Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,717 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 69
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Mar 12, 2021, 12:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: MAND S1: Chapter 1: The Mandalorian

@Dave in MN

"I want to defend The Mandalorian and say it's also "escapist" and "fun", but recent behind-the-scenes events with the production have ruined any goodwill the show had built up with me."

I LOVED watching this thing and I'm not even a Star Wars nut. "Escapist" and "fun" fit the bill perfectly. Plenty of SW Easter eggs that I didn't know about while watching the episodes that I had to learn about afterward. It made me feel the same way I felt watching old trek on TV.

I was already scratching my head as to what season 3 was going to offer now that the biggest draw is gone and BF is off to another series, but now that another cast member has been scrapped for all the wrong reasons I'm done.

I'll still listen to the theme though, just love it.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Mar 11, 2021, 11:10am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

@Silly,

Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

"Problems:

* They bring in Khan, and there’s this big reveal in the brig that he’s Khan. The onscreen characters are like, “uh, so” as is anyone who was familiar with Wrath and guessed it instantly. Anyone not familiar is like “uh, who?”"

Yup, only Trek fans knew what that meant.

"* Khan in Wrath had history with Kirk and company and one hell of a grudge because of the death of his wife. Here, nope."

Kirk hadn't stranded Khan on Ceti-Alpha 5 yet in this timeline.

"* In Wrath, Kirk screamed “KHAAAN!” as a ruse to trick Khan. Here it was screamed by Spock in real emotion after Kirk died kicking the warp drive back together. Why?"

THE worst part of the movie.

"* Khan was intelligent but not experienced in building 23RD CENTURY WEAPONS. Why would the Admiral think Khan would be good at that? How did the Admiral even know Khan was alive or where to find him?"

Superior intelect... Khan was a fast learner, just like in Space Seed.

"Not everybody loved Star Trek Beyond, but I liked it, and really liked that Paramount aborted the 2009/Into Darkness arc."

I loved Beyond. How did Paramount "abort" the 2009.ID arc"?
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Mar 9, 2021, 6:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Sanctuary

@ Dave in MN

"If you hold to a very basic definition of race based on skin color and eye shape; then it is logical to lump historically Jewish people in with other whites."

I don't believe this is correct at all. There is one race, the human race. The sooner everyone gets on board with that the better.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Mar 9, 2021, 6:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tattoo

Wonderful post Dave in MN.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Feb 22, 2021, 7:02am (UTC -5)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

Booming.

Come on. What the Ben Shapiro interview and tell me this woman has any malice in her. I don't doubt she and others have been bullied by Disney/Lucasfilm. ... especially anything entity that has Kennedy associated with it.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Feb 18, 2021, 10:32am (UTC -5)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

Great post OmicronThetaDeltaPhi.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Feb 16, 2021, 12:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

The "Pedro tweet" I'm referring to is the one where he compared the detainment centers on the southern US border to the concentration camps.

How that's not worse than anything Gina ever posted is beyond me. But hey, Trump was in office so all is well. I wonder what would have happened to Pedro if Obama was in office?

Now I'm not for anyone getting fired for stuff like this, but if Gina had to go... why is Pedro still there?
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Feb 15, 2021, 5:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Favorite Son

@SJW Not Really

Good lord, get a life.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Feb 12, 2021, 10:25am (UTC -5)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

I would be very interested if someone in the "HR" department at Disney actually called Gina in, sat down and spoke to her about this. While I support an employers' right to hire and fire whom they wish, this is just another in the long line of left-leaning public lynching's. It is both in government and outside. Remember how the TEA Party was treated by the IRS? Government branches are used as weapons for the left.

It's funny how if you are employed by the US government, your social media "voice" can't be linked to your employment as long as you participate off duty, but this is somehow tolerated.

Her life-threatening, world ending tweets are here:
https://nypost.com/2021/02/11/see-gina-caranos-tweets-and-posts-that-got-her-fired/

Hell, there has been more "lively" conversations here and this is a very tempered respectful crowd. What on earth was going to threaten the monster that is Disney?

How many celebrities called for Trump's head in all manner of ways? How many of them got fired?

The only thing I can do is cancel Disney+.

Done, without seeing the last episode of WV BTW, a show I was very much enjoying.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Feb 11, 2021, 8:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

@Dave in MN

"As far as Gina getting fired, she made the exact same analogy her still-employed co-star did, the only difference being which political party they were talking about.

Why does he still have a job?"

That tells the complete story right there.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Feb 11, 2021, 6:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

Cancel Culture strikes again... Gina fired.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Feb 5, 2021, 4:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Booming

"Does everyone now risk losing a job over simple allegations?"
Some innocent soul here said that I should not always assume the worst. So I will not assume that you are trying to divert attention away from this specific case to push some anti feminist narrative."

This certainly isn't anti-feminist... it does come from someone falsely accused. Albeit it not in a sexual nature like this.

"Away from the suffering of dozens of women (more than 400.000 rapes and sexual assaults of women and more than 50.000 rapes and sexual assaults of men in 2019 in the USA) and just have the fear that innocent people could lose their jobs for which I have no numbers. Is this actually a significant problem? So to answer your question. No, there are contracts. If they broke the contract then he can sue. If all these women accused him wrongly, he can sue them as well. And if he is guilty then let us hope that he burns in hell until the end of time."

If he's guilty, I'll light the match. While I can understand the studios' decision to save face, or maybe more appropriately error on the side "what if it's true", maybe this should just go to court? Will they resurrect the character if he's found innocent? Will he ever work again in the industry if he's found innocent? It's not like this hasn't happened before... ever play Lacrosse at Duke? I guess I'm an "innocent until proven guilty" kind of guy. If the studio could have had him stay off-screen to try and fix his relationship with his family until he's done in court. While the punishment should be severe if he's found guilty, he shouldn't be hung until his guilt is proven.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Feb 5, 2021, 12:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country

R.I.P. Mr. Plummer.

Started in 1953. Everything from 'The Sound of Music, to Star Trek The Undiscovered Country, to Danny Collins. What a life.

I've never heard a bad word uttered about the man.

"Oh now, be honest, Captain. Warrior to warrior..."
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Feb 5, 2021, 7:58am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Booming

"Well, I guess the Expanse is a show I can never rewatch in a relaxed way. When he died I thought "wow that was sudden, was he a rapist or something"... sadly I was closer to the truth than I thought. 2021... Not off to a great start."

Not sure how to feel about this. "Alledged" is different than "guilty". Nothing has been proven yet, correct? Does everyone now risk losing a job over simple allegations?
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Feb 5, 2021, 7:52am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

@Z
"I agree about the ending. I think it would have been better left to the imagination."

Don't agree at all. I much rather know this was a true story.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Feb 2, 2021, 9:39am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Nick


HAHAHA!!!! Thank you, I needed a belly laugh today!!
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Feb 1, 2021, 10:54am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Nick

"@Yanks, I can just hear Vance and the other admirals debating promotions: "well, Burnham did needlessly murder thousands of people on the Veridian, but have you heard her new catch phrase when they go to warp??? We have to promote her!""

@grey cat

"@Yanks that video is superb.

Amusing and really shows the writing and/or producers aren't making anything resembling Star Trek. They've utterly missed Roddenberry's core concepts. While some may argue that DS9 did that already, as you can see from that clip, Sisko understood them perfectly well - it just wasn't always possible to follow them exactly on a remote space station in the middle of a war.

As one of the You Tube comments says "DSC is disgusting. It’s characters, message, tone and ethos is evil. For all the flair, money and special effects, it is ugly to its very core."

Agree with both of you, but dare you make any intelligent/informed comments about her promotion on FB... good lord, the SJW nuts come out of the woodwork... black woman, blah, blah - hater, why are you here, blah, blah... of course they can't provide one logical reason for her to get the Captain's chair...

Did you guys notice that on top of her ascension to the Captain's seat, she was also PROMOTED to Captain? (4 pips on her com-badge/transporter thingy)
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sun, Jan 31, 2021, 8:55am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

A pretty good video illustrating why I don't think Michael Burnham has earned the Captain's chair. (let alone the rank of Captain)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SLaQiTjHHSA
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Jan 25, 2021, 6:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@ MarkG

"+1 on the thanks for everyone mentioning The Expanse. This is real Science Fiction."

Not so much this year though... they are falling into the war trope. While I've watched and enjoyed this season, I think it's the series weakest.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Jan 22, 2021, 12:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

While we sort of are on the topic of BAB5...

Truly sad news today. Mira Furlan has passed away (65). Cause of death unknown (or unpublished at this point)
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Jan 19, 2021, 4:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@MarkG

"I’m not sure what target audience is, but I watched the first two episodes of Lower Decks and it’s quite fun. I’m 45."

It only gets better Mark. Enjoy!!
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Jan 18, 2021, 8:46am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Harbinger

I like this Triniray.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sun, Jan 17, 2021, 8:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Beyond

Pitch Meeting

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZKctcTr6GDc&t=215s
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Jan 14, 2021, 12:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@SlackerInc,

@Yanks: "My Median was 2.5 so using this guidance 'If M > 2.5, award five bonus points. If M < 2.5, subtract three points.', I gave DS9 four points here."

"No, my intention there is that if the median is exactly 2.5 (which I think is going to be pretty common), you don't add OR subtract anything. So I guess you could say it's zero points. So I guess DS9's S3 would be only 14 points. Sounds like you didn't like it too well! I assume Jammer has it higher. (Maybe if we're just comparing S3's, I'll give it a whirl here in a bit.)"

Thanks. Sorry I misinterpreted your process.

I didn't think DS9 got good-to-great until the Dominion entered the picture.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Jan 12, 2021, 12:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@ Jammer,

"Unless I missed it, which is possible, the mystery of the music that accompanied the Burn distress call is a dead-end red herring. No explanation is given for why so many people know the song."

Good catch, I - and apparently the writers, completely forgot about that.

Great review, I summarily change my rating to 2.0 stars.
Next ►Page 1 of 69
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.