Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 8 (Showing 1-8)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Voyager Fan
Mon, Aug 15, 2016, 9:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Phantom Menace

I thought this movie was okay, not spectacular but not awful either. I liked Qui-Gon and Obi-Wan and also the villian Darth Maul. I found the Jar Jar character irritating because many times I could hardly understand what he was saying.

Also, while I do enjoy this website and the reviews of various shows and movies, why the use of the name of God and Jesus Christ as swear words in this review? It is offensive to some and doesn't add anything to the review.
Set Bookmark
Voyager Fan
Mon, Aug 15, 2016, 9:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Demon

I personally liked this episode and I think it is a lot better than other episodes on here which got a higher rating. I thought the story was interesting and the interaction between the various crew members was good. I also really liked the later sequel "Course: Oblivion".
Set Bookmark
Voyager Fan
Sat, Aug 13, 2016, 4:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Deadlock

I really like this episode. The only thing I found curious was that the ship at one point is falling apart around her and Janeway is planning to go talk to Ensign Wildman who just lost her baby. I mean, it's a nice thought but what about the ship and the rest of the crew? Wasn't there anything else Janeway could have been doing at that moment that would be more productive for everyone overall? Of course something else happens before she can leave the bridge but I thought that scene was still a little odd.

A very entertaining episode overall however.
Set Bookmark
Voyager Fan
Tue, Aug 9, 2016, 10:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

I really like this episode, it's one of my favorites. Admittedly, the ending was very sad and I was hoping that the capsule at least would be found by the original Voyager crew. Also, I think the scene when Janeway dies on the bridge is very touching. The scene where the aliens wouldn't let them land on the planet was also good and I really felt for the crew.

Regarding plotholes, that doesn't bother me much with tv shows as long as the characters are good and the stories interesting. Also, science fiction shows do tend to have lots of plotholes anyway. I should know, since I'm also a Doctor Who Classic (and some new Who) fan and also a Blake's 7 fan.
Set Bookmark
Voyager Fan
Mon, Aug 8, 2016, 9:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Virtuoso

I really liked this episode although I will concede that Janeway allowing the Doctor to leave is a little unrealistic, especially since the new Chief Medical Officer will be her Chief Pilot (hope helm control can be routed to sickbay). LOL. Nevertheless, a fun and entertaining story.
I particularly liked the scene with Janeway and the aliens in sickbay (and the look Janeway gave the Doctor due to the aliens' obnoxious attitudes) along with the scene with the Doctor in the mess hall when he calls Janeway by her first name as well as the goodbye scene between the Doctor and Seven. The last scene with the Doctor and Seven was also good.
Set Bookmark
Voyager Fan
Mon, Jul 11, 2016, 4:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Inside Man

I liked this episode. Also, I think Barclay and Troi have some nice chemistry together and I enjoyed their scenes as well as the scenes onboard Voyager. I could have done without the Ferengi, though, as they have never been one of my favorites and I would have preferred some other race to have been involved.

Regarding the uniforms and Voyager changing to the new ones, I'm glad they didn't. I much prefer the Voyager uniforms as I think the gray ones are boring and don't particularly flatter anyone.

The only scene I didn't like was at the end. Harry was obviously very disappointed in not getting home and Paris and Torres simply rubbed salt in the wound which I think wasn't very nice and not very friendly either.

May I also say I don't understand why some fans seem to dislike the Harry character so much. Admittedly, he isn't one of my favorites but I don't mind him either. And he is shown to be competent, hardworking, loyal and creative. And if he is unable to get transporter locks from time to time, there is always a legitimate reason for his failure to do so and anybody else working the transporter would have had the same problems.

In any case, Harry's inablitity to get transporter locks is obviously for the purposes of drama as are Tuvok's sensible recommendations regarding courses of action, which also get ignored because if his recommendations were followed, the show would be over in five minutes. :)
Set Bookmark
Voyager Fan
Fri, Jul 8, 2016, 7:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Life Line

I enjoyed this episode. I did, however, wonder at whether it was a good idea to send the ship's Chief Medical Officer on such a mission, particularly considering that the backup doctor is also the main pilot. I guess if the ship is getting attacked, Paris would have to first fly the ship and then run down to sickbay and treat the wounded. And then if additional enemies attack, go running back to the bridge to fly the ship. Hope he's good at multi-tasking. :)

Of course it is true that the EMH has saved the lives of many of the crewmembers on Voyager and he wouldn't exist if it weren't for Zimmerman so I guess it could be argued that they did owe him something.

Overall, a good episode. And the amusing scene where Troi calls both of them jerks or says that they're acting like jerks (I can't remember the exact words) and the holographic iguana also says "jerks" is one of my favorite scenes.
Set Bookmark
Voyager Fan
Fri, Jul 8, 2016, 6:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Memorial

I didn't care much for this episode, in large part because I thought Janeway's decision at the end was terrible. And I say this as someone who is a big Janeway fan. In fact, she is one of my favorite characters.

However, she should have shut down the memorial, not repaired it. The fact that she launched a buoy doesn't matter because the buoy could stop working for some reason or be destroyed in some way and then innocent people would once again be subject to having their minds violated by "memories" of atrocities they never committed.

And what if the passing ship had children on it and the children experienced those atrocities also? After all, just because Naomi apparently wasn't affected doesn't mean the children of other species wouldn't be.

Also, what if some ships had no choice but to travel through that area of space-would having the buoy message explain what to expect make experiencing those memories somehow better? What if some members of that crew were particularly sensitive and ended up killing themselves because they couldn't deal with the memories or ended up killing someone else (the way Neelix could have killed someone in the mess hall).

Finally, the memorial is telling only one side of the story. How do the crew know that they haven't been subjected to a bunch of propaganda?

Definitely not one of my favorite episodes. I guess I will, however, give it some points for affecting me enough that I was annoyed by it, which I guess is better than being indifferent to an episode.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.