Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,735 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 70
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Jul 27, 2021, 4:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Proving Ground

Yes, never Booming... and I'm supposed to be the one offended I guess... you know in the day when everyone has the right to be offended!!

Big ships? You sound like big tech... do as I say or get out of the way.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Jul 27, 2021, 3:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

"I also think of how "The Drumhead" takes on even stronger meaning given what we've experienced in the past 1.5 yrs."

Picard: "With the first link, the chain is forged. The first speech censured, the first thought forbidden, the first freedom denied, chains us all irrevocably."

We don't have much chain left.

"Those who clothe themselves in good deeds are well camouflaged."

"But she, or someone like her, will always be with us, waiting for the right climate in which to flourish, spreading fear in the name of righteousness. Vigilance, Mister Worf, that is the price we have to continually pay."

Never let a crisis go to waste. We now live in a society where "sticks and stones" isn't even taught anymore. Too easily distracted from what's really happening.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Jul 27, 2021, 3:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Proving Ground

"No, he objects to a racist slur not being more inclusive." ... lol

Honestly, It never occurred to me that "pink skin" is some kind of racist thing. Too many snowflakes around these days. Maybe in the 22nd-century folks don't find ways to get worked up over trivial crap.

It would have been funny if Travis had a one-liner around Shran though. Something like, "you talking to me"? ... lol
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Jul 27, 2021, 10:37am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Proving Ground

"Cringe" TeeBone? You need to take a valium. No one was "defaulting" anyone. It's Shran's nickname for humans. Don't be so butt-hurt.

Northstar was a Archer/T'Pol/Trip episode, you could say the same for Malcolm, Hoshi and Phlox, Cogenitor isn't a "slavery" episode.

The BIO Weapon option was put to the Xindi Council and voted down. The impatient Reptilians and Insectoids chose not to wait and went behind the council's back. I'm glad they did because it gave us a great time-travel episode (Carpenter Street)
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Jul 26, 2021, 3:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: LD S1: No Small Parts

Hey Jammer, glad you reviewed this show. Always love reading your reviews.

A thoroughly enjoyable ride once I learned to "keep up".

Can't wait for August 12th and season 2!
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Jul 26, 2021, 10:15am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: The Xindi

If memory serves, it was "the network" that pushed for more sexy stuff, not the writers or B&B.

I enjoyed this, was very impressed with The MACO and LOVED it when T'Pol shoved it in Malcolm's face and sided with Hayes. Malcolm is such a whiny bioch sometimes. Grow up man.

Yes, Archer get's captured once again, but this time it's actually realistic. Better than most of the Klingon stuff IMO.

Yes, Trip is "over the top" with anger and wouldn't you be? I didn't have such a hard time as some here with the neuro-pressure sessions. We all know why it's in there, but I trust Phlox's word here. He can't keep pumping Trip full of drugs every time he needs to sleep.

"Sexy-but-no-sex" has been in Trek from 1967. It's ALWAYS pushed the envelope for what is allowed on TV... this doesn't bother me. The DECON chamber didn't either. This is better than Dax wanted to marry everyone and leave star fleet on a whim.

3 stars from me

"On a parting note, all the bitching about implied sex and the tone and pace of the story in the comments seemed to have worked, as Star Trek has now given us (as I write this at the end of 2020) gratuitous, gritty, obscenity-laced and gender-fluid themed Trek series (cause who sleeps with whom is so important to the story, right) like Discovery and to some extent, Picard...series that parents have to now think twice about watching with their kids."

Spot on Ray. Sadly.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Jul 15, 2021, 9:00am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

@ Daya,

No, I had not made that connection.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Jul 14, 2021, 7:14am (UTC -5)
Re: LD S1: Veritas

Nick, Patrick D and Sxottlan... do you have stock in Astroturf or are you in the marketing department for STLD?

lol

The real question is, is RonB and nacho Picard the same person? ... maybe from Midnight Edge or from any number of other "hate anything new Star Trek" YouTube sites?

I put the episode title in quotes because this started as one continuous thread.... BEFORE Jammer decided to review STLD.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Jul 14, 2021, 7:00am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Hard Time

@ Skater777

"Brilliant acting performances and intriguing story. I was troubled that there are never consequences for people who screw with Starfleet. O'Brien was mentally assaulted and his tormentors get off scot free?"

Well, Star Trek fans had no issue with Picard getting mind-raped during 'Inner Light' so...
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Jun 30, 2021, 2:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

Hey, Jammer gets a call out in this article. (2020)

www.tvinsider.com/936575/star-trek-enterprise-series-finale-these-are-the-voyages-reviews-reactions/?fbclid=IwAR2FVwOGYHonkdNedCz2ktLfir_HCQCDzUi4MPE5ei88Rx7X0ZOSp0FXrHk
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Jun 25, 2021, 8:41am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Proving Ground

Jason R,

Agree. My biggest heartache with season 3.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Jun 25, 2021, 7:12am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Search, Part I

@ Peter G.

"Because if they got it in any way other than through Romulan consent and under Romulan control, they would be breaking the Treaty of Algernon, which I assume would lead to immediate war."

Not buying this.

#1 - Treaty of Algeron was a peace treaty signed between the United Federation of Planets and the Romulan Star Empire in 2311, following the events of the Tomed Incident. The Treaty of Algeron was signed approximately 160 years after the conclusion of the Earth-Romulan War. The Khitomer Accords is the treaty with the Klingons that forbids the Federation from developing a cloaking device. (which on it's face is ridiculous)

#2 - You don't go to war over asking an ally for something. There is more risk of war over clandestinely acquiring it from an enemy of the Federation.

Poor DS9 writing.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Jun 25, 2021, 5:57am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Proving Ground

@ RonB,

Yes, the Xindi knew a ship was in The Expanse. They knew since the episode 'The Xindi'. They chose to not pursue as that would possibly give away their location.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Jun 8, 2021, 7:07am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek V: The Final Frontier

This movie suffers from biting off more that it could chew.

It has some truly cringeworthy moments (Uhura dance) and most all the stuff in the desert town looks really low budget, but it has good parts too.

If you are going to make a movie about God, you need to go all the way.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, May 3, 2021, 2:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: The Fight

Wow, I consider myself to be a pretty knowledgable Trekkie and a pretty big Voyager fan. I never heard the "bridge caught on fire" thing.

Thanks for sharing.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, May 3, 2021, 2:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Wrongs Darker Than Death or Night

@ Nejer,

Thank you for that insightful post.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Apr 23, 2021, 6:49am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

@ Jason R.

"JJ is one of those fans who loves what we love as much or more than we do, but for all the wrong reasons..."

I thought he did a much better job with Star Trek than he did with Star Wars.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Apr 22, 2021, 5:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: All Good Things...

Agree PM. I really hope they don't screw this up.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Mar 12, 2021, 12:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: MAND S1: Chapter 1: The Mandalorian

@Dave in MN

"I want to defend The Mandalorian and say it's also "escapist" and "fun", but recent behind-the-scenes events with the production have ruined any goodwill the show had built up with me."

I LOVED watching this thing and I'm not even a Star Wars nut. "Escapist" and "fun" fit the bill perfectly. Plenty of SW Easter eggs that I didn't know about while watching the episodes that I had to learn about afterward. It made me feel the same way I felt watching old trek on TV.

I was already scratching my head as to what season 3 was going to offer now that the biggest draw is gone and BF is off to another series, but now that another cast member has been scrapped for all the wrong reasons I'm done.

I'll still listen to the theme though, just love it.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Mar 11, 2021, 11:10am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

@Silly,

Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

"Problems:

* They bring in Khan, and there’s this big reveal in the brig that he’s Khan. The onscreen characters are like, “uh, so” as is anyone who was familiar with Wrath and guessed it instantly. Anyone not familiar is like “uh, who?”"

Yup, only Trek fans knew what that meant.

"* Khan in Wrath had history with Kirk and company and one hell of a grudge because of the death of his wife. Here, nope."

Kirk hadn't stranded Khan on Ceti-Alpha 5 yet in this timeline.

"* In Wrath, Kirk screamed “KHAAAN!” as a ruse to trick Khan. Here it was screamed by Spock in real emotion after Kirk died kicking the warp drive back together. Why?"

THE worst part of the movie.

"* Khan was intelligent but not experienced in building 23RD CENTURY WEAPONS. Why would the Admiral think Khan would be good at that? How did the Admiral even know Khan was alive or where to find him?"

Superior intelect... Khan was a fast learner, just like in Space Seed.

"Not everybody loved Star Trek Beyond, but I liked it, and really liked that Paramount aborted the 2009/Into Darkness arc."

I loved Beyond. How did Paramount "abort" the 2009.ID arc"?
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Mar 9, 2021, 6:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Sanctuary

@ Dave in MN

"If you hold to a very basic definition of race based on skin color and eye shape; then it is logical to lump historically Jewish people in with other whites."

I don't believe this is correct at all. There is one race, the human race. The sooner everyone gets on board with that the better.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Mar 9, 2021, 6:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tattoo

Wonderful post Dave in MN.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Feb 22, 2021, 7:02am (UTC -5)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

Booming.

Come on. What the Ben Shapiro interview and tell me this woman has any malice in her. I don't doubt she and others have been bullied by Disney/Lucasfilm. ... especially anything entity that has Kennedy associated with it.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Feb 18, 2021, 10:32am (UTC -5)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

Great post OmicronThetaDeltaPhi.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Feb 16, 2021, 12:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

The "Pedro tweet" I'm referring to is the one where he compared the detainment centers on the southern US border to the concentration camps.

How that's not worse than anything Gina ever posted is beyond me. But hey, Trump was in office so all is well. I wonder what would have happened to Pedro if Obama was in office?

Now I'm not for anyone getting fired for stuff like this, but if Gina had to go... why is Pedro still there?
Next ►Page 1 of 70
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.