Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 23 (Showing 1-23)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Triniray
Thu, Feb 18, 2021, 9:49am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

@Jammer wrote:

"No, this episode does not work, but is it the worst episode of Enterprise ever made? Worse than "Precious Cargo" or "Bound" or "A Night in Sickbay" or a dozen others? Hardly."

Never have you uttered a reviewed statement more in accurate.

Half a star episode, if so much. And a slap in the face to fans and loyal viewers.
Set Bookmark
Triniray
Fri, Jan 29, 2021, 3:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Homestead

I have dreaded Neelix episodes up until S4. By then I tolerated the way the character was written. Now Lo and Behold, a Neelix episode comes along, his swan-song no less, and I believe I have watched one of the best Voyager episodes, and a top rated overall Trek episode.

The characterizations made allllllll the difference - the camaraderie of the Crew to justify Neelix's role, the rising to the occassion of Neelix to defend a child and lead a race, the acknowledgement of Neelix's worth (and annoyance) by Tuvok, the Neelix/Janeway conversation in the dark mess-hall, and most of all, the entire last scen with the lining of the corridor by the crew with shake-a-leg dance from Tuvok and the wordless exit of Neelix.

I finally found some sympathy for this maligned character
Set Bookmark
Triniray
Fri, Jan 29, 2021, 11:52am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Homestead

@Emmy

I respect your point of view, and you do an interesting analysis, but to answer your own question, I think yes, you may be reading a bit more into it. But who can really say for sure?
Set Bookmark
Triniray
Mon, Jan 25, 2021, 12:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Damage

@Jason R.

You are probably right at home reading that 7 year old comment about masturbating to child porn. I guess creepy fetishes, like misery, loves company.
Set Bookmark
Triniray
Fri, Jan 22, 2021, 6:50am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Damage

Michael wrote (way back on Fri, May 31, 2013)

"A terrible episode! Not one corpse or child to whom I could masturbate. 0 stars!!!"

Strange that I'm commenting on something from over 7 years ago, but are you f*cking kidding me?! This excuse for a comment was allowed to stand?!

@Jammer, please do something about this. I don't care if it's a sad attempt at humor but t doesn't belong here. Doesn't belong anywhere to be frank.
Set Bookmark
Triniray
Mon, Jan 18, 2021, 8:08am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Harbinger

I've been reading these reviews throughput the last couple seasons of TNG followed by DS9, Voyager (on the last season) and now Enterprise...I have to admit I am getting a little wary of these ENT reviews which I think focus too much on the negative. As for the comments, I barely read them anymore.

This was a good episode, (and a very good series altogether), and neither the reviewer nor the commenters acknowledge the obvious, that the spending time among humans (the first Vulcan to do so) is affecting T'Pols control over her emotions. We are rubbing off on her in other words. I find the gradual process fascinating, and that Jolene Blalock portrays a fantastic representation of an erotic enigma that the male humans on board are curious and dare I say, fascinated by. I guess the incessant complaining on how a Vulcan should behave, and what technology doesn't make sense or why a sex scene didn't go a certain way has obscured these subtle changes in a character, or are more fun to bitch about.
Set Bookmark
Triniray
Sun, Nov 29, 2020, 7:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

Way too much hate for this episode. Enjoying the ride with Enterprise so far, after finishing TNG, DS9 and watching Voyager S6 simultaneously with ENT and favoring the latter's episode so much more that I'm outpacing the Voyager episode. The last ambiguous scene between Archer and T'Pol alone makes this episode worth 2 stars, perhaps a bit more. Jolene Blalock has succeeded in giving a Vulcan tremendous sex-appeal - imagine if the monotone was gone!
Set Bookmark
Triniray
Fri, Nov 13, 2020, 11:12am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Silent Enemy

I am on my second watch of this series, and I am even more delighted the second time around. I have been scoring them higher than Jammer's ratings - such is my satisfaction with it.

I still can't get over the fact that it ended after 4 seasons, and with that awful debacle with Riker reminiscing. Enterprise deserved better.
Set Bookmark
Triniray
Mon, Oct 26, 2020, 7:42am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: The Fight

This season is the best of Voyager this far, but this was the second episode this season where I was more interested in scrolling through my phone than watching the screen.
Set Bookmark
Triniray
Fri, Oct 23, 2020, 9:29am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

@ Wolfstar (back in 2018):

"If one episode about racism out of 176 and an extremely balanced, interesting 2/3-minute scene in this one equates to Sisko "[making] everything about black people", I have to question your preconceptions"

I couldn't have said it better. The good Captain is a scholar of black history and artifacts and decorates his room as such for goodness sake. Being bemused about this period in history is very plausible notwithstanding the leaps and bound made in this particular future. Weren't there xenophobic and prejudiced aliens in ALL of the Star Trek series for crying out loud??!

@EliHalk (back in 2013):

Thank you for your brilliant contribution which I am reproducing below:

"For all of you going on and on blaming Avery Brooks for Sisko talking about race in this episode, read the companion or Memory Alpha some time. Behr makes it pretty clear it was him who came up with it. By this point Behr had figured out Vic was somewhat 'controversial' and un-liked in part of the fandom, so he came up with the idea of having Sisko as someone who didn't care for Vic, but would be won over by him over the course of the epsiode. In the process, he used social conscientiousness as a reason for Sisko to be skeptical / hostile to Vic. He explains:

"We didn't want the audience, especially the younger audience, to think that 1962 Las Vegas was a place where you had a lot of black people sitting in the audience as nightclubs, or enjoying themselves at hotels and casinos. That just didn't happen. So by having someone of Sisko's historical understanding questioning that fact, we could clarify before we got him to Vic's that he's well aware that Vegas was very, very, very white."

The assumption people make that it's Brooks on a soapbox here says alot about race in and of itself."

END QUOTE

That last line is also poignant. For commenters to use terms like 'out of place', 'get over it' and even a 'shut up about race' (Wow!) for the 4 minutes of story are asinine and ignorant (and I daresay a case of a misplaced privileged view), to say the least.

4 Stars for an episode I was initially not exited to tune in to.
Set Bookmark
Triniray
Thu, Oct 22, 2020, 11:41am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: When it Rains...

@ Chrome

Interesting observation. I also realized William B was missing. I was however happy that a 3rd person was missing, who shall not be named lest he appears suddenly to bash the show as usual.
Set Bookmark
Triniray
Tue, Oct 20, 2020, 1:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: First Contact

A review within a review that's 5 times the length of the Parent Review???! Okay then.
Set Bookmark
Triniray
Tue, Oct 6, 2020, 12:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Siege of AR-558

What a magnificent episode! Sisko, Bashir & Nog did a damn good job with their roles and the scream from Nog caught me totally off guard that I had to rewind. What a beautiful performance by the leads!

I had to scroll quickly through less than stellar comments from a few, and constructive critique is always good - but it sadly does not describe the ramblings of a guy on this and many of Jammer's DS9 reviews (back in 2014 for the most part) who for the life of me, I cannot understand why he is even in this forum to whine, criticize, and meander into topics that I'm sure he feels intelligent talking about.
Set Bookmark
Triniray
Sat, Oct 3, 2020, 12:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Extreme Risk

I do not care much for the character of B'Elanna's very much and I was hoping that this focus on her this episode would change that. It did not, despite the tackling of a very real topic of depression. Her acting was good but the antagonistic attitude (even when not depressed) gets tired quickl.

That bein said, the way Chakotay dragged her into the holosuite had me on the edge of my seat. At last, I thought, that Chakotay was being given a personality with an edge, and I am sorry more time has not been spent on fleshing out this former leader of the Marquis, other than whispering ancient stories and an annoyingly polite disposition with every alien they come across. This guy should be leading more away-team missions instead of the Captain as William Riker did, and with more of a rough-around-the-edges style. What a wasted character his has been in 4+ seasons.
Set Bookmark
Triniray
Wed, Sep 16, 2020, 7:59am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

Dark Kirk's contribution on this thread is a very selfish one. Ever heard of a spoiler alert fella?
Set Bookmark
Triniray
Tue, Sep 1, 2020, 6:55am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

Wow - A lot of 'experts' in here espousing on what racism looked like in the 1950's. This was a good episode, and as Michael said way above, it was not a necessary episode, but neither were many of the Ferengi and Mirror Universe episode.

And @Baby Madolorian, and @Mal you hit the nail on the head. A lot of people felt uncomfortable with the depictions of racism in this episode, and try to belittle and detract with their sanitized views and complaints on the portrayal of the racists, and advise how Brooks should act.

Ironically a lot of tension in unfolding in the US right now as I write this. But by all means, lets continue to sweep the issue under the carpet.
Set Bookmark
Triniray
Fri, Aug 21, 2020, 11:33am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Nemesis

I am definitely in the majority but I was really bored by this episode. I thought the acting and dialog by the revolutionaries was weak, as well as the little girl. The Kradin looked like a race of Predators with the speech patterns not all all congruent with their looks. Chotokay's monotone ramblings did not help though he improved mid-way through the episode. One and a half stars.
Set Bookmark
Triniray
Sat, Jul 25, 2020, 11:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Ferengi Love Songs

I like Quark and (most of the time) Rom, but this was a painful episode to watch. Don't understand all the hate for "Let He Who Is Without Sin…" which got a zero star rating when (1.5 to 2 stars seems more appropriate) but this episode falls below that. Would rate this at a half star, and that's being generous.
Set Bookmark
Triniray
Fri, Jun 26, 2020, 11:36am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Fourth Season Recap

A very strong, and the growth of most of the main cast.

My one peeve is with the comments feed - I really wish persons would stick to commenting on the episode itself that was reviewed by Jammer (Jammer himself religiously sticks to the episode and only quotes other reviews for their related premises).

I know this show has long since aired, but I can do without Commenters going on about where storylines ultimately deviated towards in subsequent seasons and episodes, and giving out spoilers in the process. Yes the show is old, but no excuse if not sticking to the current episode and not posting a spoiler alert.
Set Bookmark
Triniray
Wed, Jun 24, 2020, 9:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Trials and Tribble-ations

Brilliant episode. Watching DS9 simultaneously with Voyager and liked both tributes, but absolutely LOVED this DS9 iteration. I was never crazy about Dax, but since episode 1 of S5, I am seeing little things to give her more of a playful character, and she's growing on me, sexed overtones notwithstanding.

All the DS9 characters used had a moment to shine and I like that, and I also liked that care was taken to give all the original TOS cast a chance on the screen! Kudos for the scene where Sisko and Dax were dropping tribbles on Kirk's head where it was made to look like the original footage. Brilliant!

This can be nothing less than 5 stars, and DS9's stories certainly hold their own when held against TNG.
Set Bookmark
Triniray
Wed, Jun 17, 2020, 1:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Resolutions

@John mentioned:

"Did anybody catch Janeway's last line in this episode? She told Chakotay that he is responsible for fixing the premature firing of the phaser cannons!"

Agree that this is a highly suspicious line! Sex or no sex, the relationship deepened significantly, as the deliberate avoidance of eye contact once back on the ship.
Set Bookmark
Triniray
Wed, May 6, 2020, 7:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: First Contact

@Nolan

Appreciate the feedback and context!

Have since also found a viewing-order guide that was helpful (never mind the silly name of the URL):
https://scifi.stackexchange.com/questions/1566/after-star-trek-the-next-generation-can-i-skip-to-voyager-without-watching-dee
Set Bookmark
Triniray
Sat, Apr 4, 2020, 3:57am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: First Contact

I am oh so late to this party but I'm well underway in my marathon of TNG (complete), DS9 (on S3), Voyager (S1) and the 1st two TNG movies having just completed First Contact.

I absolutely loved it, especially after being a little let down by Generations' treatment of Kirk's demise and the 'cameos' of the core support cast. The writers seemed to have taken note and given each of the latter mentioned a decent piece of the pie.

I am surprised no one commended the following visuals/ideas that were well done:

1) The new Federation uniforms were a great standout and the lack of such a new spin on Generations was disappointing but made up for here. They looked sharp!

2) The Enterprise E's sleek modifications definitely made the viewer believe that this ain't no TV series but the Big Leagues. Even the warp effect got an upgrade.

3) Geordie's upgraded, new eyes were a magnificent idea and made me wonder why this was not thought of sooner, but lends itself to the idea of the Federation's technology naturally evolving.

4) Liked the evolution of Worf commanding the Defiant, though he relinquishes his captaincy and falls back into his role a bit too easily after being beamed back on board the Enterprise. Would have been nice to get some more insight into how he was selected and by whom.

5) This was mentioned before but Data's more controlled use of his emotion chip was much welcomed.

6) Glad to see the Borg a formidable force again after the Lore storyline/ involvement in TNG derailed that potency somewhat, leaving their demise to interpretation.

This outing gets a 3.5 from me.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.