Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 6,324 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 253
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Sun, Sep 20, 2020, 2:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

I always thought that the Valiant's crew should have survived and got their own spin-off show, may be have them explore the Gamma Quadrant which was under utilized in DS9. It would have been better than Discovery.
Set Bookmark
Norvo
Fri, Sep 18, 2020, 6:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Latent Image

The episode's dilemma is intensly contrived. We've seen the Doctor during Year of Hell go into a bit of a funk when he decided to condemn three crewmembers to death. All it took to get over that was one stern peptalk from Tom Paris.

The plot would have been served if he writers had established the initial alien attack also destabilized the Doctor's holomatrix. That would explain his sudden inability to accept Jetal's death.
Set Bookmark
David
Fri, Sep 18, 2020, 5:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Nth Degree

One thing I always wondered about that episode was whether the uncanny knack for 3D chess was something the Cytherians intentionally gave Barclay or whether it was just the tag end, temporary effect of the brain boost?
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Wed, Sep 16, 2020, 7:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Two Days and Two Nights

@Neo the Beagle

I like your sense of humour.
Set Bookmark
Sven
Sun, Sep 13, 2020, 11:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Magnificent Ferengi

I can't agree with the rating here. I fully acknowledge that DS9 devolves into camp moreso than the other series -- campy mirror episodes, campy Bond/Flint episodes, campy musical + Sinatra numbers, even verging-on-campy Benny Russell 1950s homage -- but, in these two isolated cases (Magnificent Ferengi, Little Green Men), they somehow hit the formula just right. Yes, four of the seven Ferengi are just tiresome. Yes, the events leading up to the hostage exchange are far-fetched. Yes, the outcome is contrived. But, maaan, I would have endured 2+ hours of that just to see Keevan lurching down the hallway again, much to Iggy-Pop-Yelgrun's horror. The ending thump-thump-thump scene is perhaps the funniest moment in all of Trek.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sat, Sep 12, 2020, 11:51am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I stopped by my Trekkie friend's (the only one in town) place for the first time since Coronavirus chaos began, and since he has CBS All-Access we watched episodes 5 and 6 together. I am waiting for DSC Season 3 to renew mine so I hadn't watched any Lower Decks (as I said before, animation-style shows are not my thing).

That being said, we had a ton of fun watching episode 5, bantered and laughed together quite a bit. I didn't think episode 6 was quite as funny but the amount of Trek references gave us plenty to chat during the watch. I agree with Josh above when he says, "Watching Lower Decks I never get the sense that the writers don't have anything less than love and nostalgia for "legacy" Trek." Mike McMahan and his crew truly love and know Trek, it seems. I am not sure how much non-Trekkies will get those references but it's not only targeted to Trekkies but also at people who like animation-style shows, in the visual style of Rick and Morty (I presume, seen very little of it in passing) and Archer, but rather in the tenor of Trek spirit.

I won't watch any other episodes, it's for me, not because it's not good but not my visual taste for a TV show. I think watching with my buddy (he loves it), and that we could marvel at the little throwbacks and easter eggs together, made it a better experience than it would be if I watched it alone. I certainly didn't laugh through episode 6 more than once or twice.

Characters seem to be established (according to my friend they did a good job with that in the first couple of episodes, he says his favorite so far is #2). I may revisit it in the future when I have All-Access, but only with someone else who enjoys Star Trek. For now, I am rather looking forward to DSC 3 especially after seeing the trailer and the panel on Star Trek day.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Fri, Sep 11, 2020, 7:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Author, Author

This episode touches on freedom of speech and freedom of the press which I've been meaning to bring up. Here's an old thread I found to illustrate my view:
http://nitcentral.philfarrand.com/discus/messages/1041/14282.html?1316247691 - Look at the post by Chris Lang dated Sunday, February 28, 1999 “how can the Internet exist without free speech? It doesn't make sense that the Internet could have arisen and been made public in a world where freedom of expression doesn't exist.”. It's amazing how much things have changed in such a short time.

>I liked the final scene too, which takes place "four months later" and shows dozens of identical EMH-1s working in a mine. One of them suggests to another that in his spare time he take a look at an interesting program called Photons Be Free.

Why would a hologram have free time? Also why wouldn't they use robots to work in mines?

@20:25 Kim says he's only in command of the bridge during night shifts but what difference would night time make in space?

@Ian
>This was a pure rip off of TNGs "Measure of a Man," which at least was original.

Not really, the idea for “Measure of a Man” was from a 1960's episode of The Outer Limits called “I, Robot” staring Leonard Nimoy. It was also rebooted in the 1990's.
Set Bookmark
Vladimir Estragon
Thu, Sep 10, 2020, 3:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The First Duty

My understanding was that they didn't use Locarno's name in Voyager because they would have had to pay royalties to the author of this episode for every episode of Voyager in which the character appeared, which is pretty much all of them.
Set Bookmark
HaveGunWillRiker
Thu, Sep 10, 2020, 2:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Im gonna wade back in to this hellhole to mention I wish Jammer would just post separate episode threads. No need to review or anything but it would be nice to have a place to discuss the new episodes individually.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Tue, Sep 8, 2020, 5:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Muse

@Nathan Tue, Apr 1, 2014, 1:53am
I was also thinking that they breached the prime directive by beaming up B'Elanna in front of a pre-industrial society.

It's things like this that make me sympathise with people who think Janeway flip-flops on her ideals. Don't get me wrong, I like Voyager but I can see their point.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Mon, Sep 7, 2020, 7:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Life Support

@Trish
I always thought that's just how the universal translator translated it, not some anthropocentric error on the writer's part.

Like when they use the word humanitarian for example:

Brunt chastised Quark for selling food and medicine to Bajoran refugees at cost, describing it as "a generous humanitarian gesture" and that such a thing gives "honest Ferengi businessmen a bad name." (DS9: "Body Parts") .
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Sun, Sep 6, 2020, 12:24am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Honor Among Thieves

A great and well done episode - for a genre cop show.

I'm done with this stuff. This is simply not Star Trek, not science fiction. I have forgiven much of DS9, but this paint by numbers genre informant plot is just ridiculous - despite the great acting.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Sep 3, 2020, 11:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Too many memberberries, too short an episode for a the content, everyone still speaks like they OD'd on caffeine and the episode title apes another (better) space show.

1.5 stars
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Thu, Sep 3, 2020, 2:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

@Kyle
>Too movie like and cinematic, and not enough character study, or philosophy/ethics like the others had? I like that Star Trek made me think.

This is exactly what I think of modern Trek. That and it's non-episodic nature.
Set Bookmark
David Lyttle
Mon, Aug 31, 2020, 5:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: The Chute

The final scene with Kim and Tom as Tom says he remembers hearing someone say "This man is my friend... nobody touches him." That was the payoff and a reminder of what it means to have and be a great friend. One of my favorite scenes in all of Star Trek.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Mon, Aug 31, 2020, 1:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Q2

@MikeyZ

I think the concept and consequences of eternal life was covered far better in VOY "Deathwish". Having said that, this was a thoroughly enjoyable episode - 8/10. Q Junior learned the value of responsibility and friendship, there was suspense when we were led to believe Icheb was dead, and humour "Coffee, black" , "Make it yourself".

Even though eternal life seems undesirable as much as impractical, I would want to live for a thousands in good health (with a young person's body) as long as my loved one's lived that long too.

How long would you guys want to live for and why?

PS: My name actually means the eventual peace and end of suffering that we will all attain once we die.
Set Bookmark
David
Sun, Aug 30, 2020, 8:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Tomorrow Is Yesterday

Some of you are trying too hard to act like the show was too hard to be believable. Its a science fiction show for goodness sake. Everything is not going to be logical. 200 years ago, people would have called us crazy for wanting a phone that was portable. They would say thats not possible. Enjoy it for what it is. Its not supposed to be totally predictable. Wow.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Tue, Aug 25, 2020, 11:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

^

except

#1) We, the viewer, see the visions

#2) other characters also meet the Prophets in visions

#3) Therefore, the Prophets exist (call them wormhole aliens or whatever you wish to call them)

and

#4) Sisko (communicating in one of his visions) gets the Prophets to eradicate an entire Dominion fleet.
Set Bookmark
ovaduh
Mon, Aug 24, 2020, 5:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Now, it seems (slow news week) people are attacking others for being “trolls” on this site. Apparently, if you have a different opinion than the consensus-machers, you are a troll, meaning you post once, say nothing Star-Trek related, and then leave. Speaking as someone who has used this “handle” before, if someone wishes to post a contrary opinion, and it is cogent and well-thought out, that person has every right to not always post using the same name. Jammer is free to prohibit this, and he knows who is posting what, in any event.

People who are denouncing these sinners have themselves had portions, sometimes large ones, of their posts deleted by the site administrator. And they lecture others on Internet etiquette.

If we REALLY wanted to have “personal” conversations,some people here would have to realize there is another person to a conversation, then it will be all over.

If you care about this franchise, you must be negative. I’ve heard the argument iterated and reiterated. The contrapositive is that if you are not negative, you do not care.

It’s wrong to dismiss people’s viewpoints with this inherently specious logic.

I too take issue with the haters who reflexively hate Star Trek and with the people who love it irrespective of its merits. I also try to judge things for what they are. If the Star Trek franchise were put into the hands of a different production group/different ownership group, many fans would not like the end-product, irrespective of actual merit or lack thereof. They wouldn’t like it simply because it was not hand-produced for their individual consumption in their living rooms. This attitude is no worse or better than the attitude of fans who uncritically devour whatever tv or movie product has the name Star Trek on it.

I think Lower Decks is basically a two-Star show; I think one’s motor impulses need time to express themselves, and the show goes by way too fast to allow that or anything of meaning (or frivolity, for that matter) to sink in. This shows a certain contempt for the viewer, I think, in my opinion, intentionally or not.

As far as Discovery Season 3? I haven’t watched it yet, so I withhold judgment.
Set Bookmark
WineVQA
Sat, Aug 22, 2020, 4:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Sanctuary

Jammer. I've copied and pasted below and put asterisks around the quote. This comment is completely antisemitic and I'm surprised you have kept it on your page. A huge disappointment that it is still here.


LastDawnOfMan
Thu, Aug 9, 2012, 6:45pm (UTC -5)
One sad thing about the Trek universe, with its history of progressive messages, is that every species has the regressive effect of making you wonder which unfortunate contemporary ethnic group it caricatures.

I could see their situation sounding like the Jews in Palestine after WWII, but this would have been more compelling if, as with the Jews, there had been something to tell us that Bajor used to be their homeworld, rather than their apparently temporary and arbitrary claim that it was. Then the issue of them coming back would have been more of an ethical dilemma.

*******In the Trek universe, their space Jews are already horribly represented by the Ferengi anyway. So I thought maybe they were the Space Gypsies. And nobody wants them around, apparently.*******
Set Bookmark
David K.
Fri, Aug 21, 2020, 1:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Minefield

Lots of needless nitpicking of elements of the episode that make perfect sense. Just because they don’t say why they can’t use the transporter for example doesn’t mean they can.
They part that stuck out to me as weird is how Reed is suddenly so uncomfortable around Archer. We saw them drinking beers together in season 1! We saw them give Reed cake. This episode would have made far more sense in the first season than the second.
Set Bookmark
David K.
Fri, Aug 21, 2020, 4:24am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Shockwave, Part I

This episode falls apart from the beginning because of the ridiculous premise. Who settles on a planet that can be destroyed in such a trivial manner? A slight malfunction that can ignite an ENTIRE planets atmosphere? You’ve got to be kidding me. At least TRY and come up with a plausible situation for the tragedy. This one is just too far out there.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Aug 20, 2020, 11:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

You know an animated show is falling when the easiest way to improve it would be to delete the characters.

Honestly, if there was an option to watch just the background art, I would be more entertained.

Mariner is intolerable. I loathe this character.

Ep. 3 gets zero stars. Astonishingly unfunny.
Set Bookmark
Zuriel Seven
Wed, Aug 19, 2020, 1:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Booby Trap

The way LeVar makes you cringe over Geordi's holodeck date with Christy, complete with a "hover hand" technique that I swear I just saw for the first time despite having watched this ep about fifty times by now, really set the tone for not just the episode but Geordi's character in general for the next several years of his dating relationships, straight through Aquiel. The forced awkwardness is sublime in this episode and really plays against the comfort evident in the way he relates to Holo-Leah. Frankly, I remember the last time that I felt that on a date - her name was S... well... never mind.

As a kid watching this ep the day it first aired, I really only took as canon what I saw onscreen. For that reason, I've never gotten the same skeeviness that many do in this episode or in Galaxy's Child when real Leah goes into her verbal curb-stomp with Geordi. From that perspective, this episode really is about how comfortable this man is when he's in his element and that's the plane across which LeVar seems to have perfectly reflected Geordi as a character.

As Geordi becomes more and more comfortable with tense situations in which his skills matter, the rest of the senior staff evinces levels of anxiety, shared by the rest of the entire crew, while Geordi himself remains unshakeable.

I'm going to use that hover-hand, right when things his Maximum Awkward, though - judging by the comments above, it's perfectly useful as a pest repellent.
Set Bookmark
Zuriel Seven
Sun, Aug 16, 2020, 6:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Manhunt

The best part of this is most definitely the shuttle pilot. Absolutely the shuttle pilot. To watch him carry on behind Lwaxana (even if she is all you can keep your eyes on for the first few watch-through's because she's tremendously flamboyant) is unappreciated gold.

In fact, given that they're "just coming into range" when she's first on the viewscreen and the fact that Deanna barely senses her connection with her mother at that range, I would lay odds that it's not Picard that's thinking "what naughty thoughts". Check the shuttle pilot's eyes - 20 bars of gold-pressed latinum says he's afraid he's been found out.
Next ►Page 1 of 253
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.