Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 100 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Tue, May 8, 2018, 9:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Three and half stars..

Damn right.

I've only seen it once, but it is excellent.
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Wed, Feb 14, 2018, 9:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

My suggestion on a review project:

Review South Park, all episodes.
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Tue, Jan 30, 2018, 8:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

Jammer,

Will you do a Season 1 recap on The Orville?
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Tue, Jan 23, 2018, 8:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

Jammer,

How is your experience with CBS AA lately?
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 9:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

Actually, I stand corrected. If i remember correctly, on DS9 and TNG there might have been advertisements before the preview of next week's episodes
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 9:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

This series is so different from the other Treks--for example, we get a commercial (well, I do) before the "Next time on Star Trek Discovery".

This episode revealed what I (and all of you) already suspected. I plan to watch the series from the beginning again once the season is over now that we know about Lorca.

It is also likely the shortest live-action episode of all of Star Trek.

I would like to see more Mirror-Stamets.

Light sensitivity? Sure, why not.

I read 2019 for season 2. I would love to see the subscriber numbers for CBS AA from the end of Season 1 until the beginning of Season 2. Probably zero subscribers.

Not much to say about this one, besides the reveal. It continues the show's stories and links the previous episode with the next.

Jammer will likely score this one **1/2



Set Bookmark
Troy
Tue, Jan 16, 2018, 9:28am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

@Hank- We know why the Klingons were given a makeover. It was to hide Shazad Latif so the viewer wouldn't know that Ash Tyler was Voq. So basically, the aesthetic established for 40 odd years is destroyed so the audience is tricked (even though most of us weren't) into being 'shocked' by what turns out to be an utterly pointless plot twist.
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Mon, Jan 15, 2018, 6:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

****

Tense, nail-biting, suspenseful, gripping...perhaps some of you believe Trek shouldn't be any of those things, but this is what we got.

When Tyler was about to lose it in the presence of Mirror-Voq, I was silently screaming, "Oh, God, don't blow this, Tyler!".

I've only seen the episode once, but my only quibble is the "execution" of Tyler. How far away are the two ships? How did Burnham get the message to Discovery that Tyler would be beamed into space and to be ready to beam him back? Perhaps somebody can help me with this.

For anyone who cares, I don't readily compare Discovery to previous Trek series. I compare it to the recent JJ Abrams Trek films. I find DSC to be more satisfying.
Set Bookmark
Troy
Fri, Dec 1, 2017, 6:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: New Dimensions

This episode started off so well. And it ended OK.

But the techno-babble solutions offered by LeMarr to save the ship reminded me that "The Orville" is more like "Voyager" and less like "TNG".

I also would have appreciated a clue that LeMarr is intellectually gifted in a previous episode than to present this information in the same episode in which he is promoted to Chief Engineer.

This is step one in the USS Orville's process to mirror the crew of the USS Enterprise D. Next Kitan must be killed and replaced by Bortus and then Dr Flynn will need to leave the Orville for a year and then return.
Set Bookmark
Troy
Sun, Nov 26, 2017, 2:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Worst Case Scenario

Fun episode, but I can't get past why the Cardassian spy, Seska, would exact revenge on Tuvok. According to Torres, she opened the file and altered it about a month before she left Voyager. So either she stumbled across it like Torres did, or knew about before she left. In any case, she had enough animosity toward Federation spy Tuvok to alter Insurrection Alpha and punish Tuvok in the event that he would revisit the program.

Did she develop empathy towards the Maquis? Possibly. She had spent so much time with them and she may have picked up some of the anti-Federation attitudes of the Maquis. But this was directed at Tuvok for betraying the Maquis.

The writers of this episode didn't follow logic. According to "The Dictates of Poetics" by T'Hain of Vulcan, a character's actions must flow inexorably from his or her established traits. It makes no sense why Seska would exact revenge on Tuvok

UNLESS...

She was a sleeper agent who had forgotten or not yet aware she was Cardassian. I'm not about to go back and watch Seska episodes to find out, but I will take this opportunity to say that the holodeck is a death trap; it can replicate working phasers, nitric acid, holographic characters with super-human strengths (the Doctor, in this episode and others) and a power grid that can overload and blow up. Starships seems to be safer back when recreation was limited to playing cards, lutes, and singing.
Set Bookmark
Troy
Sun, Nov 19, 2017, 8:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

"This episode of the Orville reminds me of the episode of ________ except for_______"
We get that a lot on this site.

This episode of the Orville reminds me of the TNG episode "Remember Me". Like Remember Me everything is back to normal in the end, so what we are left with is character development, which is the best I can say for this episode.

The ending didn't work for me, though. "I'm going to test my meddle in the Holodeck with implausible scenarios but, I want to think its real so wipe my memory so I can't remember i'm in a simulation. Thanks doctor. Now computer, execute Order 38 so that nobody can interrupt it."

So in the end, Kitan is stronger for it. But we had to put up with scenario after scenario that we know aren't real, that would have gone on indefinitely had Mercer not stopped it.



Set Bookmark
Troy
Fri, Nov 17, 2017, 7:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

@Jammer

We waited 3 years for a review on Star Trek Into Darkness and 18 years for reviews for TNG, we can wait a week or so for a review on an ambitious but flawed episode of The Orville

My review is pending, look for it in about an hour.
Set Bookmark
Troy
Tue, Nov 14, 2017, 6:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Emissary

Troy's Mini-review

I was 14 when DS9 premiered, and I have seen the series in its entirety 3 times; during its first run, when I was 24 (with my mother, who liked TNG and i wanted her to experience DS9) and this year (2017)

Emissary: A strong pilot, not a strong episode.
Set Bookmark
Troy
Tue, Nov 14, 2017, 6:18am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

Jammer,
CBS AA works just fine on my Roku and my web browser. The picture is pristine, with no buffering. Closed captioning in early episodes didn’t always work reliably, but that seems to be resolved now.

Set Bookmark
Troy
Mon, Nov 13, 2017, 7:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

@Skorch

Somebody above mentioned it before me. I was just confirming it :-)
Set Bookmark
Troy
Mon, Nov 13, 2017, 6:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

I paused it. Just before Lorca says “Let’s go home” he punches in coordinates for the next jump. His screen says
OVERRIDE—LORCA,G
SPORE-JUMP 133–UNKNOWN
Either he input the wrong coordinates by mistake or it was deliberate.
Set Bookmark
Troy
Sun, Nov 12, 2017, 8:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

This episode makes me eager for the next--that's a good thing.

So where is Discovery?

Did they jump into the starbase and thus blow it up? Is that starbase debris?

Something the Borg destoyed?

An alien junkyard?

The Prime Universe? I'm not yet convinced this series takes place in the Prime Universe. I can't imagine that the JJ Abrams movie got pre-TOS right (USS Kelvin)
and this series gets the uniforms and tech wrong and it still be in the Prime Universe. A reveal that this takes place in an alternate universe will alleviate much of my concerns about the show and its spore drive.
Set Bookmark
Troy Gravitt
Fri, Nov 10, 2017, 7:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Cupid's Dagger

IN MY HONEST OPINION:

Best Orville episode yet.

Listen folks, "The Orville" is NOT Star Trek. All it is (and what I believe it should strive to be) is a breezy, funny, and entertaining weekly action show which uses TNG as a template.

That isn't to say that it can't break it's own mold and become a fairly straight Rick Berman Star Trek clone someday, and a new character, new writer/producer, new idea might inspire the show to evolve into that direction, but so far I say this show works best when it doesn't take itself seriously.

Take last week's "Into the Fold", for example; a fairly straight Rick Berman Star Trek clone that is barely better than the worst episodes of Voyager or of Enterprise. This episode was at its best when it tried to be funny (the comic timing of the "glory hole" joke, Isaac's "vaporise" line) and at its worst when it tried to be anything else. After seeing this nadir in Brannon Braga's writing career I felt concerned for Orville's future.

And then "Cupid's Dagger" showed me what The Orville can be at its best; a breezy, funny, entertaining episode that uses TNG as a template so that we Trekkies can latch onto something which is familiar (the ready-room, the bridge, replicators, turbolifts, sickbay, grey spaceship, etc) and simply focus on the story without exposition needing to explain the tech or setting.

The Bortis/karoake scene; hilarious. The elevator scenes; irreverant. The entire episode's tone is just what it needed to be. Did you really want to watch an episode of the Orville simply dealing with peace negotiations? Deep Space Nine knew you didn't, that's why "The Storyteller" gave us the wrinkle of the teenage girl (and speaking of DS9, "Cupid's Dagger" is a better episode than "Fascination", I hope you agree).



Set Bookmark
Troy
Sun, Nov 5, 2017, 8:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

Sometimes, Discovery is clumsy. I couldn't follow most of what happened on the Klingon ship. I am having a hard time following most of what happens with the Klingons on this show. Perhaps when the first half of the season ends, i'll understand more when i watch the series from the beginning.

A few points and questions I would like to make that perhaps you can help me out with:

Bryan Fuller left the series at some point during production, and with it, his direct influence (if I understand it all correctly). If so, at what point does this begin to be apparent? Did he leave before any of the show was produced? Or was it in the middle? Did his vision begin with Context is for Kings? or with The Vulcan Hello/Battle at the Binary Stars?

I remember reading how Majel Barrett recorded her voice phonetically in a manner similar for Siri, etc. so that we can hear her as the computer voice. So far, it hasn't been used.

I'm glad the producers on Discovery turned down Jason Isaacs "Git R Dun" catch-phrase he wanted to use for Lorca. I hope the reason was not because it was copywrited by Larry the Cable Guy, but because it was stupid.

Axanar. I have a friend whose experience with Star Trek consists of the Abrams films (which she thought were entertaining), The Cage (which she said was sexist, old fashioned, and boring), VOY's Message in a Bottle (also boring), and TNG's Samaritan Snare (stupid to the point that she couldn't believe that TNG was so highly regarded). Yet, when Axanar was cancelled because Paramount had effectively put an end to such fan films, she theorized that the new Star Trek series being planned (Discovery) might have a similar plot and thus Axanar's success might be a threat to CBS. Any thoughts?

As for tonight's episode, it was good until the Klingons showed up.
Set Bookmark
Troy
Fri, Nov 3, 2017, 8:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Into the Fold

DING! The microwave is done. This episode of Star Trek: Voyager is reheated. Still lukewarm, though.
Set Bookmark
Troy
Sun, Oct 29, 2017, 8:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad

Did Discovery just deliver a good episode? I think so.
Set Bookmark
Troy
Mon, Oct 23, 2017, 7:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

My thoughts:
This Sarek does not resemble Mark Lenard’s portrayal. Sarek in 2009 Star Trek was closer.

CBS All Access has no problems playing using my Roku. The Closed Captions don’t always work.

The holograms might not be as sophisticated as they are in the 24th Century. The Klingon holograms might be just visual holograms, not something that is tangible, or to be placed inside of a body cavity to be used as lungs.
Set Bookmark
Troy
Thu, Oct 5, 2017, 8:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Pria

Very good episode
Set Bookmark
Troy
Sun, Oct 1, 2017, 10:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

Is it just me or is the dialogue on these Discovery episodes difficult to understand? I'm 38 with decent speakers and find myself using the (broken) closed captioning because the sound mix is off


Set Bookmark
Troy
Tue, Sep 19, 2017, 8:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Command Performance

This show needs a breakthrough character or performance; something like Voyager's EMH. My father didn't care for TNG or DS9 but found the snarky EMH entertaining enough to return to Voyager week after week.
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.