Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 16 (Showing 1-16)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Walrus1701D
Wed, Jul 17, 2019, 10:00am (UTC -5)
Re: Vote to Rename Voyager

Star Trek: Sparks Fly
Set Bookmark
Walrus1701D
Mon, May 6, 2019, 1:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Move Along Home

Quark's groveling scene was Armin Shimmerman's worst acting moment of the entire series. It was so over-the-top horrible, it made me want to stab a tribble in the...uh...reproductive sack?
Set Bookmark
Walrus1701D
Wed, Nov 21, 2018, 11:04am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Extreme Measures

I foolishly stopped watching Deep Space Nine in the 3rd season because I found it too boring, compared to Next Generation and then Voyager. Go easy on me, I was only 12 at the time.

Flash forward four years - a friend of mine and fellow Trekker all but begged me to tune into the last several episodes of the show because he said the war arc was incredible. I had also lost my interest in Voyager by this time, so my distracted mind did not follow his request until this episode, sadly.

Given the weak, buddy-comedy dialogue alone in "Extreme Measures," it convinced me of the delusion that I had made the right choice to discard DS9, and I didn't bother to watch the remaining two episodes. It didn't help that I was ignorant of Section 31 and Sloan. This episode was just a mess and pales in comparison to every other one in the final arc. It's a shame it took me 15 years to give DS9 another chance, but better late then never!
Set Bookmark
Walrus1701D
Tue, Nov 13, 2018, 11:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Image in the Sand

A little note on Kira's new hairstyle. I've seen various comments on the Interwebs about this insignificant change, but while watching "Wrongs Darker Than Death or Night" from the sixth season, it dawned on me that perhaps the production staff or Nana Visitor chose this new, unique look (with Kira's longer hair covering only the left side of her face) as an homage to Kira's mother. As you may recall, Meru used her hair to conceal a scar on her face. Kira's feelings about her mother became quite complicated after her orb experience, but it's possible she decided to honor her in some small way. Or it could just be a coincidence. Any thoughts?
Set Bookmark
Walrus1701D
Mon, Nov 5, 2018, 11:24am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: In the Cards

This is an entertaining episode, and it's great to see how much Jake and Nog have matured as characters since their mostly forgettable turns in seasons 1 and 2. The show is not without its weaknesses. The brooding of the rest of the main cast rings false for me. Bashir's drastic change in tone was particularly off-putting. It's like Siddig said to himself, "The script says Bashir is sad, so I should be sad now." Nog's stealing of Bashir's teddy bear literally out of arms of a sleeping Leeta was funny, but played like a cartoon. Minor gripes, though.

In a more general sense, having Nog go to Starfleet Academy was about the best thing the show could've done with the character. Unlike Rom and virtually every other Ferengi, Nog became more likable as the series progressed.
Set Bookmark
Walrus1701D
Mon, Nov 5, 2018, 10:58am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Blaze of Glory

Of course, Sisko's "It's easy to be a saint in paradise" speech back in the second season showed that he already understood the plight of the Maquis. The character conveniently forgets that when he's betrayed by Cal Hudson, and then Eddington. I'm not sure I like Sisko taking those betrayals so personally. Would he really ascend to the rank of captain by being such a hothead? At least he makes up for that somewhat here by swallowing his pride enough to ask for Eddington's help. Great episode.
Set Bookmark
Walrus1701D
Mon, Nov 5, 2018, 10:46am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

This episode reminds us that Odo lives by a different moral code than the other officers, and his quiet response to Kira at the end - not at all shaken by her emotion rage - I think foreshadows his betrayal in "Behind the Lines". Yes, he betrays Kira in that episode, but it goes along with his acceptance here that the needs of the many don't matter in the grand scheme. That's not right to anyone else, but it's right to Odo.
Set Bookmark
Walrus1701D
Tue, Oct 23, 2018, 11:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: For the Cause

One gaping plot hole here - where the hell is Dax?! She's not shown on the station or the Defiant during the hijacking. Eddington would have to knock her out, too, but we don't see that. Shoddy writing...
Set Bookmark
Walrus1701D
Fri, Oct 5, 2018, 9:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Die Is Cast

Wow! I watched Deep Space Nine when Next Generation was still on. The two aired back-to-back on Saturday night. But the intricate characterizations and political overtones went over my head, and I just couldn't get into it. By the time Voyager premiered and it somewhat replaced the starship-sized hole left by TNG (not to mention airing on a different night), I stopped watching DS9 completely.

When I finally gave the show the chance I always promised my fellow Trekker friend I would four years ago, I had no idea this riveting, explosive sequence of events even existed. This is, without a doubt, the best two-part episode of DS9 and the second-best two-parter of the entire franchise behind "The Best of Both Worlds." Odo and Garak are my favorite characters of the series. They're so expertly written and performed, and in these two episodes, the plot matches the characters in depth and intrigue.

I must say, however, that "The Die Is Cast" does suffer from the same stumblings as most two-part conclusions. Sisko and the others deciding to risk their lives and careers to save one officer makes no sense, neither does the fact that they face no consequences upon their return. The torture scene and the final battle make up for it, but I'd say this deserves three stars, not four.
Set Bookmark
Walrus1701D
Fri, Aug 31, 2018, 9:14am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Schisms

I saw this episode when it first aired, but I didn't hear most of it. I was very afraid of thunder as a child (still am to a certain degree), so I held my ears closed to block out the sound. In retrospect, thunder was the perfect background to such a wonderfully creepy episode.
Set Bookmark
Walrus1701D
Mon, Aug 13, 2018, 10:42am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Sarek

There's no point adding anymore critical commentary about this excellent episode, so I query this instead:

So Wes is dating an Ensign, eh? It's interesting that no one on the ship seems to have a problem with this. Wesley was 17 during the third season, while his "lucky" lady was at least 22, given her rank. I suppose his status as Boy Genius and Perpetual Ship Saver makes such a scandalous pairing OK. "Yes, he's still in high and school wears nothing but gray pajamas, but he saved my life!"
Set Bookmark
Walrus1701D
Tue, Aug 1, 2017, 3:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Move Along Home

This was the first episode of DS9 I liked. Then again, I was only 10 years old when it originally aired, so the fantasy game obviously appealed to my imaginative sensibilities. It's still a fun romp for me today, a guilty pleasure on par with TNG's "The Game" and "Rascals".
Set Bookmark
Walrus1701D
Fri, Jul 28, 2017, 10:27am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

This is the best episode of the seventh season and maybe of the last two seasons combined. What's so affecting about it is that it makes you question EVERYTHING. The story allows us to understand all of the characters's beliefs and motivations so thoroughly that we can sympathize with all points of view. Thanks to the war, humanoids can't trust changelings. Odo has built a life for himself on the station, but he doesn't truly belong there ever since he experienced the Great Link. Laas then offers him a wonderully tempting third option - become a member of a new link without having to align yourself with the "bad guys". This episode peels back so many layers and breaks down Odo's delicate facade in the process. Him turning down Laas and returning to the station was safe and predictable, but the way they got there was beautifully executed. Though she's a humanoid like everyone else, Kira has a more intimate understanding of Odo and considers his happiness more important than anything. Deep down, she understands, like Laas, that despite their love, she and Odo can't last. This is proven correct in the finale. Great, great stuff all around here. :-)
Set Bookmark
Walrus1701D
Mon, Jul 17, 2017, 2:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

I know I'm being a stickler, but what makes TNG's "reset button" even more of a problem here is that if we go by the stardates, Time's Arrow, Part I takes place merely ONE WEEK after The Inner Light. The typical passage of time between episodes was 3-4 weeks, which would make it a little easier to buy that Picard had settled back into his real life by the next episode. The writers thankfully began to correct this issue in Deep Space Nine.

We all love Picard, but the episodic nature of TNG made it harder to relate to him or any of the other characters. However, I'm glad they did finally revisit this in Lessons, which had the added bonus of arguably being the best depiction of a romance in Star Trek history, and I think Picard's life as Kamin made easier for him to pursue a relationship with another crew member. :-)
Set Bookmark
Walrus1701D
Thu, Jul 13, 2017, 4:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Nor the Battle to the Strong

Three years ago, this was one of the first episodes I watched when I finally woke up and decided to give Deep Space Nine a chance. (to be fair, I was only 10 years old when it premiered, and I was much more loyal to the space-traveling exploits of TNG and then Voyager) Man, what a way to start!

There are better episodes of DS9 from a writing sense, but I think this one remains my favorite. Never before had an episode of Star Trek exposed me to situations in which I would've reacted the same way the main character reacts. As terrific as the Trek universe is depicted, it also shows far too much of people putting their lives on the line without giving it a second thought. "Nor the Battle..." turns that aspect on its head. Jake is exactly what many of us would be in that situation - completely overwhelmed by the reality of warfare and running as fast as we could from our own mortality. I personally can relate to Jake on two levels here as well since like him, I'm a writer.

Apart from Jake, I realized during the cross-faded scenes of wounded being carried into the hospital that I suddenly had to remind myself that I was watching Star Trek. This episode effectively ventures away from the status quo of Trek and even DS9 in so many ways.

When I was a kid, I fantasized about working aboard a Federation starship, but as adult, I respond much better to content to which I can relate. "Nor the Battle..." does that better that any other Star Trek series episode.
Set Bookmark
Walrus1701D
Tue, May 16, 2017, 10:11am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Game

With Data incapacitated, I wonder just how many people it took to hold Worf down to force him to play the game. Maybe they fooled him by saying it was VR Klingon calisthenics, and he had to make discs fall into the cones to get the program to run. :-p
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.