Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 17 (Showing 1-17)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Wilt
Sun, Nov 12, 2017, 5:47am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Lifesigns

@Skooble you are spot-on about these devices appearing only once and never to be seen again. There were the tricobalt missles in the pilot that were never used again. Not to mention the phaser's wide-area dispersal setting that was used all but once also in the S1 ep Cathexis.

Let's not get started on aliens. Yes, I realize the crew was headed back to the Alpha Quadrant so it was unlikely we'd run across them twice. But that doesn't explain S2's Alliances regarding the Trabe and how we never heard from them again even though they remained a constant thorn in the Ka-zon's side. And the crew obviously hadn't successfully cleared Ka-zon airspace until S3.

It was always things like that that rankled at me throughout the years. Things just unresolved and forgotten. I know some people preferred standalones but I actually preferred continuity and not having the reset button pushed every week.
Seems like the writers took the easy way out.
Set Bookmark
Wilt
Tue, Sep 20, 2016, 8:01am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Time and Again

@Grumpy, to answer your question as to whether or not they would have gotten home earlier my guess would be probably not. Remember in S3's Scorpion when chuckles wanted to go around Borg space to avoid the Borg/8472 conflict which would have taken them an extra two or three years to complete.

Also did anyone else notice that the name of the Province just happened to be the same name as that Vulcan game?
Set Bookmark
Wilt
Sat, May 28, 2016, 4:50am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Royale

I agree that this episode was not classic status. But I always enjoyed. A guilty pleasure? Most definitely.

Couldn't imagine something like this being made in the 2010's. It seemed somewhat old timey even by the early 90's. But it is a snapshot in time of how scripts could be as opposed to how scipts are currently. And truthfully I miss those times just a bit.
Set Bookmark
Wilt
Fri, Jan 1, 2016, 3:47am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: The 37's

I kept thinking of Tackleberry meself whenever I watch this one. Still quick with that trigger finger, too!

Jammer thought this one was too late in the making. But I felt like they hadn't been stranded nearly long enough to really put the crew through this. But even by then I figured a few would have remained like other reviewers mentioned. At the very least the 3 from Good Shepherd. Or B'elanna. She did say in S1's Eye of The Needle that no one would seemingly care if she came back or not. And the Maquis were outlaws at this point. Seska kinda left a little earlier :)

Maybe this one should have been swapped out with S6's The Voyager Conspiracy. That one was six seasons too late. It would have fit in perfectly here (minus Seven, but I'm sure the writers would come up with something on the fly) while the 37's moved to S6 would allow the crew to decide after six years do they really want to continue this journey. I'm sure it would have weighed heavier on their hearts by then. 6 years as opposed to roughly six months.

The concept of Amelia Earhart being abducted by aliens. An interesting idea. Since there was no trace whatsoever of her or the aircraft it's hard to claim or refute there were little green men involved (or whatever that race looked like) but at the very least it does place it right under an unsolved mystery. Or an X-file. Or In Search Of...

And it was far too convenient that all the 37's decided to stay while no one on the crew wanted to. I remember watching the cargo scene and thinking all those years ago 'yeah, right' when it first aired. 20 years later rewatching it and it still feels like a cop-out.

2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Wilt
Thu, Dec 31, 2015, 3:04am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Drone

Another hum drum episode. Agreed that I, Borg had already covered similar territory. Didn't even matter if the Doc's holo-emitter was futuristic and never assimilated by the Borg till now. It still felt too derivative. And maybe it's also because I was nonplussed with that ep on TNG, too.

The borg are at their best when they are shown as totalitarian, take no prisoners and being cold-bloodedly efficient with their lifeless execution of getting things done. No talking, no useless wasting of energy. These eps I guess are to try to soften them (yet again). Something Voyager did till Endgame in which by then they were all but impotent.

And I thought I was the only one who noticed B'elanna had a towel for a sonic shower. Which made zero sense. For the scene, maybe.

2 stars is all I could muster for this one.
Set Bookmark
Wilt
Sun, Dec 27, 2015, 8:03am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Gift

Our new borg addition summed up Janeway in a few short sentences: Hypocritical and manipulative. No different than the borg. Wow. She hasn't been on the ship but a few days and she's already hip to that. I watched this one right after watching Prey. Seven's outbursts in BOTH eps were right on the money.

I can't say when this show really jumped the shark. The fact that it became standalone-driven since S3 makes it hard to say since they reset the clock every new ep. We do get some great standalones (Living Witness, Remember) and some horrible ones (Threshold, Course: Oblivion) but the format itself makes it harder to pinpoint when things went bad. So many eps from the last seasons could have been switched with earlier eps and no difference would have been made.

We lose an Ocampan yet gain a Borg. Why not keep both? Sometimes I think the writers just spin a dial and where it lands that's the unlucky sod getting the shaft. Both Martha Hackett and Jennifer Lien's characters at least showed more growth than can't-get-a-lock Kim yet they choose to keep him? No character development at all in 7 years. In a short timespan Seska changed quite a bit. And she was always interesting onscreen. Kes was clearly growing and maturing as a character herself. Meanwhile Kim remained the same resident dork who still couldn't get a lock from Caretaker to Endgame. meh.

A hello, goodbye episode. 3 stars because it did have an impact from this ep on so it makes it an important one. Hello Seven of Nine, welcome to the family :) Goodbye Kes, we loved you and miss you :(
Set Bookmark
Wilt
Mon, Dec 21, 2015, 5:31am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Memorial

No doubt it was indeed a mind screw. I'd be tempted to let it die off as well. But the Prime Directive didn't really apply since there was no alien race to be in contact with. Not to mention the crew had already been introduced (not to mention traumatized) by events that were not synchronized and left its impression on the entire crew. First contact was initiated (in a roundabout way) by this alien race that left this 'Memorial' intact.

I have to admit the idea behind it is fascinating. If we only talk about wars then immediately forget them after the class is over then the message may not be as clear. But to relive those atrocities...well...like they said they'll never forget them. And maybe it would make others think twice before diving into into war head first regardless of its 'good intentions.'
Experience has always been the best teacher, sadly enough.

Having others relive the nightmares of war that PTSD victims suffer would give people insight into what they have to live with. But I don't agree with the way this race executed it. Janeway at least put the warning buoy out there so any passing ships that get within a certain range of the planet will know what's coming. The alien race should have done that much, at least. So others wouldn't be blindsided with a war that not only was traumatic but didn't even belong to them. Passers by can have the option of choosing to relive it and not have it forced on them because of orders gone wrong like the original aliens did. I would think most would have the sense to avoid it.

Actually now that I think of it I'll bet the aliens did that on purpose. If others were forewarned then most who value their sanity would go around the planet. But I think they set it up this way as a message. Presumably the message being that no one can predict when or where war will happen. Or the traumas you will be introduced to and forced to endure. And the aliens decided to force other races to relive atrocities they committed. Damned arrogant of them I should say. It isn't as if they are the only ones who've had to deal with war or its consequences. I'm surprised Neelix himself didn't flip out over it given his his history (S1's Jetrel). But it sure does bring home W.T. Sherman's message: War is hell.

In spite of it all this is one I still come back to from time to time. I don't like being cynical especially on a trekkie website but somehow this scenario feels like a prediction of things to come in our future the longer things remain they are in society. And that's a sobering thought indeed.

3-3.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Wilt
Fri, Dec 18, 2015, 6:33am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: The Chute

Well...I don't really have much to say about this side of kim. It was something different, I'll grant that much. And yet it still remained meh. Because he goes back to his usual naïve self with no mention of this experience ever again, making this another flash-in-the-pan ep.

But this was the 3rd season, right about the time where they eschewed continuity altogether.

Why do alien races look and act so much like humans? How much suspension of disbelief can one do on this series before it becomes obvious and painfully unoriginal? Couldn't they try to make them look different? Maybe that's why I stopped watching for so many years. Didn't feel as if there was any exploration going on so much as variations on earthbound themes set in the stars.

This race (surprisingly) doesn't out and out execute it's perpetrators. Based on their liason you'd be hard pressed to believe it. They came on like a group of intergalactic thugs. Just as bad as the criminals they left to rot in the prison. Summary judgement based on circumstantial evidence and no chance for appeal. Cloaked in a false sense of law and order. No place to vacation that's for sure. I'll stick to Risa myself.

The clamp really didn't serve a useful purpose to me. That one inmate said it was designed to keep them from potentially working as a team and actually finding a way out the prison. I'm pretty sure there was a way to pilot or control the prison. They had to get that floating prison out there somehow. Maybe the clamp's function went no further than that.

I can't rate this one even close to 3 stars mostly because we went back to business as usual for kim. No character development (or even a promotion) at all, even after this harrowing experience. He must hold the record for his time in grade as an Ensign. Not one promotion in 7 years. Tom lost his rank only to get it back in a year and a half. Not to mention he was awarded a field commission (O-3 I think) in the pilot after being in a penal colony. And throughout it all kim simply remained...an Ensign.

1-1.5 stars is where I put this one.
Set Bookmark
Wilt
Thu, Dec 17, 2015, 12:56am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Ex Post Facto

One of the first eps where we got to see the acting chops of Tim Russ. Clearly he was able to hold his own for the entire ep investigating the murder that Paris had allegedly committed. Didn't come off quite as cookie-cutter as I expected. That final witness was something different.

And Paris was right about one thing with cant-get-a-lock kim: One day it WAS him. Twice. Remember The Disease? Alter Ego?

This ep was compared to TNG's A Matter of Perspective. But in that ep they were attempting to piece together what had happened thru the (slanted) stories of others. In this ep we already know what happened. But there was a technological slight-of-hand with the memory superimposed in Paris' head, which would be exposed in the investigation.

I don't remember being appalled with the episode. Not like I was with Threshold, anyway. A good mystery will hold my attention every time. Even tho I already knew the ending I still get immersed in the resolution scene and watching it unfold. In today's society with cams everywhere mysteries are becoming few and far between. Wonder how Doyle would have fared writing Sherlock in the 2010's...

2-2.5 stars works for me.
Set Bookmark
Wilt
Sat, Dec 12, 2015, 1:50am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Parallax

You know, I wished that there was far more enmity between the crews as well in the beginning. I never understood how chuckles ever was in the Maquis. He so readily jumped back into the uniform I keep forgetting why he even joined the Maquis in the first place. I sometimes watch TNG's Journey's End for the back story on it. Still he practically dove back into Starfleet head first far too quickly.

He could have just as easily stopped the Captain from destroying their only way back. Instead he just agreed to it and nothing from there. The tension between the maquis and Starfleet crew should have grown a whole lot stronger than it did after that insane act. I almost forgot there were maquis as a part of the crew.

I also agreed 110% about not choosing thugs over Starfleet officers for leadership positions. The writers suddenly forgot that the maquis (with the exception of the wonderful Seska. Wuv u Ms. Hackett) were supposed to be outlaws who had little use for Starfleet and its protocols. Yes, chuckles was a Starfleet officer. I think he was the one who was the instructor at some course that Lt. Ro had graduated from. Captain Picard mentioned it being a very difficult course in TNG's Preemptive Strike but I can't remember the details.

Anyways chuckles did indeed have the training and all. But he also never really came off as a maquis dissident. Whenever I rewatch the pilot I sometimes forget that's how he was intreduced. But then again just about all the maquis settled comfortably into Starfleet without a word of complaint. And at the end of this episode, abra ka dabra, B'elanna's now the chief engineer and snug as a bug. Chosen over a Starfleet officer whom spent years earning his commission and the uniform.

Don't get me wrong, I do like B'elanna. It's just in this case I really have to question why in the world would the writers do something like that? I know, stranded in the Delta Quadrant (mind you by the same captain who broke the Prime Directive more times it seemed than even Archer, and they didn't HAVE a prime directive yet) but that should have made for one hell of a uncomfortable crew for more than half a single episode, especially after she destroyed the array. Seska's defection wasn't even close to enough to satisfy that criteria, as enjoyable as it was. Maybe if there were a few more dissidents that took off with her. That would have been more believable than just her alone. I know she wasn't the only one who felt that way.

Learning Curve was, frankly, a joke. Even the awesome Tim Russ couldn't save that outing. It wasn't bad acting, it was just a very poor (and lazy) attempt to 'tidy up' the maquis/Starfleet conflict.

I think at this point the writers were torn between continuity and anomaly-of-the-week (AOTW) eps. We wouldn't have to wait long to find out which they preferred. This one really could have been in any season. Spin the roulette wheel and where it stops drop it there. You wouldn't notice much difference.

This one I can't give any more than 1.5 stars to. Execution was fine, the storyline is what I am criticizing. And that half star was for Seska staying true to her character even at the beginning. Sometimes I feel like Culluh at the end of S3's Basics when she met her final fate...
Set Bookmark
Wilt
Wed, Dec 9, 2015, 3:21am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part II

When I read the Memory Alpha site regarding this two-parter it was explained it was originally supposed to be four parts! That would explain why this part felt a bit scattered. Scenes felt incomplete and/or hackneyed and didn't flow as smoothly. I noticed that myself.

The producers I guess felt that wouldn't have been good for the ep. But I don't know. Part 1 painted a pretty good picture. I think having 3 more parts would have put it in a much nicer frame than what we did get.

Not to say the episode was bad. But from what I was reading it sounds like a lot of the stuff in this ep that seemed somewhat gratuitous actually had a fleshed out story. I wished they had gone that route.

What we did get certainly filled the time slot but it felt like there were too many things that were supposed to have happened that never did or never fully explained.

In any event the Doctor gets the holo-emitter. It never occurred to me to see the acronym for the whole thing in initials. Good catch! Had to laugh at that. Reminded me of the BFG 9000 for the Doom series.

I don't know how Sarah Silverman would have fit in on the show if they had pushed to make her a regular. As Raine she reminded me vaguely of Ensign Sonya Gomez. Lycia Naff wasn't a bad fit for Enterprise but she did seem a bit...willful. Plus after seeing her in Total Recall there was no chance she would ever be recalled back to the Enterprise. Even when Jean-Luc was Locutus.

I don't think Raine would have been as bad. She wouldn't be taken for a fool but I don't think she would be so willful, either. But I still don't see that happening with the whole Temporal Prime Directive and all.

Speaking of which I had to mention poor Capt Braxton. His story would come to a sad but entertaining end in S5's Relativity. Didn't help that Janeway took it upon herself to break the Temporal Prime Directive when it suddenly became inconvenient. If only Capt Ransom knew what Janeway had done when she was busy sitting on her moral high ground judging what he had done in S5/6's Equinox. (His actions were an abomination btw. But Janeway's in Relativity could have changed time and history. Twice if you remember Endgame.) Temporal Prime Directive = the hell with it! And she still gets promoted to 3 star Admiral.

Strange that she would get promoted over Picard. I can only assume he didn't want the promotion. I still shake my head in disbelief at that scene in Nemesis where she's giving him his marching orders.

Ed Begley Jr played a pretty good self centered atypical CEO using his veil of 'willingness to help humanity' as a means to achieve global and financial power. I don't think his character would have been perceived any differently even if this was a four parter.

Overall I can give this one a mild 3 stars. I wonder what grandiose treatment it would have gotten if it had been extended to it's original four parts tho.
Set Bookmark
Wilt
Sun, Nov 29, 2015, 7:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Barge of the Dead

Mixed feelings about this one. The whole point of the ST mythos was not just showing cooperation of other alien races and their overall role in Starfleet. It was also to show acceptance of those other races' cultures' values, mindsets and spirituality. I really detest the way the show continues to trivialize and satirize any way of life that isn't consistent with middle America (or more specifically it seems, the writer's values).

B'elanna's whole attitude towards her Klingon half displays a self loathing that K'Ehleyr herself never showed. All that in spite of the fact her Klingon half had already changed lives in the delta quadrant for the better exclusively because she was Klingon. (Faces, Lifesigns, and Prophecy sort of). We know that contempt stems from her human half, whom clearly shows a lot more intolerance and contempt. Just watch S1's Faces and you will see what I mean.

She still wanted her father's acceptance while rejecting both her mother and her Klingon half. keep in mind her mother at least stayed with her thru all of it in spite of her headstrong ways. But her mother is Klingon and it seems to be par for the course for them.

Ironic that the human half is what made her push them all away yet that's the half she desperately wants to embrace. I suppose the one thing about this we can take from it is humans really have low to zero tolerance for others. At times it borders on outright xenophobia, at least from watching Voyager (and ENT). Runs contrary to the whole point of ST and Gene Roddenberry's vision of a utopian future.

With that being said, I enjoy the heel face turn in the story we get not too long after the ceremony in the mess hall. Things take a decidedly different route. And then we are thrust head first into a scenario that no one saw coming. I know I sure didn't. Didn't see how the title of the ep fit in until that moment.

Speaking of which in spite of her vehement denials of her Klingon side it seems there was a part of her that very much believed in it. After all, she wouldn't have appeared on the barge of the dead otherwise. The Klingon in her runs deeper than she likes to admit, even to herself.

And just as things get interesting...it suddenly comes to an end and she finds herself awakened startlingly in sick bay.

I'll skip over her sudden deep belief in Klingon lore. Those scrolls she looked at in engineering must have been poured over throughout her childhood up until she left home. I guess she didn't accept it until it happened and had to look up the details to see if there were a way to undo it. Like a good engineer, I suppose.

Anyways after some pleading convictions to the Captain she's recreating the shuttle accident's environmental conditions and abra ka dabra, she's back on the barge of the dead.

She does indeed get to confront her mother. And it seems the conversation begins where it left off 10 years ago for both of them. I mentioned in the S7 Lineage review how this paralleled Jean-Luc Picard and his older brother, Remy. And apparently their father as well. Except it would take him 20 years and a forced borg assimilation before he returned to his roots.

In any case She gets to lift her mother's dishonor and take her place in klingon's Hell. As surprised as I was I'm sure no one was more surprised than she was as to where exactly that Hell would be located.

The rest was more of an awakening of sorts for her to just accept who she is and stop running away. (Still can't imagine any Klingon saying to forget any part of their lore, especially when she flagellated the point to death in B'elanna's youth. Enough to drive her father away and eventually B'elanna herself. Writers needed to reword that some.)

This ep is a companion piece to S7's Lineage. Which I will admit I found a bit more fascinating and almost as infuriating. (Wasn't quite as meticulously executed, tho.) Because it found B'elanna right back at her seeds of contempt regarding her Klingon nature. It wasn't as if she had a monopoly on Klingon temperament and ridges (that weren't even that pronounced). But at least that episode had a reason for her to be that way. The pregnancy triggered that dormant self loathing she still had about being Klingon. I'm guessing it mirrored how her father had felt at the time about it all. And she didn't want her child to have to go thru that as well. Seems with Klingons it always comes down to the sins of the father doesn't it?

This one was very well paced and executed with pinpoint precision. I was definitely riveted to the screen till the end. At least it tried to restore a respectability to Klingon beliefs. In spite of B'elanna's misgivings (not to mention serious patronizing from a few members of the crew) it's hard not to give it a perfect 4. Except the show had an annoying tendency to belittle all the nonhuman species' beliefs far too often (glares at the doctor). Klingons just got hit the hardest. Gotta dock it half a star. Still, In spite those flaws this is nonetheless an outstanding one this late in the series.
Set Bookmark
Wilt
Sat, Nov 28, 2015, 12:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Mortal Coil

Nic, I know your post is 4 years old but that has been an argument for me as well. A concept pops up suddenly to help the storyline limp along only for it to disappear without a trace and never mentioned again. Where to begin? Let's see...

S2's Alliances where that race the Trabe had been the ones to scatter the Ka-zon into the nomads they are and never once shown again. After Basics neither were the Ka-zon for that matter. I suppose they could say they were leaving their region of space and it was played off as such. Fair enough.

But what about those tricobalt missles they used in the pilot to destroy the caretaker array that we never heard from again except in S6's Voyager Conspiracy ep...

Or the Malons that were so fond of their toxic waste dump sites in S5...

Or the Vaadwaur that were hyped to have been a new threat to the quadrant in S6's Dragon's Teeth that Seven awakened yet somehow we never heard from them again either...

We never learned what happened to the remainder of the Equinox crew that survived and were subsequently demoted. Not to mention it would have been nice to see Lessing's reaction to serving under a captain that was very willing to feed a Starfleet officer to the wolves...

Come to think of it we never even learned the fate of Ocampa either after the Caretaker's passing. Keep in mind they were the reason Janeway destroyed the array which stranded the crew in the Delta Quadrant in the first place. All to help a race with an 8 year life span.

I'm sure there are others I missed that you or other fellow trekkies could think of. These were just off-the-cuff ones I remembered.

Truthfully I'm surprised some of the Starfleet crew didn't mutiny before (or after) that fateful decision. The Maquis it should have been without saying. It certainly would have made for a more interesting journey home to see this.

Was it against Starfleet ideals? Of course. But the Maquis had little use for those ideals to begin with. That's partly the reason they formed. And with the decision the Captain made to strand them there it sure gave their cause a bit more credibility.

But I digress. Between this one and Jetrel it's nice to see Neelix was not just an annoyance at the worst of times. He can be deadly earnest when he wants to be but that would be quite a downer to see that all the time. And I know Ethan Phillips wasn't looking to be Clint Eastwood. I remembered him as a kid in the sitcom Benson and surprisingly in the movie Lean On Me. Comic relief even in that.

But did anyone really believe for one minute he was going to succeed in beaming out to space? There can only be suspense when you don't know the outcome, at least for me. The best we could hope for is the reason why he decides not to beam out into space is good enough to raise it from standard fare.

Now for a good twist as he was beaming out our trusty can't-get-a-lock kim would live up to his namesake and cause the tricorder scattering field to displace itself, thereby saving Neelix but instead it's shifted itself around chuckles beaming HIM out into space with no chance of retrieval. Now that would have been must-see TV!

As it is 1.5 stars is all I can give this, despite this yahoo serious side of Neelix we only got from time to time.
Set Bookmark
Wilt
Tue, Nov 24, 2015, 10:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Gravity

lol Rosario! I was just about to comment on Tuvok not putting Paris's face thru those rocks when Tom was in his face about Noss being upset and I read your (3 year old) comment. It wouldn't be a fair fight tho when you think about it. Remember Vulcans have a lot more strength for their size than the average human. It's probably that security that allowed Tuvok to retain control knowing he COULD do that to Tommy boy. I'm sure his old man Owen Paris must have felt the same way from time to time about him when we was a little bugger. We know he was always a willful guy. Look at his life's history (or better yet check out his star trek wiki page).

I'm guessing this was all about showing how excellent Vulcans' emotional control is. And I must agree that he still showed incredible restraint. Considering how little he had when he was younger as we saw in the opening the writers probably had Tom put on a show to demonstrate how resilient Tuvok had become since then.

But the title still doesn't quite gel with that aspect of the story. If a fellow trekkie has a moment or two please enlighten me me on that one, because I just don't see the connection.
Set Bookmark
Wilt
Thu, Nov 12, 2015, 10:03am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Darkling

Interestingly enough I found Picardo's performace as the evil doctor completely devoid of any humor. It was his darkest performance in the series. The title certainly fits. But Picardo's talents weren't exactly a secret to anyone. The main premise of the story Jammer pretty much summed up. He wanted to expand his personality subroutines and wound up creating a darker side of himself. Entertaining to say the least!

The rest of the episode doesn't really stick in my mind as much regarding this particular race they came across. I guess I didn't find them all that compelling. Not horrible but this is one race I didn't mind not seeing again since I barely remembered them.

I liked Jennifer Lien. I felt she was a gentle soul that Voyager lost when they axed her character. Honestly she showed more potential and interest for me than Ensign "can't-get-a-lock" Kim. (not sure who coined that phrase but it sure fits.) They could have gotten rid of chuckles as well, even more annoying. Kes clearly was showing development. And she turned out to be a more versatile actress as well. Warlord showed us that.

First they get rid of Martha Hackett (still can't believe they didn't know how to integrate Seska, as charismatic as she was). Then Jennifer Lien. Yeah they did bring in Jeri Ryan, who was sexy yet as cold as a borg drone could be. Geez. These writers hate their mothers or something?

Anyways Darkling was bogged down with a lot of things that I was nonplussed by. So it's difficult to give it a high rating. But Picardo really bought it home this episode as the evil doctor. I sure can't give it an epic fail. Not like Threshold or Natural Law. 2 to a weak 2.5 stars is the range I'll settle for.
Set Bookmark
Wilt
Mon, Nov 2, 2015, 2:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Lineage

It was nice that the show allowed us to see all aspects of B'elanna's life that's made her the person she is. S1's Faces externalized the conflict when her Klingon/human halves were separated. And she showed courage in both incarnations didn't she? It took her a bit longer to find it in her human half, which made it the more admirable to witness. So no question about it, she definitely inherited that from both parents.

S6's "Barge Of The Dead" showed her relationship with her mother. I can't imagine the relationship being any better/worse than any other Klingon mother/daughter relationship. She always was there for her daughter no matter what life threw at them. Though I kind of felt the writers were once again slightly undermining the Klingon's spiritual beliefs. (Can't imagine any Klingon saying "forget the ritual".) But anyhow that strong sense of honor is what I always liked about Klingons. Argue, fight and still be there for one another. Worf and Kurn's bond comes to mind as well.

Compare that to the (very) human relationship between Jean-Luc and Remy. They never quite bonded like that. They were close but at the same time they were distant, if that makes any sense. And it was clear his father never approved of his son's choice in life regarding Starfleet. The conflict was great enough that he did not return for I believe 20 years or so.

That's what makes this episode so fascinating regarding the human side of relationships. It showcases why her father left and the happenings that led to it. His family gently warned him that being in a Klingon relationship would not be as easy as it seemed. An adolescent B'elanna was already warring with her Klingon half. That headstrong nature combined with human insecurity and doubt. Her mother seemed to anticipate it and had no issues with it.

As for her father...the ultimatum was pretty much there. And in the end it was too much for him to deal with. He may have even concluded they were better off without him in life. And B'elanna...well, after watching this and Author, Author it was clear she missed him and still loved him. Wanting to eradicate the Klingon gene in her daughter was extreme to say the least. But then again so were her emotions regarding it.

It was also clear that although he felt his leaving would make life better for them he also missed her dearly as well. The scene where they talked briefly in Author, Author I believe Gene Roddenberry would have approved of. It felt like the trek of old. Optimistic. In a time where cynicism is (sadly) the norm I liked this. I'm pretty sure both her parents got to see their granddaughter, just wish the writers had done a scene with them together later in the series, however briefly. Actually that could have easily been another episode. The concept alone is more interesting than Natural Law was. At least we got to see her in Endgame.

Initially I felt Jammer gave it one too many stars. But these family ones hit so close to home it's hard not to get caught up in them and force one to examine one's own family and relationships. The writers even allowed Tuvok to be a Vulcan father and not satirize his sensibilities (again). That joke got old quickly in the series. So I'll call Jammer's rating even steven.
Set Bookmark
Wilt
Mon, Nov 2, 2015, 10:49am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Latent Image

We know that this will not be the last episode to delve into the humanity of the doctor (S7's Author, Author closed the books on that). The program was designed to adapt and to expand. I found myself caught in the middle of the comments. I can see how if it is adaptable how it eventually would develop this feedback loop. Whereas humans can be contradictory by nature and can change minds in a heartbeat it only stands to reason the program would adapt to a degree that it would behave in the same fashion.

On the other hand, that level of adaptation would not serve the crew's interests and perhaps some tweaking of it would be necessary to where it would not need to adapt to where it would cause a conflict as to "I'll choose my favorite to save first." Certainly not to where it would become self destructive behavior.

Of course, this all hinges on whether or not one sees the doctor as sentient. And this argument goes back to TNG's The Measure of a Man. Even though Data was an android he was nonetheless man-made and also designed to adapt to the human condition. It stands to reason those same parameters would be applied to the doctor, who clearly had grown from what he was in Season 1. (Note however in S6's Life Line Dr. Zimmerman said he never overcame the inherent flaws of the Mark I. He remained arrogant, egotistical and a bit of a jerk. All the way thru the series.) Watching S7's Author, Author the phrase "I think, therefore I am" kept coming to mind. He can (and did) fight for his right to publish under his own free will. He could only do that thru experience. He grew into that experience. Not much different from a child growing up to become a man (or woman). They are man-made too. Experience is the best teacher. And in some ways the benchmark of maturity. And hopefully they become a pillar of the community rather than a blight on it.

This is the reason I am caught in the middle. Because I clearly see both sides. It's easy to say "well we programmed him we'll make him into a whistling teapot if we want to, or just decompile it and start all over." Especially if it becomes a potential threat to others. Think also that supercomputer from the Terminator series known as Skynet. There always was (and maybe still is) a deep rooted fear they may develop self awareness and decide in the blink of an eye what's best for humanity. And that choice may be extinction. On the other hand it wouldn't really learn from its mistakes if we stop to reset the clock if you will every time his program did something the crew didn't like. Adaptation is what it was programmed to do. It can only do that thru experiencing and subsequently dealing with conflicts. In that instance think the supercomputer in "War Games". It realized in the end after x amount of Tic Tac Toe attempts the only winning move was not to play.

A solid 3 stars just for the introspective mode this puts me into. 74 reviews deep confirms it really stirred emotions in others as well. Easier to do with episodes like this than "False Prophets" :)
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.