Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,537 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 62
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Jul 14, 2020, 10:19am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Deadly Years

Spock should have relieved Kirk. Simple as that.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Jul 13, 2020, 4:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

I'm afraid you're right Booming. It really saddens me. I've enjoyed Discovery (season 2 to the most part) and most of the Short Treks.... but they are missing the jist of Trek IMO.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Jul 13, 2020, 9:17am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Booming,

I also saw the trailer and while I'm always stoked for new Trek I'm not sure I have any desire to watch this.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sun, Jul 5, 2020, 9:42am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@Chrome
Sun, May 19, 2019, 11:04am (UTC -5)
Is it a bad sign that I’m more excited about season 3 of DuckTales than Discovery? :-)
=============================
I'm excited for both and enjoy each show differently.

Honestly, I'm looking forward to DSC S3 than to PIC S2.

@Josh
Thu, Jul 2, 2020, 8:38pm (UTC -5)
And that's not to say the Rick & Morty creator isn't an artist (although I'm not a fan), just that he isn't a good fit for Star Trek.
=============================
Seth McFarlane came to my mind here. Incredibly talented "Family Guy" writer, but has some serious writing issues on 'The Orville'; just some really bad comedy. I'm a little more optimistic with 'Lower Decks' though. These writers are staying in their wheelhouse. Just writing animation. I think most would agree that 'Rick and Morty' is very well crafted. I guess we'll find out if they are fans of Trek as it comes out.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sun, Jul 5, 2020, 9:12am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

The U.S.S. Cerritos...

Not bad. I'm OK with "different". It's clearly recognizable as a Star Fleet vessel.

Couple questions that popped in my head when I first looked it over...

#1. I think I would have put the deflector dish on the sauce section (like NX-01), but I guess it could work there too. (Galaxy Class)

#2. The saucer section looks like it has a detachable section.... but if that's true, it detaches behind the pylons. Not sure why that would be.

#3. I don't see any impulse engines.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Jun 29, 2020, 7:20am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Innocence

Adam,

What's illogical about believing that someone has a soul that survives death?

The Vulcan Science directorate got over their skepticism of time travel, what's to say they haven't found some logical reason to believe in a soul?
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Jun 22, 2020, 1:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Through the Looking Glass

Every time I watch this, I can't help wishing Felecia M. Bell played Kassidy Yates.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Jun 22, 2020, 9:16am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

Ethdhelwen,

You are basing your judgment of this episode solely on human values.

First Contact was so hard, that Star Fleet would monitor planets for years in Picard's time in an attempt to get it right. To suggest Archer has anywhere close to enough information to grant asylum here is just naive.

You do not have enough information about the Vissian's to come to the conclusions and pass judgment as you do. In fact, the Vissian captain literally put no pressure on Archer to return the cogenitor.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Jun 19, 2020, 6:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Wire

Just saw this again. Frellin awesome every time.

Still my #1 DS9 episode!
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Jun 19, 2020, 9:59am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part II

Just caught this one while conducting in my constant Trek-a-thon COVID-19 work from home binge. Currently "flipping" between TNG, DS9 and VOY. :-) Something always running in the background.

Just fantastic all around Trek here. Stewart's finest performance I think. Riker was great as well, opposing Jelico. David Warner as Gul Madred is always a treat.

THERE... ARE... FOUR... LIGHTS!!!

Bravo.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Jun 17, 2020, 11:29am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Duet

Binging DS9 right now. I just finished this one.

Just fantastic.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Jun 17, 2020, 9:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

OmicronThetaDeltaPhi,

"Paw Patrol wasn't actually cancelled. The world is not *that* crazy... yet."

Thank you. My bad.

Just coming for it...

https://www.nytimes.com/2020/06/10/arts/television/protests-fictional-cops.html
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Jun 17, 2020, 7:18am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

All I'm going to say is "they" canceled "Paw Patrol".

My grandkids are safe now.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Jun 1, 2020, 3:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Well, I tuned into Space Force.... eeesh, I guess you need to be a "The Office" fan to like it. Personally, I'm not amused or impressed.

As for the Dragon launch, it was AWESOME!! I love that the private sector is not firmly involved with manned space flight. Can't wait for humans to be able to fly up to orbit and take in the view.... although I'm sure I won't be able to afford it.

No discussion on the protests and riots? :-) Probably the all the better.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sat, May 30, 2020, 12:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Seventh Season Recap

Always fun to do and I see that I didn't do it here.

Here are my VOY 4.0 episodes: (31 of them!)

Eye of the Needle
State of Flux
The 37's
Resistance
Meld
Death Wish
Lifesigns
The Thaw
Remember
Sacred Ground
Real Life
Distant Origin
Scorpion Part I
Scientific Method
Prey
Living Witness
Drone
Infinite Regress
Counterpoint
Bride of Chaotica
Dark Frontier
Course: Oblivion
Someone to Watch Over Me
Tinker, Tenor, Doctor, Spy
Pathfinder
Blink of an Eye
Child's Play
Muse
Lineage
Author, Author

My 1.0 and below episodes: (15 of these)

False Profits
Favorite Son
Mortal Coil
The Killing Game
Nothing Human
The Fight
Memorial
Unimatrix Zero I&II
Spirit Folk
Fury
Imperfection
Repression
Prophecy
Q2

A struggle for sure to limit it to my top 5, but here it is:

1. Counterpoint
2. Scorpion
3. Death Wish
4. Blink of an Eye
5. Distant Origin

My bottom 5: (not so hard)

1. The Fight
2. Fury
3. Q2
4. False Prophets
5. Favorite Son
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sat, May 23, 2020, 6:09am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Phage

Jaxon,

I'm not sure we know enough about Talakian anatomy to know where Neelix's pulmonary artery is or isn't.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, May 20, 2020, 8:24am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Bound

@ Cetric

Very simply... we see how they affected the crew of the Enterprise, it's clear their tactic. The sell them off, and they bring the syndicate ships, more slaves, goods, etc.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, May 20, 2020, 7:55am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

His vid was quite a rant.

I think we need to mention 7... why was she in this series again? To drive a borg cube through a transwarp hub to be attacked by space flowers?

A note I've been wanting to post for awhile...

The scene with Picard and Data... emotional... well done, but I've discovered I didn't have any feelings for the quitter Picard, all my emotions were for Data. He was trapped in this positronic quantum blah, blah for 20 years... unable to interact with anyone, etc... my emotions were for him finally being rescued and allowed to complete his quest. One wonders if Data ever would have desired to "die" if he hadn't sacrificed himself to stop Schizon in Nemesis and hadn't been succumbed to this quantum prison.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, May 14, 2020, 10:01am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Parallax

Just watched BoT last night.

Kirk was non-denominational(ly) ... lol .... fulfilling his Captainy duties by performing a marriage ceremony. The female crew member that lost her husband-to-be is clearly praying at the alter at the end of the episode.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, May 7, 2020, 2:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Emissary

petulant,

This is the best I got.

https://i128.photobucket.com/albums/p179/WKYanks/StarTrekFranchiseRatings.jpg
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sun, May 3, 2020, 6:40am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Blink of an Eye

@ Cody B

...but I was correct, and you were not.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Apr 29, 2020, 10:00am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Court Martial

Interesting how the folks at the time could get this episode title wrong.

It's "Courts-Martial"
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Apr 27, 2020, 1:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Blink of an Eye

@Cody B

"Lol. As if I was being serious. Admittedly sarcasm and humor can be difficult to perceive sometimes through text but saying only “Yikes” is snarky and rude. Of course people can list this as their favorite episode. Everyone is allowed opinions. Just like I am of the opinion that only replying “yikes” to someone’s comment is lazy and pompous."

Pleased to have butt hurt you.

I wear the snarky, rude, lazy, and pompous badge with honor!

But I wouldn't dream of stating that someone's opinion of a show/episode was wrong.

I guess I should work on my sarcasm/humor.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sun, Apr 26, 2020, 7:49am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Blink of an Eye

@ Cody B

"... and I think a lot of people consider this episode as one of the best of the series. Those people are wrong."

Yikes.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Apr 23, 2020, 9:29am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@ Mike

"What are the point of these "Short Treks", exactly? I just watched "Children of Mars", the latest one. It takes 4 people to write an 8 minute episode which doesn't even have a story, just sentimental fluff, shamelessly uses a pop song from the 80s and references the events of STP. It felt like an extended trailer or commercial for nuTrek."

I'm sure what Booming said has some merit for sure, but 'Children of Mars' is a precursor to the Picard series.

3 of the 4 early ones led directly into Discovery season 2.

I quite enjoy them (well, most of them)... my favorite being 'Q&A'.
Next ►Page 1 of 62
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.