Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 120 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Sat, Feb 16, 2019, 6:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Deflectors

Lynos,

I don't remember him choking on his soup. Perhaps I need to watch it again, too
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Sat, Feb 16, 2019, 2:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Deflectors

Lynos,

About Klyden's suspicion; watch his demeanor as he was asking Lokar about his current relationship status (So, do you have a mate, Lokar?). He either is smug, or suspects something
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Fri, Feb 15, 2019, 9:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Deflectors

Some other points I would like to make:

--The brig set looks like it was taken straight off of TNG. "Q Who", "The Pegasus", and "Deflectors". Same brig set.

--Jammer faulted the ship's interior set design as looking "too clean", but to me USS Orville seems to be a very pleasant place to work and live.

--Would Lokar had been as attracted to Alara? Would she had handled the situation as well?

--I learned enough about...Not-Alara in this episode to know she really is not Alara.
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Fri, Feb 15, 2019, 9:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Deflectors

I think we finally have it; The Orville's first ***1/2 episode!

The talking flower looked fake, though.

Set Bookmark
Troy G
Sat, Feb 2, 2019, 1:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: A Happy Refrain

I want to say that I appreciate The Orville's longer run-times. There are plenty of episodes of the Trek franchise that would have benefit from another 5 minutes.
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Sat, Feb 2, 2019, 9:33am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: A Happy Refrain

Say, where's Dougie? We need to know what he thinks.

No Orville discussion is complete without Dougie
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Thu, Jan 31, 2019, 9:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: A Happy Refrain

*hear. Damn pre-"edit post" 90s tech
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Thu, Jan 31, 2019, 9:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: A Happy Refrain

SlackerInc, was it Isaac putting his hand out to say, "I only want to heat from Lt Lamarr"?
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Thu, Jan 31, 2019, 9:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: A Happy Refrain

This episode made me cringe throughout most of it.

I appreciated seeing Bortus' moustache, Norm MacDonald, and the actor who plays Isaac, and Cheif Engineer's (can't remember names) suggestion on how to break up with Dr Kasidy Yates proved to be hilarious.

But I had a hard time getting through this episode because I had a hard time getting past the Doctor's infatuation with Isaac. Perhaps I'm not very enlightened.

Having said all that, I feel this episode was executed well enough.
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Sun, Jan 27, 2019, 12:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

Jammer's review described a one-star episode
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Fri, Jan 25, 2019, 10:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: New Eden

Outstanding

Perhaps less so when I watch it again, but on first blush this is Star Trek Discovery's best episode
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Fri, Jan 25, 2019, 8:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

One thing I can say about The Orville; it opens up plenty of debate. Even bad episodes like this.

(I'm the same Troy from above, I just forgot to add the G. There is another Troy who frequents here and I don't want to confuse)
Set Bookmark
Troy
Thu, Jan 24, 2019, 9:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

TNG's " First Contact" it ain't. Whoa.

This episode plays it straighter than any previous episode of the Orville, and it may be the worst so far.

If The Orville borrows and steals from Star Trek, then its approach to first contact is its biggest departure.

I knew from the first scene that this episode was going to be influenced by TNG's First Contact, so perhaps I, too, am influenced; but reacting to any old, "Anybody out there?" message and thusly meeting a civilization without knowing ANYTHING about that civilization is foolish.

And then the Admiralty tells Mercer that nothing can be done because it's their custom? Nope, I don't buy it.

Filling in the constellation with a false star solved the problem of this society fast , didn't it? These folks sure do know their constellations.

I could go on but I'm using my phone to type.

It seems The Orville gets dumb when it tries to be smart.
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Thu, Jan 17, 2019, 9:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

Visually, this episode was better than anything previously released with the Star Trek name.
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Thu, Jan 17, 2019, 8:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Nothing Left on Earth Excepting Fishes

I could find no fault with this episode. Quite good
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Sun, Jan 6, 2019, 4:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Primal Urges

I've stated in previous comments that The Orville isn't Star Trek and thus I don't take it very seriously. I enjoy cute episodes such as Cupid's Dagger and Jaloja. But when The Orville plays it straight and presents a dramatic science-fiction story, such as Primal Urges, it asks me to take it seriously. So I do and the mistakes can be glaring.

The rescue contains my biggest problem with this episode:

1. The shuttle needs to be beefed up to resist the star's gravity. Is that so? Does USS Orville, which is not much bigger (comparatively speaking) escape the gravitational pull easier than the shuttle? And how do deflectors help? They create anti-gravity? If they work that way then I don't remember that being explained.

2. The shuttle can carry just 30 people? Why is this? There aren't 30 seats. Are there load limits to the shuttle? Will 31 individuals keep it from taking off? Perhaps these people weigh less than other humanoids. Or weigh more. If it's just a matter of space then cram those 75 people in. They'll fit.

3. "The ____seconds/minutes/hours until____!" nonsense. I understand this is TV and that there is only so much time to show or to explain a given crisis, but condensing it down to a very specific time had been done too much before on other Trek shows and it never was the best idea to begin with.

If The Orville wants to give Trek fans "nostalgia" then perhaps it has succeeded. But I don't pine for more mediocre Voyager.

There are good bits I liked. The visuals were great. They made the 10 year old 720p 26" Dynex TV (not the best) I happened to be watching it on look great (I did calibrate it, but, still...)

I want to see more interaction between Isaac and Bortus.

I also liked that the first alien species the planet's inhabitants see do not resemble them, but are instead Isaac and Bortus.

Watching Lt Unk poke the console in front of him with his big claws is amusing.

And so on. Now, time to read Jammer's review. Hope it's a long one!
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Wed, Jan 2, 2019, 4:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

This episode was longer than the others. I'm OK with that. Nothing rushed, nothing condensed. Some episodes of Enterprise would have benefitted by bring longer.
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Mon, Dec 31, 2018, 6:12am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

Here's why this episode was a success:

I watched this with a woman (she and i are both on the edge of 40, if it matters) who; had never seen The Orville before, hadn't heard if it, isn't familiar with Seth McFarlane, doesn't know Star Trek from Star Wars, couldn't care less. And she laughed her head off.

She seemed eager to watch more so we began season one from the beginning and watched the first three episodes. She liked those, too.

The Orville, which is NOT Star Trek and NOT real science fiction, can deliver more if these funny character driven episodes and I'll be happy.
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Sun, Dec 30, 2018, 8:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

Very good. Promising start of the season. ***
Set Bookmark
Daimon ThotDestroyer
Sun, Oct 14, 2018, 12:29am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Price

People who think this episode is a scathing indictment of contemporary sexual culture is probably getting too grey to acknowledge their own mounting senility. While some radicals might have outrage to sell (as radicals are want to do from either position) I doubt anyone at large would consider Matt's character as rapey. We know he's no Kavanaugh. The scenes were gross, but in a bad softcore porn and sickeningly cheesy way not in a conspiracy against third wave feminism way. Quit begging the question you unwashed nerds. The episode was bad in its own right no need to insinuate more. They wouldn't even get Ferengi right until DS9.
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Tue, May 8, 2018, 9:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Three and half stars..

Damn right.

I've only seen it once, but it is excellent.
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Wed, Feb 14, 2018, 9:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

My suggestion on a review project:

Review South Park, all episodes.
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Tue, Jan 30, 2018, 8:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

Jammer,

Will you do a Season 1 recap on The Orville?
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Tue, Jan 23, 2018, 8:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

Jammer,

How is your experience with CBS AA lately?
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 9:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

Actually, I stand corrected. If i remember correctly, on DS9 and TNG there might have been advertisements before the preview of next week's episodes
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.