Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 14 (Showing 1-14)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Thu, Jan 17, 2019, 9:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

Visually, this episode was better than anything previously released with the Star Trek name.
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Thu, Jan 17, 2019, 8:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Nothing Left on Earth Excepting Fishes

I could find no fault with this episode. Quite good
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Sun, Jan 6, 2019, 4:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Primal Urges

I've stated in previous comments that The Orville isn't Star Trek and thus I don't take it very seriously. I enjoy cute episodes such as Cupid's Dagger and Jaloja. But when The Orville plays it straight and presents a dramatic science-fiction story, such as Primal Urges, it asks me to take it seriously. So I do and the mistakes can be glaring.

The rescue contains my biggest problem with this episode:

1. The shuttle needs to be beefed up to resist the star's gravity. Is that so? Does USS Orville, which is not much bigger (comparatively speaking) escape the gravitational pull easier than the shuttle? And how do deflectors help? They create anti-gravity? If they work that way then I don't remember that being explained.

2. The shuttle can carry just 30 people? Why is this? There aren't 30 seats. Are there load limits to the shuttle? Will 31 individuals keep it from taking off? Perhaps these people weigh less than other humanoids. Or weigh more. If it's just a matter of space then cram those 75 people in. They'll fit.

3. "The ____seconds/minutes/hours until____!" nonsense. I understand this is TV and that there is only so much time to show or to explain a given crisis, but condensing it down to a very specific time had been done too much before on other Trek shows and it never was the best idea to begin with.

If The Orville wants to give Trek fans "nostalgia" then perhaps it has succeeded. But I don't pine for more mediocre Voyager.

There are good bits I liked. The visuals were great. They made the 10 year old 720p 26" Dynex TV (not the best) I happened to be watching it on look great (I did calibrate it, but, still...)

I want to see more interaction between Isaac and Bortus.

I also liked that the first alien species the planet's inhabitants see do not resemble them, but are instead Isaac and Bortus.

Watching Lt Unk poke the console in front of him with his big claws is amusing.

And so on. Now, time to read Jammer's review. Hope it's a long one!
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Wed, Jan 2, 2019, 4:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

This episode was longer than the others. I'm OK with that. Nothing rushed, nothing condensed. Some episodes of Enterprise would have benefitted by bring longer.
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Mon, Dec 31, 2018, 6:12am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

Here's why this episode was a success:

I watched this with a woman (she and i are both on the edge of 40, if it matters) who; had never seen The Orville before, hadn't heard if it, isn't familiar with Seth McFarlane, doesn't know Star Trek from Star Wars, couldn't care less. And she laughed her head off.

She seemed eager to watch more so we began season one from the beginning and watched the first three episodes. She liked those, too.

The Orville, which is NOT Star Trek and NOT real science fiction, can deliver more if these funny character driven episodes and I'll be happy.
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Sun, Dec 30, 2018, 8:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

Very good. Promising start of the season. ***
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Tue, May 8, 2018, 9:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Three and half stars..

Damn right.

I've only seen it once, but it is excellent.
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Wed, Feb 14, 2018, 9:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

My suggestion on a review project:

Review South Park, all episodes.
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Tue, Jan 30, 2018, 8:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

Jammer,

Will you do a Season 1 recap on The Orville?
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Tue, Jan 23, 2018, 8:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

Jammer,

How is your experience with CBS AA lately?
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 9:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

Actually, I stand corrected. If i remember correctly, on DS9 and TNG there might have been advertisements before the preview of next week's episodes
Set Bookmark
Troy G
Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 9:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

This series is so different from the other Treks--for example, we get a commercial (well, I do) before the "Next time on Star Trek Discovery".

This episode revealed what I (and all of you) already suspected. I plan to watch the series from the beginning again once the season is over now that we know about Lorca.

It is also likely the shortest live-action episode of all of Star Trek.

I would like to see more Mirror-Stamets.

Light sensitivity? Sure, why not.

I read 2019 for season 2. I would love to see the subscriber numbers for CBS AA from the end of Season 1 until the beginning of Season 2. Probably zero subscribers.

Not much to say about this one, besides the reveal. It continues the show's stories and links the previous episode with the next.

Jammer will likely score this one **1/2



Set Bookmark
Troy G
Mon, Jan 15, 2018, 6:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S1: The Wolf Inside

****

Tense, nail-biting, suspenseful, gripping...perhaps some of you believe Trek shouldn't be any of those things, but this is what we got.

When Tyler was about to lose it in the presence of Mirror-Voq, I was silently screaming, "Oh, God, don't blow this, Tyler!".

I've only seen the episode once, but my only quibble is the "execution" of Tyler. How far away are the two ships? How did Burnham get the message to Discovery that Tyler would be beamed into space and to be ready to beam him back? Perhaps somebody can help me with this.

For anyone who cares, I don't readily compare Discovery to previous Trek series. I compare it to the recent JJ Abrams Trek films. I find DSC to be more satisfying.
Set Bookmark
Troy Gravitt
Fri, Nov 10, 2017, 7:42pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Cupid's Dagger

IN MY HONEST OPINION:

Best Orville episode yet.

Listen folks, "The Orville" is NOT Star Trek. All it is (and what I believe it should strive to be) is a breezy, funny, and entertaining weekly action show which uses TNG as a template.

That isn't to say that it can't break it's own mold and become a fairly straight Rick Berman Star Trek clone someday, and a new character, new writer/producer, new idea might inspire the show to evolve into that direction, but so far I say this show works best when it doesn't take itself seriously.

Take last week's "Into the Fold", for example; a fairly straight Rick Berman Star Trek clone that is barely better than the worst episodes of Voyager or of Enterprise. This episode was at its best when it tried to be funny (the comic timing of the "glory hole" joke, Isaac's "vaporise" line) and at its worst when it tried to be anything else. After seeing this nadir in Brannon Braga's writing career I felt concerned for Orville's future.

And then "Cupid's Dagger" showed me what The Orville can be at its best; a breezy, funny, entertaining episode that uses TNG as a template so that we Trekkies can latch onto something which is familiar (the ready-room, the bridge, replicators, turbolifts, sickbay, grey spaceship, etc) and simply focus on the story without exposition needing to explain the tech or setting.

The Bortis/karoake scene; hilarious. The elevator scenes; irreverant. The entire episode's tone is just what it needed to be. Did you really want to watch an episode of the Orville simply dealing with peace negotiations? Deep Space Nine knew you didn't, that's why "The Storyteller" gave us the wrinkle of the teenage girl (and speaking of DS9, "Cupid's Dagger" is a better episode than "Fascination", I hope you agree).



Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.