Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 5,634 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 226
Set Bookmark
Bob Vogel
Wed, Jun 26, 2019, 9:51am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Icarus Factor

Mitchell Ryan was the perfect dad for Will and they acted well together. I always thought that the guest stars were well picked for their roles. In this case, I like the way dad said at the end, “ How do you think I feel, I love you son”. Felt genuine ...on both sides!
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Mon, Jun 24, 2019, 11:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

^
There's something about euphonius and ear-catching about their names.

I'm 99% I remembered their monikers the first time I encountered that part of history.
Set Bookmark
SteveL
Thu, Jun 20, 2019, 6:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Return to Grace

@Chrome
I had exactly the same thoughts during the phaser rifle comparisons. Her comment about “dragging it through the mud and it will keep firing” has often been said of the AK-47.
Set Bookmark
navamske
Tue, Jun 18, 2019, 9:24am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

[[The archeologist assigned to oversee this unearthing is played by Tim Russ, whom I haven't seen in anything since probably Live Free or Die Hard. His performance here suggests a specific eccentricity.]]

Tim Russ was in an episode of "The Good Doctor."
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sun, Jun 16, 2019, 12:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Host

^

Not like I particularly care very much (I'm no PC warrior), but I find it ironic that if commenters were making similar comments about Beverly's breast size, the condemnation here would be swift and brutal.

It's petty and sexist.
Set Bookmark
Kev
Fri, Jun 14, 2019, 4:25am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Hard Time

I am with Peter G on this one. Also I think you have to take in to account that when Miles says he was taught as a child humanity is evolved that was early in his learning and possibly more retained in a crisis. Probably the best way I can illustrate that is you learn addition subtraction etc as a child, calculus much later and I know for me a lot of the calculus stuff is now gone but the simple lessons I learnt as a child will (hopefully) never be. Perhaps when writing dialog for a character in a crisis it is appropriate to pare down the ideas to the simplest form without meaning to make a comment on the values of the federation as a whole.

Also as to the Ee'Char question - the sentence was minimum 15 years and the punishment was meant to be specific to Miles. Do you really think it coincidence he was let out a week or 2 after murdering his cellmate? Apparently they normally get someone to the point of despair (whatever that is to the individual) in 15 years, took them 20 with Miles.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Tue, Jun 11, 2019, 10:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

@ Jammer

Aah.

I actually had a similar reaction as you did on my first viewing.

It was only when I watched it many years later did the ethical and moral problems (with the script) bothered me.

As always, I enjoy your reviews and the community you cultivated. Have a good one, sir
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Tue, Jun 11, 2019, 9:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

Hey Jammer,

I'm a little curious. Have you rewatched this in the time since your initial review?
Set Bookmark
Stevens J.
Mon, Jun 10, 2019, 3:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

I see we've crossed the line from Picard was wrong to try to attempt communication into Picard should be court martialed for trying. So much for that bright future for humanity, eh?
Set Bookmark
AggregatVier
Mon, Jun 10, 2019, 3:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

Just finished watching this episode. The Crystal (you can't assume it's an "entity") travels at warp speed seeking out "life" to consume (destroy). If this crystal had been around for any considerable length of time there would be a much broader path of destruction in the immediate warp range the Federation is capable of in several years time. In other words, it would be very likely there would no longer be any life left in within the Federation's warp range. Just look at what it was able to devastate within a very few days time. So, why no consideration this crystal was a deliberately created and released weapon of mass destruction within Federation space. A bio-destroy weapon of unimaginable evil and viciousness? That any communication would already be with a war machine?

Or would others rather talk it out and reach a compromise with Hitler?

Destroying it was the only rational course of action. The Doctor is a hero who killed an uncompromising weapon of war while Picard was moralizing genocide.

Picard should have been court martialed for dereliction of duty and the trivialization of human life that would undoubtedly affect any of his future command decisions.

But, then again, what can you expect from copies?
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sun, Jun 9, 2019, 11:30am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Deflectors

@ RDP

I didn't catch your comment until now, but that was a wonderful summation/ encapsulation of what I was fumbling to say.

Excellent point!
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Jun 6, 2019, 7:15am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

@ Slacker

After listening to that podcast, I'm pretty sure that Seth has been here reading reviews and comments. It's kind of weird to think of the creator actually reading what we write!
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Wed, Jun 5, 2019, 9:44am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: The Cloud

Voyager's not perfect, but other than Enterprisesl's last season and The Orville, it's the last produced Trek show I've watched and rewatched from beginning to end.

The crew are like a family which makes it fun to visit with them, and there's a great balance of cheesy bad-Trek and intellectual good Trek. I liked your description: it is the popcorn-munchingest Trek show there is.
Set Bookmark
MsV
Tue, Jun 4, 2019, 3:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Alternate

@Bobbington Mc Bob

At least they haven’t spoiled the famous Voyager crossover episode where Sisko ends up in the Delta Quadrant and Janeway fights the Dominion with help of slipstream technology created by Barclay.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Tue, Jun 4, 2019, 8:49am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

When this was filmed, movie's like "Disclosure" were just starting to penetrate mass consciousness.

I think it's sad that behavior like Geordi's used to result in no repercussions at all (and that someone would wistfully yearn for the halcyon days of sexual harassment being the norm).

My feeling is this: if one can't control their animal urges in a professional setting, then they deserve some kind of corrective repercussion to learn the error of their ways.

I don't know what's appropriate for Starfleet , but they don't have money. The only punitive options available are a suspension of duty/ privileges, termination or the brig.

I don't think completely getting away with such behavior is appropriate and it sends the wrong message.

Geordi should have been punished (or at least sent to Troi for extensive counseling).

PS-

where was Troi? Normally, she seems to get off on other's psychic pain. You'd think she'd be all over the Leah situation (just to get her jollies, if nothing else).
Set Bookmark
David H
Tue, Jun 4, 2019, 2:52am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Sacred Ground

Very fine episode - underrated by Jammer (though that's almost a given when it comes to Voyager). I especially enjoyed its puncturing of the arrogance of scientism - not science, but scientism, which if anything has only become more prominent since "Sacred Ground" was first broadcast.
Set Bookmark
Lizzy DataLover
Mon, Jun 3, 2019, 12:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Shades of Gray

There is only one great thing about this episode. Pulaski's leaving!!!!!!!! :D

Y'all probably saw that one coming. But anyway the episode itself is pretty dry and the story *or lack there of* was pathetic. I understand they were going thru the writer's strike and what not, but seriously? At least some of the clips were from decent episodes.

Well it's all in the past now. Anyway I'm off to Starbase [insert number] to greet the lovely Dr. Crusher. ^-^

But before I go:

The Child: 3/10 I really don't like Deanna.

Where Silence Has Lease: 3/10 I just didn't understand anything.

Elementary, Dear Data: 6/10 cute. But it would have been nice if it stayed a Data episode.

The Outrageous Okona: 4/10 Data is funny tho.

Loud As A Whisper: 3/10 what in the world?

The Schizoid Man: 5/10 any excuse to do a Data abduction episode.

Unnatural Selection: 3/10 eww Pulaski.

A Matter Of Honor: 5/10 KLINGONS!!!!

The Measure Of A Man: 8/10 duuude this one. It loses points because Maddox is a little terd who I want to punch multiple times. Also this is the twenty fourth century. EVERYBODY is supposed to be accepted. Still good tho.

The Dauphion: 3/10 oh Wesley. I'm not even gonna bother checking to see if I spelled it right.

Contagion: 7/10 finally another good one.

The Royale: 5/10 silly.

Time Squared: 5/10 this one and Cause And Effect remind me of each other. I liked Effect better.

The Icarus Factor: 4/10 dude WTF?

Pen Pals: 6/10 Data is soooooo cute!! But ugh all that Prime Directive crap.

Q Who?: 7/10 I don't know bro. I always hated the Borg. They're just too good at being bad.

Samaritan Snare: 5/10 the Pakleds are funny. They make things go.

Up The Long Ladder: 3/10 what's with all the early season stereotypes?

Manhunt: 5/10 ehh. Hey Lwaxana was there.

The Emissary: 8/10 duuude K'Ehleyr is so cool!! And her and Worf brooo! I wish she could have been brought back. You know, for more than just a stupid death scene.

Peak Performance: 7/10 I love it when Data kicks ass.

Shades If Gray: 2/10 bye bye Pulaski.

Season 7 is still better.
Set Bookmark
Lizzy DataLover
Sun, Jun 2, 2019, 9:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Last Outpost

This episode really was boring wasn't it? I always hated the the Ferengi *until Quark came along* so the whole time I just so wanted Picard to turn off that dang view screen.

Also it is pretty ridiculous and somewhat disrespectful a joke to say that Data can't find his way out of a finger trap. Nonetheless it was a cute little moment but only because every other moment was pure agony. And my goodness has anyone else noticed just how red Brent Spiner's eyes were in S1?? They always looked a little irritated by the contacts, but they're bad here and worse in Justice.

Also official ratings for S1:

Encounter At Farpoint: 6or7/10 it wasn't a perfect pilot by any means but I thought it was cute.

The Naked Now: 4/10 I had no idea what kind if perverted thoughts plaqued the crews minds.

Code Of Honor: 1/10 bro I didn't even know where to begin.

The Last Outpost: 3/10 just narrowly beating out Naked because at least it was amusing to see them trying to keep from tripping over their own feet.

Where No One Has gone Before: 5/10 it had its moments.

Lonely Among Us: 4/10 Data as Sherlock Holmes. That's all.

Justice: 2/10 oh wow.

The Battle: 4/10 more Ferengi. And whatever else was happening.

Hide And Q: 7/10 finally a halfway decent episode. Man Q is HILARIOUS.

Haven: 5/10 Majel Barret is the most beautiful woman I have ever seen.

The Big Goodbye: 8/10 it started the endless parade of holodeck madness to come. But it was a darn good episode.

Datalore: 8/10 it introduced Lore. ^-^

Angel One: 2/10 okay I'm fed up now.

11001001: 6or7/10 it was Riker centric and a bit confusing but good compared to the rest of the season.

Too Short A Season: 2/10 someone kill me.

When The Bough Breaks: 3/10 ugh.

Home Soil: 6/10 decent.

Coming Of Age: 4/10 I dont understand the praise of this episode it's Wesley centric for Q's sake.

Heart Of Glory: 5/10 so this is where all the mighty Klingon episodes began. Worf is really good tho.

Arsenal Of Freedom: 6/10 I was honestly astonished.

Symbiosis: 3/10 after school special.

Skin of Evil: 6/10 I never liked Tasha but this seemed a bit much. Although the creepiness of it all was interesting.

We'll Always Have Paris: 5/10 it loses points because Data uses a contraction. Plus it's dull.

Conspiracy: 7/10 duuude total creep factor.

The Neautral Zone: 6/10 decent.

Over all I'd much rather watch S7. It's times like this I'm so glad I watched them out of order. Now off to season 2.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sun, Jun 2, 2019, 8:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

Is realism the opposite of implausibility?

Whatever the antonym is, that's what I wished the episode did.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sun, Jun 2, 2019, 10:18am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

And imagine being in her shoes.

Skipping through hours of footage, watching this 10% incorrect version of yourself sharing your intimate details, parading about in a sick pantomime of yourself as your copy grows romantically close to a guy you thought was a stranger.

It's really perverse.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sun, Jun 2, 2019, 10:16am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

Doesn't the holodeck usually restart a program where it's left off?

I always thought Geordi had already created a playback file that he'd watch from time to time ... and that Leah happened to start it near the end because Geordi had already time-stamped it.
Set Bookmark
Another David
Sun, Jun 2, 2019, 7:52am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

I'd give the show four stars also because it was well directed/acted/written and I enjoyed it. But I have the same problem as I do with all time travel stories. I don’t need to reiterate what the problems are as I’m sure they’ve been mercilessly expounded upon. I just wish they’d leave the time travel stuff in a box in their garage!
Set Bookmark
Lizzy DataLover
Sat, Jun 1, 2019, 11:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Masks

Masks is a generally underrated episode IMO. I really don't get what all the fuss is about, I didn't find it boring at all, in fact it was actually kind of exciting because it was so odd and exotic. But I'm one of the few who actually enjoyed a lot of S7. I feel the urge to rank this season's episodes real quick based on my personal opinion. *which to be honest usually defers from most*:)

Descent: 7/10 it had Lore in it. ^-^

Liaisons: 3/10 it was pretty dull.

Interface: 5/10 hey it's a Geordi episode where he's not fumbling over some chic.

Gambit: 6/10 I've never been a big Riker fan but the episode holds it's own. *episodes that is*

Phantasms: 8/10 it's creepy in all the right ways and was a weird change from normal.

Dark Page: 5/10 unlike most I'm a Lwaxana fan because I love Majel Barret and this was a somewhat interesting turn to see her character take.

Attached: 4/10 for some reason I strongly ship Picard/Beverly even though there seems to be an age difference there. That said, I didn't need an entire episode about it.

Force Of Nature: 3/10 painfully boring the only redeeming quality being the Spot B-plot.

Inheritance: 8/10 it gave us more insight into Data's background and family which I thought was cool. All he was missing was a mother.

Parallels: 8/10 awesome episode with some very interesting possibilities explored. I wish we could have seen more alternate realities.

The Pegasus: 5/10 like I said Riker episoded don't normally do anything for me. And how many evil admirals are in Starfleet?!

Homeward: 3/10 everyone in this one seems like a total dick because they refuse to help the dying species from finding a new home until they're backed into a corner and forced to. Lame.

Sub Rosa: 2/10 the only reason I give this one 2 is because I usually like the attempts at a darker atmosphere like Phantasms. This failed miserably however.

Lower Decks: 6or7/10 now before you send me hate mail let me explain that I'm just not a big fan of focusing more on random side characters. Most side characters are great, and I would have liked an episode about them, but most of the characters here are people we haven't even met and will never see again. I read a lot of Trek novels and whenever they focus all on a random OC more than the crew it makes it really dull for me. Apologies.

Thine Own Self: 8/10 I didn't expect an episode like this and it was pretty intriguing. Plus, Data. ;) although the B-plot with Deanna was dreadful.

Masks: 6/10 I don't know, I found it compelling because I wanted to see where it was going.

Eye Of The Beholder: 4/10 I think it's safe to say that Deanna is my least favorite character on TNG. Just beating out Riker because at least Jonathan Frakes is a good actor. :(

Genesis: 5/10 as ridiculous as it is, I have a soft spot for it. It's fun to see the crew turn into weird animal people. I think. Kinda. 4/10

Journey's End: 3/10 UGH WesleyBoyWonder is back. Yay.

Firstborn: 4/10 Klingon stuff has always confused me. I couldn't keep up anymore on DS9. But poor little Alexander tries so hard. And I like Worf.

Bloodlines: 3/10 this was just a confusing mess. But hey nice humanizing moment for Piacrd. Kind of.

Emergence: 7/10 yet another episode I enjoyed better than most fans. It was just really fun and thrown out there which I thought was compelling.

Preemptive Strike: 5/10 I didn't feel this was a suitable ending for Ro Laren at all. I really liked her and hated to see her leave especially under these circumstances. And it started the whole Maquis thing that would be done to death.

All Good Things...: 9/10 an instant classic. All Data's cats.

Over all not a bad season IMO, just underrated and underdone in some areas.

Plus I love when the talented Brent Spiner gets to strut his stuff. He's never as good as when he's Data, but that's because Data is a cosmic role beyond all roles.
Set Bookmark
Lizzy DataLover
Sat, Jun 1, 2019, 10:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Lonely Among Us

I didn't watch this show when it first aired on TV, *having not been born yet :)* but when I finally starting watching it, I saw most of the seasons somewhat out of order, so I already knew about Data's fascination with Sherlock Holmes and was so excited when I realized this was where it all began. I couldn't help but yell at my TV *yes! You will love him! Read the books!!* but then everyone was kinda rude to him about it. Yet another lame thing about S1 is just how mean they all were to Data most of the time. Of course everyone had such an attitude back then. Which really shows in this episode especially with the alien delegates. Sure they were kind of a nuisance but they were being considered for Federation membership.

All in all a pretty forgettable and dull episode. And what was with the ending? "Sir, one of the aliens was just brutally murdered, but that can wait, after all what's more important than mooning over the captain?" And why does Denise Crosby always sound like a teenage girl on the verge of blushing? *except in those moments where she's yelling about how mad she is. Sheesh.*
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Jun 1, 2019, 8:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

Why would Geordi, his superior, tell a teenager about his dating life? An implausible assumption.
Next ►Page 1 of 226
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.