Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,694 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 68
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Jan 14, 2021, 12:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@SlackerInc,

@Yanks: "My Median was 2.5 so using this guidance 'If M > 2.5, award five bonus points. If M < 2.5, subtract three points.', I gave DS9 four points here."

"No, my intention there is that if the median is exactly 2.5 (which I think is going to be pretty common), you don't add OR subtract anything. So I guess you could say it's zero points. So I guess DS9's S3 would be only 14 points. Sounds like you didn't like it too well! I assume Jammer has it higher. (Maybe if we're just comparing S3's, I'll give it a whirl here in a bit.)"

Thanks. Sorry I misinterpreted your process.

I didn't think DS9 got good-to-great until the Dominion entered the picture.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Jan 12, 2021, 12:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@ Jammer,

"Unless I missed it, which is possible, the mystery of the music that accompanied the Burn distress call is a dead-end red herring. No explanation is given for why so many people know the song."

Good catch, I - and apparently the writers, completely forgot about that.

Great review, I summarily change my rating to 2.0 stars.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 6:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@MidshipmanNorris

"It was actually someone else saying "You're in a no-win scenario" and Burnham replies with "Idon'tbelieveinthose." Not only a poorly written line (thanks for playing the pronoun game with us Michael), but the take they used was rushed and the delivery didn't land."

What makes this horrible, like Spock screaming "Kahn" in STID is, all the Trek fans know what they are trying to accomplish here... but it's delivered so horribly bad by SMG that it just made me pissed. She hasn't earned the right to muddle in Kirk lore.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 1:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Dave in MN

"@ Yanks

You rate this show too highly, perhaps?"

I had the same thought, but did I rate the others too low? I think my ratings are my ratings. I think I'm pretty consistent with myself.

@grey cat

"On another note. Burnham. She seems to have needlessly murdered a lot of people. I'm not aware of any of the other "Captains" (yeah I realise she's only just a Captain) killing so many people."

Yup. As mentioned above, she was quick to kill everyone on that Veridian ship... how many slaves might have been aboard? What threat did this ship pose and to whom with the Federation and Na'Var fleets at the ready? Why did her solution include destroying the ship when it didn't need to? For one that has been all gung-ho Star Fleet/Federation to the point of tears and questionable actions many times during this season... where is that "All life is important" mind-set? Definitely not Captain material.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 1:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Robert

"So while there are definitely flaws with this show, I am highly entertained, looking forward to new episodes, and will definitely be back for season 4, with Michael in the captain chair. And since Discovery was renewed despite all negativity here, no doubt many subscribers to CBS All Access agree, or it would not have been renewed. Money is money."

Yeah, if you tune into any of the "Kurtsman hate" YouTube channels and took what they say as gospel, Discovery was canceled 10 years ago.

Good to hear from you Robert. Hope you had a great holiday season!
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 1:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@ The Queen

"Yanks: Elephant head’s proper description, according to the Ready Room interviewees this time, is Octopus Head."

Ah, thank you. I guess I was thinking of 'The Orville' ... haha It would have been cool to see that character running around with the bridge crew in these last 2 episodes.

Here is my Discovery season 3 ratings...

That Hope Is You / 3.00
Far from Home / 2.50
People of Earth / 4.00
Forget Me Not / 3.50
Die Trying / 4.00
Scavengers / 2.50
Unification III / 2.50
The Sanctuary / 2.00
Terra Firma Part 1 / 3.00
Terra Firma Part 2 / 4.00
Su'Kal / 2.50
There is a Tide / 3.50
Outside / 2.50

Average: - 3.04
Nothing below a 2.

I used SlackerInc's system and got these results for a couple season 3's that I've rated: (why not? ... lol)

DIS: 24
VOY: 23
DS9: 18 (My Median was 2.5 so using this guidance “If M > 2.5, award five bonus points. If M < 2.5, subtract three points.”, I gave DS9 four points here.

So there you have it. Is Discovery’s season 3 better than Voyager’s IMO? I don’t think so.

I don’t think I can trust my numbers when applying an overall grade to this season of Discovery. Making Burnham Captain just really brings the whole thing down, but there is some really great stuff leading up to that.

Did Saru have 4 pips on his com badge? Michael did.

Thoughts folks?
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 8:06am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

@Infinite Pest

@ Yanks

"Regarding "average" lifespan,..."

Sure.

T'Mir was comparing human lifespan to Vulcan life span.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 10:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I just watched this again.

I'm really all over the place with this one. I'll list some headscratchers then some good stuff. All not in episode order.

Culber has to be the only Star Fleet medical officer in history to go on an away mission without a hypospray. How easy would it have been to knock out Su'Kal and beam right back to Discovery?

When Adira beamed down from Book's ship, why didn't she take the whole case of meds with her? (I think I saw a hypospray in there :-) )

Why did the holo-program change Saru into a human? Wouldn't a Kelpian be a much friendlier face to Su'Kal?

How does the holo-program even know about Grey?

While I liked the functional depiction of the turbo lifts in season 1(?), do the set designers have no concept of size here? My god, Discovery must be 100 levels high! It's like the ship in Enterprises' 'Future Tense'. The inside is bigger than the outside.

What happened to elephant head bridge crew person?

How many stupid Burnham lines can they shove in one episode? "What can I say, we are Star Fleet", "I take it you saw Stamets escape pod", "up here you son of a bitch", "yeah well, unlike you, I never quit" ... good lord, I was ready for "Yippee-Ki-Yay, Motherf**ker".

Stamets pleading with Vance because Saru is trapped in the nebula?

Once Discovery is inside the Veridian ship, why do they need to eject the Warp core? They didn't need to "make a hole" because Michael ordered the jump before the core exploded. Wouldn't it have been better to jump and let the Na'Var fleet finish off the Veridian's? As it stood, the Na'Var fleet might as well not even been there.

Why didn't Book's forhead lights light up when he was jumping the ship?

Initiate warp core overload??? What the hell is that?

What were there, nine star fleet ships firing on Discovery? I guess those 32nd-century upgrades are pretty tough.

When our crew is suffocating, why not just cut a hole in the bulkhead and let the O2 in from the spacious world that is turbo-lifts?

I was about over the twisting camera thing every time we when back to the holo-deck... I was starting to get dizzy.

Saru, Culber, Adira, Grey and Su'Kal are all huddled together with everything falling down around them, death staring them in the eyes... and all Saru can say is "we're together"... really?

No Orion pheromones.

When the holo is shut off, Saru, Culber and Adira have no radiation burns.

Why is Jett seemingly an afterthought this year?

Stamets attitude towards Michael at the end.

Michael tilting her head when speaking and draaawing out woooords...

"I got choo"

Michael narrating... it NEVER adds to the show.

Good stuff:

All the holo-deck stuff, Saru and Su'Kal, visuals, pace. Culber, Adria and Grey... all was very good. Doug Jones and Wilson Cruz are great.

I'm fine with the burn explanation... trek-nobabble yes, but Culber and Adira sold it pretty well.

Vance is spot on with everything. So glad he didn't turn out to be another Star Fleet Bad-ADM. Love it when he put Whiny Stamets in the ship to get him away from everything. I liked his story about his daughter at the end.

We learn more about Owosekun!! I thought sure she was going to die... the last time we learned about a secondary character she ended up getting spaced. I really felt for her as she struggled to place the bomb.

Osyraa was impressive as was Janet Kidder's performance. I'm not one that needed all the backstory or more development. There is no question she WAS the Emerald Chain, and she was a badass. I'm actually sorry to see her go, knowing she did want peace, she could have been a good nemesis during season 4.

I think I like the new uniforms. Much better than the blue ones. They still need to brighten up the bridge a bit.

My guess is, that the level you like Michael Burnham sets the level of enjoyment for the episode. For me, I'll go 2.5 stars? Way too many headscratchers. If I really embraced the "story of Michael" then I'm sure this could have been a 4-star episode, grand canyon turbo-lift area and all. But I don't think she should be captain. She's done too much wrong and all for the wrong reasons. IMO they should insert a 32nd century Captain until Saru returns and put Michael as #1. I remember my chief telling me, "one ah-shit takes away 3 adda-boys". Michael has had more than her fair share of "ah-shits".

The Discovery writers should take a cue from old trek, when tears were few and far between. They all meant more back then. The tear ducts are on seeminly every episode here... so they don't hit home like they could or should. They also need to bring someone in with a better understanding of military structure and rank.

The most emotional moment for me was when Michael met Sahil. Brought me back to the potential we all saw at the begining of the season. I really hope he plays a part next year.

I think the stage is set for a more episodic season 4. We'll see.

Now onto our NuTrek void for awhile.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Jan 7, 2021, 5:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Sigh...

Be back later...
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Jan 7, 2021, 10:51am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

Great review Jammer.

"Burnham sends a distress call to her mother. This seems like it's setting the stage to bring them back together to tie up loose ends more than it makes any sort of logical sense under the circumstances. How is she going to get there in any sort of timely manner, and why not contact Starfleet, who is right there?"

Osyraa was blocking comms to the Federation. They tried "calling home" during the trip in. ... and Vance instructed his LT to secure all comms channels to find out how the EC hacked in.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Jan 4, 2021, 5:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

@Dave in MN

"Maybe the concept of the Orion species violates the Bechdel Test, I don't know."

HA... I had to look that up. With this writing and producing crew, I wouldn't put it past them.

@Booming

"Another thing that they retroactively turned into nonsense. At the beginning we see Booker fly his little morph ship through the transwarp garbage tunnel and they barely make it. So Ossyra's big ship made it through this... ok."

We know that her ship and Discovery used this tunnel?

@SlackerInc

"Holy shit, that was really good! I was not expecting an episode of this quality. Easily the best episode of the series.

The funny thing though is that for some reason I thought this was the finale, so I started really wondering how they were going to wrap it all up when there was like five minutes left. Then a couple minutes later I thought, WTH, they are going to leave the season on a cliffhanger? LOL"

That reminds me of an 'Enterprise' experience I had. The first time I saw 'Observer Effect' I knew the series was canceled so I thought they were killing Hoshi off... lol ... so glad they didn't do that.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sun, Jan 3, 2021, 6:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

@Nick

"Also, just to expand on my earlier comments on VOY and ENT, when VOY was released Trek was on a upward trajectory. Going from TNG (which was great) to DS9 (which was extraordinary), made everyone's expectations sky high for VOY when the reality was that this show marked the beginning of Trek's decline. So when your weighing VOY against DS9 and TNG, it's relatively bad, and I think that caused a lot of people to be a little too harsh when judging it. I personally enjoyed VOY and thought it was a worthy series."

Well, if you look at the numbers, Trek started to decline after the 5th season of TNG. So, I'm not sure I can agree with this. DS9 lost more viwers than Enterprise ever had.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sat, Jan 2, 2021, 2:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

BTW...

I'm guessing Orien woman pheromones are a thing of the past in the 32nd century?
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Sat, Jan 2, 2021, 8:47am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

This was light-year better than I had expected.

I struggled to make it through the last episode, this one - time flew. (both times)

Well, our "villian" has shown up to The Federation and wants to negotiate? Didn't see that one coming. Very interesting and very well presented by Frakes and acted by Oded Fehr and Janet Kidder. That was quite a joy to watch. Just love how Vance stood his ground in the end. I was wondering if we were ever going to get there (Osyraa being held accountable) and releaved we did.

Michael 'John McClane' Burnham has proven she can be quite the bad ass. I think the writers knew they would be getting comparisons to 'Die Hard' so they wrote in Michael losing her boots... haha. I guess my only real nit-pic with her actions was how she secured herself before activating the fire suppression system. I don't think her grip should have been strong enough to hold her.

12 minutes... Tilly's greatest accomplishment... LOVED it when Osyraa said it was so easy to take the ship she thought it might be a trap. I know they gave her good lines in this one, and she feels bad and all, but none of that matters... she should not be the #1. Period. What a joke.

Nice to see Zareh again. I guess we all knew he was going to make another appearance. Jake Weber does a fine job with this part. I'll bet he was glad Georgiou wasn't around anymore. haha

Stamets... he probably had his best line of the series here when speaking with the scientist about Osyraa. "she is exactly what she appears to be", then turns round and becomes 'whiny bitch Stamets' when yelling at Michael before he's set off in that bubble. Again, you're a commander, put your feelings aside and look at the big picture. There also was no way he could see those child tatoos.

BZ to the writers bringing Kenneth Mitchell back. That wheel chair was specially made for him because he has ALS. Aurellio is quite an interesting character... not only a scientist for the EC, but shows us that there is more to Osyraa than we have been let on. I'm surprised she let him stay on the bridge at the end. So, they will grow tardigrade DNA??? I'm guessing this doesn't work... but we'll see.

I love it each time we get to see our bridge crew get some action. I just love this group of actors. I love the characters too, I just want to see more of them. So they make it to the armory and we run into 3 "repair bots" (red/yellow/blue) that are the sphere data. Aside from being cute, this actually make sense... Discovery's operating software was being over-written so the SD does what it does, it protects itself and moved into the bots. I'm looking forward to how they help next week.

The was never a doubt in my mind that Ryn was going to get killed by Osyraa. I am a little surprised she did it in front of Aurellio though.

Frakes did an AWESOME job in this one. The pacing was perfect, the negotiaion was nuanced and intriguing... everything was well done.

Michael should have used the Vulcan nerve pinch on that guy that stabbed her. Is it called a "Ni'Var nerve pinch" now? haha

Who names these episodes? ... "There is a Tide..."???? How the hell does that relate to anything? The last episode has now been changed on IMDb to "The Hope is you... Part 2" now... I kind of figured that was going to happen to bookend this season.

My guess for next week is Culber forgot to bring his hypo-spray... because it would be really easy to knock Su'Kal out and beam him out of there you know...

I'm going 3.5 stars here... huge improvment over 'Su'Kal'. I can't wait to see how they wrap things up next week.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Dec 31, 2020, 9:59am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

@The Queen

Here you go: http://buzzymag.com/exclusive-interview-star-trek-discovery-michelle-paradise/
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Dec 31, 2020, 9:56am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

Oh, and great review as always Jammer.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Dec 31, 2020, 9:55am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

@Jammer,

"Maybe I haven't paid enough attention this season to the arbitrary technobabble around the dilithium shortage, but it seems like the issue is that everyone is too slow when it comes to traveling at warp, when it really should be range — not speed/time — that is the limiting factor. I could be completely misunderstanding how dilithium fuel works, but it goes back to the typical MO of Discovery that they haven't made the rules of How Things Work easily understood and well explained the way previous Trek series would have."

Dilithium isn't a fuel, it regulates the matter/antimatter reaction in the Star Trek universe. While not elaborating very much, they actually got this correct in this episode when Stamets reacts to our little tantrum reaction.

***There's some kind of disturbance from the surface. And it's increasing.***

STAMETS: The warp core!

Lock down the magnetic constrictors.

Adira, purge the dilithium chamber.

TILLY: Stamets, what's happening?

STAMETS: "Something is destabilizing the dilithium in the core.

It'll cause a chain reaction."

"but why would the Kelpien programmers of this environment, designing for their Kelpien child, not incorporate Kelpiens into the program? This does not add up."

My EXACT thoughts when it was explained why the program changed their races.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Dec 30, 2020, 7:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

I can't believe I forgot to mention this...

Why didn't Tilly jump away? All Discovery needs is a point to jump to, and they had it. (inside the nebula). She decided to stay and "protect the away team", but how would anyone else even know there was an away team if your not there to give it away? Tilly deduced that it was Ossyra, good on her, that's when she should have jumped away, finished repairing the shields, and then jumped into the nebula to retrieve the away team.

This is what happens when you put someone in the #1 position that has NO tactical experience.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Dec 28, 2020, 1:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

As for this episode...

I'll just put some bullets together as we'll see how this all pans out in the last 2 episodes.

- Good lord, how much work do they have to do in an attempt to justify the lunacy of the Tilly to #1 selection? Seriously... are they setting her up for failure or is this designed to make Saru look like he's incompetent? This is all making Vance look like an idiot as well. He should have installed a Captain and #1 when Saru chose Tilly. (neither should have been Michael)

- I'm about done with the Stamets/Culber thing. They are both commanders acting like folks that don't have any Star Fleet training. Suck it up for gods sake. No one else going on dangerous missions get the blubber fest these two give us.

- The Adira/Gray thing is wearing thin as well. Blu del Barrio's acting is getting worse and Gray can't figure out what? He was a trill for gods sake.

- Ossarya actually has now come across as a bass ass. How the hell did she know where Discovery was? hmmm... did her boy Ryn place beacon on board, or is he a beacon? This should prove interesting. So Discovery's new shields couldn't prevent them from beaming aboard?

- Tilly just got her ass handed to her. Yes, sitting in that chair is more than acting like "Killy".

- Burnham has to go to keep our Captain objective? Good lord, someone fire him. It was proven she DID need to be there too.

- Pretty cool, the species change thing... A good shooting day for Doug Jones I'm sure.

- Michaels performance and insight dealing with the child was outstanding and I found it to be touching as well.

- So, the child had a tantrum and all the active dilithium in the galaxy went inert? Really???? I certainly hope this isn't the explanation we've spent all season waiting for. More please.

- The visuals continue to be amazing.

They've got a lot of work to do to make sense out of all this. I guess we'll see how it pans out. It will be action packed and full of tears I'm sure.

2.5 stars, at least the Emerald Chain seemed more than formidable this time.

Hope everyone is having an enjoyable and safe holiday season!
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Dec 28, 2020, 12:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

Alright Booming.... what are "right wing radicals"?

... and don't say the "KKK" or "white supremacists". They aren't condoned by the "right" and their numbers are so insignificant they don't matter anyway.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 5:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

@Dave in MN

"@ Yanks

I never even really considered the gender of the characters until you mentioned "our girls"."

Haha, it dawned on me when Boba Fett took off and I saw Mando lurking behind.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 4:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

Well, this episode was a little disappointing and awesome at the same time.

I COMPLETLY had the timeline all fraked up (had to throw that in there for Katee :-) ) I thought we were after 'The Rise of Skywalker'. HAHA... then a young Luke shows up. Seriously, how good was that deep fake?!? I was impressed.

Other than the dangerous approach into Giddeon's ship, did anyone ever think our "girls" were in any danger? Good lord, how many Storm Troopers can get killed in one episode without anyone shooting them getting at least grazed? I know Storm Troopers have a history of being stupid and horrible shots, but man. Taking the ship was too easy IMO.

I expected Boba to handle some of those spaced Dark Troopers. I was disappointed he wasn't more involved in this episode.

I wish Boba would have planted Mercedes on her ass. What was all that attitude about?

Now, that all aside, I wasn't expecting Grogu to get rescued. I thought the valiant attempt was going to be made and they would have failed, giving us something to look forward to next season. Now I don't know what direction they are going. Are we going to see them take back Mandalor?

The Moff/Mando fight was pretty darn good. Dark saber against Mando's armor and staff was pretty intense. The Mando/Dark Trooper fight was also awesome.

I knew when the X-Wing showed up it was a Jedi, but I had no idea it was going to be Luke!! Love how he mowed down the Dark Troopers... that was pretty kick ass. Love Moff's facial expression when he figured out it was a Jedi.

REALLY sad to see Grogu go here, I mean really... certainly glad he's with Luke for training. A sad goodbye for all us Mando fans for sure.

One loose hanging thread.... doe Mando still possess the Dark Saber? After Moff told Mando how Bo-Katan had to win it in battle, they just kind of dropped it.

This series has been just awesome. Many, many high points. Only one episode this season did I grade low (Yoda speak there :-) ) ... pretty impressive. I'm not going to give this one 4 stars, but 'The Jedi' was 30 minutes of the best TV/Star Wars I've seen in 30+ years.

Discovery needs more character-growth type episodes like the recent Georgiou 2-parter to come close to the levels this little series has achieved. And to think Mando's episodes on average are only about 30 minutes each.

I'm only going 3 stars here because of the seemingly effortless target practice it took to take Gideon's ship.

I hope 'The Mandalorian' can keep it up now that "the kid" is not in the picture anymore.

I would have no issue going back and binging this entire series over the weekend.

Nice to see Boba Fett is getting his own series.

Glad Cara Dune is getting hers too.

The bar has been set high, it's not going to be easy to match 'The Mandalorian'.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 10:10am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

@Jason R.

(snip) "Like Season 7 of TNG Babylon 5's fifth season didn't impress fans but it knocked it out of the park with the series finale (Sleeping in Light) which is a fan favourite."

Well, that episode was made to be the season closer at the end of season 4. ... and yes it was great but I never really consider it a part of that dreadful season 5.

"Do you really expect Discovery to knock ot out of the park at *any* point? Remind me, how many 4 star classics have we seen from Disc in 3 seasons?"

Let's take a deep breath for a second.

Discovery through the end of Season 2 has had 29 episodes. For argument purposes, let's equate that to the first season of any of the Star Trek spin-offs.

Did any of these series "knock it out of the park" in their season 1?

TNG? You might be able to find 1 or 2 episodes you might give 4 stars to... 11001001 maybe? A "Trek Classic"? Ah, no. The ball barely has made it to home plate.

DS9? I ranked two season 1 episodes 4-stars. 'Duet' and 'Captive Pursuit' Are any of these "trek classics"? I might say 'Duet', but the season graded the worst of any trek.

VOY? 'Eye of the Needle' and 'State of Flux' received 4-star marks from me and I'm pretty sure neither of them would be considered "classics" by the masses.

ENT? 'Cold Front', 'Dear Doctor', and 'Shockwave part 1' were 4-star achievers in my book. Are any of those considered "Trek Classics"? I think not.... maybe 'Dear Doctor'?

So let's look back at Discovery. Everyone's mileage will vary of course, but I'm a 45+ year trek fan so...

Over the first two seasons, I've rated 'Magic to make the Sanest Man go Wild', 'Into the Forest I Go', 'What's Past Is Prologue', 'An Obol for Charon', 'If Memory Serves' 4-stars.

The argument is out on whether any of these will be considered "Trek classics" but I might put 'If Memory Serves' up there one day.

So, under this pretty fair comparison, Discovery is holding up well if not producing better quality than the other Trek's with close to the same number of episodes.

Will Discovery "knock it out of the park" at any time? Well, time will tell but it's hard to argue that Discovery hasn't improved each year. It will be hard because of how they chose to write Burnham, but she's improved quite a bit this season so I think they CAN end up getting it right at some point. If this last episode and the overall quality of season 3 is any sort of indicator, I think they certainly can.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Dec 17, 2020, 4:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

Oh, darkening the montage was pretty cool as well.

Not as cool as changing the music too as 'Enterprise' did, but pretty cool.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Dec 17, 2020, 4:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

@Chrome

"Okay, I'll spot the obvious plothole. Why doesn't The Discovery crew use the Guardian of Forever to return to their own time period?

(This is the real reason Burnham didn't mention it to Saru.)"

Na, they are in the 32nd century to protect the Sphere Data.

@Ultron

"Friend"?

Yeah, maybe the wrong characterization.

Probably "shipmate" would have been a better word.
Next ►Page 1 of 68
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.