Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 51,406 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2,057
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Sat, Jun 23, 2018, 4:59am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Rogue Planet

T’Pol’s line was amusing and the planet had a nice fairy tale like atmosphere.
Set Bookmark
phaedon
Sat, Jun 23, 2018, 3:38am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

Now that the autopsy's over, I would add "Madam, have you ever considered a career in security?" is probably one of Worf's funniest lines in TNG.
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Sat, Jun 23, 2018, 2:47am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: First Contact

One thing I do not understand is why it was such a secret that it was the Vulcans who make first contact with Earth. Throughout the movie, even when the Enterprise crew was talking amongst themselves, they would say “aliens” made first contact. It seems very bizarre to me that they wouldn’t just say Vulcans.
Set Bookmark
Maq
Sat, Jun 23, 2018, 2:38am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Two Days and Two Nights

Nice episode, although I can understand that those who wants more context dislikes it. The Malcom Trip part was overplayed and overdone. Archer OK but when the things suddenly started to happen it was overdone from Keyla. Maywether Plox T'Pol Cuttler, entertaining quit funny but nothing special.
Hoshi, contrary to a some others i find it perfectly OK that she takes the opportunity. Leaving the medical topic aside , not having sex with an alien that you do not know , this reflects our world and also today and perhaps tomorrow. I find it perfectly OK for a woman to decide over her own body. If it is OK for Trip to satisfy his bodily need why not for Hoshi. It is not bad for her character. But she should perhaps have apologised taking advantage of the situation. It was perhaps improper for his culture to get intimate so fast. On the other hand, it was on Risa.

I liked watching it again, but as with the other Risa storys, they looks more promising before than after.
Set Bookmark
Kobyashi Maru
Fri, Jun 22, 2018, 8:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Magnificent Ferengi

This hour of fluff was a decent, engaging albeit contrived episode with a few laugh-out-loud moments. However, Star Trek has done funnier episodes like "The Trouble with Tribbles" and "A Piece of the Action." To me, the funniest episode by far is TNG's " Deja Q, " thanks mostly to John DeLancie's impeccable comic timing, and the crew's reaction to him. Who can forget Worf saying "Die?"
Set Bookmark
navamske
Fri, Jun 22, 2018, 7:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Price

@grumpy_otter

"[Matt McCoy] is so obnoxiously confident and smooth i want to slap him[.]"

I wanted to slap him too, slap that infuriating smirk off his face.
Set Bookmark
Jasper
Fri, Jun 22, 2018, 6:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

Disagreeing with Elliott. Had to happen one time. Yes, Odo torn between humans and shapeshifters isn't original. Laas is a total dickhead who makes no progress at all. The enlightened future humanoids are still narrow-minded. The final scene was terrible. And I really hate that fake grin smile of Kira all the time. I did like the flying creature. Odo should have shapeshifted more throughout the series. This episode can shapeshift in two stars, no more.
Set Bookmark
Das Borke
Fri, Jun 22, 2018, 4:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Move Along Home

Nana Visitor's exasperation during the Allamaraine scene is one of my favorite Trek moments..
Set Bookmark
William B
Fri, Jun 22, 2018, 1:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Generations

"Overall NONE of what we got in Generations or FC held a candle to the simple scene in Descent pt 1 where Data gets angry at the Borg, and then the subsequent creepy holodeck experiments where he can't get angry again. The emotionless question about whether he can only feel negative things was more interesting than Data's one-liners and angst around the Queen."

I pretty much agree, and really love those scenes in Descent I. The act break where Data adds that he experienced pleasure is note-perfect, and that scene is one of my favorite uses of Troi in the series, too, especially her look of fear as she takes in the implications of Data's statement and her optimism starts to show cracks.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Fri, Jun 22, 2018, 11:46am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Generations

@ Chrome,

"That fact that Data can even shut off his emotions still separates him from being human (and also gives us some nice insight into Picard's turmoil when he says he's envious of Data). It was also great that FC teased us by making us think Data was still vulnerable to his emotions like he was in "Generations"."

It seems to go even further than merely envying Data; the plot actually hinged on Picard's inability to turn off his emotions. The whole "the line must be drawn here!" scene was exactly the difference between him and Data, where he was unable to proceed on pure logic, whereas Data's arc with the Queen seems to convey that Data was in fact able to contend with his emotions even though he had a split second of indecision. I wonder how much of Picard's arrival at the end influenced Data's resolve, mind you.

That's about all I'll say positively about the emotion chip arc in FC because overall it still seemed like a gimmick to me. The script didn't even make full use of the Picard/Data parallel in how each was handling emotions and that sort of fell by the wayside in favor of some action sequences near the end as well as a bit of speechifying,

Overall NONE of what we got in Generations or FC held a candle to the simple scene in Descent pt 1 where Data gets angry at the Borg, and then the subsequent creepy holodeck experiments where he can't get angry again. The emotionless question about whether he can only feel negative things was more interesting than Data's one-liners and angst around the Queen.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Fri, Jun 22, 2018, 11:24am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Generations

@William B

Fair point about Riker and his "remove the plank" line. I haven't caught the scene recently but Riker certainly has a personality where people will believe he didn't mean to remove the plank, even if he may have secretly known exactly what would happen.

Also, I think you're right about "First Contact" and would even go as far to say that movie handled Data's emotions the best without them being a major part of the film. That fact that Data can even shut off his emotions still separates him from being human (and also gives us some nice insight into Picard's turmoil when he says he's envious of Data). It was also great that FC teased us by making us think Data was still vulnerable to his emotions like he was in "Generations". But Data's reveal at the end that the emotions had, in human terms, an extremely low impact on his decision making was a nice way of showing character growth while giving us insight into Data longing to express his suppressed emotions.
Set Bookmark
William B
Fri, Jun 22, 2018, 11:06am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Generations

I think the idea is that 1) Worf had expected he might get soaked (and that is what usually happens in these lieutenant commander promotions, apparently), 2) Riker didn't say "remove the plank" on purpose, or at least plausibly pretended he didn't, and 3) Worf generally has a greater tolerance for physical discomfort than Crusher (or really anyone save emotionless Data), and those are the reasons for the difference in the crew's reaction to Worf's versus Crusher's soaking.

More generally, I think that Data's ability to turn off his emotion chip in First Contact serves a different narrative purpose than walking back its introduction in Generations. Data wants to be -- and the crew want him to be -- someone who can be relied upon to be "emotionless Data" on command, and that's very reasonable to want that, if it's possible, rather than having to "handhold an android" (to quote Picard in Peak Performance) during a crisis. So then when the Borg Queen reactivates his emotions, we are primed to see Data as unable to handle the emotional influx (just as he was in Generations), while also having been informed that he has, to an extent, been working on it in the meantime. It feels like a natural evolution, and the story does end up hinging on Data being able to control his feelings, and being forced to reckon with them, but in a way that (IMO) works better than in Generations.

However, yeah, it seems to open the door to Insurrection/Nemesis just writing them off entirely. That said, I'm not sure that says much about whether it was a mistake to try this story. Insurrection/Nemesis didn't really add much to any characters' stories (with the exception of getting Riker and Troi together and Riker getting his command, and a few other moments like Geordi appreciating the sunset in Insurrection) and so the choices made in those movies maybe don't mean that much. I think Data with emotion chip is something with a lot of story potential, which was sadly not very well realized in Generations.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Fri, Jun 22, 2018, 10:15am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Generations

@Cody B

Yes, thanks to Spiner (being incredibly likable and funny when needed) giving that goofy face when he pushes Crusher off the ship, it's hard not to laugh there or at least be on Data's side. The trouble is, this scene is supposed to be the turning point where Data realizes he can no longer further his dream of being human using his current circuitry. But in actuality, what Data did was really not much less funny than what Riker did to Worf. Both were needlessly thrown in the water with their clothes and looked pretty unhappy about it.

Actually, I don't think Data's emotion chip arc really works at all in this movie. It's hard to say he actually gained anything from the experience and he certainly lost a lot. The one patented TNG heartwarming moment is with Data crying after he finds Spot, which works to a degree, but at the same time it doesn't really make up for how annoying he was with emotions earlier on.

By the time "First Contact" rolls around you can tell there was a lot of negative reception to Data getting emotions. Hey, most of us preferred the socially awkward but charmingly innocent android. Thus the writers decided to give Data the ability to turn off the emotions entirely and table the issue. Then of course in "Nemesis" the essence of Data reverts back to the childlike B4, so yeah, maybe they shouldn't have messed with Data to begin with.
Set Bookmark
Jez
Fri, Jun 22, 2018, 9:20am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Daedalus

Nah, I liked this episode. Seemed to me that it could've been an alright TNG ep. I'd give it 3 stars. Emory didn't want to tell the truth about what he was doing because, given that it could risk the lives of crewmen, Starfleet may have said no to letting him use the Enterprise. I also don't see why Jammer assumes that Quinn's death was inevitable; I half expected the attempt to rescue him to work. And I'm glad we're back to one-episode storylines. I'm tired of these 2- or 3-parters which inevitably seem to drag on and get too long.
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Fri, Jun 22, 2018, 9:16am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Fusion

A few more thoughts:
Perhaps Archer wasn’t so foolish, to him provoking that Vulcan probably seemed like a risky albeit good way to determine whether he was dealing with a manipulating mind rapist or some one who made a serious mistake but willing to admit it when put under pressure. You can either flip out and stick to your guns or give in. Perhaps he was a rapist or perhaps T’Pol wasn’t brave enough and became ill with terror. I don’t know. Also I while don’t like the character I somewhat agreed with Trip’s remark about regret being one of the saddest and most powerful emotions. A bit overblown (to me) but I have noticed that putting situations that ended up being disappointing or unpleasant in part to your decisions out of your mind and to really get over it is easier said than done. On a lighter note: that Vulcan he spoke with wasn’t entirely misinformed, some people do spend half the day in bed and eat more frequently than usual but I would think those would be exceptions. Also given how fanatical some can get over a game you might really start believing they intend to kill each other. :-p
Set Bookmark
Peter Swinkels
Fri, Jun 22, 2018, 8:47am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Fusion

Hmmm, some of the episode was indeed bizarre and uncomfortable and it doesn’t always provide clear-cut answers. I suppose that if you watch Enterprise with preset expectations based on earlier Trek you would indeed be disappointed. However unexpected, uncomfortable, and not so clear cut situations can either frustrate you or perhaps challenge you. With regard to “Archer is stupid” remarks: Indeed Archer aint no Picard that is for sure! But, has anyone here considered the fact that Star Fleet training and any procedures regarding who is and is not fit to become captain still have a long way to go? This after all set well over a century before TOS. Methinks the captain would’ve been even more likely to be made out an incompetent moron had the writers decided that the Vulcans did not hold humanity back for 90 years and Enterprise was set immediately after Cochrane. Yes, Trek is merely fiction but try imagining it were real aaand you’re the captain! Would you do better?
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Jun 22, 2018, 6:21am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Move Along Home

Iceman,

I've ranked DS9, VOY and ENT so far. Here are my season 1 ratings (Jammer's scale)

VOY S1 - 3.07
ENT S1 - 2.96
DS9 - 2.08

So in my view, DS9 S1 is exponentially worse than all the others. I'm pretty certain TOS S1 will fare better and even the much maligned TNG S1 will rate higher than a 2.08.

I do agree DS9 S1 had some great ones. "Duet" is my #2 DS9 episode. I also gave 4.0's to "Captive Pursuit" and "In the Hands of the Prophets" and ranked "Emmisary" a 3.5; but the rest of the season just dragged everything down. Some epically poor episodes.

Peter G, it certainly is a matter of taste.... I'll give you that. I personally was surprised at my VOY S1 rating. I always liked it better than DS9 S1 but I didn't predicted such a numerical gap.

Chrome, I really need to gt off my butt and finish Enterprise so I can join the masses and offically rate TNG. Should be fun.

Set Bookmark
Davidw
Fri, Jun 22, 2018, 2:37am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: If Wishes Were Horses

Unlike the better Shore Leave, the creations of people's imaginations lead to very little. We learn almost nothing of any character and the imaginary characters teachers almost nothing about Odo or Quark or Sisko. And the stuff about Bashir just borderline harassment or juvenile stupidity.

We do learn that the chief loves his daughter, that Cisco likes baseball, that Bashir like Dax, the Quark likes human women. Perhaps the best scene is when we learn that Odo likes to put Quark in prison. But all this is so superficial and sporadic has to be almost trite and silly.
Set Bookmark
dkeppens
Fri, Jun 22, 2018, 2:28am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Natural Law

Except for all the back-and-forth Chakotay's doing over exposing the Ventu to technology, I kind of like this one but I can't review it since it could never have happened. So they use the phasers to punch a hole in the energy barrier and crash the shuttle on the barrier, but while the shuttle blows up into a thousand pieces, it's still transporting them to the surface safely ? Give me a break. This episode ended with the intro. Time for Janeway to accept her losses, grieve over Chakotay and Seven and resume course to the Alpha quadrant. The end.
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Fri, Jun 22, 2018, 12:37am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Generations

@ Chrome

That’s kind of what I thought but they played it so serious and acted like data did something horrible that I almost felt guilty for laughing. Maybe they should have explained you shouldn’t push people in unless they have on swim wear and not been so serious like data shot her or something
Set Bookmark
Iceman
Thu, Jun 21, 2018, 11:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Whispers

Elliott, good to have your detailed reviews back.
Set Bookmark
Iceman
Thu, Jun 21, 2018, 11:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Move Along Home

@Yanks-There are many, many seasons of Star Trek worse than DS9 S1, in my opinion. It can be truly poor, but also has some outstanding episodes ("Progress", "Duet", "In the Hands of the Prophets") and quite a few solid ones as well ("Emissary", "Past Prologue", "Captive Pursuit", "Dax", "The Nagus"). That definitely puts it above most of Voyager, which wasn't often terrible, but never really hit many real highs.
-TOS S3
-TNG S1
-TNG S2
-VOY S2
-VOY S3
-VOY S7
-ENT S1
-ENT S2
-DIS 1
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Thu, Jun 21, 2018, 9:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Muse

Terrible episode. Pointless, boring, and it even disrespects Odo's fine character with some nonsense that has no applicability to DS9's arcs or even as an analogy to something in real life. Quite clearly one of DS9's worst episodes with 2 subplots that are probably equally stupid and that have nothing to do with each other (which further affects the sum total of the episode).

When Lwaxana showed up pregnant I knew we were in for some stupidity. But I guess when she falls asleep on Odo, his character changes and he says he'll marry her?? What ever happened to trying everything possible to get away from her -- there's just no explanation for Odo's about-face. I suppose in the wedding ceremony, there's some truth to his desire for companionship and that Lwaxana didn't recoil given how different he was. But this is not enough of a payoff given how much crap the viewer has to sit through. And even Lwaxana admits the friendship is more important and Odo doesn't really love her so she goes off to Betazed to have the baby -- at least she won't be on DS9 anymore. Anyhow, it's a shame that a great Trek actress like Majel Barrett has taken on this Lwaxana role. She could be given so much better.

As for Jake and the alien woman -- I guess the payoff is Jake gets the start to a great novel before being saved from having all his brain power or whatever drained. This subplot was downright weird, farfetched, and I'm not sure what the point was. Is it to say Jake can't come up with something great on his own and needs this alien to help him?

In the initial encounter the writer(s) didn't even make it seem like Jake was under the spell of Onaya and he just innocently decides to go to her quarters. So he's naive but then just goes along with her massaging his head while he keeps writing? Just really weird and nonsensical. Highly questionable.

1 star for "The Muse" -- a mashup of 2 awful subplots (one of which was written by Majel Barrett). Slow, boring, and disappointing. So Onaya was behind some of the greatest writers and she/it can just come and go -- was she even done with using Jake when Sisko showed up? Anyhow lots of unanswered questions that aren't worth asking given how bad and forgettable this episode was.
Set Bookmark
Ben
Thu, Jun 21, 2018, 9:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Timescape

Couldn't get into this one... watching actors hold their breath and stand realllllly still just felt silly, like a gimmick in a children's play. I couldn't take it seriously. And really the whole episode was one gimmick after another. Now time's standing still, but only for certain members of the crew! Now it's moving 50 times faster than normal! Now it's going backwards! And even though each of these concepts should be practically revolutionary in its implications, Geordi can simply configure an armband to immunize the crew from the effects, and precisely calibrate the reversal of time, as though these things had been done a thousand times.

I also wasn't much sold on the "mystery" aspect, which only shifted into gear for 5 minutes at the end and felt tacked-on to me. However, I did like the opening banter on the runabout, Picard's maniacal laughing, and the concept of a warp coil incubating the young of another species.

For my money, I'd have preferred that the episode be about the runabout going for 47 days without anyone on board being aware of it, running out of fuel, and then the crew having to find their way back home. That could have been interesting and it's where I thought it was going. Alas, no. 2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Patrick
Thu, Jun 21, 2018, 9:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Darkness and the Light

This episode sets up that it is a dark neo noir...then completely bails on its story and concept in the third act. It's utterly bizarre, and doesn't play fair with he audience at all.

The first two acts are an interesting murder mystery, but then the third act should be that the Bajoran woman faked her death and is the killer, as a way of trying to start over and erase the past. Instead what we get is a third act that has nothing to do with the rest of the story and is a crappy version of duet.

It's just plain bad writing.
Next ►Page 1 of 2,057
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.