Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 51,311 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2,053
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Mon, Jun 18, 2018, 12:14am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Sub Rosa

This is a “Spock’s Brain” type situation. While I agree the premise is laughable, it’s still a watchable episode. The worst episodes are the ones that can’t even hold your attention because they are so bland. Also this episode DOES have some great acting. I’d give it two stars. Not season sevens worst episode at all.
Set Bookmark
navamske
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 7:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

Has anyone mentioned this? After Data examines Froggy Troi he says to Picard, "She is no longer fully human." She never was fully human.
Set Bookmark
bobdabuilda
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 7:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: False Profits

Dudes. This episode was so sad. Janeway tries to bend the prime directive yet somehow leaves the replicator and ferengi gadgets on the planet which the populace is seen using on the final act.

Great job janeway. Now these guys got technology of at least 2000 further than they got in that place. Also it's not like it's her job to police the delta quadrant for all we know the borg, kazon, vidians, trabe could all set shop on this planet.
Set Bookmark
Elliot Wilson
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 6:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

@Joonatan Renel Also, Gene Roddenberry was hardly the pioneering visionary figure of change for Trek that people credit him as. It's largely a myth. He did more to sabotage the Star Trek name than he did to help it, mostly out of egocentrism, jealousy over the successful Wrath of Khan that he despised, and his own raging misogyny. He cheated on his wife in WWII with every nurse he could find. He had weird creepy sexual perversions he delighted in pushing on people to share with until they told him to stop. And he hardly was the driving force for TOS, TNG, and DS9. I'd argue that the franchise improved once he lost control... twice. After the failure of The Motion Picture and again once his reins over TNG diminished due to failing health. Blame the awfulness of early TNG on him. Point being that just because it's nothing something Gene Roddenberry would have approved of... that means nothing. Trek flourished and hit its peak without him.
Set Bookmark
Elliot Wilson
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 5:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

@Joonatan Renel I'd hardly call what some of the armies, especially the Soviet hordes, did as "liberating" those countries occupied by the Nazis. They raped huge populations of unarmed, helpless, innocent, defenseless females as young as eight years old, or even eighty years old, with numerous women getting raped 100 times, and many of those animals had intention to breed rape babies. It was something they took great pride in. They were just meat to them. Booty. Property. Raised with primitive views on women and then economically deprived, so that it was just their idea of luxury, as all the females they raped were in their minds no different than the bikes and watches they stole as treasures from their conquest and pillaging, fueled by a massive male entitlement complex, although how the women among the Red Army behaved was little better, for when they'd catch sight of twenty men piling onto one woman who begged her for help the bitch would just laugh sadistically simply because she was jealous at how much more wealth Europe had then back home, where they were literally clawing in their own shit. The way the survivors tell it is that they behaved just as terribly and in many cases even worse than the Nazis, which is just appalling. The way they describe it is that if you weren't Jewish, you actually had it much better under the Nazis than the Soviets, who just raped and looted without remorse and in droves to make up for all of the failures of their own pathetic lives. And when some of the estimates for all the victims of the Red Army's mass rapes war crimes orgy against women reach as high as perhaps two million to fifteen million, that's FIFTEEN MILLION women and little girls, It's a frightening thought. They "liberated" nothing. They stormed in full of hate and drink and evil thoughts and feelings. And maybe we should try to understand them as a matter of preventive measure, but besides that they deserve nothing but scorn and bitter condemnation for being primitive, inhuman creatures that left so many broken, destroyed women and children in their wake, people who personally never did a damn thing to them.
Set Bookmark
D.O.
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 5:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Distant Origin

Concetta Tomei's portrayal of Minister Odala was the glue for me in this episode. She was more than highly effective at portraying Minister Odala's emotional state, even with all of the makeup and prosthetics. Tomei's Odala nearly spat straight into the camera, with her absolute repulsiveness about the Distant Origin Theory. I thought for sure she'd crack the camera lens. She gave me a chill when she warned Chakotay about it being in his and Voyager's best interest if she NEVER saw them again. She really did a fantastic job.

I don't see the problem with the Voth being superior to the Borg. I always thought of the Borg as being the most aggressive, but certainly not the most superior group, with 8472 kicking their butts all over the quadrant and back again.
Set Bookmark
Kevin
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 5:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Vengeance Factor

Yawn fest.......unless you're a fan of foolishness and Picard's "diplomatic" abilities....TG he wasnt around for 21st century conflicts....UGH...and I'm being kind!
Set Bookmark
The Man
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 5:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Seventh

No disrespect Yanks but your opinion is kind of not needdc.
Set Bookmark
Elliot Wilson
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 5:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

And I didn't even know who SF Debris was back then either, lol. So, yeah. After watching his reviews, I like the idea that the Valakians evolved into the Breen and the Menk into the Pakleds. That's my headcanon until something pops up within canon that contradicts it. XD
Set Bookmark
Elliot Wilson
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 5:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

My, what eight years can do to a guy, eh? While I'm still critical of the misuse of the Prime Directive, I feel I popped off too hard and didn't offer good enough arguments a decade ago, LOL. Anyway... yeah. Sorry.
Set Bookmark
Elliot Wilson
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 5:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Homeward

Does anyone else find it odd that Jammer will criticize the Prime Directive here, yet praise it endlessly in something like "Dear Doctor?" Especially with its nonsensical magic masquerading as science, used to justify letting a whole race die? Feels rather inconsistent, tbh. I think SF Debris's discussions on the Prime Directive are more cohesive, make more sense, and ring truer, at least to me.
Set Bookmark
Elliot Wilson
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 5:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

And Trek has a long history of misogyny dating all the way back to the 1960s. This is not surprising to me. Remember how insensitively they handled the episode with Kira's mother and the topic of "comfort women" and wartime rapes during the occupation of an enemy homeland which at times in real history has stretched up to millions of women and children? This is one of the consequences of having a nearly all-male writing staff. I don't see it as terribly surprising.
Set Bookmark
Elliot Wilson
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 4:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

Is it so odd? Human religions of various forms are full of the gods using women to conceive children as breeding stock, not people. And the Prophets are gods.
Set Bookmark
Elliot Wilson
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 4:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

Are you blind? Sisko flat-out deduces right in front of the Prophet that they used her to get him created, then left once she had control back. The Prophet doesn't contradict this.
Set Bookmark
Joe
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 1:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Enemy

When Picard mentions Pearl Harbor......is he actually insinuating the US declaration of war was wrong? I'm curious.......because if thats the case, then that line has Roddenberry to blame!
Set Bookmark
Kevin
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 10:43am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Booby Trap

This episode was OK EXCEPT it made LaForge seem like a creepy guy who finds pleasure in a computer program......no nwonder he cant get a real girl....he seems to only enjoy holodeck women.
Picard, the ever-spouting amateur archaeologist, would neve have destroyed the cruiser....launching warning beacon would have sufficed.
Both creepy and confusing, but the premise was good....NOT the way it was portrayed...smh
Set Bookmark
Cetric
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 9:02am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Dramatis Personae

I keep wondering why Odo had that 'seizure' following his talk with Quark, one would have to assume it had to do with aftermath of the matrix infiltration as well, or is it simply a pretext for bringing him on the table of Dr Bashir?
The clock-obsessed Sisko, otherwise lazy and careless, looks as if the writers took the historical figure of Louis XVI as role model, who also liked to do a little clock working as his hobby while neglecting politics - which led to the French Revolution...
Set Bookmark
Jez
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 8:54am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Storm Front, Part II

Dreadful start to season 4. Comic book Nazis, mind-numbing action sequences, and absolutely no interesting ideas explored whatsoever. I did not become a Trek fan for this BS. No stars. The only positive is hopefully we've waved goodbye to the temporal cold war and the Suliban and we can get on with some more TNG-style exploration now.
Set Bookmark
Mallory
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 8:46am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Broken Link

"You fight well, for a tailor."
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 2:12am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

@ Elliot Wilson,

I feel like you're cherry-picking the one or two lines in the conversation that support your argument. But follow it through to its conclusion: what is Sisko really concerned with here? He learns that the Prophet used Sarah Sisko to mate with Joseph, and realizes that Sarah leaving must have meant that it was *entirely* the Prophet that chose Joseph rather than Sarah's personal taste. The implication is clear: Sisko is concerned with the fact of the Prophets *choosing Joseph*, not with the fact of the Prophets abusing Sarah. The sequence of his chain of reasoning is clear:

a) You made sure Sarah married Joseph.
b) When you left Sarah she left Joseph, ergo the Prophet was the one who wanted Joseph.
c) What the Prophet is saying isn't easy to accept, because it means Sisko's birth was arranged.
d) Why did it have to be me? As in, why did you arrange my birth?

The point made about possessing Sarah fits into the argument because it demonstrates that it was the Prophets who chose Joseph in order to made Benjamin. It's hard to accept because it means his birth was arranged. At no point does he object to the possession, nor does any statement here imply that Sisko considers the act to have been immoral.

You said: "It is something he "wishes" he'd never found out, but there's not a strong enough emphasis on how he's disgusted that Sarah Sisko was used that way."

But not only isn't there a 'strong enough' emphasis on his disgust - but rather there is *no* emphasis on it. Meaning, he isn't portrayed as being disgusted.
Set Bookmark
Elliot Wilson
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 1:53am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

SARAH: The Sisko has completed his task.
SISKO: Sarah?
SARAH: The Kosst'Amojan no longer threatens us.
SISKO: You mean the Pah-wraith? It's no longer in the wormhole?
SARAH: I have cast it out.
SISKO: Is that why the Prophets sent me to Tyree? To release you from the Orb?
SARAH: The Kosst'Amojan tried to stop you with a false vision. But you did not waver. You fulfilled your destiny.
SISKO: My destiny? You talk as if my life was over.
SARAH: The Sisko must still face many tasks.
SISKO: I don't suppose you'll tell me what they are.
SARAH: The Emissary is corporeal. Linear.
SISKO: Linear or not, I need some answers.
SARAH: The Sisko is intrusive.
SISKO: Are you Sarah Sisko? Are you my mother?
SARAH: Sarah Sisko was corporeal. For a time, I shared her existence.
SISKO: You took over her body, made sure she married my father so that she'd give birth to me.
SARAH: The Sisko is necessary.
SISKO: And once you didn't need her anymore, you left her. No wonder she walked out on my father. She didn't chose him, you did.
SARAH: The Sisko would prefer different answers.
SISKO: What you're telling me isn't easy to accept. You arranged my birth. I exist because of you?
SARAH: The Sisko's path is a difficult one.
SISKO: But why me? Why did it have to be me?
SARAH: Because it could be no one else.
Set Bookmark
Elliot Wilson
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 1:50am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

This episode is mostly above average and very good, but... the basic premise just doesn't work. Species 8472 came into the show wanting to purge the galaxy of all life. This episode wants to make peace with them. That's actually a good idea that could potentially safeguard the Federation for centuries to come. But they completely fumbled the ball. That would be like presenting the Nazis or the Soviets as they are in a work of fiction, and then at the end, have them be just misunderstood. Purging the galaxy of life is a serious thing to do. If it were me, I'd have this episode be about 8472 learning that other races in the galaxy are nothing like the Borg. That's a concept that really would have worked, realizing, "Gosh, you really aren't an expansionist, imperialistic power wanting to wipe us out and absorbing us into your collective like the Borg, you're really good people." They just didn't do that. One of the reasons Voyager really wastes its potential. This idea had promise, like everything else on Voyager. They just didn't make good use of it. But I still enjoy this episode for what it is. Boothby is always a delight. XD
Set Bookmark
Gary
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 1:22am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Waking Moments

Zakalwe, I think you're right, it's not a necessary interpretation of the Hippocratic Oath - although some definitely do interpret it the Oath to cover all actions of a physician, including "off duty". The Oath doesn't actually specify that "not administering poisons" is only to patients (with nobles fearing poisons, and physicians having access to them, it could have been a general stricture)... and of course there are numerous versions of the Oath, and the "Do no harm" bit is certainly not original but quite recent.

Personally I really want to think that the Doctor would not kill, and this apparent willingness bothered me too. In our Star Trek context, the doctors we've seen have been generally unwilling to kill, and certainly would not not unless there was absolutely no choice. McCoy, Crusher, Pulaski, Bashir... they generally didn't even carry weapons in away-team situations. These are not the people you would ask to hold the button while you negotiate a "do this or we all die" situation. I have no trouble believing, with that background, the EMH would be absolutely prevented from killing sentients. And with Chakotay barely staying awake, it would have made more sense to send the doctor down, and leave Chakotay ready to fire with a dead-man switch (ideally connected to a timer to allow in-dream negotiation).
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 12:16am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Parallels

Classic. I laughed at riker putting the birthday hat thing on worfs head and also at data discussing investigating troi and worfs mating. I had fun trying to notice all the differences from “normal” reality as well. This is a top ten episode IMO
Set Bookmark
Josh
Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 12:08am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Necessary Evil

Great episode. Just wanted to say that the guest actress portraying the femme fatale was really good. Her vocal presence especially.
Next ►Page 1 of 2,053
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.