Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 13 (Showing 1-13)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Vulcan Logick
Mon, Jan 8, 2018, 1:01am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

Awesome! I love MU episodes. We'll see how long they stretch this out. And I love how they kept with the tradition of referencing another series MU episode. Keep it up Discovery
Set Bookmark
Vulcan Logick
Tue, Sep 26, 2017, 8:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

"the Vulcan hello is violence. It’s a pre-emptive and unprovoked attack against the Klingons. On one hand, we haven’t seen Vulcans attacking pre-emptively"

Not really. In the first encounter with the klingons the vulcans got their ass handed to them. They didn't make the same mistake twice. I don't think this deters from the cannon, especially when it has been established that the vulcans have a violent history.
Set Bookmark
Vulcan Logick
Tue, Sep 26, 2017, 3:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Somebody brought up a good point about why are the klingons retrieving the dead when they are just supposed to be an empty shell to be discarded? A fair point. I did a little bit of research and there is some justification for the body retrieval mummification:

"There is a Klingon mummification glyph, indicating that at some point in the past the Klingon mummified their dead. Spock identified this glyph during his mental retraining following his fal-tor-pan. (Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home)"

-wikia.com/wiki/Klingon_death_ritual

Star trek is riddled with inconsistencies in this matter. Especially with the opening of the eyes.

In light of all this I'm allowing it.

IMO, as long as they stay within 60% of cannon, I will be happy
Set Bookmark
Vulcan Logick
Tue, Sep 26, 2017, 1:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

"This is sci-fi isn't it? Unless the Klingon ships are already in that Star system, it would take them thousands of years to ever see that light, if at all. That part made me laugh at loud."

Maybe that artifact sends a subspace signal and the light is just there for symbolism. It is supposed to be the torch of kahless after all. I don't think it was necessary to go into complete detail here. Leave some things for your imagination.

"5. Burnham gets to the artefact and does battle with a Shrike from the Hyperion Cantos. Funny that her computer identifies it as klingon armour? "

The armour clearly displays klingon iconography, which her computer recognizes.
Set Bookmark
Vulcan Logick
Tue, Sep 26, 2017, 5:23am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

(Spoilers)
I loved it. The look and feel of it is amazing. These 2 first episodes made alot of bold moves, which I respect. Unlike Enterprise, I actually care about the characters. Why couldn't they have killed off Capt. Golly Gee Willickers off in the 2ND episode? Which brings me to: Discovery is miles and miles better than Enterprise. Thank Kahless!

I thought Captain Philippa Georgiou was pretty damn good and enjoyed her introduction and the way she went over Michaels head to use their steps to trace a combadge to alert the ship of their location. I liked her witty and sarcastic sense of humor, it's a damn shame she went the way she did.
I kept waiting for a life sign to whimper so she could be brought back to the ship. :(

The Klingons, yes I hate reading subtitles like everyone else but I think we're moving away from that, as you can see towards the end of the episode. Some of you brought up some good points that they should be more animated, I'll give that one to you but it's not enough to make me cry in my beer. I like what Jammer said about them being analogous to the N.Koreans, altho my first impression was Islam, or at least the radicalized manifestations of it. The Klingon houses finding a common enemy to unite behind is very much the same kind of sentiment that bin laden used to rally the sunni tribes together to fight the West.

Michael. We need to know more about her. I agree that her mutiny may not have been completely justified but judging by the preview for episode 3, it seems necessary to put her in that spot, as being a sort of outsider and on the fringes of the federation. I see a lot of Capt. Kirk and to a lesser degree Spock in her. *hint hint* I don't want to give my predictions away because I'm usually right and don't want to ruin it, but I think I can see where this is going ;)

Ok, I have a lot more to say and ground to cover but it's 3am and I need sleep. I'll see you guys later.
Set Bookmark
Vulcan Logick
Sun, Jun 11, 2017, 9:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

Just finished this episode again. Man it's powerful and badass. Jammer nails it perfectly in his review but I have to give props to Garaks character. The series in general does a good job with his complexity and cunning shadyness but this episode really highlights it. The way he orchestrates the series of events leading the Romulans entry into the war with a false flag operation is brilliant. The guy is like a magician and I enjoy him a lot in the series.

Alright "his way" awaits
Set Bookmark
Vulcan Logick
Mon, Nov 21, 2016, 5:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

Wow, that was the most depressing ending to a star trek series I've ever seen. I'll admit my feelings for ds9 were so so in the beginning, but I gave the series a shot. Overall my final critique is that it was pretty good and I enjoyed the emphasis on politics and war. I felt that the series was not as good as TNG, but better than TOS. Some of the character plots and development was overbearing and I wanted to see more adventures and sci-fi happenings, but I realize a lot of fans appreciate the character complexity. What can you do? Lol. But I'm glad I gave the series a shot. Cant wait to see Discovery. Hopefully it doesn't suck.
Set Bookmark
Vulcan Logick
Tue, Oct 18, 2016, 10:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

I think terra prime would have made a better finale for the show. That set aside, and judging this episode as a stand alone or addendum to pegasius, I thought it was ok. I rewatched pegasus right after and tried to piece the 2 together in my head. Maybe one of these days I will re-edit these two episodes together in Adobe premier. Here's my big beef: the holodeck mechanics. So all of the sudden you can materialize clothes in the holodeck? Lol, it's kind of a kick in the balls because in every holodeck scenerio in TNG the gang goes into it already in period appropriate costumes from the replicator. And objective mode? Neat idea, switching back and forth but I don't remember this function in the original series. These continuity errors really bother me with this episode. I can ignore the fact that Riker is old, grey and fat in this, but the holodeck really pisses me off.
Set Bookmark
Vulcan Logick
Tue, Oct 18, 2016, 8:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part II

I really like what Grumpy (2011) said about this episode and why it resonates.


What does this mean for our universe? By contrast with the mirror audience, we watch Star Trek to see heroes exemplify the values of cooperation, courage, and curiosity (among others). "The Tholian Web" and "Mirror, Mirror" (and "Crossover," for that matter, to name only one more) put the protagonists in a trap to see how the application of heroic values will let them escape. The heroic values stand out against the "negative space" shown by the mirror universe. Which is what SF is supposed to do: shed light on our world and our ideals by comparing it with an imaginary world.

Well said sir. That last sentence is exactly something I would say as an artist describing the nature of surrealism.
Set Bookmark
Vulcan Logick
Tue, Oct 11, 2016, 8:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

Given the passionate and lively response, I think this episode was successful. What about the Dr Brahms hologram La Forge created to help fix the engines on enterprise? The convenient creation of a hologram is not unprecedented.
Set Bookmark
Vulcan Logick
Sat, Oct 8, 2016, 4:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Distant Origin

@NonRelativist. In time, your conservative doctrines are going to share the same fate as the dinosaurs. Until then, we're stuck on this rock. It's funny that all of you who appreciate Ayn Rand share a lot of common ground with the Ferengi. Hahaha, But seriously, how do rightwingers love a show so much that has obvious liberal/progressive bias. The only conservative thing about star trek is Tucker, Tucker the 3rd, on enterprise. Wtf, W. Bush as chief engineer,. Haha, only on star trek.
Set Bookmark
Vulcan Logick
Sat, Oct 8, 2016, 3:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Distant Origin

Interesting, all the arguing over how the Voth could have evolved into a space traveling species before the the dinosaur extinction is based on pure speculation, as far as the story line is concerned. I believe it's more likey that an alien race from the delta quadrant abducted them before the meteor hit and relocated them for study, maybe giving them genetic enhancements. I appreciate how this episode tackles the controversy over Darwins theories of evolution vs the status quo of religious doctrine. Also noteworthy and somewhat chilling, is its prophetic glimpse into the future of 2005 with the supreme court case of Kitzmiller v. Dover Area School District. The court case that put evolution and intelligent *cough*religion* design on trial.
Set Bookmark
Vulcan Logic
Thu, Nov 24, 2011, 7:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ascent

Oh stop being a killjoy Jack. It was a great episode.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.