Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 5,717 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 229
Set Bookmark
Norvo
Mon, Jan 13, 2020, 8:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: The Storyteller

It's obvious this episode was cobbled together with rejected TNG plots. Both stories treat Bajor as a random planet of the week. You could swap Geordi, Worf and/or Data to play the Bashir/O'Brien parts. And having Picard try to negotiate a land deal with a moody preteen would have been interesting as well.
Set Bookmark
Harmen Breedeveld
Sun, Jan 12, 2020, 9:45am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Mortal Coil

M, in response to your point,

I get what you say, I have been myself in a dark time in my life.

But we live in 2020. This episode is from 1997, I think.

Much has changed in the West concerning treatment of mental trauma in these 23 years, and for the better.

Depression, PTSD, men showing emotions, it has all become a bit less of a taboo.

We are not there yet. But we have come some way in 23 years.

I hope that if someone watches this episode in 2043, he or she will wonder why Neelix was left to figure this out all by himself, instead of having received the standard support programs.

On a personal note, warm greetings and a warm hug from the Netherlands. Respect and my compassion for what you have experienced.
Set Bookmark
Lavor
Fri, Jan 10, 2020, 4:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Storm Front, Part II

Synopsis: Captain Jonathan Archer woke to find himself trapped in the past, and driven by an unknown force to change history for the better. And so Captain Archer put right what once went wrong, and hoping that his next leap will be the leap home…
Set Bookmark
Lavor
Thu, Jan 9, 2020, 3:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: E2

Star trek could have found a technobabble reason for staying away from Earth other than "we didn't want to go there." Suspension of disbelief can work, but it needs at least some scaffolding from which to be suspended.

Also, @Capitalist and @Trajan are just pulling everyone's leg. Don't believe that they are from the future. Everyone knows time travel was impossible before the 32nd century.
Set Bookmark
Avenger
Sun, Jan 5, 2020, 5:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Next Phase

Why did they not confront the Romulans at the end for trying to blow up the Enterprise?
Set Bookmark
van zeSpleen
Sat, Jan 4, 2020, 2:43am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

Jammer, can you go back and comment on Short Treks included in dvd sets please?
Short Trek The Brightest Star about Saru and Lieutenant Georgiou is quite relevant to Kaminar episodes.
Many thanks for good reads in Jammer's Reviews.
Set Bookmark
van zeSpleen
Sat, Jan 4, 2020, 2:27am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Re Vulcan Hello:
I thought the desert planet intro culminating in Star Trek logo etched in the sands is so very well done. Yay!
However, none of the Klingon episodes grab, so far.
Except maybe the time crystal acquisition episode - Pike's vision of future fate may not be meant for him, if my surmise that he's from the mirror universe plays out (he winked back at badass Georgiou when she confessed to being Terran).
Set Bookmark
van zeSpleen
Sat, Jan 4, 2020, 1:59am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: New Eden

New Eden's buildings so reminiscent of where the Caretaker plonk down Janeway's crew (Voyager pilot).
Simplistic unravelling of what the Red Angel's missions are.
I like it.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Sun, Dec 29, 2019, 9:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Chrome...
Best reply/comment of the year :)))))))
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sun, Dec 29, 2019, 4:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Krill

The character names are listed in the title sequence of every episode.
Set Bookmark
Kevin
Sat, Dec 28, 2019, 9:41am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

Ultimately the question should be: how do you minimize suffering?

Framed that way, the answer to the moral question is obvious: Tuvix deserved to live. Janeway unjustifiably murdered him in cold blood and everyone but the Doctor stood by and said nothing. I’m amazed and impressed the show had the balls to go through with it. Obviously they had no choice, they weren’t going to get rid of two of their actors in a random middle of the season episode. But they could have just scrapped the episode completely once they realized there was no way to do it without making Janeway commit murder. I’m glad they didn’t.

But there is simply no way to morally justify murdering Tuvix. Tuvix was standing there begging for his life. Tuvok and Neelix were not begging for their lives. Because they were dead. It’s an interesting and unique twist that they can be resurrected via scifi magic. But it doesn’t change the fact that they are dead. They can’t be further harmed by remaining dead. Tuvix can and is harmed. By being murdered.

The fact that Tuvok and Neelix are dead is really the key thing that makes this an easy question for me. If this was a runaway train scenario where Tuvok and Neelix are alive but in its currently in its path, but I can pull a switch to redirect the train to run over Tuvix, I’d pull that switch every time. But in that case I’m choosing between 2 people being killed and 1 person being killed. Obviously only 1 person being killed is preferable.

In the actual scenario the episode presents, it’s a choice between 1 person being killed or 0 people being killed. Remaining dead is not the same as being killed. There is no suffering in remaining dead.
Set Bookmark
Kevin
Fri, Dec 27, 2019, 3:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Projections

To me this episode is a great idea with a flawed execution. I think the biggest weakness of this episode is that, considering the events from the Doctor’s perspective(and NOT the audience perspective), I mostly don’t think he should have been torn between destroying the ship or not at any point.

When Barclay first shows up and claims the Doctor is a real person and needs to destroy the ship, there is simply no reason for the doctor to hesitate anywhere near as much as he does. Barclay proves beyond any doubt whatsoever that the Doctor is not on the real ship, so it’s not like he would be putting anyone’s life at stake by destroying it(the plot will later declare it would have put his own existence at stake, but there is absolutely no way for the Doctor to know or suspect that given the information he has at this point). Barclay’s explanation that he is a real person who has forgotten literally every memory from his entire life has to be considered farfetched, even in-universe, but it doesn’t really matter because either way the ship obviously isn’t real. And to the episode’s credit, the Doctor does eventually make the obvious decision to agree to destroy the fake ship.

The pendulum snaps almost completely in the opposite direction once Chakotay walks in though. From the Doctor’s perspective, I guess he can’t be certain that Barclay’s “you are a real person and will die if you don’t listen to me” claim is false, but it seems flimsy as hell given Chakotay is the first alleged hologram to be acting out-of-character in Barclay’s explanation. For Barclay’s explanation to be real, the holodeck can’t just be randomly “malfunctioning”, it basically has to have become a sentient malevolent entity that wants to kill Zimmerman(by making him doubt Barclay).

Despite that though, I think there is an interesting question the episode poses to the Doctor: Barclay’s explanation is almost certainly false, but his explanation still claims he is a real person. Chakotay’s explanation is that he is still a hologram. If the Doctor considered the value of his holographic existence to be completely worthless then even the 1% chance that Barclay was telling the truth would be the better choice. A 1% chance of something is still more than a 99% chance of nothing.

The two final gripes I have with that though are:

1. Even *if* he only considered “real” biological lives to be worth anything, he would be saving those lives as a hologram. So it could never have been a choice between a 1% chance of something vs a 99% chance of nothing.

2. The way the scene plays out, it seems like he never actually makes a choice at all! He doesn’t actively choose to believe his holographic existence has as much meaning as a “real” one would. He just appears to be incapacitated by pain until the clock runs out and Voyager makes the question go away. I think the episode would have been far stronger if the Doctor had made a clear choice.

But still, I thought it was a good episode because it’s clear there was a strong idea besides just the mystery of what the hell was going on. For comparison, I don’t like “Frame of Mind” from TNG specifically because it feels like there is no point besides waiting for the episode to explain the cause of the obviously(from our perspective) fake scenario.
Set Bookmark
van zeSpleen
Fri, Dec 27, 2019, 4:23am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

Re: Stamets/Culber - relationship breakdown can perhaps be explained in another way: Culber is from mirror universe! Hence he does not have any inclination to step into original Culber's shoes.
And when Pike gives Georgiou a wink at her revelation that she's mirror universe version, showing no surprise at all: are we to surmise that Pike too is mirror universe version all along?! He did after all appear out of nowhere, didnt he.
ST Discovery universe has CGI galore - how about "dating" each series with a bit more of that, eg the imagined spectacle of when Andromeda galaxy collides with ours, eg Betelgeuse implodes with a big bang, etc More astronomy please!
Set Bookmark
Val
Wed, Dec 25, 2019, 12:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Sacrifice of Angels

Loved this episode. Played the battlescenes over and over. I was so engrossed in the seeming futility of the Federation battle that I had absolutely forgotten about the Klingons. Boy! Did my heart leap at the announcement they had arrived! Dukat going mad was perfectly fine and totally believable...a man with his years of effort and ambition and
lying self image finally confronted with the futility of his obsession with bajor? I loved the Prophet ending...I was so struck by Sisko's realization of just how inexplicably important he was to the Prophets...And he finally realized that importance and was willing to blackmail and manipulate them to do HIS will. Excellent. The Ferenghi were all great., Talk about the insidious influence of root beer on them!

But am I the only one who was frustrated at Kira's compulsive babbling and questioning of Rom when he's trying to disable the mind destruction? Geemaneezie! It's her damn fault he failed. I am not a fan of the Kira character at all...totally devoid of awareness of her impact on others.

As for the Odo redemption...I just always assumed those sessions with the Founder were designed to manipulate and control him, with an added nuance of Founder jealousy of his attachment to Kira. The shock of Kira's imminent death broke that control. We have seen before that the Founders were adept at manipulation, e.g., The Gowron Martok changling deception. I do wish this had been gone into much more.
Set Bookmark
Kevin
Fri, Dec 20, 2019, 6:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

I completely agree that this is easily one of the worst episodes when judging it as what it was intended to be: an episode of Voyager.

But as an entry of unintentional "so bad it's good" entertainment, it's amazing. The holodeck safeties can be disabled by a shot from holodeck rifle?! The completely serious line about "They may not be real, but our feelings towards them are real". The townsfolk inexplicably deciding they are okay with everything, even though from their perspective (they never realize they are just holograms), all that happens is that it is confirmed they are dealing with supernatural beings who can and have turned people into cows for fun.

This episode deserves every bit of its 1-star review, but it's far more worth watching than the dozens and dozens of utterly forgettable 2-star episodes to me.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Mon, Dec 16, 2019, 12:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@ Chrome

If they're just going to do whatever they feel like now, why not bring back some of the older actors and do something intelligent? Why not hire some anime artists or the people who worked on Fantasia 2000 and do something halfway artistic?

How is it that The Animated Series (made decades ago) is so watchable (and occasionally thought-provoking) while this is just mindless preachy kiddie fodder?
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Mon, Dec 16, 2019, 11:55am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

And now I just watched Ephraim and Dot, or as it should more accurately be called

Star Trek: Lilo and Stitch

What the actual fuck?! What IS this? Who thought this was a good idea?!?!?!

This is NOT Star Trek .... this is the slush pile of PIXAR rejected scripts.

These last two were excruciating to watch on all levels: as a fan, as a thinking adult, as a man who loves good animation and dislikes propaganda .... I could go on and on, but this ....this?

I don't know if I can even hate-watch this show anymore.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Mon, Dec 16, 2019, 11:31am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Seriously, Star Trek: Moana
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Mon, Dec 16, 2019, 11:19am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

WTF did I just watch?!?!?!?

I pray the people running the Picard series know what they're doing, otherwise the franchise is basically dead.
Set Bookmark
Mads Leonard Holvik
Sat, Dec 14, 2019, 5:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

The moment that really underlines how terrible Discovery is comes when I type the antispam answer: Picard. TNG comes to mind, and honestly it's like Dostojevskij compared to Weekly World News.
I'm more on the left side of the political spectrum, but I don't like to be underestimated and thought a moron.
I don't know why they made this and why they push woke agendas so blatantly. I know one thing, though. I will continue to watch TNG, Voyager, DS9 and occasionally TOS and Enterprise, but I will never rewatch Discovery.
Set Bookmark
van zeSpleen
Thu, Dec 12, 2019, 9:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Just read critique/review on Season 2.
I love them bringing back the 3-dimensional chess - missed out on ordering a model decades ago. Figurines I never cared to own, so perhaps we will get a second chance to own that futuristic chess set soon?!
Set Bookmark
van zeSpleen
Sat, Dec 7, 2019, 3:56am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

I read somewhere that fans are very interested in Rey's origin and parentage. Just watched Rogue One on dvd - Jyn's crystal pendant holds the clue, because her mother's (Lyra) side must have the Force in them, as blind monk Chirrut could sense Jyn's presence when she walked past him. Maybe Jyn was saved somehow and Rey is offspring from Jyn-Lyra's family tree, which would tie in Rogue One characters with Rey's future stories.
By the way, re swordplay and ancient Japanese folklore - I grew up watching black & white movies of Chinese swordplay and 'ching kung', much like Yoda's lightsaber fights. So Chinese audience may be wooed if Michelle Yeoh (of ST Dicovery fame) turns up with a lightsaber in SW franchise!
Set Bookmark
VanzeSpleen
Mon, Dec 2, 2019, 4:11am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: A New Hope

Re: Geekgarious on audio version of ANH - I concur wholeheartedly on how good it is to just listen to audio of a beloved and much watched old movie. I used to enjoy listening to Leonard Nimoy narrating his ST movie on saving whales whilst on long drives, until in-car cassette players were superceded by CD players. (not looking forward to driving the all electric car minus CD player next year - what we have to sacrifice to drive emissionfree!).
I am binge watching the entire 8 movies again, and it strikes me how scifi productions are tending towards youngling's audience and their taste for computer games. ANH series was purely story telling of space sagas for families going to the movie to be entertained, full stop. Hence the distinctly different movies in the I-VIII Star Wars series. Still, I am looking forward to December's Rise of Skywalker.
Set Bookmark
Shawn Davis
Thu, Nov 28, 2019, 5:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Before and After

I’m watching this episode for the first time in a long time since I’ve seen this show. I can tell you right now; this episode which involves Kes is much better than some of the previous spotlight episodes of her from season 2 like Cold Fire and especially the horrible Elogium episode. I pretty much agree with Jammer on his review of this episode so I will not repeat it here.
Set Bookmark
Davidw
Thu, Nov 21, 2019, 4:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: The Adversary

Great episode. Suspense. Action.

But pointless.
Next ►Page 1 of 229
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.