Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,267 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 51
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Jan 15, 2019, 1:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Blink of an Eye

Patrick,

Ha..... yup, that would have been nice :-)
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Jan 14, 2019, 12:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Home

Nice review Jammer. Good point concerning DS9's "Prodigal Daughter,". My DS9 Trek - o - meter must be out of calibration; I didn't make that connection.

Jammer: "And, yes, while the scene where she individually hugs every member of the main cast in the shuttle bay is perhaps pushing the sentiment a little bit into the overly earnest (we're only 15 episodes into this series; have we really earned this?), and her parting gift to Captain Mercer (an unopened jar of pickles) borders on the hopelessly corny, you'd have to have a heart of stone not to be caught up in the moment at least a little bit. Farewell, Alara Kitan. We barely knew you. But you gave us one of The Orville's better episodes to date."

Agree. I always thought this was true for Tasha Yar as well but I've never got that feedback WRT her.

Of course I hated her, maybe I wasn't looking for it.

Come on Jammer, the pickle thing was great :-)
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sun, Jan 13, 2019, 12:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Home

The best effort thus far in season 2 by a long shot.

Of course, we all knew this was coming.

So probably, my favorite character from The Orville is now gone. 😭

Kind of a VOY: Homestead - Neelix send-off for her. Right down to no exchange of words. We've only known her for about a year and I was sad to see her go. I teared up.

Nice to see Picardo again (nice performance too) and I was pleased to see Billingsly join The Orville effort.

Quite the X-Star Trek cast in this one.

Some puzzling things with regard to how much the gravity affects things and the fact she said she was on her last legs when talking her father into going to save Ed, then seemingly having no issues walking and standing. If the gravity is 'that' strong, wouldn't the planet mountains not exist? .... shouldn't her skin be thicker? .... bones heavier?

Again, The Orville coming across on screen beautifully though.

I guess we'll probably never know the real reason she was written off. I did see an interview where it appeared she really didn't enjoy going through the make-up ordeal. I hope it was for greener pastures in her acting career. From what I've seen of her, she seems like a good kid.

Enter Lt. Talla Keyali - also a Xelayan; played by Jessica Szohr.

3.5 stars from me.

Think I'll have a pickle.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Jan 10, 2019, 8:34am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

Haven't we ranked all the ST seasons before? :-)

S1: TOS/ENT/VOY/DS9=TNG
S2: ENT/VOY/TOS/DS9=TNG
S3: DS9=TNG/ENT/TOS/VOY
S4: ENT/VOY=DS9=TNG
S5: TNG=DS9/VOY
S6: DS9/VOY/TNG
S7: VOY/TNG=DS9
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Jan 9, 2019, 12:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Primal Urges

geeessh...... lots of talking in this one :-)
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sun, Jan 6, 2019, 7:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

Enjoyable short.

I like the guy that plays Mudd.

I love the expression of the Star Fleet Officer that greets the Tellarite in the transporter room.

All these shorts have been entertaining.

I guess we'll have to be on the lookout for mechanized Mudds from now on.

We all agree that they went way too far with the Klingons, but what do you think of the Tellarites? .... I think they're pretty good.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Jan 4, 2019, 11:24am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Primal Urges

Well, that was unexpected.

I would have to rate this episode a -1 had they not brought up the forced sex change of the child. That wove it all together nicely. I was not enjoying this episode at all until it really meant something.

Bortus is a great character, and it only gets better when he's paired with Isaac.

They screwed up the timeline. First LT LaMarr said he can make the modifications in 9 hours and then when our Captain calls for an update he says 10 hours to complete it. (I think)

As mentioned above, the visuals are out of this world. This (and Discovery) are movie quality. Wow.

Isaac has to save the day at the end.... pretty funny when one of the porn Moclans is kissing his head :-)

Porn addiciton is a thing? .... and it's a disease?

We learn that the Orville has 300 folks onboard in this episode? I think it's the first time I've heard that.

The porn-master alien was fun.

I think they could have packed some more aliens in the shuttle craft. They were really sloppy with the costumes. The last two aliens, after saying goodbye to the grand poopa alien, just walk right out with no suits... then we see more in the shuttle without them.

There is only one shuttle craft on Orville? For some reason I seem to remember more.

Not sure I agree with our Captain's butt chewing at the end. Is he chewing Bortus out for watching Porn, or accidentally introducing a virus? I'm sure in a show where anything goes - watching porn isn't shunned upon and there certainly was not intent with the virus thing. It seems to me that our porn-master alien should have been involved in the clean-up.

I'll go 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Jan 2, 2019, 1:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

"Ed Mercer is still light-years more competent than Jonathan Archer."

Oh stop.... good lord.

Yes, Ed knew how to plant a tree but he's an unstable emotional loon...
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Jan 2, 2019, 11:22am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

Jammer: "But, boy, am I over Ed and Kelly. I thought and hoped after "Mad Idolatry" this series was too, and was content with them being friends. Nope. We're treated here to a bunch of Ed's pining over Kelly while she talks about the new guy Cassius she's dating, who is super nice and unflappable in the face of awkward situations (which I guess is a better than the more lame and predictable option of making him a douchebag). But Ed's whiny behavior is obnoxious, and a scene where he uses a shuttle to do a "drive-by" and peek into Kelly's window from outside the ship is behavior that strikes me as that of a stalker, not a starship captain. (Shouldn't something like this get you fired?) I know, I know, it's a sitcom joke. But more to the point: Can't we just be done with the lame Ed/Kelly rom-com stuff already? This stuff didn't work last year; why go back there again?"

Sooooooooo this. This ruined the episode for me. Yes the drive-by was sort of funny, but come on man.... get past this. It was bad in season 1, please don't let it be bad in season 2 as well.

The "Great Release" was some funny stuff when he explained it, but the execution of it wasn't anything special. I felt like we missed something.

"SlackerInc
Wed, Jan 2, 2019, 1:20am (UTC -6)
Anybody else think Isaac is quietly MVP of this show? Or is that just me?"

Issac is awesome. I love it when he tells Claire she is a horrible parent. VGR23 is right, everyone else has been depicted as morons on more than one occasion. Hell, LaMarr dry-humped a statue on a planet and then got promoted to Chief Engineer.

I feel like most of this might be funny if given to us on an epiosde of Family Guy but in execution here it doesn't work. At least not for me.

I can't go above 2 stars for this. For all intents and purposes, a pretty disappointing start to season 2.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Dec 25, 2018, 8:24am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

Merry Christmas everyone!
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Dec 18, 2018, 1:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Chosen Realm

"abuse someone for centuries" ..... lol

"ethnically cleansed entire countries" ..... ?????

Desperate people? .... lol

Hate speech doesn't count against whites.... lol

Well, there you have it. the route of all evil in the world.

Jammer and I belong in jail.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Dec 17, 2018, 1:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

PatrickD,

"Where did Trek go wrong? Was it when Deep Space Nine altered what Trek was supposed to be about that it's practically unrecognizable from Gene Roddenberry's vision? Is it the 10-year bout of sustained mediocrity with Voyager and Enterprise? How did we get here? How do we fix it? (Personally, I think the Powers that Be need to study up on what made TOS and TNG what they were. Examine what made those two shows work beyond the superficiality of Klingons, Tribbles, and green animal women.)"

The only difference in DS9 from TNG and TOS was is wasn't stationed on a Star Ship. They still explored humanity, met new races and projected Gene's "vision".

Star Trek Voyager WAS TNG-lite aside from boring Picard speechs every episode. While I love Picard and a lot of his rants, it was a bit much at times. Also, you trumpet "Gene's vision" a lot.... TNG didn't take off until Gene got his hands out of the kitchen - you do know that right?

IMO what we got in Enterprise was fantastic, but I didn't learn to hate B&B like many did. I can understand some "fatigue", but it was more "B&B fatigue" than "Franchise fatigue" that I heard trumpeted around the boards back in the mid 2000's.

There is no fanbase ever that eats it's own like StarTrek's does. I first came to Startrek.com after I had purchased and watched Enterprise because I wanted to find out why it was cancelled. I was floored at the vitriol online concerning this series I had just watched and enjoyed.

I've repeatedly watched all the series and love them all for what they bring to the table. I even include Discovery in that list because for the most part, I enjoyed season 1 there too. (ranked the individual episodes very highly) Admittedly, there are more "personal hurdles" to get over with STD, but for the most part I enjoyed it. Visually, it dwarfs every other series before it and aside from the appearance of the Klingons I'm happy with all the other Star Trek races (aside from the male Orion slaves). I also enjoy all the actors minus SMG's inablity to show any realistic emotion.

JJ's movies were pretty damn good minus the ending of STiD and a few other quibbles. STB was for all intents and purposed a glorified TOS episode.

So let's "examine" what made TOS and TNG "work".

TOS was the first of it's kind and technically didn't "work". It didn't pull in the required ratings and got cancelled after 3 seasons. It wasn't until reruns that it really became a cult hit show.

TNG was also alone in the market and as a result garnered quite the fanbase. would the preachy Picard and company fare well in a market like DS9/VOY/ENT were in? Could they have sustained a crappy newtork like VOY and ENT were asked to do? Would you pay CBS All Access to watch any of these series? (having not seen any of them before) TNG and DS9 had it made in syndicaton. Could any of these shows survive for 7 years in today's marketplace?

I don't think it's possible for any SCI-FI show to last as long and be as beloved as our trek shows were in today's environment. I mean look at 'The Expanse' ... one of the seasons got 100% from the critics on rotten tomatoes and it got cancelled.

Look at your comment... "superficial Klingons" (STD). Now their appearance was all hosed up, but their actions were pretty much in keeping with the Klingons of any time period. But some refuse to see past appearances. Do I like the look?, Do I like the subtitles? ... no, but I can easily see the actions taken in Discovery as Klingon.

Whom should I quote here....

McCoy? - "I know engineers, they LOVE to change things" (each trek is different)

Picard? - "Live now; make now always the most precious time. Now will never come again" (We only get to see new threk the first time once, enjoy it)

Sisko? - " I'm not Picard." (DS9 is not TNG.....STD is different too)

Janeway? - "Three years ago I didn't even know your name. today, I can't imagine a day without you." (how I felt the first time I watched each series for the first time)

T'Pol? - "She was important." (what we all might say about Discovery after it gets time to find it's legs, just like all the spin-offs did)

Don't throw the baby out with the bathwater.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Dec 14, 2018, 6:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

You're right Jason, it is over the top, but saving Earth countless times is really no different. .... only ship in the quadrant etc...

I guess in SCI-FI nowadays, bigger is better :-) Kind of like 'The Force Awakens'

As far as section 31 goes, to me, there has been no doubt that it would have to be prevalent in this series. They've got to bury the spore drive technology for one... I AM glad that our mirror Georgio is still on the show. I really enjoy Michelle Yeoh.

We'll see how they employ it. Ever and every time it's been mentioned in trek, the masses have screamed for more.... now we get it and folks don't give it a chance. They could do it well.

This is how I think a Section 31 series could work and be very interesting:

I remember what Sloan said to Bashir...

"SLOAN: I just wanted to say thank you.
BASHIR: For what? Allowing you to manipulate me so completely?
SLOAN: For being a decent human being. That's why we selected you in the first place, Doctor. We needed somebody who wanted to play the game, but who would only go so far. When the time came, you stood your ground. You did the right thing. You reached out to an enemy, you told her the truth, you tried to stop a murder. The Federation needs men like you, Doctor. Men of conscience, men of principle, men who can sleep at night. You're also the reason Section Thirty-one exists. Someone has to protect men like you from a universe that doesn't share your sense of right and wrong."

I think a smart writer(s) could make this a great series with this as the foundation.

There's talk of a series centered on Yeoh, I would welcome this.

https://deadline.com/2018/11/michelle-yeoh-star-trek-spinoff-talks-cbs-crazy-rich-asians-1202498617/
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Dec 14, 2018, 11:08am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

@John Harmon
Fri, Dec 14, 2018, 1:17am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

"Saw the new trailer for season 2. Spock says:

“Something is going to kill all sentient life in the galaxy”

Cool, so glad they’re doing another season long plot about a hilariously, impossibly huge catastrophe. It can’t be something small. It always has to THE END OF EVERYTHING every time. That’s Alex Kurtzman for you. "

No, that's Star Trek for you pretty much from the get go. ... and least since TMP.

"Also glad to see everyone knows what Section 31 is and that they have their own Starfleet shaped badges, despite not being affiliated with Starfleet in any way and not actually being an organization so much as a handful of lone operating domestic terrorists. "

You need to reread the Charter, Article 14, Section 31. There are a few lines that make allowances for bending the rules during times of extraordinary threat.

Section 31 has and always will be part of Star Fleet.

"These writers/producers/show runners have no clue. Expect nothing new in season 2. Star Trek is no more and will never be again"

Oh poo poo... shooting it down before even seeing it.

It's obvious this season will have a different tone from the trailers, but you refuse to see the effort to make this feel more like trek.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Dec 14, 2018, 10:17am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Chosen Realm

David, that's laughable on it's face.

Let's look at the Islamic's attacks world-wide since 1979. I'll let you remember the significance of that year and Islam.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Islamist_terrorist_attacks

Not just against those "evil" white men either.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Dec 12, 2018, 5:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Meridian

Springy...

Funny stuff! Thanks!
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sun, Dec 9, 2018, 7:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

Guess I should have said I just took in "The Brightest Star"

Also, "Saru" .... eeeesh .... too many beers watching the Steelers lose :-)
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sun, Dec 9, 2018, 7:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

Just took this one in.

I enjoyed it. No harm was done and a nice backstory for Suru.

I would have liked to learn some about the Ba'ul, especially since Star Fleet knows of them.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Dec 7, 2018, 10:49am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

I didnt think it was out until the 8th.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sat, Dec 1, 2018, 10:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Terra Prime

^^ Wow, what a stupid comment.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Nov 27, 2018, 9:27am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

@ Jangus
Sun, Nov 25, 2018, 11:32pm (UTC -6)

The SJW crap was flung by the writers. Not in the carrying out of Discovery. well, not until the last episode.

Good article here if you care to read it.

www.quora.com/Do-the-SJW-rumours-about-Star-Trek-Discovery-hold-any-weight

Patrick D,

Good video. I like listening to Steve, although I don't totally agree with him here. He is commenting only on the idiots.

Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Nov 16, 2018, 12:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Renaissance Man

Springy,

No problems... I make more typos than most :-)
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Nov 16, 2018, 10:59am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Sleeping Dogs

navamske,

I certainly did!!
One of his 13 different Star Trek characters!!
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Nov 16, 2018, 10:37am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Terra Prime

Karel,

There isn't "MAGA Madness", only those that are butthurt. ... you know, walking around dressed up as vaginas, naked , screaming...
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Nov 16, 2018, 10:34am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Renaissance Man

Springy,

"THIS"?
Next ►Page 1 of 51
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.