Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 7,134 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 286
Set Bookmark
Big Poppa the XVII-th
Thu, Sep 23, 2021, 1:06am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: Future Tense

Funny thing, play STO and learn the full story of that ship from the future. They REALLY expanded on it :)
Set Bookmark
ZeroDave
Thu, Sep 23, 2021, 12:56am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

Getting to this late.
2 stars is pretty harsh IMO. I'm enjoying the classic Federation tenets getting flexed by a crew we get more endeared to week by week. Frakes did good work here.
And Kwejian is stunning! Even on a 6 year OLED it was a treat!
Set Bookmark
Big Poppa the XVII-th
Wed, Sep 22, 2021, 1:13am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

Eh. Seen worse, seen (lot) better. 0 stars is overreacting. I'll give it 1,5 stars. 0,5 for T'Pol playing "tough", and 1 for the nice workout my right hand got, watching red-hot bombshell Lakshmi prance around on screen in a ripped-up dress. ;) And imagining being cooped-up in an escape pod with her for 2 days. Yummy.

Yea she's a terrible actress. Who cares with THAT body? Not me, I'm not watching her for her acting. Though I do wish she put that mouth of hers to better use ;) her voice is annoying.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Tue, Sep 21, 2021, 1:52pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S1: Old Wounds

Ok , finished the 2 seasons and read the comments so I'll review. those.
1. "Turning your brain off to like The Orville "
Hardly, in fact by my review of the first episode it's clear that the show actually turned my brain back on. Seth's reasons for loving Star Trek clearly mirror my own.
2. Comparisons to Farscape
There are similarities. Farscape was centered on the relationship between the two leads; same with The Orville.
The difference is Farscape was about rebellion against the empire, the Orville is about building the empire. Farscape established a franchise, The Orville pays homage to one. The Orville is to StarTrek whar Firefly is to Farscape.
3. Judging Discovery before it even aired
From the leaks and previews it was evidentDiscovery was obviously more about a woke agenda than it was about pleasing the fans. Still I gave the first episode a try. Wish I could wash my brain out with soap. Boring, dismal, franchise wrecking garbage.
That's what people were reacting to before it actually aired. The writers were going out of their way not to make Star Trek .
Look at the rotten tomatoes ratings: Critics 88% Audience 41 %
Contrast that with The Orville: Critics 65% Audience 91%
Of course the fans are using The Orville to give CBS the finger. CBS gave the fans the finger first.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Tue, Sep 21, 2021, 8:56am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

Due to Kelly's selfish decision we get a What if story. The great thing about alternate timelines and parallel universes is getting to see how the characters react under different circumstances. A couple of takes.
1. I liked Alara Kitan. As expressed here, her look belies her capabilities. I don't like her replacement.
2. There's always a paradox lol. If the alternate timeline didn't happen then the doctor never went back in time to wipe Kelly's memory. Maybe the alternate timeline exists as a continuous loop.
Anyway, this looks like the end of the season. I got my Star Trek fix. On to season 3 when it comes.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Tue, Sep 21, 2021, 1:02am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S2: Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

Gotta love time travel. This one was about 'What if you could go back in time and do it all over again. Would you?' All my married friends say no ... and they all have children.
Apparently Kelly says no Uh oh. It was her divorce that caused her to recommend Ed for captain. If this really is past Kelly she just screwed the timeline big time. I've already decided that she's hypocritical and self absorbed but this amps it up to a colossal level.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Mon, Sep 20, 2021, 11:42pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S2: Sanctuary

This is what I call making a Moclery of an episode. As soon as I saw the crate I smacked my head and said they're smuggling a female Moclan, here we go again.
So let me get this straight. Males can procreate with transgenders. But females are incapable of procreation. Unless procreation has nothing to do with the sexual act, the science has me baffled.
According to Dolly Parton's new disciple, the birth of females happens more than the government lets on. Odds are there are transgender couples on Moclan. Are they barren? Seems like something the show would need to address in order to explain wy two Moclan females are unable to make babies. Not that I care but the writers seem determined to force the issue of Moclan sexuality into the storyline.
Which brings me back to my original point that the Union needs to stop interfering in Moclan affairs. All of Bortus'marital problems can be traced back to his crewmen using Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer to tear down his long held traditions.
Now the ship's officers are directly responsible for straining relations with the Moclan government. When they found the planet of dissidents they should have flown away like they never saw it. Obviously the evolution of Moclan morality was working itself out without interference from interlopers.
Should the Moclan females be taken back to Moclan for corrective surgery? I don't care. None of my business. Should the smugglers be prosecuted to the full extent of Moclan law? I don't care. None of my business. It's not the Union's business either. They should have done their homework before they extended the hand.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Mon, Sep 20, 2021, 9:44pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

Still watching but this is just creepy. White Geordie is cyber stalking a 400 year old digi zombie. creepy
The Mocluns get hooked on synthesized cigarettes.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Mon, Sep 20, 2021, 9:08pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S2: Blood of Patriots

The obligatory change of pace after the excitement of an all out battle royale.
This one was a mystery, did he or didn't he. Admittedly that wasn't much of a mystery. We all know he did it. The only question was how. There was no way to deduce that his daughter was actually an alien with an explosive blood type so this was more of a wait for the reveal story that falls somewhere along the border of ok.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Mon, Sep 20, 2021, 7:56pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

So this episode took the predictable route, using Isaac to save the day thereby sowing seeds of redemption. But it also implied that despite his protests, Isaac does have a heart.
Clearly the semblance of emotion is a part of the programming of Isaac's race. There seemed to be more than a self preservation logic in their resentment, yes resentment, at being enslaved. Wiping out the entire race of their creators wreaks of revenge. And their inability to believe that humanity could evolve past their basic instincts seemed to have a tinge of a phobia.
As for the green runny booger. Good job. Didn't even recognize Norm's voice before he actually appeared on the show. Now it is sadly distinct. I don't know if the slime ball survives the season. If he does it will be interesting to see what they do about his voice.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Mon, Sep 20, 2021, 6:40pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

As I was saying, once you extend your hand it's hard to take it back. This reminds me of Dr. Who's Cybermen. A robot army created to take over the universe.
Nice work giving Isaac Data's voice so that viewers get comfotable with him. But as I pointed out, Isaac had no desire to be human. The fact that he viewed humanity as inferior definitely should have been taken more seriously.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Mon, Sep 20, 2021, 4:40pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S2: Deflectors

Ok, so Kelly reveals the she actually is both hypocritical and self absorbed.
Now that's out of the way let's deal with the Moclans. This species was introduced as a joke species. They showed Bortus sitting on an egg and hatching it. Was that not disturbing in itself? lol
Unfortunately you can't have your cake and eat it too. I said before that it is a mistake to use Moclans to make a serious moral point because a. They're hilarious and more importantly b. They're not human. So unless you're saying that all species need to be judged according to human morality, painting humanity as the self righteous morality gods of the universe, then why should humans care about the moral code of non humans?
Now I get it, if the other species is the Krill that actually do believe they have the moral highground and moral right to literally tread all over every other species in the universe to the point where they wipe out anybody who isn't Krill, then we have a right to defend ourselves.
However since the existence of alien species is supposedly a sign that humanity isn't the center of the universe then we need to learn to respect alien cultures, otherwise we're no better than the Krill, enforcing our morality on others.
In that sense, I don't care about Moclan morals, laws nor sexuality. The synopsis of this episode says that The Orville finds out "a disturbing aspect of Moclan culture." Disturbing to who? It isn't disturbing to the Moclans, it's their way of life.
The Union's problem, which has been highlighted repeatedly, is their lack of preparation. Find out about a culture BEFORE you desecrate their statues, BEFORE you make first contact and most certainly BEFORE you invite them into the Union. Once your hand is extended it's hard to take it back.
So who actually was the bigger person at the end of this episode? The security girl who shuns Klyden because of differences in cultural ethics or Klyden who has learned to live with other species despite cultural differences. He doesn't hate male humans for liking females despite the fact that in his culture that's disgusting.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Mon, Sep 20, 2021, 2:01am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S2: A Happy Refrain

Ok, this one has to be dealt with on levels.
Level 1: The spoof
Seeing that the doctor is clearly the anti Polanski, it stands to reason that Polanski's cold treatment of Data would be spoofed by having the doctor fall in love with the android. Polanski's logical approach is spoofed by the doctor's whimsical, illogical, reactions to the notion of a human/robot affair.
Level 2: The Philosophical
The doctor's love for Isaac is an allegory for her love of science.
On a side note , wasn't expecting to see Norm Macdonald. A comedic genious who has given me many a belly laugh. I was definitely knocked aside when I heard that he died less than a week ago. Seeing him here was rough. R.I.P. Norm
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Mon, Sep 20, 2021, 12:16am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

The show ended witth the song "Celebration" by Kool and the Gang. I remember the first time heard that song. I was at a class party at my highschool and they put this song on. I was blown away by the bass and the rhythm. Best song I had ever heard.
At the next class party they were playing the latest chart topper. I told my friend, Bruce, that Celebration was the far better song. He looked at me increduously and basically said I was crazy. I told him that in thirty years they'd still be playing Celebration and the other song would be long forgotten. Good to know they'll still be playing Celebration in the 23rd century.
As for this episode, it was just plain awful. I usually love first contacts but this story was just irredeemable.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sun, Sep 19, 2021, 10:43pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S2: Nothing Left on Earth Excepting Fishes

Ok, let's get right to the problems. Admittedly some are colored by my personal tastes. I didn't like this episode because
1. It reminded me too much of Darmok which I hated with a passion. At least this time they spoke the same language.
2. After almost 5 decades of Star Trek, why do individuals still get on a shuttle to travel vast distances away from the starship. Chances are that 99 percent of the time they'll either be attacked, crash or captured. Let the starship drop you off at your destination. 3. I don't know whether Kelly is a hypocrite, a self important snob or a liar. Her big reason as to why Ed shouldn't date his first officer is so that he does not put himself in a position where he hs to choose between sending her or another crew member on a dangerous mission.
So why is she ok with him dating the ships cartographer? Isn't it possible that simply by dating any crew member he might be faced with a similar decision? Is her reasoning that as long as it's not her putting him in that position, she doesn't care?
Her unquestioning acceptance of this relationship makes her excuse seem like a cop out.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sun, Sep 19, 2021, 6:15pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S2: Home

Female Spock who was always getting lost in her emotions, has to go home to re acclimate to her plant's gravity. While there she finally has a breakthrough with Sarek, who never appreciated her, and decides to leave the ship. She leaves the show but not before a final heroic last hurrah.
It was fun while it lasted.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sun, Sep 19, 2021, 5:11pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

Back in the day when The X-men was still readable, Chris Claremont would sometimes do a whole issue where the X-men were just chilling out having down time. This episode was like that. A nice insight into the characters' routine challenges.
Once again it is made abundantly clear that the character Bortis was created to be the butt of the joke. He's like the anti Worf.
We have a white Geordi at the helm, a female Riker, a black Reggie, an anti Data (He doesn't want to be more human), an anti Picard and a female Spock that gets lost in her emotions. Then there's the sinus vomit who I guess represents the anti Odo, and a black doctor who doesn't like anti Data at first but he grows on her.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sun, Sep 19, 2021, 8:15am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S2: Primal Urges

Read a comment characterizing circumcision as mutilation. i was circumcised at 4 the extra skin was causing me problems. It was more akin to removing a tumor than mutilation.
Set Bookmark
David Staum
Sun, Sep 19, 2021, 7:56am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

Not my favorite episode, but remarkably topical.

Crazy Governor Alexis: We believe in the concept of freedom. Mask mandates? Vaccines? Not on our planet! If some people have to die of COVID to preserve our way of life, so be it.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sun, Sep 19, 2021, 7:30am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S2: Primal Urges

Lol. Here we go again with Moclan angst. The hijnks are hilarious but attempting to make an entire episode surrounding them gets more silly than funny.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sat, Sep 18, 2021, 11:30pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

The Inner Light twisted on it's head.
Kelly becomes Kali Yuga after accidently revealing herself to a primitive people on a planet that appears on our universal plane every 11 years after spending 700 years on it's own.
The writers did The Inner Light from thé crew's perspective while the android spent 7 centuries undoing Kelly's damage.
Once again the existence of God is presented as myth with no argument to baĉk up the conclusion.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sat, Sep 18, 2021, 10:25pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S1: New Dimensions

Girly sentimental speeches aside, there was enough technobabble and sci-fi fare to keep your attention. The highlight though was the big gob of nose waste calling the doctor's kids brats. I rolled on the floor.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sat, Sep 18, 2021, 9:28pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

I could smell it a mile away. Waste of time psychological melodrama.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sat, Sep 18, 2021, 8:37pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S1: Cupid's Dagger

Be careful what ýou jest for. The doc and the wad of snot finally got it on nd it wasn't pretty. But it was hilarious. This whole episode was a hodgepodge of hilarious hijinks. Thoroughly enjoyable.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Sat, Sep 18, 2021, 7:39pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S1: Into the Fold

not a fan. Brat kids. Crashed shuttle. Dr. hostage. meh
Next ►Page 1 of 286
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.