Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,637 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 66
Set Bookmark
Gaius Maximus
Fri, Jun 18, 2021, 12:04am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Redemption, Part I

The thing that really bothered me this time is that there's no way in hell that Picard should be making the call on whether or not to aid Gowron. Even Starfleet Command wouldn't be making that call. It should be up to the Federation Council and President. Also, I would have expected someone to bring up the fact that by not supporting Gowron, the alliance is being risked no matter who wins. Obviously if the Duras sisters prevail, the alliance will end, but if Gowron wins after asking for Federation help and being denied, he's likely to be much less friendly towards to the Federation than he might otherwise be.

As for the Duras' sisters cleavage costumes, they're obviously just for eye candy, but if one wanted to fanwank it, you argue that it's a subtle (by Klingon standards) form of boasting. "I'm so tough, I don't need to armor my most vulnerable areas because no opponent will ever get that close to me." Plus, Klingons are supposed to have all those redundant backup organs anyway.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Tue, Jun 8, 2021, 4:36am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek V: The Final Frontier

@Luke - I quite like Fallen Kingdom. TBH, there is yet to be a JP film I haven't enjoyed.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Mon, Jun 7, 2021, 10:13am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek V: The Final Frontier

Maybe there is a theme here.

Fifth Movie shitness!

Star Trek V = Shit
Rocky V = Shit
Attack of the Clones = Shit (the 5th Star Wars movie made)

Any more?
Set Bookmark
Gaius Maximus
Fri, May 21, 2021, 12:53am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Quickening

A good episode, though not much fun to watch. This last time through, I started to wonder about what it's going to be like for the blight-free generation growing up in this society. How is the baby Travean showed Bashir at the beginning of the episode going to feel knowing he's doomed to a terrible fate that those only a few months younger were spared? I expect there will be a lot of resentment from at least the last few years of children born with the blight towards their juniors.

Also, I have to agree that after this episode, the disease Section 31 infected the Founders with in Season 7 begins to look less like a war crime and more like justice.
Set Bookmark
Gaius Maximus
Sat, May 8, 2021, 6:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: For the Cause

Regarding Eddington's speech at the end of the episode, I disagree that we're meant to take it seriously and I don't feel that the writers needed to do more in this episode to discredit it. We've had 14 seasons seasons of Star Trek up to this point that show Eddington's allegations to be ridiculous, plus his actions just in this episode as a traitor and terrorist.

Similarly, I don't think Sisko refuses to engage with Eddington's arguments because he agrees that they are true, but because they are so obviously ridiculous that it would be a waste of time to dignify them with a counterargument. Instead, he cuts to what is really important, that Eddington is a traitor and Sisko is going to make him regret it.

Sadly, for reasons that I've never been able to understand, there seems to be a large contingent of Star Trek fans who want to believe that the Federation is evil and so are eager to take Eddington's accusations as unvarnished truth, both in-universe, and as the opinion of the writers. Regrettably the current Powers that Be behind Trek seem to focused on giving this group what they want, judging by Discovery and Picard.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Tue, Apr 6, 2021, 3:57am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

So the trailer for Season 4 is out and again there is a big galaxy ending threat or something.

Why? Why couldn't we have a season going out and exploring this amazing sandbox they have with the Federation/Galaxy of the future.

I've supported Discovery while a lot have have given up. I do not need another season of the ship getting the shit knocked out of it every week.
Explore... Go and fucking explore!
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Tue, Apr 6, 2021, 2:52am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

"I am ageless-- you are not."

I think the make up team are currently shitting themselves after the crap they got for Data make up.
Set Bookmark
Jaxon
Thu, Mar 25, 2021, 8:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Lower Decks

William B said:

"I could imagine Sito taking extra courses per semester to graduate a semester early though, to try to make up for lost time (and escape from an unpleasant academy environment). "

I don't see the effectiveness of "cancelling" a school year of the academy. They took the courses, and they can't be stripped of what they learned in them, so it seems entirely punitive. Further, if they have to retake the courses, it only seems like they would have an advantage over the students that are taking those classes for the first time.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Tue, Mar 16, 2021, 4:49am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Darmok

Sokoth or something like that I think.
Set Bookmark
Edmund Bloxam
Mon, Mar 8, 2021, 8:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Seventh Season Recap

Somebody's still here watching 'Voyager'.

I used to love this show, and I thought Season Five was a peak of individual stories. When I first watched the show, I thought Season Six fell off a cliff of quality. I therefore hadn't watched until the last few months.

Quite extremely, then, watching S6 and 7 was like watching them all over again. And the individual stories, for the most part, were pretty good. Every story ever is a 'relationship story', so, yes, about time on Tom and Torres. I agree with the consensus. But considering that my expectations were for the dreck that was 'Enterprise' (Man, that show was so...damn...uneventful and boring), and 'Discovery' is just utterly ridiculous and messy and bloated and gets basic emotion wrong and fucki*g dumb, I was glad of basic storytelling competence.

Also, the critics of 'Voyager' miss that it came before serialised television, in effect. 'B5' was garbage, literal garbage, so the only shows that committed to real consequences were soap operas. Whilst, in the end, 'Voyager' suffers from this, S3 or TNG is indistinguishable from S7 and people cringingly love that show, so complaining about 'Voyager' is just a double standard. I find Voyager much more watchable than that show, even if I agree with most of the consensus.
Set Bookmark
Paulus Marius Rex
Fri, Mar 5, 2021, 9:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Hero Worship

I love what you do Jammer and I have immmmmmense respect for your work. So I mean this in the best possible spirit. It’s hard to come across a rating and review like this one and not feel you have a bias against TNG. Considering the quality of this episode - and how much my kids loved it the other day - but especially considering the quality of this episode as compared to the vast majority of Discovery episodes, it’s hard to square the consistently generous ratings you’ve given to Discovery. Sure the special effects are nice, but the writing is consistently terrible (my opinion, I’ll grant) and nowhere near the standard of TNG. Leaving the other series aside, comparing these two on your site feels weird. If this is 1.5 then there should be a whole lot more disco episodes with a similar or lower rating. IMHO of course!
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 6:21am (UTC -5)
Re: MAND S1: Chapter 1: The Mandalorian

That's a shame. You deserve one. A big veiny throbber.

Some day maybe.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 5:09am (UTC -5)
Re: MAND S1: Chapter 2: The Child

My son was rolling up with the whole Jawa thing. It was brilliant. Just a bit of mindless fun.
The battle with the creature doesn't quite live up to that but the dismay when they get the egg was brilliant. Also a chance to see Grogu flex his mental muscles was cool.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 5:06am (UTC -5)
Re: MAND S1: Chapter 3: The Sin

Full agreement, the Razor Crest where you can sense the turmoil of doing the right thing was amazing. I'd probably give this a 4.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 5:05am (UTC -5)
Re: MAND S1: Chapter 4: Sanctuary

Quite a cliched episode but I like it, that kind of homage to old 80's TV.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 4:55am (UTC -5)
Re: MAND S1: Chapter 1: The Mandalorian

I always love it when people come in and say they don't like something that millions of of people do.

Go you lot, I hope you all have hard ons!
Set Bookmark
Jaxon
Mon, Feb 15, 2021, 1:56am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Extreme Measures

Bashir genetic enhancements letting him control his own vital signs is quite the ploy convenience stretch and strains credulity....even more absurd is that he could do it for O'Brien as well, who invited himself without Bashir even saying he could do so.
Set Bookmark
Jaxon
Sat, Feb 13, 2021, 12:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Covenant

Odo: Maybe if I had an orb experience.

Kira: It doesn't work like that...faith has to come first.

I recall it working like that for Quark...he had an orb experience.
Set Bookmark
Latex Zebra
Thu, Feb 11, 2021, 4:52am (UTC -5)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

And Gina Carano is out of there!

I think it is a shame that she couldn't wind it in a bit on socials. Just because you have an opinion on things doesn't mean you need to share it to potentially millions of people. Seen people screaming cancel culture and that this is an attack on free speech. I received a polite talking to because a post I made on Facebook was reported to my employer. I am small fry. Not doing or saying things that can cause disrepute to your employer has long been a contractual obligation from employees.
So, yeah, a shame it came to this but Gina had it coming.
Set Bookmark
Jaxon
Sun, Feb 7, 2021, 1:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part II

Jay said:

"I have the same issue here as I had with "Realm of Fear" from TNGS6...that a person in mid-transport can carry out activities."

That's an interesting notion...when the effect "envelope" begins, does that mean dematerialization has started? In a normal transport, the whole process is mereseconds, so I suspect a person has no time to do anything once the envelope forms around them, even if transport is inhibited by technobabble.

In "Darmok", Picard sensed the transporter field forming and screamed "NO!" He was then motionless (and visionless?) as the Enterprise attempted the process, but couldn't finish it.

This transporter-enveloped "paralysis" of Picard was somewhat easier to buy than the notion of Starling actually being able to futz with a tricorder for several seconds in a transporter envelope.
Set Bookmark
Gaius Maximus
Fri, Feb 5, 2021, 2:13am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Devil's Due

@CreveCoeur - It makes sense that this would remind you of that Simpsons episode, as they are both loosely based on the short story "The Devil and Daniel Webster."
Set Bookmark
Jaxon
Tue, Feb 2, 2021, 2:52am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Renaissance Man

As mentioned, we should be past Hierarchy space, because even since we last saw them in "The Void", Q sent Voyager a few years closer to home as reward for bratsitting via "homework". It never said how much, but "a year" has pretty much amounted to ~1000 light years thus far.
Set Bookmark
Jaxon
Tue, Feb 2, 2021, 2:42am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Homestead

Actually, Neelix has seen Earth twice per se.

The "real" Earth's Los Angeles, albeit 375 years earlier, in "Future's End", and a Species 8472 created facsimile of "contemporary" Earth's San Francisco in "In The Flesh".
Set Bookmark
Edmund Bloxam
Sun, Jan 31, 2021, 6:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

I'm becoming a bit tired of how rubbish stormtroopers are. I get that it's kind of a joke. But this isn't a comedy. And the joke has been told. I would like to be invested in the action.

Which I am also becoming annoyed with. Because stormtroopers are there to be mown down. But more how poorly the gunfights are choreographed. In the original trilogy, it was annoying. But those movies are old. This is inexcusable. Two people pointing guns at each other with no cover, shooting...it's stupid. And it's a staple of this show!

So, for me this episode was a huge flop. Because, for the above reasons, the fighting was meaningless. You could essentially skip to the worst deus ex machina in television history. After yawning my way there, I thought 'oh, how are they gonna get out of this?'
Who is literally the most heroic hero in popular fiction? Him. He just Jesuses his way through, displaying the worst elements of prequel action. (The door scene in 'Rogue One' is unfortunately nodded to. That actually made a bit of sense.

An otherwise good season pooped away at the end.
Set Bookmark
Jaxon
Fri, Jan 29, 2021, 12:19am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Life Line

The Enterprise is on "an important mission" 7 light years from the solar system?

Are they erecting a monument dedicated to the fallen in the Battle of Wolf 359?
Next ►Page 1 of 66
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.