Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 13 (Showing 1-13)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Toph in Blacksburg
Sun, May 10, 2020, 4:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part II

“My question is whether the Defiant could really be this invincible. If Starfleet sent a dozen ships after the Defiant, I don't care if it's from a century in the future; it's weapons are not so much more advanced that this one ship could go up against an army and win.”

Viewing from history, I can definitely see how the Defiant would be virtually invincible against any counterpart that the 22nd century could offer.

Take a look back at the history of battleship development from the start of the 20th century to 1944. Until the advent of the Dreadnought very early in the 20th, battleships were a mixed armament that at the time was deemed the cusp of military naval technology.

Once the Dreadnought came along, or previous vessels were relegated to the status of obsolete, so much so that any vessel predicting the Dreadnought was labeled a pre-Dreadnought.

Size also matters. The average battleship even in the early dreadnought era was around 20,000 tons, mounting guns in the 12 to 14 inch range with relatively slow reload times and weak optical targeting methods. The Iowa, by comparison, was nearly 50,000 tons, mounted 16 inch guns, and enough speed to steam circles around it’s aged compatriots. Iowa also mounted far better targeting and rangefinder technology compared to battleships only 20 to 30 years older than she.

So I have no problem seeing how Defiant could slice and dice the very best that the 22nd century had to offer in the mirror universe
Set Bookmark
Toph in Blacksburg
Sat, Apr 25, 2020, 4:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: Titan A.E.

Wow. 20 years and no comments?

I guess I will get the ball rolling then. Agree fully this is a 2.5 star movie. Jammer pretty much nails this review on the head. Some fantastic 3-D visuals but a lackluster to the story. Still, I do enjoy watching it from time to time.
Set Bookmark
Toph in Blacksburg
Thu, Jan 23, 2020, 7:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Some things that stood out to me after a first watching:

It took me a little while to realize that Picard’s two assistants at the Chateau were Romulans. Nice touch.

I thought that Data’s appearances were well done and very appropriate. I’ll be curious to see if they include him in future episodes somehow.
Set Bookmark
Toph in Blacksburg
Thu, Jan 23, 2020, 7:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Wow. I am really impressed with how this series has started out. A very interesting storyline that picks up some 15 to 20 years after the last time we saw the card and the next generation crew.

I am really looking forward to seeing the rest of the season play out.
Set Bookmark
Toph in Blacksburg
Tue, Mar 6, 2018, 7:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Crossroads, Part 2

I don’t know if this has been previously mentioned in the comments, but a couple weeks before Maelstrom aired it was announced that Katie Sackhoff was leaving the show. Talk about a tremendous bit of misdirection. For me, that really made the appearance of Starbuck at the end of this episode so powerful. Not in a million years did I see it coming.
Set Bookmark
Toph in Blacksburg
Fri, Jun 24, 2016, 9:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: United

I'm surprised no one has brought it up yet, but that zoom-out shot near the end from the Enterprise conference room to showing the assembled unified fleet was really something. You can just tell that this was the true birthplace of the Federation.
Set Bookmark
Toph in Blacksburg
Sun, Mar 15, 2015, 10:28am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part II

I didn't have any real problem with the "Defiant is invincible" concept. First off, Starfleet at this stage probably only had a few dozen ships at most, so we're not exactly talking about Armada-size fleets Defiant would have to face.

Second, a good analogy is if you pitted a single mid-1980s M1A1 Abrams battle tank against a battalion (25) of World War II tanks. There's only about 40 years difference in the technology, yet I'd bet the money in my pockets that a single Abrams (which has depleted uranium shells, chobham armor, and twice or more the speed) would make mincemeat of its World War II predecessors. So when I see the Defiant against ST:E era ships, I can see Defiant chewing them all of them up in short order
Set Bookmark
Toph in Blacksburg
Wed, Sep 22, 2010, 7:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

Loved the action in this episode, even though it was a little too quick to develop in terms of galactic events.

What remains to me the absolute stand-out scene is the interaction of Quark and Garak, the serving of the Root Beer. Great to see two non-Federation species and their thoughts. If you don't remember it, check it out here, it's a classic scene in my book:

www.youtube.com/watch?v=vz-MepaJCM4

Enjoy!

-Toph in Blacksburg
Set Bookmark
Toph in Blacksburg
Wed, Jun 17, 2009, 8:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Downloaded

Like Greg, I am late to the discussion of this episode. I agree that it was a 4-star episode, and must point out my favorite five seconds: When Caprica-six is asking about what happened to Baltar and we hear a "shh"-ing sound followed by the reveal of head-Baltar. I don't know about anyone else, but for about 4-5 seconds I really thought this was a reveal of Baltar being a Cylon. The writers smartly debunked that thought immediately, but wow, did it have my shocked attention for those few moments. :)
Set Bookmark
Toph in Blacksburg
Sat, May 9, 2009, 10:03am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

Excellent and spot-on review as always Jammer. Thank you for all your efforts over the years!

One area I thought I'd posit on is the issue of Earth-1 vs Earth-2 from your review. The way I see it is this: Earth-1 was the one known via the constellations and of course by the Final Five, hence the bit about "Visible constellations are a match" at the end of Revelations. Earth-2 was a previously unknown world that Kara led them to in Daybreak and since it was unknown it was not the world referenced in the Zodiac map room. As a result I don't really see a conflict between the Zodiac map room in 'Home Pt. 2' and Gaeta's "constellations match" bit. Earth-1 is the Earth that is referred to in the Zodiac, IMO.

Just some food for thought!

-Toph in Blacksburg
Set Bookmark
Toph in Blacksburg
Sat, Jul 26, 2008, 7:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Six of One

Real life intrudes. It's life. Like many I am looking forward to seeing the reviews, but there is way too much going on in life to sit and wait and gripe when it takes a while.

Jammer take what time you need, make it right. Peace!
Set Bookmark
Toph in Blacksburg
Wed, Jul 9, 2008, 9:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Six of One

Nailed it on the head, Jammer. I look forward to watching the season unfold through the eyes of your reviews. Peace!
Set Bookmark
Toph In Blacksburg
Wed, Mar 5, 2008, 10:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Clues

Good to see the first batch of 4th season reviews!

Just a few personal thoughts. I agreed strongly with many of the reviews (I'll never forget reading BSG's Crossroads Part II review and saying repeatedly "That's what I was thinking!") though there were a couple I'd give differing ratings on:

Devil's Due: 2 1/2 stars. Not a classic by any stretch, slapstick in nature, but I actually enjoyed that episode and still do when I catch it on re-runs. It simply had a lighthearted feel that was almost refreshing. My feeling is that it's season placement had an effect: Had this episode been in season one or even season two I am betting your star rating would have been higher. It's a matter of the quality it is matched up against this season.

Clues: Though predictable after the first watching I always felt this was more of a 3 1/2 star entry. The idea of Data being caught in a catch-22 was fascinating. The final scene, where Data is at the controls, looking as if nothing had happened at all, knowing that the secret of the xenophobes would be kept with him forever, was great.

Legacy: Blah. 1 1/2 stars at best. Must agree on one point: Tasha Yar's sister was definitely the pride of the family (body-wise). Aside from that.....blah.

Just a few random thoughts. Keep on trucking! :)
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.