Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,415 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 57
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Jul 15, 2019, 9:23am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Gift

MadBaggins,

Care to elaborate?
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Jul 15, 2019, 5:57am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Macrocosm

Yusef,

This IS science FICTION you know...
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, May 30, 2019, 8:09am (UTC -5)
Re: Solo: A Star Wars Story

I finally saw this on Netflix.

Meh.... I nodded of a couple times.

2 stars from me. I guess if I were more of a SW nut it might have captivated/intrigued me more.

Not nearly as good as 'Rogue One' IMO.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, May 14, 2019, 9:57am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

Oh, I forgot to mention... They showed one of my favorite moments in all of trek during the documentary. Sisko and Vic singing "The Best is Yet to Come".
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, May 14, 2019, 6:07am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

@ wolfstar

"Haplo, Yanks - I've seen the DS9 documentary. I gave it an 8/10 (or a high 3 on the Jammer scale). It was great hearing all the actors talk so intelligently about their roles. For me the season eight part was the weakest element - admittedly they only had one day to come up with it, but I didn't think the writers' ideas worked and a lot of the groundwork and character choices seemed to have been borrowed from the relaunch novels. A shame there was no discussion of The Visitor or In The Pale Moonlight at all in the two-hour runtime, and no discussion of the geopolitical side of the show either (the parallels between Bajor/Cardassia and eastern European countries recovering from Soviet domination in the 1990s, Changeling paranoia in relation to terrorism fears in the U.S., etc.). I did really enjoy it, but it was a little too much of a love-in and nostalgia fest - which is entirely warranted, as the show is awesome, but I'd have preferred a slightly more sober and analytical look at what made DS9 so resonant and timeless, rather than lots of scenes of the cast singing and fooling around."

I enjoyed it. There was about 70 folks in the theater I saw it in last night. We all applauded when it was over. I gave some $$$$ to the effort so Steven was speaking to me at the end :-)

I was a little disappointed that it seemed they were all whining about not getting the credit it/they deserved? I was surprised that Armin Shimmerman was so taken aback with some criticism... it really bothered him? .... DS9 made him... we wouldn't know who he was if not for DS9.

We got to see Terry talk about the contract issues... sort of, she never really exposed the whole thing but you could see it really bothered her on how she was treated.

The stuff we got in HD was pretty darn amazing looking. I also liked the cartoon sketch stuff...

I didn't mind the season 8 stuff. All good and would have been interesting for sure. It was funny as hell when Nog (Aron) went off :-)

I don't like the idea of Garak being gay and needed to be in a relationship with Bashir.

It also really didn't feel like this was a reunion... they are together all the time at the conventions...

Some laugh-out-loud funny moments.

Behr needs to grow up and lose the purple goat.

Of course they go to 'Past Tense' and 'Far Beyond the Stars' as the key episodes that make DS9 great. .... not so sure about that, I might have chosen others... many others...

I think they got everyone that was alive to participate... quite the gaggle of niners :-)

HAHA... they hit on the DS9 ending controversy... brought up pretty much every point I made here... I feel vindicated :-)

I stayed until the end so the run time for me was closer to 2 1/2 hours.

I'll purchase it on DVD and add it to my collection.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, May 13, 2019, 9:47am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

Great news!!
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, May 13, 2019, 9:41am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Through the Looking Glass

^^

I'm sure he was... this episode was horrible.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, May 9, 2019, 6:44am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Yup, saw it.

We also get Billy Dee Williams as Lando Calrissian.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, May 9, 2019, 6:32am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Chrome,


"If I'm not mistaken, part of the Federation is actually located in the Beta Quadrant. Whatever the case, it appears the Federation has long range sensors and/or listening posts that detected the initial seven red bursts which were spread out among 30,000 light years (including one burst in the beta quadrant) according to "Brother"."

You are most correct.

The Klingon and Romulan Empires are in the Beta Q. (probably Andoria too?_

*** slaps forehead***
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, May 9, 2019, 6:24am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: All Good Things...

Bobbington Mc Bob

"I will miss "engage", but am looking forward to maybe a season of "Hit it" :)"

I personally liked Pike's "Punch it" better :-)
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, May 8, 2019, 8:28am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Elliot,

"I posted my youtube like as a snarky reply to Yanks, but I suggest seriously watching it. I loathe Disney and am very pessimistic about the mega-blockbuster endless sequel industry that Star Wars is now only one example of in our media, but I think that TLJ somehow emerged as one of the most interesting, engaging and complex films of the entire franchise."

I watched it. It's obviously a fanboy take and I'm fine with that. Let me ask you this, is there one point brought up in my video that is incorrect?

Seriously, this movie lost me when Mary Poppins arrived.

I personally think the next and last chapter will be much better. JJ can tell a story on screen and aside from some visuals (shaky cam and lens flares) I'm sure he will wrap things up concerning the characters, unlike TLJ.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, May 8, 2019, 6:20am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

Thanks wolfstar!
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, May 7, 2019, 11:45am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

@ Haplo

"Anybody (esp. Jammer) seen "Whet we left behind"? Ira Behrs DS9-Documentary just released for backers and coming to select cinemas shortly (May, 12th). Not sure, if I can post links, so just google it: it's the first entry.
The interviews are interesting, the pitch and animated storyboard for an eigth season by the five core writers (Behr, Moore, Beimler, …) is a nice gimick.
They even remastered the footage (incl. VFX shots!) in HD, which looks absolutely gorgeous! So, what do you think?"

It's May 13th!!

www.fathomevents.com/events/what-we-left-behind

I'm there for sure!!

Nolan,

Very interesting read. I can tell your are a communicator.

I will boil my point down.

TPTB decided to center a Star Trek show on a black Captain. Bravo... fully support. Outstanding platform to provide a positive role model to kids of color, etc. (is there another reason to do it?) I also supported casting the first female Captain for Star Trek Voyager. Same reasons. Bravo.

Sisko throughout the series has done just that for the most part (only a couple waivers for me, but that's all within the story for the most part). We've all had our issues with Avery's acting abilities, but we all support him nonetheless. Sisko has been a great Captain, with huge responsibilities etc. Outstanding role model.

Then we get this closer. Sisko's dancing, he says he has to go and bam. He's off to fight the good fight, falls into the caves and the "Prophets" save him and take him from his family.

So what do we get? Sisko is a god and has to go do God stuff, has no idea when he'll return and Kassidy, Jake and the unborn baby are left to fend for themselves.

Horrible. Of course Yates plays the good abandoned mother "And I will be waiting."...

Peter G, If Sisko has died, while I didn't want to see that, it would have been better than this IMO.

What I think should have happened, is the wormhole aliens should have saved Sisko, indicated to him they were going to take him, and Sisko should have convinced them he couldn't come because of his responsibility to his family.

That would have wrapped the role model thing up perfectly.

The only real saving grace here is that it certainly is easier to raise a child in the 24th century... it's not like Kassidy is going to be in the soup line or something, but that's not the way it is now.

Huge opportunity missed. here IMO.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, May 6, 2019, 11:21am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

If you want to know why this movie is horrible, listen to this:

www.youtube.com/watch?v=5ECwhB21Pnk&pbjreload=10
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, May 6, 2019, 11:18am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

Trent....

Dude......

:-)

I'm hoping the delay is a good sign. I think maybe if they were going to cancel it they already would have.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, May 3, 2019, 5:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

@ William B

"Sure, but the point of the reversal is that Tuvix emphatically didn't consent to die so Tuvok and Neelix could be born. That's why it's also necessary to assert some reason why Tuvok and Neelix's lack of consent Trump's Tuvix"

Easy. They aren't being born here... they are being saved.

As Tuvix was Tuvok and Neelix in a blender... I've always found it very selfish of him at the end. I find it hard to believe that he doesn't know that Tuvok and Neelix want to exist as they were.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, May 3, 2019, 11:04am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

I didn't even mention the black hole thing... when I watched it I just shook my head and thought "this is The Orville"....

They portrayed the time differential well, but totally forgot about getting out and making any sense of it. I would have LOVED to see them have to repair their Quantum Drive before they could get out.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, May 1, 2019, 6:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@ Brian Lear

"well put but it still sounds like apologizing for a very poorly conceived scene."

I think the only thing poorly conceived is the location of the manual door lever. Put it anywhere where it appears to not be accessible and we're OK.

That said, they should have at least attempted to use the transporter.

Nice post Quincy.

For anyone.... how does on in the Alpha Quadrant see a "signal" from the Beta Quadrant? (7th signal)
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Apr 29, 2019, 11:07am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

OmicronThetaDeltaPhi,

I'll bite.

Here are my season 2 scores:

Episode Title Score (4 star scale)
Jaloja 2.0
Primal Urges 3.0
Home 3.5
Nothing Left on Earth Excepting Fishes 3.0
All the World is Birthday Cake 2.0
A Happy Refrain 2.5
Deflectors 3.0
Identity Part I 4.0
Identity Part II 2.5
Blood of Patriots 2.0
Lasting Impressions 4.0
Sanctuary 4.0
Tomorrow x3 2.0
The Road not taken 2.0

Average: 2.8

Season 1:

Episode Title Score (4 star scale)
Old Wounds 2.0
Command Performance 2.5
About a Girl 3.0
If the Stars Should Appear 2.0
Pria 3.0
Krill 3.0
Majority Rule 1.5
Into the Fold 3.0
Cupid's Dagger 1.5
Firestorm 3.0
New Dimensions 2.0
Mad Idolatry 2.0

Average: 2.4
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Apr 26, 2019, 8:36am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Jammers rating system again? ..... sigh

On to this season closer....

Can't for the life of me think why they went there with those repair bot things... especially since they didn't "save the day" or something like that. We saw them and didn't see them again. They reminded me of Wall-E's girlfriend.

We did learn 1701's #1's name though!! Anyone catch it?

I enjoyed this season and this closer. I enjoyed season one, but not the closer.

Tons of "WTF's"? You bet.... but honestly, the plot holes or contrivances aren't any worse than any other trek throughout the years. Hell, canon-wise, TOS didn't respect its own canon. At least they attempted to wash the slate clean here. Like Jammers said, Discovery is more about the spectical and feel.

I'm not sure why "they" were worried about Michal Burnham's name being remembered... hell, we didn't know anything about Sybok until the movie. I had no issue with Burnham being included in canon under the same cloak.

The Spore drive to the silent network? .... no problems.

Again, the Enterprise here was just frakin awesome. Everything about it to include the BLUE PHASORS!!! It would be sad to see all this work go to waste.

This battle episode sure was busy.... but the visuals were just out of this world. I've watched it twice now and am enamored each time. I didn't know there were two of those big ass Klingon ships though.

People have issues with the glass window in the door? Really? .... that's never happened before in trek? ... come one folks... I agree with Jammer, her sacrific was done to bolster the Pike character... I'm fine with it.

It seems they break out the cheese slicer each time Georgiou has a line... now she's stuck on Discovery? ... what about the section 31 series? I personally hope they scrap that for a Pike/Enterprise series.

I liked the time travel take in this one... it actually made sense to me. there are many times TT makes my head hurt.

....but I wasn't thrilled with Michael being the end all be all once again. I was OK with her mom doing it.

Culber could have been so much more. He ended up just being the gay guy. Too bad, because Wilson Cruz is a very good actor IMO.

Tilly... I didn't mind her comment... seemed consistent with the character, and her actions spoke louder than her "Tillyness" in this one.

Over time I've come to enjoy and route for this crew (yes, even Michael). Pike was a HUGE success, so we'll see how they progress next season. Will Saru finally get the chair? I've come around to like Michael. I enjoyed the Michael/Spock storyline and thought they both played well off each other on screen. Peck was great as Spock. Romine was fantastic as #1.

When Michael was giving her last bit of advice to Spock and she said something to the effect of "find someone that's opposite of you" it seems most think it was a nod to Captain Kirk. I was thinking Dr. McCoy.

Who was the Star Fleet person conducting the interviews at the end? .... Braxton? Will Discovery become the originators of the temporal police we see in Voyager and DS9?

I think I'll bing watch this season this weekend.

Fantastic review once again Jammer. One nit-pic.... Leland coming on board was the smartest thing for him to do.... all Discovery and Enteprises efforts were centered on distroying his ship(s). The safest plave for control was on Discovery and he of course knew the sphere data was there. I thought Phillipa's solution was a good one by using Lelands tech to hide the data.

3 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Apr 26, 2019, 6:59am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

Ho hum best describes this one for me.

Wow, the Orville with Ed commanding is so important that without them the Kaylon rule the universe? .... mmmmmm OK....

The Kaylon conquer everyone but can't hit a shuttle? ... of some folks running?

The solution revealed 15 minutes in.... tons of "A-Team action"

I fell asleep and had to rewind and watch the last 15 minutes.

2 star for Alara... I guess. I could be mean and give it 1, but it might be the last episode...
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Apr 24, 2019, 4:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@ MadManMUC

"Ironically: Season 3 will probably be a Voyager-like affair, with the crew of the USS Discovery looking for a way to get home to their own time. My opinion."

Especially since in 'Calypso' we see a crewless Discovery "awaiting orders" 1000 years in the future.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Apr 23, 2019, 6:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Sanctuary

"When the fight breaks out, it's scored to "9 to 5." To my surprise, this proves extremely effective. It manages to bring a unique, madcap energy to what could've been routine, even implausible, action; it feels simultaneously ironic, refreshing, inventive, and fun. It's the payoff done as an "Orvillian moment." And by the time it happens, this weirdly counter-intuitive release of tension has been earned thanks to the sincerity and stakes borne out by the rest of the episode's polemics. It's a tonal incongruity that speaks to what this show has established itself to be — and so therefore completely consistent."

Wow Jammer, that's a bit of poetry right there bud. I couldn't dream of illuminating something like that. Bravo.

Great review.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Apr 23, 2019, 11:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

Boy, lot's of preachin goin on in this thread....
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Apr 23, 2019, 9:28am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@ Brian

"Issue: unsolvable plot problem

Answer: "let's build a time suit"

Cast members then proceed to hastily construct the single most advanced piece of technology ever developed in the history of humanity, in an hour.

Do the writers seriously believe they can get away with this?"

Sure, why not? They had the frakin plans..... plans of a suit that worked.... they weren't deisgning the damn thing.


"Apparently the answer is no, because POOF, it's all gone and classified. How convenient. Voyager crew managed to get transwarp working briefly, but only with some help from Borg technology, and it wasn't without problems and couldn't be relied upon. Star trek is FULL of crazy examples of humans using technology, but NEVER have I ever LAUGHED OUT LOUD at my television as i did the moment I saw the discovery crew racing to put together a....F***ing TIME SUIT! And of course it folds and unfolds like a transformer, because, ya know, it just has to, because the kids won't think its cool unless it has SUPER obviously fake animations. The show doesn't even seem REMOTELY real, AT ALL. There IS tech in Star Trek that is plausible enough to enjoy the show as if it was real, such as warp drive, holodecks, replicators, etc. But a time suit built in an hour? No."

HAHA ... warp drive is plausable.... right along with transporters.... haha

"Discovery writers:

"hmmmm, people love marvel movies....comic books...super heroes flying around in suits.....AND people seem to love star trek, time travel.....think...think....what should we do......aha.....F***ing TIME SUIT."

Genius!!"

I think it was. Especially with the Enterprise time travels as a routine function in a few years.
Next ►Page 1 of 57
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.