Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,502 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 61
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sun, Mar 29, 2020, 8:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@ skye francis-maidstone

"I don't see the what's so great about The Mandalorian. It's pretty but full of soap opera quality acting and bad/sloppy writing. I'm not a SW fan I guess. The Expanse deserves all the praise it gets, however."

#1, glad you liked the closer. I really enjoyed it as well.

I also enjoy 'The Expanse' although I don't think it deserves quite the level of hype it gets.

As to 'The Mandalorian', I really enjoyed it. I think maybe because it's not trying to be anything it's not. It's been true to itself so far. I think it's better than the last 2 mainstream Star Wars movies. Hell, it makes fun of how bad the Stormtroopers aim is, gotta gove them credit for that :-)

That and I LOVE the theme song. I wish I could say the same for 'Picard'.

Dave in MN,

I hear ya and can empathize. If they "go there" with Raffi/7 I hope they make it meaningful. I don't want either character to end up like Culver in 'Discovery'. Such a waste of great acting talent.

Back to this episode, there is one thing I wish we could have seen. It would have been really meaningful had Data had a conversation with Soji. Especially with how he lost Lal.

OK, let's all cry now...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2QTKxGG3-4o
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sun, Mar 29, 2020, 7:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Good lord, Raffi/7 is the union LBGTQ check in the box. EVERY show HAS to have it now.

I saw it as a preview of what is to come. We've seen sexual changes before in Trek. Sulu is now gay.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sun, Mar 29, 2020, 9:50am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

I didn't want to break this thing down right after I saw it. I just wanted to enjoy the greatness that was in this episode. Because the ending made me feel so damn good.

I just watched it again.

I enjoyed Agnes in this one. She has had her moments throughout this season, but a valid reason has never has been revealed to kill Maddox let alone any punishment for murder. It appears she doesn't have to turn herself in and all is forgotten. I guess we'll see if anything comes of this during season two.

Elnor is an interesting one. You could completely remove him from this show and nothing of merit changes... but I like the kid and am glad he's a part of the crew. Silly I guess, but that's the way it is. I would have preferred he ended Narik in hand to hand combat.

Rios... enjoyed him. Didn't really care for all his holograms. I understand he likes soccer, but that was one wing-ding soccer ball he took with him to destroy the beacon. I guess he had a remote-controlled opening ball laying around. Kind of a dumb way to address destroying the beacon, being how he has a repaired ship with quantum torpedoes at his disposal...

Rizzo... competent badass I guess. I'm not surprised at all that she met her demise. The sensual sister stuff was puzzling, not sure what they were going for there, or why, although she seemed to display some genuine love for her brother in this episode.

Narek... I thought Harry Treadaway did a great job with the part. I guess we could have learned more about the Talshiar flunky part of it. Missing that made his bringing it up seem like a spoiled child whining...

Seven kicking the crap out of Rizzo was refreshing. I still believe they totally underused her in this season. She enhanced every episode/scene she was in and Jeri did an outstanding job giving us this seasoned/hardened new Seven. I just wish her nanoprobes could have saved Hugh. The second best part of the final scene with all the crew on the bridge of the (still don't know the name) was that she was there. I seriously hope she ends up being a permanent part of the crew as we head into season 2. Her current mission as part of the Fenris Rangers might not be a bad mission for this rag-tag crew to take up. That could be the perfect mission for this ship and crew, especially with the talent they've amassed.

Raffi... her character has been all over the place. Is she a druggie or not? ... or only when the script might call for it? Early in the season, I was not too fond of Hurd's acting or the character, but I think she has grown into this character and I quite liked her as the season came to a close. Still questions about her... why did she lose her security clearance and get booted from Star Fleet? ... because she knew Picard? .... because of her conspiracy investigations? Maybe I missed something.

Riker and Troi... aside from seeing them once again, they were a wonderful addition to this series. Troi knocking Picard back a notch was needed and Frakes' screen presence is always top-tier and I thoroughly enjoyed seeing him lead the fleet to help his old Captain.

Commander Oh... I never once questioned her resolve and dedication to her quest. I tip my hat to Tamlyn Tomita; she nailed her part. At the end, she was given some pretty cartoonish stuff, but she delivered it expertly. I'm pretty certain her character won't be a part of the series going forward and that's a sad thing IMO.

Soji... Isa Briones was fantastic. I really enjoyed the relationship she developed with Picard and the season progressed. I was also impressed when I heard that she was the vocalist for 'Blue Skies' in the final episode. Talented gal. There are some pretty serious gaps in the development of her character though... how did she know the stuff she knew about the borg etc.? Why is SHE the destroyer? ... if her sister was alive, would they both be Destroyers? I thought she was great in the final episode and not only was happy to see her turn off the beacon, but I was glad to see her do it for the reasons she did. She had some really touching moments in this season and I was excited to see she will be "wandering" with us in season 2. They could have just left her on that planet.

And last but not least, Picard. Tough one here. I go from hating the way they brought him to us... a quitter, just living out his years, in some deep depression over losing Data. That's just crap IMO and totally out of character. Many times during the season I was distracted by Stewart's acting... I know he's old, but a few times it appeared he was REALLY struggling to get the lines out. I suppose we should chalk that up to bad directing? Then the last few episodes we saw the Picard we all knew and loved. He was outstanding in this last episode. I was wrong, I thought they would cure his "syndrome" by some sort of positronic blah, blah that Troi referenced. But they chose the golom(sp?) route. I guess that's OK, I guess it doesn't matter. He is now cured, and while they say he'll age as he normally would have he certainly won't be bogged down by illness etc. But all that being what it may be, the pinnacle of this entire series so far was the Picard's relationship with Data and the finale scene we got in this episode. It was so damn good. On par with epic Trek scenes as Kirk losing Spock in TWoK, Trip/T'Pol realizing they will lose Elizabeth in Terra Prime and Data losing Lal to name a few. Both were completely in character. Data, as always, is striving to be more human and he needs to finish his quest by realizing the finality of mortality. I was a mess as Picard walked out of that "extremely detailed quantum blah, blah" when he, struggling to hold back his emotion, said "Goodbye Commander" and Data unemotionally replied "Goodbye Captain". This is going to be a scene I well up every time I watch it.

To the ending, when Picard is coming back to life in the golum, the best part of the whole scene was the wonderful smile Soji gave us (him). I'm a sap, I know. I enjoy the bond these two have developed.

Then, of course, Picard has a promise to fulfill. I'm losing it again. Blue Skies, Picard's wonderful words, and some tremendous CG depicting a dying Data. Whew, incredibly powerful there. I can only hope he reunites with Lal.

So to wrap up this season, it was a rollercoaster for me. Loved the first episode, but then it started a downward trend, never getting really bad, just kind of coasting... trodding along until the closing episodes. Could the writing had been better? .. sure. I'm no writer, but there are some seriously gaping holes that even I could plainly see that could have easily been filled. But I'm glad we got this series and am looking forward to more seasons in the future. Notice I didn't compare this to Discovery. I'm not sure how that solves anything or is beneficial. Talk about apples and oranges.

I like the rag-tag bunch we have now and look forward to future adventures. Maybe sometime I'll be able to remember the name of Rios' ship. :-)

3.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 5:41am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Well, they saved the best for last.

I figured that this positronic blah, blah technology would save Picard, but I didn't know I would be so satisfied with how they accomplished it.

Some loose threads? Sure...

But I don't care right now.

Engage!!
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Mar 23, 2020, 9:57am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

Mal,

Agree with your post, but...

"How has the man who won the case that Data is a person in Measure of a Man not more blown away by an android mind meld?"

Data wasn't ruled a "person", he was given the right to choose.

Couple points,

We still don't know why Raffi lost her clearance and commission in Star Fleet.

We still don't have any valid reason for Angus to kill Maddox.

I guess Elnor is not only a hugger but can fix the Borg Cube as well.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sun, Mar 22, 2020, 6:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

Just one more thing.

I'm not past "Control" being injected here either.

Not saying I want it, but...
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sun, Mar 22, 2020, 5:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

wolfstar,

" Similarly, why does Soji have Borg knowledge she can't explain in "The End Is The Beginning" (during her meeting with Ramdha) and "The Impossible Box" (when she inexplicably knows the range of the Borg-assimilated Sikarian spatial trajector)?
- If Soji was only created 3 years ago by Maddox and Soong (which we know to be the case), why is she in the ancient Zhat Vash prophecy?"

My thoughts exactly. Bingo. I think this will play significantly in the finale.

"...but I think it's also possible that Sutra is Lore."

I think Sutra is the first Lore clone.

Robert,

"It's also hard to imagine what Lore would want with an android that can carry a biological's thoughts, as he himself said that biological beings are inferior to synthetics."

Well, Lore was always jealous of Data. Basically, Lore was always mad that Soong built Data instead of "fixing Lore". I'm not sure that biological thoughts are what Lore was referring too.

wolfstar and a bunch of others,

Interesting theories. I've had the V-GER thoughts too. I'm not sure though because I think we would have heard something by now from the "almighty AI" overseers because V-GER did approach Earth a LONG time ago.

Someone up above mentioned that the Romulans could be assimilated by the Borg?.... wow, I had never heard of that one... was that said in this series? If so I missed it.

The Arkonians seems plausible for me.... once humanoid, now evolved... old, old species...

I just want to say again... I think they are totally underusing Seven in this series thus far.

Great discussion all.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sun, Mar 22, 2020, 12:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

Wolfstar... that's some truly funny stuff right there!!

Robert,

Because he is Lore?

@DANIEL PRATES

"Anyone else noticed Narek's massive cheek cut in the first scene in the holding cell - and that it was gone in the next scene, which was supposed to be minutes later?"

I did notice that. I believe Sutra healed him and I'm not totally convinced Narik is not an android that infultrated the Talsiar?

So many questions.

I sincerely hope everyone and their families stay CV-FREE!!
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sun, Mar 22, 2020, 12:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

I'll be short pending part II.

Visuals and the space battle was pretty cool. The Borg Cube coming out of the transwarp blah blah was awesome.

Why was it pertinent for Picard to tell his crew he's dying? Because his disease will be cured next episode?

I guess Elnor is a hugger.

Why do these androids need to be created in pairs?

Why would they need child androids?

An android, less advanced than Soji can mind-meld? ... give me a break.

Lore has aged.

Does Lore have Maddox's memories now?

Why is Narik running towards the Cube?

Raffi goes from hating Picard and not wanting to have anything to do with him, to loving him pretty quickly...

Not NEAR enough 7 in this episode.

Hopefully, some of these questions get answered next week.

Gonna be some space battles next week.

2.5 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Mar 19, 2020, 8:50am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

Well, we find out more about this season-long puzzle in this episode than we did in all the other episodes thus far.

They set up some drama with Rios suspecting Raffi as a spy, then completely drop it.

Still no valid reason for Agnes to kill Maddox.

Alison Pill's acting is beginning to annoy me.

This series is called 'Star Trek Picard' and I don't think he had 5 lines in the whole episode.

They send the squadron of starships to Star Base 12 and then head directly to Soji's home planet?

Seven turns herself into a mini Borg Queen.... good lord.

The second watching was a little better for me than the first.

I really didn't enjoy seeing all the holograms, and we didn't get anything from it.

Very choppy episode I thought.

Some good info to progress the series plot, but I'm not going as high as others, I'll go 2.5 stars.

Data "loves" Picard? (slaps forehead)
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sat, Mar 7, 2020, 8:50am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

Frakes looked fine. As a upper-middle aged man that certainly needs to lose weight, I understand the struggle. I like wearing an apron when grilling

What gets me is, they did the same thing to Marina that they did in Nemesis. You see her at conventions and she looks like a beautiful middle-aged woman, but they cake her face with TONS make-up for on-screen stuff. I thought it made her look terrible.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Mar 6, 2020, 12:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

Trent

"Does this show ever explain why Picard doesn't just take the pile of dead Romulan bodies in his chateau to a Federation official?"

Nope... but had already been to Star Fleet and been rejected by then, right? Also, that's a pretty heavy bag for a 90 year old to handle.

"And why doesn't Director Oh not just go straight to Picard with the information that synths will lead to the apocalypse?"

Because Picard wouldn't go for the intimidation and allow the mind meld. I'm not convinced the events shown her are true in the future. I'm siding with a mis-information campaign.

@Booming

"Being a scientist is not a superpower. She is specialist in synthetic lifeforms but apparently can also reprogram the EMH, does understand from looking at it for two seconds what kind of tracking candy she ate and what toxin to use to disable it. I'm laughing while writing this."

Come on.... she's the leading artificial intelligence scientist of what?, at least on Earth... the gal is smart. I'm certain chemistry etc is something she is familiar enough with to know what needed to be used to stop it.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Mar 6, 2020, 11:20am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Nepenthe

@ DANIEL PRATES

"At the end I couldn't understand: did Pic and Soji teleport back to Rios' ship (whats-its-name), or they went along thar new captain mentioned by Riker'a daughter?"

They beamed up to "what's it's name". Funny how nobody can remember the name of that ship ... lol

Well, we got a TNG episode!!

"gormagander" ... lol

F-bomb .... boooo

TNG isn't my #1 trek series, but I did feel a real warmth, almost to the point of tears, when Picard met up with Troi and Riker. Just fantastic stuff.

Where the hell did they film this? I want to retire there!! Wow, what a picturesque location!!

The young lady that played Kestra (Lulu Wilson) was a breath of fresh air. So well done I thought.

Does anyone know the trek significance of "Captain Crandall"? I do not.

I think this is the first time we've seen what amounts to a smart phone in trek. I think she messenger'ed him! :-)

I only have one little nit-pick on the planet and I'm not even going to mention it.

Sad that Riker and Troi lost a son... I really felt for them. Also sad that some sort of positronic blah, blah could have cured him. A silicone based virus... I guess that validates ENT 'Observer Effect'. I remember folks going bonkers over "silicone can't infect carbon based"... blah, blah.

Raffi had a palatable contribution this week. Nice to see she can do something while not being drunk. The actress (Michelle Hurd) does really well at times.

Someone here suggested that we should have seen the CDR Oh/Agnes mind meld scene right up front. I think I agree. "We" all knew it because of a damn trailer, but it would have been better drama if we knew up front what she now believes.

I also thought Agnes conveyed some serious guilt in this episode. I thought that Rios suspected HER when he was questioning speaking to her, then he let it be known that he suspects Raffi... More to follow here for sure. I don't believe she was committing suicide, I believe she was injecting herself with something to knock out that homing transmitter and if it resulted in her death than so be it.

The EMH has finally decided to make an appearance!! He certainly missed a couple other opportunities.

Hugh.... god I hope someone can revive him... maybe 7 can. She brought Neelix back after 19 hours... maybe Hugh has some of his own nano-probes that can do the trick. I really don't want Hugh remain dead.

The whole Xb's firing squad thing was to be expected I guess. Narissa actually gave a good reason not to kill him initially. Then Hugh and Elnor gave her good reason. I really like Peyton List.

I don't mind that Elnor has to fight, I just wish they could brighten up the fight more so I didn't need to strain to see it. That goes for everything on that cube. I like the show-down between Elnor and Narissa. More to follow I'm sure. Pretty lucky that an 'Fenris Rangers' thingy is there for Elnor to activate. (unless I missed something)

I keep watching "Next week on Star Trek Picard" and I keep getting upset. We know that Agnes gets out of her comma and 7 answers Elnor's call. So much for any suspense.

I'll go 3.5 stars, 4 had Hugh not died.

It looks like fireworks next week...
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Mar 5, 2020, 12:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The Impossible Box

@ Peter G.

"Regarding multiple Trek show spin-offs, possibly @ Yanks, be careful what you wish for! They just got done pulverizing the Star Wars franchise through over-saturation and lowering the bar on what would get through the gate. Timetables replaced inspiration. We got perhaps the most disjointed trilogy ever made, and multiple cancellations of projects that had already been either teased or announced."

Truth. I'm cringing at a possible Quinton Tarantino Star Trek movie. While JJ said he grew up a SW fan, I honestly thought he did a better job with the Star Trek movies. I enjoyed TFA while laughing at the copy of it all, but the last 2 were horrendous. (and I'm not a SW nut) That all being said, we do have 'Rogue One' and 'The Mandalorian' which I really enjoyed.

I don't think we are anywhere close to the Star Wars mess yet though. In this day of instant critics, the internet, etc... I think the producers/writers do listen and make improvements. That was clear to me watching STD season 2. We'll see what happens with PIC S2 and STD S2.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Mar 5, 2020, 9:21am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The Impossible Box

@ James

"Astrology et al may be nonsense... but time travel isn't?"

Half of time travel isn't. Any object can travel forward in time. Scientifically proven.

It's the going back in time that's impossible, unless you are watch Star Trek where it's a staple.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Mar 5, 2020, 8:45am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The Impossible Box

OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Thu, Mar 5, 2020, 5:01am (UTC -6)

"@Yanks
"STD renewed through a 5th season!! PIC renewed for a season 2! Rumor of a 'Pike' series!! Section 31 series? Star Trek Shorts!! Animated Trek!! Rumors of Star Trek IV re-kindling?

It's a great time to be a Trek fan! Don't let the downers spoil it for you. It's a great time to be a Trek fan! Don't let the downers spoil it for you. "

You seem to be conflating quality with quantity.

And I gotta say, the creed of "don't let the downers spoil it for you" sounds to me like you're desperately trying to convince yourself that the "downers" are wrong.

Because if you really believed that it's a great time to be a Trek fan, why give a hoot about what the detractors think? How can their opinion "spoil" your enjoyment, if they are talking nonsense anyway?"

--Not at all. I am critical here when I chose to be. I was preaching here just a few episodes ago for the series to improve. "They" said that about 'Enterprise' too, and that was an outstanding series. Then, when the show gave them exactly what they had been complaining the series wasn't giving them (season 4), they didn't return to watch it. So I don't hold much credence to the chronic complaining trek fan base. It seems to me they are too proud of the attacking trait of fandom.

""I believe modern story telling (serialization) is a major player in many trekkies' whoas."

I'm not sure how strong this factor is.

When I look at the points of criticisms that people raise here, serialization doesn't come up that often. I mean, yes, it is a factor, but I doubt it is that important.

BTW personally, I wouldn't mind serialization if it was (a) written well and (b) respected the source material. Maybe in some alternate universe we're indeed getting an optimistic thoughtful Trek series that uses the power of serialization to flesh out the Trekverse in an unprecedented clarity."

--It's not a deal breaker for me personally. I would prefer the "adventure of the week" style trek gave us for decades, but I don't get to chose that so I take it for what it is. The real issue with serialized story telling is, if you dig yourself a hole, it can take half of one of these short seasons to get yourself out of it. For instance, aside from the gore, my two biggest issues with 'Picard' are 1, the Picard we new and loved would never have quit and 2, we knew Picard was going to find Soji from the first episode and it took 6 episodes to get there and the filler wasn't that great.

We've dealt with slow starts MANY times before in trek. We've endured some pretty shoddy writing before in all the series. Hell, half the TOS episodes are just not very good, no matter what decade you watch it in. No different here.

"The more I think about this idea, the more I dig it. Unfortunately, this isn't what we're getting."

--I'm all for some more optimism... this is exactly IMO while folks are clamoring for a Pike/#1/Spock series on the Enterprise. While I enjoyed STD season 1, that was the HUGE improvement in season 2. Happy go lucky TOS/TNGVOY? ... no, but a very large step in the right direction.

So, have you watched any of this yet?
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Mar 4, 2020, 11:21am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The Impossible Box

@ Dave

"You know, I seem to remember in the early internet days that people were screaming that DS9 was not trek and it was destroying Genes vision. I also remember hearing utter outrage over Enterprise.

Back when TNG came out, no internet.. but did people from the TOS era scream and yell and say it isnt trek?

I sense a trend here. The trek we fell in love with is our security blanket and when a show comes out that has a different look and feel its upsetting.

Thoughts?"

There absolutely is a trend.

TOS folks hated TNG...
TNG folks hated DS9...
DS9 folks hated VOY...
Everyone hated ENT...

Everyone wanked about INS and NEM.

(and don't anyone say these weren't true)

Now, everyone is clamoring for Berman-era trek.

Pretty funny if you think about it, and kinda sad.

I have my issues with STD and PIC, but I watch them and hope for improvement in both. STD season 2 was a HUGE step in the right direction IMO, hell we even got a couple stand alone episodes.

I'm not throwing the baby out with the bathwater, and certainly am not taking sides until I've watched them for myself.

I believe modern story telling (serialization) is a major player in many trekkies' whoas.

I keep watching for a "Inner Light" or "Carbon Creek" etc...

STD renewed through a 5th season!!

PIC renewed for a season 2!

Rumor of a "Pike" series!!

Section 31 series?

Star Trek Shorts!!

Animated Trek!!

Rumors of Star Trek IV re-kindling?

It's a great time to be a Trek fan! Don't let the downers spoil it for you.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Mar 3, 2020, 10:28am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The Impossible Box

OmicronThetaDeltaPhi

"That's what Kurtzman and Co have been doing ever since they took the helm.

Discovery was about destroying the TOS era . Picard is doing the same thing to both the TNG era and the character of Picard.

None of this is an accident. The Trek franchise is not "evolving" in a natural way to reflect the times. What we have here is a deliberate destruction of a decades-old cultural icon, piece by piece.

THIS is why I'm so adamant about the "It's not Star Trek" thing. Because these guys are butchering Star Trek on purpose. It boggles my mind how the vast majority of Classic Trek fans are just sitting by and letting this happen. Worse: they are opening their wallets and actively supporting this fiasco with their hard-earned cash.

Simply unbelievable."

Have you watched with show yet?
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sun, Mar 1, 2020, 6:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The Impossible Box

Love reading your reviews Jammer.

Congrats on 25 years!!

Agree, this is a big rebound for the series.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Feb 28, 2020, 5:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

Wonderful review Jammer.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Feb 28, 2020, 4:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The Impossible Box

Hey Karl,

"Yanks,

A lot of your nits don't seem like much."

I rated the episode a 3...

"1. The Rios/Jurati thing - although unneeded in terms of story - was pretty much the opposite of gratuitous. Agnes is in a pretty modest tank top. No boobage or butts. Nothing like Enterprise at all."

It's gratuitous, sure not exactly the same, but "lacking good reason" fits. The only thing I can think of that might justify it is she is trying to get someone in her corner when someone figures out that Maddox's demise wasn't an accident.

"2. The XBs are all scarred and shit because they don't have access to top-of-the-like Federation medical facilities like Picard, and to a lesser extent Seven and Hugh. I mean, they don't even have ocular implants."

Not buying it. That med technology was common in Kirk's era. I can understand the shortage of "eyes", but not a simple dermal regenerator. The Borg assimilated countless species that had that technology and the Romulans had it too. Take a shuttle, go to Freecloud and borrow one.

"3. Dahj was programmed to find Picard when she activated because she was sent to Earth, and Picard was on Earth. Programming Soji to find Picard wouldn't be that helpful because she'd still need to get on a ship heading to Earth or something, which isn't easy when you're on the run from killers."

That makes sense, thank you.

"4. Regarding Picard's PTSD: It's well known that the writers wanted to do more with it, but were slipped down by the fully episodic nature of TV at the time. Ron Moore had to fight like hell to even get Family made, because Paramount didn't like having a story which was so referential to what happened the week before. Since First Contact we really only saw Picard twice up until now, so there's no reason to think he's "over it.""

There is 4 years before 'First Contact'... He's been over it for over 20 years. I didn't say nothing should be there and I certainly am not numb to PTSD (as some comments above would suggest), I said they went way overboard with it.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Feb 28, 2020, 1:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The Impossible Box

Chrome,

"Elnor is kind of fun here, but the teasing of his death got a tad ridiculous. I mean, the show doesn't make any explanation as to why Elnor can't just get in the spatial trajector with Picard and Soji. Well I know why: they want a cool action scene next episode"

I believe his thinking was he needed to ensure Hugh could "hide" the room to the Romulan guards couldn't follow them. That's why he stayed behind.

Peter G.,

"You know, I've thought of a better way to phrase what I said in the other thread about why this "isn't Star Trek". I previously framed it as being about Federation values and what mankind could hope for in the future, but that may be secondary to this: it's about joy. The joy of discovery, and of knowing the universe is a wonderful (if dangerous place)..."

Great point! This is so true as proven by the almost unanimous agreement here that the best part of this episode was the Hugh/Picard reunite. It made me feel so good. I hadn't had that feeling since the 1st episode when Picard walked into the storage area at the Daystrom Institute and I saw the "Picard Day" sign made for him by the children.

Jurati and Rios... wow, I don't EVER want to hear "gratuitous sex scene" WRT 'Enterprise' again. So he's working out shirtless... enter Jurati showing skin for the first time... have a drink and lets go boff... wow.

The ONLY discussion concerning the Maddox murder was her telling Picard what happened. He just accepts it and boom, we're on the bridge.

Wheeeeeere we need drunk/high Raffi's skills... she's the only one that knows a SF Captain to get the diplomatic clearance necessary for Picard to get on the cube. Picard or our ex-star fleet ship driver know no one. They risk everything on a alcoholic/druggie... and Picard planned for nothing here. Jean-Luc Fraking Picard planned for NOTHING!! They rushed through the old neutral zone and entered "Romulan space" (how do you do that now?) ... is there "Romulan Space" now?

Speaking of Raffi, how does someone with NO self control ever get a Star Fleet commission in the first place? ... AND get stationed on Picard's Flag-Ship Enterprise?

I didn't cringe or fall asleep while watching Narek and Soji on the cube this time. At least we were moving toward something here. I don't know that I understand those lamps and bare feet in that special Romulan vo-do room, but I felt the same for the orbs on DS9. mumbo-jumbo, blah-blah... so we get some info on where she was created, she sees a wooden version of herself... Narek is out and gasses (radiation?) her in an effort to kill "The Destroyer". This activates her (finally!!) and she destroys the floor, where Hugh expertly positioned them to find her.

Of course Picard meets Hugh and Hugh is IN CHARACTER!! This is exactly what I would expect him to be. Bravo, thank you! Their hug made this episode!

Whats bad about Picard's tour is we meet the "X-B's"... cute name and all, but why are they all disfigured? Seven had all the stuff removed and her face isn't all "horror-ed" up. Same for Picard. Same for Harry, Belanna, Janeway and Tuvok... this is gore/whoa is me/sob inject for no reason... what, dermal re-generators are no longer a thing in the 25th century? (slaps forehead)

Hugh sees that lots of Romulan guards are closing on their position and Picard says "please" to Soji, twice in an effort to get her to come with them. This was so bad... good lord. Picard's acting here was horrible and why doesn't Soji remember Picard like Dahj did? Aren't they twins? Why did she hesitate?

I like the call back to VOY: 'Prime Factors' and the Sikarians' trajector (space folding device). Glad to hear they were assimilated. Couldn't stand Gath.

Of course Elnor, who just last episode was baffled by some buttons, now can not only operate a transporter, but can pin-point a location inside the likes of a Borg cube in order to go and save Picard. He is proving to be a "formidable fighter" though. I find myself rooting for this kid.

Picard's PTSD... WAY overdone here I think.... Why does he need to review files about his assimilation? ... oh, for the "cool" shot of him as Locutus? ... he was OK enough to Captain the Enterprise for 4 more years and save human kind from assimilation in 'First Contact' and if memory serves has stated numerous times he was recovered... good lord, he could barely walk here. Interesting that a couple X-B's called him Locutus.

They beam off to ... can't remember the name of the planet... and we know we get to see Riker next week.

So we finally get Picard to meet Soji, something we knew was going to happen from the first episode... now maybe we can get on with this story. ... so much to learn from here on.

I really hope Picard shows some leadership here and squares away Raffi. I really want to like the character.

Should be a fun romp next week.

I think this episode is getting such higher ratings because we finally actually got there!! ... but I can't go nuts, there is too much head scratching stuff here.

3 stars from me, because I rated last weeks 2.5 and this was better.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 12:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

@ Dave in MN ... "Millennial Falcon" ... HAHA... I like that.

Not sure if this has been shared before, but I think this video is really well done and talks about our differences while watching old and new Trek. Pretty interesting I thought. Remember, there is much more that unites us than divides us. Personally, I don't need the gore and the f-bombs and think some of the critics above cut Discovery Season 2 WAAAAY short.

www.youtube.com/watch?v=YBOd9vr7D5A&list=PLB3D8E7EA07438AB6&index=137&t=0s

Sigh.. while I think this was the best acting Michelle Hurd has given us so far, her character is just all over the place. So, this snake leaf stuff is pretty bad? .... she finds her "son" and claims to him she's "clean"? ... isn't that a flat out lie? Her son has every right to be pissed at her from what we know. He also should go to acting school (horrible). Man, his wife looked like she was ready to pop! ... lol triplets on the way!

So, 7 is now a "Ranger" ... BAB5 popped in my head immediately. I was waiting for some sort of "We live for the One, we die for the One!" reference. I thought Jeri did REALLY well with what she was given here and what she was given wasn't bad. I was impressed. I hope this isn't a flash in the pan thing with 7... I want her as a regular in this series. So who is this "Chop Doc" Borg part seller gal? ... did I read this right, was she and 7 in some sort of previous relationship? I felt no-shit tension and drama in 7's scenes (for the 1st time in this show). I'm glad 7 schwacked her. Did anyone else catch that Madam Chop Doc was looking for a cortical node in Icheb? ... I immediately knew she wouldn't find one because he gave it to 7 in "Imperfection".

As far as casting the initial actors for the Maddox and Icheb parts... if I were Brian Brophy and Manu Intiraymi I would have said "what's the point"? ... eesh, I can't remember such short screen time for someone that should have meant more to the plot; especially Maddox.

I didn't mind the animated pop-up stuff ... hell, we get tailored crap on our phone and email everyday. Nothing for Elnor?

When they beamed down to this place on Freecloud and were all guzzied up, I thought Picard should have been dressed like Dixon Hill instead of an over the top French dude.

I was really surprised Maddox had such a short role. He basically only told JL where to find Soji (and that she existed)... I was expecting more. .... so, were my suspicions true? ... is Agnes a Romulan spy? ... or was she acting on her own? ... more to follow I'm sure.

I was more than happy not to see Soji and her love interest (I need to shave Romulan spy) and the creepy interactions with Narissa for one episode.

What did they show Agnes? Who is they? What does she think she needs to atone for? Why did Maddox have to die? How is the Federation involved? Allison conveyed her conflicted position very well I thought. I don't think she planned to do this when she joined Picard.

Tune in next week for more answers... I hope. I just hope 7 is part of our search for the answers.

I thought this episode was better than the last 2, so I'll go 2.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Feb 18, 2020, 9:46am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

Sorry, timestamp 22:20
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Feb 18, 2020, 9:45am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

Well, I completely missed this little tidbit.

Go to timestamp 20:20 in this episode and watch Soji closely.

You see a familiar Data twitch.... could be revealing with regard to her origins.
Next ►Page 1 of 61
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.