Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 6,223 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 249
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Jul 9, 2020, 3:34am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

Elie, bonjour!

Since you only ingest the biased drivel fed to you by the media, here's some hard mathematics. A fraction of a fraction of a percent of people in our country have been out on the streets. 99.9% of the 330 million people in or population have went about their daily lives and not participated.

I seem to recall quite a few nationwide French street riot/protests in the last decade hat involved a much larger percent of the populace .... and plenty of destruction.

Going by your standard, France might as well be considered Thunderdome.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Wed, Jul 8, 2020, 4:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: 'Til Death Do Us Part

And as far as Sisko goes, he's worked with and lived with these people for six years. Perhaps the time could have been better utilized by having Sisko recognize that his coworkers were his friends ...

.... and also, Sisko has a son.l and Jake is barely seem in the last season. Their relationship was basically an afterthought and that's unfortunate.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Wed, Jul 8, 2020, 4:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: 'Til Death Do Us Part

This is my third time watching the series through.... I watched it when it aired and then about 8 years ago I watched out again (skipping the bad episodes like "Profit and Lace").

I'm truly stunned how much screentime Ezri got and how unessential to the plot most of it actually is. She's a superfluous character at a time when the show should have been wrapping up plot lines.

(*coughBajorInTheFederationcough*)
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Wed, Jul 8, 2020, 2:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Unforgettable

@Leif
>Do people agree with that at least that the episode wasn't derivative?

I think this episode shares similarities with TNG 4x14 "Clues". I only gave this episode a 3/10 but don't have notes explaining why.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Wed, Jul 8, 2020, 2:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: 'Til Death Do Us Part

There's WAY too much Ezri in Season 7. I like the actress, don't get me wrong, but boy did they squander time by focusing on her character so much.

I fast forward through her scenes ... so far upon rewatch, I don't seem to have missed much plotwise.

They should've killed off the symbiote and not bothered introducing a whole new main cast character this late in the game. What a waste.
Set Bookmark
Eric Saavedra
Tue, Jul 7, 2020, 7:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

Worf really got on my nerves in this one, especially in the Dr Bashir scene. Seriously, why isn’t this guy ever charged with assault and removed from Starfleet. It’s not the first time he puts his hands on a fellow officer. Everyone always tries to appease Worf and and all the Klingons. In fact, I hate the Klingons. The only one I liked was Martok, and even he got my nerves occasionally.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Tue, Jul 7, 2020, 6:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

I don't see how any of these episodes could have happened both to Voyager and the copy.

The other Voyager didn't follow the same path for 99% of their journey (because we heard about a bunch of interesting different adventures that the dupe crew had that our crew didn't).

They didn't leave at the same time. They probably didn't even leave from the same place nor at the same speed. This isn't alternate universes, after all.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Tue, Jul 7, 2020, 6:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

Would anyone like to theorize which episodes between "Demon" and "Course: Oblivion" actually happened to the doomed/cloned Voyager crew?
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Tue, Jul 7, 2020, 3:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

To throw in my two cents:

Maurice Hurley made multiple sexual passes at Gates McFadden in the first season, and when she didn't reciprocate, he had her booted off the show for a season (until he left his role as producer). He viewed the workplace as a dating pool.

My personal feeling is that M.H. wrote this episode with that personal situation (and potentially others) in mind. In fact, It wouldn't surprise me if he got a perverse kick out of Gates McFadden having to read and film a script that handwaves away his personal behavior and attacks female "frigidity".
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Tue, Jul 7, 2020, 2:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

Does anyone else think Leah is a little young to have designed the Enterprise's engines? She only looks about 30 years old and the Enterprise had already been around for a few years before the episode "Booby Trap". I would have thought someone in their 60's would have designed the Galaxy Class engines. Is she supposed to be a genius like Wesley?
Set Bookmark
David A Korman
Sat, Jul 4, 2020, 1:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

The question of how the Doctor was duplicated, always bugged me. Btw Jammer, been reading your reviews since the beggining. I was 13...
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Jul 4, 2020, 12:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

I love Golden Age Sci-Fi and I also like accurate period pieces and I like thoughtful character studies that let the viewer walk a mile in someone else's shoes and I like seeing the cast stretch their acting muscles and I like seeing them without makeup (because some of the cast look so different in their human state that they might as well be guest actors) and I like that I'm not being preached at but I'm still being invited to contemplate a dark chapter in history and in human beings in general.

What's not to like?
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 10:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

Actually, all he had to do was say " Computer, reset physical parameters of Holo-Leah. Make her hideously unattractive and smelly. Resume program. "
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 10:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

@ Gerontius

Actually, all he had to say was "Holo-Leah, we only have a few hours until the ship is destroyed and all of us die. Could we focus on the crisis at hand?"

If holo-Leah balked, he could've easily instructed the computer to reset her personality subroutines back to their original state and told the computer to keep her interest firmly platonic.

It sure would've wasted less time than talking about her favorite pasta.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 6:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

You might be right, Josh.

I'm hoping you're not though, because you being correct means the creators of this new Trek show know so little about the franchise that they don't even know how a starship is supposed to function.

Are people supposed to take a turbolift through dense superheated nacelle plasma just to service the deflector? It's a moronic design.

PS ... they can't even get the angles right in that drawing. It looks like the ship was left in the sun too long and it started to warp (no pun intended)
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 6:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

@ Peter G.

It's hilarious you said that because I think of this as TNG's "Tuvix".
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 5:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

If you find a wallet on the ground and keep it, it's a crime of opportunity. You didn't set out to rob anyone, but you're still taking advantage of the situation for your own benefit.

This is literally no different.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 5:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

It doesn't matter if Geordi intentionally created her or not.

Over a thousand lives were at risk and Geordi allowed the program to distract him with needless personal asides that ate up precious time. Any Starfleet officer wirth their salt would've told the computer to knock off the romantic stuff. But Geordi didn't .... and he even made sure to go back (once the emergency was done) to see her holo-duplicate once again and kiss her.

And once the emergency had passed? Did Geordi delete the program?

Just because he didn't create the program doesn't mean he didn't take advantage of it (and her).
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 5:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

Also, are we supposed to believe that Geordi remembered she loves fungili a year and a half later?

Obviously Geordi reran the program to brush up on her personal details.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 4:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

Geordi had a facsimile of her saved in the computer: a copy that was made without her consent in which Geordi engaged romantically. He didn't just "delve into her personal history".
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 4:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

* Geordi
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 12:51am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Parallels

I can tell you that I personally was annoyed that they felt the need to pair off Troi and Worf (who have no sexual chemistry) in the very last season instead of giving the audience some payoff with Troi and Riker.

Since I'm admitting things, in retrospect I dislike how (over the course of TNG and DS9) the writers toned down Worf's different nature and portrayed him more like a prissy human samurai than a truly alien being. I personally prefer TNG Season 1-4 Worf over his later incarnation.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 12:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Also, WHY did they put lens flare in that teaser art?!?! It looks completely incongruous with the way it's drawn.

They're literally trolling the fandom at this point.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 12:35am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I think the arrow is supposed to represent movement, i.e. the ship in flight ... but it's really not animated very well, is it?

Looks like something done with Flash animation, to be honest.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 12:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Link to the new starship design:

https://www.yahoo.com/entertainment/star-trek-lower-decks-gets-164500233.html

@ Josh

The lower section doesn't just exist for the deflector dish ... that's where engineering and the "lower deck" crew quarters are located.
Next ►Page 1 of 249
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.