked how they involved our section 31 Georgiou this time. THIS is what I thought she could bring to the table. "You not calling the shots anymore" A BZ for the fight choreography between Michael and Georgiou too.

So, Leland killed Burnham's parents? Did I hear that right?

I don't think they beamed with the shields up.... I think they were at Yellow Alert (could be wrong of course)

Overall I very much enjoyed this episode, but I'm not sure I can go about 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Feb 28, 2019, 8:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

Talos IV
Next ►Page 1 of 55
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.