Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 129 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 6
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Mon, Mar 25, 2019, 7:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

Jammer,

Question: I know you read the comments before posting a review, but do any of the comments influence your review before you write it?
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Fri, Mar 22, 2019, 6:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

SlackerInc,

Jammer's star ratings dilemma was mentioned in the most recent review of the certain television series which we don't mention in The Orville comments.

I repeated it here because I (perhaps erroneously) felt it was a natural extension of my brief review of this Orville episode.

I also (perhaps erroneously) believed all who watch-- and comment-- on The Orville also watch and comment on STD-- I mean, the other show.

My point with the ratings is; Four Stars with half stars gradations is sufficient, and personally rating an episode a 2.7 or a 3.8 or whatever super-fine and super-specific number is unnecessary. *, **, ***, **** and half stars is good enough.

The end.
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Thu, Mar 21, 2019, 9:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

Very very good. Funny, moving, and sharp. 3.3721 stars.

At first I it seemed it would be a Booby Trap or a Barclay type episode, but it was better than most of those. The nicotine addiction was great, and was a natural extension of time-capsule plot.

A note to Jammer and those who believe the Four-Star rating scale doesn't have enough gradation: from "zero stars" to ****, this is really a 9 point scale. I've noticed a few comments to the effect of, "I'll give this a 3.8, but this scale uses half points." Really? a 3.5 or a 3.8--What is the difference?

Jammer, if you are considering either a 3 or a 3.5 for episode, give it the lower score. Discovery and The Orville are young series and a later season could deliver a truly amazing episode and make an early *** 1/2 or **** episode seem not as good.
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Thu, Mar 21, 2019, 1:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

I watched the episode on Tuesday and then checked the comments. I wondered, "Why are there so many comments already? I bet it's Dougie vs Everybody else, again." But it's this guy, Gil.

Man, this guy Gil.
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Thu, Mar 21, 2019, 1:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

I watched the episode on Tuesday and then checked the comments. I wondered, "Why are there so many comments already? I bet it's Dougie vs Everybody else, again." But it's this guy, Gil.

Man, this guy Gil.
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Sat, Mar 9, 2019, 11:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Blood of Patriots

Earlier I stated that i feel this episode is excellent. Others have pointed out that it is quite similar to DS9's Past Prologue, a reasonably fine episode. And, as I recall PP I will concede that they are similar; the two episodes share many of the same scenes and conflicts. But the big difference is Kira and Malloy are two different characters, so it wasn't very apparent when I watched Blood of Patriots.
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Thu, Mar 7, 2019, 9:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Blood of Patriots

Wow, where did this episode come from?

"Blood of Patriots" is excellent! Four stars? Maybe.

I've seen far worse Voyager, Enterprise, and Discovery episodes. Maybe TNG, even.

I could nitpick but there were so many little details and touches that make this episode succeed. Gordon's trepidation as he begins his space walk, the alien with nitro-glycerin blood, Mercer and Gordon in the end; it all works to make a solid episode.

I'm fine with episodes like this, just as long as The Orville doesn't forget to give us episodes like "Pria" and "Jaloja" every so often
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Sun, Mar 3, 2019, 7:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

This episode is *** at best, not ****, because of the following:

1. Deus ex Isaac. Isaac has a change of heart and disabled all the Kaylon, including himself. At least this didn't stop the invasion, but it did allow USS Orville to participate in the Battle of Wolf 359.

2. Mercer's comment to the Krill Captain, "So, you know this means we can be friends now, yeah?" is so damn desperate and inappropriate. Maybe he could have said that some other time. On the subject of the Krill, did they just go home after the battle? Did they meet leaders on Earth?


There was some good stuff though.

1. The destruction of USS Not-Orville. Good scene to show the Kaylon mean business

2. The airlock death. Good scene to show the Kaylon mean business.

3. The idea of asking the Krill for assistance.

4. Gordon's Avis joke made me laugh. I immediately imagined the following exchange:
GORDON: And their god is called Avis!
GREYSON: You mean, like the car rental company?
GORDON: Yes! And they spell it the same way!

5. Yaphit sacrificing himself to help save Ty.

6. The battle scene. Although, do ALL of the Union's ships look exactly like the USS Orville? I haven't seen a different design yet.

Good stuff, but it doesn't outweigh its too biggest flaws for me.

FIN
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Sun, Mar 3, 2019, 7:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

This is what I call a 'bridge' episode.

It merely forms a bridge from one episode to the next in Discovery's serialized story-telling.

I've just finished it, and I wouldn't be able to tell you much about what happened if i had to do so right now.

There's a time rift, Pike has to go in himself, for some reason (he's the most qualified; at what?). I must have missed the reason.

The Red Angel is from the future? Was this revealed in the previous episode? If it was, I must have missed it, unless it was when Saru scanned it with his eyeball. And if so, then that's ridiculous.

Pike and Tyler argue aboard the shuttle, I do remember a good bit where Pike threatens to throw Tyler in the brig. But keep it in mind its been over an hour since i watched it

Burnham zips on over to Vulcan in a shuttlecraft and tells her mother, "They HAVE to" do something, so they take him to Section 31, who strap him to a chair, Georgiou and Burnham stage an action scene, I mean, a fight, and MB and Spock escape on the shuttle and hide.

And is that how it ended? Or did it end on Discovery? Oh and Stamets beams over to the trapped-in-time shuttle because only he can.

I don't want to rip on this episode too much, but its just a blur of images. And Discovery does this too often. With the exception of the Harry Mudd Time Loop episode, only bits are memorable, not episodes. For example, Mirror Stamets uses his tricorder to count-down how long a personal shield bubble protecting him and others will last. For some reason, that scene stuck with me. Couldn't tell you what episode it belongs to.

And here with Light and Shadows a bunch of stuff happens and it ends.
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Sat, Feb 16, 2019, 6:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Deflectors

Lynos,

I don't remember him choking on his soup. Perhaps I need to watch it again, too
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Sat, Feb 16, 2019, 2:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Deflectors

Lynos,

About Klyden's suspicion; watch his demeanor as he was asking Lokar about his current relationship status (So, do you have a mate, Lokar?). He either is smug, or suspects something
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Fri, Feb 15, 2019, 9:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Deflectors

Some other points I would like to make:

--The brig set looks like it was taken straight off of TNG. "Q Who", "The Pegasus", and "Deflectors". Same brig set.

--Jammer faulted the ship's interior set design as looking "too clean", but to me USS Orville seems to be a very pleasant place to work and live.

--Would Lokar had been as attracted to Alara? Would she had handled the situation as well?

--I learned enough about...Not-Alara in this episode to know she really is not Alara.
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Fri, Feb 15, 2019, 9:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Deflectors

I think we finally have it; The Orville's first ***1/2 episode!

The talking flower looked fake, though.
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Sat, Feb 2, 2019, 1:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: A Happy Refrain

I want to say that I appreciate The Orville's longer run-times. There are plenty of episodes of the Trek franchise that would have benefit from another 5 minutes.
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Sat, Feb 2, 2019, 9:33am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: A Happy Refrain

Say, where's Dougie? We need to know what he thinks.

No Orville discussion is complete without Dougie
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Thu, Jan 31, 2019, 9:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: A Happy Refrain

*hear. Damn pre-"edit post" 90s tech
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Thu, Jan 31, 2019, 9:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: A Happy Refrain

SlackerInc, was it Isaac putting his hand out to say, "I only want to heat from Lt Lamarr"?
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Thu, Jan 31, 2019, 9:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: A Happy Refrain

This episode made me cringe throughout most of it.

I appreciated seeing Bortus' moustache, Norm MacDonald, and the actor who plays Isaac, and Cheif Engineer's (can't remember names) suggestion on how to break up with Dr Kasidy Yates proved to be hilarious.

But I had a hard time getting through this episode because I had a hard time getting past the Doctor's infatuation with Isaac. Perhaps I'm not very enlightened.

Having said all that, I feel this episode was executed well enough.
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Sun, Jan 27, 2019, 12:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

Jammer's review described a one-star episode
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Fri, Jan 25, 2019, 10:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: New Eden

Outstanding

Perhaps less so when I watch it again, but on first blush this is Star Trek Discovery's best episode
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Fri, Jan 25, 2019, 8:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

One thing I can say about The Orville; it opens up plenty of debate. Even bad episodes like this.

(I'm the same Troy from above, I just forgot to add the G. There is another Troy who frequents here and I don't want to confuse)
Set Bookmark
Troy
Thu, Jan 24, 2019, 9:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

TNG's " First Contact" it ain't. Whoa.

This episode plays it straighter than any previous episode of the Orville, and it may be the worst so far.

If The Orville borrows and steals from Star Trek, then its approach to first contact is its biggest departure.

I knew from the first scene that this episode was going to be influenced by TNG's First Contact, so perhaps I, too, am influenced; but reacting to any old, "Anybody out there?" message and thusly meeting a civilization without knowing ANYTHING about that civilization is foolish.

And then the Admiralty tells Mercer that nothing can be done because it's their custom? Nope, I don't buy it.

Filling in the constellation with a false star solved the problem of this society fast , didn't it? These folks sure do know their constellations.

I could go on but I'm using my phone to type.

It seems The Orville gets dumb when it tries to be smart.
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Thu, Jan 17, 2019, 9:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

Visually, this episode was better than anything previously released with the Star Trek name.
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Thu, Jan 17, 2019, 8:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Nothing Left on Earth Excepting Fishes

I could find no fault with this episode. Quite good
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Sun, Jan 6, 2019, 4:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Primal Urges

I've stated in previous comments that The Orville isn't Star Trek and thus I don't take it very seriously. I enjoy cute episodes such as Cupid's Dagger and Jaloja. But when The Orville plays it straight and presents a dramatic science-fiction story, such as Primal Urges, it asks me to take it seriously. So I do and the mistakes can be glaring.

The rescue contains my biggest problem with this episode:

1. The shuttle needs to be beefed up to resist the star's gravity. Is that so? Does USS Orville, which is not much bigger (comparatively speaking) escape the gravitational pull easier than the shuttle? And how do deflectors help? They create anti-gravity? If they work that way then I don't remember that being explained.

2. The shuttle can carry just 30 people? Why is this? There aren't 30 seats. Are there load limits to the shuttle? Will 31 individuals keep it from taking off? Perhaps these people weigh less than other humanoids. Or weigh more. If it's just a matter of space then cram those 75 people in. They'll fit.

3. "The ____seconds/minutes/hours until____!" nonsense. I understand this is TV and that there is only so much time to show or to explain a given crisis, but condensing it down to a very specific time had been done too much before on other Trek shows and it never was the best idea to begin with.

If The Orville wants to give Trek fans "nostalgia" then perhaps it has succeeded. But I don't pine for more mediocre Voyager.

There are good bits I liked. The visuals were great. They made the 10 year old 720p 26" Dynex TV (not the best) I happened to be watching it on look great (I did calibrate it, but, still...)

I want to see more interaction between Isaac and Bortus.

I also liked that the first alien species the planet's inhabitants see do not resemble them, but are instead Isaac and Bortus.

Watching Lt Unk poke the console in front of him with his big claws is amusing.

And so on. Now, time to read Jammer's review. Hope it's a long one!
Next ►Page 1 of 6
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.