Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 48 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Fri, Apr 12, 2019, 1:44am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

I have to agree with Mertov. Thought the episode was going well but lost some steam in the middle with some its heavy handedness. Still, I'm very interested in how this gets wrapped up.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Thu, Apr 4, 2019, 4:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

I just stopped by to say Season 4 of The Wire is tops :)

I have to agree with Jammer that a lot of the time travel stuff in this episode creates too many questions. I'm hoping the payoff will be worth it in the end.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Thu, Mar 28, 2019, 2:01am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

Enjoyed this one. 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Tue, Mar 26, 2019, 12:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

I agree with Jammer here. Fun, but a little crazy. Loved the scene with Spock and Michael in the gym. Interested in where all this leads.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Sat, Mar 16, 2019, 11:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

Well, I enjoyed this one as well. Thats two pretty strong outings in a row. Hopefully next week starts a hitting streak.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Sat, Mar 9, 2019, 3:09am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

Thoroughly enjoyed this one. Hope the momentum continues.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Sat, Mar 2, 2019, 12:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

@ Borbo

Good point.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Sat, Mar 2, 2019, 3:27am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

3 stars. Predictable, but fun.

One nit pick. The "pee corner" thing. Usually I don't care if a show addresses stuff like that, but since they did, the shuttle crafts don't have restrooms? I always assumed they did because they can travel ftl, and I would think some of those trips could take a while.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Sat, Feb 23, 2019, 1:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

I thought this was pretty good. The bridge scene was extremely tense, though I think if I were Pike I would have removed Saru from the bridge about halfway into it. I'm not sure what to make of the red angel. Think its an interesting concept but it hasn't really gone anywhere so far.

I also am not a fan of the Tyler character. I don't know if its the writing, acting, direction, or all of the above. Just doesn't do anything for me.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Fri, Feb 22, 2019, 6:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

That was pretty great. Any nitpicks I might have about some of the plot really don't detract from the episode as a whole. Excited for the resolution.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Sat, Feb 16, 2019, 3:34am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

If I had to rate this on the Jammer scale, it would be 1.5 stars. I just couldn't get totally into this one.

As much as I like having Dr. Culber back, I think this episode just highlights how silly it was to have him killed off in the first place. I did think for a moment though his death would be permanent, and I credit the actors for that.

I also think that the Section 31 stuff isn't very interesting, nor is the Ash Tyler character. And I do think they could slow down the technobabble solution scenes. They come so quickly after a problem is presented that they don't feel quite earned, if that makes sense.
Set Bookmark
Tommy D.
Thu, Feb 14, 2019, 10:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: An Obol for Charon

I'd agree with a 3 star episode here. My only gripe would probably be I thought the Burnham/Saru deathbed scene was a little overdone, but I think thats a nitpick. Much better than last weeks outing.
Set Bookmark
Tommy Charles
Thu, Apr 26, 2018, 10:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: The Pegasus

Nick P,

I know you will probably never read this...but it's stated quite clearly in DS9 that the Romulans gave the Fed permission to use cloaking tech in the Defiant so they could use it as a forward scout against the Dominion.

In the beginning, they were to keep a Romulan crew member on board at all times but they relented on this and let it be Star Fleet crew only.
Set Bookmark
tommy
Wed, Apr 18, 2018, 1:11am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Sanctuary

Wow... hate for immigrants (or Jews... I can't really figure that out) is alive and well on these boards... fascinating. The aliens here don't claim ownership of Bajor. Their religious stories say there is a place they are destined to go, to help a suffering people. TO HELP. A lot of you are forgetting that part of the story.

This is what's so good about DS9.. not afraid to have an unhappy ending... and both sides had a point. Bajor couldn't support them if an emergency happened... and maybe the aliens could have helped Bajor.

And they weren't tossed out of Bajor and then returned. They just had a vision or religious belief of where they should go. In the end even the leader admitted Bajor was not katana (or whatever)

Very good episode.
Set Bookmark
Tommy
Mon, Apr 9, 2018, 7:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

Those of you who were hoping for a new Star Trek show got your wish.

Star Trek: Special Effects Aroma But OMG The Plot Holes
Set Bookmark
Tommy
Mon, Apr 9, 2018, 5:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

I always hated this episode. I mean, it had some interesting parts. Like seeing monster Worf, I guess.

But the premise seems...beneath Star Trek.

This isn't sci-fi, it's fantasy. Things need to at least be plausible.
Set Bookmark
Tommy
Sun, Apr 8, 2018, 1:07am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Unification

What always annoyed me about this two-parter is why in the hell would Picard and Data go the planet? Isn't this exactly what Star Fleet Intelligence is for? Why would they risk the life of a captain and Data?

It's TV, I know.
Set Bookmark
Tommy
Wed, Apr 4, 2018, 9:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Nth Degree

Great episode, but I feel that the 'advanced alien draws us in' trope is a bit overused. But to be fair, this was the early '90s.

But I could have sworn there was another alien that draws them to the center of the galaxy in a different episode of TNG. That one looked more like a cloud alien.

I like how they hinted that Broccoli retained some of the extra smarts. I like to think that his time on Voyager was this thing reasserting itself.
Set Bookmark
Tommy
Mon, Apr 2, 2018, 4:17am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

This was a pretty piss-poor finale to a mixed-bag of a first season.

The setup makes no sense. Why didn't they just use their foo foo magic jump drive to plant a bomb in the Klingon home world a long time ago? They couldn't pay some Orion pirates for the intel on where the Klingon planets are?

Ugh.

1 stars from me. I'll watch season 2 only if it explores the Romulans.
Set Bookmark
Tommy
Sat, Jan 13, 2018, 10:13am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

In this day and age of endless remakes and reboots, this is one TNG episode they should turn into a movie.
Set Bookmark
Tommy Charles
Wed, Apr 12, 2017, 1:44am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Nightingale

The only reason they didn't kill Kim in season 2 was that the actor was included in People's 1997 sexiest people alive list.
Set Bookmark
Tommy
Sun, Apr 2, 2017, 6:00am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Honor Among Thieves

I wish they could have built this out as an arc, over a few episodes. As it is, Bilby seems awfully stupid.

Also, why is a highly valuable engineer non-com being sent on Star Fleet intelligence missions?
Set Bookmark
Tommy
Tue, Mar 21, 2017, 9:22am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Waltz

HipsterDoofus,

I know you will probably never see this, but what the heck :P

The problem with your theory is that Dukat isn't human. His behavior could be—and from what we've seen may well be—normal for his people. They don't seem to have the same moral compass that we do. They seem to feel fine with acts of violence as long as they can justify them to themselves.
Set Bookmark
Tommy
Sun, Mar 19, 2017, 2:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Sacrifice of Angels

Jason R.,

Yeah, imo, unless we assume that Sisko subconsciously knew that the wormhole aliens would help, his flight to the wormhole is just desperation and a bit crazy. I think it's possible he knew they would help since, you know.... his origins. But it's just speculation. The cannon is very murky on all of this.

"I could be wrong, but I don't think a ship needs to be travelling at warp speed in order to have a "warp signature."

Yeah, I think you're right about that. Makes sense.
Set Bookmark
Tommy
Sun, Mar 19, 2017, 2:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Sacrifice of Angels

For those wondering why Sisko is leading the fleet--there used to be a rank above captain for times of war. It was Commodor. A commodor was in the field, a rank below admiral. They commanded battle wings. It can be assumed that Sisko is filling this role within Star Fleet in a time of war.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.