Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 65,319 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2,613
Set Bookmark
Top Hat
Sun, Oct 13, 2019, 8:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: And the Children Shall Lead

Is it clear that McCoy outright lacks the authority to overrule Kirk on this point? It seems possible he has just decided not to, only to register objections.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Sun, Oct 13, 2019, 8:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: And the Children Shall Lead

@ Trish,

"What happened to the Chief Medical Officer's authority in matters of health? Shouldn't he be ordering the captain to take the kids to the starbase for the treatment he believes, in his expert medical opinion, they require? Or at the very least ordering him not to play psychotherapist with them?"

That's a very reasonable question and really does impact on how we read some of these Trek stories (by no means just this episode). Maybe someone who knows officer regs in the current military will comment too, but from what I can gather from Trek itself the CMO has medical authority with regard to the fitness of the Captain and crew only, and does not have any mission authority nor authority over the Captain's decisions so long as the Captain is fit for command. If the Captain gives an order that's that, although the CMO can file a protest if they wish. So the CMO can order the Captain to take leave or dismiss the Captain from duty if the Captain is medically unfit, but other than that cannot issue orders to a superior officer.
Set Bookmark
Trish
Sun, Oct 13, 2019, 8:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: And the Children Shall Lead

I do think that it is a better episode thannJammer and those who commented before me give it credit for.

It's true that it is thin on motivation, apparently just evil for evil's own sake. I am willing to presume that the evil angel has more of a motivation than that, but I wish we were privy to it.

His way of accomplishing that evil is the one thing of interest, and it underlies everything that happens in the episode: Evil manipulates the specific "beast" in each person, some quality that usually serves them well but has been twisted into a dangerous weakness:

Sulu's enthusiasm for martial arts, a respect that needs but a nudge to plunge him into an abyss of terror.

Uhura's youthful vitality and beauty, betraying a paralyzing fear of the ugliness of death.

Chekov's reverence for Starfleet's hierarchy, which usually gives him unswerving loyalty to his captain but is rooted in a deep fear of disobedience, even when the situation calls for him to question authority.

Scotty's dedication to the physical operation of the ship, perverted into a protectiveness that loses all sense of that ship's purpose.

Kirk's own identity as a natural leader, turned against him as he fears losing control over his ship and crew.

And of course, it all started with the children's beast, their dependence upon loving parents, a dependence they transferred onto an evil being who used their fantasies of power for his own aims.

As for the evil angel himself, he insists, "I fear nothing," but he ultimately fears the most powerful beast of all, the one beast that could have conquered all the personal beasts he had exploited: the truth.

The episode's execution is not always perfect, but the story beneath the plot is a profound one about the universal human experience. This episode implicitly asks two questions of every viewer: "What is your beast?" and then "How can you keep evil from exploiting it?"

Entire spiritual retreats have been structured around such questions. I think they make this episode worth a great deal more than half a star.

I'm not afraid of being alone in that assessment.
Set Bookmark
Trish
Sun, Oct 13, 2019, 7:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: And the Children Shall Lead

McCoy: "Well, I won't stop you from questioning the children, but it could harm them if you do."

So this DOCTOR believes that Kirk's intended course of action has a real possibility of harming children who have just been through a terrible trauma, but defers to the captain's decision? What happened to the Chief Medical Officer's authority in matters of health? Shouldn't he be ordering the captain to take the kids to the starbase for the treatment he believes, in his expert medical opinion, they require? Or at the very least ordering him not to play psychotherapist with them?

Apparently, that whole "the doctor can overrule even the captain in case of medical necessity" thing only applies when convenient to the story.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Oct 13, 2019, 4:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Equinox, Part II

The first part was pretty good, the second part, however, is magnificent.

Mostly thanks to Mulgrew, who is absolutely ravishing as dark Janeway. The interplay between her and Chakotay also added an interesting dynamic to the duo (although I can't for the life me understand why anyone would disobey Janeway).

Also, Savage does an excellent job as Equinox's Captain. I thoroughly enjoyed the Doctor without the ethical subroutine as well, reminded me of the great movie "The Dentist".

4 Stars, thanks to the Janeway factor.
Set Bookmark
Mike
Sun, Oct 13, 2019, 1:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Trials and Tribble-ations

Loved it! My favorite parts were Worf describing the Klingon war against the tribbles, “mortal enemies of the Klingon Empire”, the Klingons obliterated the Tribble homeworld, lol, I howled.
And Dax looking smoking hot in a Starfleet mini skirt. Thank the stars!
Set Bookmark
QixMa
Sun, Oct 13, 2019, 1:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Booby Trap

I like this episode but there are a few things that bug me about it. It's not realistic at all that there would still be a breathable atmosphere Promellian battlecruiser. There would have been sub zero temperature conditions. Starfleet doesn't have environmental suits for the boarding parties? Also it's really odd how Picard says, "I think we've seen all there is to see" after being there for a few minutes just on the bridge. You would think he would be more curious and would want to see more of the ship.
Set Bookmark
MusicalTurtle
Sun, Oct 13, 2019, 9:58am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Dramatis Personae

@Leif I agree.

Could the ep have been better? Yes. I'd have liked to have seen more of the real characters, but at this point in the series they are still getting established so we don't know whether these are amplified traits, or just completely out of character.

For sci-fi there are stock plots and ideas, but the details in how it's executed are generally what interest me. So this episode,the question was 'they are out of character - why?'. That's what kept me watching, and of course the answer to that also determines whether the station and/or characters are in danger.

Not the best episode, but interesting enough for me - the the first time round, anyway, and again after enough time has passed to forget how it turns out. Certainly not a favourite to regularly revisit.
Set Bookmark
Del_Duio
Sun, Oct 13, 2019, 9:32am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

I've been watching this series lately and wanted to say that it is GREAT. This is the Trek we deserve. I'm super impressed!
Set Bookmark
Top Hat
Sun, Oct 13, 2019, 6:33am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Melora

@Omicron, that's precisely what I was getting at. The phrase "differently abled" might help reshape the language, since "disabled" has an edge of "there's something wrong with you," rather than that society and your environment fails to accommodate your needs. This episode seems like wants to make a statement about the way we construct disability, but it's too muddled to say anything coherent.
Set Bookmark
Jon
Sun, Oct 13, 2019, 5:45am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

Utterly appalling in every way.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Sun, Oct 13, 2019, 3:17am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Melora

The whole wheelchair thing is pretty dumb itself. Didn't we already see a hover chair in TNG "Too short a season". Plus they have hover beds, hover everything but disabled people still have to use wheelchairs?!

*I just read that they actually wanted to use the Hoverchair from TNG but didn't because it wouldn't have looked well in the DS9 surroundings...
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Sun, Oct 13, 2019, 2:44am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

Well, I didn't really care for all the character drama stuff in this one.

What I absolutely loved about this episode is the twist ending. It was an ingenious sci fi idea which, to me, makes up for the... ehm... less-than-stellar moments that came before.
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Sun, Oct 13, 2019, 2:35am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Melora

@TopHat
"I do find the point interesting that Melora is not strictly a disabled person, but an alien who travels outside of environments her species has evolved for. Does the euphemism "differently abled" apply more strongly? After all, the problem is the environment around her, nothing inherent to her body."

The same could be said about many of the "disabilities" in the real world, though.

People in wheelchairs would be able to do everything a walking person could do, had they lived in a suitable environment. Does it really make a difference, whether this ideal environment actually exists on some planet or not? The only reason these people have such a hard time in the actual world, is that we live in a society that takes walking for granted.

And the simple fact is that the word "disabled" nearly always refers to some kind of external standard: You can't be "disabled" in a void. It's always in comparison to some set of requirements for being "able-bodied" which is - in the end - a largely social construct.
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Sun, Oct 13, 2019, 2:05am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Melora

It's kinda hilarious (in a bad way) that the crew of a space station on which different SPECIES work together, make such a big deal of something as simple as making access for a wheelchair. You'd think such a place would need to accommodate a far bigger spectrum of diverse needs, like extreme temperatures or unusual breathing mixtures or the-devil-knows-what-else, on a daily basis.

Yes, I know that in Star Trek 99% of the aliens are basically humans with prosthetics. And in an ordinary episode this would be fine. We just accept it as a conciet needed due to the constraints of television story-telling.

But when you have a story like "Melora", the rediculousness of it all suddenly becomes evident. In short, this is a story that shouldn't have been made in the first place (even if they fixed all the problems).
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Sun, Oct 13, 2019, 1:39am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: In the Cards

@Booming

Don't worry. I have absolutely no interest in continuing on this futile tangent.

Now back to discussing DS9 and this episode:

I actually agree with Lew's general point of how the people onboard DS9 are behaving too much like 20th century humans. It's a thing that bugs me too about this show (and to lesser extent - about Voyager).

I just don't agree with the specific example he gave here. I don't see anything "greedy" or "primitive" in the idea of cheering Sisko up with a sentimental gift. In fact, I find this episode heart-warming and beautiful (and much of the stuff with the Geiger fellow was also hilariously funny).

It's ironic. Because my biggest gripe with the characters of DS9 is how often they fall into being egotistical and petty (at least when compared to the earlier Trek shows) and the spirit of *this* episode is precisely the opposite of that.
Set Bookmark
Mike
Sat, Oct 12, 2019, 11:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Assignment

O’Brien went along with the alien body snatcher too easily, didn’t even ask who are you? Miles is savvier than that. Keiko should just go be a botanist somewhere.
Set Bookmark
Springy
Sat, Oct 12, 2019, 9:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

Masterful.

Some truly wonderful performances, Whoopi, Patrick and the actress playing Captain Garrick, especially. Crosby was good, too.

The quickie romance was done about as well as it could be - the extraordinary life-and-death circumstances and low key presentation made it believable and engaging (instead of nauseating, as in many the quickie ST romance).

Though I gotta say, that actor playing Castillo looks so much like Joe Piscopo that I kept flashing back to Piscopo's awful turn as Data's comedy mentor. Yeeeeee.

Loved the scene in the ready room when Picard tells then he's sending The Enterprise C back - fantastic camera work as we slowly pan through the players. The mood setting throughout was excellent. Perfect.

Sadness. Sweetness. Right and wrong. Terror. Determination. Courage. Confidence. Sacrifice. Leadership. Trust.

Time - lives so predetermined, so tethered, yet so completely malleable and free. So, so short.

The quest for meaning and purpose in this well ordered, yet wholly random, Universe.

The balance of instinct and intellect - so hard to do right, but so important to do right.

The ending, as they fought off the Klingons and Geordi cleared everyone out of engineering, had my heart pounding and tears in my eyes. It didn't matter that I'd seen this one before, and I remember how it ended.

Good stuff - a classic!
Set Bookmark
Virginia
Sat, Oct 12, 2019, 9:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: The Forgotten

I don't think that T'Pol's reaction to Trip was so bland. It took a lot of effort for her to reach out and touch his shoulder in comfort. While she may not always cry tears-like she did when she went into the ready room after Archer leaves in the "Azati Prime" or when her Mum died in "Awakening"-you can tell she's overwhelmed when her voice breaks. It did here and when she told Archer she hadn't been able to meditate in "Damage". She couldn't tell him about her terellium addiction yet, but told Dr.Phlox.
Set Bookmark
Virginia Connor
Sat, Oct 12, 2019, 9:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: The Forgotten

I don't think that T'Pol's reaction to Trip was so bland. It took a lot of effort for her to reach out and touch his shoulder in comfort. While she may not always cry tears-like she did when she went into the ready room after Archer leaves in the "Azati Prime" or when her Mum died in "Awakening"-you can tell she's overwhelmed when her voice breaks. It did here and when she told Archer she hadn't been able to meditate in "Damage". She couldn't tell him about her terellium addiction yet, but told Dr.Phlox.
Set Bookmark
William B
Sat, Oct 12, 2019, 8:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

The subject of the paintings is also a nude woman, but one in an ambiguous pose (IIRC), which speaks to a central concern of whether Manua was being a sex object for Riker or was attempting to entice him sexually. The two styles Data mentions before getting to Picard are geometric constructivism and surrealism/irrationality, suggesting scientific and delusional/emotional motifs, as the murder intrigue is related to both Apgar's work and to feelings related to his wife. Picard attempts to blend several different styles, as Springy/Peter note, which is what he attempts to do. I think within episode we are supposed to view Picard as being more successful as an investigator than as a painter at combining multiple perspectives into a coherent narrative to get at The Truth.
Set Bookmark
Springy
Sat, Oct 12, 2019, 7:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

@Peter G

Love your comparison of the paintings to the versions of what happened in Riker's room (and @Chrome, your addition was great).

If I remember right, they were three paintings, and three story versions - if I had to pick which story was analogous to Picard's painting, I'd say the last one - it's the last one examined, as is Picard's painting. And it's the least believable/most distorted one. (The story told by the assistant that includes the "You're a dead man!!")
Set Bookmark
Mike
Sat, Oct 12, 2019, 5:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Nor the Battle to the Strong

I enjoyed this episode. I like Jake and I like Cirroc Lofton (guess I’m in the minority judging by other reviews).
I was waiting for Jake to save Bashir’s life at the end, go from coward to hero all in one episode, but I like how the writers didn’t take that route. Instead Jake saves everybody pretty much by accident, he confessed it all to Sisko at the end. I really like the bond between Sisko and Jake.
Set Bookmark
Ovadul
Sat, Oct 12, 2019, 5:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Symbiosis

I’d suggest to the people who don’t like this episode because it “incorrectly “ portrays the Prime Directive, or because Picard selectively applies it, or because “The Prime Directive is stupid” the following:

The Prime Directive had never, prior to this episode’s airdate, NEVER been described in the show in the amount of detail necessary to make your arguments valid, or invalid. As of the airing of this episode, to the extent the PD has been defined at all, it has been defined for expository purposes, I.e., by Kirk in Bread and Circuses.

Who Watchers the Watchers and the episode First Contact finally gave us more detail. But those episodes of course cam after the this one.

Also, in reality, a corollary to “Just Say No” was that, if you did not say no, too bad f o you, you are weak and you should be incarcerated. This episode did not blindly parrot Nancy Reagan; taken as a whole the episode was somewhat sympathetic to the Ornarans, definitely vis a vis the Brekkians. The episode, to me, was more of an indictment of the untrammeled capitalist mentality that allowed the symbiotic relationship to flourish In the first place.

I realIze my comments go against Official Interpretive Orthodoxy.
So maybe I should be stoned



No pun intended
Set Bookmark
Brian Lear
Sat, Oct 12, 2019, 3:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Terra Nova

Disagree, I thought this was a good episode. Your vision for what "could have been" on Terra Nova, is definitely the more predictable scenario. I like how they didn't go that direction. They did something different, and, while it didn't succeed wildly, at least it made me sit up and think. The idea of an isolated colony of humans converted to subterranean life after a natural disaster is a good one. I would have liked to see a thriving and complex society down there too, it would be fun. But I think the more realistic scenario is the one we got. Humans completely isolated on a planet with few supplies and forced underground. Do you really think they would have come up with the type of underground society we saw in the caretaker, in just a couple generations? Those types of societies take thousands, maybe tens of thousands of years to evolve.

I do agree that the novans should have gotten better dialogue.
Next ►Page 1 of 2,613
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.