Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 32 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Toph in Blacksburg
Wed, Apr 14, 2021, 7:52am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S3: Deja Q

Worf log entries from that day:

Morning log;
“I got to insult Q and then throw him in the brig.
BEST. DAY. EVER.”

Evening log:
“Q is back and omnipotent again, and brought a Mariachi band onto the bridge.
WORST. DAY. EVER.”
Set Bookmark
Christopher
Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 5:15pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

I kept thinking: Why am I watching this? I have no interest in the mirror universe at all. Whatever was fun about it got killed by Discovery long ago and trying to make it meaningful is just a waste of time. How can this show get distracted so easily, what exactly are the showrunners trying to accomplishing? It’s a mystery to me.
Set Bookmark
Toph in Blacksburg
Sun, May 10, 2020, 4:57pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part II

“My question is whether the Defiant could really be this invincible. If Starfleet sent a dozen ships after the Defiant, I don't care if it's from a century in the future; it's weapons are not so much more advanced that this one ship could go up against an army and win.”

Viewing from history, I can definitely see how the Defiant would be virtually invincible against any counterpart that the 22nd century could offer.

Take a look back at the history of battleship development from the start of the 20th century to 1944. Until the advent of the Dreadnought very early in the 20th, battleships were a mixed armament that at the time was deemed the cusp of military naval technology.

Once the Dreadnought came along, or previous vessels were relegated to the status of obsolete, so much so that any vessel predicting the Dreadnought was labeled a pre-Dreadnought.

Size also matters. The average battleship even in the early dreadnought era was around 20,000 tons, mounting guns in the 12 to 14 inch range with relatively slow reload times and weak optical targeting methods. The Iowa, by comparison, was nearly 50,000 tons, mounted 16 inch guns, and enough speed to steam circles around it’s aged compatriots. Iowa also mounted far better targeting and rangefinder technology compared to battleships only 20 to 30 years older than she.

So I have no problem seeing how Defiant could slice and dice the very best that the 22nd century had to offer in the mirror universe
Set Bookmark
Toph in Blacksburg
Sat, Apr 25, 2020, 4:10pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Titan A.E.

Wow. 20 years and no comments?

I guess I will get the ball rolling then. Agree fully this is a 2.5 star movie. Jammer pretty much nails this review on the head. Some fantastic 3-D visuals but a lackluster to the story. Still, I do enjoy watching it from time to time.
Set Bookmark
Toph in Blacksburg
Thu, Jan 23, 2020, 7:20pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Some things that stood out to me after a first watching:

It took me a little while to realize that Picard’s two assistants at the Chateau were Romulans. Nice touch.

I thought that Data’s appearances were well done and very appropriate. I’ll be curious to see if they include him in future episodes somehow.
Set Bookmark
Toph in Blacksburg
Thu, Jan 23, 2020, 7:13pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Wow. I am really impressed with how this series has started out. A very interesting storyline that picks up some 15 to 20 years after the last time we saw the card and the next generation crew.

I am really looking forward to seeing the rest of the season play out.
Set Bookmark
TopHat
Tue, Jan 7, 2020, 3:04pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S1: Past Prologue

Is it true that Robinson disliked the Ziyal plot line? I sort of feel like he sleepwalked through it a bit.
Set Bookmark
TopHat
Wed, Aug 14, 2019, 6:10pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S7: Human Error

It is at least consistent with what we see on TNG: Even getting it on with are-creations of coworkers is clearly not against the rules, just tasteless. And I think the episode does indeed present it as inappropriate behaviour.
Set Bookmark
Toph in Blacksburg
Tue, Mar 6, 2018, 7:50pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: BSG S3: Crossroads, Part 2

I don’t know if this has been previously mentioned in the comments, but a couple weeks before Maelstrom aired it was announced that Katie Sackhoff was leaving the show. Talk about a tremendous bit of misdirection. For me, that really made the appearance of Starbuck at the end of this episode so powerful. Not in a million years did I see it coming.
Set Bookmark
Toph
Wed, Jul 5, 2017, 9:00pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S7: Eye of the Beholder

I actually enjoyed this episode, mostly for its transparently Hitchcockian nods. With a Troi plot, this set an intriguing atmosphere, because it gave a sense of how her empathetic abilities work -- or in this case, malfunctioned, as her perceptions get skewed and gradually turn sideways. I could even forgive the otherwise unforgivable Troi-Worf romance, which is just about the most ill-suited pairing you could come up with on TNG.

What really blighted the episode for me was the reaction of Kwan's girlfriend. She acts like he's committed some impish prank that she can only shake her head at and smile about. I have no idea what the director was thinking here -- were we supposed to be creeped out by her reaction? Was she meant to be an overly-demonstrative sociopath, a counterpoint to the real killer's complete lack of emotional affect? Or did the director just have no idea what to do with the scene? Perhaps the answer is the girl had already hit her own internal reset button...
Set Bookmark
Toph in Blacksburg
Fri, Jun 24, 2016, 9:27pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S4: United

I'm surprised no one has brought it up yet, but that zoom-out shot near the end from the Enterprise conference room to showing the assembled unified fleet was really something. You can just tell that this was the true birthplace of the Federation.
Set Bookmark
Toph
Wed, Nov 4, 2015, 9:30pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S3: Sins of the Father

Couldn't go without mentioning two great lines from Worf:

"THIS HabiDah should have been fed to the dogs!"

"The cha'Dich will be silent!" Loved the look on Picards face, followed by him dropping his head and staying quiet for the rest of the scene. I'd bet dollars to dimes he had words with Worf afterward tho...
Set Bookmark
Christopher Pike
Tue, May 12, 2015, 6:09am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S1: The Galileo Seven

William B, thank you for your thorough and thoughtful analysis! I'm watching TOS for the first time; this is certainly one of the more complex episodes and very worthy of the time and effort you've clearly put into your discussion of the episode. I wish I had something fresh to add, but as a Star Trek newbie I think I'll be in read-only mode for some time yet.
Set Bookmark
Toph in Blacksburg
Sun, Mar 15, 2015, 10:28am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part II

I didn't have any real problem with the "Defiant is invincible" concept. First off, Starfleet at this stage probably only had a few dozen ships at most, so we're not exactly talking about Armada-size fleets Defiant would have to face.

Second, a good analogy is if you pitted a single mid-1980s M1A1 Abrams battle tank against a battalion (25) of World War II tanks. There's only about 40 years difference in the technology, yet I'd bet the money in my pockets that a single Abrams (which has depleted uranium shells, chobham armor, and twice or more the speed) would make mincemeat of its World War II predecessors. So when I see the Defiant against ST:E era ships, I can see Defiant chewing them all of them up in short order
Set Bookmark
Christoph
Thu, Oct 23, 2014, 9:00am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

It is by far the worst DS9 episode. Another rehash of a boring American kind of sport in the future. I liked the pure US-American epis.. - eh excuse me - Ferengi episodes much better. They were always very funny.
Set Bookmark
Christoph
Thu, Oct 23, 2014, 8:53am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S1: Acquisition

Maybe you are right, OR perhaps you are not. Because of you guys complaining about Enterprise all the time since it's first aired, we trekkies got J.J. A-hole's new Star Trek movies which are totally BS. Thanks for nothing but senseless complains. Now Hollywood is even dumber.
Set Bookmark
ChristopherA
Tue, Apr 23, 2013, 6:36pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: VOY S4: Nemesis

I quite liked the general execution and feel of the episode. And I thought the specialized language was great. Coming up with imaginary jargon is hard, I can’t remember hearing it done better and I’ve certainly heard it done a lot worse.

I’m not sure how to evaluate the surprise twist. On the one hand, it was totally surprising, yet logical, clever, and thought-provoking. On the other hand, it is just so disconnected from what happened earlier in the episode that in some sense it is never really explored on-screen. You’ve got this whole episode about Chikotay falling into the middle of a war zone and bonding with one side, then a revelation “It was just a dream!”, then Chikotay saying “Huh, it was just a dream?” and then the episode is over. So it is really clever in terms of setting up a mystery and then providing a surprise ending, but a bit odd that in terms of story and character development that the ending doesn’t really climax the story so much as suddenly change it to a different story.

I guess my overall reaction is “The story about Chikotay in a war zone is well-executed and interesting to watch. The idea of being tricked into hating an enemy, by being put through an elaborate virtual reality backstory that gives you good reason to hate the enemy, is a really interesting idea. Somebody should write a story that really explores that idea.”
Set Bookmark
Christopher
Wed, Jan 16, 2013, 3:42pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

The reason this episode is stupid - A society advanced enough to invent a polymer with 200 naturally occurring elements and a shuttle that can fly into a star would easily be able to synthesize an enzyme in astroglide or other personal lube to make cogenitors unnecessary. Thus, the cogenitors could spend their lives pursuing life as they chose.
Set Bookmark
Christopher
Sat, Feb 4, 2012, 5:03pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S4: Bound

Oh God- just terrible. I have really been enjoying season 4 (apart from the terrible opening crap that finally killed off the temporal cold war and that snoozefest about the transporter guy that noone knew or cared about), but this one takes the cake for worst of the season. No surprises, boring storyline and just the most idiotic homage to TOS with Vulcans joke followed by fake manic human laughter- it was like something out of the Brady Bunch movie.

As I watched the rest of the season I was genuinely sad that the show was cancelled as it seemed to be finding its niche and then I saw this written by the show runner and was kinda glad that there will be no more insults like this.
Set Bookmark
Christopher
Tue, Dec 13, 2011, 6:22pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S3: Similitude

I cried too- inside and how goddamn awful this episode was- the science was a complete joke but I just couldnt care less about SIM- it was fodder from the teaser for God sakes. And Archer was a monster.

I am considering giving up on this show again (I dedided to back and watch from season 2 onwards to see the supposed improvements) but I just find the main characters so horrible- there is no one with any true trekkian morals, they are all self serving George Bush types. Archer was monstorous in this episode, he is no role model for any viewer- even Janeway was more thoughtful than this.

Tuvix was a masterpiece compared to this dull and ludicrous episode.
Set Bookmark
Christopher
Mon, Nov 28, 2011, 6:29am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

I really dont understand how this episode warrented a 4 star review. The characters actions made no sense (Trips facination for the cogenitor, the aliens complete disregard for it even though they seem so enlightened in other ways, the cogenitors sitting around all day long and doing nothing, Archer taking the moral high ground when he has done so much WORSE).

My main problem is this- the cogenitor killed themself because it didnt want to live the way it was- could anyone really say that the cogenitor was properly alive as it living was before Trip intervened? I think I would rather live for a weekend and die than live out my existance as a pet. The only people inconvienced were the Vissians not being able to have a kid.

And as said above, this show's problem is that the characters are so unlikeable and are not good as role models like you would see on other ST series over the years.
Set Bookmark
Toph in Blacksburg
Wed, Sep 22, 2010, 7:12pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

Loved the action in this episode, even though it was a little too quick to develop in terms of galactic events.

What remains to me the absolute stand-out scene is the interaction of Quark and Garak, the serving of the Root Beer. Great to see two non-Federation species and their thoughts. If you don't remember it, check it out here, it's a classic scene in my book:

www.youtube.com/watch?v=vz-MepaJCM4

Enjoy!

-Toph in Blacksburg
Set Bookmark
Christopher Null and David Bezanson
Thu, Jan 28, 2010, 1:23am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

Star Trek: The Motion Picture was released at a time when sci-fi movies were expected to be long, sluggish, arty epics like Close Encounters of the Third Kind and Dune. To achieve the desired length and artiness, the producers of Star Trek: TMP hired director Robert Wise -- best known for overlong, dull classics like The Sound of Music -- and chose a script which was long on dialogue but short on action or character development.

All told, the movie is one of the few imitators of 2001: A Space Odyssey that achieves the same feeling of mystery and danger. Partly this is due to Goldsmith's excellent score; partly it is because the slow pacing and dark, gloomy sets succeed in conveying the slowness and suspense of space travel, as well as its emptiness.

So is Star Trek: The Motion Picture worth renting? Yes.
Set Bookmark
Toph in Blacksburg
Wed, Jun 17, 2009, 8:16pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: BSG S2: Downloaded

Like Greg, I am late to the discussion of this episode. I agree that it was a 4-star episode, and must point out my favorite five seconds: When Caprica-six is asking about what happened to Baltar and we hear a "shh"-ing sound followed by the reveal of head-Baltar. I don't know about anyone else, but for about 4-5 seconds I really thought this was a reveal of Baltar being a Cylon. The writers smartly debunked that thought immediately, but wow, did it have my shocked attention for those few moments. :)
Set Bookmark
Toph in Blacksburg
Sat, May 9, 2009, 10:03am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

Excellent and spot-on review as always Jammer. Thank you for all your efforts over the years!

One area I thought I'd posit on is the issue of Earth-1 vs Earth-2 from your review. The way I see it is this: Earth-1 was the one known via the constellations and of course by the Final Five, hence the bit about "Visible constellations are a match" at the end of Revelations. Earth-2 was a previously unknown world that Kara led them to in Daybreak and since it was unknown it was not the world referenced in the Zodiac map room. As a result I don't really see a conflict between the Zodiac map room in 'Home Pt. 2' and Gaeta's "constellations match" bit. Earth-1 is the Earth that is referred to in the Zodiac, IMO.

Just some food for thought!

-Toph in Blacksburg
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.