Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 105 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
Trekker
Wed, May 19, 2021, 11:19pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Booming:

With Q returning and Season 2 of Picard focused on "Time", I wonder if we'll see a MCU like partnership between Picard, Sisko, Janeway, Archer, (Kelvin) Kirk, and Burnham. The Temporal Wars seem to be obviously the right thing to focus on, but this has to be handled better than Enterprise did it. Also, I'd imagine that in such a conflict the only one who can enforce a peace on the multiverse would be the Q Continuum.

Personally, I've always suspected the Krenim were the ones to make the first strike and start the time wars. They're the most trigger happy when it came to time manipulation and had technology to do it even in the 23rd century.
Set Bookmark
Trekker
Wed, May 19, 2021, 10:56pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Forget Me Not

@AndreRhineDavis : Good point, sadly I think a lot of the more conservatively minded folks were too focused on gender identity than actually seeing the merits of juxtaposed arguments for the individual rights. It's far easier to hate something than to see common ground.

For me this episode was worth 4 stars out of 4, I love the trill species and the actual exploration of character. Adira is more Ezri than Jadzia, but they are an interesting character, nonetheless. I truly love the concept of having your partner's memories, maybe even soul, coexisting in you. It's a radical sci-fi idea, but it goes the heart of what a Trill is. They carry the memories and experiences of all those who have passed to share with future generations what they know. They are the most introspective alien species in the Star Trek Universe.

As to the arguments from older fans, who say you can't be inclusive to everyone? I'd say yes, you are correct in the past, TOS era had no open gay or trans characters, but they did have the first female African American and male (closeted gay) Asian American mainstream Sci-Fi characters. TNG had several African American characters, more female representation, and even a disabled character. DS9 had the first African American lead character and first openly pansexual female character, along with controversial topics like having a former terrorist serving as XO from a fundamentalist religious background.

Star Trek has tried to be inclusive throughout its history based on the times they were produced. So argument that being inclusive is unattainable should be moot.

Instead, I think older Trek fans probably should view these as steps in expanding what we as a society are in need to expand our definitions by. I am in my 30's, I am not a kid either, but I grew up on DS9 and Voyager, not TOS and TNG. My values are far more grounded, but understand why we should never settle for what we already have.
Set Bookmark
Trekker
Wed, May 19, 2021, 7:14pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

Technically, it deserves a 4 star for production value
Plot deserve 1.5 star for laziness, but well meaning actors/actresses
Nostalgia, especially Guardians reveal (which I actually did enjoy, I am not as harsh a critic or devotee of classic purity TOS) 0.50+ points more
Total average score 3.0 stars out of 4

It's a good eye candy episode, well meaning if badly plotted, and above all else, I actually enjoyed what they did with the Guardian. He should have been brought back in TNG or DS9, but wasn't
Set Bookmark
Trekker
Sun, May 16, 2021, 11:10pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Back to the actual episode, rather than 21st century partisanship and idiotic online banters.

I don't even know if half of you are hired trolls from one side versus hired trolls the other. Just so both sides understand, I don't give a crap if Trump or Biden is President, nor if Satan or God is winning their Conspiracy theory chess match. This isn't why I watch Star Trek, nor is it why I read Jammer's reviewers.

@Jammer, I agree with your assessment on Discovery. It was very uneven and their episode organization felt very tediously bad. I did like the concept of a soft reboot to the 32nd Century, but quite honestly, it was too little and too late. Discovery's main flaw in plot execution from Burnham's being handed her command to the tying up of major plot lines was just done heavy-handed.

Star Trek has a lot of good stories, a lot of good ideas, but in the maelstrom, it needs to refresh itself not just on its own history, but also what Science Fiction should be about.
Set Bookmark
Trekker
Sun, May 16, 2021, 10:30pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S6: One Small Step

To me this episode was good Star Trek for the "Exploration" and "Humanist" aspects, but I see a lot of different opinions from fans.

The episode reminds people of where mankind had come from and how far we still have yet to go in understanding the universe. Also, all exploration has immense risks and these include the lives of early explorers. The first martian explorers and colonist may go missing or die as early Spanish, French, Dutch, and British did, but it did not stop those who followed in their footsteps.

Also to the argument of anthropology being such an obsolete issue for 24th century with things like early mars modules being available in museums, I dare argue that viewers who argue such point forget that Star Trek takes place after Humanity has fought WWIII, a post apocalyptic Nuclear war that has destroyed many major cities and most likely our history as a result. We can recreate things based on computer records, but it is not the same as an actual piece of history.

Paris and Chakotay, along with the rest of the crew, are excited due to their joy of finding a trace of humanity's great history prior to our near extinction at our own hands.

It's like when Brunelleschi studied free standing domes of Roman Empire to recreate them for Florentine Cathedral, which ushered the Renaissance (or Rebirth) of Western Civilization. Knowing what came before and how people did what they did is important.

This deserves 9.0 out of 10, it's not perfect, but it is a great concept and the character cherished an ideal that should be held
Set Bookmark
CeliaStarTrekker
Wed, Apr 21, 2021, 11:29pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

The only thing that really bothered me about this episode was the guest changeling's harsh opinions about humanoids and the fact the behaviour of the people on the station (including Sisko) towards the changeling seemed to corroborate this.

In my opinion it went against Gene Roddenberry's original message which for me has always been about exploring space, discovering the unknown and celebrating difference.


Two examples come to mind:

Star Trek the Motion Picture
TNG - Encounter at Farpoint

I'm sure there are many other episodes that show the beauty of space and the different life forms - this is where Star Trek shines for me and what drew me to it in the first place.

I get that by DS9 (and even TNG) the Star Trek message had been rehashed and turned into a melodramatic reflection of current human issues and the way we treat each other, but I'm just not buying the idea that 99.9% of humanoid species would be anti changeling and treat them badly/with suspicion.

Aren't humans of the 24th or 25th century meant to be evolved?
Set Bookmark
greattrekker
Mon, Oct 21, 2019, 12:08am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: BSG S3: Maelstrom

If you interpret this episode and all the actions of "God" in this series as that of a higher being with a design, then perhaps there are some rules and roles.

Starbuck accepted her fate in this episode, she either went into the cosmic storm/dimensional rift/wormhole or simply died, knowing her body is found on "Earth" in a later episode I tend to believe she went back in time, more than likely, her appearance in the past set about the destruction of Earth by the original Cylons.

Perhaps Starbuck's journey is part of a predestination time paradox, she was always destined to go back. Yet, what does that mean about free will? In Starbuck's mind, her decision to accept her fate is shown as her choice, but what if it's not all her choice.
Set Bookmark
Greattrekker
Sun, Oct 20, 2019, 11:47pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: BSG S2: Final Cut

I actually thought this episode was more of a dark comedy at times, they used the idea of a mockumentary to reveal the ludicrous nature of life on Galactica, like the shower scene where Kat literally spoke out of her ass, and Diana commented after being asked by a Naked Lee to leave, "I think we've seen all we can here", s subtle dig at his false bravado.
Set Bookmark
GreatTrekker
Sun, Oct 20, 2019, 11:43pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: BSG S3: Collaborators

This is a great episode of BSG, it showed the reality of what "Victors" do after the victory. In many shows, including Star Trek DS9, when war story arcs end, you don't get heavy payoff. Bygones are bygones, but in Battlestar Galactica, you are reminded of the scars of war, the losses, and the consequences of revenge.

Even after so many years, this episode and this show holds up very well to modern times, as any great Science fiction epic should.

1. Are the actions justifiable? Yes in some ways, I am actually reminded of the movie "Munich" or "Operation Finale", sometimes extralegal actions are needed to pursue justice when it is not politically or technically palatable. Tom Zarek during the early season had become a slightly better character, still drawn to power, but also capable of doing what is coldly needed. However, the secret executions of collaborators isn't based on justified issues or evidence, it's conjecture and pure emotional drive for vengeance.

Also interesting here, Laura Roslin is again put into power via non-election. If there's a subtle concept Battlestar Galactica explores, it's the concept of the failure of Democratic elected leadership and how people's perceptions are grossly misaligned. Gaius Baltar was a horrible President: poor resource management, poor military planning, and lack of infrastructure focus, despite winning a vote. However, "Spoiler alert", Laura Roslin is no better despite what she tries as she continues to decline as the show progresses under a "false holy quest" to find earth, which turned up to be nuclear wasteland and only got incredibly luck in the end (perhaps with some sick divine mercy or devotion to repeat patterns).
Set Bookmark
Greattrekker
Tue, Aug 7, 2018, 12:05am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S3: Coda

Personally, I don't think this episode was as bad as many others seem to have argued after a decade. I will not deny that it's not great as "The Visitor" from DS9 or even TNG's "Remember Me" or TNG's near death episode "Tapestry", where Q acted as God/Guardian Angel to Picard as he was dying.

Still in a universe with mischievous Godlike entities like Q, who I think are usually benign if a bit heavy handed, there is enough room for an opposite group, feeding off life and sowing destructive potential like a more powerful Pah-Wraith.

What they should have done in the end is discover a dark reality about life and death, maybe using some scans of people to compare to Janeway and say something like the following to make this a more powerful thread/threat throughout the series:

------------

(Later in Sickbay Janeway and Chakotay were summoned)
Janeway: Doctor, what is the matter?
Doctor: Captain, I was reviewing the scans that Mr. Tuvok had made of your "experience" with the alien entity
Janeway: Yes
Doctor: I cross-referenced those readings with other readings from the last 300 years of research into the phenomenon of death states and organic death from federation scientists, I have found a pattern.
Chakotay: What kind of Pattern Doctor?
Doctor: Whatever that "entity" was, this is not an isolated incident, there's evidence to show that his species has been feeding on life forms across the galaxy.
Janeway: Have you determine where it comes from or how to stop it?
Doctor: That's the thing Captain, I cannot tell you where it comes from or where it goes after taking the last bit of energy from living organisms. All I can tell you is that when a person is at the point of death, sometimes it will appear

(Scene changes to to Janeway's quyarters, completely dark)

The Doctors final words echoes " All I can tell you is that when a person is at the point of death, sometimes it will appear"

----------

Voila, I just created a giant mystery for future seasons or even series to explore, a faceless enemy that mankind has faced for eons even as technology has allowed us to identify it, and there's no defense. If you think the Borg are scary, try facing an existential threat like this.

That's what Voyager writers were missing, they needed gravitas in this episode, something that could engage people on a common, fear of death/afterlife. Science Fiction does not need to be just technobabble, it can also include elements of horror/mystery, like a few H.P Lovecraft's novels which touched on science fiction
Set Bookmark
Old Trekker
Sat, Mar 24, 2018, 2:52pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S1: Court Martial

I first saw this episode when originally broadcast back in the 66-67 season. Upon a recent re-viewing, a few things nagged at me: a) of the witnesses at the trial, only Spock and Kirk's names are spoken/idenfied by the computer. The Personnel Officer is not named, and neither is McCoy. b) Likewise, only Spock and Kirk seem to have Starfleet serial numbers. c) considering that the computer's audio pickup was amplified 10,000 x, how come only heartbeats are heard? d) We all know that Vulcan hearts are not in the chest, but McCoy positions the "white noise device" in front of everyone's chest (including Spock) to mask out known people on board. But then Spock is able to mask out the technician in the transporter room by pressing a few buttons on his console.
Set Bookmark
Trekker
Thu, Feb 15, 2018, 9:12pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

Jammer, I have to agree with you on this one with half a star more for its ambition.

I give it a half point more, because there's something about the idea of humanity being in a bumpy spot at our history with conflicts of religion and ideas, it just speaks volumes about the macro-human experience, which is fundamental to Sci-Fi.

Personally, I think you overrated Star Trek Discovery Season 1 and underrated Orville Season 1, but I see your point. The problem with the Orville is that it has a lot of good ideas and a clean slate that reminds you of "old" Star Trek, while Star Trek Discovery has fallen back to old ideas and is tedious at times now to enjoy.

At the heart of why I enjoy Orville more than Discovery, it's the sense of humanity I feel in Orville is actually more human and relatable, something that is impect, but explores things and ideas with far more potency. There were flops of course, but I like the ideas behind the story.
Set Bookmark
Old Trekker
Thu, Jan 25, 2018, 12:16pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S4: Demons

I for one was happy to see the historical tie-in to "Colonel Green", a shout-out to The Savage Curtain aka Abe Lincoln in Space.
Set Bookmark
Trekker
Tue, Oct 31, 2017, 9:34pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S1: Majority Rule

This is my favorite episode to date of the Orville and Best Sci-Fi in comparison between Discovery vs. Orville to date. I know Jammer is still resistant to the idea of the comedy in the show and I can see that, but let's be honest, the social commentary is spot on and if this were an episode of Voyager/DS9/TNG, it would have been given 4 stars.

The social commentary of social media and direct democracy is great, what Seth did here was underline the very biggest elephant in the room, "Democratic values do not work" in reality. It's too easy to push people into a type of thought without context, creating mobs of majority with similar ideas and ideals.

In the American and world social media, we are encountering these problems from celebrity/political maneuvering to cyber bullying by kids forming these kinds of flash online mobs. It's a reflection of how bad pure democratic system with no outside ethical or moral basis can be.
Set Bookmark
Trekker
Sat, Oct 7, 2017, 3:35pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ORV S1: If the Stars Should Appear

Orville to me is okay, like Star Trek TNG Season 1.

It's serviceable, but not original.

When you contrast this show to Star Trek Discovery, breaking new ground in the wrong direction, I have to ask the question:

Do you want to enjoy a TV show that ventures into a dark world that masquerades itself as a Utopia? Or do you want to live in a light world that does not hide its frivolous nature?

I think Orville needs a game changer episode to put it up there with the best of Classic Trek, but it's on a good trajectory for something like that. Star Trek Discovery in contrast is heading in a direction that makes it far more akin to Battlestar Galactica and Star Wars than Star Trek, I expect it not to live up to the classics and stride for different path that is appealing to some, but just not what I'd consider engaging for a Star Trek show. I love the new BSG for a reason, just like I liked DS9, TNG, and TOS for others, along with Babylon 5.

Right now I want optimistic Sci-Fi, not Pessimistic Sci-Fi.
Set Bookmark
Trekker
Sat, Oct 7, 2017, 12:19pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

I agree with the assessment of other fans, this is most likely the prequel story for introducing Section 31's activity in the 23rd century, basically retconning them. Perhaps we will see the Omega particle experiment that was mentioned in Voyager around this period as well.

Still, I disagree with Jammer's review and praise for this show. Don't get me wrong I love Alias, The Wire, and many shows involving complex "things we must do for greater good", but this is Star Trek after all.

Gene Roddenberry's vision was of a time when humanity would be able to solve our own problems and reach out into the Stars, seek out new life and civilization, and boldly go where no has gone before.

Star Trek isn't a Sci-Fi intrigue show with mysterious plots, cool tech, and morally ambiguous characters. Humanity was meant to be exalted for our virtues, not made grey for our modern issues. Instead of looking into a future beyond partisan bickering, religious issues, and perceived human racial differences, we're moving back into territories that would work for most modern TV Shows.

At the heart of it what does this say for us as viewers and the public at large, if this is what Star Trek has become, what we have become, when we can no longer look towards a future of hope and potential.

In the original DS9 episode, we got the shades of grey, but it was matched by optimism of Dr. Bashir, who represented the better parts of humanity in contrast. In Enterprise we had Johnathan Archer, who while not as strong as a acharacter, was still an idealist with hopes for a better future.

We had good contrast when introducing Star Trek's shadowy Section 31, Michael just doesn't show that same level of contrast. Furthermore, the plot lends itself to far too much darkness than hope, I mean what hope can be seen in the depths of war with the Klingon Empire.

My issue is one of philosophy on this point.

There's also plot contrivances that I did not really like in this episode, like the whole "criminal being unguarded schtick" that allowed Michael to wander freely on the ship, then the whole Sci-Fi horror sequence.

2 out of 4 in my book, I know what they're going for, but it's not really Star Trek. It's "Derivative Spy/Secret Organization thriller, A star Trek show" in the vain of "Rogue One, A Star Wars Movie". There's a difference between the real deal and its ancillary productions.
Set Bookmark
Trekker
Fri, Sep 1, 2017, 12:33am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: Tacking into the Wind

On a non-Dominion, but larger mythology note for Trek from TOS-DS9, I think Worf really deserved to be Chancellor of the Klingon Empire, even more than Martok.

It's not something I see discussed here or on other Trek related areas, but Worf had a lot of things going for his "divine" right to rule, for a Klingon:

1. He is from a Noble Klingon House, even back during the TOS days in Star Trek VI, his grandfather was a high ranking member of Klingon society and his father sat on the council. Sure, they're not as militarily oriented or politically connected as the Duras family or even Gowron, which is why Mogh, Worf's father, could so easily be castigated as a scapegoat. Worf is still noble-blooded.

2. He defeated Duras in a duel, while Duras was seeking to claim the Chancellorship. It means Worf, if he still had his noble title could have made the same claim and legitimately have taken it from Duras (and likely Gowron).

3. He found Kahless' clone, sure it's not like finding Christ's second coming, but he did install the 1st Klingon Emperor in many generations, returning a constitutional monarch to Klingon Society. In any other situation, he should have been a member at court.

4. He, along with Kor and Dax, found the Sword of Kahless. That's like finding Excalibur or the holy grail. Of all the odds in the universe, Q must have stacked it in his favor :P Quite honestly, Worf is the only one left from the Quest alive (Kor died in a blaze of glory and Jadzia died due to Dukat), so he has sole claim right now. If he wants to, he can go back to coordinates where he jettisoned the sword, then just take power.

For all those reasons, Worf, and the writers, should have just let him become Klingon leader, he was meant to be.
Set Bookmark
Trekker
Thu, Aug 31, 2017, 10:45pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: Treachery, Faith, and the Great River

Odo stories are introspective and deeply plotted.

I think this is among his best and DS9's best as well, dealing with War, Conscientious Objectors, and Faith. Religion was the subtext, but as a theologian once said, there's no war without faith, because there would be no reason to fight. (I think it was Cardinal Richelieu, not sure if I got his quote right).

It also opens up a long term plot issue of the Founder's death due to a virus, which is spread in an odd nod to HIV/AIDS (you can interpret it in many different ways, but a changeling's link is pseudo-sexual.)
Set Bookmark
Trekker
Tue, Aug 29, 2017, 8:17pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

@Real Ric

TNG is a late 80's wholesome Sci-Fi show that had trappings of its times. The dream of evolved human beings was subsequently overwritten.

The TNG fan boys are optimists and we do need them in our dark world to plot a future ahead as we're stuck In the Pale Moonlight, we live a world with terrorism, fundamentalism, fanaticism, racism, elitism, and all the worst that mankind has created. We want to rise above all this and seek strange new worlds, but to do that, we must face some ugly truths, not everyone is Captain Picard or Janeway, most are Kirk and Sisko, soldiers fighting for a better way of life while mired in the war.

@Chrome

Why can't it be both?

People know the CIA can be nasty and grotesque, they know the NSA is spying on them, and yet, they accept it still believing in Justice, Liberty, and Freedom in the US. Realistically, we gave up our moral high ground, but perspectively, we believe we're still right for compromising it.

Section 31 and Sisko's actions are nothing more than what people have come to accept from our own intelligence agencies or military officers.

If DS9 were produced in 207, this episode should have had a follow-up post dominion war. I'd love to think that Jake Sisko would discover this truth about his father and Garak's dealings, then pull a Snowden on both of them. Ultimately, the revelation in the 24th century as such revelations in 21st century, are meaningless, because We, the people, have accepted this reality (and our own acceptance also leads to denial into the Trump Administration's era)
Set Bookmark
Trekker
Mon, Aug 28, 2017, 9:00pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S3: Past Tense, Part I

The Episode is good as a social commentary of how bad we can be as human beings and how low we can go. It is timeless, because human drive for separating ourselves from others is a permanent fixture in our history: from Slavery to modern day ghettos vs. Suburbs. We are a tragic species with cycles of horrible actions. In Star Trek, if it weren't for World War III and some help from the Vulcans as Good Samaritans, we'd still be stuck.

Perhaps, we should evaluate this episode more for what is in our present (very close to their Present 2024) and see what we can do to prevent it.

--------------------------------------------
@Bob

I think they were focusing more on the issue of insulating poor people into Sanctuary cities/Safe areas that the Left has been promoting as a defensive tactic. Pres. Trump's actions are turning this defensive tactic into a siege tactic, the Liberal Bastions are insulated, defended by municipal walls to keep out people, but in the end without money, influence, and support from outside, these places might as well become Become Sanctuary Districts like this episode.

I think your anger is misplaced, the Left's own desire to seek shelter will likely create the outcome that is most feared. If you were just trying to get to be angry at you and raise hell, CNN and other forums are better for that.

@Those on the Progressive side, if you want to prevent Sanctuary districts from rising, prevent this kind of segregation based on poverty, and social status (on this point, I do agree that the episode heavily implied immigration issues to point when a supporting character in Part 2 was distinctly Hispanic descent was telling his story to the web), then stop creating castles and do something about the world at large. If there's prejudice in the small towns, drive down to the closest town of less than 20K people and go to the local Church, School, or Bar and practice some good civic duty and better yet invite some friends from different racial/ethnic/religious backgrounds too. Help set up events, fundraise, or buy a round of drinks and just be part of America rather than preach down.

-----------------------------------------------

Overall, this future is not set in stone, we have time to change it.
Set Bookmark
Trekker
Mon, Aug 28, 2017, 8:22pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

To answer the question on Time Travel, I have a simple answer:

What if the events in this episode happened in an alternate Universe- Timeline aka Abram's Kelvin-verse and when the defiant was in orbit the 1st time, it had already split into its quantum duplicate like the Voyager episode Deadlock?

Star Trek has already given us answers to the questions many people pose here, all you must do is use the canon to answer them.

It would also solve a different mystery too, Dax did not know what the crew did in the episode, so what Yedrin knew was from an alternate timeline set off already from the point of departure in the first entry.

However, I'll warn you if toy take my interpretation literally as the right one, then this episode is a guiltless platitude rather than make Odo a potential genocidal Dominion changeling for the sake of Kira.

I like the original interpretation of fate being in our hands rather than the one I came up with. Sometimes, even if your solution is correct and makes more logical sense, the idea of "perceived" free will and choices of good/bad choices makes the story richer.

In the Star Trek Universe, if you can't explain something, we can always say its Q, just like humans do with God, We can also explore things using science, logic, and deductive reasoning, which comes up with a less interesting though more likely correct answer. However, like Q points out, our exploration is not out there mapping stars, but "exploring the possibilities of existence", I think that is more important and the stories implications on choices is far more interesting than an easy answer.
Set Bookmark
Trekker
Sun, Jul 2, 2017, 9:39pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

@Tyler,

The point is sometimes pointless, like Time Travel Episodes "Yesterday's Enterprise" did it matter that "alternate" Picard sacrificed his entire crew and ship to save a ship from the past that he had just hoped would "potentially" create peace between Federation and Klingons. When "real" Enterprise sees the Temporal rift closing, not realizing what he did to save the federation and billions of lives, did that not matter.

Voy "Course: Oblivion" and TNG's "Yesterday's Enterprise" comes from the same narrative branch of Star Trek "Alternate" possibilities storyline. Why do we consider TNG's episode classic for their sacrifice that no one will know about (even Tasha won't know since she's dead according to Sela) versus condemning voyager's episode for exploring a character story with the same alternate potential themes?

I'd argue that both episodes deserve equal eye of judgment for what it means as a story rather than judging it based on whether it is part of the main continuity or not, because as pointless as this episode might be, the same arguments could be used for Yesterday's Enterprise as well that many including Jammer and myself consider the epitome of classic Star Trek.
Set Bookmark
Trekker
Sun, Jul 2, 2017, 9:23pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S3: Second Skin

This was worth 4 out of 4 in my view.

Kira was submitted to nothing less than the same type of psychological mind games that Picard suffered in Chain of Command, which was also brought forth by Cardassians. The beauty of the Cardassians is their innate nature of using Orwellian type confusion tactics and visual dis-congruity to reshape the perspective and reality of the character into what they need.

Not only was kira fooled but we the audience were starting to believe it, perhaps Kira was the very thing she hates, perhaps DS9 was willing to take a character into a dark territory that would not get explored until JJ Abrams did in Alias, a decade later. Alas, there was not enough bravery for that even with Ron Moore and Ira Behr at helm, good idea, but they could have upended TV a lot earlier.

Still the lack of breaking ground does not prevent the episode from being great, it had all the right notes and the right misdirections to give us a good hour of entertainment.
Set Bookmark
Greattrekker
Thu, Dec 22, 2016, 8:59pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: Once More Unto the Breach

In the end, Kor went out with a lot of class and gusto as a TOS alum and he actually got a mythic end.

I think Klingon stories are good, maybe overdone by the time of DS9 after decades with TOS/TNG/DS9's Klingon war arc. This is a Star Trek species of warriors with both brutality and nobility, like an ancient Greek myth. In terms of the overall story arc, I like how they handled it. Yes, there were faults, but nothing too severe and I appreciate less big CGI action instead a subtle and silent in Klingon terms memorial to Kor.

9/10
Set Bookmark
Greattrekker
Tue, Dec 20, 2016, 10:35pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

To me this episode is probably my favorite of DS9, including the Episode In the Pale Moonlight.

It's true science fiction, an imaginative plot, and a love story that defies convention and even fate. Odo's love for Kira is poignant and potent, just like Kirk's love from the TOS episode "City on the Edge of Forever", but unlike Kirk, Odo does not have a cold logical Vulcan friend to keep him from making a morally dubious choice.

In that way, I think DS9 answered Harlan Ellison's classic with its own classic that reverses and parallels the issue of fate and love in time travel. However, DS9 showed that its voice is not as utopian and "greater good driven" as TOS, the voice of DS9 is a human story set in an alien cultural intersection.

10/10
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.