Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 1,196 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 48
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Jun 22, 2018, 6:21am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Move Along Home

Iceman,

I've ranked DS9, VOY and ENT so far. Here are my season 1 ratings (Jammer's scale)

VOY S1 - 3.07
ENT S1 - 2.96
DS9 - 2.08

So in my view, DS9 S1 is exponentially worse than all the others. I'm pretty certain TOS S1 will fare better and even the much maligned TNG S1 will rate higher than a 2.08.

I do agree DS9 S1 had some great ones. "Duet" is my #2 DS9 episode. I also gave 4.0's to "Captive Pursuit" and "In the Hands of the Prophets" and ranked "Emmisary" a 3.5; but the rest of the season just dragged everything down. Some epically poor episodes.

Peter G, it certainly is a matter of taste.... I'll give you that. I personally was surprised at my VOY S1 rating. I always liked it better than DS9 S1 but I didn't predicted such a numerical gap.

Chrome, I really need to gt off my butt and finish Enterprise so I can join the masses and offically rate TNG. Should be fun.

Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Jun 18, 2018, 6:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Seventh

The Man,

What? From someone that didn't even comment on this episode?
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, May 23, 2018, 10:54am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Move Along Home

"but that just shows how strong the season was overall."

What? DS9 season 1 is pretty universially considered the worst season in all of trek.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, May 15, 2018, 12:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

JYoder,

I'm in line with you.

What the SW purists don't want to admit is the best SW movies since 'The Empire Strikes Back' are 'Rogue One' and 'Solo' (I haven't seen yet, but reviews are high)

Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, May 8, 2018, 8:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Wire

@ Peter G.
Tue, May 8, 2018, 2:48pm (UTC -5)
@ William B,

"I would argue that the reason a lot of people can't connect with Sisko is that his character story challenges the audience."

I don't believe that at all. I'd say the reason is directly tied to Abery's acting ability. I wasn't looking for Picard type speeches from Sisko. It was obvious from the start they wanted to separate the two. As they should have. Much like they did with Kirk and Picard.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, May 8, 2018, 10:04am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Jammer, that was laugh out loud funny boss!!!
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Apr 24, 2018, 6:35am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

Eskimo,

Perspective? How does a dead person view perspective?

Essssh....

Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Apr 23, 2018, 8:24am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

wofstar,

While I agree with the jist of your post, I'll differ with this one.

"Stamets is only there to be gay and to be a plot device, ...."

I too thought that of him early on (whiny gay guy was my term), but I thought he had developed into a pretty good character by the end of season one.

Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Apr 13, 2018, 11:38am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Counterpoint

OK, it's still Friday.... :-)

The word "sir" is uttered 5 times in the episode.

NONE at Janeway.

3 occurances from Prax to Kashyk

The last from Vorik to Torres. B'Elanna has never mentioned it being an issue with her and as we know, it IS included in Star Fleet protocol.

So now that I've actually researched this, I don't see what all the fuss is about.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Apr 13, 2018, 11:05am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Counterpoint

Why you ask? ... because it's a slow Friday at work... :-)

[Ready room]

"JANEWAY: Mister Kim, at ease before you sprain something. Ensign, despite Starfleet protocol, I don't like being addressed as sir.
KIM: I'm sorry, ma'am.
JANEWAY: Ma'am is acceptable in a crunch, but I prefer Captain. We're getting ready to leave. Let me show you to the bridge.

[Bridge]

JANEWAY: Did you have any problems getting here, Mister Paris?
PARIS: None at all, Captain.
JANEWAY: My first officer, Lieutenant Commander Cavit. Ensign Kim, Mister Paris.
CAVIT: (human male going grey) Welcome aboard.
(He shakes Kim's hand, then Paris' reluctantly and walks away.)
JANEWAY: Ensign Kim, this is your station. Would you like to take over?
KIM: Yes, ma'am.
(Rear of the bridge, on the right as we view it.)
JANEWAY: It's not crunch time yet, Mister Kim. I'll let you know when. "

Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Apr 12, 2018, 1:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Counterpoint

"Inexcusable gaffes"?

lol

Hell, today one is allowed to identy as whatever gender they feel appropriate at the time, so I'm not so sure Ma'am or Sir wouldn't be acceptable in the 24th century.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Mar 21, 2018, 1:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Peter G,

Concerning your comments about Picard and Janeway... I was not referring to the characters, I was comparing the actors. Picard was the face of trek for years because there was no other trek for years (aside from the TOS movies). Kate played Janeway every bit as well as Stewart played Picard. You can argue about the writing, but not the performances.

As far as acting performances, you can say the same thing about DS9. Easily the best actors on the show were the "secondary" characters.

I don't dislike Burton at all, but Roxanne is a better actor. She didn't need any street cred to carry her.

Agree regarding Frakes. He always did very well, both in the series and the movies. Beltran did fine as an actor early on, but as you stated he lost interest late.

HAHA.... I new I forget someone. I won't knock McNiel's acting, but the character did lack. the Tom/B'Elanna thing helped in the end though.

When comparing Yoyager to TNG, it's almost universally accepted that Voyager's 1st two seasons were better.... they also were better than DS9's first two as well. So the number of "clunkers" is subjective I think. I haven't reviewed(graded) every episode of TNG yet, I have to finish Enterprise first.

I like your listing the strongest of each series. But taking one's love of the characters aside, I think the actors from Voyager in the case are stronger than TNG's.



Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Mar 21, 2018, 10:18am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@ Chrome

"TNG has clunkers, but they only make up about 25% of a given season on average. That percentage is about reversed for an average season of Voyager."

That's just not true. Not even close. You can say you like one series over another, but Voyager didn't have near that many clunkers.

"The big advantage TNG has is that even when the episode isn't the best, the actors can still put on an enjoyable performance (take for example lower quality scripts like "Encounter at Farpoint" or "Datalore" or even "The Neutral Zone" which are all still pretty entertaining)."

Don't agree here either. From top to bottom, Voyager had a far superior cast when it comes to the acting department.

Want to match them up?

Stewart/Mulgrew - I'll give you a push here, but many would say Kate over Patrick
Frakes/Beltran - Frakes in my book, but it's close.
Dorn/Russ - Russ, and it's not close
Burton/Dawson - Dawson, and it's not close
McFadden/Picardo - Picardo, and it's not close
Sirtis/Ryan - Ryan, and it's not close
Spiner/Wang - Spiner, and it's not close
Wheaton/Phillips - ?????? :-)
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Mar 20, 2018, 10:43am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@ Trent

..."Was the Federation aware of the need to outfit all crew members in sensible clothing, and then Trump became the president of the United Federation of Planets and suddenly we have micro mini-skirts?"

HAHA.... Make Trek Great Again!!

@ Chrome

"Similarly composed shows like Voyager or Enterprise certainly don’t hold a candle to TNG."

Sometimes they did, sometimes they didn't. On the whole I might give you TNG, but it had more that it's share of clunkers.

@ SpaceHippy

"I wish there was a separate page for comments on the season as a whole. I think I was reasonably entertained episode to episode and I'd rate most a 2.5 or 3.0 but the season as a whole is far less than the sum of its parts. Despite being entertained by the episodes, when I step back and take a look at this first season, I'm terribly disappointed."

That's about how I feel. When you put all your eggs in the "season long arc" basket, you'd better not drop any eggs in the end. I think we got scrambled.

"I came out of this not caring about any of the characters and I'm just not "into it."

I won't go that far, there are many of the characters I really enjoyed.

"Expanse is light years ahead of DIS, and while dark and gritty, manages to keep you invested in the outcome and plot lines."

I don't know that you can really compare. I too like Thr Expanse, but what's so good about it is you don't know what's coming. That's the bad thing about doing a prequel, we already know what's coming.

"I hope Jammer finds the time to review this great series someday."

Jammer reviewing anything would be great.

"I honestly feel after this season 1 of DIS that it's time to retire Trek for good and let us enjoy what came before."

Well, I can't go there. I ALWAYS look forward to new trek, even if we are disappointed at times.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Mar 15, 2018, 12:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Broken Bow

@ James
Mon, Mar 12, 2018, 8:12pm (UTC -5)

"I just want to say that listing a generic pop song like "Faith of the Heart" above Jerry Goldsmith's wonderful theme for Voyager is an absolute joke."

Hard to top the master for sure, expecially when it's not orchestral.

"I agree that Discovery's theme is just as bad, though. I think Goldsmith would be turning in his grave hearing that one."

I don't agree here. I'm quite fond of Discovery's theme. Much more so that I was of Enterprises opener.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Mar 12, 2018, 3:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Broken Bow

@ Clark
Mon, Mar 12, 2018, 2:35pm (UTC -5)

I felt just like you the first time I watched it.

It will grow on you over time.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Mar 8, 2018, 5:38am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Equinox, Part I

Clark,

When did she break it?
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Feb 28, 2018, 11:16am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Minefield

@ Ieuan

"Ieuan
Tue, Feb 27, 2018, 6:33pm (UTC -6)
Another rubbish review. This was one of the worst episodes of the season. We just got done 2 episodes ago finding out ow crucial Captain numbskull's survival is to the future and he decides to throw all that way by going out instead of sending an engineer or in fact any one of the other 80 or so crew.

This alone makes it unwatchable."

OR.... if Archer had not assisted Reed, the mine goes off and kills Archer and other members of the crew... or the Enterprise is lost.

That one make much more sense when you actually think about it.

I'm fairly certain once Archer "knew" he wasn't going to spend the rest of his life wrapped in Styrofoam.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Feb 20, 2018, 8:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

"Out of 29 seasons of Trek, there have been only three without a single four-star-episode as reviewed by Jammer: VOY1, ENT4, and DIS1."

Well, I had three 4.0 episodes in DSC (Magic Makes the Sanest Man Go Wild, Into the Forrest I Go, What's Past Is Prologue) and two in Voyager Season 1 (Eye of the Needle and State of Flux). I haven't finished reviewing Enterprise yet, but I know at least three off the top of my head that will be 4.0 (IAMD, Observer Effect and Demons/Terra Prime).

I was surprised Jammer didn't give 'Into the Forrest I go' a 4.0. Voyager season 1 is currently my highest ranked trek first season (-DSC). I still have TOS and TNG to go.

Maybe it's not fair to grade DSC against other seasons that are 22+ episodes long.

I'm not sure what it all means, other than we all have our favorites. My numbers indicate that DSC season 1 was the best, but it's not my favorite because of how they ended it. It was a fun ride, but the bridge collapsed and we all died at the end.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Feb 19, 2018, 10:11am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Oh, for the Discovery folks.

I very much prefer Michael's hair at the beginning of the show.

Drop the volcano head look please.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Feb 19, 2018, 9:43am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@ Del_Duio
Mon, Feb 19, 2018, 8:51am (UTC -6)
"I forget but did we ever get a real answer on why that Discovery-class ship (that wasn't the Discovery) had all those twisted and messed up dead people on it?

Or are we just assuming it was a failed attempt to get to the Mirror Universe?"

My take on that is it was a failed attempt at using the spore drive. This miscue actually produced the tardigrade.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Feb 16, 2018, 6:35am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Tim
Thu, Feb 15, 2018, 1:41pm (UTC -6)

@Yanks “Don't agree. She is in no way responsible for the war.”

"How do you figure? She killed T’Kuvma. She herself said that such an action would make him into a martyr and guarantee that the Klingons would pick up the banner. She guaranteed the war when she decided to flip her phaser to kill and shoot him in the back. If she stuns him and brings him back to the Federation in chains he’s humiliated, to Klingons go back to their internal squabbles, and the war is avoided.

I don’t understand why this is even a discussion. It’s all right there, in dialogue."

It's not. T'Kuvma declared war when he opened fire on the fleet. So regardless of the martyr thing, while it is in the dialog, doesn't fit what happened. ... and as we found out, they weren't going to follow him anyways.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Feb 15, 2018, 8:41am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Tim
Wed, Feb 14, 2018, 2:38pm (UTC -6)
"Frankly, I find these “redemption” arcs in sci-fi to be a tiresome cliche. Michael is responsible for a war that presumably kills millions. There’s no redeeming that."

Don't agree. She is in no way responsible for the war. One could say that PU G not following her recommendation in "Vulcan Hello" is the one responsible. *but that's a huge stretch) The first Klingon she killed was in self defense (torch bearer) and it was T'Kuvma's aggression (we come in peace) that started the war.

She is responsible for the attempted mutiny. Nothing more. The only thing she really changed was that the Klingons weren't "unified" in their war effort.

"The Pegasus told a more plausible story of personal redemption, Riker coming to terms with an old mistake and atoning for it, but still being said to pay a price for it. Ensign Ro had a redemption arc of sorts too, which was more believable than Michael’s."

I liked the Ro story but I still have problems with Rikers "I was right out of school" excuse. Bull... something should have happened to him. Hell, Picard sent a newbie ENS crawling back into Star Fleet to her death because she made the wrong decision early in her career. What did Riker have to prove?
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Thu, Feb 15, 2018, 8:22am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Peter G.
Wed, Feb 14, 2018, 2:25pm (UTC -6)
"I do agree with Jason R, though, that the way it was shot (having now watched it again) it's possible the writer sort of intended it to be that Michael was trying to save Georgiou in a moment of desperation. The phaser shot does happen very quickly after the stabbing."

Yeah, it's not murder

"However on the production side they made the detailing of the phaser being switched to kill pretty clear, and there is Michael's desperate (sort-of) looking face, to the extent that SMG was capable of portraying it. To be honest they probably wanted her to look even more desperate than that but that's all she could get out when they shot it."

An unfortunate all to common theme in Discovery I'm afraid.

I could see an argument that they intended to show it as an animal, emotional, and unconsidered response, rather than premeditated murder, and in my opinion that sort of reaction would be in keeping with her character as portrayed through the whole season. But that doesn't change the fact that botching her mission by killing a guy doesn't seem to be something that can be explained away as "I was wrong about that" since it isn't an idea she had that was incorrect. It was more like she behaved like an animal and if that's the sort of person she is - who will mentally break down when things are bad - then she has no place in Starfleet under any circumstances. And actually that's my general takeaway from the entire season, so the pilot is consistent with this. But that's not the story they wanted to tell, clearly, so I think they swept this killing under the rug because they didn't want to have to deal with two different redemption issues. Mutiny is bad enough without having to address the fact that she's also mentally a loose canon, so they dropped the latter outright.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Feb 14, 2018, 12:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Just had a thought about that last "speech" scene.

I would have been 10 times more effective had they shot it like the episode began. Michael narrating, with the crew getting their promotions/medals on screen. Michael could even be standing with them.

I know she's not the greatest narrator, but that still would have been better than what we got.

Next ►Page 1 of 48
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.