Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 6,760 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 271
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jan 22, 2021, 11:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

^

You still have the second season to watch (and Season 3 will be out in a few months).

Trust me, it gets more Trekkish with each episode.
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Fri, Jan 22, 2021, 3:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I will happily watch These Are The Voyages or the one where Beverly gets jiggy with ghosts, on a loop for all eternity, before I watch one second of Discovery ever again.
Set Bookmark
Shawn Davis
Thu, Jan 21, 2021, 8:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

This is the worst episode in the history of Star Trek let alone Star Trek Voyager. And I loved every bit of it. It’s similar to watching some of Ed Woods movies. It’s so bad that it’s funny. Lol 😂
Set Bookmark
Steve McCullagh
Thu, Jan 21, 2021, 1:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

In the entire history of Star Trek, from the 60s to the 20s, there is nothing I detest more than Mirror Universe Bullshit. And this was no different.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Thu, Jan 21, 2021, 12:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Lights of Zetar

I saw this episode on Dailymotion last night.

The concept of souls / energy beings from a long dead civilization was good but they did nothing with it. Energy beings taking over bodies was done better in Return to Tomorrow. They could have done something like The Inner Light regarding the dead civilization, making us feel the sorrow of cultural extinction, perhaps letting their civilization live on in some form.

Wasted potential - 2/10.
Set Bookmark
van zespleen
Thu, Jan 21, 2021, 4:44am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: The Impossible Box

hi Jamahl, been re-watching newly acquired dvds for ST:Picard.
Regarding your critique of Agnes - poor woman didnt have the wisdom of Picard to help her unpack her Maddox dilemma. I say she maybe wouldnt have been so hasty with Maddox's murder if Picard had been able to question her judgment, step by step, like he did with Raffi's erroneous accusations against Agnes & Soji.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Wed, Jan 20, 2021, 11:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Into the Fold

@ William B

It most definitely does grow a beard.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Wed, Jan 20, 2021, 5:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I found LD to be tedious and childish. (Case in point: the Blast Shield song). The CalArts character animation style doesn't help either, it looks like a 90s cartoon ad for Geico.

If the only Trek we're going to get from here out are subversive-imaginings that depend on gross-out humor and/or mindless action and/or gore, then why even call it Trek? I mean, I get that the franchise name has some cachet, but nonetheless, why make sequels so at odds with what came before? Why would they trade in a preexisting audience for chasing after a new one? It makes no sense, business-wise.

I do find it interesting that, with the acdvent of nu-Trek, market penetration for the franchise has gone in a negative direction. Through mismanagement, Trek is no longer considered a top franchise:

https://www.visualcapitalist.com/successful-media-franchises/

https://variety.com/2020/film/news/mandalorian-avengers-stranger-things-best-shows-1234835807/

Remember when Trek vs Star Wars was one of the big cultural divide questions? Remember when 15% of all Americans tuned into TNG every week? So much for that.

Getting beat by The Witcher, Hamilton and Coco is pathetic.
Set Bookmark
David Staum
Mon, Jan 18, 2021, 11:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: Trek Films S3: Star Trek (2009)

I originally wrote this review on my blog in 2009. Thought I'd post it here and see if anyone agrees or disagrees with my take

-----------------------------

This was a great movie. Excitement, special effects, great dialogue, great characters, some good humor. Great, that is, if you’ve never heard of Star Trek before. But if you’re a long time fan, as I am, it’s hard to separate the Star Trek universe from the bright & shiny new movie.

Casting: Supporting characters: excellent!

Each of them brought a newness to the role, and didn’t copy the original actors, but still channeled the essence of the characters we’ve come to love.

Special mention goes to Karl Urban as McCoy and Simon Pegg as Scotty. Both were pitch perfect in their roles from the moment of their first appearance onscreen. Anton Yelchin as Chekov was one note, played mostly for his humorous earnestness, but that one note was hit perfectly.

John Cho, as Sulu, didn’t really evoke George Takei much other than his enthusiasm, but he fit into the cast well and had some great action scenes. Zoe Saldana didn’t even try to be another Nichelle Nichols. And why should she? In the original Trek, Uhura was docile and was just a glorified telephone operator. But they wanted to update the role and bravo for trying. So why, after a good start, did they relegate her to the role of Spock’s arm candy?

I was a little disappointed in Zachary Quinto as Spock. He’s a decent actor and played the numerous scenes he was given fairly well, but couldn’t quite shake the feeling that Sylar, from Heroes, was hiding behind that calm expression.

And Chris Pine as Kirk? Well, no one could ever fill William Shatner’s hammy shoes, and no one should even try. But as a fan of original Trek, it was hard to see anyone else in the role. Plus he seemed too young.

The special effects and action sequences were amazing! If you’ve seen it, you know what I mean.

Now, what was up with the relationship between Spock & Uhura? I guess I could swallow it, but there was one big “huh???” moment when watching the movie. I just don’t see that it added anything. And, as I mentioned above, it sidelined Uhura into a man’s woman. And there were no other women, unless you count the sexy green girl Kirk was in bed with early in the film (nice touch!) But why couldn’t they have nurse Chapel? Or Yeoman Rand?

The story was pretty good, with one big problem that I’ll get to in a moment. But the scene changes between comedy and intense, emotionally fraught action, were a little abrupt. Considering the seriousness of what was going on, I couldn’t really enjoy Scotty materializing inside the water tubes as much as I would have otherwise. Speaking of those water tubes, it reminded me of the scene in Galaxy Quest, where Sigourney Weaver complains loudly about the smashing hammers they have to jump through, saying: “What is this thing!? I mean, it serves no useful purpose for there to be a bunch of chompy, crushy things in the middle of a hallway! No, I mean we shouldn't have to do this, it makes no logical sense, why is it here!?” and Tim Allen answers “Cause it's on the television show”

Nero was a pretty good villain, albeit one dimensional. But his desire for revenge on Spock seemed somewhat arbitrary. Yes, sometimes things happen that way, but given the lengthy exposition of the origins of Spock & Kirk, you’d think they could spend a few minutes making Nero’s lust for revenge a little more plausible.

There were some major illogical leaps, like old Spock standing on a planet and seeing Vulcan be destroyed. How close was that planet to Vulcan, so that Vulcan would be several times the size of our moon as seen from Earth? It seems like the science was very weak. The movie just assumes that an audience coming to see a sci-fi movie would expect there to be a time portal inside a black hole, so doesn’t bother to explain. And that something labeled “red matter” can collapse a planet. Again, no explanation of what “red matter” is. The science on original Trek was pretty flimsy too, but at least they made up some silly dialogue to explain it. On the other hand, the audiences today have seen enough sci-fi to fill in the blanks, so maybe this isn’t such a big deal. So I’ll go ahead to my biggest issue of the movie.

VULCAN IS DESTROYED! AND ISN’T RESTORED!

There’s a scene where Spock is explaining to the bridge officers that since Nero changed the past, what Nero experienced is no longer relevant and the future belongs to whatever they do. They are not beholden to what others may know about the future. That was directed straight at the audience. So we are told by JJ Abrams; “Hey, we can do what we want. We’re not beholden to what you fans think you know about the Star Trek universe.”

Still. Destroying Vulcan? Vulcan is so much a part of the world of the federation. As some other reviewer I saw online pointed out, it’s not like Aalderan in Star Wars, a planet with no real emotional resonance to the viewers. But Vulcan? Leaving the surviving Vulcans an endangered species? How can you have Star Trek without Vulcan in it?

This is more than just sentimental. It affected my viewing experience of the movie deeply. First of all, after such an emotionally wrenching and apocalyptic event, it was hard to enjoy the humorous scenes. But more than that, from that point on, I was assuming, or at least deeply hoping, that time would be reversed and Vulcan would be restored. So in those climactic scenes near the end, where the Enterprise is being pulled into the black hole, I was rooting against them! I was hoping that they would be destroyed, and all of the red matter’s destruction would set the timeline to back to the way it was supposed to be. Ditto for the scene just before that, with Spock’s taking the ship with the red matter on a collision course with the (bizarre looking) Romulan vessel. So when the Enterprise finally emerged from what I presume was supposed to be the event horizon of the black hole (never mind the scientific inaccuracy of that), my heart fell, obviously the opposite feeling than what the moviemakers intended.

Maybe the next movie will be subtitled “The Search For Vulcan”. Hey, they brought back Spock from the dead. Maybe they can bring back his whole planet!
Set Bookmark
vanzespleen
Mon, Jan 18, 2021, 8:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Only just got to watch ST:Picard series 1 on dvd past week. Loved Remembrance, Nepenthe, and Picard's last goodbye to Data (season 1 finale). All in all, a great intro to Picard's new motley crew; but here's hoping to see all the other ST characters & much loved veteran actors in the next 12 seasons (and why not, Midsomer Murders still going strong, decades old, like you).
Engage!
Set Bookmark
HaveGun_WillRiker
Mon, Jan 18, 2021, 1:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Hot Take - Jammer's time would've been better spent watching Lower Decks than S3 of Discovery. At least LD has heart :/
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sun, Jan 17, 2021, 12:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

For realistic interpersonal drama in Golden Age Scifi, I'm most partial to Frederick Pohl and James Tiptree, Jr.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Jan 16, 2021, 11:39am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@ Bob

The episode where time runs backwards is pretty good too. The science doesn't make 100% sense, but it's still more realistic than the Spore Drive.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Jan 16, 2021, 11:10am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

^

I watched Yesteryear for the first time in a decade and it's shocking how much more depth and narrative cohesion the 70's cartoon has in comparison to Nu-Trek.
Set Bookmark
Steve B.
Sat, Jan 16, 2021, 9:33am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Marauders

Why is it, that Enterprise & Voyager often come across as inferior knockoffs of the strong Star Trek series (to wit, in order of relative excellence TNG, DS9 & TOS) that preceded it rather than sister series in the Star Trek Universe? Oh, I forget myself. This episode is just another bland offering from the creative leadership team of Berman & Braga.
Set Bookmark
The River Temarc
Sat, Jan 16, 2021, 1:58am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part I

"Indeed, if I may speculate a little outside the four corners of the story, I think that Riker would have to be something of a celebrity in Starfleet due to his defeating the Borg. Knowing what I know about Jellico, his disdain for Riker could be driven by a degree of professional jealosy, which would be made worse by Riker's loose obeisance to Starfleet protocal and his personal charisma."

That's always been *exactly* my read, or at least half of it, on the Jellico-Riker relationship. (Remember how Captain Maxwell greeted Riker in season 4 -- "we all owe you for that one.")

But the other half? There's a further layer of complexity here: Jellico is an expert on the Cardassians. Riker isn't. Riker may well think he's entitled to succeed Picard based on his Borg mission, and perhaps based on his defeat of the Romulans in "Unification," but Romulan strategy isn't Cardassian strategy, and Romuland tactics aren't Cardassian tactics. Riker thinks his strengths are transferrable to any fill-in-the-blank adversary, and they're not.

So while Jellico is envious of Riker, the reciprocal point is also true.

I've often thought that the final episode of ENT should have taken place during "Chain of Command," rather than "The Pegasus," for precisely this reason. It would have given Riker the chance to consider that Jellico had domain expertise that he, Riker, lacks. Archer learned that the paternalistic Vulcans may have sometimes had a point and that T'Pol's counsel was wise, not patrionizing. This ultimately helped Riker to agree to pilot the shuttle laying the mines.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 5:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@ Booming

She can't be President for 11 years.

The maximum time a President is allowed to serve is 9 years and 364 days (and that's only if a VP takes over with less than 2 years to go into the end of the term and then wins two more times).
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 5:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Neutral Zone

@Bob
>... why wasn't the first and immediate action to run the thawed out people through a crash course in history from the 20th century to the 24th?

I would have thought the first thing to do would be to explain where the bathrooms are and how to use them. They would have never seen the 3 seashells.
Set Bookmark
Steve
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 3:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

Love your reviews, and visit the site often. On this one I must disagree. Not perfect, but with some terrific low-key humour and a few touching moments. Three stars.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Jan 14, 2021, 11:42am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@ Gray

Why is censoring other's thoughts considered okay nowadays?

Your personal offense is not the barometer by which everyone else must be judged.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Wed, Jan 13, 2021, 8:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@ Patrick

They filmed six episodes before the first lockdown and came back and filmed another month before the XMas shutdown (which has been delayed by a week).

Despite your protestations of doom and gloom, it'll be back on screens by summer.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Wed, Jan 13, 2021, 7:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@ Patrick

Huh?

Sorry to burst your bubble, but they are finishing filming the third season of The Orville right now (after Corona delays) and it should be coming out on Hulu in a few months. They have a bigger budget than ever before and every episode will be almost an hour in length, if not longer.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Wed, Jan 13, 2021, 2:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I must point out that the Orville has managed to lay the groundwork for an entire scifi universe and juggle several arcs while also telling a bunch of standalone Trekkish stories and they managed to do that in only 26 episodes (2 seasons).

Discovery has failed. It's as simple as that.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Wed, Jan 13, 2021, 1:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Business as Usual

Quark argues to Jadzia for the balance of power to ensure peace, something Kirk did in TOS 2x16 A Private Little War, but the moral perspective was quite different. Having Lawrence Tierney from Reservoir Dogs was a nice touch.

Exploring Quark's conscience made for good character development but this episode didn't have much substance. Still, it's probably one of the best of DS9's Ferengi focused episodes. Overall an average episode - 4/10.
Set Bookmark
dave
Tue, Jan 12, 2021, 10:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

To whomever said this in the thread somewhere..

Yes, an old Kelpian with a beard looks like Lorien. I had a chuckle when I first saw him :)
Next ►Page 1 of 271
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.