Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 65,388 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2,616
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Mon, Oct 21, 2019, 1:26am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Random Thoughts

I'm going off memory here so I may be wrong, but,

It never quite sit with me well that the voyager crew basically left that alien guy (the guy who traded in the negative emotions and "caused" the violence) in the hands of that planet's twisted and evil justice and morality system, probably to be locked away forever, simply for the "crime" of thinking bad thoughts.

It was like, "This is horrible! Thoughtcrimes! How utterly barbaric and Orwellian and evil, we've got to find a way to rescue B'Ellana!"

--after saving b'ellana--

"yeah, we found the guy who had the negative thoughts we're gonna turn him over to you to punish horrifically. have a nice day, see yah later!"

Just didn't seem noble.
Set Bookmark
greattrekker
Mon, Oct 21, 2019, 12:08am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Maelstrom

If you interpret this episode and all the actions of "God" in this series as that of a higher being with a design, then perhaps there are some rules and roles.

Starbuck accepted her fate in this episode, she either went into the cosmic storm/dimensional rift/wormhole or simply died, knowing her body is found on "Earth" in a later episode I tend to believe she went back in time, more than likely, her appearance in the past set about the destruction of Earth by the original Cylons.

Perhaps Starbuck's journey is part of a predestination time paradox, she was always destined to go back. Yet, what does that mean about free will? In Starbuck's mind, her decision to accept her fate is shown as her choice, but what if it's not all her choice.
Set Bookmark
Greattrekker
Sun, Oct 20, 2019, 11:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Final Cut

I actually thought this episode was more of a dark comedy at times, they used the idea of a mockumentary to reveal the ludicrous nature of life on Galactica, like the shower scene where Kat literally spoke out of her ass, and Diana commented after being asked by a Naked Lee to leave, "I think we've seen all we can here", s subtle dig at his false bravado.
Set Bookmark
GreatTrekker
Sun, Oct 20, 2019, 11:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Collaborators

This is a great episode of BSG, it showed the reality of what "Victors" do after the victory. In many shows, including Star Trek DS9, when war story arcs end, you don't get heavy payoff. Bygones are bygones, but in Battlestar Galactica, you are reminded of the scars of war, the losses, and the consequences of revenge.

Even after so many years, this episode and this show holds up very well to modern times, as any great Science fiction epic should.

1. Are the actions justifiable? Yes in some ways, I am actually reminded of the movie "Munich" or "Operation Finale", sometimes extralegal actions are needed to pursue justice when it is not politically or technically palatable. Tom Zarek during the early season had become a slightly better character, still drawn to power, but also capable of doing what is coldly needed. However, the secret executions of collaborators isn't based on justified issues or evidence, it's conjecture and pure emotional drive for vengeance.

Also interesting here, Laura Roslin is again put into power via non-election. If there's a subtle concept Battlestar Galactica explores, it's the concept of the failure of Democratic elected leadership and how people's perceptions are grossly misaligned. Gaius Baltar was a horrible President: poor resource management, poor military planning, and lack of infrastructure focus, despite winning a vote. However, "Spoiler alert", Laura Roslin is no better despite what she tries as she continues to decline as the show progresses under a "false holy quest" to find earth, which turned up to be nuclear wasteland and only got incredibly luck in the end (perhaps with some sick divine mercy or devotion to repeat patterns).
Set Bookmark
Trish
Sun, Oct 20, 2019, 10:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

A grief worse than losing a career, a parent, a spouse, a child:

Realizing you never had them to lose.
Set Bookmark
MusicalTurtle
Sun, Oct 20, 2019, 12:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Melora

@Omicron They do sometimes reference accommodating different species; at the beginning of 'Improbable Cause' they altered the atmospheric gaseous mix (which corroded the carpets in the quarters! But they were happy to keep the atmosphere, and just replace the carpets with something else), and the Breen have their refrigeration suits. However I agree with the overall sentiment of your comment; one really would expect accommodations for various differences to be mentioned much more often as a normal part of the daily operations of a space station.

The most common mention is of Cardassians' preference of warmer temperatures; it certainly doesn't count as an extreme difference but it is a difference that is casually mentioned fairly often. I think one of the Weyouns said the Breen homeworld ('frozen wasteland') sounded quite comfortable, but the Vorta evidently function fine in ordinary humanoid temperatures anyway. Maybe they have a tolerance for an extreme range of temperatures - useful, actually, to visit all sorts of planets as Dominion representatives!
Set Bookmark
MusicalTurtle
Sun, Oct 20, 2019, 11:50am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Melora

@Booming They said in-episode that hover-whateveritwas wasn't compatible with Cardassian tech

@Top Hat "The phrase "differently abled" might help reshape the language, since "disabled" has an edge of "there's something wrong with you," rather than that society and your environment fails to accommodate your needs."
That's actually why the disabled community are generally trying to reframe disability as the social model (disabled due to lack of accommodation) rather than the medical model (your body doesn't work, with a side order of 'you are inferior'-connotations).
BTW, "differently abled" is *generally* a phrase used by abled people trying to skirt the word 'disabled' because they're uncomfortable with it, and it's therefore not a phrase that sits well with most disabled people. However I appreciate your thinking behind it and am not accusing you personally of skirting the issue, just explaining why that phrase is problematic :)

"This episode seems like wants to make a statement about the way we construct disability, but it's too muddled to say anything coherent." - After coming to terms with how the episode made me feel, I think I agree with you there. The remark about the station being inherently inaccessible and the flying scene certainly show glimmers of that.


I watched the whole episode some time after commenting and processing the discussion, and noted they did do some things well, e.g. offering help, respecting Melora's answer to the offer, not being condescending, etc. Maybe I should go through and note all the good things at some point in the interests of balance!
Set Bookmark
Jon R
Sun, Oct 20, 2019, 11:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Shakaar

I'm not a huge fan of this episode. I generally find a lot of the episodes about Bajor really boring. I can't quite put my finger on why.

But even putting that aside, there's one element to this episode that always bugs me, and that's it's messed up sense of scope that always lingers in the back of my mind while watching.

Why are there so few reclamators in the first place? They made it seem like the government loans these things out to small territories each year to help restore the soil. But the situation makes it seem like they only have enough to give to one territory at a time (thus why Wynn needs these specific ones back from Shakarr and why Shakarr waited 3 years to get them in the first place). Keep in mind this is an entire planet they are trying to restore, not just a few small provinces or a single country. At the rate some of the Farmers will likely be sitting around for decades before they get access to these things. I don't know if these things are provided by the Federation or not, but whoever is providing them needs to seriously consider making/getting more. THIS IS AN ENTIRE PLANET WE'RE TALKING ABOUT.
Set Bookmark
MusicalTurtle
Sun, Oct 20, 2019, 11:12am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Distant Voices

Perhaps I should also say I did enjoy Masks, if nothing else for a great Brent Spiner performance. The story was odd for sure, but I don't mind that.

In fairness, if I'd been watching it as broadcast I probably would have been disappointed, and the same goes for other episodes that are widely regarded as clunkers. Having entire series available to watch whenever I like probably helps me enjoy the off-beat episodes, rather than feeling cheated or that my time was wasted.
Set Bookmark
MusicalTurtle
Sun, Oct 20, 2019, 11:01am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Distant Voices

On first watch I really enjoyed this episode, although I did think the labels given to each of the others representing part of Bashir were slightly off and lacking nuance. Dax seemed to be impulsive along with the confidence, and I don't think Kira was necessarily aggressive, but assertive and forthright. I would not have thought aggression was particularly part of Bashir's personality anyway, although he is assertive. And no curiosity mentioned? Quite the oversight - Odo at points filled that role but I mean it was an oversight to not mention curiosity in the episode.

The episode doesn't hold up quite so well on the second viewing for me, as most of the intrigue was in what exactly was happening and how he'd survive. Once we know that, there wasn't much else in the story to carry it - although the self-sabotage with the pre-/post-ganglionic nerve/fibre was unexpected and hints at undefined character facets we haven't seen yet up to this point. It's a shame they didn't *actually* explore his character in what would have been a perfect setting for it though.

I did enjoy Siddig's performance and the gradual ageing; I noticed his hands were well done at his oldest (ageing make-up for hands is often forgotten or done terribly in TV).
Set Bookmark
William
Sun, Oct 20, 2019, 6:58am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: The Thaw

I rolled my eyes when I saw the design, thinking Dr. Who's Celestial Toymaker and DS9's Move Along Home, but was impressed by the ending.
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Sun, Oct 20, 2019, 1:49am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: A Simple Investigation

I know you won't.

That's what you get for thinking that you're smarter than everyone else, and when you come here to belittle others rather than to exchange opinions. You never learn anything.

I personally think that coming to a discussion board with such an attitude is a complete waste of time. But whatever rocks your boat, sir.
Set Bookmark
nickf
Sat, Oct 19, 2019, 8:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Projections

Revisiting this episode after several years - I'd forgotten all about it, but it still holds up. The interaction between Neelix and the Doctor in the Mess Hell during the Kazon attack is particularly well done. Great comic timing from Picardo and Phillips.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sat, Oct 19, 2019, 1:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: A Simple Investigation

Purely out of curiosity, DLPB, why was your time here when everyone is so beneath you?
-----

This is a review site for Star Trek. Do i need to like you or think of your intelligence as worthy in order to enjoy posting rants / reviews / or putting your silliness in its place?

I don't come here thinking "Gee, I love the community! Can't wait to agree!"

@Omicron I can't make what I said any more simple for you. If you don't like my opinion, I can't say I'll lose any sleep over it.
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Sat, Oct 19, 2019, 1:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: A Simple Investigation

There's somthing hilarious in a guy who comes to a discussion board for Trek nerds and:

(1) Makes a jab at their IQ.
(2) Claims that they are morons because they "think Star Trek is real" (talk about being completely unable to understand nuances).
(3) Tops it all with statements about his own great intelligence.

Talk about a person just not getting it...
Set Bookmark
Mike
Sat, Oct 19, 2019, 11:42am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

A dark and gritty episode that doesn’t shy away from uncomfortable issues. Kira is not my favorite character but I liked her here.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Sat, Oct 19, 2019, 10:08am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Equinox, Part II

@ Sleeper Agent,

I'm quite happy to read people defending characters they like, but just for the sake of balance I'd like to point out that For the Uniform has probably taken more flack from users here than any other Trek episode. In fact I might even wager that there have been more complaints about it than an entire season of Voyager...or maybe even the entire series combined. I guess I'm not going to go and do a complaint count but it's quite a lot anyhow. It's totally fair if you think Janeway has been treated unfairly in Equinox reviews, but it's a day at the spa compared to the examinations of Sisko in For the Uniform, or even the cross-references to it in other threads.
Set Bookmark
Joe Menta
Sat, Oct 19, 2019, 10:00am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Realm of Fear

Wasn’t Reg insubordinate by directly assembling the senior staff for that middle-of-the-night meeting? Shouldn’t he have requested it through his direct boss, Geordi? I would think Geordi would have been annoyed by Reg’s actions.
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Sat, Oct 19, 2019, 9:27am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: A Simple Investigation

Purely out of curiosity, DLPB, why was your time here when everyone is so beneath you?
Set Bookmark
dlpb
Sat, Oct 19, 2019, 8:00am (UTC -5)
Re: Frequently Asked Questions

@RandomThoughts

Cheers for that. It was a good read. If I had a billion dollars, one of my first acts would be to completely redo the CGI for B5 and spruce it up. Because storytelling wise, it's leaps and bounds above all fictions in my view - apart from maybe Breaking Bad - which is also superbly written.

I'm afraid I can no longer add Game of Thrones to that category after that abortion of a season 7 and 8.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sat, Oct 19, 2019, 4:39am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Equinox, Part II

There's always two ways of looking at things; from the light of a star, or from the shadows of a deep valley. Both are equally legit, but for your own sake, why not chose a perspective that lends a joyful nature?

The comments are many here, which have a negative ring, especially regarding Janeway. This quote from James (Oct, 2016) for example:

"But - even with her sonic showers and replicators intact - all it takes is a couple of hours and a flimsy desire for 'revenge' for Janeway to lose the plot?"

A similar comment about Captain Sisko in "From the Uniform" is yet to be found, even though the storys are fundamentally identical. Not in million years would the other captains be described as having a "flimsy desire for 'revenge'". We all know why.

As there are so many comments of similar character, I can only come to the conclusion that most people seem to expect Janeway and VOY to be something that they aren't.

But it is what it is, and when it all comes down to it, the characters are supposed to be human beings. In Equinox Janeway experiences serious exasperation, this is something we all do, especially in tense, demanding situations. And even if one is expected to behave in a certain way, things sometimes fold out in an unpredictable fashion.

Now there lies the strength in Mulgrew's portrayal of Captain Janeway. She is a competent Captain, loyal to Starfleet, beloved by her crew. Certainly very powerful but not without a playful side and a sense of humor.

And at the same time, underneath that duty mask she is a lonely, vulnerable woman; never afraid to sacrifice herself for the greater good just as she isn't afraid to do what she thinks has to be done, be it of a very controversial nature or not.

There is great beauty in the balance of Janeways many nuances; if one would only refrain from readymade expectations, its there for everybody to behold.

Just my 2 cents.
Love & Light
Set Bookmark
Booming
Sat, Oct 19, 2019, 12:50am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Jetrel

To paraphrase the best Star Trek show of them all:
This is the power of name calling!

STD forever! :)
Set Bookmark
DLPB
Fri, Oct 18, 2019, 10:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Destiny

Spot on, Eddie. It's Ron Moore. He's not very bright.
Set Bookmark
dlpb
Fri, Oct 18, 2019, 8:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Jetrel

Yes, because this episode was in no way political in nature.

Honestly, you're a total tool.
Set Bookmark
dlpb
Fri, Oct 18, 2019, 8:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: A Simple Investigation

OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Tue, Oct 1, 2019, 11:49am (UTC -5)
@DLPB

"I wish people could look on writing objectively, but it seems to me some poor sods think this fiction is reality."

Boy, you must be fun at parties...

------

My parties are frequented by intelligent people, like me. We discuss fiction as a fiction (when/if we discuss it). We don't talk about fictional stories as if they defined us or as if they are real. We don't make excuses for shite writing by coming up with something pulled out of our brown end. Your parties must be good to laugh at if you're someone with an IQ over 100.
Next ►Page 1 of 2,616
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.