Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,565 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 63
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Sep 25, 2020, 10:21am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

"Veritas" - S1, E8:

I enjoyed Kurtwood Smith and John de Lancie in this one. This was fun, but I won't rate it quite as high as the last few; I guess I've become accustomed to having part of the show centered on one of our main characters. I liked the twist of this turning into a party at the end. All our leads were in character and Tendi showed once again she can fight! TONS of trek references, and I mean TONS of them! I'll go 2.5 stars for this one. Still enjoyable, just not as high as recent episodes.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Sep 23, 2020, 10:04am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Fourth Season Recap

nBSG was really good through 2 1/2 years and RAZOR, but after that is was garbage to include that horrible finale.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Sep 22, 2020, 8:41am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Distant Origin

Jason,

"CHAKOTAY: I see something very different, Minister. An ancient race of Saurians, probably the first intelligent life on Earth, surrounded by some of the most terrifying creatures that ever lived. And yet they thrived, developed language and culture and technology. And when the planet was threatened with disaster, they boldly launched themselves into space, crossed what must have seemed like unimaginable distances, facing the unknown every day. But somehow they stayed together, kept going, with the same courage that had served them before, until they reached this quadrant, where they laid the foundation of what has become the great Voth culture. Deny that past, and you deny the struggle and achievements of your ancestors. Deny your origins on Earth, and you deny your true heritage."

Not rafts by any intellegent guess.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Sep 18, 2020, 6:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

"Much Ado About Boimler" - S1, E7:

I enjoyed this one as well. I definitely got the "Chain of Command" vibe early on. The episode made me realize just how long Mariner has been an officer. Her best bud is now a Captain! I'm even more interested in learning more about her past. More nutty Star Trek fun I've come to very much look forward to in this series.

3.5 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Sep 14, 2020, 8:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

"Terminal Provocations" - S1, E6:

Another very enjoyable episode.

The incomparable J.G. Hertzler makes an appearance!

The "Badgey" bit with Tendi and Rutherford was hilarious!

Mariner and Boimler continue to grow their relationship. Mariner has turned into a likable character and Boimler isn't the village idiot anymore.

Tons of Trek eggs sprinkled throughout.

Not quite as good as last week, but 3.5 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sun, Sep 6, 2020, 8:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Jem'Hadar

@ Lism

"Ever heard of writing spoiler alert for those of us that are just watching this for the first time now? Total brain-dead idiot."

Holy shit. So, you skipped right over Jammer's episode review, you know on Jammer's episode review web-site, where he reviews EVERY SINGLE STAR TREK EPISODE - read my comment and said "damn Yanks!!" ... We've found a new kind of idiot here...
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Sep 4, 2020, 2:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Game

Booming.

HAHA... but I stand by my statment :-)
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Sep 4, 2020, 10:41am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Game

@ Ari Paul

"Speaking of Ashley Judd in Star Trek:"

She's totally gone off the deep end.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Sep 4, 2020, 8:05am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

@ Icelandic Alliance
Thu, Sep 3, 2020, 9:26pm (UTC -5)

"How could the pheromones have affected Barb if she and Boimler had never met in person before?"

I believe they met (can't remember exactly where), then spent a month apart. Aparantly the exposure was long enough to snag her :-)
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Sep 3, 2020, 5:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

You know what?

After digesting this episode a little bit, I'm upping my score to 4 stars.

Nothing really to dig it for.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Sep 3, 2020, 3:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

S1 EP5: "Cupid's Errant Arrow"

I really enjoyed this one! I love it when Tendi and Rutherford team up.

Mariner was not so irritating this week. Trying to protect her friend (Boimler)

The Captain didn't come off as an idiot.

I chuckled many times. I'll have to watch it again to exactl recall a few.

3 stars. Good, fun episode.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Aug 31, 2020, 10:24am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

Not at all Gail.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Aug 27, 2020, 12:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

EP 4: "Moist Vessel"

SensOrs... lol (channeling Spock and Tuvok)

Best episode yet in my book.

I didn't have any issues with the animation.

We don't get to see Mariner inthe brig at all?

I actually laughed out loud a couple times at the end when Mom and daughter were getting their medal.

Under the umbrella of -everything is exaggerated-, this episode was fun.

I liked the "Genisis" ship... pretty cool. I liked the Star Trek story here.

The ENS Tendi story was revealing for the character... the ascension made me think of Star Gate (like the opening theme music does). She messes up someone's ascension thingy, then through surviving the idiot repercussions of the Tellerite Captain's actions, she figures out she just wants to be liked. I wasn't expecting him to actually ascend though.

I enjoyed Captain Feeman and "LT" Mariner working together to get through the same situation. They both come to the realization that they CAN work together.

I still think this show makes the Captain out to be an idiot. I think Ransom knows that.

The bit at the end when they get their medals was the funniest part of the show thus far IMO. I also liked how Mariner and the Captain were saying the same thing, the difference being the Captain was trying to respect the ADM's rank and position where Mariner has no filter.

3 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Aug 21, 2020, 10:57am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Oh, I missed the best part of the episode!

"Miles O'brien is the most important person in the universe"

HAHAHA.... true lower decks perspective!!
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Aug 21, 2020, 6:54am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

"Temporal Edict"

I didn't enjoy this one so much. Made the CO look like an idiot.

Mariner is getting really annoying. I thought she was much better in 'Envoys', but she's off the deep end in this one. She's getting hauled off to the brig, so maybe we'll see a change. She is incredibly talented.

At least Ransom put her in her place. I see a relationship-a-brewing...

Loved the classic 2-handed punches.

I guess a way to look at this might be if this were 1987, we'd have just watched 'Code of Honor'.

I'm not throwing the baby out with the bathwater.

2 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Aug 14, 2020, 4:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Only on CBS All Access. (US)

They haven't worked out the international distribution plan to show it yet.

https://io9.gizmodo.com/days-before-star-trek-lower-decks-premiere-theres-mer-1844592761
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Aug 13, 2020, 3:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

Wow... this thread has taken off :-)

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi

@Yanks
"The factual numbers concerning police brutality against blacks do not justify the protests."

I'm curious... What numbers would justify these so-called "protests" in your view? What numbers would justify taking entire counties hostage, bullying innocents and terrorizing an entire nation?"

Here is a good article.
www.citizensjournal.us/youre-more-likely-to-be-struck-by-lightning-than-killed-by-a-police-officer/

Anyone protesting getting struck by lightning?

"On the other hand:

Even a single incident like the case of George Floyd is one incident too many."

Of course it is and you saying it doesn't make you special. We don't live in a perfect world. Now that an additional video has been leaked, we see Mr Floyd wasn't such an angel; he resisited arrest the entire way. He was so high, I'm beginning to question the second autopsy results paid for by the family. It seems he might have been saying what everyone wanted to hear. Mr Floyd could just as easily slammed off the high and died. Now that said, he had cuffs on so the knee pinning him to the ground was excessive IMO... but does anyone now think the officers will be convicted for murder after watching that video?

"And it's not a single incident. I remember similar events happening in the past years. The cops were often never charged, and nobody really cared about it or done anything about it."

If you are refering to Ferguson, the officer was completely justified. The whole "hands up shot in the back" was made up crap. More often than not cops shouldn't have been charged. Does it happen? Sure, but walk a day in their shoes before passing judgement. They don't pay these public servents enough.

"So if these "protesters" had taken this incident as a trigger to start a genuine fight against police burtality, or against racism, or for a better just world, I would have supported them completely."

They initially had probably 99 percent of America (and the world) behind them.

"The problem is that this isn't what happened. What happened is that a bunch of militant groups decided to cynically use the Floyd incident to further their own agendas."

True, but BLM should know that. If they truly are benevalant they should stop their "peacefull protests" because they are taken over. But they don't, because they are funded by Soros... who also funds ANTIFA. It's their own parties leftest agenda that is their worst enemy... now the "defund the police" loonacy hurts their case even more.

Of course, Mt Floyd is memorialized... a guy with a criminal record longer than my arm to include pointing a loaded gun at a pregnant womans unborn baby.

And then, what makes this worse, is the Democrat leadership in these cities just let the riots happen.

But all that said, the best way to not get into a life threatening situation with police is to DO WHAT THEY SAY!!! ... and if you've been wronged, take it to court.

This forum is pretty heady... I'd love to hear what folks here think about "qualified immunity".
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Aug 13, 2020, 10:39am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I'm pretty much in lock-step with Karl Zimmerman.

I enjoyed this one more than the last one.

Star Trek funny is better when they aren't trying to be funny.

Is more "organic" the right term?

Well done here.

Onward and upward!!
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Aug 11, 2020, 1:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I'm pretty sure Jammer would have reviewed Lower Decks if it was an hour long show.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Aug 11, 2020, 11:06am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

Politics... good episode to talk some politics/rights I guess.

The Democrats are Socialists wanting to be Communists. Most of the Republicans aren't that.

BLM was created on a lie (Ferguson) and is a Marxist organization. George Floyd was high as a kite when arrested and resisted arrest. I'd lay odds that the drugs killed him. The factual numbers concerning police brutality against blacks do not justify the protests. "The first speech censured, the first thought forbidden, the first freedom denied, chains us all irrevocably" ... ANTIFA/BLM and the leftists are the fascists of today. Everything they are doing now was done by the Nazi's in the 30's.

Trump wins in November because Biden doesn't know what state he's in.

I don't need to justify anything to condemn these thugs and the Democratic leaders that enable them.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Aug 7, 2020, 4:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I can't believe nobody noticed...





No lens flares!!!!

HAHA
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Aug 6, 2020, 1:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

To elaborate a little more...

I don't look at this like a normal trek episode.

I like the "A-plot" being conducted in the background as these characters are kind of watching from below. My animated reference in Trek was 'The Animated Series', so I had to "catch up" with the speed of it, but when I did I kind of enjoyed it.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Aug 6, 2020, 10:08am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Well, that was interesting...

The music made me think of Stargate.

Not bad, maybe even better than I was expecting.

I'm still tuning in...

What crowd is this aimed at? After one episode I would guess teenager to early adult?
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Aug 5, 2020, 9:28am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

I know I posted this in another thread that got derailed talking about Trek's future economy. But I guess we need it here too.

It really can't be summed up any better.

www.ex-astris-scientia.org/inconsistencies/economy.htm
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Jul 27, 2020, 8:33am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Acquisition

HC,

I for one am glad we didn't get all the Ferengi crap in Voyager and Enterprise was a couple hundred years before DS9/TNG so...
Next ►Page 1 of 63
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.